Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

CUNY Kingsborough Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/01/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is 100 percent safe. There are cuny officers literally every where. Have not heard about any fights or anything serious like that.

    Greek Life

    Their greek life is not much but they do have it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has many intramural sports that are very competitive. They also have many clubs such as men's resource and multicultural club. The student government committee is very active as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who love nature and also not sure what they want to do as of yet. The calm area plus the many opportunities at this school is a great mix to get students up and going.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is always having an event that is either relaxing, able to win free prizes, or involves free food. How could you turn down free food? lol

    What to do for fun

    This college has many activities going on, especially during midterms or finals to help us ease nerves. They have flyers all over campus for the upcoming parties, spring events outside, etc. But what most people love to do is go by the beach when its warm outside and hangout there. Its a beautiful and peaceful sight.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good on most days. And can be quite healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The are no dorms on this campus

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on a student's major, their classes can either be light or very rigorous. But its all a part to prep and work for that degree. I believe kingsborough has some of the best professors here.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to keep working at your goal and to not give up. Our library is very large and we have many study lounges. Its very easy to stay focused over there. The tutoring sessions at kingsborough are very helpful in the library. Certain departments have walk-in tutoring sessions as well, such as the math department. Don't think i wouldve passed statistics with a B+ without them.

    In three sentences

    The professors can be very helpful. There are a lot of things that this college offers to ease stress off students during critical points in the academic school year.

  • 03/19/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A lot of services!

    Food and Dining

    Blehh... there's a decent amount of choices inside campus, outside campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak for the Media Management Department my experience was pretty good, professors are true professionals, Mr. Acosta is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Things you NEED to know: I wish I knew about these things sooner. Single Stop office V231 - Public Benefits Screening - FREE Legal Aid (Attorney) - FREE Financial Advisor - FREE Tax Prep - Food vouchers for the cafe and so much more - Food pantry Study Abroad: They have two awesome study abroad programs which are FULLY covered by the school and meet graduation requirements/ credits. Check the KBCC website and search study abroad. Writing intensive: Some art classes are considered writing intensive (Make sure it states this before you apply) Such as The Art of Story boarding which I took and was not intense writing wise. Work Study & Student Aid: Wish I knew that after work study you can apply to be student aid which allows you to have more working hours such as working on days we don't have school. Mentor program: Behavior sciences & Human services - Mentor program matched with facility/ staff close or working in your desired field. They help guide you and give you information on your major/ advice. Nurse office/ health services is in A building A108 - I didn't figure this out until much later and everyone who works there is sweet. Pool- Swimming classes

    In three sentences

    you MAKE it.

  • 10/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of security guards around the campus who takes care of any problem and who controls people and tells them not to smoke if they do on campus because our campus is smoking free.

    Clubs and Activities

    A verity of clubs and sport teams of your choice, if you join either of them it gives you an extra credit and also supports you throughout the year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always a big sign that says Welcome made out of balloons for incoming freshman's with tables of food and music, very welcoming atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable even for someone who pays out of pocket.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great library where you can use a computer if you need to or borrow a book if you can't afford one. A lot of spots with couches where you can relax and do your homework.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good and the price is very reasonable , any college student will afford it for sure.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very kind and helpful, If you don't understand something no one moves on, he/she will explain and break it down for you. Also there is a program called CUNY Start that helps students who just came to college to enroll and fill out all the missing papers and financial aid documents that they need so their enrollment process would go as smooth as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you show an effort and go to the offices, people there will help you thats for sure.

    In three sentences

    a college with a Great atmosphere where people help you a lot weather you're a freshman or a sophomore. Very clean and smoking free campus. Has a private beach where you are free to go to during the summer.

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety does the great job.

    Greek Life

    Phi Thetta Kappa Xi Chapter. A five start chapter In Kingsborough Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Club. Student World Assembly. International Students Club. Sport Clubs. Speech Clubs. An option to create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart and ambitious usually are Honor students. Strong and motivated in the sport activities. Lazy and lost in cafeteria. No matter what, students don't seperate themselves and very friendly to each other. Very Diverse College make students learn about different cultures and appreciate each other more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Public Safety have a policy to check the students Ids', MUST always carry with you. Cafeteria is most popular area on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Work on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Join sport clubs. Challenge yourself and become a Presidential Scholar at KCC. Become a Student Ambassador. Travel for free to Austria and Costa Rica.

    Food and Dining

    Panda Hause if major food provider. Prices are medium. Food choice and quality should be more improved.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends of the professors. If you work hard and challenge yourself you will easily obtain 4.0 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be an Honor Student.

    In three sentences

    Top Four Community Colleges in the Nation. Urban campus with prvate beach and more than 16,000 students is located in South Brooklyn, NY. Very DIVERSE student population and Great professors, and also an opportunity to transfer to four-year CUNY college.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kingsborugh has one of the best campus safety. They are very friendly, helpful and always making sure the environment is safe for all student and faculty.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is very good, but it's really expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Kingsborough is not a very strict school, but they have rules and regulations like any other school. If students GPA start to fall under a 2.0 it will result in a academic probation or being unrolled out of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I have for student is to stay focus on your school. The moment you allow school not to become your first priority is the moment your grades start to diminish.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough Community college is a affordable and great school for people seeking to attain their associates degree.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Security every where

    Clubs and Activities

    Ask the school

    Great for these types of students

    International students

    What to do for fun

    There are variety of school clubs to choose from

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of food choices. There is Chinese food, pizza, deli, burgers and a salad bar if your health cautious

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved because it's not easy meeting new people in a community college Stay organized Keep a budget because it might be tempting to spend all your money at the book store

    In three sentences

    The college has diversity. They welcome students from different backgrounds to study. They have a beach

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food selection is okay, except for the pricing which is pretty high.

