Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City College of San Francisco Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to save money or you want to get an idea of what college is like this definitely the right college for you. You can also transfer to a four college or get an associate's degree at an affordable price.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not sure what you want to major in, or want to get a beginner's idea of how college is then this is the best college for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The best part about being at City College is you can save thousands of dollars that could go towards other expenses. If you apply for financial aid, then your tuition is for free.

    Am learning a lot

    There's a huge variety of majors to choose from and if you're not sure what career you want, then there are counselors who can help you find what you're looking for.

  • 11/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New students who know nothing about college. The counselors are genuinely interested in helping you transfer. They can help you when preparing your classes for next semester and can give you valuable information about the transferring process. If you like fog, diversity, thousand of restaurants or beaches, San Francisco is perfect for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take the Advanced Placement English Language and Literature as well as Calculus and score high on your SAT scores because a high score on these tests may exempt you from taking the math and English placement tests at city college. The exemption may make it quicker for you to be able to sign up for classes. For incoming freshmen I recommend to try to be exempt and if you can't then try to take the tests as soon as possible for you can get your scores, meet with a new student counselor and attend orientation to be able to sign up for classes early. The earlier you get to sign up for classes the better schedule you will have.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very affordable. It's $26 per unit, and if you get completed the FAFSA, qualify for financial aid and completed a rigorous high school education your total fees may be as low as $8 (thats including tuition, fees, classes). I've heard that for international students it's expensive (but still cheaper than any other school in SF) mainly because they can't apply for the FAFSA.

    Am enjoying being here

    City College is close to transportation and diverse. Its close to Muni (8x, 29, 43, 49) and bart and the freeway so really easy to get to class on time. City college students and teachers are unique since there is no dominant demographic at this school, but rather a great big molting pot of different people and ideas. I enjoy meeting many different people of many backgrounds as well as being able to easily come to class on time

    Am learning a lot

    City College allows you to take a wide variety of classes that don't have to do with your major and that is the beauty of city college. Other colleges are so major-centered that they try not to give you any unrelated classes, but city is different in that it allows you to take whatever you want. It has a wide variety of classes and with the newly constructed building it is now able to offer more diverse classes. With so many offering, you can become a very well rounded person, who can be knowledgeable of many different field, which is what I'm doing. Since I get to pick whatever I want to learn, I learn more because I enjoy it more. Plus a lot of the teachers have entertaining lectures that make learning enjoyable.

  • 08/24/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Careers, campus, the city, people, and well adjusted to this peaceful place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard for what you want and need because no one else is going to do it for you, but yourself. Keep yourself at a positive rate of attitude and thrive further. Obstacles are not our best friends, but keep your head up and stay strong for yourself and others.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not so sure what this means.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love San Francisco, the busy city, beaches, and the weather! It's perfectly for me.

    Will learn a lot

    I am 75/100 % sure if I'll be able to make it to San Francisco because I know now that I'm possible to get in but all I really need is a part-time job to support myself.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Depending on which City College, campus safety is quite adequate. City ensures that its staff and students are safe within the school, during and after hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of fun clubs and activities at City! They offer a wide variety of clubs, and often hold what's known as Unity Day where students get to interact with each club at City. They also hold out of campus events, which are pretty cool too. Students also have the option of creating their own clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This mural is great not only for all students, but for anyone who would like to see and feel the unity that emits from the mural.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the main attractions of City College is the Diego Rivera Mural located behind the Creative Arts building. It's a beautiful mural from the artist himself, and this mural represents the beautiful diversity that the world has experienced throughout history.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do for fun here! City has a large variety of clubs and organizations that prove to be educational, as well as fun! They also have athletic programs that would interest many who are interested in athletics, and City also offers a lot of elective classes as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite exceptional here. The culinary students prove their skills by providing the cafeteria with a wide variety of cuisine each day, starting with breakfast and ending with dinner. They even have their own fine dining establishment known as Pierre Coste. City College also has it's own cafe, as well as the convenient food truck and a small food stop known as the Lunchbox. Starting this fall, City College has opened a student-run diner known as Dot's Diner. It's a little quaint diner-styled area that serves diner-style food. While the selection is a bit limited, it's a nice place to go to if you're in the mood for a cheeseburger. It's also unique because it has a make your own mac & cheese selection, and they provide milkshakes and rootbeers. The menu comes with a different special of the day each day, and the workers work up to speed.

    Dorm Life

    There's really no need to live in any dorms when it comes to going to City College, since there are quite many buses that go there. But there is a new complex opening up near it, so it's pretty convenient. However, if you do live out of the area, they have created new rooms next to city right by Whole Foods Market. It's a new, hip, and clean area that students can rent out if they live too far away from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    City College is similar to a high academic high school, but not as rigorous as a normal college or university. The teachers are very diverse, and can range from being very helpful and understanding, to being downright mean and nasty. Many teachers do care about the students academically, and they work their hardest in order to accommodate the needs of every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check in with the Financial Aid office for financial aid help. The cafeteria food is very good, and it reflects the great culinary skills of its students. Always take advantage of the many services that city has to offer. The Student Health Center is one of the best services that this school has. It's free for all students, since it's paid for through their tuition. They provide services from giving flu shots, to dealing with family issues such as planning pregnancies and preventing unwanted pregnancies. The Rosenberg library is also very essential to the school. Not only does it provide its students with a beautiful library of 5 floors, but it also provides students with services that provide assistance in various subject fields.

