Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Clarke University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/09/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    What to do for fun

    there is not a lot to do for fun! although, clarke does offer various activities on the weekends for students who stay on campus. you can always take the bus and go to the store if you want or there is some fun things to do downtown.

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good. usually on the weekends pancakes,waffles, fruit,etc is served, honestly you get to pick there's not a lot of variety but it is nice that it is a buffet style. the food can get repetitive especially in the sac. there's a lot of options in the dining room, though, also the desserts are really good!

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is okay. the dorms really need updating to look more moderate. another thing these dorms are pretty small for two people and the walls look old! again needs updating! on the bright side, leaving in school is a very unique experience. there are enough bathrooms and showers for the whole floor to use.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes aren't hard at all. some of them are but it depends on how the class is organized, but overall it is pretty easy to get a a. always study and take your academics seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    have a planner and learn time management! get on the good side of your professors because it is a small school so most likely you will bump into them. try new things and enjoy yourself before college is over. also odds are you will get a bad grade at some point, do not stress about it and keep moving forward.

    In three sentences

    clarke is a small school, so it is very hard to get lost! the school is very clean and the environment is vibrant. it is very expensive, but the people here are great.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dubuque is a unique city where there's a lot to do that you may never know about that's close to campus. There's a beautiful downtown district with a river walk and museums that you can go see. On campus there's always activities that Clarke's Residence life is putting together to ensure there's never a dull moment even on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is all prepared right before it's served. There's a great variety for taste buds of all sorts and it's made by a cook who's been formally trained in food preparation and it's a full buffet's worth. There's also another food center that's grilled food, handmade subs/sandwiches, and salads that you can order at any time of the day as a part of your meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms themselves are very big compared to most schools that give you just enough room to breathe. They provide you with enough sinks and showers for the whole floor to use at once so there's never a wait if you're trying to get ready for the day. They also provide you with $60 per semester for laundry on campus so you don't have to travel off campus to do laundry, and you don't have to worry about having quarters to do it.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a lot of group projects that help you build skills that you'll use later on in life. Clarke integrates a lot of work that can relate to your life after college instead of having students do busy work to just earn a grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the activities Clarke puts together, they really are fun and you meet a lot of new people that you wouldn't usually interact with. Attending sporting events is always fun and it helps when there's a variety of competitions that you can attend.

    In three sentences

    Clarke is a great Private College with a sensational community atmosphere. The instructors make it very easy to communicate on a personal level as well as helping every student learn in whatever way suits them. Clarke's staff truly goes out of their way to make your day a good one and ensure your success while you're here.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think our campus security is pretty awesome, despite maybe being understaffed. They definitely do their jobs well. There are very little, if any, incidents that occur to dispute this.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs here on campus and if there isn't one that you like, it is fairly easy to start a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind a smaller school.

    What to do for fun

    We have the lions' den, which is like a big game room/ lounge area with a pool table, ping pong table, and several other things. Sometimes clubs or res. life will plan things throughout the week and/or weekend to keep things interesting. About once or twice a month, we get some kind of performing act such as a musician or comedian to come and perform. There are many other things to do, but these come to mind first.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. After being here for awhile, you get used to some items; but, you also look forward to some as well. Our chef is great and even takes requests of home recipes from people to make for lunch/dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is completely what you make of it. One can have a bad experience due to incompatibility with a roommate, or have a great experience. The rooms are decently sized and have enough room to get creative in room arrangements.

    Academic Rigor

    Clarke is known for it's very selective AT and PT programs. As for other majors, it's all what you make of it. If you utilize the resources available and keep your priorities on track, you're golden.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect this to be a party school. We all know there are some things that happen, but that isn't what college is about. Also, keep in mind that college is a fresh start, so don't make a bad name for yourself with bad habits.

    In three sentences

    Clarke is a great small and friendly environment. Although it's a little expensive, it offers a great education. It's small and close-knit leaving room for close relationships to be built among peers.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always available when you call. They are friendly and willing to help whether it be helping you start your car or walking you to the dorms late at night.

