Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Carroll Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Going to Carroll was such a great decision mainly because I loved all of the professors that I had. They all were really passionate about teaching and I felt like they actually cared about the success of their students. The small class sizes allowed for a more personal class experience. Overall, it is a good school and a great experience.

  • 04/28/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    give it all you've got because you have it, whatever it is. be social. making friends lowers the stress level and creates more enjoyable classes.

    Campus Safety

    i'd say it's safer than places like towson, for example. there have been only two incidents that i know of while attending there and they have both happened in the parking lot and not in the actual building. but i haven't really felt like i'm in danger most of the time.

    Food and Dining

    okay, i can't forget to talk about the food. one thing a college must have is amazing food. and carroll is one of them. the thanksgiving meal is the ultimate treat! i want it everyday. and the cafeteria is always sunny and a great place to relax in between classes.

    What to do for fun

    head to the theater. you won't regret it. i love that place! the talent is bursting from the acoustic walls! and don't forget to go to the movie nights; they show awesome movies if you didn't get the chance to see it in theaters.

    Great for these types of students

    calling all artists, theater lovers, and nurses! i am an artist and love love love the classes! so helpful and juat downright fun. plus, my nurse friends say that they are really learning and immersing themselves in that area.

    In three sentences

    carroll was always my first choice upon graduation from my high school. the people you find there are each talented in a different way and very welcoming! plus, i love how short of a distance the buildings are to walk to class; it makes life easier.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe while I am there and if I am lost there is always someone present to assist me.

    Bang for the buck

    I live out of county so my tuition is higher than it would be if I lived down the street.

    What to do for fun

    I am not too familiar with the campus activities yet.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is great and there are also plenty of places to eat surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise you to not be afraid to ask questions, you will never know if you never ask.

    In three sentences

    This college is very clean, bright and welcoming. The staff was very helpful in the admissions and financial aid process. Any questions that I had were promptly addressed and answered.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    For food and dinning I still currently live at home and take advantage of home cooked meals. Carroll does have a lunch room. They also have things like vending machines all over the campus and coffee stops.

    Dorm Life

    Carroll Community does not have dorms. I currently live at my parents and travel 15 minutes to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Carroll has many classes that will help you in your future. They also have tech. classes like a pharmacy tech, and cna

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We get free Coldstone ice cream once a semester, it is AWESOME

    What to do for fun

    See plays, go on road trips, and many many many student clubs and organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. You should always be one step ahead of what is coming up next.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautifully kept. The teachers actually care about if the students learn something and know their stuff. The staff are always exceptionally nice and helpful.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt extremely safe on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone! If there isn't a club you are interested in you can make your own!

    What to do for fun

    There are a million clubs and activities a student can join in on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious although the Starbucks can sometimes be too addicting

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very dedicated to making sure their students do well!

    Tips for prospective students

    BUY YOUR BOOKS ON TIME

    In three sentences

    I think that CCC is one of the best community colleges in Maryland. All of the teachers are friendly and always willing to help you. I've excelled well there and I believe it is because of the teachers.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security does a great job, I have always felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities for those who like to get involved. They range from academic communities to fun clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that do not want to go to a big, four-year school right away. Also great for those who are looking for a good start to their education without spending a ton of money.

    Bang for the buck

    The money that you spend here will be way less than what you would spend at a four year school, plus you get a smaller class size and excellent teaching. Almost all general education classes transfer very easily.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and a Starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Community college - so no dorms. Also no room and board payments!

    Academic Rigor

    I have found all of my classes so far to be a good academic challenge. No impossible tasks, but they require effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the people at Academic Advising, they can help you figure out what classes to take and how to map out your study plan. If you are having trouble in a class, ask your professor what you can do to better learn the material. Do not be afraid to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    It is a good size, not too big and not too small. The professors are excellent and always willing to give advice. The college has provided a wonderful learning experience.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome campus security who are friendly, understanding, and diligent.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I've seen about four pictures in the past year of student clubs posted on the walls.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking an associates that plan to not put where they obtained the associates from on their resume.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap courses but expensive books and text material.

