Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Central College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety.

    Greek Life

    Some Greek organizations are good, however most are very crude.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a number of clubs, but one club (CAB) rules these so there's no diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You get tossed in a pond for your birthday. We also have the Lemming Race where you dress up in costume and run across the pond onto the island and sing the school anthem.

    Bang for the buck

    $40,000? It's a bit much for what is offered. The classes and professors are great, but the food and school-activities (such as comedians being brought in or campus wide events and clubs), there are little to none.

    What to do for fun

    It's a small town but we have a lot of clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not enough choices and not attentive to how food is done.

    Dorm Life

    Depends where you live. Everyone is nice, however there are issues like there are at any college.

    Academic Rigor

    You are challenged, however some professors have left the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for diversity, you will not find it here. There is a large lack of diversity.

    In three sentences

    Central is a good private school if you are religious. The school also has an excellent study abroad program.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pella in general is a very safe town.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of one but Central does offer Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Central has a wide range of clubs. I am in the fishing club and we have a great time. There are also intramurals that are a blast!

    Great for these types of students

    All types, seriously!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You get thrown in the pond on your birthday so find a good hiding spot or don't let your friends find out your birthday.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little pricey but you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Lake Red Rock is less than 5 miles away and it gives students so many opportunities! The Pella bakeries are awesome as well!

    Food and Dining

    Central has many different dining options in the main cafeteria along with the cafe which is basically like a mini starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different types of dorms to fit your personality. They are nice dorms as well!

    Academic Rigor

    If you put in the time and effort you will do just fine. They prepare you for your next step in life though!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your peers and professors.

    In three sentences

    Central has many great professors that are willing to help whenever you need it. The faculty and student body are wonderful people! Central College will prepare you for whatever the next step in your life may be.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    That all depends on what you define as fun. For me fun is reading a good book or watching a great movie. But if you like to shop or such, there aren't really any places like that in Pella. Luckily, Des Moines isn't that long of a drive away and there are plenty activities for fun to be had there.

    Food and Dining

    If you're a picky eater like me, there are some nights and days where it's hard to find something you like to eat. Also it seems at times like there is a lot of greasy food, if you don't like salad all the time and cold sandwiches for dinner. However, Central does have a pretty good variety and if they aren't serving anything that suits your palate there a plenty of nearby restaurants to pick from and a couple of small stores.

    Dorm Life

    At Central there's a little bit of everything for everyone. We're supposed to be a dry campus, but parties still go on and alcohol still gets is, but I highly discourage the practice as you or your parents are paying a pretty penny to for you to get an education, not party. Policy is strict when alcohol is found, but not bad from what I've heard. Otherwise the dorms are great, but if you have seasonal allergies I advise trying hard to get into one of the air conditioned dorms as summers are hot here and your allergies will act up.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty is great, though I have had some teachers I didn't care for that much the wonderful thing about Central is I can dodge any classes they teach and still get my degree. The classes are challenging but well worth the effort, if your coming to Central, be aware that you will have to apply yourself if you want to get good grades, you can't just goof around. But if you come the education is worth it and most of the teachers are wonderful at their jobs and very willing to work with you until you understand the curriculum, plus the student instructors are extremely helpful if you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what it is you want most from your school, be it an education, a social life, a chance to give back to the community, or small classes. For me Central is all these things and more, but that's based on the levels I want, each person has their own needs. So make sure to know what you want beforehand and ask the questions to find out if Central is the best fit for you, just try to ask more than one person as everybody has different experiences. Don't forget to take the tour, even if you chose not to come, you don't want to miss out on see the campus.

    In three sentences

    A small college with lots of spirit, set in a quaint town with a rich history and traditions. A close-knit community is found here and the faculty is wonderful. Central is the school that is going to help me create a better future for myself and others.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On your birthday, you get thrown in the pond on campus!

    What to do for fun

    Lake Red Rock is very close to campus and provides a lot to do outdoors when the weather is nice!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the school meets your financial situation. You don't want to end up transferring because you don't have scholarships or a way to pay for the next years.