    Greek Life

    Clarke does not participate in sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do on campus. Whether there is a sports game, a musician, or a comedian, Clarke keeps students involved and active.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly Involved Open to opportunities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a program called Into the Streets and many students volunteer around the community. We also have pet therapy every Wednesday with a different dog. This makes being away form home much more manageable.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but the technology used for schooling is very advanced and the teachers are wonderful at helping students understand material. The overall appearance needs updating but I am there for education and that is worth my money.

    What to do for fun

    I am on the dance team and I love the experience it has given me. I also go to as many on campus activities as possible. They are so fun and I meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    As a vegetarian, it is nice to have a vegetarian option every day. I am never left hungry and there are many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use some updating in terms of technology, furniture choice, and overall appearance. But the people in the dorms make it memorable. People are friendly and it really feels like a big family.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs are wonderful. Teachers are very supportive and are always happy and open to help. This makes learning more manageable and fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to manage your time so that there is time for school work and activities. Be organized so you do not get overwhelmed. Keep your living areas clean!

    In three sentences

    Clarke University has a community feeling about it, which makes students feel at home. The teachers truly care about students and there are many opportunities for one on one time. The facilities and building help the students' accomplish their goals.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has an amazing variety of food everyday, but if you aren't feeling the cafe, there is always the SAC which has excellent food as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have heard good things about them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. There is always someone who is willing to help you with whatever situation you are facing, from financial aid to scheduling classes, someone is always there.

    In three sentences

    Clarke University is full of friendly faces. From the moment you walk in the doors you have people that are willing and want to assist in your learning goals. The education that I am receiving at Clarke University is top notch, I can truly say that I have never had so many teachers with as much background and personal experience in subjects as I do at Clarke.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. The SAC you get sick of fast.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms dont have air and are small. But after freshmen year it gets better. The apartments are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    You learn a lot in your classes but it can be hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and sports if possible. Its nice to make friends with the same interest as you.

    In three sentences

    Clarke is a small school and everyone is very nice. With small class sizes you have plenty of people to study with. Also, with small sizes your teachers get to know you very fast.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Definitely feel like I am at home. I feel very safe and security is really nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do have some fun activities. I haven't really been to many as I don't have time.

    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of things going on. Sport events and different events held by residence life.

    Food and Dining

    I would say we have pretty good food. One can definitely put in a favorite recipe/food. Requests are taken and are looked into which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    It is what you make of it. It can either be really fun or very miserable and boring. RA's try to make it as fun as possible so definitely go out and make friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a very small school. Come in open-minded. Be friendly.

    In three sentences

    Best choice I have made thus far. They actually care about your education. Will not regret attending Clarke University.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe the campus is extremely safe and I never hear of any violence or crime in the Clarke Community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is the spoon game. This is where students sign up and have a spoon which they must have in their hands at all times. Each person is assigned a target and if you are caught without your spoon you are out.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe even though Clarke is quite pricey the schooling is done very well.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is go to some of the activities Clarke offers, along with just relaxing and hanging out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is very good and I enjoy most of the meals here on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here at Clarke is pretty good. The dorms are a nice size and very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically I believe Clarke is a great school to attend because the teacher really care about you individually and do what they can to help whenever you need it.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a security office on campus where students can go for anything. They are all friendly people.

    Great for these types of students

    Clarke is great for students who want a small school feeling, like a community base.

    Bang for the buck

    If you don't have a car, and even if you do, the Jule is a great option. It is a free transportation system for Clarke students that will take you to many different places around Dubuque.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved. There are posters all the time that are put up about activities that are going on, especially on weekends. Go to those with some friends and enjoy! There are also many things around the area, closest is Kennedy Mall, and the River Walk is not to far away either.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is amazing here. There is both a cafeteria, with fresh made food, and there is also the Crusader Cafe. At the cafe they have fast food, salad bar, fruits and vegetables, and a mini grocery store. It is a great way to get food if you need to get going quickly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here a pretty good. They are a little small and outdated, but they are a nice size and have everything needed, they even have a small sink in each room.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are great. All the professors care about the students and are willing to help all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to remember here at Clarke University is to get involved. Since it is a smaller school, the best way to have fun is to get involved in as many things as possible.