    In three sentences

    City College of San Francisco is a community college located in San Francisco. It is a very diverse college that offers many programs, certificates, and degrees. There are many campuses located all over San Francisco.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police everywhere ensuring the safety of the student body. Whether you are lost or need help finding your car at night you can count on them to assist you.

    Greek Life

    no greek life here.... except for the greek students that I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to participate in that it's hard not to find your niche in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to challenge themselves to be better students but also find people with the right mentality should make their way to CCSF.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The maze outside Batmale hall. I wouldn't say maze, but you walk into this cement structure and there is chalk art all over it. It washes away one day and then another day something new appears so there is always something to see there.

    Bang for the buck

    I prefer CCSF over all community colleges in California because of the academic resources that are provided to the student body. Along with those resources come extra curricular activities that give students an avenue to express themselves or take part in . Here you can challenge yourself academically but be able to express yourself in a liberal community that welcomes change and being unique.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! there are so many clubs and sports to join that it makes it impossible for a new student to not be able to make new friends with the same interests. The school's diversity is one of nation's most diverse so you are bound to find someone with your cultural background. I personally like to play sports so i joined the soccer team and club volleyball team.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary program at CCSF is top notch. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner to students & faculty. I would rate the food at 5 stars because of the variety, taste, and customer service. If I could I would eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner there.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms at CCSF but they just finished building an apartment complex across the street from campus which makes it so convenient for international and out-of-state students to find housing in close proximity to campus who don't know the area well.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenge here because everyone is so academically competitive. Transferring is the majority goal for students so they are constantly upping the bar on being an excellent student here at CCSF. The professors know what challenges lie ahead at higher institutions and try to instill that in their coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to CCSF and see how academically proactive the student body is. Being involved here is easy and you can learn things about yourself outside the classroom while you challenge yourself everyday.

    In three sentences

    CCSF has put me on a path to a better future. Being a student here means that I am working with professors and students alike who strive for a better tomorrow. CCSF is great school for anyone willing to work for a brighter future.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is usually secure as a button. However, once you leave the campus boundaries the area is questionable.

    Clubs and Activities

    With strong cultural diversity there comes a plethora of cultural groups available for any student. In addition, to a collection of advocacy groups, queer groups, and even an intercollegiate group, consisting of elected representatives from 60 campus clubs. Are you an honors student? Well, you got it! Honors club is where you should be, you've earned it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Weather permitted, you will find an incredible amount of students studying, lounging and having fun on the famous campus hill-top. Especially since it is one of the highest points in the city and you get a great view of the entire city!

    Bang for the buck

    With nearly 90,000 registered students and conveniently located in the heart of such a diverse city, you will find every single culture, ethnic group, and background on campus!

    What to do for fun

    City College of San Francisco has the best football program in the community college division. So, at any point that you can catch a game, you will likely feel a great vibe in the atmosphere.

    Food and Dining

    Not much of a specialty in this department. Although, the Culinary Arts and Hospitality Studies department have a separate (from the cafeteria) and unique restaurant on the campus that prides itself on Classical culture and exotic dishes. Their prices are competitive with other restaurants in the surrounding area.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what subject matter that is taken up by the student, you are bound to get a teacher or two that sets the standards to a high level. Again, depending on what professor you get, there is no doubt you can find an instructor that will be engaging with a clear train of thought process you can follow. You have about 80% of a chance of landing a thorough teacher, which of course leaves you with an instructor who either needs to retire or find a different field. Perhaps, extremely unorganized, not engaging, or unclear on the particular subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the many assets and amenities the college has to offer. However, because of the severe budget cuts, many services can be slow to act on a student's behave, often having long lines for most services. Therefore, one must not only be prompt for everything, but be extremely patient.

    In three sentences

    1. There are very good and qualified teachers that have well established credentials. 2. Every major is available for an aspiring transfer student. 3. Student services have suffered greatly, because of the budget cuts.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. Want to save money. 2. Want to get a second chance at college; prepare yourself for transferring to a 4-year university. 3. Just want to learn AND have fun (the very same professor I mentioned above suggested me to attend some Japanese rock band concert and study for his exam on BART, he said: Don't miss a chance to have fun, but don't fail doing it.)

    Tips for prospective students

    The one general tip I can give is to talk to your professor VERY OFTEN. If you want a class and there's no more spot, talk to him/her, nag (using the word loosely) him/her for an add code, it will work. (If he/she was your previous professor, works even better.) If you need some help/direction in the class or grade issues that need clarification, it's the same.

    Bang for the buck

    It's... a community college. $36/unit is already undefeatable in this economy, adding to the fact that City really is a great school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't know about how do others feel, but I LOVE being in an urban area, located conveniently to all the other places in the city. Back to the school itself, City has a lot of great academic/social resources and services, such as learning assistance and student-funded resource centers, as well as a vibrant community with diverse population (lots of international students!).