    Academic Rigor

    I like most of the professors. They are mostly nice and very helpful, with a few exceptions, of course. From the courses that I've taken, I've learned plenty.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough Community College isn't so bad. It's a relatively good community college.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough Community College is a very wonderful school. The Professors here are the best and really care about the students that are in their classroom. They take their time helping each and every students out.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Great for these types of students

    determined

    What to do for fun

    learn

    Food and Dining

    Pretty Good

    Dorm Life

    NO Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    social work

    Tips for prospective students

    come

    In three sentences

    With the right professors this will be a wonderful experience. Gives you the feel of a private campus. School will always be what you make it.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the school is good. We have a salad bar, a sandwich bar, Chinese food, American food, pizza and burger shop. No one really notices we also have a little yogurt bar.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy if you're on top of what you need to do. When you become lazy and start missing classes, you're the one setting yourself up for failure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! A lot of people tend to complain about the school saying it feels like, high school Well majority of that time they are the same students you see everyday in the same location complaining. Get involved with a club or be a council representative!

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough Community College is a junior college that truly caters to their students. So many different opportunities to do great things within this institution, from sports, to student government, and study groups. The view on the beach is beyond great!

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important on campus there's always many campus officers all over looking after campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and avtivities. There's academic clubs, religious clubs , music clubs and more.There are shows and lots of things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking into their future. Students who dont know what they want to do or what major to go after , Kings Borough will be there to guide you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A great location which almost everyone loves is being outside , near the ocean on campus and taking in that beautiful view whether it's just to hangout , do homework, study or sit there.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is amazing from teachers who understand you, to the beautiful campus environment . Kings Borough is right on the beach so there's always a great view and fresh air. There are many clubs, help for studies and homework to students who need it, ESL classes so every student has an opportunity and it's a very great campus and college to be on everyday.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of different clubs and activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good with a huge cafeteria. There's also many tables outside the actual cafeteria where you're eating right on Manhattan beach, and it's beautiful. Food you can get anything from breakfast to lunch items to snacks.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college , so there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The counselors and professors are great with always helping you if you're having a hard time with classes or something specific. There's homework help and study help for students who need a little extra help in their academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be ready for class and don't be late, the professors here aren't fond of that.

    In three sentences

    Kings Borough is an amazing college with great professors who are loved by their students. The campus is right next to Manhattan beach , which makes it even more beautiful. Kings Borough is a great choice.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrol seem friendly.

    Greek Life

    the architecture is awesome.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would like to get more involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Tranquil and peace loving persons

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cultural hall, for aspiring historians.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't go wrong.

    What to do for fun

    Talk to anyone in person or on the computer.

    Food and Dining

    Cultural diffusion is available here.

    Dorm Life

    I wish I got to experience the dorms. There are no dorms at this school yet.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a top school and I see why.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very open and willing to learn anything, because you will be schooled well.

    In three sentences

    I like the sea breeze, I reminds me of home. The labs are so easy to use and help is easily found. I will always reference any fond memory of mine to this school.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kingsborough recently installed a state of the art radio station where the Media Communication majors can give news dates, weather forecast updates and traffic updates.

    What to do for fun

    Kingsborough is located on Manhattan Beach. For fun, I enjoy sitting on the beach and relaxing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your college career seriously and be sure to balance work and play.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough Community College is an ideal institution for those that want to start their college career in a relaxed environment. The professors are willing to help their students during their off time. To wind down after a day of studying, students can take a walk on the beach.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe. There are patrols and watch guards in this castle. I mean campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been in a club, but I had been observing a couple. It is delightful if you join.

    Great for these types of students

    It's for anybody who wants to go to college and enjoy life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They often hold up events and parties in clubs and festivals.

    What to do for fun

    They have recreation in gym where you can play sports, exercise, and even swim. Or you can talk and explore the whole campus, including the aquarium.

    Food and Dining

    A little expensive and okay, but if you're really hungry, go for it. They have two cafes so far.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, according to what I've known. So I give it a half.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fine, but some of them may be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and never give up!

    In three sentences

    The campus is pretty big and contains many buildings in which you have to take classes in. Students here are pretty friendly as you take more classes and meet them. As for the professors, some are easy and some are difficult, depending in which you take.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and diining is ok.

