Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Carl Albert State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bowling and movies.

    Food and Dining

    great.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    For math try to get Ms. Bain, she is a great teacher. Also, try and be a part of the Student Support Services.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed going to this school. Everyone was really nice and helpful.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall 30 minutes away. Along with a theatre and also volleyball here on campus as an after school activity.

    Food and Dining

    There is no Cafeteria for Students at the Sallisaw Campus. There are many available restraunt's under a mile away.

    Dorm Life

    Poteau campus offers dorm living, I attend the Sallisaw branch where there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Carl Albert strives to help their students succeed. However their graduation rate is very low.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carl Albert is a great starter school and hold the title for the lowest tuition in the state.

    In three sentences

    Carl Albert is a well organized institute of Higher Education. Its teacher to student ratio makes it easier to get one on one with the instructors. The flexible scheduling of classes makes it easy to go to school around work.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There a variety of sports you can play and attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Interim Classes are available. Take advantage!

    In three sentences

    Carl Albert is a great school. It is a very inexpensive school. The courses here are very standard courses and the teachers are willing to help you.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and work hard and you will graduate.

    In three sentences

    I like this school. The teachers are nice and they work with you. I am glad I decided to get my degree here

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are a feature, but they're mostly lazy and have to have the intervention of city police.

    Greek Life

    Huh? No, I know what Greek life is, but it doesn't exist here.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want an education and only want to make friends, then go back home to their rural homes and work fastfood.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an army barrack on campus. Weird

    Bang for the buck

    With the cheapest tuition in the state, you couldn't find a cheaper school.

    What to do for fun

    Leave campus. Fort Smith(Arkansas) is a 30 minute drive away, and Fayeteville (AR) and Tulsa are within a two hour transit.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not very well prepared and it's the same thing day in and day out. Horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely not, unless you want to be treated like a child. Room inspections each week, no co-ed availability. You have an 11pm curfew. No bf/gf allowed in opposite dorm after 11pm. Tons of potential for tickets and fines, no room for fun.

    Academic Rigor

    You will find some scholars, but for the most part everyone is there to make cliques of friends and do dumb things, only to drop out after a semester or two.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to live off-campus; their dorms are horrid.

    In three sentences

    Overall, it's an okay school. I don't advise being an on-campus student. The instructors are good.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They keep an eye on you to make you don't get into too much trouble, but as kids it's our duty to find ways around them. Sometimes we manage it, sometimes we don't.

    Greek Life

    I personally embrace the Greek Culture everyday. I wrap a towel around me as a toga and eat grapes.

    Great for these types of students

    If you haven't experienced the world much or you're looking for a less riotous atmosphere, then Carl Albert is for you!

    What to do for fun

    I play billiards and game with friends and serenade the ladies with my guitar playing! OK, maybe not that last part...

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food is like Bam! orgasm in your mouth. Other times it tastes...well it tastes just dreadful. I can't tell which is more consistent...or if there's any consistency at all...

    Dorm Life

    I personally haven't gotten much sleep since I moved into the dorms, because my roommate and I are always playing video games together. I love the dorms, even if they are a bit small...

    Academic Rigor

    It's not the hardest curriculum to follow, but that may be because I'm a genius! The teaching staff are well-versed however and can answer any question you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate others or yourself. Everyone has something to teach you; not all of it is necessarily school related.

    In three sentences

    This college is my first step towards the goal of world domination! It's a wonderful place for me to begin my life-long journey. I learned a lot about myself in just this first year, and I look forward to everything else they can teach me.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Free activities with student ID. Movie Night. Bowling Night. Skate Night. BSU a church service.

    Food and Dining

    The café is better than high school food! :)

    Dorm Life

    I've met a lot of great people. I even room with a girl I met my first year here.

    Academic Rigor

    Very great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused.

    In three sentences

    CASC is a nice school. If it was a four year school, this is where I would be.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always two or more patrol cars patrolling at all times no matter what time of day or night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join! I am a scholar student so I am a leader in the school. I am involved with the VIKES club, the American Indian Student Association, and the Mentor program.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students on a budget, students looking for smaller classes, and students looking for a quality education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure if it is unusual but it is fun. We have a club called the VIKES club, because we are vikings, and at the basketball games we have theme nights where members of the VIKES club dress up in that theme. For example one night is toga night!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is where you get the most for your money. It is one of the cheapest tuitions in the state, and the classes are great. You really learn in the class room and they are smaller classes. If anyone is looking for a great inexpensive school they need to check out Carl Albert.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, it keeps you involved and you get to meet new people. There are usually one or two activities a month that are paid for by the college for the students to go to like watching a movie at the theater, or bowling. Also there are baseball and basketball games people can watch, and if they really want to get involved they can join an intramural sport!

