Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cleveland Institute of Art Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/04/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    776y 6u 4

    Tips for prospective students

    and 8r r

    In three sentences

    Po ty ogy o

    Academic Rigor

    Y9 t wri20th t85

  • 01/20/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This has a very safe campus. There are blue emergency phones all around and there are constant security guards and policemen patrolling the area to ensure everyone's safety. On the other hand you still need to keep it smart and not go out alone defenseless.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities it's crazy. Many great opportunities!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all artists. The buildings are always open so you can always have access to majority of things you need!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Orientation leaders will do a dance at freshman orientation and man is it a hoot! They also are starting to host drag bingo every year as long as people still love it! They have a huge halloween party every year for CIA students only where you can bring a couple of guests and they will even take you on a trip to thrift stores if you don't have a costume.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of places and things you can do. There are museums, parks, a place called the think box where you can do fun projects and the school always has open studios every week where you can go and try out the crafts electives- I highly recommend!! The school also always plans events for students to attend and they are all fun!

    Food and Dining

    You are able to have what's called Case Cash here and it allows you to get groceries and eat anywhere that takes it on Euclid.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms are great! Way better than the old ones and a lot closer to the new building. Only slight problems here and there.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very serious when it comes to the expected performance of their students. No fooling around at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do things you would never think of doing. The professors here love to get to know you and make you put yourself out there. It is a life changing experience to attend here.

    In three sentences

    The campus is great and has such a close community. You feel right at home once you have been here!

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are super enthusiastic about art and all that goes with it, and who want a more personalized experience. When I went to visit the campus, the head of the glass department spent almost an hour telling me tips for getting in and information about the glass major.

    Food and Dining

    For the first year, they make you live on campus and get a meal plan with Case. There's not many vegan options at all (which is bad for me) but I'll work it out.

    Dorm Life

    NEW DORMS! Brand new dorms for the 2014 Foundation class, and every room has a bathroom en suite. Can't ask for more than that!

    Academic Rigor

    From what I hear, it's definitely rigorous, but that's what I'm looking for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard on your portfolio, but don't worry too much about getting in. I'd only been drawing for four months when I applied, and I got $19,000 in scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Personal, new dorms, and everything is in one building (no trudging across snowy campuses!). I received well over half of my tuition and fees in financial aid and scholarships. I'm so excited to matriculate in the fall!

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police patrolling University Circle 24/7, and each of our buildings have several guards more than willing to protect each one of the students in any way they can.

    Greek Life

    It exists, but in a roundabout way. CIA only has about 500 students at any given time. So our greek life is piggybacked onto CASE's. We are allowed to join any one of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    We are a small campus, so clubs tend to be tightly woven together. Usually there isn't more than a dozen in a club, but they tend to be more devoted to arts in some way. Artists for Christ is an example of this. Another club is Game Club, whose sole purpose is to get gamers together, and shoot at aliens. If it's large enough, the club also competes against Case teams in competitive multiplayer tournaments, usually for a large trophy.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is for the student who wants to be creative or expresse themselves. Now that is for two different types of people. To expresse oneself is to be more of a fine artist, who want to do gallery paintings, look for the meaning of the world in a sculpture, or challenge established social protocols. The creative people are the ones who are interested in drawing up new worlds to be expressed in the forms of animation, film, or game design. These people are good at coming up with ideas about how to do something for a specific task, rather than looking for meaning in an abstract sense. Either way, you need to be able to juggle multiple projects at once and be able to work well under pressure, as deadlines tend to sneak up on you if you are not careful.

    Bang for the buck

    I looked at more traditional campuses, such as RIT up in New York, but decided on CIA because of the attitude of the representatives. They were professional, but laid back at the same time. They got the job done but had fun doing it, and that is the best way to describe my experience so far. The work has been challenging, but the time I spent doing it was some of the best years of my life.

