Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Coconino Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/19/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one entrance to the campus itself, and that is always attended by either the front desk clerk or a security guard. It is across a courtyard from the public library, so there are a lot of loiterers, however. The parking lot is well-lit at night and patrolled by security guards, so you don't have to worry while getting to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs or extra activities at CCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Recent high school graduates, people with a GED, and adults seeking to better their life are very common at CCC. Also, over 90% of the student body is Native American.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff at CCC really care about getting you the best education possible. The monitor your grades to make sure they don't drop, and make sure you can graduate on time. Through the CCC2NAU program, you can transfer to Northern Arizona University quickly and easily, but you can get up to 2 years of college under your belt for less than 1/4 of the cost of a university.

    What to do for fun

    In and around the Page area, you have Lake Powell, a beautiful desert oasis with white sand beaches and lots of boating and watersports activities. Iconic sights abound, including Glen Canyon Dam, Rainbow Bridge, and Tower Butte, just to name a few. Less than a four hour drive away are the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Zion National Park, Monument Valley, Flagstaff, Arizona, Brian Head ski resort, and many more. The view from anywhere in Page is panoramic; you can see Navajo Mountain and the Vermillion Cliffs from almost anywhere in town. If you want to go to college somewhere scenic for cheap, this is your town.

    Food and Dining

    Since the Page campus is commuter-only, there is no food but your own. However, the restaurant in Page are great. There is everything from authentic Thai food to Texas barbecue. During the tourist season, you have your pick of fast-food and fine dining.

    Dorm Life

    At the Page campus, there are no dorms. The small student body makes finding friends easy for anyone, but extremely optional. For the commuters, everything is about getting into class and leaving as soon as you have taken care of your business there. If you want to be social, that's available too, but nothing requires you to socialize out of the classroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the instructor, classes are fairly relaxed. You can put all you have into a class, or you can go with the flow. This school is for nearly everyone, and your teachers will accommodate your learning style.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just get your foot in the door! The staff are excellent and friendly. They will help you with anything you need; all you have to do is ask. They want to help you succeed, and they love seeing you happy as you achieve that.

    In three sentences

    CCC is a great way for a recent high school graduate to get ahead in life. It is flexible and affordable. It is also fantastic for adults looking to improve their prospects.

  • 12/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's clubs with the college. Outside of the college there's tons of outdoor activities to be discovered, and that's how Flagstaff is seen as overall is an outdoor activity place.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines and a grill on campus but with a few minutes drive the choice for food and dining expand.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Within your chosen degree plan, after your prerequisites majority of the classes are focused on that degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apartments can be hard to find around the beginnings of each semester so its best to start searching immediately.

    In three sentences

    CCC is the perfect introductory college or in pursuit for a 2 year degree. Their advisors are very helpful in selecting the degree path that's right for you, and also, when choosing your classes that fit your schedule. The advisors are nice and quick about answering your questions and setting you on the right path.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras all over the campus so leaving vehicles unlocked around here isn't really a huge issue.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location is gorgeous. Were in Flagstaff so of course its going to be beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    There is an area by the open windows where students can sit and do homework and relax, and there is also an area by the computer lab where there are always tutors there to help.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria, just tons of awesome vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and advisors really push the students to do the best they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do it. The teachers are great, the advisors will do anything to help you get on the right track. There are also tons of different options for payments for classes. I highly recommend to get start your schooling here.

    In three sentences

    I love CCC, all of the staff make it extremely easy to figure out classes or payments. Im very glad i decided to start my first 2 years here, they give you the confidence to pursue your dreams.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I again, do not live at the main campus. Being in Flagstaff, the nightlife and such is incredible, plus there is so much outdoor activies centered at the colleges. Take advantage!

    Food and Dining

    I do not attend the Lone Tree Campus, but when I have visited, the food and options available has been great! Many options and varieties!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at my location, but what I have heard about the others is great!

    Academic Rigor

    I have pushed greatly beyond what I thought was possible, and gained so much confidence! Push yourselves!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! If you are paying out of pocket, get the ball rolling 3 to 4 months ahead! You can do payment plans with as little as 10% down! Also, wait till the first day of class to order books. Lots of teachers decline using the books listed, so wait! Also, order books at Amazon, Chegg or Ebay (safely). The amount you save on books is incredible!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful in giving me an adequate education, while keeping it personal. You gain networking experience and educational experience, while not sacrificing one on one time with professors and students. I have enjoyed my time here greatly!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love the campus security. The guys are super nice and understanding. They will help you out if you ever need anything like lock your keys in the car. I made friends with one of the older security guys, I forget his name but he was wonderful, if I ever got a parking ticket I would talk to him and he was very understanding and let it slide.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who live nearby or want the 4 year year degree but not at the cost. I highly recommend their nursing program if you are interested. It is amazing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campuses are both small so there are not any unusual locations at either one. The only one I can think of is the LT campus is on a steep hill and when it snows you better make sure your transportation can make t up that hill or you're missing class.

