Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City College-Gainesville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 07/19/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dont go to this school. They will rip you off, try to hold onto your financial aid and when a teacher misses class, they will bring in a substitute that has no clue how to teach that subject. They are also undergoing an accreditation process and they may fail it. Don't waste your money, go to Santa Fe.

    Campus Safety

    A woman was raped by the campus in 2015

    Bang for the buck

    Dont go to this school. They will rip you off, try to hold onto your financial aid and when a teacher misses class, they will bring in a substitute that has no clue how to teach that subject. They are also undergoing an accreditation process and they may fail it. Don't waste your money, go to Santa Fe.

    Academic Rigor

    Dont go to this school. They will rip you off, try to hold onto your financial aid and when a teacher misses class, they will bring in a substitute that has no clue how to teach that subject. They are also undergoing an accreditation process and they may fail it. Don't waste your money, go to Santa Fe.

    In three sentences

    Dont go to this school. They will rip you off, try to hold onto your financial aid and when a teacher misses class, they will bring in a substitute that has no clue how to teach that subject. They are also undergoing an accreditation process and they may fail it. Don't waste your money, go to Santa Fe.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    its a great choice for school

    In three sentences

    city collge is a great school the staff members and advisors are top notch

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    City College Gainesville believes in disciplinary procedures if any student engages in behavior or any conduct which interferes with the normal operations of the college or conduct that threatens the health or safety of another individual.

    Greek Life

    City College Gainesville does not have a fraternity or sorority. Every student must obey the rules and have good attendance. Awards are given out quarterly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is one professional group that I know of which is the Ambassadors program, where students can get accepted with high grades. This group, City College Gainesville Ambassadors are men and women who are committed to serving students needs as individuals as well as the South Florida community.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone graduating from High school or even furthering your education can depend on City College Gainesville to help you develop the skills needed to be successful in the profession you have chosen. City College Gainesville provides graduates with Career Assistance. The Directors Career Assistance and Development Assistant help all graduates in their preference position, talents and skills beyond graduation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as unusual traditions, City College Gainesville does not have any. City College Gainesville is a college that makes me feel at home. Although I start in January 2014, the faculty and the students are so friendly. So far my experience with City College Gainesville has been wonderful. Even with transferring my credits from another college, they were so helpful. I am getting to transfer twenty (20) credits, which helps me graduate soon. I am so looking forward to starting in January of 2014.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the amount that I will have to pay back in loans will be worth it. I will have so much knowledge, experience and the opportunity to meeting new people. No one can take your education away, it only makes you feel better and more secured.

    What to do for fun

    City College Gainesville has many activities that everyone can join and enjoy. There is one professional group that I know of which is the Ambassadors program, where students can get accepted with high grades. This group, City College Ambassadors are men and women who are committed to serving students needs as individuals as well as the South Florida community.

    Food and Dining

    City College does not have a cafeteria, but they do have a vending machine where you can sit , relax and refresh before going to the next class. There are no food or drinks in classrooms with computers. City College Gainesville do have activities outside that include lunches, such as pizza, to celebrate.

    Dorm Life

    City College Gainesville is not a live-on campus or dorm. Although City College Gainesville is not a Big University, it is definitely a place where you feel like family with small classes. With small classes, each student has a better chance at learning and not being over whelmed with a lot more students.

    Academic Rigor

    City College Gainesville cares! They reach out and help people that are nervous, scared or even afraid of failure. They don't push but they want people to succeed by having good attendance and good grades. City College Gainesville recognizes many awards and recognition each quarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    City College Gainesville have many degree options. Their mission is to educate and train students so they can reach their goals and growth withing their field of interest. City College Gainesville awards Diplomas, Associates of Science and Bachelors degrees of Science.

    In three sentences

    I rate City College Gainesville an A+. The reason I picked City College Gainesville is because of the friendly people and faculty. I felt like I was welcomed with open arms and they treat you like family. I had no problems with the enrollment and I begin in January 6, 2014.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a 0% crime rate!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are intimidated by overwhelming class sizes,huge campuses,and also for students who prefer to live off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    They are a private career college,they work hard to ensure they help guide you every step of the way,while developing a personal relationship with you.

    What to do for fun

    They are several activities throughout the year,like bake sales,Christmas parties etc. They also have a computer lab you may use at any time.

    Food and Dining

    The student cafe is very cozy.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The atmosphere is very relaxed and you never feel like you are alone,there is always someone there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! The staff is SO friendly and helpful,and they are all always willing to do the most they can for you,to ensure you get the most out of your college experience.

    In three sentences

    City college is a wonderful college,filled with helpful and friendly staff that are there to help make your college experience a great one! They are a small college,and take care to make you feel like a valued student,not just an I.D. number. All rooms,including classrooms,bathrooms,offices etc,are are very organized,well lit,and very clean.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    love everyone!

    In three sentences

    They have one on one teachers ,small classroom settings.love my experience here.would like to come back!

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious, Professional, knowing what they want already, not looking for a lot of like crazy party campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe if your serious about getting you degree and nothing else than yea you get all the bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Learn.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small class size, enjoy the one on one time you have with the teachers. Be sure to use every resource they provide to you because it will be the difference in your success.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely mind blowing, at first glance. I honestly didn�¢����t expect to meet, and witness such a great facility and staff at City College. I encourage other students who haven�¢����t enrolled into a college, to check out a city college near them.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very small college but frequented by the professors even when they aren't teaching. All of whom are firefighters or paramedics during night classes.