    Am learning a lot

    At CCSF, you're definitely given the freedom to choose what to learn with all the variety of classes. You can meet the most amazing people (professors and classmates) if you do find your interest here; they can teach you more than you could imagine. (Shout-out to one of my professors who has taught me more than just the academics.)

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go out and look, explore the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    goals can only be achieved once set and begun.

    In three sentences

    experience, maturity and general attitude is among the highest in the nation. i moved here from the c.c. of riverside and have found all the resources and support needed for a student to succeed here. congratulations ccsf on athletics championships in 2011.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police act like they live here so it's pretty safe

    Clubs and Activities

    i personally haven't joined any but there always around

    Great for these types of students

    international students

    Bang for the buck

    it's good for right now but that might change with budget cuts

    What to do for fun

    if your into soccer they just built a new soccer feild

    Food and Dining

    great food in and out of campus

    Dorm Life

    no dorms but living in the city is expensive

    Academic Rigor

    it varies from teacher to teach and from student to student

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for classes early

    In three sentences

    city college has a large campus, it can be confusing at first but once you get used to it you'll love it. everybody is generally helpful and its very internally friendly. the only draw back is that there are a lot of people so getting the classes you want can be hard. being that it's in the bay area there's a very diverse student body. in my opinion its the the best community college in the bay area

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are police on campus and they offer lost and found and additional resources.

    Clubs and Activities

    ccsf has several clubs that you can join, although i have yet to join one of them. there is also a newly-built soccer field.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are just out of high school students who want to transfer to a 4-year college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a newly- built a new multi use building.

    Bang for the buck

    ccsf offers classes at a very low cost. because there are several ways to commute to and from ccsf, by bart, muni, sam trans, cal train, golden gate transit and ac transit, anyone from living in any part of the bay area can get to and from there with ease.

    What to do for fun

    near batmale hall, there is a beautiful view (especially on not-so-cloudy days) of certain parts of san francisco. it's fun to just stand there and gaze the city! also, there are fun and interesting cultural events that take place on campus occasionally.

    Academic Rigor

    ccsf is very diverse, and classes aren’t really that big, so you are bound to get the 1 on 1 help you need from your instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    city college of san francisco has several different counseling departments as well as counselors in the multi-cultural programs, and the counselors take time to help each student complete your educational goals.

    In three sentences

    it's a good college

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe, campus security does good job, people on campus are friendly,

    Clubs and Activities

    sports

    Bang for the buck

    not too expensive and get rid of your college requirments

    What to do for fun

    play sports

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is good

    Dorm Life

    no on campus housing

    Tips for prospective students

    register for classes as quick as you can because classes fill upfast.

    In three sentences

    good sized class sizes, not too big not too small. nice location in the city. easy access for transportation, right next to bart station. people are friendly

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore the horticulture center!

    Food and Dining

    Not that many options, but the culinary cafeteria is amazing. They always have the best soups and meals. I hear that the culinary program is even better than the high end schools like Le Cordon Bleu etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but I heard there was a sleepover/lock once or twice..

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all the help you can get from the student resource center, clubs and labs. They're all there to increase your learning. Also, be honest with yourself and don't choose too many classes and don't too little.

    In three sentences

    Like most Jr. Colleges, it has many newcomers and may feel a bit high school-ish, but if you continue to attend and over look the few immature students you'll find that City college is actually a very good school. It becomes home as you attend.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Beautiful

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Society AGS

    Great for these types of students

    The art programs are fantastic,along with the illustration and design. The engineering dept. is top notch as well,and the astronomy and physics I also got a lot out of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just received a very generous scholarship to a very prestigious private art school,but I really know I will miss City College of SF. My teachers have become family and taught me so well in art.

    Bang for the buck

    As I mentioned, the teachers I had at City had such a profound affect on my life. They have taught at some of the best schools and still decide to donate their time and teach after they had retired. With their pure love for the subject and pure love to teach,their lessons have such an impact and you will truly enjoy everything about it.

    What to do for fun

    San Francisco is full of art,museum,and culture. There are also plenty of clubs,bars,and night life downtown.

    Food and Dining

    We have a great culinary program as well. So the cafe is good and affordable. All sorts of choices,even vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus,but there are so many rooms to rent with other students. There is an abundance of these homes all around the main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take your General Ed. classes,although take a chance in a subject you dream about and perhaps you may question. Trust in yourself and you will see the teachers here will trust in you as well.

    In three sentences

    City has been the best place for me to discover exactly which route to flourish in. All the teachers have taught at some of the most prestigious private schools and universities. I have attained a great liberal education.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never a shortage of campus security and if you need assistance, they come within minutes.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food on campus as one of the majors they offer is Culinary Arts and the food is prepared by students training in that department.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are excellent with honors programs as well as classes for re entering students to get you acclimated to classes after being out of school and re entering.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some teachers don't make a huge deal of attending as many classes as possible but to most, it's critical for a good grade. Not only if you want passing grades to get into a top choice university but for teacher recommendations as well.

    In three sentences

    CCSF is a great junior college to go attend, especially if you are a returning student re entering college to further your career. CCSF is a mixed bag of attending students with some taking their education seriously and some not but the school is what you make it out to be as they offer every imaginable subject to major in while offering unlimited opportunities for learning with teacher availability and support as well as tutors and labs. Recent budget cuts have affected all colleges but because of the size of the school, you'll still have opportunities to enter another class if the one you've been in cancels as well as the fact that even with 100K students, classes aren't overwhelmingly huge.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly safe.