    In three sentences

    Central gives students professional opportunities that large schools cannot. The one on one time with professors is priceless. The small school atmosphere gives students the opportunity to work on personal skils, communication skills, and making connections.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Homecoming, there is the Lemming Race. This is when a ton of students dress up in crazy costumes and ran from the library to the pond. It's very exciting! There is also the Breakfast of the Champions which happens the first night of finals. The professors serve you the food and the president of the college walks around and talks with everyone. A great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The only downside to Central is how expensive it is! The tuition for 2013-2014 is about $40,000. That being said, they also do a great job at finding you scholarships and grants.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 places to eat on campus that are covered by the meal plan. There is CUIFS, which is a buffet and is the main place to eat. There are so many options there AND there is dessert. Yummy! There's also GCS which has more of the fried foods. It's kind of a burger joint and is actually really good! The last place, which is my favorite, is the Cafe. They make great drinks and have great food for breakfast and lunch. A great way to start the day!

    Dorm Life

    Central does a great job at placing you in a dorm that you will enjoy. There are plenty of options too! It's very easy in the dorms to walk around and make friends on every floor. A very big reason that I will be returning to Central for the rest of my education.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not easy! They push you and challenge you but at the end of the semester, you really feel like you understand the material. This is a big reason why I would say a Central College degree is one of the best,

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Central College is located in a small town in Iowa, so it generally does not have too many problems with safety. The campus security here tend to have more important things to do when it comes to giving students rides to places, but they are overall pretty good.

    Greek Life

    I am involved in Psi Sigma Tau on campus. From what I gather about Greek Life, our groups are a lot less party oriented (minus perhaps one or two groups). There are a variety of groups to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from here. If you can't find something that you are interested in, you can always create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are really hardworking and dedicated to their education. I would suggest not coming if you are not prepared to do homework.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus, it is traditional to throw your friends into the pond on campus on their birthdays. Another tradition occurs in the cafeteria. If a couple is spotted sitting together (one boy, one girl, even if they aren't dating), some students may start banging silverware on their cups until the couple in question kisses.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is expensive. Very expensive. I feel like the school is mostly worth the amount of money you pay because it has its own theatre, sports facilities and access to many things around the town. However, it is still really expensive, which makes it hard to pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Participating in clubs is always fun. The school id also gets you into the local pool for free and a discount at the movie theatre.

    Food and Dining

    There are three different food places on campus, each of them serving different types of food. The variety is great, but either way, you still end up missing food made by your parents.

    Dorm Life

    I had some problems with dorm life in general. My personal experience provides some evidence of RAs that don't do anything with their hall and roommates that may not be well matched with you.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are generally quite tough here. If you are looking for a challenge, this is the perfect school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scope out scholarships big time before you apply. This college is really expensive.

    In three sentences

    Central College is a great school for people who want a high-quality education. It may be really expensive, but it is mostly worth the amount of money you pay. In general, the school helps you pay for the most part.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a college that is positive, uplifting, and full of good people will love Central College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Central has an annual race called the Lemming Race. For this race, everyone comes dressed up in costumes and meets at the library. They then race to the pond where they jump in and cross to the island in the middle and everyone sings the school song together. It is super crazy but very fun.

    What to do for fun

    Central College has many organizations to get involved in. They do a great job of planning events throughout the week and on the weekends to keep students busy.

    Food and Dining

    Central's food and dining is by far some of the best cafeteria food I have had. Most of the food is fresh from local markets and prepared home-made. There is always a large variety of choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Graham and I love it. It is an all girls dorm and has very nice rooms. Each room contains its own sink and its own air conditioning unit. Overall, it is usually quiet so I can get all of my homework done, but it is also really fun because my friends all live on my hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Central College has a wonderful academic program. Because it is a smaller school, professors are able to focus in on your work and have more of a one-on-one relationship with each student. The professors push you to your greatest potential and help guide you on your way to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing a college, be sure that the college has all of the assets you want such as studying abroad. Central College has a superb study abroad program, and I hope to be able to participate in it while I am here. Also, make sure to plan a college visit before you decide where you would like to go to college. When I made my campus visits it made all the difference in helping me make my decision.

    In three sentences

    Central College has a positive and uplifting atmosphere where I know I will find the resources that I need to be successful. Although Central is far from where I live, it has quickly become a place that I call home because of the awesome, caring people that are here. There is no other college I would want to attend besides Central College.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome athletic facilities and coaches from what I've seen and heard. Some of my older friends run cross country and they are very successful at this school.

