Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Southern Idaho Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/19/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From my experience as a young lady, the College of Southern Idaho is very safe. I am a student who spends late nights on campus doing school work and I have never encountered a problem walking to my car at night. Also, campus security is awesome to respond quickly. I recommend keeping their phone number saved in case of emergency.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe that CSI does have a Greek Life due to being a community college. However, it may become a possibility in the future. It most likely depends on the campus funds.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally am a student who is a part of the CSI student senate, so I may have a biased opinion, but I honestly believe that joining this council has opened so many door for me. I am more aware of upcoming events happening on campus and I am able to make friendships so easily. The best part is that you actually get paid as well.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an outdoors fanatic, the outdoor rec at CSI is something that might draw your interest. They have plenty of events that involve being one with nature, sustainability, and so many outdoor sports and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the Diversity council hosts a day of the dead. This event is by far on of my favorites because it is always packed. There is face painting, dancing, music, and not to mention the exquisite food.

    Bang for the buck

    I highly recommend always being in the Student Union building from eleven in the morning to one in the afternoon. There is always an event going on and many opportunities for students. To add on, a lot of times food and other free items are provided for students.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I love to attend Program Board's events. They always put in so much effort to make sure that students have fun on campus and they always do a great job. Their dances are always a huge turn out.

    Food and Dining

    If you are looking to have the best breakfast and lunch you have ever had, CSI's cafeteria is the place for you. I love that they have a buffet style format, because it keeps you from being limited to food.

    Dorm Life

    I love the Dorm life at CSI mainly because it allows for an opportunity to build close friendships and bonds with peers. The close relationships almost make it feel as though you never left home. In addition the RA's are very welcoming and understanding.

    Academic Rigor

    My favorite part about CSI is the ultimate one to one contact you receive from professors. At the College of Southern Idaho students are never looked at as another number. Also, the tutoring center is staffed with the friendliest of students who are extremely eager to help students in need towards success.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I highly recommend getting involved in a club or council on campus. It will not only help you in building an outstanding resume as well as other future successes, but also make your time more enjoyable on campus.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Idaho serves as a perfect stepping stone for preparing students for college. There is plenty of opportunity for students to engage in clubs and council as well as events. Another great plus is the welcoming environment it gives to diverse cultures.

  • 01/12/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus cops on duty, and the doors are fitted with special locks in case of mass shootings. It seems secure to me, thought he campus pretty spread out so be careful when walking from classes.

    Bang for the buck

    CSI is one of the cheaper schools. But they have a lot of great programs.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, and special activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafateria, and a cute little cafe. The are close to a lot of great food places too.

    Academic Rigor

    The class work is fairly simple if you were ever an overachiver in high school. Just make sure you make the deadlines and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to get a super awesom education here, it is a Junior College. I enjoyed the time but some of the classes seem very unnecessary/

    In three sentences

    Some of the professors should probably be fired. The campus is very nice. I would recommend visiting and looking at all their accomadations.

  • 11/25/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The College of Southern Idaho is a very safe place to attend school. Our campus security is always on top of it. They take their job very seriously. With a National Guard office and a Law Enforcement Program as well on campus some students are even trained on how to react in an emergency situation. As well as the people who attend the College of Southern Idaho look after one another. It is a very safe place to attend school.

    Greek Life

    Due to the fact that the College of Southern Idaho is a community college, there really isn't much of a Greek life here in any respect.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and actives on campus are so much fun! From gaming with the Social Geeks, to attending a baseball or basketball game, to riding Rodeo, to the colleges' large ropes course, to attending the latest movie release with friends, there is always something to do. They have activities every month that range from hikes and kayaking to skiing and snowboarding. With all the plays and productions going on as well in the Fine Arts building on top of that there is always something to do. As for the clubs there is a club for everyone. From the long-boarding club. to the Agricultural club there is a club to join. Recently I helped design and build a trebuchet to launch pumpkins with the STEM club! There is so much you can do!

    Great for these types of students

    The College of Southern Idaho is great for anyone who is wanting to apply to any Idaho four year universities as the College of Southern Idaho designs their Associate programs to make a smooth transition into one of those Idaho four year universities. But they have been, as they have with me, more than willing to help adjust some of the requirements to assist you into getting into the University of your Choice. The College of Southern Idaho is also great school for anyone who is wanting to go into law enforcement and nursing programs or obtain their associates degree in Engineering (any discipline), Music or any of the other fine arts, English, Biology, and any other field. They also are greatly known for their trade school programs such as welding, aquaculture, auto-mechanics, and manufacturing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a giant bell tower in the middle of campus, as well as a rose garden in the center, and the Harriet Museum with it's planetarium shows and observatory! That's really cool. As well as every year they hold a Great Pumpkin 5K Run and build a corn maze!

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Southern Idaho is very inexpensive to begin with for a college. But on top of that they provide a great quality education and are more than happy to assist students to obtain scholarships and if needed student loans. There is usually enough programs and opportunities though that if you apply yourself and participate you can get all of your expenses paid through scholarships and work opportunities. The College of Southern Idaho is primarily for those who have never had any college experience and for those who are working on obtaining their associates degrees or are wanting to learn a trade such as welding, aquaculture, auto-mechanics, and manufacturing.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun when you are attending the College of Southern Idaho! Whether you are running in a marathon, base jumping, kayaking, attending a rodeo, hiking the canyon, seeing one of the many beautiful waterfalls in the area, such as the Shoshone Falls, going to a planetarium show, star gazing at the Herrett Museum, or just participating in the local clubs and activities, there is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    The cooks at the College of Southern Idaho has great cooks! They always have enough food at a reasonable price that tastes wonderful! However there isn't a lot of food selection. But this can be augmented by going out on the town where there is a lot more choices.