    Greek Life

    Not so much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cross Country and Track

    Great for these types of students

    Very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a cross country team, which is interesting.

    What to do for fun

    Roam around San Francisco.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into the school before applying.

    In three sentences

    I think that the campus is not as modern as I thought. In my opinion, City College is a school that I might have overlooked if it were not as accessible to me. One being a low score and five being greatest, City College of San Francisco is a 2.5-3.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The have been a few incidences of theft, but the campus police have been warning the students and being vigilant. There's also a taxi program for those who have night classes.

    Greek Life

    The college doesn't have any fraternities or sororities that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has an average variety of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Low-income and minorities, the college has several programs to help these student groups.

    Bang for the buck

    The college's Culinary department is definitely your best bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    I'm to busy studying to check out the activities, but there are events going on in several clubs and barbecues and music events on campus for every student.

    Food and Dining

    The college was able to keep their culinary department cafeteria, so, the food is pretty good, cheap and varied.

    Dorm Life

    This college doesn't offer on-campus residence for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework for the basic classes are average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect much from some of the teachers and counselors. They are overworked and underpaid. If you do find a helpful administrator/teacher, do keep them close. They may be what keeps you in the school and graduating.

    In three sentences

    With the budget crisis that they are having, the school is on the verge of losing their accreditation. I wouldn't recommend going to this school in a year or so. The school's class choices are getting worse and there are occasional a/v problems for the teachers.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. The campus police are always around and the campus police station is located in Cloud Hall.

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many sports teams are in CCSF and study groups as well as other meetings for different interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who plans on transferring will be over prepared for their majors here. Great for those who want to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The science building has a giant bust of Leonardo da Vinci and was originally the only building in the campus when CCSF opened.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap for higher education.

    What to do for fun

    Vendors can be found up the stairway outside the school.

    Food and Dining

    Many restaurants on Ocean Ave. and many stands and stores inside the school that sell food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has incredibly rigorous science courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your own academic career path instead of relying on your advisers.

    In three sentences

    It has excellent science programs with affordable tuition. It is a true gift to the community. It is a second chance for those who did not do well in school before.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Really good

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Graphic design

    Tips for prospective students

    Awesome schooling

    In three sentences

    Very nice campus and the teachers are great. I love this school.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a foot outside the box.

    Bang for the buck

    Need to get in shape? This campus is ideal. Located on the side of a steep hillside, you need to conquer a major amount to stairs to get from one class to the next.

    What to do for fun

    There is a club for every fetish.

    Food and Dining

    Food is prepared by Culinary Majors. Its better than you expect. Dining area does fill up fast though. Sit wherever you can and strike up a conversation with your neighbor.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think there are dorms available for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Demands are very manageable and it is the responsibility of the student to put in the extra effort if your goal is to educated and not just pass a class for Degree purposes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register the second your registration date opens up. Classes fill up in a flash.

    In three sentences

    A paradise for liberal junkies looking for a niche to cozy up in. This community allows you to be you without fear of prejudice, discrimination, or rules leaning towards conformity. Small campus but the possibilities here are endless thanks to the very accomplished faculty on hand.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are few choices of food located on campus, but also very close outside of campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It provides the best education you can for what you have to pay.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a very good school to start out your adult life in. Take full advantage of the opportunity at hand.

    In three sentences

    City college of San Francisco is based in a beautiful environment. It helps me feel like I can still get an education without having to struggle financially. IT has a wide variety of classes and students so I have an opportunity to focus on myself.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top of the line with campus police on duty constantly circling the campus.

    Greek Life

    It is a nice greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres a lot of activities that are fun you just have to find the one that best suits you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is for beautiful students that loves other beautiful students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the parking lots near the football field is very dark at night if you have night classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for your buck with a flat rate of $3 for parking all day and sandwiches and snacks that are priced reasonably.

    What to do for fun

    Everything

    Food and Dining

    The best food on campus and near.

    Dorm Life

    I wont be staying in a dorm. I have a daughter and i am her only caregiver.

    Academic Rigor

    Business, business & more business

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on your books. Don't wait to the last minute to do things. Go to the financial aid and scholarship offices for help through your studies.

    In three sentences

    It is a very diverse and mixed culture school. Parking is great because of all the parking areas to choose from. It is in a very convenient area; close to Bart, buses, trains, etc...

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    City College is quite the friendly environment. However, there are quite a lot of smokers around the campus. Other than that, it's a really friendly and relaxing environment.

    Great for these types of students

    City college is great for the types of students that want an education that's great for the price. Transferring students - this is exactly where you would want to go. As I mentioned, many of the opportunities in this school will boost people ahead and maybe have them transfer in just two years.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously one of the cheapest colleges out there, city college's education passes my standards. With many opportunities to get ahead of the game in college, I also don't need to put a hole through my wallet either.