    Food and Dining

    You've got the dining halls but most importantly; YOU HAVE DUTCH LETTERS.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said, definitely underrated.

    In three sentences

    Awesome DIII athletic programs and one of the most underated academic private colleges in Iowa. I've only been in Pella for non-campus visits but the city is great. The people their have great pride in their community and school.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't know much about the safety, but I do know campus security offers you rides on their cute little golf carts to your dorm at night if you don't want to. :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't tell anyone your birthday. You will get thrown into The Pond, and if your birthday is in the winter like mine... it's freezing. And you may think that the pond is too frozen over to be thrown in the winter, but it never completely freezes over. So, therefore, you will be thrown in no matter what.

    Bang for the buck

    The price tag is very high; although, I think it's worth it. You get so many opportunities and if you take advantage of them, it's definitely worth what you're paying for. I think it's worth it for me, because they provide so much advising and emphasis on my major (political science/psychology with pre-law) that I wouldn't even think of going anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Everything! There are so many different kinds of parties (like cookie-making parties and movie parties!) and lots of fun things to do when you hang out with friends on your floor or friends you meet elsewhere.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE Central's food and dining! They have so much variety, from the main cafeteria (Grand Central Station/CUIFS) to a cute little coffee shop similar to Starbucks in the library, and a little sandwich shop too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good, with many opportunities to hang out with people and meet new friends in your residence hall. The downside is that some residence halls don't have air conditioning, and it gets HOT! Also, turn in your housing form in early if you really want to live in a specific residence hall, because spots go fast!

    Academic Rigor

    Central is amazing with its academics. They take them seriously, and really help you out with internships and job opportunities. They also provide advising and lots of help for those going into graduate school. The percentage of students going into graduate school is high compared to other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO ON A VISIT! I can't emphasize enough on how important visiting a college is. Even going on overnight visits are so much more different than the regular day visits. You really get a feel of what it's like being a student when you go on overnight visits because you are staying in the dorms with college students and are treated more like a student rather than someone just getting a tour.

    In three sentences

    Central College is amazing for students really motivated to learn, yet be involved in extracurricular activities and socializing. They don't emphasize much on athletics it seems, but the arts (dance, theatre, choir, band) are very strong in Central. The campus is so easy to navigate and the best campus I've been to.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and Pella is a very safe town in general.

    Greek Life

    It is not a big deal here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Throwing people in the pond on their birthday is a highlight!

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive but you get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    Make you own fun. You really need to be creative and social.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best but it could be worse!

    In three sentences

    I love Central College! I think it is a great school and the class sizes are very small so the professors really get to know you. You feel like they really care about you and want you to succeed!

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are usually various activities going on in campus.

    Food and Dining

    Central Market is a great place to eat. There is always a wide variety of foods that all taste great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seemed nice when I was there. There are also better dorms for upperclassmen, so I am looking forward to getting those.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard great things about the academics and can't wait to go to school here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus and see if it feels like home. If it does, make sure you apply.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college in a fun town just about 45 minutes away from the state capital of Des Moines.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Theres a game called Guinness it is just like golf but with a tennis ball.

    What to do for fun

    You can always join a sport or a club. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great always something new to eat and fresh.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends where you live but overall people here are incredibly friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Class sizes are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over look this small but very rich in tradition school.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing opportunity. I couldn't see myself at any other college but Central College. My decision was made when i found out the class sizes were so small that you could get one on one time with your professors.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are plenty of sororities and fraternities on campus, and the variety among them is great. Plus, they aren't national fraternities, so dues are manageable.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small town atmosphere would do well at Central.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pond on campus that all unusual traditions revolve around: the Lemming Race is an event where people dress in costumes and race from the library to the pond (and jump in). And of course, if you tell people when your birthday is, you'll probably be thrown in the pond at some point that day.

    Bang for the buck

    Central is a fairly expensive college, but the professors and the class options can be worth the expense.

    Food and Dining

    There are three different places to eat on campus that accept the meal plan, and they are all decent. My favorite was Geisler Cafe (it's also a great place for work study employment).

