Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Clackamas Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are one of the only campuses around the state that has armed police officers patrolling campus. It makes me feel especially safe when you can give them a call to even walk you out to your car. It is the little things they do to make you appreciate this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of a peer mentor program. We help students with whatever writing assignments or essays they need help with. I have met a lot of wonderful people and a full tuition waiver is a bonus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for the worker-bee students that have jobs and go to school. It is easy to coordinate classes along with your work schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    What made me go to Clackamas Community as well as many others is the price. As college students we are trying to save every penny. But with full time tuition only being approximately 1200 dollars a term, we don't have to worry about loans all the time.

    What to do for fun

    The best part about CCC is that you are not held down by the school. You can come and go as you please, you are only required to be on campus for your classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria on campus available for all students, it serves a variety of delicious foods. And if you feel like something else, Clackamas Community College is located in the heart of Oregon City, so there is more than plenty of options. Plus a Dutch Bros is located one block down, every college kids dream.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms here, so it is pretty self explanatory.

    Academic Rigor

    Clackamas Community College has several levels of academic rigor for every student. If you are adjusting to college, there are several study classes that will help. If you are looking for a challenge, there are more than plenty to challenge even the brightest of students. Most people believe that a community college is easier, this is definitely not true. It only depends on how much you are willing to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as possible. Clackamas Community College has several work study programs that will cover all of your expenses and make college enjoyable. Working at the college has given me several opportunities professionally that I would have never gotten otherwise.

    In three sentences

    Clackamas Community College has the personal touch that all Universities strive to have. Every teacher there cares about their students and helps them succeed. My best decision was to attend Clackamas Community College.

  • 08/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never ever felt unsafe at CCC.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    What to do for fun

    The clackamas river is not too far away. There are also parks, hiking trails near by, and many social places.

    Food and Dining

    They have this cute little cafe that is connected to a 'hang-out' area. There is a tv, comfy chairs/sofas, and little corners for people who like to or want to be left alone.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For an student who is 'ahead' per say, their rigor is easy. Especially if you enter in with credits already. CCC is a great way to get those pesky basics out of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever hesitate to ask questions no matter how stupid they may seem. Try to find people who are going there before day one. Also, don't be afraid to explore.

    In three sentences

    CCC is very friendly, and helpful. The campus is easily navigable, and the counselors, presuming you get the right one, are very helpful. Only once have I left still confused.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an issue with safety. Never a car broken into while on campus. There are shady places to avoid at night though for females just in case, or have your phone out because it's dark. They have gone to good lengths to get lighting in, but there are plenty of criminals out there just looking for trouble. I have been going to CCC for about 4 years now and have not had any safety issues.

    Greek Life

    There is more geek life than greek life I would say. There are opportunities to study abroad though.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have never been involved in a club at CCC just because they have not been presented to me in a way that attracts me personally. Though I did think about joining the student body team because of the amount of their involvement on campus is very inspiring.

    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented. Those that have a smaller budget and can't afford a four year institution. Those looking to educate themselves and explore new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the music hall couches, but the biology hall is almost always quiet and good for homework and studying. There is a barbecue on campus for all students at least once a year, and there are plenty of clubs to join in. The teachers are also good to talk to on a personal level not just education.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the education you pay for. The price is fairly good and the education you get and the communication from most of the teachers is very good.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of halls and lobbies to do homework in, practice music, get inspired for art, run on the track, take a walk around the campus, explore the books at the library, sit outside at the fountains, and lots of places for quiet time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok in the cafeteria, but there is also a student store and food at the bookstore. Lots of variety. If you feel something would be a hot item to sell from the student store, just let the student body president know and they really will consider adding it to their menu.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply. No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    I know several students who retook the same exact class at a different community college and one even at a University just because it was easier and they required less. I would rather know my foundational material well so that it's easier when I get further along in my studies. Clackamas CC has high expectations for their students, but nothing that can't be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talking to an advisor helps a lot, especially to find out about the college. Take advantage of orientation days. However, do use the resources available to you to determine what works best for you. If I would be following my advisors plan, I'd still be in school taking classes and not able to get into my nursing program just yet. The reason is because they use a more broader scope to make more opportunities available for you (different nursing schools require different classes). But if you know your goal and where you want to go, most colleges have all the requirements available online for you to make your own plan. Take advantage of this! Also use the student bookstore to buy and sell your books. Easy to use and you get more money back for your books while also buying them at cheaper prices than the actual bookstore.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this as the best community college around my area. The teachers are knowledgeable and proficient in their subjects and portray clear expectations. Easy to enroll and to succeed if you are an average student that can attend class regularly and just follow instructions.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student looking to get their Associates Degree or a Transfer Degree will benefit from attending CCC. The classes are affordable, and, for the most part, fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining on campus could be improved, but most students either bring their lunches, go home for lunch, or visit on of the nearby food chain stores, such as Five Guy's, Panda Express, Taco Time, Jack In The Box, Taco Bell, Carl's Jr., Starbucks, Wendy's, and more.