    What to do for fun

    There's actually many clubs to join around this college. However, do note that one must look around and get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an overachiever when it comes to academic grades and education, even though I'm not entirely sure about my major. The teachers are amazing at their job, without being too harsh with homework or giving a handful of packets, essays, and tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since City College is quite populated, a great lesson that many students will eventually learn is to not procrastinate and always be one step ahead before everyone else. Spots in classes can and will be taken quickly, so a big rule to be reminded of is first come, first serve.

    In three sentences

    City College is a college worth going to. Not only are the units cheap, but the education levels pass my standards of what I'd normally expect from a community college. The best part about this college is the many options each person has to get ahead in their college and career life.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is usually ok due to the constant patrol of the police. Iv never had any issues of burglary or theft. Their is always some form of staff wandering the campus if there ever was a problem someone would be around.

    Clubs and Activities

    City college offers a wide variety of clubs and activities. There is a lot of clubs that offer help with you class work, they are basically students who passed the class before with a letter grade A. These students get paid through the school to offer tutoring assistance free of charge to current students. Some clubs are ran through students and so in order to be established students must congregate to form a club(like the anthropology club). There are always activities going on, they have fashion shows in the cafeteria, music, sales on little trinkets and art work, food made by certain clubs trying to raise funds.

    Great for these types of students

    City college is great for all types of students, it is however meant for students with the intentions of transferring to a four year university. This school is amazing for the students who feel the outdoor environment is a factor in what school you choose.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always something going on around campus you just have to walk around and keep your eyes pealed. There are the occasional whiffs of marijuana in the air but it's not over whelming so you don't really notice it.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for your buck is definitely going to be the cafeteria you get good portions and the food dosent taste all that bad its acctually pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    You are in San Francisco so you can find or do just about anything. One of the best things about the location of the school is it is only like a 15 minute drive to Ocean beach which is always a nice past time.

    Food and Dining

    City college isn't really cheap espically The food. You can however get a decent sized meal for the price in the cafeteria. Macdonalds down the street is going to be your best bet if your on a budget. They do have a variety of foods from the cafeteria to the cafe in the student hall building, the lunch box little cafe by the Rosenberg library, and there also is a truck by the creative arts building that has a lot of different things to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe there are dorms here at city college but there is a lot of housing in the neighboring areas, a lot of my friends rent places in the area. The prices are high but that's living anywhere in San Francisco.

    Academic Rigor

    Students at city college can expect homework and all the basic things consisted of school work. The work isn't to bad except if your like me and hate writing papers but that's college level work so bearing with it is inevitable. The teachers are always there to offer assistance all you have to do is ask. the work isn't that hard if you show up to all your classes and pay attention, iv gotten through multiple semesters without books and went solely off the notes taken in class and still passed my classes with exceptional grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a visit down to the school and maybe take a tour, meet with a school councilor. The school is located in a beautiful place and just feels right. Go to rate my teacher.com to look up reviews on the teachers, most of them are pretty accurate. You can always meet with a teacher during their scheduled office hours, which you can find on the school website, say your a prospective student who possiably might want to take their class, see if their are a few pointers they can give you, see if you even like the teacher.

    In three sentences

    City college of San Francisco offers a learning atmospher in which students feel they can be successful in gaining a higher education. City college has passionate teachers who care about their students and can relate to their students, often times having the oppurtunity to have been a city college student them selves. City college is in a great location offering a wide variety of different ethnicities and cultural backgrounds which makes anyone feel welcomed.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on-campus police sub-station (yes, real SFPD officers patrol the campus) located on the first floor of Cloud Hall.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek system at CCSF.

    Clubs and Activities

    This campus has a wide variety of well-funded clubs, representing just about any group of students you can think of. Those clubs do have the ability to host events, as they all get a per-semester budget from Student Activities. Most of the club events I see on campus seem to center around food, though some clubs do things like game nights, and special graduation events.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to take care of transfer requirements for the UC or CSU system. Anyone looking to finish an AA or AS degree, or looking for a certificate program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since there's no student housing, people don't spend much time hanging out on-campus, except between classes. The campus doesn't really have any unusual locations.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is ridiculously affordable compared to anything else in the area. If you file the FAFSA and show financial need, they even waive your tuition. Basically, you can get a college education for the price of your books!

    What to do for fun

    There are very few fun on-campus activities, but the school is in San Francisco, so there's just about anything you can imagine off-campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is run by students in the culinary program. The food is excellent, and the prices are very reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    CCSF doesn't have any student housing. An apartment complex was recently built adjacent to the campus, but the rents are so high there that I doubt any students will be living there.

    Academic Rigor

    Since the school has a transfer agreement with UC Berkeley, many of the classes they offer have to be taught to that level of academic rigor. I've heard several times that the same classes at SFSU are much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as you're allowed to. Required classes fill up quickly, and the professors don't always have room to add. Also, take your homework seriously.

    In three sentences

    The faculty are generally excellent. Many of the campus buildings are old and need updating. There's very little social interaction on-campus compared to schools with on-campus housing.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm not learning too much, but certainly more than I did in high school

    What to do for fun

    Leave campus.

    Food and Dining

    There's a pretty good food truck and the cafe isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very easy. I am able to get all Bs while having next to no time for school work because of everything going on in my life

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and get your teachers engaged and excited about teaching again.

