Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/28/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    Everything. It�s a school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honor society.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds. All races.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Malcolm X car is here.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes. Five stars.

    What to do for fun

    Join the student union.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria and a cafe. Also church�s chicken around the corner.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Quality learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your associates degree here. Then transfer to a four year university. You won�t regret it.

    In three sentences

    Amazing college. Feels like a top notch university. State of the art everything. Very very safe learning environment.

  • 03/30/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Workout there is not much to do rather than hanging around the school with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a Cafeteria that is high priced and the food is of low quality.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms

  • 09/05/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security all around the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of Sports teams to choose from male or female.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Malcolm X actual car was donated and is there in the building.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many quite places around the school where you can just chill and read or catch up on homework.

    What to do for fun

    Swim , Work out , go to the gym, Read , and play sports.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is well organized and clean.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms .

    Academic Rigor

    The professor makes you fell comfortable and welcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead , be on time and take notes.

    In three sentences

    The new building is amazing.The staff are helpful and understanding.The courses are engaging.

  • 11/23/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and clubs at Malcolm X. They are always advertised and encouraged to join.

    Food and Dining

    Malcolm X does have a lunch room where they offer variety of foods and drinks at reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    Malcolm X sadly does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    At Malcolm X teachers do have high expectations for you, only because they know that students are capable of completing task. Adding to that, teachers do understand that life can be hard and chaotic so their assignments are reasonable and give you time to complete it. Teachers here are very understanding and work with you to be the best you, you can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips i would definitely recommend is, if you need help do not be afraid to raise your hand and ask for it. Also, studying is the answer to all your problems and your planner will be your bible. Do not miss class, one day can be vital to your grades.

    In three sentences

    Malcolm X is an amazing school, not only do they offer tons of help, but also resources. Attending this school was an easy transition and I adapted quickly. This school is pro student and offers you unlimited help.

  • 10/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The salad bar is pretty good, a vegetarian won't have limited options here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

  • 05/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around so there isn't any violence that I have seen personally. I feel pretty secure while in the building as well as outside.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None Noted

    Bang for the buck

    You get a Great Education, Meet tons of nice friendly faces, and eat great for little to nothing. I think you get a lot of bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are sororities and fraternities. Ping pong tables as well as a wellness center for athletes or for the basic health conscious person.

    Food and Dining

    The cooks I'll give a five star rating to. There was a menu that pertained to every one's diet from vegetarian diets, no sodium diets, all the way to give me every palate pleasing food you got diets. They used separate ends of the grill and tools for certain food handling. The taste was always without a doubt in mind delicious and well worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Malcolm X doesn't have a dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically where the teachers are concerned I am blown away by the devotion of their time and patience. The dissemination of information via blackboard, email, text, and posting throughout the school informing students of upcoming events to enhance their educational/career pathways is phenomenal. The advisors pave a clear and easy to follow route for you to make it to through to graduation. Finally the tutors and their availability 6 days out of the week worked wonders.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that College is in no comparison the same as High School. Time management in a big must on the to do list. Try to put in at least 10 hours of study time while off campus to maintain reasonable grades. Last but not least Remember to relax and make this journey a fun one and not a strenuous one.

    In three sentences

    Malcolm X College is a school that is zealous towards the attendants academic success. The Professors are enthusiastic and keen as well as the advisors. Malcolm X College has beyond any doubt set the pace for my college education.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who want to further their education and begin a new career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and determined and pass your classes.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good college to attend. It has great academic plans and good resources to starting your career. you are able to pick your classes online and they have online classes

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe it is not in a bad demeaning neighborhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities one could join if open to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student that are not ready for a university tansition.

    What to do for fun

    For fun one could join the different clubs on campus such as biology club. Also one could go to seminars to earn certificates, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food i do not really recommend too greasy. Just fast food is selled. No restaurants around here, like subway.

    Dorm Life

    At a community college living on campus is not an option.