    Dorm Life

    CCC has no dorm. It is a Community College, so students live in homes or apartments in the surrounding area.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes get tougher as you progress through a series. For example, a 100-series class is easier than a 150-series class. However, some class numbers have different letters associated with them. The later the letter appears in the alphabet, the more rigorous the course. For example: a 135-H class is a prerequisite for a 135-I course, as well as being easier than the 135-5 class.

    In three sentences

    Clackamas Community College has a great campus, with open spaces and easy access to facilities. The instructors are helpful and knowledgeable, and willing to help when they can. The classes will help any student looking for an early level degree, or continuation and higher-level education.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. Students who are unsure of their major. 2. Students who are transferring from homeschool and need to start a paper trail on the cheap.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dapper Wednesday: A loosely-observed tradition that originated in Winter 2014, and is mostly confined to Math Lab tutors, of dressing up on Wednesday. There's a lot of personal variation allowed in what 'dressing up' means but it's a step more put-together than what you would normally wear.

    Bang for the buck

    CCC is very affordable. I have sometimes felt the quality of the teaching left something to be desired, though.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few restaurants and cafés in the area. Otherwise, go to Oregon City or Portland for movies, theatre, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I've eaten their cafeteria food exactly one time, and the French fries were bad. I didn't even know French fries could be bad.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on the teacher. I've had teachers whom I loved, who pushed me to succeed and really enlightened me on their subjects, and I've also had teachers who didn't know the first thing about what they were doing. Again, investigate the teachers ahead of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't believe everything your advisors tell you; an AAOT won't necessarily cover your first two years at any Oregon university, and may not even be terribly beneficial to you. Investigate the quality of teachers beforehand if you can; some are great and some are not so great.

    In three sentences

    You get what you pay for. But it's a good way to get your Gen Ed requirements out of the way. And it's good if you're not sure what you want to do yet.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety keeps implementing more and more things to be available or provide safety walkouts to your car especially for night classes.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun unless you have a class or a club. The gym is kinda good. Otherwise bring something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The have a great cafe but it's overpriced, so eat there if you need to eat, but get the best meal bargain. There are vending machines a little bit. And if u just want a snack go for the bookstore, but there is a long walk.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is pretty standard. I've mostly only experienced the low classes that help bridge high school to college. Freshman level.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a youth before college sign up for the CTEC Youth guidance program and then the CASA of Oregon program to really help you multiply your money for college. Also, always do your FAFSA and bargain around for your books online, not at all through the college. They overprice.

    In three sentences

    Clackamas is a great school and has a lot of great classes offered and variety but not availability at all of it's locations. It would be a lot more useful for those that live further away from the main campus but close to Harmony or Wilsonville to have all or most of the classes available near them. Shuttles help, as are being established, but not much.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No complaints or instances of injury that I have known.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Only a few clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for parents, people with jobs, people unsure of what they want to do, and people with not a lot of money.

    Bang for the buck

    The instructors here are generally pretty awesome and helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Portland.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is entirely too expensive for the quality. You get fast food quality for quadruple the price.

    Dorm Life

    There are none

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard for the most part. The science classes do get a bit intense sometimes though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on class, not on the extra stuff. Study and do your homework. Don't forget that this is just a stepping stone, don't get stuck here... move on.

