Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere however, in personal opinion they do not do their job appropriately. The security on campus is inactive. Individuals can come in at will sometimes and cause trouble. The security sit all day on computers and do nothing. Which is highly unacceptable. These security officers have several years as Police Officers, which is even more upsetting. The crime rate, and chances of fights or other troubles breaking out on campus is rare. Individuals are less likely to fight on this campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Currently there are several clubs, social work club, drama club, art club, fashion club, Phi Theta Kappa and Spanish club. We are really accepting to individuals who wish to start a club that is not currently on campus. We promote the creativity and starting up of clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who want to make a change and bring excitement. Even though this school is home of the low profile individuals. This makes way for people who wish to stand out and do something right. Open opportunity to create your own clubs and organizations as well! If you like to be academically worthy and like to set a positive tone and trend. For leaders on the rise this is the school for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I have witnessed since I have attended.

    Bang for the buck

    The new tuition initiative is 18 credit hours for 1753. This is helpful because a student is given an extra class for free. You are considered full time at 12 credit hours. In addition if you are full time you will not have to worry about transportation a bus card is issued if you are a full time student, and qualify for financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There are fitness and zumba classes that are offered, open swim and open gym. If you are into fitness. Or if you have stress and need to relieve some these resources are open at no cost to you. The gym is open 3 times a day for students who have varied schedules. Other things to do will be coming soon as there is a new student government organization underway. Be looking forward to new events. But as of right not the fitness aspect is all that is available.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not the best in my personal experience, it is rather expensive and the food is not always good. There are long lines throughout the day and usually one chef is cooking. However, there are restaurants in walking and bus distance if you feel that you want to eat somewhere else. A Walgreens and Aldi's is walking distance, several burger restaurants and a awesome Chinese food restaurant. There is a Dunkin Donuts as well. These places are affordable. Not much variety but it is affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately this is a community college and there are no dorms at this location. However the wellness center and the financial aid office can assist in looking for low income housing, or some kind of home for individuals without one. These resources also can put you in contact with people that will work with you to find housing or provide affordable homes. If not there are other city college campuses that are in the city close to apartment homes that are for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenges are not pressuring if one disciplines self. This means committing time to homework completion, tutoring and duties to clubs and organizations. One has to condition self to use time for academic obedience versus playing around. Professors are available to tutor, the campus has several tutoring centers for various subjects. In addition a personal tutor can be assigned to you if your schedule is to hectic to do open tutoring hours. Students who use these resources are more likely to complete, be honors and transfer. 45% more likely based off recent polls taken from the year 2012-2014.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know your area of study first and foremost (Your Major). Next is to check for your requirements if you plan to transfer when your done at city colleges, and enroll in the courses need to graduate (pre-requisites)! Take the maximum course load 18 credit hours usually 5 classes! Plan according to your life. Use all the campus clubs and organizations such as Phi Theta Kappa and One Million Degrees these are scholarship programs. Also apply for the scholarships that are offered exclusively through our school. Use the writing lab to review any papers or scholarship essays. This is a big help.

    In three sentences

    There are plenty campus resources available such as the wellness center, disabilities access center and center for working families that help individuals enrolled find jobs or people who have graduated can look for work as well.

  • 11/11/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always very polite.

    Greek Life

    There is a Honor's Society, Phi Theta Kappa. Pretty good people for those who are interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs on campus, but I don't hear much about them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking Associate degrees or wanting to take prerequisites for four year colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kennedy King offers daycare for single parents

    Bang for the buck

    Kennedy just started this year a fixed rate tuition. There are no more fees attached to tuition (ie lab fees) and there is a fixed rate for part time and full time for example the rate for 15 credit hours is the same for 12

    What to do for fun

    Since enrolling at Kennedy King I've taken advantage of all of the academic and research opportunities. I meet great people and learn a lot all while getting paid.

    Food and Dining

    We just got a vendor for the cafeteria definitely an improvement, but there is also a culinary program on campus that has a restaurant called Sikia open to the public 3 days a week

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this community college but there are resources to aid you in finding a home

    Academic Rigor

    Every instructor is different, but they all pay close attention to those who are proactive about learning the material. I always, always communicate with instructors and utilize tutoring available on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The better you do in class the more opportunities there are for you on campus. Kennedy King is always looking for great students to represent success here on campus so become familiar with not only faculty but the staff as well. The second floor of the library is the best place, in my opinion, to study on campus.

    In three sentences

    There are a numerous amount of resources available to students. Because Kennedy King is one of the smaller city colleges of Chicago, faculty is very helpful here to students who apply themselves. Books are always on reserve in the library for those who don't have the ones they need for their classes.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security in and around every building

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided or those that know exactly what they want to do and want to transfer to a 4 year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper than state or private schools for the same exact education.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Go to class then go home.

    Food and Dining

    I heard the cafeteria food is bad, but there is a place to eat down the street near the train station.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really push you to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get registered early or you'll regret it. You'll have to wait hours to be seen by a financial aid adviser and an academic adviser.