    Academic Rigor

    Yea its easy to slack off in a community college but if you idea is to join a program or transfer to a 4 year institution, staying focused is best adviced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its easy to learn because the classes are not as heavy on work load. Nor do they move fast pace.

    In three sentences

    City Colleges are not bad at all like many people say. Its a great help, if you graduated and dont have the vibe of a university, it helps you with the transition to a university. The classes are not as hard as a university but it helps yu built up you gpa.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the library with friends and socialize with them, as well as complete our homework together.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great, some of it isn't healthy and they don'y have variety. Also, it is very over priced. But one thing that is good is the salads there.

    Dorm Life

    Since its a city college, they don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't many challenges, it mainly depends on the student. The classes are fair and the teachers explain everything clearly and offer extra help if needed. The assignments given by teachers are also fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask for help, many help is provided around the school and the teachers are more than happy to help students with any questions they may have.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college, the teachers help you with everything you don't understand. It offers many programs that can help you such as tutoring, the writing center, and the wellness center. The counselors are very helpful and tell you whats best for you depending on what you want to major in.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shop Movies Tour downtown Visit museums Taste some of the best food

    Food and Dining

    In the city of Chicago; you can find the best food in and around this neighborhood.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best to start off at a local community college for the first two years rather than a university because of the smaller class sizes and lower tuition costs. Get more bang for your buck!

    In three sentences

    This will be my first time attending Malcolm X this fall but I've been on the campus two times so far. The staff is very helpful, and they keep me laughing every time I visit. Malcolm X is one of the few colleges in Illinois that offers an EMT program. Their tuition costs are affordable as well so Malcolm X gets a 10 from me.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe environment and prospective student should not worry about your safety. The security is top notch!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that likes a challenge and looking for great health care programs; this school is for you.

    What to do for fun

    This college offer a variety of clubs. You can join academic clubs to sports; from latino clubs to pre- health care. This aspect of the school will not disappoint. If you don't want to join a club, they have a game center for current students that has a variety of games.

    Food and Dining

    The food the college have is a wide variety however, the prices are a bit too much. So, if you are starving and can't make it to the nearest McDonald's, then you are out of luck. Dining area is large and clean.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers all seem like friendly people and even helped me choose a certain classes I should take. It looks like the teachers will pull you up when you are feeling down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reach out towards the academic adviser because they will help you figure out where you are trying to go with your future career choice. The advisers will also help you find 4yr. colleges to transfer to down the line.

    In three sentences

    A very professional looking school. The atmosphere makes you feel safe and welcome. There are people around every corner that will help you find your way.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police keep the students safe. They patrol the campus grounds. They make sure everyone on campus is supposed to be there. Their presence is felt all through campus. Most of the officers are off duty Chicago Police officer's.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of any Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers a variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Malcolm X college is great for new and returning students. It is a great school for residents of Chicago. It is good for a student who wants to start a career right away. It is also good for students looking to transfer to a 4 year university. It is a well rounded learning community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions that take place on campus. All traditions are pretty normal.

    Bang for the buck

    This college gives you a great bang for your buck. The cost is minimal. You can finish your degree without taking out any unnecessary student loans.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you are on your own. The college has different organizations and social groups you may want to become apart of. If that is not your thing then right across the street is the United Center. There they have sports games, concerts, and all sorts of different events. Chicago is a great city for exploring. There is always something you can do there to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The location of the campus is not near enough food and dining places. The campus does not offer any diversity in this area. There is a cafeteria on campus. I have not eaten there. There is no rating on the food. They have vending machines that offer a variety of choices, both healthy and non-healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life gets one star. You are on your own to locate housing. This can be challenging in a big city like Chicago. It is expensive to live hear.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave 4 stars for academic rigor because I believe the college needs to expand on it's variety of sciences courses. They have plenty, however, if you work there are not a lot in the evening. I think more of these course should be offered to the working class. The often fill up fast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should first seek out an academic advisor. Second they should chose an area of study. Third they should take the college success course the school offers. This will assist them in their college journey and beyond.

