Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Claflin University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/17/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus at all times because security is always out driving around at night to make sure everyone is safe and that we have no trespassers on campus. Also in order to get in your dorm you have a ID you have to scan to get in the buildings at all times.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can get involved in various activities around the school or in the community. We also have a game room located in the student center, you can sit on the benches and socialize with you classmates, go down to the basketball court and because State University is located right next to us you can walk over there for fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad at all, you have just have to get use to different foods that you're not used to eating. Look forward to having fried chicken Wednesday every week, and also fried fish fridays. Also here at Claflin University we have vegetarian meals that are served everyday for those who do not like meat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm live isn't something that I personally was excited about, but once I got here everyone was very nice and it's like having a lot of sisters around you at all times, and you begin to form a bond with them. The bathrooms for the most part are clean, and the rooms have to clean as well because of the weekly room inspections are that mandatory. The dorm rooms consist of two twin size beds, two desk, two closets, a sink, but you have to bring your own t.v, microwave, and if you want to a lamp.

    Academic Rigor

    We have some of the most qualified teachers here to help you do things that you've struggled with for the longest and the work is challenging but it's for the better because if you put your mind to it you can do it and understand why they challenged you.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students would be get ready for the fun and exciting freshman trip to White Oaks. Its a time to bond with your freshman class and get a change to know them. I also advise you to get a mentor to help you on important things such as financial aid or other things that occur on campus because it's good to have someone who's experienced to help you.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is the wonderful college that opens up your mind to different cultures. It's also a college that gives you many opportunities to look for a career that you are interested in. Unlike many colleges many college professors are just your teachers but here at Claflin University they become your mentors and motivate you for the best.

  • 01/02/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The phenomal 9 are wonderful and provide excellent activities that others can get involve with.

    What to do for fun

    sports, organizations

    In three sentences

    Clalfin Univerisity is a small, family oriented university where everyone is friendly. The teacher and students have a well organized bond.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are always on duty. There are also alarms that can be sounded during campus emergencies.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is very exciting. Its interesting to see the organizations stroll (dance & chant) during step shows and pep rallys.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a part of Claflin's gospel choir on campus. We re greatly involved in the community and have the privilege of traveling to local and surrounding areas to perform.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type of student who prefers smaller classes and one-on-one interaction with instructors, Claflin University would suit you just fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Claflin University is the first historically black university in South Carolina. They are affiliated with the Methodist church and have a chapel right on campus. Chapel service is held every Sunday morning at 9:30 AM.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that Claflin is a private university, tuition is pretty expensive. It is up to the student to gain as much as they can from the academic year.

    What to do for fun

    Claflin will occasionally host campus-wide gatherings. They are usually held outside with a DJ to provide music. Greek organization will also have parties outside of the campus. Students have free admission to all school basketball and baseball games.

    Food and Dining

    The food served is not always the most delicious, however some days are better than others.

    Dorm Life

    I thoroughly enjoy dorm life. Living n campus gives you the real college experience and is a very convenient advantage.

    Academic Rigor

    The content of the courses that I have experienced was not very difficult. As long as you are attentive in class and study during personal time, your grades will look pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Claflin is a small private school. The average number of students per class is between 15-30 students. This makes it easier to get personal assistance from instructors if needed. Take advantage of this.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is an exceptional school for higher education. It is a historically black university, but has a very diverse student and staff population. One would have a valuable education experience at Claflin.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Claflin University is exactly what I need in life. This school seems just like home in a sense. Claflin is exactly what someone needs to get a great education while being comfortable while doing so.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    very fun

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Please be prepared to work hard.

    In three sentences

    This school and everything you imagine. The opportunities are endless. Recommend anybody to come here.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is great security gaurds tend entrances into the campus 24/7

    What to do for fun

    Claflin usually hosts plays and concerts performed by the music and theater departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors they are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Claflin university is diverse. It has great academics. Claflin has a very safe and friendly enviroment.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs and activities on campus. What ever interest you have there is a club for that. I suggest you get involved as early as you can. Not only will it look good on your resume it will also build your social life.

    What to do for fun

    on campus their really aint nothing to do as a freshman except sports and little organizations. For upper classman you can join sororities and many many activites

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is mostly repeated and not only that its nasty except on Wednesdays because we have soul food

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are small. Most are about the size of a typical bedroom, however all of your living needs are squished into half of it. The other half is for your roommate's. You have no type of personal space.

    Academic Rigor

    decreasing drop outs Set high expectations for all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Apply for financial aid after being accepted to the school of your choice 2. Its very very important to make write out a schedule 3. Make sure you fill out as much scholarships as needed 4. Apply for internships 5.Do community service

    In three sentences

    I would rate my university a 9 out of 10 because it needs a little improvement. Our campus is always kept nice with cleaned fresh cut grass and beautiful bloomed flowers. Our dorms are also kept cleaned.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can walk over to South Carolina State where there is a bowling alley. Claflin has a game center, a lot of clubs, organizations and groups that students can join.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible and the only other food places on campus is Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    For freshman unlike other colleges, students only have lobby visitation. There is no longer a curfew and visitation can be taken away. The rooms vary in size in each dorm. Yet, they are not all that great.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor differs from major to major but you will be well prepared to excell in the workforce.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work hard, have fun and be well taught. Also have a good amount of business clothes to wear for certain majors have to dress up on certain days and for freshmen there are assemblies that require business attire each week.

    In three sentences

    Claflin is a great place for those who want a family feel and is fine with a small campus. The faculty and staff really care about their students. Claflin students all graduate with what they like to call Claflin Confidence.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is top notch. We have people on watch all of the time and also have emergency call buttons for when in need.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is everywhere on campus. You can go anywhere and see someone from any sorority or fraternity representing their group.

    Great for these types of students

    Claflin is great for the student that wants to lead. Leadership is very important at Claflin and is taught all of the time. Our tagline is The World Needs Visionary Leaders and you can tell when you arrive on campus. It is also a great school for those that enjoy a medium sized school that can cater to your needs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition we have on campus is convocation. Each semester, we have a convocation to celebrate the new academic semester. In this program, there is a speaker that encourages everyone to do their best and become who they wish to be. Also, they cut the grass everyday on campus.