    Dorm Life

    Due to the fact that most people who attend the College of Southern Idaho attend from home there is only one dorm on campus. They always have some activity going on in the dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at the College of Southern Idaho cares more about you receiving an education than meeting requirements or mandates. That said they are more than happy to help you make the grade you need and will go out of their way for you if asked. The material they teach is on the point and they will often apply it to real life applications. They are very good at preparing you to go onto a four year university and eventually into the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    First off apply early. Those who apply for scholarships early tend to get more. Second, get to know your professors on a personal bases. With an average of 21 students to 1 professor there is no excuse not to. They are always willing to help and will often go out of their way to assist you in obtaining scholarships, do well in class, and understand the material.

    In three sentences

    With an awesome faculty who cares and is dedicated to helping you succeed in a friendly environment the College of Southern Idaho is a wonderful place to start your college career. They will help you get your associates degree in your field of choice as well as help you get ready to transfer to a university of your choice. It really is a great place to go to school!

  • 05/28/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are quite a few clubs at this school, such as Judo and other athletic clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I am not knowledgeable on the dining situation at this school.

    Dorm Life

    I am not knowledgeable on the dorm life here, as I haven't stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Based on my experience and family/friends who have attended, this school is challenging but mostly just due to the difficulty of the major chosen (Calc 2 is known for being difficult). There are certain classes that are extremely easy to get by with an A on, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend and pay attention to the classes. Even the seemingly easy ones have tests that can highly affect your grades.

    In three sentences

    I am not a full time student here but have taken select classes before and am involved in the music program. The quality of instructors is incredibly high for a small school such as this. There are also quite a few options for majors.

  • 01/31/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many activities including plays and concerts are offered, many are free to students. Dorm students also have access to dorm activities. Free bowling on most Tuesdays.

    Food and Dining

    Not many people work in cafeteria, so lines are often long, but food is good and offer plenty of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are enough for two people in a room, meals are served seven days a week and offer good variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers push students to be their best. While not very lenient, they are forgiving and offer good extra credit opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in the dorms if you can.

    In three sentences

    Pretty good college for cheap. Teachers know what they are doing and help support students. Dorms are good quality.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are the athletic type, this college offers many sports and fitness classes. There are numerous clubs and activities that one can join. The campus also provides free movie and bowling nights, which is loads of fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a bit expensive, but there are lunch plans available. There are also two floors to choose from, one of them being a buffet. There are also many restaurants that students can drive to.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, however you can rent apartments that are within walking distance of the campus, which is quite convenient,. The rooms are tiny and cozy too. Also, the cost of living there is very fair.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses are difficult. At times,there seems to be a lot of assigned work. However, even though some classes are challenging, the professors help in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply early for FAFSA and any other scholarships and financial aid. Always talk to an adviser for any questions you may have. Have fun and enjoy everything to the fullest.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome security officers patrol campus all day/night! (They'll even help you jump start your car if you're a dork and left your lights on!)

    Bang for the buck

    EXCELLENT prices! Only $1,320 in state tuition for 12 credits!

    Food and Dining

    Depends on the catering company but ArrowMark - the current caterer - is not bad at all! All you can eat per swipe of your ID card, also!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for the Fall 2013 semester, and I recommend it for anyone wanting to meet people in the area. There is activities to help students get to know one another nearly every week in the dorms, and everybody is helpful and friendly. There isn't a lot of rules - people of the opposite gender can be in your room (even stay the night), you can have outside guests and there is no curfew to get inside the building. However, there isn't a lot of privacy; the showers are small stalls and the dorms themselves are nothing more than a 15x15 ft square that you share with another person.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only in my freshman year, but the professors aren't exceptionally challenging and the work load isn't overwhelming at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to the necessary paperwork and deadlines! They aren't always obvious.

    In three sentences

    A GREAT experience for those wanting to dip their toes into the college life. CSI has an incredible staff that are always available and extremely helpful. IF you're looking for an affordable, friendly and fun campus, College of Southern Idaho is for you.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see security patrolling. I feel very safe here at CSI.

    Greek Life

    It's a small community college so there is no Frats or Sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities. It seems they are always putting something on for students to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    For anyone on a budget but still wanting to have a great educational experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure of any. I do know that there is always people handing out free donuts to students :)

    Bang for the buck

    Very smart to attend CSI because the tuition is not nearly as expensive as other places and they offer quite a bit of technical programs and other things.

    What to do for fun

    We are right on the canyon so there is lots of rock climbing, water activities, hiking, etc. We are also close to Sun Valley and other Ski mountains. There is always lots to do outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Fun places for college kids to eat out and it's not too terribly expensive!

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too tough but it's challenging enough that you are learning a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have housing figured out and financial aid before the semester starts. Also, make sure to take the time to sit down with a counselor and talk about your educational path so that you can be taking classes that will help you achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    I think it's a great and friendly community. They have lots of fun activities for students to attend. The college is small enough that there have been lots of opportunities for one on one teaching and learning experiences for me.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small, calm and safe!!

    Greek Life

    None!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many: Math Club, Science Club, Nursing Club, Highlander Club, Native Americans Club, Program Board Council, Diversity Council, Ambassadors Council and many more. For activities: Program Board Council puts on student nights where they can bowl, watch movies, skate and other events like concerts and performers. The Rec. Center provides a lot of outdoor activities and also the intramurals for different sports.