    In three sentences

    My professors are professionals in the field I am currently studying for. The financial aid staff need more training. Great place to learn overall.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of security

    Clubs and Activities

    basket ball,gym,social clubs

    Food and Dining

    there are restaurants on and off camups

    Dorm Life

    there's no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Its not difficult

    In three sentences

    Its very clean. The teachers are cool. The classes are easy to find

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Urban inner-city dwellers.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should know: The counselors are helpful and so are the people in financial aid. It's in an urban high crime area but there are lots of security and police officers on campus along with the emergency phone stations located throughout the campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a newly built school in an urban community that provides a good education for less than 4 year schools. They have smart boards in the classrooms which allows for the instructor to connect to the Internet and display content to the entire class. Lots of technology and contrary to some many of the student are eager to learn.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always read ahead of class, do your home works, don't miss laboratory works, and ask questions in class

    In three sentences

    It has great teachers here who are ready to assist you in any academic area It has good facilities. For example, swimming pool, soccer field Not the best school in terms of security

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its not if you are not driving

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    to help me in life to survive

    What to do for fun

    play sports or play video games and have party,s

    Food and Dining

    we have vending michines there

    Dorm Life

    i stay off campus

    Academic Rigor

    i am is in acting in not to good about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    student thats is there are likeing the school

    In three sentences

    the school is nice

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't really hang around the campus after my classes are over.

    Food and Dining

    Their are a couple of restaurants on the campus and stores for you to pick something up before or after class.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are as hard or as easy as YOU make them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come to class, do your work on time and most important of all study, study, study!

    In three sentences

    Kennedy King is a great school to attend. Even though its a community college, its still offers you the same quality education that a traditional 4-year university would. This is the right school for me!

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not at its best once the sun goes down.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Culinary club. They seem to be a little unorganized but they try to get out there.

    Great for these types of students

    Undeclared major and students with financial struggle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not much of traditions. It is location is the city and a benefit of it being right off the train stop. Neighborhood is not the best at night.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it. You get what you pay for, your first semester is around 4,000 and that covers your chef coats and pants hats books and cooking kit. You can attend this city college baking and pastry course with just fafsa money and if you don't qualify or have enough they offer scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Not much but to study for FUN!

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary side this last semester had a buffet that they were in charge of one day out of the week. It is good! other than that there is a Dunkin' Donuts, a Walgreen's, A Fast Food place under the green line that is decent and chinese fast food.

    Dorm Life

    City Colleges do not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a baking and pastry major so all of my judgment comes from this field only. Based on this i give it a 3/5 due to the fact that onet of the two pastry chefs we have as instructors was replaced by a new one that didn't have much experience teaching and as a student that is offensive. The staff could of done a better job on finding a better chef.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's just college DON'T BE AFRAID! And people are just people. Simply remember the basics be polite, listen up, be respectful, be your best! Do not be afraid to make mistakes,you can only learn from them and your intructor is there to help you. But most importantly don't see your self above others. One of the beauties of college is being able to work with people as old as your MOM! So just like your mother they are full of knowledge. You can learn as much from them as they can learn from you and anyone else.

    In three sentences

    Kennedy King College Culinary and Baking Program is a well rounded school for those in undecided on a college major and those with a financial struggle. It provides you with the freedom to take your courses in the order you like after the first phase from either culinary arts or baking and pastry. It is surrounded with plenty of support from your teachers not so much the scholarship staff but it is a GOOD place to begin!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Pay attention. Take notes. Do assignments. Ask Questions. Get some sleep. Eat breakfast.

    In three sentences

    Kennedy King is a very decent community college. The school is so convient to city students. The instructors and staff are very educated and respectful.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Love this school!

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    . Our campus is highly security by off duty police officers and City of Chicago Police Department 24 hours day.

    Greek Life

    I have no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have participated in National Of Professionals Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) for pre-pharmacy students. I was the President of student chapter at Kennedy King College.

    Great for these types of students

    Kennedy King college is great for all types of students who come here to learn. Students from all walks of life attend our college. Although, campus is located in the heart of Englewood neighborhood. Our students are highly motivated to attend this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tradition campus. The sororities on campus are not allowed hazing, so our students don't have to experience this negative behavior tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Kennedy King College. I have learned so much from the students along with faculty on our campus. College life is a rewarding experience in life that every kid should experience.

    What to do for fun

    I read books and go to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    Our rate of cafeteria food and dining with 5 stars. Our culinary school on campus is one of the best in City of Chicago within city colleges. The food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    No rating. No Dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor 4 stars. The class work on campus is very rewarding you work hard and study, then you earn the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit our campus. Then sit and down and dine and speak to the students on campus.

    In three sentences

    I rate Kennedy King College as one of the best City Colleges of Chicago because we have new campus. We have new laboratories with state of art science equipment. Our faculty on campus are very helpful and resourceful for us to further our educations

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to start SOMEWHERE! Not just fresh out of high school students! Anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel like I will be prepared to transfer to a 4 year University after I receive my prerequisites. So starting here will be awesome! Just to get the minor things out of the way. So you can get to the business.

    Bang for the buck

    Under 2,000 per semester!

    Am enjoying being here

    Walking in the doors, I feel welcome. Walking in the corridors, I feel safe. The people are nice and caring.

    Am learning a lot

    I appreciate my instructors and their teaching methods. My education is being taken care of here at KKC.

  • 06/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Arts students

    Tips for prospective students

    finish your general eds at kennedy king first so u can foucus on just culinary classes

    Bang for the buck

    Its the cheapest culinay arts school in chicago

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my teachers and i think the program is set up nicely

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like the chefs instructors are well informed