    Dorm Life

    We dont have dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is one of the best community colleges to attend if your trying to pursue a associates degree

    In three sentences

    If i had to rate this college i would rate it as a 8. It has helped me so far in helping on my goal to obtain a college degree. And its a good place to start so when i go into my four college i will be more than prepared.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe environment

    Greek Life

    The school is open to all

    Clubs and Activities

    Open to all clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Open to all

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have a ball every event the school has

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good serve good food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Yes it is especially for nursing and the science majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Great professors, beautiful view by the beach

    In three sentences

    Outstanding the school one of the best in cuny

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome security staff

    Clubs and Activities

    Wonderful student government activities to get involved in

    Great for these types of students

    intelligent, outgoing and critical thinkers who are dedicated in being proactive within their educational goals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The beach is a perfect place to clear your head

    What to do for fun

    get involved in student life and don't take your self too serious experience the fun of academic learning

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok wish they had more options for people who are gluten free

    Academic Rigor

    To be successful you must have organization and stay focus on your projects

    Tips for prospective students

    Network with your classmates and form a greater network with the academic staff, get involved and find a mentor

    In three sentences

    CUNY Kingsborough Community College is a great institution for academic learning. It provides student with the foundation to excel within any academic setting and the staff is super helpful

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kingsborough Community College has campus security who patrol around the campus constantly. They are there as a safeguard to prevent any mishaps and mischievous activities from happening. To enter the campus, you must have a valid Kingsborough Community College ID.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kingsborough offers a plethora of clubs and activities for students to delve into. Depending on your degree/major, you can attend free clubs specifically for your major. If there are no clubs available for your major, then you can even apply to create one! Not only are there clubs for your Major, there are also sports clubs for student athletes to participate in extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Kingsborough is best for students who have a low GPA and are looking to improve on it, and for international students who cannot attend other colleges because their GPA were not carried over. Although, Kingsborough is a very accepting community college so it is not restricted to just these types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, one major fact about the campus is the fact that it is surrounded by water, and has its own inner beach. Students enjoy to throw small parties at the beach on campus during the summer. Manhattan beach is also located right next to the college, so many people get confused and think that Manhattan beach is located inside the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Kingsborough may have the stigma of Community College which usually refers to of low quality or lower tier, however it is one of the best community colleges to attend to. The usual cost for a semester is $2,000 or under, depending on the degree that is being pursued. The college offers many tuition plans to spread out the payments. If you are planning on transferring out after 2 years, then it is one of the best community colleges to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Most students leave campus after class, but I can reasonably assume that it's because most students do not live near the campus. It takes around an hour for me to arrive at campus, and for others it can be even more. However, there are many special events that the college holds for students such as sporting events, which is the most popular. There is also the Theatre Arts Production which showcases musicals and performances. It is up to the student to decide what is fun however, as some prefer to go to the library and study with their friends!

    Food and Dining

    While I do not eat the food at Kingsborough, I can safely say that there are many offerings of Food and Dining on campus. Students usually do not have to venture far from their area to grab a snack or quick lunch. There are many seatings around the campus, including outside and inside where students may sit and eat. There is also the cafeteria and lounge where students may join their friends to chat and eat together.

    Dorm Life

    Kingsborough does not offer student dorms or student housing, so I cannot give it a true rating, however I can suggest an alternative for students who would prefer to stay near campus. For those who prefer a dorm or housing, it would not be viable to choose Kingsborough. There are housing around the campus, but I cannot guarantee their vacancy or low pricing. Many students live in Brighton Beach, which is not far from the campus. There is even a shuttle bus which takes you from Brighton Beach, directly to the campus. So if you would prefer to live near Kingsborough, then I suggest looking near the residential area in Brighton Beach.

    Academic Rigor

    Kingsborough Community College offers many different academic programs such as Arts, Science, Math and many more. Kingsborough does not force you to take classes that does not pertain to your career, unless your degree specifically requires it. The professors at the campus all come from different backgrounds and experiences in how they achieved in their career. Unlike many community colleges, the professors at Kingsborough offer more than just lecturing students in their courses but also offer valuable advice and information about how to succeed in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    For new students entering the college, I would suggest to attend the campus orientation, usually starting around the beginning of the semester. The orientation will help you learn about the community and understand the locations of buildings and offices. You may even meet a new friend! Another tip is to frequently visit your guidance counselor, they will help set up your courses and career. Be sure to ask your counselor for a list of available resources at the campus, it is crucial to take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough is a well diverse, multi-cultural community college for students who are seeking to improve their GPA, transfer to a university, or even to graduate. Students here are giving a great environment to start and build the path for their career, enabling them to achieve their long-term goals. Kingsborough opens its doors for all and offers many courses to choose from, even offering a Continuing Education program for adults who are wanting to continue their education.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UMMMMM........no though, its pretty safe. There are security guards all over the place most of the time.

    Greek Life

    Some, I personally am waiting until I transfer.

    Clubs and Activities

    A whole bunch! Its a little weird though. I mean not to put anyone on the spot but I like to read so I thought to try and join the book club. I didn't really feel the love when I signed up so I just read the book on my own, but I'm an ambassador as well, and they're more involved and welcoming to me. The one good thing that came out of the book club though is that I found out I was an honor student, which drove me to keep up the good work. Unfortunately I was only going there for one year so I could't take a lot of honor classes- I couldn't take any actually because most of the classes I already took or didn't need.

    Great for these types of students

    People who need a little bit more time to get ready for college but don't want to stop their studies.

    Bang for the buck

    Yea, its a CUNY school so its pretty cheap, and you get your moneys worth. If you know how to use whats there to your advantage you probably get more out of it.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the gym, go swimming in the pool and go to the beach. Sometimes they throw parties on campus and have different events. They also go on trips (this year they're going to six flags). Its a lot to do. Two of my friends in particular are trying to get me in the gym for summer.............-_________- we'll see......

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. I usually stick to the salad bar, just because I know the stuff. My sister loves the Chinese food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Yea the academics are pretty substantial. If your really trying to impress your transfer college make sure to get in the honor program and join a club or two. Get involved!