    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun, you should join some campus groups, make friends, and also indulge in the college life at South Carolina State University, which is right across from campus. Having fun is all about the effort you put in to do so.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexho provides the food and dining for Claflin University. The food is okay, but you must eat in moderation. The Freshman 15 is real! The only thing that I would change about dining is the amount of space available for dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Claflin University is good. As long as you do your part in cleaning up behind yourself, dorm life will be enjoyable. We are also building a new coed dorm to increase enrollment. These dorms will be full equipped with kitchen spaces and suites.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Claflin University is high. Although it is high, it is not hard to maintain a good GPA. It is enough to challenge you, but you can stay afloat as far as grades go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is to remain open-minded, stay focused, and remember why you are enrolled in college. Don't allow anyone to steer your mindset away from your own opinion.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a great institution. They provide you with the challenge you need in life and also instill great leadership skills in you. Claflin truly molds you into a superb citizen for life after college.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are daily events held on the campus for students to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should set goals before coming to the college campus, practice time management, and remain focus through out your journey.

    In three sentences

    Claflin overall is a wonderful university. They provide their students with wonderful opportunities and a quality education. The University also makes sure students have the resources needed to matriculate.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe. Not a worry at all.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is always interesteing and its alwaya exciting to see and wait for whatis to come next from the DIVINE NINE.

    Great for these types of students

    ANY STUDENT!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tingley hall has a fountain behind it that is extremely beautiful and most students use it as a place to relax and vent. its a very comforting place.

    Bang for the buck

    You want to feel like you are at home away from home, Claflin University is the place.

    What to do for fun

    There are may activities to involve yourself in such as dance, choir, basketabll, softball, baseball, volleyball, student goverment, science clubs, yard activities as well as student involvemnet sessions weekly.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is like home, surronded by people you loved provide with all you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'll reccomend Claflin Universyt to any and everyone any day and anytime.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University on a scale of 1-10 id rate infinity. Claflin gives Minorities such as myself a great oppurtunity and better chance to be successful in life. Claflin University is a school of visionarie leaders.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is not very safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very entertaining.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is in the worst place possible. there is nothing in the area unless you have a car.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good besides high rise.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    Claflin is a okay school. Some things can be better. But it is what you make of it.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 Campus Security always willing to help in the time of need.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on campus is great the Greeks are very helpful with showing you around campus and volunteering.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 45 different clubs

    Great for these types of students

    For any students that like smaller classrooms and 101 with professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Orangeburg SC

    Bang for the buck

    Best HBCU value in the state

    What to do for fun

    Volunteer with the Claflin Men 100 program/club.

    Food and Dining

    They have the best hamburger in Orangeburg.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come for a visit and you'll love it

    In three sentences

    I great school to attend for any race or culture. Ranked number 7 the in nation for HBCU. Best valued in the state of South Carolina for HBCU.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Claflin University is a GREAT choice they offer soooooo many unimaginable opportunities to the students. A++

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are usually a party some where on the weekends or throughout the week, but there is always something going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Caferteria does often offer different varieties of food, but don't over indulge.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty decent, unless you are unlucky and get stuck in Dunton.

    Academic Rigor

    You should really make an effort to get to know all professors, they can really help you out in the end. Claflin professors are great teachers and you will really learn something out of the classses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because finacial aid will do the most in trying to make sure that a new student is cleared.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a very historic school. The campus is very inviting and you feel calm and relaxed when moving about campus. Claflin University students and staff are close knit and become a second family.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Claflin University's Cafe is amazing. The Cafe has a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Claflin University are beautiful. I am a freshman who lives in Kleist. I adore my suite. It is a great environment.

    Academic Rigor

    There are several highly educated professors here on campus. They are very intelligent but also extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Claflin is what you make it. Enjoy this wonderful HBCU. DO NOT stay in your dorm. It is a lot of exciting things to do around campus. SCSU is right next door, and they have activities that Claflin University students can attend.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is an outstanding school. Claflin is a smaller size institution so it is easy to get adjusted to.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. I fee very safe on the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing. I enjoy the entertainment and the events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs and activities on campus for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for outgoing, outspoken, and well-rounded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the gym, parties, and got to the mall for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great on campus. The company does a wonderful job giving a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are great to live in. There are activities to do in the dorms that involve the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely challenging and rigorous. If we don't offer the course they will try to find a substitute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep going!!!

    In three sentences

    Claflin is a wonderful school.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They take security very serious, not a bad thing but SUPER RESTRICTIVE, remember curfew?

    Greek Life

    Can't tell as I'm not into fraternities, but from word of mouth it seems to be the only fun thing as they organize a lot of activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nope.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small museum, and a student lounge area.

    Bang for the buck

    Your tuition will be used for flowers, enough said!

    What to do for fun

    Do you know that Orangeburg is one of the highest places of hiv and aids in South Carolina? Unless you plan to make a career of drinking then really nothing as the nearest happening places are Charleston (which about 60 miles from Orangeburg or Columbia which is about 45 miles away).

    Food and Dining

    I don't dine there, their meal plan is very expensive and the food quality is really bad (trust me I worked in the cafeteria for about a month and there was a lot of corruption and slackness!)

    Dorm Life

    I stay off campus as it is very expensive and there is not much to it (especially if you are a male and stay in High Rise), there are curfews (IN COLLEGE!!! GO FIGURE THAT!), and there are not a lot of programs available (if computer science is your thing, but if you major in Chemistry, Business and Music then that's different as these programs are the best in the institution).

    Academic Rigor

    I belong to the school of Math and Computer Science, and the entire department has 14 faculty members listed. Of those 14, only 3 teach core computer science from freshman all the way to senior, and if there is a problem with the classes (and there are ALWAYS problems with enrollment and conflicting schedules) then the chair of the department will teach (with abysmal results). There is a lot of favoritism, and if you don't like a particular style of teaching, then the only option left is to do a cross registration (google claflin state and octech cross registration program for more info.).

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid this institution at all cost! If you want to have a wonderful college experience (and I'm not talking about the partying and all that stuff, I'm talking about the quality of an educational learning environment) then don't come here.

    In three sentences

    First of all, the administration does not do their job properly, the college tuition is mostly used to make the campus look pretty with flowers, but not in the sense of improving and investing in the EDUCATIONAL aspect of it. Classes are not engaging, and google will be your best friend since the prefer form of class deliveries are through power point lectures and nothing more.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big thing on campus. they make sue that everybody that steps foot on Claflin is a student or has a purpose for being on the campus .