    Dorm Life

    There is pretty much a place for everyone, no matter your preference in living arrangements. It would be a good idea to research each of the dorms before you pick one.

    Academic Rigor

    The English major is only as challenging as the professor teaching that class, but all of the English profs grade for participation in class, as well as for attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that this is a place where no one completely fades into the woodwork, and your professors will check in on you if they think you're struggling.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports throughout the year as well as events happening on campus. Some of the events are plays all the way to hired comedians.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you love the campus and the town before committing to college. If you do not love it 100 percent when you apply, the more likely you are not to enjoy your time spent on campus. However, keep in mind that wherever you go you will make friends that will last a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    I could not be attending a better college than Central College in Pella, Iowa. It is a wonderful campus and is in a great location. The college is amazing in every way from campus life to education.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and our security team helps that as well.

    Greek Life

    There really is no Greek Life. We have a small group of students who are involved in this but it's not very popular.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Central has a pond that you get thrown into on your birthday.

    Bang for the buck

    Central is very expensive. I think I could have got the same education at a University. The only thing I couldn't have received at the University that I love about Central is the personal connections with professors and my peers.

    What to do for fun

    Pella is a small town, which means not a whole lot to do. They always tell us that we can make our own fun but it would be nice to be able to walk down the street at 11 o'clock at night and be able to grab a bite to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay here. We have a catering business through Central and people agree that the catering food is better than the food they offer us every day.

    Dorm Life

    It's great having a residential campus. It makes getting to know people a lot easier. More choices of dorms would be great, though. Giving more opportunities for growth in students.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of rigor in academics are what you choose. You can choose to take a light load, or a rigorous load. It's up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that Central has what you're looking for in a major or what you want to get out of college. Really take your academics and your future into your hands and make decisions that are good for you.

    In three sentences

    Central College has given many of it's students amazing opportunities. Being a small school, the professors really care about how their students are doing in their classes. It makes for a great attitude for learning.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pella is a smaller town and there are not many safety concerns for this college. I have never heard of anyone calling campus security because they feel unsafe, but if you do feel uncomfortable, campus security is available 24/7 to escort you where ever you need to be.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is on a much smaller scale than bigger universities however there are still many groups here at Central. The full list includes Alpha Delta Epsilon, Alpha Zeta Chi, Beta Kappa Epsilon, Greek Council, Phi Delta Tau, Psi Sigma Tau, Sigma Phi Omega, Theta Kappa Alpha, and Zeta Upsilon.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities for all sorts of students ranging from all sports to different music ensembles and clubs. Some unusual clubs we have at Central include Rugby, Sustainability, Flying Pans Steel Drum, Bridge, and many many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Central is great for any student who may be nervous for going to a big university. The campus is friendly and everything is on a smaller scale so there is more one-on-one attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the heart of Central's campus is a little pond that students celebrating their birthday are thrown into. Some kids hide in various places to avoid their ponding but most kids get thrown in and then proceed to hug every member that took part of this tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Central provides services that help the transition to college life run smoothly. All the teachers work with you and care about how you are doing personally. Even the president of the college will sit down with students at lunch to talk about how their experience is going.

    What to do for fun

    Pella is located closely to Red Rock Lake and many students make campfires and grill out in the area. The Pella aquatic center is also free for Central students. Otherwise there is the bowling ally and movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria is Central Market which is open all week during certain hours. Otherwise, students can go to Grand Central Station or the Geisler Cafe for snacks or light meals when Central Market is closed.

    Dorm Life

    There are five dorms available for freshman to choose from. There are all male, all female, and coed living options for whatever people prefer. Also, the styles of living range from single rooms, triple rooms, double rooms, and suite-style.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always available for questions because Central is a smaller school. The classes are demanding, some harder than others, but if you put in the effort, friends and teachers can make the classes really enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out campus for yourself. A college can look very different on a computer screen than in real life. Also, when you apply for any college, be one of the firsts to send in deposits; some things are done on a first come, first serve basis.

    In three sentences

    Many students attend Central because of the friendly students that already go there. It has a full-circle effect because the students that apply are friendly themselves. Everyone, including faculty and staff, go out of their way to help students.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not only is the campus safe but the entire community/town is as well.