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you go try to sketch out a plan. It is easy to get sidetracked at the school if you go in there with no plan and are easily influenced and move with the crowd. Also stay on top of your stuff. Make sure you are taking all the right classes for your degree or program. Make friends with the same goals as you, people who want to succeed and make something of themselves.

    In three sentences

    Its a good transitioning school. There are different programs you can get involved in. Its easy to get to.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    many campus events. block parties and we also have many rappers come to the school. you just have to want to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good and speedy. they know students are always in a rush and try there best to keep things moving. you can also go outside for food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    it all depends on the professor that you have. the major you are. the courses you are taking

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard DO what you have to do Never forget why you are there

    In three sentences

    It is a great stepping stone and a great support system. they help prepare you for the real world. I love it.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    oh yea, every penny worthed, and you got plenty additional etc

    What to do for fun

    plenty. clubs, organisation and so much more, beach, gym, swim, theater , mic performance for anyone in full the entire cafeteria when ever they have it... too much to mention, oh free shuttle buses from college to train station and vice sersa

    Food and Dining

    kool. plenty to offer and looks great, but i dont buy, i carry food

    Dorm Life

    dont have dorm

    Academic Rigor

    kool, the first 2 weeks are normal, but after that, buckle up because the classes moves fast and plenty homework which is challenging but without that then you wouldnt have anything to do, so it the coolest college both academically and other wise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come and see for yourself and you will love it, its better than home. plenty to offer, if not consider the best community college in NYC. kool

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best community college in new York, plenty to offer, unbelievably incredible atmosphere and professors, but the work is high and the class move fast, so no time to waste as you finish the first 2 weeks, buckle up, and keep up.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safely, many security guards patrolling the premises periodically.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't join any club and specific activities, only heard the details from friends. I can't really voice much about this topic.

    Great for these types of students

    Must join the honor program in Kingsborough if your a A's student. Many good advisers and students that is willing to help you academically. One of the most friendly environment in campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Have one of the highest transfer out rate among community college.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the recreational facility, free to go to swimming pool and gym facility. There is also free yoga lesson in campus.

    Food and Dining

    Huge cafeteria with Wifi provided, most important, there is food vendor in every building and out of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in Kingsborough.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the difficult professors is the one who tried to teach you the basis, so uptake that challenges. There is no easy way out, strive for difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    If interested in internship, best of relying on another source.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough provides a great learning environment by having free tutoring and facility for students with need of helps. However, it lacks organized programs for internship. Wasn't able to get much advises and helps from the internship department.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is good there has been no crime in a long time.

    What to do for fun

    clubs clubs clubs. There are always movie nights, plays, and dances. There is a radio station WKRB-90.9 FM that is ran by students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and it is cheap. The sandwiches are fantastic. the cafeteria is clean and upstairs are some sofas that are great for studying or just relaxing until your next class.

    Dorm Life

    NO dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Study because if you do not you will be left behind. The professors here do not believe in extra credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all the clubs there will definitely be something that sparks your interest. The cafeteria is awesome and the sandwiches are to die for. Before spending hundreds on books ask around and most likely another student who had the class in the past will be selling theirs for half the price.

    In three sentences

    The classes are great but one must study in order to stay ahead of the pack. The professors are interested in regarding your goals and give advise on the best course of action one should take. The clubs and the interaction between the student gives kbcc the sense of being part of a caring community.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is reinforced by seccurity located all over campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs at KBCC. Student life is active

    Great for these types of students

    Immigrants Those returning to school for the 2nd time Those pursuing a 2nd degree

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is the CUNY by the sea :-)

    Bang for the buck

    For the buck, there is definately a bang! KBCC, while a CUNY school, has great facilities and a beautiful campus. It is a great stepping stone.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events being posted.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide array of food choices at Kingsborough. There is hot food as well as snacks, salads and sandwhiches.

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing program is a bit different that all of the other programs. It is not as easy as some of the more basic classes. As you progress, the level of difficulty increases as expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are people in all of the offices that are willing to help. However, if you do not ask, you will not recieve the help!

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough has a lot to offer to the student that is willing to work hard. The Nursing program ( of which I am a part), has some of the best facilities, equipment and professors. We have a skills lab with over 20 beds!

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Find a club and make the most of it.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students in the NYC area who still need to figure out what they want to pursue in life; it's great for students who may need to reorganize their academic life for the better (low high school GPA); it's a great way to save money for the first two years of college before transferring to a larger school.

    Bang for the buck

    This school, just like all CUNYs, are great for the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many spots around campus where you can hang-out. During the Spring and Summer, the beach is right there. Take advantage of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a prospective student, make sure to work with your counselor to take all the classes you need. Be part of the community. Joining a club or other organization is that much more important at a commuter community college.

    In three sentences

    CUNY KCC is a great community college in that it has a campus away from the city. The campus is along the water which is great during the summer. The class selection is wide and the professors want you to succeed to go onto four year schools.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to work hard.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school which enhanced my academic abilities.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is tons of security on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is over a 100 clubs and student organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People who messed up in high school but are looking to make a great GPA and transfer to a four year college. Working students. Money saving student. Nursing students. Students in need of a flexible schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every fall there is a BBQ with games and tons of free food.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club. Use the gym and pool. Simply take in the beauty of this gorgeous campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms... yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you allow yourself enough time to arrive in a timely fashion for your class because the buses are always crowded. Take a walk around campus and familiarize yourself with the locations of the offices and the layout of the building. Use the library! There is eight floors of it for a reason. Oh, and don't buy books from the campus book store. Each semester students put up books for sale for MUCH cheaper which helps you and them.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough has a friendly and always ready to help staff and tons of courses. Their free tutoring and counseling services are always open to you which is absolutely great. Even if you're not completely happy with your teachers or the fact that you're only here for two years you can always enjoy the gorgeous campus.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is top notch and there are guards everywhere to assist you in direction, check ID, escort you to your car late night etc.