    What to do for fun

    At CIA, there is always something to look forward to. The Halloween party is excellent. (Unsurprisingly, the costumes are always top notch) Inter school challenges like Zombies is always a ton of fun. This is a competition around halloween where students from Case, CIA and the Cleveland Institute of Music all try to survive a nerf based zombie apocalypse. Live entertainment is constantly coming through CIA, and the Cinemaque shows classic, and experimental films every weekend. CIA also goes to laser tag regularly, thought the spaces are limited, as is the annual trip to Cedar Point.

    Food and Dining

    There campus dining hall is huge. Three floors, buffet style kitchen, lots of ice cream and plenty of options to choose from. But there are better places to go. You are right next door to Little Italy. A dozen Italian bistros line the streets, all original recipes and incredible atmosphere. Parks, outdoor dining, bars( if you're old enough) and probably the best pizza place in Cleveland, Mama Santas. Mm. Old clay oven baked, not too greasy, lots of cheese, and a dozen slices. If Italian isn't your thing, there are other options. University Circle is another hot spot for food, and it isn't lacking in options. Sushi can be enjoyed at the new arrival Accent, and Chipotlle and Qdoba have all your taco and burrito cravings covered. Coffee shops are plentiful, as are sandwich shops like Subway and Jimmy Johns. And that's just between E117 and Mayfield Road.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter, I cannot comment on this portion as much as one who has lived on campus, but I have visited them, as I have many friends who do live there. It's rooms are average, a desk and a bed for each roommate, four floors, about 20 rooms per floor.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be pushed. There are only five classes per semester, but each there are two different types. The first is liberal arts. These include your history and writing/reading courses. They meet two times a week, and last for an hour and fifteen minutes each. The real work comes from the studio classes. These only meet once a week, but you are in the class room for the entire day. Usually starting at 9:30, you work until noon, then meet again at 2:00 and go until 4:30. A nice break, the homework is usually the activity of the night. On top of that, projects tend to be due around the same time in multiple classes, and the liberal arts can be before or after the studio classes, resulting in a long day. The trade off is worth it. You are allowed to work on anything you want, so long as the project meets the requirements. Professors are helpful, insightful, and many times, the assignments are enjoyable. Making a full length movie is a lot more fun than writing a 50 page paper for a final.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend you go in with a portfolio. Around a dozen different pieces as a minimum. Its not required, but it helps a lot. Because the practices and projects are more professional than any art project you did in high school, you will end up being taught almost from the ground up. Be prepared to force yourself to break habits that may have been accepted in high school. Critiques are a major part of each project. That being said, they can be quite painful to listen to. Just remember that they are meant to help improve your piece. It may sound hurtful, but they are actually a blessing in disguise.

    In three sentences

    The Cleveland Institute of Art is a very unorthodox campus. Its students are varied and unique, and not afraid to let their true personalities shine.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around. There are guards in the buildings always keeping an eye out on the entrances/exits and will occasionally roam around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a pretty good amount of clubs for CIA. I know they brought back the Artists For Christ Club and then there's all the clubs for the majors. Plus I've noticed there's always fun and creative activities going on that you'll get emails for.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who have a passion for art.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey, but well worth it. You can discuss your finances with people in the admissions office and financial-aid offices. They are extremely helpful and will do all they can to accommodate you.

    Food and Dining

    The school is located in a great area where there are a variety of dining options. Plus, for residential student, CIA and CWRU share the dining hall that is definitely the best college dining hall I've ever been in. There's just so much to choose from and it's all pretty close to the buildings.

    Dorm Life

    I myself am a commuter, so I don't exactly know much about the dorm life. Although some people I know love it and some don't so I feel it all really depends on the person.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Case Western Police, is always on duty, 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Not that I know of in our school.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs in activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's really none here.

