Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

College of Western Idaho Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 10/12/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards here are wonderful and extremely helpful and aware.

    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of high school students, non-traditional or adult students, and people that don't know what they want to major in yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When CWI first got Nampa Campus from BSU, there was an old Bronco statue left behind. One of the students put a horn on it and ever since CWI's unofficial mascot has been the unicorns.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the vicinity of Nampa Campus is basically Sonic, Panda Express, or Jack in the Box. Ada campus isn't much better unless you go a bit further to the mall.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to advisors or your professors if you're lost!

    In three sentences

    Very welcoming school with small class sizes. The classes can be challenging, but that's because the professors want you to learn and do well. Overall, everyone is friendly, from students to faculty to the security guards.

  • 06/04/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never had a problem -- there are security officers all around and even the students will lend you a hand if there's any trouble.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are only a handful of clubs, but the college has really been stepping up their game in terms of getting students involved with activities. everyone here is really kind and friendly, so don't be shy in joining a club or starting one!

    Great for these types of students

    senior citizens/older students, underprivileged students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it's cool how there are campuses in nampa, caldwell, and boise -- so it's good for people who can't travel or are unwilling to travel. plus the online campus is awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    definitely the cheapest you can find; this is the most affordable college, hands down.

    What to do for fun

    there are a few clubs, but the campus is spread out over three different towns, so there's generally a lot of room to take walks, have picnics, or just hang out!

    Food and Dining

    there are vending machines around, but there's no formal dining area.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes aren't exceptionally hard and the teachers are extremely kind and always willing to help you out -- don't be afraid to ask!

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be disappointed if the classes you want to take are filled up immediately, they don't offer the degree you want, or they confuse you about graduating/transferring. make sure you visit the one-stop student services frequently to ensure all your information is correct -- it's been almost three years and they still haven't filed my change of address.

    In three sentences

    this is definitely not a school for those who want to be actively involved on campus. this gets you your first two years out of the way so you can transfer to boise state university or for older students who are seeking an associate's (and the options are limited). if you're looking for a "cheaper" degree without having to worry about insurance, housing, or extracurricular activities, then this is the place to go!

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of snack machines!

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found some classes challenging and other quite easy. Depends on the class and the teacher.

    In three sentences

    This college works well in conjunction with other colleges in the state such as BSU. I love being able to take classes at CWI for so cheap. The teachers are nice and the workload is average.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of events that go on at the College of Western Idaho! Outside of events, there are a great many organizations to join that will give you a leg up in life!

    Food and Dining

    Again, unaware if CWI offers any food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    I am unaware of any dorm offerings withing the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, and that is always followed by the sense of accomplishment :D Great classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are familiar with what taking online classes entail if you are interested in going that route. The college also offers on-campus classes, and if the instructors are anything like the online teachers, you're going to have a great experience!!

    In three sentences

    The online campus is amazing! The College of Western Idaho provides great instruction with the opportunity to work with curriculum any time of the day! This is a great experience for anyone looking to get their foot in the door and on the road to a career!

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    Has a small coffee shop, but nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study, you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early!

    In three sentences

    The overall atmosphere is groovy. The classes are small and close. Teachers have the experience, plus the education behind them.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to spend time with my family on my free time. I like to play soccer and of course get my homework done.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants near the campus and there is a cafe in the building as well as a book store that looks like a mini gas station.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken so far have been great. I have learned a lot. My professors always push the students and make them think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I have would be do not be late to class and go to class. I think it is especially important to go to all your lectures. Another tip is to get your work done on time. Getting behind on homework is just stressful. My last tip is ask questions. If you do not understand something just ask. That is why you go to school to learn.

    In three sentences

    I am a freshman and let me just say going to this school was a great choice. I really enjoy going to CWI, the teachers are nice and always wanting to help out. The campus is not too big but it is still a nice campus.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton to do. One of the Nampa campuses has a 9 hole frisbee gold set up, and another campus is close to the lake. The campus in Boise is near businesses such as Al's and Dave and Busters and also close to Bogus Basin for some winter adventures.

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of restaurants all around each campus building. Wether you want fast food, mexican, asian, or bbq it's all available close to each campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is currently no dorms available that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not felt overwhelmed once since starting school here. There is a generous amount of work, however, if you set aside a few hours a week per class you will have no problem. It's a matter of actually doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your blackboard and student email really well. Make sure you are checking it daily and staying up to date on your assignments, announcements, and discussion boards.