    Greek Life

    Not familiar with Greek Life on this campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Cannot even list the number of clubs available. The school is very open and eccentric and there is a club or two or three for each individual no matter how weird you think you are

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people that cannot afford a private college. It also has so many majors it's a good school to explore your options before deciding on a major and transferring to a 4-year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful and huge. It has an aquarium a beach for students and faculty.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college their resources are great and their up to date technology and grants offer even underpriveledged students a chance to use the newest technology. For Example: I Touches for the Nursing department with Nursing applications for easy referencing while at clinical sites.

    What to do for fun

    Volunteering, clubs, honor society, activities and fairs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't very pricey and you can use your credit card at a $5 minimum instead of the usual $10!

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing program is very intense and takes a lot of studying, hard work, and dedication. They train and accept nothing but the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and find a study partner, don't let financial problems deter you from achieving your goal. Professors are very understanding and can work with any economic status and still produce success.

    In three sentences

    Is a great community college with an incredible nursing program with one of the best passing rates of the NCLEX exam in U.S.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is definetly a step up from high school, but if you're ahead of the game or on track you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be successful while you attend this college you must be prepared, organized, and ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    CUNY Kingsborough Community College is a very diverse school with plenty of opportunities to continue your studies after your two years here. The school is filled with helpful ways to pay for tuition, books, and transportation. Also, the professors are very helpful.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beach on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent and there is a large selection.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff at this school for the most part are good in regards to helping you but the Advisors at this college wil not be much help. The classes are easy.

    In three sentences

    Great Campus atmosphere! Great Nursing Program but very difficult to get into even if you have a 4.0 GPA. Tuition costs are low but keep rising each year.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities at Kingsborough are great and if there's a club you want that isn't offered you can always create it.

    What to do for fun

    There are of course a ton of clubs and school teams. The school's gym is open during specific hours to students for free use. The campus also has its own beach which can be used during the summer. The school also holds many events that are free or discounted to their students. There are also open areas where students can hang out and play sports.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is medium-sized and has a good selection of food that I find appetizing. There's also a second smaller cafeteria on the other side of campus of the main cafeteria. There are other areas where you can obtain food as well such as kiosks and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, so there's no dorm life. Many students wish there was dorms and the campus opens at 7am and closes at about 11-11:30pm.

    Academic Rigor

    KCC is like any other college, some classes will be hard for you and others will be easier, it all depends on the professor you have for your class. But, remember this is a community college, so most of the classes won't be as hard as the other big name schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advised students to go visit the Honors House and Office of Student Life. There are many opportunities there. The college can become a second home for you when you become acquainted with the staff.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough Community College might be a community college, but it is one of the best stepping stones for your future. The amount of opportunities available at KCC surprised me. The campus is beautiful and has its own beach.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, never did we have an accident, responsible security guards, that will always help you out.

    Bang for the buck

    everything is pretty cheap, nothing overpriced, about the same cost as in any grocery store.

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the lunchroom, with the beautiful view of the ocean!

    Food and Dining

    GREAT food, love the sandwiches they make, eat them almost everyday!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm, since its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're in High School, and are going to KBCC, dont listen to anyone or anything people say about the college, becasue I have, and guess what, they were completley wrong, I love this college, I wish it was 4 years!

    In three sentences

    So far I'm loving my college. It has great professors. I have made awesome friends, and the location the college is in, just adds to the amazing experience!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School safety and security is the most important part of this community college. There is a number of staff and officers to protect the student because this is an open campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If your looking for a good cheap college with plenty of transfer opportunities, certificates and 2 year degree's its a great place, they have weekend PM classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kingsborough has traditional talent show cases and back to school parties as a way for students to get more involved and interact with other students and staff. Kingsborough also has its own beach.

    Bang for the buck

    I came to this college for the calm learning environment. I don't regret it. I have met some great people and made some friends for a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    What you do for fun all depends on you hobbies in High School and what you plan on doing in the future. In High School, I loved to dance and I also loved music. When I attended Kingsborough Community College, I searched for any teams, clubs, or groups I could join that provided me with essential education to support my hobby. I found a dance club, But if dancing isn't your forte, there is a variety of different clubs and groups you could get into that won't interfere with your class course schedule. It all depends on what you want to do. If you happen to not find any club or group that you want to join, you can always petition to make your own.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a variety of food and beverages for great prices. From salad bars, to sandwich shops and Chinese food. They also have vending machines for small snacks and quick drinks on the go as apposed to a full course meal before classes.

    Dorm Life

    Kingsborough Community College is not a University. It doesn't have a dorm, But the life on college campus is great.

    Academic Rigor

    This College has a graduation rate of 17%

    Tips for prospective students

    Students looking to attend this CUNY based college in the future or any college for that matter, I would suggest you come with a clear mind and utilize the assistance around you.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Kingsborough Community College as a great college for students who love scenery and the ocean view. I could also say that this school provides a great educational experience, the utmost respectful staff of professors and a successful student body.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always on patrol and willing to help.