    Food and Dining

    Central offers a lot of different options for food. There is a Cafe, for coffee and muffins, Grand Central Station for burgers and fries and there is also the main facility, Central Market, for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    You can get any type of living life-style depending what you want. If you want a loud dorm you can find it but you can also find a dorm that is quite so you can get studying down.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major you'll have a pretty steady academic rigor. You'll definitely be challenged but professors are fun and flexible.

    In three sentences

    Central College is a great place for all types of students; whether with an undecided or decided major. Overall, they offer a wide variety of help and support for all types of issues. It's a place to learn, grow and express your future-self.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Central is great! The education is beyond wonderful. Take advantage of every opportunity.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe I haven't seen any bad incidences here since I have been.

    Greek Life

    I am in a sorority and I love it. We have 5 social sororities/fraternities on campus and the rest are academic or major based. I love the sorority I'm in and it's a great way to meet new friend and different kinds of people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most have to do with sustainability as we are striving to be a green campus. However there are some that raise awareness of world issues, and then of course the sports clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    There are all kinds of differnt personalities and people here. Well This is a small school so Central is great for students seeking small schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We having a lemming race every fall semester around Halloween. Everyone dresses up in costumes and we run through the campus and jump in the pound. It's pretty exciting and fun to see all the different kinds of costumes.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you pretty much get you monies worth.

    What to do for fun

    Sometime we go to the movies or bowling or we drive up to Des Moines to go to the mall. When We don't have money ( which is the majority of the time) we go for walk or runs, play games, watch are own movies, go to the school cafe for coffee.

    Food and Dining

    I'm severely lactose intolerant and they don't really provide a lot of options for me or my roommate who has celiacs disease( gluten intolerant). She is off the meal plan and on food stamps so she can afford to buy food and I am hoping to follow here lead.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life it pretty cool the majority of the people who come here are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Central college certainly has some pretty challenging classes, but the school does provide a lot of help to those who seek it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely start with your core classes and then more on to the ones required for you major. Also Getting to know your professors is a good idea just because it makes your experience here that much more fun.

    In three sentences

    I love Central college mostly because each professor has such a passion for the subjects they teach. Their enthusiasm and passion for their subject encourages you to be just as excited about what you are learning from them.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the campus is a very safe environment. The people are so friendly and the community around the campus is so friendly you really don't have to worry about anything happening to you.

    Greek Life

    Getting involved with a Fraternity or a Sorority is not only a good experience and fun, it also looks good on a job application.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities that try to involve students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that most people don't look forward to is getting thrown into the pond on their birthday.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities that you can get involved in. There are sports, clubs, and other extra curriculars such as choir.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Central College could be a little better. They have a wide variety but the menu is very repetitive. The food altogether just isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You meet many different people and make lots of new friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate Study hard Get involved

    In three sentences

    This college has a beautiful, easily accessible campus. The professors are very helpful. The other students and people on campus are very nice and welcoming.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    small but exists.

    Clubs and Activities

    whatever you want to get involved with, you can find.

    Great for these types of students

    student-athletes, students wanting to go to a christian school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    get thrown into the pond on your birthday

    What to do for fun

    can party if that's what you're into, but there a lot of students who don't. not too far from des moines or iowa city for city life. movies, dining, and bowling are all in town. the college also brings in a lot of entertainers like comedians.

    Tips for prospective students

    take college classes in high school.

    In three sentences

    small college where you can easily make the closest friends you've ever had. you get support from the community, professors, faculty, alumni-everyone wants you to succeed.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe, becasue it is in a very small town.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activies.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for any social student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one unusual tradition is getting thrown in the pond for your birthday. we also have a lemming race where students dresses up in costumes and race to our pond at the school.

    What to do for fun

    what is fun to do is go to the comedians on the weekend, go bowling, or even go to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay, but it could use a more variety.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are good with a suite like style, so only four people have to share a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are hard, but if a person studies they are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips for prospective students are to go to class, study regularly, and do the homework.