    In three sentences

    Students have a widespread lack of motivation and drive at this school which is very depressing, but common in a community college system that many people never progress beyond. This lack of drive and passion carries over to the teachers who just care about their paychecks and not much about the success of their students. If you are a student that actually plans to go somewhere in life, you will find yourself lost in a crowd of people doing nothing with themselves, but eventually you will get through it and transfer somewhere to get your degree.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Before registering for your classes, always look up the ratings of the professor on ratemyprofessor.com. It always helps and you read the comments.

    In three sentences

    CCSF is a great community college with very competitive and dedicated professors. I've learned a great deal of new skills for test taking, I've improved my reading skills from the amount of reading required for my courses, and I've felt motivated to study harder and succeed. It's definitely a good institution to start at and it has a good reputation among 4 year institutions in the area, such as UC.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great school, classes and instructors, and an affordable community college. For what the infrastructure lacks, it is made up for in the faculty, classes and programs offered to young and old students. CCSF offers a variety of programs, both degree and certificate, for all different types of students, and both day and night classes.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Low in-come, needing a stepping stone, and who may need a little extra help.

    In three sentences

    It's a wonderful school. All the teachers I have had so far are great. Going to school here has opened eyes to new learning skills.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The CCSF police are either really awesome or really crappy. But like any campus, you have to watch your stuff. Laptops have been known to have been stolen in the library and there have been people jumped at night. :O

    Great for these types of students

    Low income, troubled pasts, budget- conscious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RAM plaza is where events happen.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition is rising, it's still way cheaper than UC or State.

    What to do for fun

    Study some more.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat both in and around campus. None are really quite spectacular--save for the Pierre Coste Dining room.

    Academic Rigor

    CCSF's chemistry classes are notoriously difficult. Some say it's even more challenging than several State School's chemistry departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard--don't think that just because it's a community college that it will be an easy ride.

    In three sentences

    CCSF is cheap, classes are small, and it offers an array of opportunities. The teachers here are inspiring, they really push you in order to prepare you for the next level. The student body is also very diverse, you get to meet people from all walks of life.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs on-campus. I've been to a few of them, but they should advertise more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to transfer to a UC or a CSU and save money.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap, especially if you're an in-state student. The quality of education heavily depends on the choices you make. Choose the right professor for you and give it your all.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is fine by my taste. If by any chance you don't like the food on-campus, there are plenty of places off-campus to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms seeing that this is a community college, but there are apartment listings posted all over campus for students looking to share rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the professor you choose. Some teachers only make you write three essays for the semester while there are others that will work you to the bone. There is a range of difficulty-level in the staff, thus three-stars is a good average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your professors, but always plan second or even third choices while registering for classes as the process could be a bit cut-throat.

    In three sentences

    A community college with many interesting courses to choose from. They provide many second chances in case something personal interrupts your academic life. Plenty of resources for disadvantaged students.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that are friendly and even escort students if they need any special assistance or the need to feel safe. They room the campus and parking lots giving you a very secure feeling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are student ran and teacher supported by any means.

    Great for these types of students

    Any, really, any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The awesome location on campus is the entrance, showing the science building with the words that say The Truth Shall Set You Free.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff thats left is their for their passion to help students. You know you can stay after class and have your teachers time and they are truly their to help you. They are also very prompt about getting back to you when you email them.

    What to do for fun

    City College offers a variety of sports, rally's that keep the students politically involved and diversity. The school has one of the most divers campuses in the area giving it a unique feeling.

    Food and Dining

    City College has great, student lounges in which we all do our homework, socialize modestly and enjoy good locally grown food.

    Dorm Life

    City College does not have a dorm for students but the campus is surrounded by many students that attend City college giving the area a mellow and energized feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    The drive for every student in the school is the overall feeling at city college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of study groups, services the school offers such as tutor lab and onsite tutors. This is a luxury some colleges can no longer afford.

    In three sentences

    City College is one of many community colleges that have undergone budget cuts leading to cuts in staff and services. Despite this, the staff are fully committed to their students and remain teachers for a reason, their passion and desire to improve us, students.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, Campus is a safe campus, but students including me need to be careful.

    Greek Life

    I have no experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have no experience. But I heard students saying clubs and activities that have a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of different kinds of cultures and races here. The different types of college students are really friendly. It is really beautiful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    San Francisco is actually a beautiful city.

    Bang for the buck

    paying class is very affordable. It is about $36 per unit.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    They are good but cost a lot of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm on campus. All the students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    few counselors do not have a good time to support students. They have limited time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most counselors support all students to grow successfully or achieve their goals in the future.

    In three sentences

    City college of San Francisco is a good school. Unfortunately, there are no many people who are deaf students here.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Bangin'!

    What to do for fun

    Learn!

    Food and Dining

    I love the student union building cafe; good food and coffee for a fair price!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are devoted to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid! They do direct deposit and everything, so it's easy to pay for classes!

    In three sentences

    San Francisco City College is a great place to study among a diverse community. The location is easily accessible through public transportation and car. The campus is windy but that's okay! Has vintage charm.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never really felt safe on the campus. There are a lot of guys that hang around hitting on girls which was always uncomfortable. This is probably one of the things I hate most about the people on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who love the city and are creative individuals that like spending time alone.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not too sure if I got my money's worth out of the school since I didn't receive any financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    I never really hung around the city too much since I was never interested. However there are a few good shopping areas in downtown san francisco. There aren't that many things to do around campus, just downtown.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple good places to eat around but not really any that I would recommend unless you absolutely needed food. There is a whole foods right next to the campus which I liked to go to.