    Greek Life

    Multiple Academic Fraternities and Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of it, there's a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves the outdoors and love meeting new and different types of people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walking outside as opposed through inside corridors despite the weather. Campus looks beautiful at night.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Frequent activities on campus. Did I mention there's also a beach?

    Food and Dining

    Multiple options to satisfy whatever craving you have.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are so long as you follow the syllabus. Creating a dialogue with professors is a great tool also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to new things such as people with diverse ideas and beliefs while remaining true to yourself.

    In three sentences

    The epitome of diversity. Great campus with lovely scenery. The best and most helpful staff/faculty.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Office of Public Safety keeps the school safe at all times. Concerns are handled efficiently and students are always kept up to date about what's happening on campus. With trained EMT's on board, medical emergencies are also handled promptly and with the best of care.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over seventy different active clubs and the students running them are dedicated like no other to bring the best of activities to the campus. You'll often find students campaigning in the breezeway for Student Government or raising awareness about humanitarian needs.

    Great for these types of students

    beginning students, working parents, students with full time jobs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We share residency with Manhattan Beach, so you can always expect to find half-naked seniors waiting for the same bus as you in the summer.

    Bang for the buck

    Kingsborough is an affordable school and offers an education that's suites for you, there's no cut corners and students are considered with the utmost respect.

    What to do for fun

    If you're feeling tired of doing work, relax on our beautiful beach or attend one of the many extracurricular lectures offered by our clubs and organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria that serves a diverse menu of selections and any student can find something to suite their palate.

    Academic Rigor

    Kingsborough is a school where any student, regardless of their educational background, can find a place to learn and build their self of tomorrow.

    Tips for prospective students

    With our beautiful campus and varied coursework, it's easy to find something to keep you motivated to learn. Don't be afraid to participate in school activities and clubs, it's your time to shine!

    In three sentences

    scenic comfortable friendly

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Kingsborough Community College has a beautiful campus. It includes scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean, beautifully kept gardens and the smell of fresh cut grass. It has many buildings that the students utilize daily as well as keep clean.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, officers patrol deligently.

    Greek Life

    not very predominant

    Clubs and Activities

    Club activity designated day in the week. With parties and weekly meetings. Clubs for all types of people

    Great for these types of students

    Great for nursing students to get a foot in the door and a wealth of knowledge to transfer to a 4 year school to pursue a bachelors.

    Bang for the buck

    community college rates. not expensive, very affordable classes. pay for fall and winter sessions is included. pay for spring and summer session included once you were enroled full time for the previous semester.

    What to do for fun

    gym, softball, relax on beautiful campus.

    Food and Dining

    great variety and economical cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    3.5 out of 5 on a academic rigor scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be deterred by the title community college. Kingsborough offers great major of study and helpful professors. stay focused and get your associates to jump start a great career in nursing for example.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough is a very underrated community college with very knowledgable professors. It is very economical and a great precursor to a 4 year college/bachelors degree.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are available to you almost everywhere on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and organizations that fits the needs of students.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students returning from academic hiatus. It is a 2-year school that will help a student get exposed to college life.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition costs are not bad comparing to the education and skills one can attain from the school. There are several coffee shops, cafeteria, which serves all types of food from gourmet deli, to Manhattan Beach pizza.

    What to do for fun

    You can run along the beach which is right there next to the campus. There are many clubs and organizations a student can join, a gym made available for attending students, and a park that's in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Complete cafeteria with dining area, inside as well as outside, and there is also two other cafes you can visit, sit down, and do some studying.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but the surrounding area has houses in which the owners will rent out to students.

    Academic Rigor

    Different professors have different ways in which to teach their students, and at this school, they'll give you a variety of perspectives to make it work in your advantage when it comes to studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many places where students can get all the resources they need, if they deem it necessary. Other students are also greatly involved with the school, so you can also communicate with them on a peer level. Their library is HUGE! Eight floors to be exact, and if the school does not have the book you're looking for, the librarians help you find it at either another school, or a book store near you. The gym is also open to all students who attend there, so staying active is not a problem. They have seminars, fraternities and sororities, and enough space to study anywhere.

    In three sentences

    This school is not half as bad as people perceive it to be. This institution has great professors, from different places, and they encourage students to keep continuing with their education. They have a beautiful campus, right by the beach, so studying is a little bit more fun!

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security available at all times of the day as well as patrolling security on foot and in vehicles.

    Greek Life

    There is the National Honors Society Club offered to students with exceptional grade point averages called Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities of all sorts, such as animation, criminal justice, and self government.

    Great for these types of students

    The school offers interests for people of all ages and cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love to sit the shore for a very relaxing moment in between classes. The shore provides a view across town.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is quite reasonable and the school as well offers financial programs for assistance.

    What to do for fun

    There are an unlimited options for recreation, some examples are swimming at the campus pool, exercising in the gym and relaxing on the campus' beach.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and at a good price. There is a Starbuck's brew located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This college works with students of all academic levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions and network. Be open to learn new things.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough has been an amazing opportunity. This college is very resourceful and multifaceted. I highly recommend this school!

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good

    Academic Rigor

    3.5 gpa

    In three sentences

    it is very good. it helped me a lot. i would refer it to other people

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is well staffed with security agents. Mostly filled with people who are not looking for trouble. They are looking for an education.