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities that one can partake in on campus SGA (Student Government Association) Concert Choir Gospel Choir Foreign Language clubs SAB (Student Activity Board) Band Cheerleading and so much more

    What to do for fun

    for fun you can go to the game room and pay ping pong sometimes on campus they have forums and play movies. different clubs or you can just hang with your friends and make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus was good. Somethings I don't eat but they have different things you can experience like sometimes they will have a sushi bar. Claflin Dining had different dishes from all the world like Jamaican food Japanese, Chinese, and so many more. if you get hungry after the cafe hours you can go to the student center where a pizza is located and a jazmans cafe.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life was good you can either share a room with two or three people the bathrooms are located down the end of the hall which you share with your whole floor. the Dorm Advisers were like family they were concerned about your academics and you health and are willing to help in any way they can.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics were great they may have been hard but with all of the extra help you can find on Claflin Campus there is no way you can fail. your professors will even help you if they see that you are very serious about your work and see that you are trying your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is the key to greatness Don't get caught up in the partying life Your professors are there to see you succeed Take advantage of the campus resources

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a small school. The professors are always available when you need extra help. It feels like your a little family while attending Claflin University.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every spring they have a culture feast. Its called The Calabash it last for week. Claflin also have an art gallery

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room. Various clubs host different activities throughout the year, such as movie night.

    Food and Dining

    I havn't eaten at the cafe while being a student at Claflin, but I did attend a summer program at claflin when I was in high school and the foodwas good. I liked it. Fro m what I hear from the ones who do eat at the cafe they say its pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed on campus but I haven't heard any complaints from any of the students who live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They push you to what to achieve high goals but they also want you to understand your field of study and be ready for a career im your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your classes because if you don't you may miss a class and have to stay an extra semester or year.

    In three sentences

    All in all Claflin is a great school. The teachers are really nice, understanding, they will help you, work with you and they are pretty reasonable. Claflin is a excellent HBC.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe when on campus, though my car stereo got stolen on campus my sophomore year...

    Greek Life

    Greek is huge at Claflin. A large majority of the upperclassmen are greek

    Great for these types of students

    Academic types Social butterfly's People who like diversity

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay the education and experience is worth it

    What to do for fun

    Yard shows, Meltdowns and school activities.. aside from that you may have to find/ make your own fun

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food will help you out in a pinch, but if you're actually craving something specific you may want to go to the on-campus pizza hut

    Dorm Life

    It could be better. Its strict, to the point where you would think you were back in your parents house.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, you may have to work harder than others but there are no easy A classes. You will be challenged in any area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the school what you want it to be. Its an experience, and the more you try to take from it, the more you will gain.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a very beautiful and enticing place aesthetically. The education leaves a little to be desired but the experience is one of a kind. Its also in a small town so fun takes imagination.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of many organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work hard!

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is very diverse. The professors are eager to teach and office hours are convenient for students.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always parties at one time or another. You can team up wot a suitemate or a friend and just hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important to learn time management and try to be involved on campus as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    My degree will be an international business degree. People are very friendly and willing to help. I am very excited about the classes that I am taking.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. But I would still recommend you travel in groups.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities are good at Claflin and strive to complete community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many academics clubs at Claflin. There are also collegiate national honor societies.

    Great for these types of students

    Who wish to immerse themselves in the Black Culture of today.

    What to do for fun

    Well I'm not gonna lie to you, there's not that much to do in Orangeburg, South Carolina. But for myself I like to go to Mc Donalds or some of the local restaurants and relax in the lounges and eat and chat with friends. On the weekends there are many parties that are available to go to with friends, but I would recommend that you always travel with friends where ever you go and be responsible.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Claflin has its days, but overall it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life is pretty good, there are many place to choose from off campus and off.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this place is not the faint of heart especial if you tend to major in the sciences. Claflin academics are some of the top academics in the country and in the state of South Carolina.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to go to Claflin it is a great institution. It is great for academics as well student getting to know each other and meeting each other on a social level and making close bonds with other student from different paces.

    In three sentences

    I rate Claflin University as a great institution for African American student and other races who wish to immerse themselves in the black culture. I happen to like Claflin myself. The teachers are very helpful and are always in the pursuit to help their students.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greeks are great fun and just full of energy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Exchange student have one week out of the school year to cook for the students. We try the food and it different from America food and they also play music.

    What to do for fun

    We have different activities on campus. Homecoming is great, we have little parties we call meltdowns, and sometimes movie on the yard. Its just different activities on campus to keep the student on their feet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay force no matter what college you decide to go.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a nine out of ten. I enjoy being there.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Claflin University hosts all organizations apart of the Divine 9 and other business and religious fraternities as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities on campus. www.claflin.edu

    Great for these types of students

    Scholarly, outgoing, leaders, artistic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The term for the areas you walk around on campus is the yard. Most of the events we have on campus are in the Panther Plaza near the cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of people say Claflin is not worth all the money it costs to attend. This is why I recommend getting a lot of scholarship money if you want to attend. There will be some things you like and dislike about the school, but that will probably be at any school you attend!

    What to do for fun

    We have on campus events such as meltdowns, parties, forums. In a near town, Columbia, there's a movie theater, malls, and other places for fun things to do. If you like to party the main thing to do is go to a club, a greek sponsored party, or to Columbia.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafeteria there are a variety of food choices. There is a deli and vegetarian options. There is also an on campus pizza hut and Jazzman's Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    16 Residence Halls. 12 for women 4 for men. We have suite/apartment style dorms as well as regular dorms with community bathrooms. There is a suite style dorm building for honors college students. The others you can pay extra for. There is also off campus apartment living.

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to our sister school, South Carolina State University, most say the work is harder. People who attend the school, however, do not think the work is hard. To me, the work did not differ much from high school, depending on the classes you took. The only change comes when you begin classes that deal with you major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come to Claflin, get your grades as high as possible so you can earn the most money in scholarships. Claflin is what you make it. The campus is a bit smaller and you must create your opportunities for learning, growth, and fun!

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is an amazing campus, physically. It is very well-kept and it is a great environment for learning. It is a private college and is slightly expensive.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not that expensive, plus the school encourages study abroad and pays for it many times.

    What to do for fun

    I walk around campus at times because it is scenic. They upkeep the grounds very well.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food starts off good at the beginning of the year, but at times, they slip back. I would say, however, that they do attempt to improve both the taste and the healthiness of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others, and there are strict rules that apply, but in the better dorms, the quality is decent and proficient.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not very difficult, but it depends on the major and the level of education acquired thus far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and for the Honours College, as they accept many students worldwide.

    In three sentences

    Small, but more effective most times than surrounding larger universities. Claflin invests on their current and future students and are not afraid to do such. Smaller classes usually means more attention which assists in personalizing and ensuring success.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When I am bored I either hang with some friends in the Panter Plaza, go to the Student Center and play either pool or table tennis, or walk aorund campus and enjoy the university and it people.