    In three sentences

    Malcolm X college has a diverse learning community. It provides students with a quality education on a limited budget. The professors are dedicated and have a willingness to engage students in their learning.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have an endless variety of food,& vending machines; you'll never be starved.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't dorming at Malcolm X.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your heads up, you'll always have someone to help you at your lowest. Malcolm X seems to always have time and bodies to assist so don't sweat it. Never be embarrassed to ask for extra help.

    In three sentences

    Malcolm X Community College has been very good to me when it comes to rough times in classes I have trouble in. When I seek for tutoring there's endless of generous hands providing help. Malcolm X gives me comfort when I go to them for assistance.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    The school is multicultural

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a parade

    What to do for fun

    Read lots of books

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a college where the professor cares Malcolm X is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    Malcolm X is a wonderful college. On a rating scale from 1 to 10 they will be an 10. The professor are excellent teachers.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is amazing and very reliable. Although I've only been attending for this one semester I haven't seen or heard about any fights, sexual assaults, or stealing going on. If safety is a major issues for you X is the college for you they have a security guard at Every entrance including the library entrance.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about Malcolm X's Greek life. I don't think that Malcolm X offers any Greek life at all because it's a community college. But the clubs at X make up for this one missing activity.

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports activities at Malcolm X are alright but not great as expected at a community college. the clubs are great and they have some that are very helpful to students having family problems or issues at home. The tutoring here is excellent and should be something you get you first week just for that extra cushioning and support.

    Great for these types of students

    Malcolm X is great for student that aren't sure if their ready for the on campus college experience. You can take your core classes here for cheap while getting a feel for what college life will be like. The big reason is you can do some growing up while gaining college credit for cheap and get a feel for the college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their isn't really anything that stands out as unusual about Malcolm X everything is straight forward. the one thing I found I found that kind of had me lost was where to find the weight room. The weight room in inside the same room where the basketball court, they both kind of share the same space.

    Bang for the buck

    At Malcolm X you get what you put in for a low cost so you can actually wind up getting much more than you paid for. Malcolm x offers a wide verity of support for high school students, transfers, and adults looking to go back to school. Evey-one is so helpful that it makes you experience well worth the money paid.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Malcolm X I go to the gym and play basketball or lift weights and get a good exercise in on the treadmill. The times to play ball are twelve pm till two pm Monday threw Friday and for the weight room the times are from two pm till six pm. The facilities are relatively good compared to other city colleges I've been to.

    Food and Dining

    Malcolm X food and dining is a one because they do not offer a dining package like universities. Its pretty basic foot and vending machines nothing that sets the food apart from high school food. I choose not to eat at Malcolm X and go to a restaurant after class or home and eat.

    Dorm Life

    Malcolm X has no dorm life only school and athletic facilities. If you want to hang with your friends you usually are in the library, cafeteria, or out of school. This may be a minus if you truly want to go threw the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Malcolm X academic rigor is a three star because it is college and when taking a full-load of classes you get a full-load of work. If you organize your time and use time management you can minimize the time spent working. Overall if you don't have good time management and studying skills class becomes harder, but easier if you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips i would give prospective students would be to take College Success Seminar your first semester. The teacher I would rec-command would be professor Alandria Jones. This is a must for students that truly want to be successful in college and life!

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to five I would give the Malcolm X College a four. It has a great athletic department and the teachers here are very caring. I'm loving my experience here because it's a secure, loving, and safe learning environment.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I can give no comment here as I am not involved in the recreational activities the school offers.