    Dorm Life

    I lived with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors were hard to deal with, but you learn to manage with them. There was only one class that I completed that I throughly enjoyed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you tour the campus and get a feel for the college before you apply. If you don't absolutely love it when you tour it then don't apply.

    In three sentences

    I didn't personally like the college. I enjoyed about half the classes I've taken, but I didn't really enjoy the feel for the campus or the people. I realized that the city just isn't for me.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    In three sentences

    An excellent place to explore options. Diverse locations around SF. Excellent teachers.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus security and police who would be willing to escort you to your car if needed.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay out of state tuition, which is not cheap. But overall, it's pretty standard for the education level you get. Not fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    It's fun to join the live DJ events, and lots of barbeques on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very well-priced.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with the dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study and work hard, you'll do well. It's not nearly as difficult as what I'm used to.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good school that is trying hard to keep its accreditation, and sometimes, they lack with student services.

    In three sentences

    It seems very easy to get accepted into the college, which is very nice.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Normally just relax around the area and do a little sight seeing. Great view!

    Tips for prospective students

    Cheap, Learn Alot, Comfortable

    In three sentences

    I really love City College of San Francisco. Offers plenty of courses for a really cheap price. It also offers internship programs for students.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports!

    Food and Dining

    Food here is pretty decent for a reasonable price.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here expect a lot from you so do your best, and dont give up!

    Tips for prospective students

    Review your classnotes daily and don't be afraid to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    This school is a great place to be. The teachers here are very knowledgeable and approachable. Be prepared to learn a lot because they can be pretty strict!

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been some isolated incidents, last year there were a few robberies. This has lead the school to increase security and install more cameras. Generally, campus life feels pretty safe.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for many types of students. I took a bit of time off after high school, and this has been a great experience for me with getting back into the academic rhythm. I was very intimidated to jump right into a four year college. City College has given me the opportunity to get back up to speed with less pressure. This college would also be great for anyone who isn't sure what they would like to major in, since it is easy to explore many types of classes without spending a fortune.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this college is such a good deal. I have really learned a lot attending, and I am so glad I chose to start here before transferring to a four year institution.

    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    A newer cafe has opened in the Multi Use Building (MUB) called Chasing Lions. They have great coffee (Four Barrel), fresh teas, juices, soup and lots of goodies. They also have a cute Aquaponic garden in the outside dining area. The other Cafes on campus are ok.

    Dorm Life

    This is tricky, there aren't technically any dorms on campus. I guess 'dorm life' is whatever and wherever you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    It can depend widely, based on your area of study. The more advanced classes are very tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before registering for classes, it would be prudent to look prospective professors up on ratemyprofessors.com. Take advantage of City College's generous financial aid by filling out your FAFSA paperwork online. In the Rosenberg library there are free tutors for almost every subject in the Learning Assistance Center.

    In three sentences

    CIty College is the best bang for your college buck. The professors are excellent, a great many of them also teach at San Francisco State University. This is a great institution to take care of your prerequisites before transferring to a 4 year university.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Club

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and harder until you reach your goals.

    In three sentences

    One of the most awesome places to study. I love all professors and students here. It's a perfect place to study.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not much on campus places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very thorough chemistry and biological series.

    In three sentences

    Friendly campus and always has activities going on. Fast paced and enjoyable. Science classes will prepare you for UC level course work.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a very good institution. It's very crowded and can be hard to find classes. I like that there is a lot of diversity.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It can be really dangerous at night. There is campus police and they are around but the campus is in disrepair and most of the lights are burned out so it's very dark. People have been robbed at gun/knife point so be aware of your surroundings and keep that in mind if you have fancy devices/phones.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about anything and the people involved in the clubs can easily become a great support group of people with similar interests.

    Food and Dining

    On campus the food options are slim and not exactly appetizing however the cafeteria changes each semester so there are times when the food can be good.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the teachers and classes you take of course, but there are definitely some difficult classes and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use websites to read reviews about the teachers before you bother going to their classes and if you're trying to add a class be persistent and you'll get in.

    In three sentences

    As with any school there's good and bad things about this school. Over the years it's become like home to me, the teachers and students have become like family. If you put in the effort and are careful to avoid bad teachers it is definitely worth it to go to City College to get the general education classes in before transferring.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is generally safe and I have had not any problems thought there were one or two robberies reported last year on and near campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Lower income students wanting to live at home before transering.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very similar to high school as you just go to class for lecture and go home and do homework. Some teachers are good and some not so much so ratemyprofessors.com was helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There is not too much of a campus life besides some clubs so to have fun there is a bunch of things to do around SF. You will also have a lot of free time to find what you like to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very average on campus, but in SF there is good food everywhere else.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, it is a community college and you find your own living space.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are not too hard compared to the high school I went to which is George Washington High School. Certain teachers may be harder and very hard graders so asking peers may be helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your work. Know your registration date and sign up for classes right away because classes can fill quickly.