    Food and Dining

    When ever you are hungry you can always go to the caf. The caf holds a wide variety of food every day. If you are not in the mood to go to the caf you can go to the Student Center and enjoy Pizza Hut or Jazzmins, which is a little cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is a great experience. All dorms have lobbies and an area where a student can relax and watch television or get work done.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what major you declare your professors and advisers are always willing to help you get through the course and not with a just passing grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    When becoming a Claflinite, be prepared to work hard and enjoy the university with all the activities they hold of the campus.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a university that caring. No matter what it is you are having trouble in, there is always help by your side. After finishing my freshman year at Claflin University, I can say that I have became a better person as a whole.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafe' is really nice and has a lot of choices to choose from!

    Dorm Life

    The honors college dorm are very very nice! Living room space, bigger rooms. :)

    Academic Rigor

    They are very big on Academic studies.

    In three sentences

    Claflin is a GREAT school!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very Beautiful Campus! I can't wait to attend in the fall! :)

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    All nine sororities and fraternities. There are also other Greek organizations such as the business organizations, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greeks strolls/ step shows

    Great for these types of students

    For dancers: Pulse Dance Company

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The on campus museum.

    Bang for the buck

    The lawn is always freshly cut.

    What to do for fun

    Homecoming week Parties Programs/ Events on campus Skating Rink/ Movies/ YMCA

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't always great , but its edible. There's always Pizza Hut on campus as a second choice. There are also other restaurants that are close by .

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't perfect but they're livable.

    Academic Rigor

    Great accreditation and internship oportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    A very great school to attend.

    In three sentences

    Claflin is a great accredited university. It is a well known prestigious university. This is a u\very diverse school where ethnicity or religion does not matter.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had or heard of any issues concerning safety.

    Bang for the buck

    An excellent choice for serious students.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually activities going on throughout the campus. Since I am an adult student with a full time job and a family, i do not usually have the oppurtunity to partake.

    Food and Dining

    I am an off campus student.

    Dorm Life

    I am an off campus student, therefore, i am unable to attest to this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your educational experience very seriously and complete your goals before starting a family if at all possible.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is an awesome school with dynamite professors. I enjoy my academic and student life at this institution. The class atmosphere is small enough for the professors to learn your face as well as your name.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 31 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in Orangeburg, SC but the college parties are good. Then, there is also Columbia, which is only about 25 minutes away from Orangeburg.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Dining at Claflin Univeristy is exceptional.........sometime. There are days when the food is absolutely delicious and other days when the students do not know whether it is safe to consume it or not. Overall, from a 1 to 10, i would give our food and dining at Claflin a 6.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is okay. Being that Claflin Univeristy is a private school and is affiliated with the United Methodist Church, there are certain limitations set when it comes down to visitation and co-ed. Just this year, it was passed that the girls could have boys in their rooms and vise versa. It is really not that bad but one does have to adjust and make sure following the rules is a priority,

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is very vital at Claflin University. If a student does not maintain at least a 2.8, he or she will ne put on academic probation.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing learning from going to college is procrastination is of the devil. In high school, things were pretty much given to students and not much effort was put into doing work. Once I entered college, I found myself very soon, slacking off and procrastinating. I then realized that one to prepare and organize to become successful. Make sure studying for at least 2 hours a day becomes a priority. Prospective students should understand the consequence of procrastinating. If one fails to prepare, prepare to fail.

    In three sentences

    The illustrious Claflin University located in Orangeburg, SC is an institute for higher learning that molds and shapes future visionaries. As a private school, Claflin understands and values the importance of education in today's economic society. Claflin is also ranked number 8 among historically black college/universities.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 32 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Claflin is great for students who are looking to attend a school with a small campus and a small teacher-to-student ratio. It is great for those looking to attend an HBCU (obviously), those who don't mind living in a small town where there really isn't anything to do, and for those who are fast enough to outrun a raccoon (kidding).

    What to do for fun

    Run through the grass! For some reason, freshman year, rumor has it that you will be fined $50 every time you walk on our pristine, green grass.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is limited, especially if you are a vegetarian/vegan. We have a Pizza Hut and a coffee place in the Student Center and several other restaurants nearby that you can purchase food from if you are not really digging our Meatless Mondays, fried chicken Wednesdays, and Fish Fridays.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fine. It all really does depend on which dorm you stay in. Let's just put it this way--the more money you pay for room and board, the nicer your dorm will be and the more likely you are to have hot water. However, there are no co-ed dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Your academic rigor is determined by your major. Some majors such as biology (from what I have heard) naturally require more work than others. But no matter what your major is, undoubtedly, at some point you will find yourself hitting the snooze button on your alarm because you've stayed up late doing work.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET YOUR FINANCIAL AID STRAIGHTENED OUT BEFORE YOU COME TO SCHOOL! Even if your tuition is paid in full, make sure that everything is taken care of before students move in. There is nothing like spending all day waiting in Financial Aid or worse, spending all day in Financial Aid and then having them tell you you don't have enough money to cover the cost of your tuition.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good. We haven't had any problems really and our school is very safe on its own.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is huge at this school. Sometimes it seem to overtake the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than enough clubs and activities at the school. Every year more organizations are added and you can join whatever you like.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for people who like tight-knit communities and are mature enough to do what they need to do. If you like partying this is not a party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is matriculation day and convocation every year and we also have certain chants that the entire school knows. We sing the alma mater at almost each event

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is pretty high and we don't know where our money is going.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with certain people. We sometimes just chill and do random things or we would go out of the town that the school is located in and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a wide variety and the dining center is only open certain hours of the day.

    Dorm Life

    There are strict rules with dorms but the rules are changing. You get to meet many different people

    Academic Rigor

    The work is only hard if you allow it to be. Teachers do not just give you busy work. The work is necessary and teachers don't mind helping you at all times, just ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like being in a rural area and you more enjoy the city, this is not the school for you. You need to really want to be here to succeed. Take advantage of all opportunities provided.

    In three sentences

    The faculty to student ratio is great since it is a small University. Getting to class is not a problem because the campus is not large. The atmosphere is very family-like.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are rude

    Great for these types of students

    Students with parents with deep pockets.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not enough parking

    Bang for the buck

    1 To expense.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would not recommend this university to adult students that are trying to obtain a degree in their continue education program.

    In three sentences

    This university have promise a lot of things that they have not or refuse to follow thur on. I would not recommend this university to adult students that are trying to obtain a degree in their continue education program. I will rate this program on the scale from to one to ten, a one....