    Greek Life

    Greek Americans ARE present on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mardi Grass. The carnival. U 220 Parties.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing Students. Criminal Justice. Liberal Arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The astronomy tower. The boat yard. The Urban Farm.

    Bang for the buck

    Get pretzels from the machine in the S Building. They are the cheapest.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach. hang out in the dining room. Join a club-there are many. Clubs include: The Haitian club, the Catholic club, the Jewish club, among others.

    Food and Dining

    The food is overpriced. The staff are O.K. The Pizza is said to be of poor quality.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm. I wish they had a dorm. Most folks just commute back and forth (if not ALL).

    Academic Rigor

    Its great. I love doing the work. I feel educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get M1 & M2 out of the way. Apply early. ALWAYS be on time to class.

    In three sentences

    It is really interesting. There are people from everywhere. The Education is top notch.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I tried to join a club so I signed up for everything and left my email, however, I didn't get any info on the club I wanted to join =[

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but if you go to the cafe everyday it can put a hole in your wallet if you're not working.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part everything is straight forward. Some professors are boring and other aren't but everyone is friendly and is willing to help you if you need it.

    In three sentences

    The environment is nice and clean. Sometimes it can get extremely cold outside (and in some classes depending on where you are) so bring a sweater/hoodie.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much clubs and the ones that are open usually take place during class time.Participation in clubs are low because many college kids do part-time and work.

    Food and Dining

    Just the regular menu including pizza, Chinese food,a salad bar and sandwich bar.Wish there were more options but as far as the taste go,it's a plus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.It's a close to home community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Semi-easy but there are tough professors as well.From the classes I've taken, English is usually the most consuming with the essays and strict professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for trains to be delayed and some interactive professors and some with just lectures.

    In three sentences

    Close to home, fair priced as community college.Large diversity with the beach at it's back door however,few programs and not enough variety of clubs.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not too bad. They got fresh sushi and amazing pita sandwiches.

    Academic Rigor

    Although a community college, its not for slackers. There's assignment after assignment but don't worry, you'll have time to do them and even enjoy some.

    In three sentences

    Kingsborough isn't the typical community college you hear about. Things are laid back here but the proffesors are always knowledgeable about the subjects they teach. At least mine have been.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach!

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't great, but they have added a pretty nice salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make of it. If you want to float by and the minimum you can, but that will only make transferring to a 4-yr more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as early as possible because classes fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    There are some very good professors at this community college, especially the math and science departments. Take advantage of any opportunities there. It can be an atmosphere that is hard to study in, try the 8th floor of the library.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is really good. they will help you with any question that you ask them and they will make sure that you are safe and that you are going the right way and that your desired destination is known to you

    Greek Life

    i don't think there's greek life in kingsborough.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs-like cultural clubs, religious clubs, athletic teams, and skills of interest clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    it's great for people who want to go to four year colleges, who want to go for nursing, and who are high achievers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are ongoing events that you just have to find out for yourself by looking at fliers and asking the offices for more information. you do the research on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    kingsborough makes sure students are prepared for their careers and four year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    .go join in the athletic teams, clubs, and sports activities. there is a club for every topic you can think of

    Food and Dining

    the beach cafe is awesome. you see the view of the beach and the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at kingsborough.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are rewarding and challenging so you have to work very hard because the professors are smart and they make sure you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    kingsborough will help you prepare in your career and to four year colleges. kingsborough will give you the tools that you need to succeed.

    In three sentences

    kingsborough has provided with opportunities and resources to enrich my studies. i like the beach view at the cafeteria. it's challenging but rewarding

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    tuition for ny state resident for a fulltime student is $1,800. not to mention! they offer students who are full time and us citizens 8 credits free kudos!

    What to do for fun

    with over one hundred clubs, multiple teams, yoga (pilate) classes, and not to mention a one million dollar view there is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    throughout the campus they're are multiple facilities where students can eat and catch up on work and reading.

    Dorm Life

    there aren't any dorms on campus, however commute to the school by mta or driving is fairly simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    although it is a 2 year college kb offers many programs, diverse student body, astounding views of the ocean, plenty of clubs, and so much more !

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe.

    Greek Life

    there are a small number of sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    haven't tried any yet, but they are available

    Great for these types of students

    if you are a liberal arts major interested in business, counseling, or any other science this is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the t buildings are really far and not connected to the other buildings like a-m so when choosing your class beware!

    Bang for the buck

    i think that for the price it is you get a lot. the academic offices seem to really care about us students and there are a lot of resources available to help you further your education.

    What to do for fun

    there are clubs on campus just go to the student center and find out.

    Food and Dining

    it is not your momma's cooking but if your hungry there is a food court and several small stands in certain buildings as well as many vending machines. you will be fine.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus so i cannot help you here.

    Academic Rigor

    it is not an intense school so as long as you are a functioning individual you should be able to keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    make use of the career center! do not be afraid of the classrooms and definitely use your professors as resources for your career interests.

    In three sentences

    kingsborough is great because the prof's seem to really care about the students enjoying the majors they are interested in or are enrolled in already. the campus is small but this is a plus because it is easy to find your classes just pay attention to the signs. the career center for advising is very useful for getting job assistance and internships.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    open minded, ambitious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the theater is the place to be.

    What to do for fun

    play sports, attend daily events/ shows, or just hang out on the beach.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask plenty of questions.