    In three sentences

    central college is a good college, but it is very expensive since it is a private college.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every weekend their is some type of activity that you do not have to leave campus for. This has been movie night, pizza, athletic tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    The main dinning area as a variety of food every day and gives you lots of choices but most of the time the food is I would conciser to be unhealthy because of cooking for mass quaintly but over all the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all nice and they all have different Advantages of living in them over all they are all modern and fun places to be.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends what subject areas you are studying in and who your professors are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go in thinking your going to only study once subject area. Have a few in mind and take classes from them to help defied what you really want to do with your life.

    In three sentences

    Central College works with you to allow you to study in different disciplines and they work with the other discipline areas to come up with a workable schedule for you.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn, make new friends, compete, work together, and have the best four years of their life would love Central College. The classes are small and new friends are made in the classroom. Athletics are a big part of Central and are very well-known. Participation and cooperation are important both in and out of the classroom. Having the right attitude will make the four year go fast, but will create a lot of memories.

    Tips for prospective students

    Central College is a great college because of the knowledgeable professors, beautiful campus, and the students and faculty. It takes everyone to make a great college. I have grown to be a part of the Central family where I plan to stay and remain a part of for the rest of my life. It is a small college where friends will be made and kept. Central College has a friendly atmosphere and a place where students can meet their biggest goals.

    Bang for the buck

    Central is an expensive private college. I believe it is worth every penny. With the loans I invest in and scholarships I earn, I will be able to afford the bills. There is no doubt in my mind that I will earn the degree I desire in four years and will be able to pay off college debt with the ten year plan.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students and faculty at Central College are friendly and energetic. I have found that my professors and advisers are encouraging and want the best for me. The friends I have made are wonderful--I seem to be making new friends everyday. I love the feeling of walking through campus and knowing that I am in good hands.

    Am learning a lot

    In the five courses I have taken at Central College so far, I have learned more than I expected. The professors are knowledgeable and helped myself as well as other students learn to our highest capacity. The homework assignments were beneficial, but not to overwhelming. Overall, I was satisfied with my first semester classes.

  • 10/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for friendly people that love a small town atmosphere

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you research different school and visit.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive since it is a private school, but having close ties to your professors is important in my opinion.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I would enjoy being there, it is a beautiful campus.

    Will learn a lot

    On my visit I could tell by the atmosphere that it is a very friendly environment and will be easy to learn a lot at this college.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! No matter whether you're wanting to get serious with studying, play a sport, make lots of friends, just have a few close ones, or whatever, Central is a great place if you like a small-school environment with lots of opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit and see our beautiful campus and stay overnight to take in a good sample of the college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Central seems a bit expensive at first but once you take off scholarships it gets down to the tuition of a state school. However, the education and experience that you get here makes the price all worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Central has fun campus events every weekend and is near enough to a large city to have that as an option for fun as well. There are many sports programs and clubs available to be involved in and the whole student body is great to hang with in those settings or in any other.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a liberal arts college means that you take classes throughout all areas of academics and become a well-rounded learner. Also, our study abroad programs give you full immersion into foreign languages. I studied in Granada, Spain for a semester and lived with a host that knew no English and I've never had such a great learning experience from it.

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business, Education, and Exercise Science are our three top majors at this point. We have great programs besides just those as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus. When you step on campus you will know if it is right for you. Also if you have questions, ASK! Admissions counselors are so very helpful and there to help along your journey.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay less at Central than I would if I were to attend a major University.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. Pella is a small town yet big enough to go explore yet get your work done at the same time.

    Am learning a lot

    The education you can receive at Central College is absolutely phenomenal. It is a liberal arts college there for you get a great sense of knowledge in various different topics.

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for students from small towns or those who like a small town environment. Expect to have to travel over an hour if you desire city life entertainment. Most of the students are family oriented. It is also great for students that like one on one attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get involve. The more you are involved, the easier college will be.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive and hard to pay for. However, I have also not had the emotional difficulties that some of my friends have experienced at larger schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    Pella is a small town and it is easy to get board and lonely. Fortunately, the small community makes it easy to make friends. The school also provides a lot of activities to try to make school more enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the class sizes are small and have less than 30 students. The professors are hands on and always willing to answer questions. They are also available during office hours and strongly encourage students to come get help even for the most basic questions.