    In three sentences

    This is a great place to jump off towards a career. I believe it is a great place to go for your first two years of college. It's less expensive, has smaller class sizes, and is a good way to get in to college to try it out.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CCC has it's main campus in Oregon City, but there are also smaller campuses in SE Portland/Clackamas and Wilsonville. Both of the smaller campuses are less crowded so it is easier to use some of the resources offered (ex: testing labs).

    Bang for the buck

    The material presented is comparable to the first two years of a four year university, but for a fraction of the price. You definitely get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    CCC offers a number of athletics and clubs to join. There are also numerous events that occur at CCC, such as special lunches outside, guest speakers, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average, quality and price. However, the coffee is good.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is comparable to other Portland colleges and universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If the prospective student is not very organized and self-starting, do not take online or hybrid courses. These courses require a lot more self prompting.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Clackamas Community College is a B+. There are numerous resources and many class options. CCC offers traditional courses (in the classroom), night classes, hybrid classes, and online courses; thus making it convenient to find a class to fit each individual.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had a problem in not feeling safe here

    Greek Life

    Lots of geek clubs too

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tree that has a whole bunch of number 2 pencils in it I think its a graduation thing but I think its cool

    What to do for fun

    The ASB always has something happening and its usually fun

    Food and Dining

    Its high priced, Its cheaper to go to the subway across the street or the bookstore for some food, but its pleasant

    Academic Rigor

    They have a wonderful math program and tutoring center I love that I can just pop in there and get some questions answered

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, and sign up for classes ASAP

    In three sentences

    I love the tuition rates. I love the staff members here. I love how I am able to achieve here.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around, weight room.

    Food and Dining

    Not too good.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Depends what you are going for. Biology classes are the best with lots of fun, cool labs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help ask the teachers they will help you until you understand everything.

    In three sentences

    It's a small community college with a nice atmosphere. The people are extremely friendly and treat you like family. The teachers really want to get to know you and want you to exceed.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and activities and fun days

    Food and Dining

    Good, regular food

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms, this is outside living

    Academic Rigor

    Hands on Learning

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to go to school for Horticulture anywhere in Oregon, consider Clackamas Community College as it is a hands on experience and a great learning environment. The Best in Oregon!! :-)

    In three sentences

    I love attending school at Clackamas Community College. I am in the Horticulture department, which is Wonderful and has such a family feel to it. All the students are helpful and the instructors are great!!! A+++

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nearby hiking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Really great school. A great deal for future students. Also, really good education!

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    lower income students first time college students learning students

    What to do for fun

    socialize with other students

    Food and Dining

    great food and decent prices

    Dorm Life

    not really a dorm area.

    Academic Rigor

    i love the academics and the convenience of the campus size.

    Tips for prospective students

    take what you want but make sure its also partially a hobby if not you'll lose attention.

    In three sentences

    i love Clackamas Community College iv learned so much in money management, and the importance of school. the teachers really help me even with my disability.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have really great security at the Harmony campus and the Main campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult Students Transfer Students Associate of Applied Science Students.

    Bang for the buck

    Best tuition price for Community Colleges in the area.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Government provides activities throughout the year. I don't participate because I work a full time job.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, but there are a ton of restaurants and fast food in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Thus far, it has been great.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's your responsibility to plan on what you want from CCC. Do you want an Associates of Applied Science or do you want to transfer to a 4 year university? Try not to waste your time and money by taking classes that won't even work for your degree.

    In three sentences

    I love the diversity here. Tuition is great. Great advisors at your disposal as well, particularly in the Criminal Justice Dept. I recommend CCC for adult students like me.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students

    What to do for fun

    Visit the Environmental Learning Center. Play intramural sports. And lots more!

    Food and Dining

    I don't know what the food is like, since I pack my own lunch. But it sure LOOKS gross!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Clackamas is as mediocre as any other Northwest public school! As a homeschooler, I have found the academics to be very easy. But I have heard of other students having trouble there. For some it is easy and some it is hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work on time. Chat with the teachers; they like to get to know their students. Put effort into your work, show that you care about your education, make friends with your teachers, and you will do fine.