    In three sentences

    kcc has a beautiful campus. it's a great learning environment. it also has wonderful and well respected faculty members.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always active and every where i walk they're around greeting and being friendly as well as doing their jobs.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs in every field. there is a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is for every type of student.

    What to do for fun

    they are many clubs and open gym and fitness.

    Food and Dining

    the food court and cafeteria are great. they serve a variety of foods from early in the morning and around 6 or 7 at night. its very convenient and have all my favorites.

    Dorm Life

    there aren't any dorms.

    In three sentences

    cuny kingsborough community college is a perfect school to go to for people who just got out of high school or took time off before attending college. it is diverse and the staff care about their jobs and students. the campus is beautiful and convenient.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i am a single mother to three young children, for me to be in school shows my children that it doesn't matter how old you are you can always attend college and improve your future.

    What to do for fun

    i don`t have time for fun all i do is study. when i do have time i like to take walks.

    Food and Dining

    i cook for my self.

    Dorm Life

    i don`t live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and you will make it far in life.

    In three sentences

    kingsborough community college gas been a great experience so far, i am in my second semester in their nursing department. being a nursing student has taught me so much about helping people that are sick, i am very happy that i am a nursing student at kingsborough community college.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is really good. they will help you with any question that you ask them and they will make sure that you are safe and that you are going the right way and that your desired destination is known to you.

    Greek Life

    i don't think there's greek life in kingsborough.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs-like cultural clubs, religious clubs, athletic teams, and skills of interest clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    it's great for people who want to go to four year colleges, who want to go for nursing, and who are high achievers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are ongoing events that you just have to find out for yourself by looking at fliers and asking the offices for more information. you do the research on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    kingsborough makes sure students are prepared for their careers and four year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    go join in the athletic teams, clubs, and sports activities. there is a club for every topic you can think of.

    Food and Dining

    the beach cafe is awesome. you see the view of the beach and the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at kingsborough.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are rewarding and challenging so you have to work very hard because the professors are smart and they make sure you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    kingsborough will help you prepare in your career and to four year colleges. kingsborough will give you the tools that you need to succeed.

    In three sentences

    kingsborough has provided with opportunities and resources to enrich my studies. i like the beach view at the cafeteria. it's challenging but rewarding.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for older students returning to school because of the flexible schedule. and its also great for the high school graduates that maybe cant afford to live in a dorm or who's grades weren't good enough to go away to school.

    Bang for the buck

    at kbcc you get what you pay for. no more no less.

    Food and Dining

    there is not a variety of food on campus and among the choices that are given one or two place are just good. right outside of campus are two maybe three places to eat with aren't any better than on campus. prices are in the moderate range.

    Academic Rigor

    i can only speak of the classes in which i have taken, but all but my science and nursing classes have been quite easy. as long as you attend class you will do just fine. many professor teach from the text but if you attend classes then you will get a better understanding of the concept. my nursing and science classes on the other hand required many hours of studying and practice outside of the classroom. i gave fours stars because most of my classes are nursing and science based. it is a pleasant welcome when having to take a liberal arts class.

    Tips for prospective students

    when starting school please stay abreast of your paperwork. always make copies of anything that is given to administrative offices. if possible get a laptop as computers are difficult to gain access to during the day. and please attend class. the professors are very helpful if they see you putting in effort.

    In three sentences

    the administrative offices are very unorganized, and you have to. the science and marine programs are excellent. the look and style of the campus needs to be upgraded.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your looking for a good cheap college with plenty of transfer opportunities, certificates and 2 year degree's its a great place, they have weekend PM classes. summer and winter classes that also have PM classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending kings borough, Always make sure to pick you're classes wisely. like other colleges some of the professors have their own grading system. much different from what you might be used to. Also note registering for classes a lot earlier than you normally would. Kings borough offices are quite slow & aren't very friendly to be honest. most professors are, they're offices not so much.

    Bang for the buck

    You've got that right, you get you're money's worth when it comes to credits, because you can transfer them into other Colleges and most are accepted.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, I love being at kings borough. the campus is really nice, and quite larger than you would expect.

    Am learning a lot

    I have got to say, i didn't know what to expect. I've heard a lot of bad things about community colleges. they were all wrong all of my professors have been great and I have learned important life lessons.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy diversity, attentive teachers, great extracurricular opportunities should apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your professors are there to work for you. Take advantage of all they can teach you and make sure you understand it. I have worked with professors for honors courses and they make the work fun and interesting to the student.

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kingsborough Community College would be great for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an individual who enjoys a great diversity this is a school for you. In Kingsborough Community College you are very welcomed and will never feel alone. There are a variety of extracurricular activities that you can join or even sit and watch for your own amusement. This is a college that provides tons of careers that would keep your interest. It has everything an away college has except the dorms and you have to commute.

    Bang for the buck

    Kingsborough Community College is worth my time and I am glad I chose to come here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Kingsborough Community College. At times I don't even feel like going home because there is always something good happening on campus whether it is a play, performance, events for the students or even the basketball games. It is also a great experience meeting new people who can become a good study partner or even a good friend in the future. At times I wish there were dorms are apartments linked within the college because that's how much I love being at the college.

    Am learning a lot

    I just finished my first semester and I have learned a lot in just 12 weeks. From the beginning to the end you get everything done on time without any problem. The professors are very helpful and teach you everything you need to know within your course, which at times relate to the real world.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    yes.because i would make the best of it

    Will learn a lot

    well i will like to attend this collage.