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 35 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security The Claflin University Department of Public Safety strives to provide a secure environmet for the students, faculty and staff. University police, security guards and residential managers provide the protection required. Every building is effectively installed with fire alarms and strict guidelines with regard to handling of flamable materials are adhered to. Activities or conducts that results in breach of security may attract servere implications.

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Lambda Business Fraternity Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society Gamma Phi Delta Christian Fraternity Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity International Alpha Mu Gamma Honor Society Iota Phi Theta Sisters of Service Pi Kappa Lambda Alpha Epsilon Rho Alpha Kappa Alpha Alpha Phi Alpha: Mr Herman Keith Zeta Phi Beta Omega Psi Phi Delta Sigma Theta Phi Beta Sigma Sigma Gamma Rho Kappa Alpha Psi Alpha Kappa Mu Pi Gamma Mu

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Beta Lambda Business Fraternity Pre Law Society Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society Tour Guide Association Black Executive Exchange Program (BEEP Artist Club Claflin University Gospel Choir Concert Choir Cheerleaders Pre Engineering Club Gamma Phi Delta Christian Fraternity Claflin University Young Democrats American Marketing Association National Association of Black Accountants Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity International Alpha Mu Gamma Honor Society Iota Phi Theta AMEN Literary & Debating Society Claflin Men National Society of Black Engineers Sports Management Club National Society of Leadership and Success Green Generation Public Health Alliance Claflin University Jazz Ensemble Sisters of Service SIFE (Students In Free Enterprise) Pan Hellenic Council NAACP Pre Alumni Yearbook International Studentsâ?? Association (ISA Alpha Kappa Mu Pi Gamma Mu Student Activity Board Student Government Association Friends of Earth Claflin University Theatre Ensemble American Chemistry Society DEEP: Disciples Exercising Excellent Potential The Panther Minority Association Pre Health Students Pre Dentistry Club

    Great for these types of students

    Claflin is an awesome place for those who want to major in Biology and Chemistry majors; we have an internationally acclaimed faculty and resources for research. Information technology, arts and business majors should also consider enrolling to Claflin university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Calabash is an annual festival held at Claflin University in Orangeburg, South Carolina. Originally envisioned as a single day to celebrate the artistic culture of the university, Calabash has grown into a week-long celebration. Overnight the campus transforms, giving way to street vendors, live performances, and a cornucopia of artistic expression and school pride! To the students, it feels like another spring break filled with fun, laughter, good food, and good music...This annual festival is a great way to break up the tedium and monotony of campus life, providing a relaxed atmosphere for everyone to let loose and have fun before finals.

    Bang for the buck

    Every cent spent for your education at claflin is worth it. The school, being private, strives so much to keep the costs for tuition low and affordable while at the same time providing the students with the accredited or standard resources. The campus life and academic life are both exciting and rigorous therefore making Claflin university a University of choice.

    What to do for fun

    Playing table-tennis, cards, ping-pong, pool among other exciting games at the Student center, watching movies and plays at the theatre, playing basketball, baseball, volleyball and other cool sports including working out at the gym. Taking a walk to the nearby Edisto Gardens to view the serenity of that place. There are also numerous parties to attend throughout the year!

    Food and Dining

    Claflin University provides awesome awesome meal plans which includes 10, 15 or 19 meals a week at affordable prices. Food is cooked by professionals who are welcoming and eager to berve the students at their best. Hygine is maintained at very high levels. Food are marked with green. yellow or red labels to help students easily identify healty choices of food.

    Dorm Life

    Claflin promotes an open and supportive campus and community environment by respecting the rights and contributions of others. We work with others to improve the communities in which I now live and will touch in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    Claflinites cherish and honor learning as a fundamental purpose and use rigorous, responsible, and critical inquiry to understand existing knowledge, acquire and share new knowledge, and apply what has been learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a community of visionary scholars Claflin University is dedicated to model the institutionâ??s Guiding Principles and to achieve excellence through: integrity, scholarship, community, creativity, excellence, civility, serve and leadership.

    In three sentences

    Commited to excellence Commited to best moral values Commited to human dignity

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well I'm still learning & we are just doing alot of seminars about college life.

    Food and Dining

    I must admit the food at the cafe is really good at least I'm satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice & clean and being that it's summer time I'm glad to see the are very cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Claflin strive for greatness & they make sure your aware of the tutoring programs that are available to all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan early & apply for scholarship while in your senior year because private schools are very expensive!

    In three sentences

    Great experience & a wonderful staff that's been assisting me from the beginning. I couldnt been accepted to a better school. They have so much to offer & all the advice from the staff has been the best!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great, Claflin serves food for every heritage

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY!

    In three sentences

    I love Claflin University because I feel at home when I visit or stay on the campus. The staff treats you like their own and helps you with any problems you have on campus. I am looking forward to attending Claflin in two weeks because I know there are great opportunities waiting for me there.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe and always follow my mom's instructions drilled in to me to never go out alone.

    Greek Life

    not a member

    Clubs and Activities

    If you're a club joiner, there are many to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    Claflin is great for all students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Claflin hosts a Parents Weekend, which I enjoy because my mother is able to visit and observe some of the experiences that I've been telling her about. Also enjoy the festivals, concerts and speakers.

    Bang for the buck

    Claflin is consistently ranked by U.S. News and World Report one of America's Best National Liberal Arts Colleges; an HBCU fundraising role model; and #1 in best college value.

    What to do for fun

    Claflin has active Greek organizations that frequently host functions on the weekend; the campus is located near multiple fast food eateries

    Dorm Life

    4

    Academic Rigor

    5 Classes at Claflin are challenging, thought provoking and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor---great resource for guidance, internships, and jobs. Get involved in an organization that will help cultivate leadership skills. Sign up for a study abroad program.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is an institution of great integrity. Claflin University faculty and staff show tremendous interest in their students. Claflin University is preparing me to be a leader in the world.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 39 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their police and security staff are great. they make the students feel safe enough to walk anywhere on campus at any time of the day or night.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is really in touch with the students and the community. They make Claflin a lot more fun and engaging with their forums and activities that they host almost every week. Their parities are great also.

    Clubs and Activities

    Claflin has many clubs such as honor societies, academic organizations, community service organizations, and international organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want the feel of college life without going to a huge university.

    Bang for the buck

    You will receive as much as you put into this university. Clalfin provides you with all the necessary tools needed to be a successful college student and graduate with honors.