    In three sentences

    For a community college, Clackamas does very well; my main frustration is lack of funding. Every time you turn around, you find some program has been cut because of insufficient funds. But the programs they do have are very good and teachers care about their students.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Extra curricular activites abound. Join a sports team.

    Food and Dining

    Also no applicable. I eat at home. I think there's a Taco Bell near by?

    Dorm Life

    Non applicable. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Five stars. I've always been appropriately challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need to get ahold of the financial aid or student accounts departments your best bet is to go to Roger Rook hall. Phone calls may take a week or two to be returned.

    In three sentences

    My school is on the cutting edge of community education. Offering students every opportunity to succeed is a priority. Parking could be better.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am really enjoying my college experience at Clackamas Community College. The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. I feel like I am getting a great education at an excellent price.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Depends on which campus you're on; If you're on the Harmony campus it's very safe. One classmate left her keys in her keyhole on the door of her car, and her keys were still there for 6 or so hours.

    Great for these types of students

    They have great programs available to those who wants to become Dental Assistants, nursing, EMT, medical assistants, and even CNA,

    Food and Dining

    4/5 stars By each campus or inside each campus there are cafes or restaurants so there is no worries about starving.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in CCC.

    Academic Rigor

    3/5 stars As long as you do what your told, like homework and listening in class, you'll most definitely do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always apply for financial aid before you get in to CCC. They are always willing to help you and get through financially without too much of a money burden.

    In three sentences

    CCC attains great teachers, counselors, and students. The financial aid office will help you with your financial needs if needed. I would rate CCC 4.5/5 stars.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security but there's still lots of break ins to cars and what not.

    Great for these types of students

    Going back to school for certificate, getting general ed classes out of the way before transferring to a university for cheap, someone who prefers online classes, or someone who is aiming towards a certificate or associates degree.

    Bang for the buck

    The credits generally transfer, and it's cheap.

    What to do for fun

    They have lots of sports and extra-cirricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything figured out WAY in advance to starting school here. Their process is super long and they are slow at helping you. My first day registering and meeting with an advisor, I was sent to four different buildings and hardly even got my initial concerns cleared up. We had to go back again a week later to do the process all over again.

    In three sentences

    It works if you're desperate for more schooling but low on cash. The staff there are rude and hardly give you the time of day. The greatest part is online classes so you don't actually have to communicate with them.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt very safe on campus. There is campus security and a security number in case of emergencies. Also, parking is free!

    Clubs and Activities

    As I previously mentioned, the international club was a big part of my experiences at CCC, and I would recommend that all students get involved in activities, programs, majors, and clubs that they are really interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Clackamas Community College has a great group of international students, for those who are interested in studying English as a Second Language.

    Bang for the buck

    I am really glad that I chose to go to Clackamas Community College, for the first two years of my education. It was really helpful to not have to take out student loans to pay for my education, up to this point. I think community college is a very smart way to start an education, because tuition is so much lower. I also had a very good experience with the language department and international department. I am currently in the same country that my Spanish teacher is from, visiting friends, teaching ESOL, and learning the language. I was also very involved in the International club and taught English there for about six months. I honestly believe that I have learned more from being involved with international clubs and meeting international students in college, than in any class. I have volunteered with three different international clubs, at two different community colleges. I have learned so much about foreign culture, and different lifestyles and outlooks on life, through international clubs. I am actually engaged to an international student, who I met because of a friend that I met at one of the international clubs. These are the kinds of experiences that truly change your life, so I highly recommend getting involved in clubs and activities that interest you, because they truly could impact your life and your future. You really cannot buy these experiences, and they can be life changing.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different trails on the campus, and there are several stores and restaurants close by. There are also clubs and sometimes performances on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Clackamas Community College is good. They have several different options, and the prices are reasonable. The dining area is also open to students who aren't eating, so you don't have to buy something to use the area.