    Bang for the buck

    CSI is such a cost efficient college than other community colleges. The education is great because of the well prepared teachers that teach and most of all make time to talk to you whenever you have a problem or questions.

    What to do for fun

    The city doesn't have a lot of places where you can go and have fun. There is skateland, jump time, some arcades and one with mini golf and laser tag and the canyon where you can go down on a zip line or even jump from the bridge. In the college the Rec. Center provides opportunities to do outdoor activities like going camping, snowboarding and as well as indoor events like the indoor ropes course, intramurals and many more. You can have fun if you get involve and find the intertainment.

    Food and Dining

    If you are not picky about food then you will like the cafeteria food. If you don't have a meal plan then you would have to pay about ten dollars max for all you can eat. If you are picky about your food then you would prefer to go out and buy food at the nearby fast food restaurants or stores.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. I have lived outside of the campus and I think is better and cost efficient if you find roommates to share the costs of rent and utilities of an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The students to teacher ratio is very small. The teachers are well prepared and are available to help in any form. Academics in general are great!! They are challenging and help you to learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!! There are a lot of clubs and councils you can join. The clubs or councils are not just a way to get involve but also a way to grow as a person because they are not the same as high school clubs. If you're not a person that would like to get involve well it's a very quiet and calm college so you can just focus on homework and other college work.

    In three sentences

    Overall, it's an excellent college to start your path towards a better future. It's small and cost efficient. The education obtained is equivalent to any university you might want to attend.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of places near campus to go eat at.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Its challenging but If you try you can pass classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Ag department is great and teachers are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Idaho is very good. The Ag department Is Great.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe at this school. There is always security driving around.

    Greek Life

    The library has saved my life, i spend half my time there and loooove the study rooms they offer!

    Clubs and Activities

    A million to offer. Posters and events happening all of the time to join!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This year they had a giant movie screen that i loved! And they do a second chance prom which is way fun!

    Bang for the buck

    I have had health issues for two years. When i transferred here i was away from home and extremely sick, going to school, and still working. Needless to say i was really struggling and on the verge of tears half of the time. I finally went in and talked to each teacher, every single one went out of their way to help me understand the material. I was blown away with this school compared to my past experiences with a university. Here is a small campus that always has something going on. I recommend this school to anyone who doesn't know where to go. I love CSI.

    What to do for fun

    This college offers so much! Every week there is either a free movie or free bowling night. They are always handing out coupons for free or discounts for all around town. They do a million student activities and always have something going on in the sub. If you stay involved you will never miss out on the fun they offer.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options and yummy! Just spendy.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at campus park, it had the perfect amount of freedom with the college feeling and with in walking distance

    Academic Rigor

    I have done so much better here then I did at the university I attended. I give the advisers and teachers full credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    -ALWAYS put in the extra effort, the teachers here notice. -Ask questions, the teachers always find time to help. -Learn to use the resources of the campus, it helps wonders!

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Idaho has made a world of difference on my education. It has a great environment. This college is very reliable.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a safe campus. There are always people looking out for each other. The campus police are watching everything and they take the time to listen and protect all the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always activities. The clubs are working on gaining new members. The clubs raise money for great causes. The activities are friendly and nice for all ages. They help to introduce new students to other students to create friends.

    Great for these types of students

    College of Southern Idaho is a good college for all types of students.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs that are always going on. The campus life is busy. There are games and activities always happening on campus. The area is full of activities. Friends are always around to go and enjoy time with.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are friendly workers. The food is yummy. The dining is clean.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun. They also are clean and friendly. The dorms become a second home.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors obey all rules. The students read the rules and obey them. They rules and laws are very strict, but needed. They are implemented and used to protect the students and the college. The Academic Rigor is very strong and useful for the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip would be to stay focused. My second tip would be to not procrastinate on any assignments. My third tip would be to have fun in the classes that you take at the college. My last tip would be to take online classes if you have the time and to enjoy the freedom that is involved.

    In three sentences

    College of Southern Idaho is very friendly. The professors are very understanding. The College of Southern Idaho is a great college to get started on the students track for greatness.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I participate in the Horticulture Club & its a good place for networking.

    Great for these types of students

    For those wishing to return & those wanting to transfer to a four year school, this is a great option.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunatly tuition is going up again.

    What to do for fun

    Lately not much but I enjoy golf, skiing, and fishing

    Food and Dining

    When I've eaten on campus it has been pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    N.A.

    In three sentences

    extremely please with the instruction I'm recieving.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are no major concerns with this campus, it is smaller and therefore not as many bad things happen on it.

    Greek Life

    They try to have the students recycle with having many different bins for different kinds of trash.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, and activities to participate in like I listed above.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to save money, but still get the opportunity to get out and be active with other students. They have great sport teams as well.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school to get your associates at and even to participate in the programs they offer such as the nursing program. It is cheap, but doesn't seem cheap. It really is worth it to not spend four years at a university, and getting the first two years done here for a lot cheaper!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun. All the way around campus there is a running path or sidewalk, and little stops on the way that you can do different exercises. They have a great gym and weight room. Attending games is always fun as well. They also have free movie night or bowling night every Wenesday. They have dances, and other fun events all the time as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a buffet and many good choices. The meal plan was also not something I participated in, but I have been told it is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms. I live in an apartment which makes it easier for me to study, although CSI has a great library and other places to study. I have heard it is not to bad in the dorms and the meal plan is good.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a pretty chill school, and they keep to deadlines. Depending on the class it may be harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, school can get very overwhelming and this will help to relive stress. Do your best in every class, and don't take short cuts it will only hurt you in the long run. Look for opportunities to help other students, and in the community.