    Greek Life

    This does not apply.

    Clubs and Activities

    They frequently have get togethers and provide food and drink so that students can socialize with each other, office staff and professors so that they can feel comfortable and open enough to get any help they may need and not feel brushed off like other colleges do.

    Great for these types of students

    City college is best for students who are attending college for a career, not for the social aspect. As the college is small, the activities that they throw are not a party scene.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ice cream social was interesting. Students, Professors, staff, and families with ice cream every where you look.

    Bang for the buck

    I can go at any time of the day to get help from either my professor or one of the former students the school hires to help incoming students if they need it.

    What to do for fun

    The EMS program has a simulated ambulance in the building to get students used to the experience and scenarios they will encounter during work. Always my favorite ride.

    Food and Dining

    There is a break area but only vending machines. The college frequently buys pizza and snacks for students and staff.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't let the stars fool you. The professors are wonderful and you will leave knowing everything you paid good money to learn, as long as you put your time in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest about your concerns. They don't want you there just for your money like most colleges. They genuinely want you to reach your goals. Make sure that you prepare questions ahead of your first meeting. Although any of your concerns will most likely be addressed before you have a chance to say anything, but its always better to be prepared.

    In three sentences

    Being a single mother, enrolling in college and attending classes is a headache by its self, much less having to bring your kids with you at times. The department heads, professors and staff were more than understanding and helpful. The classes are small so that no one is left behind and they treat everyone like a family.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe. You get a since of being home when you are at school.

    Greek Life

    I Don't know about any Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know about any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a students that learn more with hands on, This is the school for you. The material is easy to understand and the teachers make sure you understand.

    Bang for the buck

    City college is expensive but it's worth it. The staff and the programs are also worth it

    What to do for fun

    Talking and meeting new people. You Have so much an command with everyone there.

    Food and Dining

    There's really no food there

    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know because there isn't one

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at City College are there for you. The Teachers make sure you understand the material. The teachers seems to really care about you

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all your opportunities. Do research on ordering your books before buying them. Smaller classrooms and more individual help for students

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to be. Everyone knows your name. The staff at City College are always there to help you and lead a helping hand.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A wonderful and safe environment, Vehicle to door a straight shot, and someone is there before school even starts.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are lonely, if you love to learn, and it doesn't matter if people like you just because.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I am new I haven't found any as of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Actually you get so much more.

    What to do for fun

    That depends on the individual, for me just being here is fun.

    Food and Dining

    Just a cute little lounge area but is close to other venues.

    Dorm Life

    I am sorry to say that they do not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything feels like a breeze,but how much are you willing to invest in yourself?

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not have any worries, any questions that you have will be answered. Everyone here is like a friend or family member you have been around your whole life.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful and helpful to any and to all, I have never been around so many people invested in helping you to succeed. I am simply amazed!

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I honestly believe you are getting what you pay for.

    Food and Dining

    Break room type of enviroment but great for studying with a snack

    Dorm Life

    It's a career college so you don't have dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's more expensive, which makes scholarships, pell grants, and bright futures a great thing to have. It's more money but you get what you pay for, great quality.

    In three sentences

    They stay on top of your financial aid so you don't have to be confused about it. The free tutoring helps me so much. Also, it fits my schedule just right.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one way in and one way out and plenty of video surveillance to keep an eye on everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is for the working student, that offers classes that your can do around your schedule'

    Bang for the buck

    I was an online student for Two years and my tuition keep on going up and up to the point I would not have finished my education because my loan amount would have ran out. I am happy to say I am able to complete my degree and be able to afford it.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in Gainesville ,fl near the University of Florida so you could catch a game or go to the mall or catch a movie.

    Food and Dining

    because this is not a stay at college your food is what you bring to eat.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college and do not stay on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are actual in the career you choice to study and gives you and better feel of what to expect when going to your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is for anyone who wants to finish their education and wants the small class to excel, this is a chance to here and get one on one with teacher and classmates.

    In three sentences

    This is an adult college for older adults wanting to finish college. When I signed up for classes everyone in administration was very helpful . The campus is small and classes are small and more one on one for learning experience's.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always have an award ceremony at the end of the semester for perfect attendance, GPA etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few restaurants in the area

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging and you have to be serious about what your planning to do with your life. If you aren't serious then you may have a hard time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go by and talk to them and see for your self. If you are a person that doesn't do good in a large school or classroom setting this is the place for you. The professors care and will help you.

    In three sentences

    I think that City College is an awesome place to go to school. Professors are always there and ready to help you when you need it. They want to see you succeed in your career.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have random raffle drawings and its down the street from Gainesvilles largest gym, Gainesville Health & Fitness

    Food and Dining

    Its close to many major restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms but there are lots of apartments surrounding the area that work out deals with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are serious about furthering your education because this school have the key tools for success.

    In three sentences

    Attending City College has been one of the best decisions I've ever made. There are small class classes and the faculty and staff really care bout your education and success. Also they give a lot of hands on training for the hands on learner.