    Dorm Life

    Clackamas Community College doesn't offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is my understanding that the academic rigor at most community colleges is not too demanding. I learned a lot at CCC, and was challenged academically, but was not overwhelmed by the work load. I feel that CCC offers a reasonable academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think it is a great idea to start the first two years of your education at a community college. It is financially beneficial to begin your education this way, and there are many different courses and subjects offered at community colleges. Clackamas Community College is an excellent school, in my opinion. I attended CCC for two years; I had good teachers, very helpful student counseling and guidance, and CCC has relatively low tuition.

    In three sentences

    Clackamas Community College is a great two-year school. They have many different class options, including online courses. I would recommend CCC for its' high level of education, and low tuition rates.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria and not bad food choices. They offer things like sandwiches, quesadillas and burritos that they make right there, as well as soups and snack foods. Reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    Community college so there are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the classes to expect the perfect amount of effort out of you. While there is homework, it is not more than you can handle, but the teachers definitely hold you responsible for getting your work done on time, and do not accept late work. At the same time though, they obviously want to help you succeed as well, and can be very helpful and supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are still a high school student I suggest attending Clackamas Middle College, as they offer a college transition program at CCC. You have to keep your grades up, but they pay most of your tuition each term while you are still attending high school as well. I graduated high school with my two year degree completed and paid for!

    In three sentences

    Clackamas is a small and easily navigatable campus, even for those who are new to college. They also offer a couple of different college transition programs that actually pay for your classes there.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have only one tiny dining. You better pack your lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the web site. CCC web site is pretty good. So you can prepare choosing your major and classes.

    In three sentences

    Small college and small class room. You can easily communicative with others and teachers. However, if you are from other ethnic group, you might feel alone.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have amazing campus safety. Just recently my battery was dead and had to have it jumped. The campus safety worker was fast, and nice. Was very willing to assist. They are on campus late at night as well that helps with late night classes. They will walk you to your car if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have several clubs, and activities from multiple departments. Theater, and music clubs. Sports like volleyball, and softball. There are always activities going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Great tutors and we have a department that handles issues with special needs individuals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a fire science building, we have a forestry location, we have a huge horticulture lab and building that offers plant sales twice a year. We have a huge alcohol awareness week each year. Huge Christmas party for families and staff.

    Bang for the buck

    Each term there are a series of 3 1 credit classes that you can attend for free. They are informational classes. Great for new students.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going to get involved. We have an ASG office that sets up events and activities like BBQ s and holiday things.

    Food and Dining

    We have the Cougar Cafe. There are a lot of healthy food choices to choose from. Good hours, and nice staff.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate this with 4-5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise to attend a new student orientation to learn about what CCC offers. The orientations are a great way to get familiar with the campus and staff.

    In three sentences

    I would rate my college with an A! I feel the staff and faculty are wonderful and eager to help students. The college is close to home and has several courses to choose from.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are highly trained and patrol campus even at night. They aren't just security officers, they are policemen assigned to the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of activities on campus, and any student can start a club with the correct paperwork and an advisor.

    Great for these types of students

    Married and nontraditional students. Single parents also find this a great place to go to school due to on-campus daycare.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive to attend, and they guarantee that their transfer degrees will translate to junior standing at any public Oregon university.

    What to do for fun

    There is a 2.2 mile walking trail around campus that travels through some beautiful wooded areas. Student Government offers intramural sports, flag football days, and dodgeball tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mediocre, and it is severely overpriced. The only menu items worthwhile are the chili and fries.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, and no on campus housing. There are many nearby apartments that are very student friendly and only a short walk to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not overly so. CCC has a collection of the best instructors in their field, especially in the music and digital multimedia communications programs!

    Tips for prospective students

    Triple check your financial aid information and cross check the answers you receive with more than one official. Learn how to use your myClackamas account, it will be your best tool for registering for classes, viewing schedules, and getting all your account information.

    In three sentences

    Clackamas Community College has a gorgeous campus filled with old buildings and sprinkled with several examples of great modern architecture. The student body is diverse, which makes for a great learning environment. The administration leaves a bit to be desired; I have gotten a lot of misinformation from the financial aid and registration offices, often resulting in a delay of my financial aid.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest college credits in Oregon that are easily transferable! Only $79 per credit as of 2012!

    Food and Dining

    just a small cafeteria an lots of vending machines and a few student stores.