    In three sentences

    There are many ways to get involved on campus. The teachers know what they are teaching you, and the classes are small enough most know your name. It is a relaxing and nice atmosphere, and I love the gym!

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CSI is small and very safe because of that. Everyone looks out for everyone.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    CSI is fairly inexpensive and offer lots of financial help. with the classes, transfer program, and teachers, it's definitely better than most.

    What to do for fun

    Get a good group of friends that are well balanced. With out social interaction things to do for fun are slim pickings.

    Food and Dining

    One thing I can say is there are choices. It is nice being able to go to the cafeteria and eat as much as i want. down side is the hours.

    Dorm Life

    DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA. The dorms are tiny and always smell. The RA's take their job way too seriously and you cant talk above a whisper past 10:00 Pm. the bathrooms are disgusting and the entire staff have other agendas.

    Academic Rigor

    CSI offers a lot of different classes and makes transferring very simple. the educational experience at CSI is one of a kind because if you need help, there is always someone there.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE ORGANIZED! The dorms are tiny, learn to live with it. The classes are laid back, be responsible. There are tons of new people, prioritize.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small making it easy for one on one. The teachers listen and are generally caring and helpful. The dorms aren't the greatest and it feels as if you are constantly being babysat.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 guards

    Bang for the buck

    Greatest value I've ever heard of

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and activities going on frequently

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food. Affordable

    Dorm Life

    havent lived in the dorms but i have read their rules and heard personally from those that do live in them

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor varies greatly from teacher to teacher

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to add and drop classes frequently during the first week, make sure you make a good schedule so the semester is more enjoyable

    In three sentences

    Very personal teachers, special care for sports players

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain GPA

    In three sentences

    It could use some improvements. Some instructors favoritize. Needs more financial aid assistance. Needs more student activities at reasonable times.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    College of Southern Idaho is unique, the campus is not set where everything is in a cluster. Its spread out. The people are really helpful as well.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have great security around campus so you are good hands.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There us a rose garden. Check it out in the spring. Beautiful!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall campus is just beautiful and is a great learning environment. Staff is just amazing and I really have enjoyed my first semester here and I'm sure I'll enjoy my others as well.

    What to do for fun

    The college has so many clubs and activities to get involved in! They have free movie nights, bowling, free food, and do much more! Get involved!

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria called the golden nest. Pretty great!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I here they're building new ones to do it should be great!

    Academic Rigor

    Love my teachers and the classroom setting. Perfect size and I feel comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your on top of your game when applying to college. Make sure you apply earlier, get all the proper paper work you need, sign up for classes as soon as possible, and don't be afraid to ask questions! The staff is there to help you! They would be do willing to answer you're questions! College is a get experience!

    In three sentences

    Great friendly staff. Very comfortable learning environment. Great activities and clubs to get involved in.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great education for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun and free things to do like bowling and movies.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there so I don't know,

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm so I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you expect when you think of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you don't expect it to be easy. It is a good education and you have to work for it.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a great school. The tuition is cheap, and you get a good education. The school also cares about the students and makes sure there are things for you to do for free.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite safe. I haven't heard of anybody having problems on campus and there are always security guards around.

    Greek Life

    N.A.

    Clubs and Activities

    I give CSI five stars for clubs and activities. There is always something going on no matter what you're interest is.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking two year degrees, tech program degrees, agriculture degrees, or students interested in transferring to a university after community college will definitely like CSI. Students from an Ag or ranching background will fit in well here as well as students interested in rodeo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't really encountered any unusual traditions or locations on campus. We have our own indoor arena/expo center and rough stock for the rodeo team which is pretty cool, but in this area not very unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    I give CSI 5 stars for bang for your buck. Living expenses are quite cheap as is tuition, and in my opinion you definitely get more than you pay for. There's always something to do and a close knit feeling of community and support throughout the town.

    What to do for fun

    CSI is located in Twin Falls Idaho which is a large farming community. If you are into that kind of lifestyle or are a horse person you'll have a lot of fun at CSI. Boarding for horses is pretty cheap and many of the apartments in town allow you to have animals as well. As far as other sources of entertainment Twin is located on the canyon rim of the snake river. There are lakes and river access within a 5 minute drive of the college, there is also good snowboarding about 45 minutes to an hour away. In addition to outdoor amenities there are the usual movie theaters, bowling, restaurants, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Once again I'm not really qualified to rate CSI's food and dining plans as I've never had one of their meal plans. However, they do have a fantastic coffee shop that I've been to a few times and I rate it at 5 stars.

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment on dorm life as I've never lived in the dorms myself. A benefit (or not) about attending CSI is you're not required to live in the dorms the first year. If you still want to live close to campus but aren't really sure about dorm life, there are college managed apartments right across the street. I've lived in these and give them 3 stars. When there are that many college students living in one place noise, parties, and other things of that nature are inevitable.

