Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Coastline Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The great thing about this school is that it is so flexible that you can still do whatever you want to do with a lot of your time. As long as it is managed of course.

    Food and Dining

    The three locations for this campus had vending machines and a small eating room but there were no actual cafeteria because most students attend class and leave.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is mostly for distance learning so there was no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here offer a great education experience that is very reasonable for those students with daytime jobs or other responsibilities. As long as you manage your own time do your homework, you should do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the campus is different than other colleges, because it is split up into 3 main locations, each location covers specific subjects so you eventually get used to it. Just make sure you check which one for the first day of class!

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed my experience here at Coastline. The like the flexibility the evening classes and online classes offered. I also felt the teachers were helpful and knowledgeable with their subject while, at the same time, considerate of the later class hours.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get together with other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, or possibly not get what you want for classes.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the ease of use of the website, since I am an online student. The course catalog online is very easy to understand and use. The professors and instructors have been very helpful.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's a very safe place

    What to do for fun

    i take pictures, play with my dog, and i dance around my room being crazy like i always am

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    they don't have dorms there

    Academic Rigor

    I'm don't know i haven't in the classes yet

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm always on time and I'm going to try my best to succeed in goal i want to accomplish.

    In three sentences

    i love it there. It's really nice and it feels the comfortable. I like how it's a small school.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Coastline campuses are all very safe. Security is always there to monitor activity. The Le Jao Center in Westminster is located right across the street from the police department.

    Great for these types of students

    This school fits just about any student who is looking to expand their knowledge in a certain area. If you want a fast career, Coastline has some great programs that you should look into (some that only last a few months). If you have a busy, committed life then this is the place for you because it offers many online courses, all of which can be completed from the comfort of your home.

    Bang for the buck

    Your education at Coastline is very low cost when compared to that of other colleges and universities. Enrollment fees may even be waived for students living in California who qualify for the BOGFW.

    What to do for fun

    Coastline is always giving away scholarships for deserving students. If you qualify for one of these, then you are encouraged to apply!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are a motivated student and if you complete all of your assignments, then your classes should be a breeze. Most online quizzes are open book/open note, and you are given plenty of time to complete exams. If you study and keep track of deadlines you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though the performing arts have been left out, a great amount of academic classes, aimed to help students that are transferring, are now available. Prospective students should definitely be willing to learn and to move up, and should make use of all the resources that Coastline has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Coastline Community College is a great place to further your education, with several campus locations in Orange County (the Newport facility being their newest addition). This school is very organized, participates in distance learning education, and is convenient for students that are either looking to transfer or to obtain their associates degree. My only problem is that they no longer offer a dance department, which is unfortunate because Coastline once had a very unique set of choreographers.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working adults

    Bang for the buck

    awesome school

    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus

    Food and Dining

    never ate here

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for the STAR program. You'll get your G.E done much faster!!

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The counselors are awesome and always there for you.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not in affect at all

    Great for these types of students

    engineers, certificate degrees, applied sciences

    Bang for the buck

    theyve raised tuition to $46 a unit, to me other community colleges are cheaper. Not worth it.

    What to do for fun

    nothing on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Ive received majority A's at this school, online learning is so easy to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great for general Ed studies, but you will have to transfer if your majoring in any medical Fields. I recommend in person registration as well, you get better dates, classes, and service. Park across the street not on campus or you will be late for class every time.

    In three sentences

    CCC is an amazing school overall. they offer distance learning with easy to access learning materials and tools that allow you to pass without having to purchase a textbook. The financial Aid office is slow at responding and issuing your awards, as well as helping you with information on your file but they do always follow through when once enough complaints are made. additionally, I recommend going to rate my professors for those of you who will be in online learning like me.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is staff on campus that will give you a ride to your car in their golf cart if you feel threatened or afraid to walk to it on your own.

    Greek Life

    Coastline does not offer this at the moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASG, international club, student activity club, viet club

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students that are working full time or part time, that have children or a family, are trying to save money, and looking to expand their educational resume.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our new Newport campus has glass walls that look out onto the beach, a beautiful site.

    Bang for the buck

    If I had to chose a college all over again, I would chose Coastline in a heartbeat because they offer scholarship opportunities and it is really easy to get all the classes you need.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, join a club! there are very few clubs at Coastline. However they are a really great distraction that on top of being fun and being able to met new people, look great on your educational resume when you are ready to transfer to the four-year level.