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus living offered.

    Academic Rigor

    Many different kinds of courses are offered including online, on campus, and hybrid courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to email your teachers for anything you need as soon as you register for classes!

    In three sentences

    This is a great institution, they really care about all of their students and give you every resource you need to succeed. I have really enjoyed my time here and would recommend this school to anyone. They also have three different campuses.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is excellent!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and activities, however I have never had the time to participate in them, as I am either too busy, or I feel they are geared more towards the post-high school generation.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional adult learners, post-high school generation, foreign exchange students, and other diverse groups of people.

    What to do for fun

    I'm too busy working on my degree to pay attention to most of the activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    I will be honest the cafeteria food sucks!!! In the 3 years I have been here, there has not been anything new on the menu, and what they do have is mediocre AT BEST and way too expensive for a poor college students budget...for example a nasty cheese burger fries and a drink in $8.50. If you don't mind losing your parking space for the day, however, you can go across the street and for that same $8.50 get Panda Express, Carl's JR., Five Guy's, Taco Del Mar, Subway, Taco Bell, and a few others.

    Dorm Life

    CCC is a commuter campus...no dorm housing.

    Academic Rigor

    It is my opinion that our education is what you chose to make it...if you want to get good grades and have a good GPA, it is up to you to show up to class and do the work...Overall it was easy for me, except the math, but that is just me, and I don't feel I can rate this by a certain number of stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first enroll at CCC and begin taking classes, it will be very important to your success if you don't wait for people to tell you about all of the little in's and out's, tips and tricks of how to get involved in all of the unspoken activities and programs on campus...Be curious!!! Keep your ears open at all times...talk to other students, find out how they got that scholarship, ASG book grant, etc. You will find that the inner-workings of the general student body will know more and be more forthcoming about the information than the powers that be.

    In three sentences

    CCC has fabulous instructors who really care about your success, and the Social Sciences department is wonderful. The ASG is very active and involved in promoting a multitude of diverse events for the student body, and in the spring and summer the campus is beautiful. They also have a beautiful theater where they hold top notch dramatic plays and musicals.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Totally safe, with a campus police force to prove it.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to get the same education in the long run (by transferring to a 4-year school) for a lot less money, older students going back to school, and those who didn't do well academically in high school.

    What to do for fun

    There are various intramural sporting teams and clubs. Not many options, though, and it's not easy to get more information about them.

    Food and Dining

    Besides a slew of vending machines, the fast food restaurants across the street, and the occasional barbeque, there is just one option for food. The dark cafeteria, serving only fried foods and overly priced bananas. If you want to eat healthy, you are forced to bring your food from home.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I really shouldn't complain about the classes being easy. But they are. This is good because it's less work, but it also makes me feel like I've learned less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry too much. Expect there to be older people in your classes, which is very different from high school. However, you'll have more free time and less homework than high school. Be sure to choose your classes early before they fill up! Talk to a counselor, and make sure if you're going to move on to a 4-year school that your classes transfer.

    In three sentences

    Classes are intimate, both in size and teacher attentiveness, and are academically easy. Students range broadly in age and life experience, but you are distanced from your peers due to a lack of community. The campus has some beautiful hidden spaces, and is not intimidatingly large.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones that are starting college life or ones that want to a complete a class and transferring the credit to a 4-year university.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and also working out in gyms can keep you very productive. There are sometimes community events going on.

    Food and Dining

    The foods are alright. They are a bit expensive though. Rather go outside of school to eat instead.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms around here.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes that require you to definitely work your hardest to earn that grade. However, there are ones that are too easy to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be responsible for your own work and also attend to every classes. It will be very pointless and a waste of your time/money if you do not put effort within a class.

    In three sentences

    The college has a very nice, clean, and peaceful environment. Most instructors here are very determined to help you learn and reach your goals. A lot of students tend to connect with one another and are very social.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a limited number of groups at this school, but the ones that there are seem to be pretty cool. i suggest trying the ones that seem interesting.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good. nothing spectacular, like most other community colleges

    Academic Rigor

    it's pretty average for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely talk to an advisor. and make sure you take the chance to walk around the campus its gorgeous.