    Academic Rigor

    I give CSI four stars for academic rigor. Most of my classes have been rigorous and challenging and in my opinion have prepared me well for the next level, however there are a few professors I've encountered that are less than desirable and have structured their classes to a sub high school level and have left me feeling unprepared. However, these professors are not the majority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research before you sign up for classes. If you are planning on attending CSI for your first two years of college and then transferring to a university this is especially important as you need to make sure that the credits you earn at CSI will transfer to the university of your choice. Credits will transfer to universities within the state and in my personal experience if you are interested in transferring to an out of state college where credits may or may not transfer, the CSI advisers are very helpful in putting together a program for you so all your credits work out at CSI and your university of interest.

    In three sentences

    CSI is an affordable college to attend and I've found that you get more than you pay for. Professors and Advisers really seem to care about your academic future and are willing to go above and beyond to help you achieve your goals. As a current student I feel that I made the right decision attending CSI, the community is great as well as the College.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is everything.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything really and you can start your own clubs here on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college has an amazing rose garden.

    What to do for fun

    Anything Twin Falls is a huge town.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is great and the staff is really friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living in the dorms and so far the dorms are great the students are nice and the residence hall coordinator try's really hard to fit you with a roommate that has the same interests as you.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academic's are amazing they try and involve as many students as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't want to live in the dorms make sure you save up money for and apartment because they are not that cheap.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Idaho is a great undergrad school for people who just want to start out. This college has so many great opportunities for students to try so many different things. The College of Southern Idaho is an amazing school.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security at the College of Southern Idaho is available around the clock, 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    The College of Southern Idaho is great for students who are looking to stay near but go far. The college's small-town feel helps many students feel more at home. This college is also great for students who are looking for a smaller school before continuing on to a more crowded university.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Southern Idaho is completely affordable. The tuition prices aren't high, and the college is willing to help students with scholarships. Many scholarships are offered by the College of Southern Idaho to aid prospective and current students in affording their schooling plan.

    What to do for fun

    At the College of Southern Idaho, there are many places to hang out and unwind. The Starbucks coffee shop allows students to stop in a refresh themselves with a hot or cold drink. The college also offers movie nights, bowling nights, museum exhibits, planetarium shows, and many other wonderful activities.

    Food and Dining

    The College of Southern Idaho offers a wide variety of cuisine at the local cafeteria. The food ranges from quirky and exotic to comforting and familiar. Many students choose to eat on campus rather than spend money elsewhere, a good choice because the food is not only delicious, but affordable as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at the College of Southern Idaho are full of life and fun. Many students choose to live on-campus to make their lives easier, and it certainly does help. The dorms are located near many of the college's most important social hot-spots.

    Academic Rigor

    The College of Southern Idaho provides a standard of academic excellence that is comfortable, yet satisfactory. The classes may be hard, but the instructors are willing to spend time with all students to help them succeed. Also, volunteer student tutors are available to help with any questions students may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid about making friends here. The small classes and friendly teachers provide comfort and stability. The college offers many opportunities to join clubs, programs, and groups. The amazing Student Recreation Center allows the students to exercise and play games in a safe environment.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Idaho mixes the comfort of a small college with the education of a prominent university. The beautiful campus and highly-qualified teacher make any college experience memorable. Any student looking for a positive educational atmosphere should definitely attend the College of Southern Idaho.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just try to stay focused on school although you are an adult and don't have to attend your classes.

    In three sentences

    This is an incredible school! You get taught everything that you need to for your intended major, for what seems a lower price than that of other colleges in Idaho. I am proud to say that CSI is where I attend.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This College focuses mostly on the athletics department, and music department. The Fine Arts center here is perfect for any theatre majors, and the athletics team is one of the best in Idaho.

    Food and Dining

    There is a meal plan provided for those that live in dorms. As I do not live in the dorms, I have not experienced what the food is like. I do know that there are many other restaurant opportunities around campus, and that the campus gives out free food for events nearly everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I personally did not go the dorm route, as the apartments across the street were more affordable for my financial situation. I have heard good things about the dorms though, and being in a dorm means you can be closer to the numerous student activities the college holds. Though, if you value privacy, an apartment complex would be a better choice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here provide a fair challenge, but the challenge is one that's easily obtained. There's a great variety in what classes you can take, and the small class sizes allow for great one-on-one time.

    In three sentences

    As an Art Major, this college is a great first step. The tuition is manageable, and though there aren't a large amount of art opportunities, you can get an associates degree fairly easily and transfer to a larger school.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities are always announced.

    What to do for fun

    There's base jumping, shopping, a new movie theater and campus activities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get generals and pre-requisites out of the way and apply for financial aid early,

    In three sentences

    Has great use of technology, instructors are well prepared and the tutors are fabulous! The programs are competitive to get into and have a high success rate.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many student activities such as bowling and movie nights, meet ups, clubs, and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to meet with your major adviser as soon as you can so be sure you're on track for your major.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Idaho has such a warm and inviting atmosphere. The staff is friendly and the instructors thorough. It will be bitter sweet when I graduate.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, i watch movies at the campus, hang out in the lounge, go for walks and also hike in the canyon.

    Food and Dining

    CSI offers great opportunites for students to get together for example we often have movie nights.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in the dorms, but what i have heard is they are very clean and close to the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for students is always be on time and prepared.

    In three sentences

    The people at College of Southern Idaho are very helpful, considerate and motivational. The campus is clean, and is always offering opportunities for extra help! I recommend this college for every starting student!