    Food and Dining

    no comment

    Dorm Life

    This is a City College, it has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Student performances ultimately depend on the student. Although there are some cases where the instructor can have a great impact on how the student/students grasp the knowledge being given, ultimately it is the decisions made by the student that determine if failure or success will meet them at the end of the road.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has good resources for students who want to build something for themselves who (because of poor past decisions, or circumstances) are farther behind than others when it comes to where they want to be in life. Anyone attending this school should keep in mind why they are here because there ARE DISTRACTIONS. Many students here unfortunately have lost sight of why they attend this school, and if left unchecked those who are serious can also be deterred.

    In three sentences

    Not High School.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are theater acts and movie showings. Personally, I don't have time to participate in a lot of those things but I was able to attend the (STEM) symposium.

    Food and Dining

    Food is readily available on the cafeteria in the second floor; a little food area on the first. They have common junk food such as chips and soda. Although, there are healthy alternatives like yogurt and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    I think it solely depends on the teacher and the student. Many students should try to expand on their education and learn more rather than less on their own. As far as the teachers are concerned, some are strict others lenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't have much money or would just like to save some money in your overall four year bachelor course. I suggest considering a community college such as Malcolm X for your general education. Try to find a good advisor; if one does not work try another.

    In three sentences

    A predominantly African American college, filled with mostly dedicated teachers. The staff can be a bit hard to deal with at times. Aside from the terrible lighting in the basement, I believe the college attempts to do the best for its students.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have to show your ID.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a soccer team for boys.We have improv(acting club),and basketball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have African American heritage month when they come selling jewelry,clothes,perfume,DVD footage,etc.

    What to do for fun

    We have a soccer team for boys.We have basketball,and an acting class.If you like to dance you can take a dance class.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive if you don't have a job.I recommend bringing a lunch,or go to a restaurant with a dollar menu.Lol

    Academic Rigor

    You have to do well in your work.Some teachers are nicer with how they teach.We have an acting class,dance class,Chinese,Spanish,and French,World of Cinema(movie class).

    Tips for prospective students

    Malcolm X is a good school for people who want to go into the medical field.

    In three sentences

    Malcolm X is a good school.I came here because I didn't have enough money to go to a 4 year college.The advisers here are nice.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards and cameras on every floor for your safety.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym, weight room, activities, etc....

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice food and dining area where you can look outside and see the outside world on a beautiful or day.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have a dorm life but if they did I'm sure it would be great.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't seen one of them yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are at the right school for great health care careers. They don't only have great teachers but they also have great advisor.

    In three sentences

    They have teachers here that actually care about your education just as much as you. They have more then one place for you to get help for a classes. Then they also have a program to help you transfer to the 4 year college that you want to get into.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security

    Great for these types of students

    Students who dont want to go straight to a big univeristy

    Bang for the buck

    Im very satisfied with the ducation im getting

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a lot of extra curriculm for you to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is decent and resonable pricing.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't know we had dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes ive had has been pretty difficult. As long as you stay on top of the work, there shouldn't be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    In three sentences

    I love the college. It's a good stepping stone if your considering transferring to a bigger university

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't exactly the greatest nor the healthiest, but it's better than simply eating straight from a vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part the classes are very easy, and the teachers are always willing to help if you are struggling. There are teachers though that will challenge you to your core, but those are the classes that I find the most satisfying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try registering early, and ask plenty of questions about opportunities for scholarships and grants.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to Malcolm X, and the classes are pretty stimulating, well depending on what subject and the professor you end up with. All in all it's a very enlightening experience and it's easy to get accustom to the scheduling.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe because security are off duty Chicago Police Officers.

    Greek Life

    All I can say, is that Greek town is only a stop East of Malcolm X. If you ride the Blue Line, you would get off at Racine.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various ones but I really did not have the time because I have an active teenage daughter and I wanted/needed to be home as much as possible. Afterall, I worked full-time also.

    Great for these types of students

    Malcolm X College is great for every man, woman and/or child because it has diversity among it's staff, teachers, students, vendors, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I would not necessarily say it is and unusual tradition or location on campus, I found there was always something interesting going on during the day, week, and/month. For example, during Kwanzaa and/or Black History Month, there were vendors from Africa.