    Bang for the buck

    I like that I can get the same education as a high priced university and only pay a small fraction of that. You really save a lot of money at this school.

    What to do for fun

    I am sure there are alot of things to do for fun at this school, I just personally have never looked into it. Its different than a university so probably not very much.

    Food and Dining

    They changed the dining in the school a couple times. But whatever they change it to the food is great! The only thing is it is far away from any fast food places if you want to leave class to get something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    This is not a university so there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes I took for my program I felt I had wasted my money on and didn't learn from the teachers because honestly they just were not very good at teaching. But most of my classes taken here were awesome and were challenging but able to pass. The teachers want you to pass!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to get to know the school. There are a lot of great clubs and organizations to be apart of. Make sure the school has the major you want and if you qualify for finaid. Never be afraid to speak to an advisor. I spent 50% of my time speaking to advisors and they were so helpful. I was the student that kept wanting to change her major.

    In three sentences

    CCC is an amazing college. The staff is so kind and always wanting to help. The environment is very relaxed and makes it easier to focus on your studies.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, there are cameras on a lot of the campus and the security is at the front of the campus.

    Greek Life

    I do not think that there are any sororities/fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure of how many actual clubs there are, but I know that there are quite a handful.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are comfortable with small class sizes. I also would say that this school is for those who decide to return to school after taking some time off (in other words, there are several students who are past their twenties).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I was surprised that there are several dances, or balls, on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes that I have taken here were good to take and were a lot cheaper to take than at the university, considering that a lot of the information is the similar.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe located on campus which has some satisfactory foods, but is a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is not provided for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes that are associated with majors are more difficult than the prerequisite classes such as Intro classes, but the instructors are willing to help you with any questions you may have. There are also tutors available in the LEC who can help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are taking classes that you need for your degree! There are several student advisers in the Learning Enhancement Center (LEC) that are there to help you choose and even schedule your classes.

    In three sentences

    Coconino Community College has a small student body, so you are able to have a one-on-one learning experience with your teacher. There are are several opportunities here for you to further yourself besides education, such as career fairs and clubs. If you ever have any questions or problems concerning your education, there is someone there to help.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on the campus. There is security at the front of campus that are always available.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority on campus that offers scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who like out door activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is tiny. It consists of one building that holds counseling offices, reistration. security, computer lab, classrooms, and labs.

    What to do for fun

    There are hiking trails all around campus. You can take a short walk or a long hike. The forrest that surrounds you is gorgeous scenery that is irreplaceable. During the winter flagstaff gets enough snow to participate in snow sports such as snow boarding and skiing.

    Food and Dining

    The grill on campus has tater tots to die for.

    Tips for prospective students

    My largest tip to prospective students is to never lose you syllabus.

    In three sentences

    The college is vibrant with a diverse student body. Teachers accommodate the various learning styles. The school has a warm vibe that everyone can adapt to.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have gotten to know most of the security on campus. I feel safe here.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is welcomed here.

    Bang for the buck

    I would love to own a lamp top. Otherwise I feel like the school gives me what I pay for.

    What to do for fun

    I raise a family, own a small farm and work full time. I love it all.

    Food and Dining

    I love to eat, ha. I bring my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Very trying! I love rising to the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Be consistent and ask if you don't know.

    In three sentences

    I rate this school as a 4 star. I have not attended many other schools to compare with. I enjoy going to this school. It has helped me with my self esteem.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus is awesome! They are helpful, friendly and dedicated to your safety.

    Greek Life

    PHI THETA CAPPA

    Great for these types of students

    All students! Students here are treated equally and with respect, and are always encouraged.

    Bang for the buck

    Except for dining on campus, I would give C.C.C. five stars.

    What to do for fun

    There are all different kinds of clubs you can join and the are organized events as well. You have lots of options off campus as well. Skiing and snowboarding are big here in the winter and hiking trails are everywhere, and those are just some of the things you can do.

    Food and Dining

    Off campus there are many great places to eat. On campus there is only one place for food and the prices are kind of steep.

    Dorm Life

    No personal experience! However, student housing is available for anyone who is attending C.C.C., you just have to apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever find yourself lost, as in you don't know who to ask or where to go, just take a minute to go to the student services desk, and they will either have the answer you need or will know who to ask. They are very helpful and if your not sure where to find them, you can ask at the security desk right inside the main entrance. They have maps and can show you right where to go.

    In three sentences

    Coconino Community College is a wonderful school. I have found helpful, friendly staff, and dedicated teachers that inspire their students to follow their dreams, and teach us the tools needed to accomplish any goal we may have. There are also many great programs to help us, such as Trio and Passages, just to name a few.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When you have the free, time and aren't working Downtown is fun when it's the 1st Friday of the month, and then there are the other events that take place and are put in the paper.