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it's safe. I've never even heard of books getting stolen. I don't hear about girls getting harassed or abused either.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name but my favorite are Diversity Council; get to host events about diversity. Meet many people with different backgrounds. Ambassadors; give tours, very fun group to be a part of

    Great for these types of students

    Leaders, those who like to be involved

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very, very cheap college but is also a quality college. It definitely surpassed all my expectations. It's a lovely college to begin with. There is so many people to meet and so much stuff to do. Your experience here will be a good one, I can assure you. The requisite for a good time is to get involved though. I take pride in my clubs, they have made me who I am today.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities here. This college is very club based. There is a plethora of clubs to choose from. Every Friday a club had free food to give out. There are many dances. There are free movie nights every other week and bowling nights on the other weeks. There is a lot of stuff to do. There was even a weekend where the school took us to a real Salt Lake soccer game! It was pretty epic. For free to, what more can you ask for.

    Food and Dining

    The college of southern Idaho has the best food in any college. I am not a hundred percent sure about that statement but the food is pretty darn good. College food is usually not good but I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have a couple friends who do. I think the dorms themselves do not look very comfortable. The cool thing about living in the dorms is that there are many activities to your disposal. They have movie nights, free breakfast once in a while, parties. It's very cool.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is good. I learn a lot. Compared to friends who go to university's though it's different. It is a more simple college because there are many non-traditional students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend you to buy your books online. It is so much cheaper that way. Sign up for your classes early. If you sign up later, they will be filled up and it will be very hard to schedule everything.

    In three sentences

    They have spectacular teachers. The campus is very beautiful and cozy. The only thing i don't like is that it's a small town.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is lots of security

    Clubs and Activities

    Rodeo

    Bang for the buck

    I love going to college and want to get a better education, but it is expensive and mu mom doesn't have a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    bowling, rodeo, swimming and outdoors

    Food and Dining

    Great food on campus

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    busy and fast

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy and do not miss an opportunity to have fun with the college.

    In three sentences

    I love attending the College of Southern Idaho

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    i will be living at my own house

    Academic Rigor

    not yet attending

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early and ask every question that even crosses your mind.

    In three sentences

    It was very easy to apply and there were plenty of people to help me along the way. I am looking forward to attending. The campus is very easy to navigate.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    don't quote me on this but CSI is one of the cheapest schools in the country. BUT even though it's cheap that does not mean that the learning is below standard. CSI is soo worth the $1,300 a semester. and with financial aid it's more than likely most people never paid a dime. I only paid anything the first semester and that was my own fault for being late on the FAFSA.

    What to do for fun

    the program board always has something fun going on. free bowling nights and movies. it's awesome. and then there are dances and balls. usually a little bit of something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    I wasn't in the dorm but one of the things I disliked about CSI is if you were hungry at a certain time and you only had that one time slot to eat you were pretty much stuck with junk food out of the book store. There just wasn't anywhere to get food.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty honestly depends on the class. Some are harder than others that's why they have a different number of credits. but the teachers are great in every department. they are always there to help you with questions that you need. most even put their cell phone numbers down so you can contact them.

    Tips for prospective students

    TALK TO YOU ADVISER. I made the mistake of not consulting help me first year and I missed out on graduating with 2 degrees in two years. Also research what you want to do. If you don't know yet it's cool but make sure your actively looking. Also if your thinking about CSI but aren't quite sure. go on campus talk to the teachers talk to Grayden Stanley. You'll be sold.

    In three sentences

    It's a great starter school for those who aren't quite sure yet. The teachers are FANTASTIC. It really throws that vibe that the school, teachers, everything want you to succeed.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things planned by the student activities committee. Every week there is either a movie night or a bowling night, which is free for all students. There are also lots of intramurals to participate in, as well as watching one of the 6 sporting events at the college

    Food and Dining

    Great meal plans exist for students who like to eat a lot, and not pay a lot. There are buffet-style cafeterias and stores to buy what you need as well.

    Dorm Life

    Not too sure about the dorm life, although my friends have told me that they are a little cramped, but for the price you pay, reasonable conditions

    Academic Rigor

    It's a fairly laid-back school that is for all varieties of students, including mothers, fathers, and stay-at-home children who don't want to pay a lot in tuition

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take the classes online. The classes are best learned when attending the class's lectures and asking questions as needed.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for those who are planning to transfer to a 4-year school later on. Instead of paying expensive tuition for all 4 years, it's a great way to start on that education without paying a lot in tuition. The students per classroom is relatively small, which really helps with the understanding and care for each student

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    movie nights, bowling nights, dances, talent shows, and so much more!

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework. Get to know your teachers. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    I love CSI. It's such a diverse school full of foreign exchange students. The teachers are very understanding as well.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is constantly patrolled by security guards. they are great at helping any student in need, and keep the campus a fun and safe place. i have not had any problem with crime or vandalism while i have been attending this school.

    Greek Life

    the college of southern idaho doesn't have any fraternities or sororities that i know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    there seems to be a club on campus for everybody, no matter who you are. the clubs are extremely involved with the workings of the school and help to make csi a phenomenal place to study and learn. these clubs also help promote various activities, such as dances and fundraisers, all to help somebody in need. they are very active, and it is a great sight to see.

    Great for these types of students

    csi is great for students who want to springboard into a four year college, as well as for those who want to get to work right away. it has a small school feel, and has a great list of programs to choose from. csi does seem to cater more to those who wish to chose either a technical major or a health major though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    our campus does have a small creek that runs through it, as well as a disc golf course on the campus itself! i am not sure if those are quite unusual though...

    Bang for the buck

    the college of southern idaho is a decently priced college, and the teaching is very well worth the money. i have learned above and beyond what i have expected at this school, and it is well worth the money i have paid to attend.