    In three sentences

    Clarke University is a great school for students who want a small school feeling. It is a very community based college so all the students, faculty members, and professors get involved with each other. It is also a school based on the students needs, where everyone cares about everyone.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    Goal-Oriented people who like to be challenged.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty pricey. But this is a private school, so it's expected. I think it's to expensive for what you receive.

    What to do for fun

    That's up to you.

    Food and Dining

    I am a pretty picky eater, so I don't like the food here that much. Try to expand yourself in choices of food if you are also picky. You'd be surprised what you might like.

    Dorm Life

    I like the dorm life. It's a great way to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoyed the classes for my major. I hope the Gen Ed requirements eventually get removed or at least reduced.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can decide on a major before you enroll, you will be able to stay with a 4 year plan. If not, there is a chance it could turn into 5 years.

    In three sentences

    Clarke offers great courses. The professors are great. But their policies are strict and somewhat ridiculous.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dubuque, Iowa is a very safe town and Clarke's campus is in the safest part. There is security patrolling much of the time making sure everything is right for Crusader comfort!

    Clubs and Activities

    The best part is, you can create your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We actually designate a soccer game for homecoming instead of football (seeing as we do not have a football team). There are many traditions during the holiday seasons. The cleaning lady has a competition for the girl dorms every year and the wing with the cleanest bathrooms gets her amazing cookies! In the dining room, if anyone drops any sort of silverware/plates/cups, the entire room claps for them. It's not to embarrass anyone, it's just a funny thing we all do.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty expensive but they do find a way to get you there. The scholarships they offer are wonderful. I have been learning a lot so it is totally worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Activities planned by the Activity Board are always a good choice. The Men's Volleyball teams is a hit at Clarke. For a small school, they provide great weekend entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Before attending Clarke, the cafeteria food was boasted about. All I had heard about it were good things. The cafeteria is only open certain hours but a grill type cafe is offered across the street most of the day. The best part is that the chef accepts recipes you bring from home and will attempt to recreate them for you, like I said, a big family!

    Dorm Life

    The people are friendly and the staff is personable and always there for you! The Resident Assistants plan fun craft or movie nights a few times a month to make sure there is always a good vibe resonating through the halls. The Director carries herself in a professional manner with a smile constantly occupying her face!

    Academic Rigor

    The material is difficult, but the professors break it down to an understandable level. Each professor has their own way of teaching, and the methods differ enough to stand out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to say hello to people you don't know, they will be doing so for you! Clarke is basically a big family, don't be afraid to ask questions and make some awesome friends!

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful and comfortable campus. The professors are personable and truly care about their students' success. The students are warm, kind, and inviting.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed visiting Clarke University! I absolutely loved how all of the buildings are connected. If it's cold, you don't have to go outside to get to class!

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When littering is the only thing that happens occasionally, you know you're at a safe school.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many that it's hard not to get involved. From campus ministry to theater.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious (Catholic) students, students coming from a small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I hear that the fourth floor of the building that I live in is haunted, and every Halloween the campus puts a haunted house up there.

    Bang for the buck

    Clarke isn't the most inexpensive college out there, but financial advisers are ready and willing to help with any needs.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out in the student activity center or meet up with friends in their dorm rooms. Even studying is fun here.

    Food and Dining

    We have the Crusader Cafe and the Cafe. Both allow you to use Crusader funds, and both have oodles of delicious and healthy options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Anything from a private room, to a double with one roommate, to an campus apartment with several other people...so many options!

    Academic Rigor

    Clarke professors and staff not only make it clear that they want you to succeed, but they help you do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to branch out and meet new people. Everyone is so kind and impossible NOT to get along with. Also, don't be afraid to ask questions. We're all here to help!

    In three sentences

    Clarke University is a small school in the beautiful city of Dubuque, IA. All faculty and staff are kind and willing to help. With numerous opportunities available, it is impossible not to get involved.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Clarke University has a very safe campus. They have security that will walk you to your dorms if you feel unsafe. Also they have underground tunnels going to each building and keys that will only let certain students in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clarke has quite a few clubs and organizations. If they do not have one that you are interested in you may start your own! Clarke also has intramurals, which are sports that are non-competitive.