    Food and Dining

    All the campuses at Coastline have a eating area that is quite small but it is very convenient and very well stocked with many choices in the vending machines that are in this area.

    Dorm Life

    My college doe snot offer any Dorm life because it is a small college with three campuses that are in completely different cities.

    Academic Rigor

    Coastline is really big on being strict but at the same time they make sure that you always have someone to talk to in case you are finding yourself getting lost with all that school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only major tip I can offer is, if you are taking online courses be sure to stay on track! It can be very easy to leave everything to the last minute but that is not the way to go.

    In three sentences

    Coastline Community College offers great programs and does this special thing that, especially helps adults and just people who want a second chance at college, by offering many online courses and evening classes. The class sizes at Coastline are relatively small compared to other colleges, typically classes are 30 to 40 students, which gives the students a better chance of asking questions and being able to talk to their professors. I have taken away nothing but good learning experiences from the Coastline campuses.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you like miniture golf, there's Boomers in Irvine. Of course there's Disneyland in Anaheim where there's also Disney Walk which has fun centers, and a few places to eat as well as the House of Blues (lots of great entertainment there nightly).

    Food and Dining

    There are a number of restaraunts in the area offering various authentic cuisines dependent on what your preferences are. There is Middle Eastern, Chinese, French, Meditterranian, just to name a few.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I am not able to really comment on dorm life. Actually dorm life is the complex where I live (which by the way I'm told, quite a few students also live here as well).

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, my studies are done in the privacy of my home so I am not really able to give an account of Academic life here.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a certain amount of diversity in the area which is great for those who are not from the area and have travelled from a not so diverse community. This will serve as a very new and exciting experience.

    In three sentences

    I have found that this college is in close proximity to my place of residents should I want to attend classes at their campus but since I've chosen online, there is definitely a wide range of courses that I can take online from the comfort of my home which works best for me since I am disabled, doing cancer treatment and caring for my grandson. The versatility of this school allows me to be a full-time grandmother, student and it gives me the overall experience of feeling a sense of independence so far as my education is concerned.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The network has been reliable. When I was having difficulty logging on I had to go to a computer lab where a computer specialist was able to get me online in a few minutes.

    In three sentences

    CCC really caters to different learning styles and the Communication and Marketing fields provided me with some of the most effective teachers I have ever experienced.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    CCC has three mini campuses, just think about it.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers and great campuses

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community college is worth it for general education. Coastline has lots of classes, so it's a pretty good deal.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student activities committee that students can join.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't one.

    Academic Rigor

    It is fairly challenging, but as long as you keep up with the work, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get on-campus classes. Online classes tend to lead to procrastination and exams can be a pain if your internet has a sudden shut-down.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here are mostly helpful. If they aren't, persist and ask questions and they will be. All in all, I felt like I got a fairly good education from Coastline Community College.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PERFECT for distance learning!

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are all generally the same price, so finding the right one is essential. Coastline is so helpful, the classes are easy to get, and I've had a great experience with teachers. In comparison to other schools that you have to fight for classes for, this college gets an A+.

    Food and Dining

    I'm giving this a neutral score because I've never had the food there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't even think this college has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    My five star rating is based on the fact that I've had classes that are the proper amount (in my opinion) of work. Some subjects don't need 12 essays, and the teachers know that! I believe that based on subject, the teachers have had appropriate work loads.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need online classes, this is the place to do it. I've never even been to the campus, but I've had more help here than the college I went to before. I've had multiple counseling appointments over the phone, and they made clear academic plans for me. There is also a wide selection of classes, and no matter your registration date, you're basically guaranteed classes!

    In three sentences

    Coastline is amazingly convenient for distance learning. There is a great selection of classes, and there are many teachers that are rated well on ratemyprofessors.com. This school is a step up from my previous college experience.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Online classes only

    Greek Life

    I did not get a chance to experience the Greek life. Online only

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not get a chance to experience the activities... Online.

    Great for these types of students

    Online classes are great for students that are always busy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Online classes

    What to do for fun

    Family,work,school.....

    Food and Dining

    I only took online classes.

    Dorm Life

    I did not get a change to experience the dorm life. Online classes only.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is ver good.

    Tips for prospective students

    I never thought I could do online courses. A lot of people say never take online classes. But they are great.. With working,a family,school. Online to me is the best.

    In three sentences

    Coastline line community college is a very good school... They are good with helping you with any problems you have. They are a very dependable school.