  • 11/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Central is a good school if you are looking for a private school in a smaller town. The student body is not very big, but big enough to have a variety of people. If you are looking to have a great education in a close knit environment, central is the school for you,

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a college, make sure you check out a variety of schools. You want to have the best fit possible. You are spending the next 4 years of your life somewhere so make sure that it is a place you can feel comfortable and that will serve your educational needs. Go to a place where your not just tolerated but celebrated.

    Bang for the buck

    Central is a private school, so the initial price tag is a little higher. However Central offers a variety of scholarships and will also help any way they can with financial aid. In the end I payed less to go here than a state school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Central has a great atmosphere. People are very friendly and there are always school sponsored activities going on. Things like movie nights, comedians, hypnotists etc. It is a very personable school that feels like a home away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really try to make sure that students get help If I need it. Their is free tutoring and the professors are always willing to have students stop by their office with questions. The goal is not to just get through the class, the staff really wants you to understand what you are learning.

  • 01/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Central is great for everyone. The athletics here are great and the science facilities are very up to date. Just in time for the 2009-2010 school year, a new Education-Psychology building was put up. It is so nice. There is a big sustainability movement on campus in which everyone is involved. Not to mention all the clubs and groups! This is truly a place that anyone and everyone can belong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't look at the price first. It's all about how you feel. Consider if you can see yourself here, then decide. Really look around. There is beauty in the campus. Beauty in the nature from the trees in the fall to the squirrels and beauty in the people. Staying overnight in a dorm is a great experience also. If you get the chance, go for it. You get to see how the students interact on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Although this is a private school and it seems to have a large price tag, remember that choosing a private school has it's advantages. They seem to offer more money than a state school would. When it cam down to it, I am paying less than I would have to go to Iowa State University. And because it is small, it doesn't lack personal touch. My professors know me and I know them. I feel like they really care here and they look out for the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Central. The first three or four days on campus, there are a lot of opportunities for meeting people, which was my biggest concern. The classes, for the most part, are relatively small and it is easy to meet people in the class or on your floor. There are also a lot of activities going on around campus which you can be apart of.

    Am learning a lot

    I like the liberal education that is offered. Not only do they require each student to take well rounded classes, but it is a great way to learn things that you may overlook. Also, the classes are very thorough and professors are very much accessible if you need help or have questions.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard partyers will probably not do so well at Central. There are not a whole lot of wild partys where everyone ends up making quite a few bad decisions. If you want to actually walk away from your college experience with knowledge of more than the label of a can of Bud Light, Central is for you! Central also has great sports teams, so talented athletes who actually want playing time and a great fan base will love Central. There are also many opportunities for music, art, and theater. Students who love to get involved, learn a lot, and have tons of fun should definitely check out Central College!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would reccommend that a prospective student should always visit any college they are considering. There is no better way to know if you like the college than to visit. This way you can see if the college is really 'you.' Central even lets you stay overnight with a current student. My former roommate and I have hosted a few prospective students and it's always fun! Some prospective students are turned off by the fact that Pella (where Central is located) is a small town. Even though it's small, Pella has a lot of heart. There is always something going on in town and on campus and if you really crave the big city activities- Des Moines is only about an hour away.

    Bang for the buck

    Central is a private college so it is a little pricey, but I really feel like I'm getting my money's worth. The food is really good! Much better than the highschool cafeteria! The classses and professors really challenge you to do your best.

    Am enjoying being here

    There has never been a time that I wished I was not a Central student! I actually find myself missing it when I'm at home. There are so many different activities to join and ways to meet friends. A lot of new students worry about finding friends but they really shouldn't. There is a myriad of clubs, sports teams, and musical groups so there shouldn't be a problem finding someone with similar interests. Even the atmosphere of Central is enjoyable. A lot of big schools don't have a very good ambiance but Central has a homey feel. The campus is very beautiful and always clean. The dorms are very nice and comfortable.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned valuable lessons in each of the classes I have taken, even my non-major classes! The professors really care about you. They will take the time out of their day to make sure you really understand what is going on in class. Most classes also have a S.I. (student instructer). The student instructers have taken the class and have done well in it. They can tell you the ins and outs of that specific class and professor. However, unlike the larger colleges, the student instructers don't actually teach the class. They hold study sessions and are available for answering questions or tutoring outside of class. So really, you are getting the information from the class from two different sources!