    Great for these types of students

    The art gallery in Clarke is great for all students. This is because all of the students may see what kinds of imaginations other students have. Art students can also help set up their artwork and work at the gallery itself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions that I am aware of. Clarke does have a lower level off of the library that contains artwork of the students. They also have a day made just for students to break the ice and learn more about one another.

    Bang for the buck

    Clarke really tries to help you with tuition and scholarships. They believe you should spend the least you have to for a great education. Clarke has a great financial aid program.

    What to do for fun

    Clarke has intramurals, which are non-competitive sports. It is also located in Dubuque, and there are a lot of things to do there. Clarke has many clubs and organizations you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Clarke has home cooked meals everyday. They ask the parents for recipes of the students' favorite foods the day of registration. They also have a small convenient store located in one of their buildings.

    Dorm Life

    Clarke has friendly people, which make for great roomates. Some of the rooms can be a little small. They have free laundry facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    Clarke University has an AMAZING art program. They have many ways for art students to get involved. Clarke also has its own Art Gallery made specifically for students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything you need before you start any college. Also check with them about college credits tranfering over from High School. Have Fun!

    In three sentences

    Clarke University is a very good school to go to. They have all types of majors and things for you to do. Clarke is located in a city with many things to make you feel at home.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is everywhere and they are friendly, especially since we are a small campus.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    very sports orientated, i think that 75percent of the students are in a sport. there is a lot of opportunity to be in clubs and even be an officer as an underclassmen. anyone can start a new club at anytime.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like friendliness, everyone says hi to everyone else. also students who want to be well rounded because clarke is a catholic liberal arts school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    when someone drops there cup in the cafeteria, everyone claps. every incoming freshman class plants a tree and then when they are seniors they get to name their tree as a milestone and a way to show their growth.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel i am getting a great education for my money. living off campus would be a lot cheaper than staying on campus.

    What to do for fun

    for fun we go out for ice cream, go to the movies, there are musical performances in dubuque, we go to the rodeo, or the mall, or a party.

    Food and Dining

    matt makes the best homemade food.

    Dorm Life

    the girls dorms, mary ben., has the best lady, laura, who cleans our bathrooms and hallways for us. oftentimes people leave their doors open to have a more sense of community in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel challenged yet not overwelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you would like a small school friendly atmosphere with big school opportunities, then clarke would be a great option for you. have fun in college, take time to distress doing something you enjoy, just be sure you study too because that is the reason for college. do not be afraid to ask for help because there are people who are wanting to help you succeed, but do be prepared to be take on more responsibility than ever before.

    In three sentences

    clarke professors are on a first name basis and provide me with the attention i need to help me achieve my academic goals. basically all of clarke is in one building, i can walk from my dorm to class in shorts and flip flops in the middle of a snow storm! although clarke is great, they do not have a football team.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students who are eager to learn and meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved as much as possible. Even if it means stepping outside of your comfort zone.

  • 09/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone who enjoys school and likes having fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to stay for the weekends. Make friends with your Tuckpointers and your group during CONNECT (Orientation). Sign up for extra-curricular activities. Talk to your teachers outside of class just to talk.

    Bang for the buck

    The food and the dorms are terrific, there is a great athletic center, and the campus itself is just beautiful.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students have movie nights and game nights and everybody tries to make everyone feel at home. You can take meals into class as long as you don't make a mess and you can run in the halls if you're running a bit late.

    Am learning a lot

    We learn about forming good and valid arguments, how to speak in front of an audience, and what scansion is.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is small, but you'll make more friends faster!

    Bang for the buck

    I went to the University of Northern Iowa which costs like $15,000 a year. Currently, Clarke costs about $23,000 per year if you live off-campus, but with all of the scholarships they give, it is actually costing me a lot less than the University of Northern Iowa and I don't even qualify for financial aid. All the scholarships they gave me were solely academic.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people and teachers are really nice and accomodating! You'll probably know their cell phone numbers.

    Am learning a lot

    As a four year, private college, they sure teach a lot. The best thing about that is that it is all good stuff; it is not boring or useless homework. No matter if your class is in your major or not, you'll always find it valuable.