    In three sentences

    i am loving this college so far, it's smaller than pcc and i think far friendlier. people you don't even know will stop and say hi to you when you pass them. also the staff seems to really be on their game and get things done quickly.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus officers on the move.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs, i could type so many until my fingers would fall off.

    Great for these types of students

    all around of people here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i still haven't found any weird traditions

    Bang for the buck

    all in all school is not as scary as everyone makes it sound. i got out there and now i'm a freshman in college and i'm living my dream.

    What to do for fun

    well my fun is running, but you can enjoy walking on trails, enjoying the sun, whatever comes to mind.

    Food and Dining

    there is good places to go eat, my favorite is subway.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm, i live with three other roommates that run cross country and track & field.

    Academic Rigor

    its my first year so ill see what happens

    Tips for prospective students

    get out there, have fun, and don't be afraid to try new things.

    In three sentences

    i love how small it is, it's not like how movies portray colleges to be. my school is relaxed and my classes are amazing. overall clackamas is a great community college.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    has a pretty good cafeteria but food is quite pricey in my opinion. the school is also located by a few fast food places too, within walking distance of school.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on the campus, but a lot of housing close to the school. Also very bus accessible too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use everything to your advantage the counselors and all the resources too. It's there for you to get the proper education you are paying for. Also don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    CCC is a really good school to get started with. The counselors are very friendly and are always there to assist with all kinds of problems. This school is also a well diverse school too.

  • 10/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self led, independent students will do best here. Academic advising is not terribly helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to how many credits you have! The school will cut you off from financial aid without prior warning.

    Bang for the buck

    Credits are very inexpensive. Very few extra fees and books are generally inexpensive and available online such as on Amazon.com

    Am enjoying being here

    Many extracurricular activities.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a great variety of classes available. Scheduling is a bit of a chore though.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCC is great school for almost every student. Almost any degree someone would want to earn has prerequisites that can be taken at CCC. Any student who does not want to be with drunks, and wants to be around people who want to learn should go to CCC. It is good foe people who like staying at home because it also has online classes that you can take. The only type of student I would not recommend to attend CCC is students who need to get away from their home life. But there are many places to live near the school. And even if a student wants to go to college to get drunk can still do that but at a much cheaper cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to transfer to a four year school, talk to an adviser. They can help you set up everything you need and walk through the process. Also make sure you check on all the deadlines for financial aid. Also maintain contact with the advisers to make sure you are doing everything to earn your degree. Also realize that this is not high school. You should expect to take only 3-5 classes as opposed to the 8 or so you took in high school. And make sure to plan ahead and be organised. There is a lot more going on at college that you need to keep track of. In high school if you failed a class you could just spend a few weeks redoing the material and receive a grade for it. In college you need to take the class over, which is not free.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a great deal. Because it is a community college, it is much less expensive than a university. It is also a great deal because I was able to take all of my entry level classes for my Bachelor's degree here before transferring. They are the exact same classes as the ones at the university, but a whole lot cheaper. Instead of having to pay for four years of university tuition I only need to pay for two years. I am graduating from CCC completely debt free. if money is a big factor for the student, which for almost everyone it is, then CCC is a great place to begin.