    What to do for fun

    being a student of a very rigorous program, my free time is extremely valuable. the campus offers a variety of things to do for fun, including disc golf, free movie nights at the local movie theater, and free bowling nights at the local bowling alley. if this isn't enough, twin falls has a great deal of golf courses, a laser tag arena, and many nice parks to just walk about in. the area around twin also offers paintball arenas, hunting and fishing spots, boating access, skiing, snowboarding, fishing, the list is endless!

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining at the college is excellent. they have a great central meal area at the student union building, and the culinary arts students have days where they cook lunch, and for a price, we can dine on their culinary delights! campus is also within reach of quite a few great restaurants, offering anything from fast food to sit down dining. the range of foods available is great, and the area can off something to somebody of all tastes.

    Dorm Life

    i haven't stayed in the dorms, as i live just 7 miles off of campus, so i can't offer anything of use here.

    Academic Rigor

    the program i am currently taken is extremely difficult. however, the difficulty is offset by the extreme welcome of the staff who assist in teaching the program. all of our questions are guaranteed to be answered in a great way, and our instructors are always there for us for any needs that may arise.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great college to springboard into bachelor degrees and up. the different programs here are definitely top of the line, and some rank among the best in the nation. i recommend starting early on your prerequisites and hitting the books hard. this college will prepare you for anything you are headed into, be it a four year college or the professional realm.

    In three sentences

    csi has an amazing health sciences program. the staff for the health sciences are great at getting the students where they need to be both academically and professionally, so that when they enter the professional world, they will start off strong. students in these programs will get top of the line education for their desired career pathways.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is really safe doing the day and we always have campus cops driving around keeping it safe and after hours you want to be with friends to keep yourself safe but it is a safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    soccer club, rudy club and a lot more. go to softball, basketball, baseball games, and rodeo too. and a lot more different actives on campus all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    we have students from high school age to 60 plus and its fun to have them in classes and meet different beliefs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    campus is in twin falls with alot of different shopping around it.

    Bang for the buck

    you much come to the school and see how you like it!

    What to do for fun

    we have game nights on campus with friends and sometime make fun of the campus police to but they are cool to pick on too. if i am not coaching soccer i will be in my room doing homework and or playing computer games.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is good and we have all you can eat so that is where i was for my first semester before i moved and live with 5 roommates and i have my own kitchen so that is where i make great and better food.

    Dorm Life

    i stayed in the dorms my first semester and i didn't really like it because i am older then a lot of people that live there. that is why i live in apartments they aren't to bad but i have some roommates that are mouth full but you will find it any where you go too.

    Academic Rigor

    we have a lot of different clubs here on campus but i am a member of the rowdy club because we go and cheer on the different sports and we are national champs for 2 years schools. great teachers here and they do care about you so if you have any problem go talk to them and they will help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    there are fun actives and people to be around. but i do like the csi sport to go cheer and watch them. its a small campus but a great place to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    i really like going to school at csi because the class sizes and its a small campus but still a lot of people. i can get help one on one if needed by the teacher and or tutor. its amazing school and i will hate to leave when i have to transfer schools.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security. All the security persons have a fun up beat personality.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are over priced.

    What to do for fun

    go to the movies

    Food and Dining

    Great staff. Amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    Small cramped rooms, not a lot of privacy, but they have movie and game night to help to students relieve some stress.

    In three sentences

    The College of Southern Idaho staff is kind and respectful. The College of Southern Idaho cares about it's students. The College of Southern Idaho has respectful professors that will help a person succeed.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the walking trail and exercise equipment around it are very nice

    Food and Dining

    the food is adequate but a bit pricey if you ask me

    Dorm Life

    I dont know anything about the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not as full as a large college and the teachers, most of them, are pretty good

    Tips for prospective students

    register early, classes fill up quick

    In three sentences

    great college to get your pre reqs completed at

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who hcant afford or need lots of help college of southern idaho helps you out with anything and willing to help you get the things that you need

    Tips for prospective students

    you get alot of help teachers are willing to help if you are willing to help your self also

  • 12/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all around students or very specific students. Also great for active students. They even have snowboarding and mountain climbing classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry everything is only a few minutes away. All the teachers are there simply to teach you and they enjoy their jobs. Everyone is friendly so don't be shy ask questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest institution in Idaho for residents of Idaho.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the campus. Their bell tower is missing the bell. The auto and diesel areas are gorgeous. Their rose garden is beautiful. The Desert Cafe makes intriguing food. Their dessert the day I went there was called Elvis. Their equine studies is broad and useful. The library is comfy. The tennis court is kind of out there but so is the Vet tech building. Overall a very comfy place.

    Will learn a lot

    I can't believe how many physical education classes they have! I love the variety I mean look how many technical degrees they have. They have a class to teach you how to be a police officer or a class to teach you woodworking.

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANY! For low income families, for students who are desperately trying to get scholarships, but can't, or for students who want a fun, cheap, close college to attend. Students who want to be easily involved and have great classmates, this college is for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Since I am one myself, I would just say to keep your options open and wait for the college that when you go, you have a good feeling about! Sit in on a class, visit the dorms, talk to people! That's how you're going to know that a university is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    $3,500 a year?! That is the best deal ever! I think I will have about $200 to pay after FAFSA and scholarships, if even that! That's a lot better than $15,000 I was planning on spending for C of I.

    Will enjoy being here

    Freshmen do not have to live on campus. Although I am going to, I like that there's always that freedom. My cousin attends there and loves it! Plus it's the perfect distance from home! I'm excited to be joining their excellent sports program as well!