    What to do for fun

    Thats a lot of things to do for fun. We live around a big city. So you can always go to nice place, bowling, food courts, malls, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    Well as a commuter, I always had to go get my own food, but I had friends in the dorms, so they shared their points with me, and I love the dorms here. Very interesting.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is weird. I never stayed at the dorms, but when I went, I wasnt so happen sometime, especially stuff I was seeing with the art students. Thats why I stayed a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is pretty tough. You hardly ever want to miss class. When you miss class, you definitely miss a lot. Also they are strict on attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is, to always step out your comfort zone. You will never learn if you step out of it and make mistakes and fail sometime.

    In three sentences

    If I was to rate my school, I would give it a, A. Its a great school, when it comes to being professional and creative. Everyone here has a great understanding of Creativity.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, passionate, curious.

    What to do for fun

    Art. The museums offer really great opportunities as well; the Botanical Gardens is free to students, as is the Art Gallery. There are A LOT of events, to attend as well.

    Food and Dining

    It's okay. There are places to eat, but the cafe isn't great. Just be smart about your budget and you can cook for yourself!

    Dorm Life

    Only freshman are allowed to dorm, but the community is very helpful in assisting upperclassman in their search for housing. While living on campus, you'll live in Taplin, where you'll share everything with everyone. They want you to become like a family, and like it or not, you will...

    Academic Rigor

    It's very fast paced, and there are no excuses. You will be expected to perform at the top of your game, each and every day. Your life will become art, it's really hard at first, but I've grown into it and at this point, I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to manage your time. Seriously, professors have very little patience, and the student to teacher ratio is 9:1 so they know your name, your face, and your attendance record pretty much offhand. Oh, and be yourself.

    In three sentences

    Very student oriented, and the community is hugely passionate about the arts. This school is near a lot of resources including museums, gardens, and community centers that are free, or extremely discounted, for students. It's a great place to come if you are excited about art, and looking for a close, tight knit community of artists.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CIA is located in the heart of University Circle with lots of dining options, museums to explore and music venues all within walking distance.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you apply early and put your best work into your portfolio.

    In three sentences

    My experience at this College has been amazing. The professors and staff are knowledgeable and their skills are amazing. I am very lucky to be able to learn my craft from such talented artists.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is ALWAYS riding around or on duty. It is practically 24/7, and the CIA dorm is directly across the street from campus security, so youre very safe. Also, during the year, when there is a crime or some sort of criminal activity all of the CIA students are sent an email that is called the crime alert and it will give a brief description of where, when, and what happened. I think that is one of the best safety features of our campus. Also there is a thing called safe ride, so if you feel uncomfortable walking back to the dorms late at night, you can call them and (as long as youre in their driving perimeters) they will pick you up and take you wherever you need to be

    Greek Life

    CIA doesnt have fraternitys or sororitys..... if you want to go to greek parties there are plenty of oppurtunites to meet greek members and attend, but at CIA everyone is on the same boat. In a way we are a collection of all of the high school misfits and outcasts, and that is what unites us. Because we are not normal, it makes us normal within our community.

    Clubs and Activities

    We recently restarted Artists for Christ, but there is also the majors clubs and a photography club. Other than that you can join the student leader group for CIA or any of Case Western's clubs

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an individual who doesnt mind getting down and dirty, can work hard, has a creative and unique mindset, and has a passion for whatever it is that you do, then surely there is a place for you here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the Pink Pig, which is our Halloween costume party, and you have to really bring your A game because everybody is super creative with their costumes. Also, Humans vs. Zombies goes on twice a year on Case Campus, so there are always people running around with nerf guns for two weeks of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a bit pricey ,especially if you don't have any scholarships, but I would say its definently worth all your money. Theyll even help you get a job!

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is always something to do. Case Western (the school were partnered with) has activities planned all the time, and almost every week CIA has school sponsored trips. So far we have had a Cedar Point Trip for 10$, corn maze and pumpkin patch, and a thrift store trip to go to a bunch of local thrift stores. There is never any time left in the day to be bored....and if so I don't know how those people finish their schoolwork

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, and there is a huge selection! You should really try and figure out how much you need to eat during the day/week though, because your meal plan will be really expensive and a waste of resources if you get a plan that is too big for how much you actually eat.