    What to do for fun

    There's a loud common area and an outdated library that limits the amount of paper a student can use.

    Food and Dining

    A fine dining gas station pretty much sums this up.

    Academic Rigor

    Sorry, the staff at Carroll is just awful. I had to rate this a one-star. The teachers are wonderful though!

    Tips for prospective students

    If Carroll is your only choice I suggest online courses unless you take five minutes to understand web-advisor in that case, on-campus teachers are excellent, resourceful, and highly knowledgeable. But, if you have the option to not deal with the staff, take it, and sprint. Why should the staff matter to you? For one, you need to work with them to create your area of study, transferability, and general questions.

    In three sentences

    This school is absolutely horrible. They promote no individuality, uniqueness, or personal merit for excellence. The teachers that do not hold any other relations to the college are wonderful and enthusiastic. The admissions, advising, and internship advising staff are disorganized, inefficient, and will not only sway you but alter your class schedule to keep you taking courses that are not pertainent to your degree. For monetary purpouses, obviously. If you are the type of person that reads everything before you sign, than this school wouldn't be too bad. I'm stating they're cheap classes. However, if you are the type of person that will invest trust in a persons ability to do the job that you are paying them to perform (for example, giving you affirmation and then throwing your transcript in the trash or make you wait for them while they're taking a personal break after you've made them aware of your time availability because your mother is in the hospital for neurosurgery) then this school should be restricted on your Google search engine. Currently, I hold a 3.0 GPA of transferable credits. I am a former Marine. I have put my personal name and email address to give validity to these statements made above. The rest of the five star ratings you read were nothing more then computer generated bots or fake accounts. In an attempt to boast the character of, Carroll Community College. If you would like more statements of honor roll students agreeing with what I've stated, email me and I will gladly introduce them to you. If you need help in deciding another college or leaving this college. Then email me and I will help assist you.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security gaurds are friendly and will walk you out to your car if you have late classes and you ask them to. There are also emergency phones posted throughout the parking lots and secutiry patrols.

    What to do for fun

    There are free movies played several nights each month in the spring as well as a study break each semester with free smoothies and shoulder massages. There's a ton of trips you can sign up for at reasonable rates but you gotta sign up fast! And there's a student center with television, couches to crash on, an outdoor balcony, and study rooms.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic! They are reasonably priced with delicious gourmet dinner specials and made-to-order hot and cold sandwich bar. Try the grilled cheese with bacon and a side order of sweet potato fries!

    Dorm Life

    This is a two year college therefore there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but no overwhelming if you keep up with your assignments and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up early to get a parking space that is close. Do your assignments as soon as you can, they build up faster than you think they will! Connect with the tutoring center, they're friendly and really do help in a wide variety of subjects.

    In three sentences

    Easy to find classes with helpful and supportive staff and professors. Tons of extra curricular clubs, trips, and free activities. Clean, well kept, and pleasant to be at.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus officers are the nicest people in the world. Several of them know me by name and I really appreciate that. It makes me feel really good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs you can join and you can create your own, including Student Government, Drama Club etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants to focus on their studies and doesn't want to be distracted by the environment of a party school.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you receive is worth more than the piece of parchment you receive. With the 60+ credits you receive with your AA and the articulation any the 4 year colleges in state, you'll be able to transfer without any trouble if you want a Bachelors Degree. Carroll also offers 2 year training programs as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs you can join or create your own club. There are also several movie nights, plays, musicals and special events that happen on campus celebrating other cultures, or even just Free Smoothie and Free Cold Stone Ice Cream Day.

    Food and Dining

    There is a meal plan available at Carroll. The chef there usually has a daily special for about $5.25 and it's delicious. They also have a Deli, Starbucks cafe, and a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    It's a commuter school, there aren't any dorms on campus. Since the college is growing at a huge rate, the option for dorms has been a topic of conversation, we shall see in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    While it isn't the most competitive college, the challenge of learning is still present. If you're not ready for the pressure that college has to offer, professors do give you extra room because there are less students in a classroom. It's great because you can learn at your own pace while still accomplishing credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not sure on what you want to do when you get to college, Carroll is a great option. There are plenty of programs to choose from and explore, and if you want to graduate with your AA, any in-state Maryland public college will accept you. And there are a lot of transfer scholarship opportunities. Including an agreement with Johns Hopkins Business School and several others in Maryland.