    Bang for the buck

    I like to shop at resale shops for myself, mother and daughter. As a matter of fact, I had a small business. I shopped for co-workers, who did not have the time and/or patience and both would pay me.

    What to do for fun

    First and foremost,my major is Early Child Development and I love to read and learn. I attend and participate in anything and everything having to do with education and/or schooling. I like to look at movies, e.g. westerns, documentaries, mysteries, etc. I remember on year during the month of July, I went to a different restaurant every weekend because my birthday is July 18, 19??

    Food and Dining

    I finished a Nutrition course and I should have been eating and drinking better before it. I plan to start - today!

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    The City Colleges of Chicago have definitely stepped up, since I first attended in January 1976. I was not serious. Now we, the students, are expected to be accountable and responsible for our roles, daily!

    Tips for prospective students

    Number One (1) ask God for knowledge, wisdom and understanding as to what to major in. Please ask your family and friends for their support. Decide to be like a sponge and manage both your time and money well!

    In three sentences

    First and foremost, I want/need to thank God for their history of forty (40) years in our Medical District and in Chicago, IL. It has been easy to travel to and from work and/or home. Currently, I am a Grow Your Own (GYO) participate and it has been both challenging and rewarding!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Alpha Lambda Iota Chapter - Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is behind the United Center, home of the Chicago Bulls.

    What to do for fun

    There are many school events every month of the semester that are fun to attend.

    Dorm Life

    It is an off-campus school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let anything or anyone stop you from becoming what you want to be. It's your life, not theirs.

    In three sentences

    Very good professors and advisors. Most professors are willing to help students inside and outside of class. I have not had any problems with the school, faculty, or other students as far as I've been a student at this school.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe community, security is on point.

    Clubs and Activities

    Biology Club great group of students

    What to do for fun

    Line dancing, belly dancing, play the piano.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academically!

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the academic center for tutoring it's useful and it helps.

    In three sentences

    I'm loving the school so far, the Biology Department and Academic Center tutors rock.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is off duty police officers so the college is safe.

    Bang for the buck

    If you in Chicago the rate is 89.00 per credit hr. but if you live out of the city it is 189.00. It close to 200.00 dollar.

    What to do for fun

    There is many clubs. We do have a soccer and basketball team.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is a little over price.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. Only off campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    I will say if you are going into a medical profession then MXC is excellent. This school is one the City of Chicago College and is know for there many different health professions. The Professors will really work with you but it is not a piece of cake. I am attending this college to be a nurse. It is also located in the Chicago, Illinois Medical District which has three hospital. One being Rush Hospital and Rush University is in the same area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you fasfa application First! Put all the school you are interested! Talk with the chair of department and a few professors to get a feel for the degree and course you want to take. Go to admission! Do you compass test! Talk with an adviser!

    In three sentences

    Malcolm X College is a great school for a person who goal is to a health professional. There is excellent professors that work with you. Plus it affordable.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hr security on foot and in patrol cars

    Greek Life

    Sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Student Government

    Great for these types of students

    self motivators

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything you need id located in one building and is easy to find

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is low therefore you don't need to take out any loans for classes unless your taking more that 13 credit hours

    In three sentences

    Its an excellent starter school with helpful staff. Great medical programs offered.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have some of the best security guards working on our campus. some of which are current and retired police office and they don't play. they take pride in keeping the rest of the faculty and the students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    on our campus there all all sorts of clubs that welcome you to be apart of. we have many different clubs and activities that are always taking place on campus. we have the chess, biology, mortuary science, s.g.a. and many other clubs that are available for your enjoyment purposes.