    What to do for fun

    Claflin provides their students with suitable entertainment including concerts, festivals, a fully stocked game and pool room, and an excellent gym.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is exceptional! Their cafe is fully stocked with nutritious and delicious items including a grill, a deli, a salad bar, an ice cream and desert bar, a dinner bar, and a international delights bar. There is also a Pizza Hut and a coffee cafe on campus in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is diverse and clean. The rooms are spacious and are fully furnished. They do not have coed dorms, but the visitation takes the place of that.

    Academic Rigor

    Clalfin University's academic reputation is one of the highest in the nation. Rated 8th by the top 10 HBCU's in the country Claflin easily holds its own as a respectable educational institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Clalfin University's Alumni is extremely helpful. They are here for current students and prospective students for any type of help one needs. Financial aid, advice on colleges, and jobs and internships are but a few things that their Alumni help you with.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a very hands on institution with a wonderful teaching staff. Their campus is beautiful and well maintained. They give u all the necessary resources to be a successful college student.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 40 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    All divine 9 sororities and fraternities are active on campus along with other merit based fraternities/sororities.

    What to do for fun

    Melt Downs are a monthly event that happens outside in the Panther Plaza featuring a wide variety of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafeteria offers a variety of choices, on Wednesdays and Fridays there is a set meal in the hot line. The other choices on campus are Pizza Hut and Jasmine's.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. As a freshman all dorms are community style, unless you are in honors college, then your choice becomes a more private suite. Currently there is no coed visitation past the lobby in every dorm on campus. Upperclassmen do have the choice to live in an off-campus dorm located no farther than two blocks away.

    Academic Rigor

    Claflin offers a wide range of courses within each subject ranging from intermediate to advanced. They are also very lenient on when you take the courses and what order you want to take them in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Key things every student should know is to always speak up when subjects and course work becomes dificult or overwhelming. The professors are there for you. Always stay at least two days ahead of all deadlines and due dates when possible, that way you can have priority over others. Lastly, be connected with the campus and the variety of opportunities available to you.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a university that is committed to academic success. The university has a dedicated faculty and staff that supports the students and aids them is achieving their goals. The small community of the schools makes all of this possible.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very exceptional, they always check to make sure that everyone entering campus has a reason and not just someone coming on campus. They also have alerts that is sent to every student when there is a disturbance to keep us informed.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is wonderful especially during homecoming when everyone returns.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities on campus but just to name a few, Student Activity Board, Student Council, Concert Choir, Gospel Choir, Cheerleading, Girls and Boys Basketball, and Volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for a student who wants a small college that will do every thing in their best interest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes Claflin is very expensive but with the education that you would receive it is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There are many cultural events on campus for the arts and sports. On the weekends there are also parties that you can attend

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has its days. The busiest day is fried chicken wednesday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty good just make sure you try to get along with other females so that it wont be drama.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am an biology major, academics ar very rigorous. We are the only department that starts you off in your major with core classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the college experience but always remember that work comes first.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is very in tune with its students. They have great a great campus life to be small. They make sure that each student has an equal opportunity.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 42 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Student Support Services

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your friends but make sure you are doing positive things. Such as: Group studies, lunch studies, etc. Join various clubs or organizations and most of all, have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Claflin University is very delicious. You have a salad bar, a traditional bar and make it what you want bar. Claflin gives you multiple choices to satisfy your hunger.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life is very safe, clean and comfortable. Get to know your roommate and respect his or her privacy. Get acquainted with the different life styles of your Dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The most difficulty thing in any college or school is time management. Train yourself on how to manage your time wisely. Study and stay prepared for the unexpected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard for everything. Everything in school counts. In the door, out in four.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is one of the best Universities in the State of South Carolina. President Tisdale and the Claflin University Staff are doing a marvelous job with moving this school. Claflin University has Visionaries!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never walk any where off campus alone at night. If on campus at night, stay in close range of an area with an emergency call area if possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    NAACP, Young Democrats of America, MISS Women's Group, Friends of Earth, Sigma Alpha Phi Society of Leadership and Success etc

    Great for these types of students

    Claflin is great for students involved in the visual arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The anual fall Calabash celebration is a tradition in which Claflin celebrates the fine arts department with music, venders, food and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but the education received and memories made will be well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Attend SGA sponsored events as well as Greek and Organizational events.

    Food and Dining

    Claflin's dining is great. Each day a different dish is newly presented. Claflin's cafe features about four or so different stations which are, home style, deli, grill, fruit and salad as well deserts.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be a challenging transitions if you are not used to sharing your space. In the dorms different programs are held so that you are able to get to know your fellow residents and the interaction will be less forced or awkward.

    Academic Rigor

    The student to professor is great and the class sizes allows you to be known by name developing an actual relationship with each of your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your academic obligations.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a small, comfortable college. You have the opportunity to get to know the faculty and staff on a more personal level. Your college career is whatever you make it and here at Claflin you will be assisted in making your matriculation here a great one.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    All Divine 9 organizations are available at Claflin.

    Great for these types of students

    The School of Natural Science and Mathematics is a great area of study. The courses are rigorous but at the end of the day, you know you have gained the knowledge necessary for life after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Claflin has sports such as basketball, baseball and volleyball and the games are very entertaining. There are always parties going on as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to talk to the students or faculty members on campus. Everyone here is very nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University has a family atmosphere. There is a multitude of opportunities here for all students, even internationals. Claflin is a great institution at an affordable price.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 45 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard workers and students looking for a small family- like environment.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is a little pricey but compared to other private schools Claflin is a deal.

    What to do for fun

    For fun here in Orangeburg you must make your own fun. If parties and clubs not your thing , you might find yourself traveling to Columbia the next town over for shopping, movie theaters, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is the cafe. The food is repetitive and not so tasty. Although the food is a step up from high school slop most students enjoy the Pizza Hut and Jazzman's cafe on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms could use some upgrades. The dorm experience is truly a family environment, the Residential Assistants and Dorm Mangers know you by face and name. If you ever need anything the front desk will take care of you. The suites on campus are definitely the place to live sophomore year and beyond.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the professor and class. Some lower level classes are not that difficult but as you advance the rigor gets challenging. The professor will EXPECT you have done the reading and studied before hand and will teach accordingly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your RESEARCH !! Researching each institution is very important when picking a college to attend. Claflin is a great school and expects nothing but greatness from you as a student and person in general. If that sounds like something you want to be apart of then Claflin is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a great institution for higher learning. Claflin is filled with the resources to achieve greatness and become the visionary leader Claflin nurtures us to become. The Claflin experience is truly what you make it; what you put in is definitely what you get out.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 46 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    STUDY

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to track your own progress and see what is necessary to graduate prior to setting your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Claflin affords excellent opportunities to working adults. It is my opinion that they need to work on being more organized. I appreciate the opportunity to get an undergraduate degree at this stage in my life.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 47 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many different activities going on every day to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very tasty if you dont enjoy the food in one line you have different options in other lines.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms arent nothing spectacular but if you arent happy with the living arrangments you are always free to move.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are afraid of what to expect when you get off to school, you may think you arent smart enough, they have pleanty resources to help you focus on the subjects you find challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are serious about getting a good education , Claflin is a good school to attend.