    Dorm Life

    You are only in the dorms the first year, so it's not bad if it's not for you....its only one year! The only issue is that there is no air conditioning, so the first month or two can be brutal. In the winter they do have heating and it works very well, so after the winter you wont mind your dorm room being a little hot. I recommend bringing a fan. Also, the bathrooms can get a bit raunchy. The Co-Ed floors have the cleanest bathroom, but for example if you are on the all girls floor it is going to be a bit messy.....

    Academic Rigor

    The classes the first year are very hard. You spend long nights Almost every night to finish your work to a high standard and it sometimes fries your brain. It's 18 credit hours a week and they arent afraid to give homework that will test your limits. You need to be really good at time management, or be willing to give up either your social life, sleep, or grades. The first year is just to test you though to see if you can stand life as an artist....if you make it though the first year, then you're going to love the next three.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definently not bring a car, so parking is scarce, and dress for the weather! It's Ohio, so the winters can get pretty brutal, lots of jackets, lots of boots (rain AND snow), and PLENTY of socks and sweatpants. Also, prepare to get a little tired of the food. Even though they have a huge selection and it is very tasty, you'll get a hankering for chipotle or something from the organic grocery store, and the credited money the school gives you seems to go away pretty fast, so bring some spending money.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice and there is a lot of things that you can do in the area, including Little Italy, the botanical gardens, the Cleveland Art Museum and so much more! There are so many other colleges near by which makes this a great palce to meet a lot of new people!

  • 11/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any creative student who wants to make a living doing what they love.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard on developing a good portfolio of 10-20 pieces. Observational drawings are a must, but when the board reviews your portfolio, they will take into account your intended major. Also, look for scholarships early! It's a pricey school, but it's totally worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a tad bit expensive, but so far, it seems to be worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel more at home at CIA than anywhere else. The environment is great for learning and creating. Because of the small student body, we consider ourselves one giant family; everyone knows everyone else! There are also a lot of extracurricular activities as well, including clubs, guest lectures, films, galleries, and student-ran activities (plus, there's always free food).

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great. They are always there to help, even outside of class.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As I mentioned before, its great for artists.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are sure that art is the only think you will ever want to do, the only thing you are good at, want a better chance for a job, and like the smaller school setting. Then apply to this school for sure. If you are afraid of debt, don't apply :).

    Bang for the buck

    Very very expensive, but I will find out if its worth it once I graduate. I have heard that it is easy to find a job once you graduate. The school does its best to prepare you for the 'real world' as and artist.

    Am enjoying being here

    It was the summer and I couldn't wait to go back to school and work on art and learn. It is smaller than normal colleges, and therefore you get more input from professors and can get to know your fellow students easier.

    Am learning a lot

    They try to shove as much skill and information into you in one semester as they can. You are forced to produce a continuous flow of work. I find this very good. The professors know what they are doing, and are always willing to help you out with projects...

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to collaborate with fellow art students in creative problem solving, dedicated art students willing to work, art history buffs, sketchbook junkies, those who aren't afraid to speak their creative ideas and get their hands dirty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on a diverse portfolio showing skills in more than one medium. Also remember that it is better to have 10 strong pieces than 20 okay ones. Your portfolio is key in your admission to the Cleveland Institute of Art and should be your main focus from at least the beginning of your senior year in high school. All of the staff is extremely friendly so call admissions and ask away with any questions you might have. They knew me by name in that office before I had even applied, but I was able to get every step of submitting my artwork down pact and was granted a lot of financial aid. Good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    A bit pricey - contact admissions to get your personal financial aid information.

    Will enjoy being here

    The area and student body is so diverse you're bound to be entertained. There are so many areas around University Circle to explore including Coventry and Little Italy, and the Art and Natural History museum are excellent resources. So many studio spaces and amazing facilities to offer!

  • 11/19/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Cleveland Institute of Art will help me out with gaming development