    Will learn a lot

    When I went to the campus, I got to sit in on a class! The teacher was so fun and I learned a lot in a very short period of time! The tour was great! They really care about their students!

  • 10/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    So far, it's the cheapest community college I've looked at.

    Will enjoy being here

    I live in Oregon, so it's the perfect distance from home. Not to far and not too close. I love Twin Falls. It's absolutely beautiful. My boyfriend and I are planning on moving here and are totally stoked to be attending CSI.

    Will learn a lot

    I hear the nursing program is pretty good.

  • 08/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As long as you get involved and meet new people you will have a great time here! You just have to make the school fun because the city is small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved with something on campus. Also you want to make sure you know who the Dean of Students is. He is a very nice man and will do anything to make sure you are having a good time at CSI.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes! The college will work with you if you need the help! Its Now only $110 per credit. The school also gives out a lot of scholarships. The college does not want someone not to go to school because of financial problems.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its fun being here! For a junior college there are lots of clubs and students. There is a lot of things to get involved with on campus. Most of the clubs and organizations will provide scholarships or some sort of experience to help you when you leave the college.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Culinary Arts program, also getting a degree in Communications, and receiving my Liberal Arts Degree. There are many different programs and degrees here that you can receive. Its not hard to find out information on your degree or field of study.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is super cheap. I could afford to pay for it out of pocket. If you're planning on transferring anywhere, I suppose that getting an associates for a couple thousand dollars is probably your best bet.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was close to home, it was cheap, but it wasn't fun.

    Did learn a lot

    I probably spent more time sitting in the classroom, having the teacher share their personal political opinions rather than actually learning anything.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that work part time (or full time depending on your dedication) and want to go to school cheaply without draining your wallet. Check us out, the College of Southern Idaho is one of the best in the state!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to get to your teachers after their classes and not wait until six o'clock in the day, usually they are gone by then. Also, as it is important to many, the College of Southern Idaho General Scholarship form on the College of Southern Idaho website is for students enrolling and re-enrolling in the college. The form is a general one and the scholarship center at the college fills out multiple scholarship applications for students given the information provided in the form. It is always a good idea to fill out this application for scholarships as it is for more than just one. All the scholarship money you do not use for tuition during your semesters at the college is given back to you to use on books or whatever you need for school.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest in Idaho, and they provide great benefits at no extra cost like giving students 500 pages for print each semester and copy cards. Also (like mentioned above) they provide events at little or no charge to students almost every night).

    Am enjoying being here

    Very beautiful campus, every teacher has a open door policy including the president of the college. It is easy to get involved in club activities and visit games and other events. There is a event almost every night for students to attend (most of them free) and involve students in a wide array of activities. The clubs have flexible meeting times around people's schedules and if a person cannot make it, no worry as the advisers are always willing to get with students after club hours.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a ton, the school is very wide open and easy to navigate. The campus offers a wide variety of classes for multiple degree's whether you are going here for a Transferable Degree or trying to find a degree that will stay with you for the rest of your career, this is definitely the place to go.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Im not sure on how much it is for a credit but what i hear is that its cheaper than the cordon blue or whatev that school is and csi has better teachers and all that thats what my aunt told me.

    Will enjoy being here

    I really dont care for school but Im excited bout going

    Will learn a lot

    I have family that goes there and they say that it was the best experience they ever had :) they cant wait till i attend.

  • 05/24/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Nice quiet community collage that will take you as far as your dreams can take you.

    Bang for the buck

    pretty good

    Will enjoy being here

    So i can stay close to my home town family and friends.

    Will learn a lot

    About pursuing my career in businesses management and making something of myself for myself and family.

  • 05/07/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can get into this college they have almost all the the career fields of your choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college will help you take classes that are in you choice of career and will send all transcrips to the college of your choice.

    Bang for the buck

    They are affordable to take classes here but try to get either a grant or a scholarship.

    Will enjoy being here

    Many say this college is fun and easy I think I will enjoy it here. It is not that far from home and will enjoy the freedom that the college provides.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan to learn a lot in this college to be able to turn into someting big.

  • 01/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like the small town feel and being able to easily get involved this college is for you. If your pursuing a degree that's going to take a long time and want to save a few thousand dollars in the beginning two years of your college education this college is for you. Lastly, if you want to be able to drive your car freshman year this college is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a close look at this college because it could really end up helping you like its helped me.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best deal around. Your going to be paying very little for the small college with a big college feel. This is definitly an economic depression buster as we've seen from our rise in tuition by 1000 students since last year! Everyone is signing up to attend classes and go back to school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Twin Falls is a small town. If you can get past that then your good for coming to CSI. The college has plenty to do during the school year. This includes drama productions, comedians, musical talent, dinners, trips to basketball games. Also the athletics at CSI are top notch and it is always exciting to follow them.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a two year college, but all the courses are exactly what you will find at any other University for getting your prerequisites done. I find that all of the instructors are very well qualified for their positions and have earned their professor titles. That is from the perspective of a student interested in health care, but I am sure that students pursuing technical certificates can say the same thing about their programs.

  • 08/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Low income families.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tuition is cheaper than any other school. I am actully enrolled at College of Western Idaho but the College of Southern Idaho is connected with CWI.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is only $119 a credit.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy learning new things and going to school to get a degree to have a better job.

    Will learn a lot

    I will be learning alot for Culinary Arts. How to do many things with food and create works of art with food.