    In three sentences

    I am very satisfied with the College of Western Idaho. My classess have been very easy to schedule around my work and famliy life. I also have been very happy with the faculty and their excitement to share their knowledge.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations that you can get involved in throughout the school.

    Food and Dining

    Small caf�© serves good drinks and snacks between classes

    Academic Rigor

    The basic credits aren't super hard, school is geared towards individual success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the help that is available, it will help you be more successful

    In three sentences

    Class sizes are good. All the teachers are good and the staff is very friendly. Great school for those who want to go back or unsure about college.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secured but weird..

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    small....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    No not go there is all i have to say.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    A small coffee shop that tastes like watered down tea..

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers didn't even show up to class on time so no challenge whatsoever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend this school. It is a was of time and your hard earned money as well.

    In three sentences

    Completely disappointed in this community college, not only were the teacher very unprofessional, but the financial aid offices and aid offices refused to help me find scholarships or any kind of financial aid. I also received may additional charges that were added to my account later for college error in financial aid and so on and so forth.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working students, parents or people wanting to earn general credits at a cheaper rate

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is typically less expensive for a high quality education.

    What to do for fun

    Wide variety of outdoor activities nearby and nightlife as well not far away.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a wide variety and type of instructors and classes available at all times making school possible for a working student and parents.

    In three sentences

    I love school at CWI. Wonderful professors, instructors and class size. People are friendly and courteous here and no worries about trying to make a good impression around campus, everyone seems to get along great. I'm thankful to go to school here and have learned so much, expanded my mind and my views.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College of Western Idaho is a very safe college. It is located in the rural area of Nampa, Idaho and the campus security are always there to answer any questions or walk you to your car if you have a class that ends at 9pm.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    CWI is still a newby college, so we are still starting new clubs every year. But there are random clubs for random people.

    Great for these types of students

    College of Western Idaho is for the type of student who may not have the finances to attend a university at first. I recommend CWI because it is way cheaper to start your degree by getting your general courses like math, english, science, and any other classes out of the way, then transfer to any college of your choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a freshman at CWI and it is only my second week at this college, so I am not totally in the loop of what all the traditions are and where the cool locations are since I'm only there for my morning classes and I leave afterward.

    Bang for the buck

    CWI = $136 per credit. To be a full-time student in the Fall, it costs me $1,632, which puts me at $3,264 per year. After I got my financial aid package and student loans, it barely cost me anything. Now that's worth it! We're all poor college kids, but I don't have to be the one with $60,000 worth of debt strapped on my back after I get out.

    What to do for fun

    In between classes, I like to take my laptop and work on homework in the student coffee shop/lounge. I'm a coffee person, so that's why I enjoy the coffee part mostly.

    Food and Dining

    I never stay to eat at the campus, I am one who usually packs a bagel sandwich that morning.

    Dorm Life

    College of Western Idaho is a 2-year college, so housing is not provided. But just like you make great friends and study-partners in your dorms at a 4-year college, you meet amazing new people and make friends easily.

    Academic Rigor

    I think people tend to under rate their instructors at CWI, I am thankful for the instructors always taking the time to cater to my needs, whether it be my grades, complicated work schedule, or assignments. The classroom setting is comfortable, I definitely look forward to school nowadays, unlike high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Right after you apply and are accepted to College of Western Idaho, be sure to go check out the campus to get a real feel of what college life will be like. Yes, it's just a 2-year college and there is no dorming, but it will help give you a better idea of what to expect when you show up on your first day of class. Also, plan to register for classes early, and I mean ASAP! Classes have a capacity limit, and the college students already have a head start, they're already filling classes because they get first bids. It blows to find out that you can't take certain courses because you waited till the last minute.

    In three sentences

    College of Western Idaho meets my financial needs. CWI has a great transfer program, all of my credits I am taking will be transferred to Boise State University in the next couple of years. CWI is also very convenient and close to home.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety phone boxes at all locations as well as patrolling security officers.

    Bang for the buck

    CWI offers the cheapest transferable credits around.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a club.

    Food and Dining

    They offer vending machines, a coffee bar, and snacks in the book store.