    In three sentences

    A good and very large community college in San Francisco. It is very diverse in terms of age and types of people. A cheap alternative for getting all your general education done before transfering.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are times you will hear about someone getting robbed or men trying to sneak into the women's locker rooms. I don't know anyone personally whose safety was threatened nor do I feel that my safety is threatened.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are working full or part time, taking a class here would be good. They offer a variety of short and long classes, weekend classes, and picking your schedule is always flexible to your needs. This school is also by far a lot more affordable than most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun when you're out of class or waiting to start class. There's are places to sit and relax but that's mostly it. You could go to the library to read or use the computer. Most people just chat with their friends for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are better and more places to eat outside of campus. There is a cafeteria that serves food culinary students made. It is usually pretty good. There are also two small cafe like places that serve smaller items such as sandwiches, coffee, chips, etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms or housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors I had were really helpful and I learned a lot from them. You will probably occasionally receive a professor whose style of teaching you won't like. I never felt overwhelmed with work though you will have to work hard sometimes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take general education classes before focusing on a major unless you are sure you want to major in that. Take to a counselor to figure out what classes you need so you don't waste your time taking a class you don't need to graduate or for your major.

    In three sentences

    Although City College is often bashed because it is a community college, it is not a bad school. It is actually a good school that is affordable and has great professors. You will learn and have a decent experience here.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The best part about being at City College is they accept you for you. You don't have to be someone you're not and can save thousands of dollars in the process that could go towards other expenses. If you apply for financial aid, then your tuition is for free and or less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    sporting events, ensemble concerts, theatrical plays, competitions and much much more!

    Food and Dining

    They have many different options not to mention its located in San Francisco, you can always find good eats.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help or for clarification if you don't understand something.

    In three sentences

    City College of San Francisco is a school of opportunity. Not only are the Professors super friendly but they are also very helpful. As issues constantly launch attack on the school, it still stands strong for the students.

  • 06/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every year their is always an incident that makes me question the safety of the school. There have been robberies in the restrooms and once there was a report of a woman being attacked by a male in the women's locker room. As long as you make sure you're not alone in the restrooms you should be fine. I have only received 3 incidents and all of them took place at night when the victims were alone so overall I think that the campus is safe.

    Great for these types of students

    It's safe to say that this college is for everyone. This college is especially great for students with a tight budget who want to save money by transferring to a 4 year university, for students who only want an Associates degree, for students who are returning to school after some time off.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bathrooms in Science Hall are unusually small.

    Bang for the buck

    CCSF is very affordable and the most of the teachers and staff do an excellent job of well-educating the students.

    Food and Dining

    Their are a few cafe's in ccsf and the food is pretty good. However there are a lot of local restaurants that are within walking distance of the campus such as Mcdonalds, Whole Foods, and many more.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not offer dorms. If you plan to live in San Francisco make sure you have the means because housing is expensive. I know a lot of students commute from the East Bay.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to work hard if you're going to attend this college. The professors teach like the professors of a 4-year university and they expect a lot from you. Make sure that you have plenty of time on your hands because you're going to need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise using as much of the available resources as possible such as the Learning Assistance Center (LAC), The Writing Success Program (WSP), The Tulay Program, The African American Scholastic Program, etc. These programs offer tutoring and hands on advice that helped me to get through my first two semesters with a 4.0. I would also advise to use RATEMYPROFESSOR.com when choosing your teachers because while most of the teachers here are great, there are a few that can be a little unreasonable.

    In three sentences

    City College of San Francisco is affordable, diverse, and fun with a well-educated staff and numerous programs. Students who attend CCSF will tell you that the staff does a wonderful job with helping people start their careers as well as preparing their students for the workload of a 4 year college.

  • 06/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite safe, with only one minor incident (such as a phone or wallet theft) reported once every month or so. Campus police are constantly on patrol throughout the campus to make sure safety is maintained.

    Great for these types of students

    CCSF is good for focused, ambitious, and dedicated students who are serious about their coursework.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is a very nice jogging track that students can freely run around on. The student union cafe has very nice tables to sit down on, eat, and relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food on-campus is good at some places, but not too good at others. For example, one cafe, the Chasing Lions Cafe, offers some of the best coffee, pastries, and soft drinks, but at another place, The Lunch Box, the sandwiches, Chinese food, and Hot dogs that they offer aren't very good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live nor have seen any of the dorms on campus, so I can't offer any information on this subject.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at City College of San Francisco is quite high, with the workload in the classes being somewhat challenging at times. To make up for it, though, the professors and tutors are often very helpful to students who need assistance or are stuck with their work. In addition, the information and skills learned in the classes are very helpful not just to pass the class, but are also important skills to apply in life in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    City College of San Francisco offers a wide variety of classes, and, as such, it might be difficult for a prospective student to know which ones to choose from for his or her major. One tip that I would recommend is to always make good use of the counseling services available on campus, mainly if you are unsure of what kind of classes you are supposed to take.

    In three sentences

    City College of San Francisco is a very well-organized, student-friendly campus that offers great, educational, and informational classes. The teachers, staff, and counselors are very friendly and helpful to students in their coursework. In addition, the campus offers great resources to aid students in their work, including online workshops, very informative library sources, tutoring services, and study workshops.