    In three sentences

    Claflin is a great school that focuses on helping the students be successful in the future, they have great resources when it comes to educating the student. I know I will come out of school with a lot of experience and community service.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 48 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The night life is not that great. But if you want to find good food on the weekend, we have Fatz, IHop, Cook Out, and a few others.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. Don't eat too much because you will get tired of the food quickly.

    Dorm Life

    If you have the opportunity to choose a room mate, select someone who has the same taste you do. Take only what you need. The rooms are small.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to know what major you will pursue. It's going to be tough. Remember that anything worth having is worth working for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early collecting all the documents you need.Take classes in high school so you will be ready for the classes. Pay attention to your English teacher because you will need to kn ow how to write papers.

    In three sentences

    Clafin University is a great school. The atmosphere is quiet. The professors care about their students.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 49 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Claflin has a lot of fun oppurtunities for the students. The campus offers daily activities. Along with the campus events the school has many community service activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is satisfactory. The school offers a wide variety menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Dining has many benefits also being you can interact with your classmates and enjoy a great view outside of your surroundings.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The dorms are veery close to all buildings on campus. Lastly security is always on call or around so you will always be safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Claflin Univeristy offers a great education. The school as a whole is very prostegious in academic achievements. At Claflin you will always be encouraged to do better and no student is left behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students i advise you to get involved in the school activities. I advise you to be involved on and off campus. Claflin University always has an event or something going on during the school year.

    In three sentences

    Claflin Univeristy is a wonderful HBCU. Claflin University has a good location. Also the students and faculty are very friendly.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 50 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very very up to point. They are always around when you need them and they make sure the campus is safe to walk any times of the night. And I love that part.

    Greek Life

    the Greek life seems amazing. The bother/sister hood i see on campus is definitely something i would want to be apart of. They help mentor new people coming in and they also help keep others grounded. Another thing i like that they do is community service, i love to see people give back to the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many extra curriculum activities for you to join,.

    Great for these types of students

    Claflin is great for any student wanting to attend an amazing HBCU with accreditation.

    Bang for the buck

    Claflin also gives you a lot of opportunities to receive money for tuition. It's places on campus you can go to get help with scholarship money and money other things.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are many social events you can attend. Also if your grades are right and you meet the requirements the Greek life is something you should consider joining.

    Food and Dining

    Food is what's expected of. You eat healthy and at the correct times of the day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are worth living in. Easy access to all on campus events and sites. No better place to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life is amazing. You get a chance to expand your studies. Also you get to build relationships with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all prospective students stay on top of your game. Study hard and also communicate with people on campus. It's a lot of help out here.

    In three sentences

    Claflin Is a wonderful school. Here you are granted a lot of opportunities . Not only are you a student here, your treated like a family member.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 51 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus safety but nothing extreme ever happens on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very interesting. The Deltas run the campus are far as sororities and its a tie between the Kappas and the Alphas as far as the fraternities. There is no Greek houses but all GREEKS are active on the campus and you will not know who is who.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs and activities on campus. What ever interest you have there is a club for that. I suggest you get involved as early as you can. Not only will it look good on your resume it will also build your social life.

    Great for these types of students

    Clafin is great for religions and laid back students. If you come here thinking this is a 24/7 party school ... Then im sorry to tell you, you are sadly mistaken.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshmen have the most meetings doing the first semester. I swear we have about two meetings every week. But now thinking back on it they were all educational.

    Bang for the buck

    CLAFLIN IS VERY EXPENSIVE in my opinion. But its worth it. I strongly suggest anybody to do everything you have to do in high school, as far as grades wise and get scholarships. Me personally, I was the nerd out of my group and it paid off in the end. Also start looking for scholarships very early and do excellant on your SATS/ACTS !!!

    What to do for fun

    Since the town of Orangeburg is extremely small and country like, there is not much to do as for night life. The Greeks on campus have parities and the clubs be having college night every weekend and Wednesday. But it is really all of what you make it. There is a party EVERY WEEKEND, whether its a club party, an on campus gym party or a normal house party. There is always something to do but you have to be social and get out and find out what and who is having what.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe some days are okay but most days are really slack. The best day in the cafe is FRIED CHICKEN WEDNESDAY !

    Dorm Life

    Compared to other schools for example our neighbor South Carolina State University, our dorms are top notch. There are currently 5 females dorms and 2 males dorms. There are more off campus though. Males have fewer dorms because the are a selected few that live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have not done your research, you really do, and that goes for every college not just for Claflin. But Clalfin is one the top ten HBCU nationally, its the first HBCU in South Carolina, have never lost its accreditation and is nationally recognized for its academics. I am all about the empowerment of black people and at Claflin you will receive just that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, Claflin is a small university and yea incoming freshmen do have curfew, but it is really not that bad. For one being on a small campus has its advantages and disadvantages, but I can be the first one to tell you that I would not want to go to another school because by it being small, you have the opportunity to build a bond with your professors and the competition for scholarships and internships are slightly decreased. Secondly, I was one to say before I arrived ... CURHEW ... WHAT ??? But now I can honestly say the whole curfew thing helped me get my focus more on my school work and also help me stay out of trouble.

    In three sentences

    Claflin is a great school. Me coming up, I always wanted to attend a HBCU and when I came to Claflin I received the total HBCU experience. As a freshman I was very nervous but anxious at the same time of what college would be like (social life, grades, parties the whole nine) but the people here really help make my transition from high school to college really easy to handle.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 52 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great Campus Safety

    Greek Life

    Numerous

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA ...etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Claflin University has a freshmen trip, where after regrestration is over all the freshmans get on a bus and are taken to a resort,to the middle of no where. They tell you to to leave all electronics back at school because there is no service. The whole day at the resort we sit down and listen to public speakers. We spend the night and in the morning we drive back to Claflin University.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you join groups or attend probates, movie nights, scroll offs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Claflin University food is not so great but there is a Pizza Hut and a Jazzy mans(coffee shop).