    Bang for the buck

    i have been an election judge in my district for a few years now. i also take pride in being one of my 82 year old grandmothers home aid who has alzheimer's, she is my pride and joy. there is nothing that i wouldn't do for her. also, i enjoy feeding the homeless on holidays with my church. i am a hard worker and i will not rest until i reach the top. i feel as though, my dreams seem so close but yet so far away. i a highly motivated individual and i believe in my heart victory is mines.

    What to do for fun

    for fun i read, rap, study, write, cook and dine out. i am currently working on my first book that is yet to be released. i have been working on my book for a couple of years now and i am anxiously waiting to complete it and get it published. writing has always been my passion and my dreams, since i was 10 years old. i also enjoy helping others, it really makes me feel good to lend a helping hand. i love shopping and traveling, although lately since my funds are so low i haven't been able to do either. i take time in participating in school activities, such as homecoming events, talents shows, spoken word events, and newspaper writing.

    Food and Dining

    although i attend a community college we are fortunate enough to have some delicious restaurants around our campus. we have some of the best cooks and staff working on our campus. we even have vending machines with snacks of all kinds that accepts cash as well as credit cards.

    Dorm Life

    although the dorm life is not applicable, i am sure that it had to be an enjoyable experience, though i have never actually lived on a dorm. all i know is it sounds like a fun, and interesting experience one in which everyone should have. it is a time to interact with different walks of life.

    Academic Rigor

    in order to improve our academic rigor it is up to the faculty as well as the students to work hand in hand. students need to stay focused and utilize the tutors and academic support systems that are available. the students must come to school wanting to learn instead of socialize. also the faculty must remain supportive and keep students motivated to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    for every prospective student i encourage that you all, work hard and study even harder. joining college is a step towards, your future, your success. no matter what your career interest may be rather it is nursing, radiology, mortuary science, child development, or respiratory therapists, whatever it maybe, you must continue to stay focused. also, you must remember to never give up, on your hopes and dreams. life is to short for regrets. no matter what storms or obstacles that may come your way it is important that you stay motivated. there is nothing standing in the way of your victory and your success but yourself. never give up and always remember that no matter the storm, you can do anything that you put your mind to. quitters never win and winners never quit.

    In three sentences

    malcolm x college, is a wonderful, school to attend and start your career. i rate this school a 10 because it offers some of the best accredited, health care fields in the city. malcolm x college is more than just a college, it is the way of the future.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    reading and run

    Food and Dining

    cafe is open for breakfast and lunch but after that vending machines is your only pick.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    extremely easy!

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll early. sit in the front of the class. complete fafsa prior to enrolling.

    In three sentences

    mostly all black students. very close to public transportation. students complain a lot!!

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can dine in the cafeteria, visit the library, or relax in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great!! It's just a bit too expensive

    Dorm Life

    Malcolm X community college has no dorms

    In three sentences

    I love Malcolm X College, it's a great community college for learners. It's also a great way to meet and learn about people from different cultures, and ethnicity's.The advisers are nice and reasonable.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This community college is great for all students and its especially great for students striving for the nursing program or any where in the medical field.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly encourage that students claim themselves or some one reliable to pay off your fee when filling out financial aid to release any holds you may have in the future. For example, a friend of mine was a B student but because she allowed her husband to claim her on taxes, she had a hold preventing her from registering and seeing her mid-term or final grades. She was also unable to pay the fee leaving her husband responsible for her actions and because her husband made so much at his job, that effected her as the results are what is stated above. The reason for the hold was that she didn't pay her tuition from last spring which added to her fee of the fall of 2010 so makesure you stay on top of financial aid at Malcolm X College!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The classes they have there at MXC are equivalent to taking classes for the first two years at most universities but at a cheaper price.

    Did enjoy being here

    This rating could have been much higher if most of the activities at MXC fit my daily schedule but there are many activities that goes on there such as Christmas parties, Hispanic Heritage month, Kwanzaa festivals and much more.

    Did learn a lot

    People who seem wise or look knowledgeable is safe to judge the book by its cover because people at Malcolm X College are what you see.