    In three sentences

    I have attended Carroll for several semesters and it was a great decision. It's cheap, and gives me a chance to explore what I wanted to do major/career-wise without it costing me a pretty penny. Plus the career counselors and professors are ALWAYS available for your need. I Facebook with Barb Gregory, the Career Counselor, amazing woman!

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    lots of free to students activities held at the school and amazing!

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    overall depends on the teacher. if you have the head of a department buckle up, its gonna be a little harder

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't force yourself to rush through the credits for your major. Take care of your gen ed credits first and the rest will be a little easier

    In three sentences

    enjoyable stable contemporary

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Low expenses and easy payment options make earning college credits much more accessibile to students who support themselves and work full time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is cheap and great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early, take advantage of the FACTS payment system to make expenses easier.

    In three sentences

    Affordable and convenient, very flexible class schedules. Perfect for students that work full time jobs or have families.

  • 11/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are not sure of your major, if you just want your AA or nursing degree, if you just want to get your gen-eds out of the way, pretty much anyone who wants to learn and better themselves!

    Bang for the buck

    Carroll is a wonderful education for the price. It's a little bit more expensive then some community colleges but everything they do for you makes up for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is a very nice school & location. You always feel safe and at home. Everyone here is very helpful and supportive. It's a good choice for someone who doesn't know thier major yet or even to just get your geneds out of the way for cheaper then a big school.

    Am learning a lot

    I expected Community College to be like 13th grade but it is really different! You will learn a lot, most of the teachers are really helpful and work in their majors and are excited to be teaching you! You learn everything you need to know to transfer or even to just get your AA.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're not exactly sure what college is right for you and if you haven't declared a major yet, Carroll's a great place to start out at. Even if you know what you want to do, Carroll has great programs like elementary education, nursing, and so many others that make transferring easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Because Carroll is a community college where students don't live on campus, it can be hard to connect and make friends. Carroll offers an abundance of activities on campus all the time. There are clubs you can join: basketball, green team, Christian club, soccer, rugby, dance, drama, Spanish-just to name a few, special events in the Great Hall, delicious free food (ice cream, fajitas, pretzels, funnel cakes, smoothies), and plenty of other activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't be fooled! Even though Carroll Community College is far less expensive than most schools, you still get a top-notch education. There's also lots of perks for being a Carroll student: access to its large library and computers, gym and fitness center, art galleries, bookstore, cafeteria, and theater. Other incentives include free tutoring, special seminars with guest speakers, guest performers, school trips to New York and other great places, free film festivals, and all kinds of fairs with lots of information and free handouts. Carroll even offers many scholarship opportunities and on-campus employment.

    Am enjoying being here

    Carroll is a great environment. The teacher's are great; I can tell they actually want to be there. I love the fact that most teachers I've had have taken time to learn each student's name and know a little bit about each one. It makes the class and the whole college experience more enjoyable. I also like the fact that I see many friendly faces in the classrooms and hallways. You get to know a lot of people through the variety of classes offered. I'll admit that it was quite an adjustment. I came from a small private high school where I knew everyone to a bigger college where I knew hardly anyone. I learned to break out of my shell and met new people.

    Am learning a lot

    Although Carroll is a community college, be prepared to learn a lot! Because class sizes are significantly smaller than most other colleges, you get more one-on-one attention from the teachers, which is especially helpful if you have questions. Most teachers use their class time to the fullest, which means you don't get out of class early, sorry to say. There are exceptions, but much of the time, a teacher will continue lecturing or explaining until the end of the scheduled class time. This isn’t a bad thing though. Good money is paid for each class I take, so I expect to learn as much as possible to get my money's worth. A teacher shouldn't waste your time, but also shouldn't waste your money. Just because Carroll is a community college don't assume the work will be super easy either. You're in college now; expect the workload to increase. Teachers want to prepare their students for a four-year college and later for a job. There's usually plenty of work, but it’s always fair.