    Food and Dining

    The Steel City Diner is really good and offers great food and friendly service, and coversation.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, unless you attend NAU and you failed classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't wanna be spending so much money for the same classes that you would be getting from a regular University, then a community college is the place especially since you can get almost every class that a University would offer, and the teachers have the same if not better experience than University teachers.

    In three sentences

    It cost very little for the same knowledge given at a University. There is no stressing, because most of the instructors are very helpful. Registering is very simple, and help for classes is very easy to get.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have food court in campus

    Dorm Life

    Coconino college does not have dorms for students, but if you are a dual institutions student (CCC&NAU), you can apply for housing at NAU

    Academic Rigor

    It is kinda easy if you do what you are supposed to do

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the instructors, go to class, don't ditch :) read books and you will get good grades

    In three sentences

    Coconino community college is a very good place for you to get your education. It is cheaper than university so you can save money. The instructors are very friendly and willing to help you to succeed.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its a community college so there isn't a lot to do like a university.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    In three sentences

    Helpful counselors. Easy to get registered. Big building and new

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since I am night student I really appreicate the campus patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't have time to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't have any.

    Bang for the buck

    I look forward to going to school as an maturer student. I've got a vision of what I want. Gas prices are not helping the 30 mile drive one way but I all things are possible if you move forward.

    What to do for fun

    Try to be with my family as much as possible. My grand children are my inspiration.

    Food and Dining

    I cook and eat at mi casa.

    Dorm Life

    Live at home and travel to night school.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an older student. It takes me sometime due to the fact that I have been out of the loop that its all hard for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to the main office for questions and their office personnel will always be kind and friendly.

    In three sentences

    I like our community college I just wish that it would open again in Williams. I do have to drive 30 miles one way sometimes times it makes it difficult because I work full time and have a limited time to study and family stuff. All in all I love that college.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I walk and look around Downtown to see what's new.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing...you don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask many questions about Financial Aide!

    In three sentences

    Small classes. Great teachers. New building.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    coconino community college has a team of trained security guards who, unlike other college security, constantly patrol the campus insuring the safety of the students and the students' belongings. plus they are great to talk to!

    Clubs and Activities

    unbeknownst to me, there is a wide assortment of clubs and extracurricular activities to partake in at coconino community college. one such club; the weekly gamer club.

    Great for these types of students

    if you benefit from small class sizes and friendly professors you will have a great time at coconino community college!

    Bang for the buck

    i feel like i am getting a great deal for the amount of money i paid in tuition. the professors are professionals in the field they teach, rather than just some guy reading a powerpoint presentation.

    What to do for fun

    the nightlife of flagstaff is comparable to much larger towns. there are many microbreweries and bars downtown to choose from. if you are like myself, and greatly value nature and/or outdoor activities you will never be disappointed. every single person that has come to visit me has found it easy to fall for the laid back, awesome lifestyle of this great college town!

    Food and Dining

    many places around town have great food. the old route 66 ventures straight through the heart of flagstaff. because of which, there is a perpetual flow of tourists who support the food and beverage industry, giving the native flagstaffonians a wide assortment of great food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    living either on or off campus will result in a positive, healthy lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    as with any college you get what you put into it. the professors at coconino community college are always supportive of hard work and dedication. anyone can succeed at this college because of the small class sizes and personal relationship with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    living in the beautiful northern arizona, students will find themselves lost in a wonderland of possibility, comfort and ease. the town of flagstaff, arizona is a very positive place to settle down and work towards your degree, with two great colleges to choose from. i have now lived here for a year with two roommates and have not woken up a single day regretting my move from tucson to flagstaff.

    In three sentences

    i currently attend coconino community college as a full time student. the lone tree campus is a fairly new and visually appealing school, with a small college atmosphere. the professors are both helpful and professional, and are able to create a positive learning experience.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Same answer as above.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at the college isn't too bad, but its not the best. I do, however, love living in Flagstaff and I have been blessed with great roommates.

    Am learning a lot

    So far, in all of the classes that I have taken from Coconino, I am walking away from the semester with having learned nothing. I feel like if i have to pay that much money for schooling that i should actually be taught. It has been frustrating.

  • 10/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Considering Nursing, not a lot of money for school

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the majors you're interested in and see if they have extensive programs for that. If not, consider NAU.

    Bang for the buck

    If you get into the CAVIAT program (attend for free while at high school) it's the best thing around! Even if you don't, it has waaaay lower costs than NAU (the other college in town)

    Will enjoy being here

    Very close to my house and flexible times

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Beats paying for general ed classes at a University.

    Am enjoying being here

    Avoid the registrar as much as possible. Most of them are very difficult to get along with and communicate with. Sign up for classes and do as much as you can online. Other than that I have enjoyed my time @ CCC so far!