    Dorm Life

    Freshman's has curfews and no one is allowed opposite sex dorms. There are five female dorms and two male dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    One is treated like family. There is always someone willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    One shall get well acquaintance with all o their professors. Take all the advantages available at Claflin University. With all the help available at Claflin University there is no way one can fail.

    In three sentences

    Claflin University is a small, religious HBCU. Claflin University is great at helping one succeed. There is always help here, from tutoring to mentoring someone is always willing to help.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 53 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    small city , which means limited things to do. however, at out brother school south carolina state university there are alot of gatherings such as a parties that you could attend to.

    Food and Dining

    # course meals breakfast, lunh and dinner; different catergories such as pourties, vegetables, fruits and salads

    Dorm Life

    quit peaceful and organized

    Academic Rigor

    there is much support from upperclassmen at claflin. if you want to put in the work to get help there will be help for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    calflin university is great school for students who want to develop their education.

    In three sentences

    economical and small

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 54 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this is a great school for people that are business majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    claflin makes you go to church a lot when you are a freshman, but some students just don't go to church. i feel like if they don't wish to be there don't make it a personal thing or count it as a grade.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a expensive school and somethings around campus need alot of work. they should spend more money on fixing somethings instead of planting trees and flowers.

    What to do for fun

    you have to really make it fun go to activities, hang out with friends etc.

    Food and Dining

    the food can be better and more interesting. there is nothing wrong with eating healthy sometimes people just want the food they get at home. also , no one wants to repeat the same meal every week.

    Dorm Life

    some dorms are okay but the honors dorms are very nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    be a well rounded student, join organizations stay involved.

    In three sentences

    claflin university is a visionary school. they are very content with where they stand as a whole. claflin lives by their motto and rely on their messages to make you become all you can be.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 55 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Clalfin University is a great school for students who are ambitious, love to help the community, and aim for success.

    Bang for the buck

    Claflin University is worth the $21.000 each academic year. I am receiving a good education and will be earning a degree that is well worth it. I choose to stay at Claflin because I believe I am getting the best education at one of the top Historic Black Colleges in the country.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being a student at Claflin University. I enjoy having the responsibility and allows me to take charge and learn from my mistakes. I am learning to do things on my own and not to depend on parents so much like an adult.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot. The student/teacher ratio is a good size for success in the classroom. The classroom size is good for the teacher to know each student.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 56 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for all types of students looking for a great college experience

    Tips for prospective students

    WORK HARD AND PRESS ON

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the best HBCUS in the land. Its in the top 3.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Claflin University. I met Great people here.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers and staff make me want to learn. They keep me motivated to keep being great.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 57 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who need one on one attention from their professors. There are not too many students here therefore you can actually get the attention you need from your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to study and go to class because it is important to show your face and get to know your professor. Also, I advise prospective students to ask for help when needed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've met a lot of new people and learn a lot about different cultures.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the Professors here are very understanding and take the time to help you with your problems and give great advice.

  • 12/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 58 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This University is great for all types of students, the ones who want to get their work done, hang out with friends, and still focus on their academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any High School Seniors, please make sure you have scholarships because you really don't want to pay back any loans. Make sure you have your paper work ready so it won't be a long wait for you in the financial aid office. If you are going to school with your best friends make sure you don't end up as their roommate because people do change. Be careful who you invite into your life because everyone is not wanted. Make sure in high school, have your GPA high as you can so when you get to college it won't be hard for you to get scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    Claflin University is very high when it comes to tuition try 20,000 and year!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    Really, I am from Brooklyn New York. I am not use to a lot of trees and grass. But overall I really don't like it here. First, the tuition is very high. The food here is okay its better than nothing so i can't complain. Some of the rules here are so crazy they treat the freshmen like we are children but during orientation week the staff tells us that we are adults now. The last time I checked, adults don't have a curfew! Some of the activities the institution has planned for us are boring. The people you meet on campus, some are

    Am learning a lot

    At Claflin University, education is very important. They take education seriously. They have many different classes that you can take towards your major.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 59 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I can't really say. You have to experience Claflin yourself to determine if it's right for you. Claflin can be the right school for almost anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for having a orientation class that you HAVE to attend the WHOLE year and assembly. For the most part, the students and faculty are nice so you wouldn't have a hard time fitting in.

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part, you get what you've paid for but when it comes to the dorms and everything, it can be a lot nicer for nearly $20,000. The Cafe also doesn't offer much like other colleges may. Overall, Claflin is nice.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although it is a nice school, I do not really enjoy being here. Claflin may be the perfect school for you but personally it's not the perfect school for me. Do not go in expecting everything to be the way that it is advertised because it is NOT!

    Am learning a lot

    Since being at Claflin, I have learned a lot and the professors are very helpful and easy to talk to.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 60 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who is social, focused, and willing to better yourself with education,experience, and community service then Claflin University is the right place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Claflin is a private institution, so it is more money, but I feel that the money is worth it when you look at all the knowledge and experience that you will have by the time you graduate, Claflin is definitely a smart investment. I would advise students to come to Claflin with an open mind, and a willingness to learn and broaden themselves.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although Claflin is a small school, it is a beautiful campus and a nice environment to be around. You have a chance to build good friendships at this institution, and the campus is more of a community than anything else. Everybody knows everyone, and campus like is always buzzing, with something always going on such as cook outs,contests, and just a flat out good time.

    Am learning a lot

    At Claflin, you get a lot of hands on experience that come with your classes. The university if small so there is a lot of teacher-student interaction, and the students get to have a more personal relationship with their professors.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 61 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The educational experience is outstanding; were rated number one out of all HBCU's in the nation, according to Forbes magazine, and our goal is to become the worlds visionaries

    Tips for prospective students

    Have plenty confidence and aim high as the sky for your goals and dreams, and never look back and keep moving forward to success.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, expensive though but the education you will obtain is priceless and prosperous.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, enjoying every minute and opportunity that claflin presents me with. The SGA events are nice and so are the school events.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I've learn so much that I earn 20 credit hrs. as a first semester freshmen in the spring of 2009, and haved accumulated a 3.33 GPA.

  • 06/19/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 62 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like small ,family- oriented kind of things this is the place for you. You like close relationships with people.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be here come and tell someone

    Will learn a lot

    Yes you will. Since Claflin is one of your smaller institution the student teacher ratio is excellent and your not just a number.