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, but it is good. It can kind of get repetitive but it is all you can eat, so you can go back for seconds or until you are full. They also always have a salad bar and ice cream machine so there is something for everyone there.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms, and while they are older, it is a nice place to live. There aren't to many people so you have some space and you only have to share your room with one other person.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are easy, but you will find others that are challenging, and there is a wide selection of different classes to choose from!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with one of the great clubs that are at Carl Albert, there are so many to choose from and it really gets you involved.

    In three sentences

    Carl Albert State College is affordable for every student. We have every kind of student ranging from international students, to students who have lived in the area their whole lives. Whether you are looking for a laid back atmosphere or a more involved lifestyle, everything is available at Carl Albert!

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There do not seem to be any problems with safety.

    Greek Life

    I am a non-traditional student, so I have not experienced the fraternities and sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has several types of clubs and organizations to be part of.

    Great for these types of students

    this is a great college for both traditional and non-traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    non that I have experienced.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a great bang for your buck!!

    What to do for fun

    The college has several types of clubs and organizations to be part of.

    Food and Dining

    No dining hall at the Sallisaw campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the Sallisaw campus.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes can be rather difficlult but this will only prepare you for classes that you will take in your upper depree plans.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to what the professors and faculty advisors tell you. They really are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Carl Albert state college is a great starter college in which to earn your associate degree at on your way towards your bachelors degree at another college or university. The professors are easy to talk to and will go to great lengths to assist you is achieving your college degree.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love the fact that on certain nights, the school pays for everyone to participate in movie night, where they open the movie theater and we watch whichever movies are playing for free, bowling/lasertag night where the school pays for the students to bowl and play laser-tag at the local bowling alley. There is also skate night at the local skating rink, But my favorite is bingo night. Students play bingo in a room above the Cafe for door prizes ranging from iTunes gift cards to toilet paper.

    Food and Dining

    If you cant take the heat, stay out of the kitchen. Not literally, but the problem is, you'll eat the same food just about everyday in the Cafe. If you are a person who likes a variety, the Cafe is not a place for you. Some days are good, while others are just disgusting.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life, what everyone is most eager about when it comes to college. At CASC its not that great unless you make it great. Besides have curfew, being fined for having people in your room that are not college students and, having random room checks and fined for having boys in your room after midnight, its really cool!

    Academic Rigor

    There will be days when the instructor will be running late, although they say after 15 minutes you can, that really not the case. Be on time for all of your classes, which means being five minutes early for classes. Also, be prepared for pop quizzes, pay attention in class, if you have to, record what your instructor is saying, then you can go back and write notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save all of your information that you given from the financial aid department. Every student should always make a copy and document all paper work from the main building. Especially if it concerns your scholarships

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any cars getting broken into or anyone getting hurt on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    This small school has drama, music, student support, work study, and much more. You can expect to find just about everything here that you can at a bigger university.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for untraditional and traditional students. The classes are small making it easier to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus I attend does not have dorms. We have rooms for students just to hang out in and study when not in class.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very affordable and well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    I do not have much time for fun. When I do have a few extra minutes I like to take walks with my family and dogs.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat out very often. I like to eat at home with my family at the dinner table.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my family. I have a three-year old girl, a six-year old boy and a great husband.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very determined and want to be the best in my class and school. I will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be scared to ask questions! Find peers to study with and do homework with. Enjoy!

    In three sentences

    Carl Albert State College is a very good college. They have tested me , pushed me, and I have succeeded. The teachers are great along with the rest of the staff!

  • 11/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have heard they have a great nursing program!

    Tips for prospective students

    All the classes are great. Teachers i would recommend- Heather Hoyle(remedial english and reading) Susan hill(remedial engl, reading, and fresh comp 2) lee oneil(fresh orientation) Pollard for health and Riley for american fed gov. (Donna Dehart is also great she was my HS teacher i believe she does history)

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do research on all the possible colleges you want to try and apply for and then set and way through the pros and cons.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I have a great chance of being happy at this college

    Will learn a lot

    So far from what I've read and learned about this College it will be very helpful to me.