    Did enjoy being here

    This was a great experience. Because it was a community college people were attending it because they wanted to learn. They valued their education. Most people were paying for it by themselves and working as well. It was nice to be around others who have the same drive for success that I did. Students were not coming here just to get away from home and get drunk every night. Sadly that is what a lot of students who go straight into a university will do. It was nice to not have to deal with those people.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot from CCC. It had a wide range of classes to take. Because it is a two year school and not a four year school, it does not focus on high level classes, but instead on lower level classes. This is nice because it is able to provide many more options for people to choose from. They have many degree options if someone is interested in a certain field. Also the teachers here actually care about the success of the students. They can afford to do so because each class has at most about 35 students as opposed to 350. I also learned how to succeed in college. It is a nice stepping stone from high school to a university. I was able to learn how college classes are different from high school classes and plan for them better.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't have a huge bank account or are paying for your own school CCC is a very smart choice. Athletes do very well here, CCC athletes have a higher retention rate and transfer rate than do the rest of the student body. The Cougars are also very competitive in their league, especially in Track & Field, Wressling, and Basketball. If you want to live on your own, but stay close to home this is a great place to do that. Oregon City has several apartment complexes within a mile of the school, many of them shared by college students. Those who are continuing their education or returning to school find CCC to be the best choice mostly because of the cost. But also because it is a relatively smaller school in the middle of the city so it easilly accessed with living resources surrounding. CCC has one of the best nursing programs around. Also one of the most competitive. If you are a musician, you wont regret getting involved in the CCC music program. They have an outstanding vocal jazz choral music program, as well as band and orchastra for all instruments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember why you are in college. You make your own choice to put yourself through it. If you're here to party, meet people, and have fun then do it! But there are other places to do that where you don't have to pay for it. If you're here to earn a degree, then work hard for it. Keep up on your studies and be smart. No one ever graduates from college with good grades and says, I wish I would have partied more.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly speaking, I think few high schoolers dream of going to CCC when they graduate. I didn't. However, I am glad I did because I now have two years of college under my belt and I'm debt free. CCC is the place to go where you can go to school full time, work part time (or full time if you're crazy) and still make ends meet. You will pay roughly anywhere from a quarter to a tenth of the price of college at other universities.

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes. Much like as in high school, the more involved you become in your school the more you will benefit from it and appreciate what it has to offer. I was a member of the cross country and track team which was hands down my favorite part of CCC. I also was a member of the chamber choir, which was a wonderful experience as well. Making friends and spending time with them, even if its studying for your next exam, is priceless.

    Did learn a lot

    Myth: Community college is easy. No college should be easy, and my experience at CCC backs that up. I was challenged greatly in more ways than one in my two years here, classes being one of the greatest challenges, but also learning about time management and study habits are lessons that I value and am thankful for. I learned how to learn, and there is always help when you need it.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCC is a great college for the nursing majors; the Harmony building on campus is filled with EMT and nursing classes. CCC is also a great college to just get a transfer degree in art, business, and your basic core classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early. The calendar online and in the booklet will tell you when there is early registration for the certain seasons. The sooner you register, the better chance you get of getting into the classes that you want. In other words, you have a better chance of getting first pick.

    Bang for the buck

    It's inexpensive and totally worth the money. You get the amenities and the class fees are very reasonable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to class because the people are nice and the professors make it easy to learn the subject because they will take time out of their day to help you.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in my second term at Clackamas Community College and am learning a lot; both hard facts and real-world situations.

  • 01/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm a computer science major and so far all of my C.S. classes have been great. But I have also taken writing, math (hybrid), and Spanish, all of which have been good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the staff, they will help you with anything you need.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great community college, inexpensive, but without the sacrifice of quality.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only are the teachers and faculty are nice, I've also made quite a few new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken 3 terms so far at this school and only had one bad experience with a class not being super.

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a science major or if you just want to take a wide sampling of courses, then I would recommend Clackamas. This school is also good if you plan to transfer to a four year college, and if you fell behind in high school, or if it has been a while since you have been in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend starting at a community college. There are a lot of resources available for you to use, and I would advise taking advantage of them. The small class size allows you to get to know your instructors and get help when you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    All college is expensive, but Clackamas is relatively cheap at $72 per credit.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am able to meet new people, and there are plenty facilities available that make studying easier. The teachers are able and willing to help you when you need it.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that the quality of education that I receive from Clackamas Community College is good. They have good science and math classes that I feel will prepare me to go to a university.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes Parents going back to school If you really aren't sure where you want to go it's a great starting point.

    Tips for prospective students

    I thought community college wasn't the right place for me, but once I started classes I realized it was perfect. The classes are smaller and get you ready for the next level if you want to keep going. There are so many options at Clackamas.

    Bang for the buck

    It's community college so it's cheap compared to state schools, but it's the same first two years...

    Am enjoying being here

    There's a great atmosphere on campus and it's great to be able to meet new people, all kinds of people. There's a greater variety of people at Clackamas, and the sports are great!