    Dorm Life

    Not offered.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are manageable allowing the professors to answer e-mails and questions. A&P is more difficult here than at BSU according to students who have taken it at both schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Their credits are easily transferable to four year universities. Take summer classes to get done sooner. Join a club!

    In three sentences

    The campus is new and clean. A fair amount of degree programs are offered. The tuition is affordable.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and Non-traditional; students juggling work, family, and other activities that may require online classes or classes offered at varying times and locations throughout the treasure valley; students wanting to obtain certification in professional technical programs, which are no longer offered at major universities in the area; students wanting to stretch their tuition money as far as possible, whether they plan to transfer to a 4-year university or not...nearly ALL students attending college in the treasure valley

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and leadership programs: you'll have fun, expand your social network, exchange valuable feedback on who the best instructors are, and (in some cases) receive scholarship money for getting involved.

    In three sentences

    This is the youngest, fastest-growing, and most affordable college in the treasure valley. Nearly all instructors are the perfect balance of personable and professional - balancing knowledge and experience with compassion and a desire to see every student succeed. New programs, facilities, and activities are added every year (sometimes every semester) with class schedules to fit every student's needs.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Awesome for non traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    I love the affordability of tuition. WORTH IT!!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    Its Boise. If you can't find something fun to do here you are yourself a boring person.

    Food and Dining

    One coffee shop in the Ada county campus. Amazing woman running it and the coffee is top notch. Lots of food options nearby but nothing on campus itself

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very challenging yet easily passed if you do the work asked of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get enrolled as soon as you can. Classes fill up fast due to small class sizes.

    In three sentences

    I have been out of school for 12 years now and CWI has made it easy to return. The staff at CWI is amazing and very helpful with everything I have needed assistance with. I would rate this school a 10 out of 10

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great price as far as higher ed goes!

    Food and Dining

    From the Nampa campus you have to walk down to the Sonic and Jack in the Box. There is a nice little coffee stand and some food in the bookstore, but no dining type of meals.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any Dorms, but that is alright if you live near by.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feels safe

    What to do for fun

    No Idea

    Food and Dining

    Coffee bar

    Dorm Life

    They don't have Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Good Instruction so far

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend calling and getting all your questions answered via phone . They have very slow service in the One stop department .

    In three sentences

    Nice school, not the most convenient for single moms, wish they had some options for day care or something. But not bad for a Community College.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security 24/7 roaming in each campus, and have an emergency call poll outside of the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm really uncertain in this area because I don't know much about their clubs and activities. They lack in providing information, you have to look it up on your own.

    Great for these types of students

    I think College of Western Idaho is great for any type of student, especially for freshman's and people who haven't gone to school for a while and want to go back. College of Western Idaho gives them a glance how college will be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many locations for their classes so you'll have to make sure what campus your class is at. The only problem I have come across is at times they only offer one class in one certain campus and that can be a problem if it's just a bit far away from where you live.

    Bang for the buck

    Their tuition isn't bad, but if you don't get much help from the Pell Grant then it does become a problem, but you can always make payments.

    What to do for fun

    Learn about the clubs they provide, that way you can get involved and be well known throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    None as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is none, unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of their professors are either from Boise State University or they teach at a high school and are a college professor part time. They are great though and they cooperate very well with their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The very important tip I give any new student is to go into their One Stop Services and get a counselor, that way they can help you throughout the process of your college years, AND turn in Financial Aid information early

    In three sentences

    I would rate College of Western Idaho 7 out of 10 because they don't provide you information about the clubs you can be involved in or what type of scholarships you can apply for. Other than that though, the teachers are great and they have small class sizes

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards available.

    Greek Life

    I don't think CWI offers this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a smaller atmosphere rather than a large university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely affordable and worthwhile.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor activities, dance, and volunteering.

    Food and Dining

    I've never bought anything from the coffee shop but it always looks busy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the teachers are helpful. If you want to get an A in a class you'll have to put the time in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to set up appointments and a good relationship with your adviser throughout your time at the college.

    In three sentences

    Although CWI is a fairly new college, I have been very satisfied with the level of education and the assistance from faculty I have received there. The teachers, advisers, and staff are very helpful. I like the small classroom sizes and professional atmosphere.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At each CWI campus there are emergency phones and security personnel who make routine rounds around the school itself and the campus as well. Safety is very important at CWI and in my mind is not anything to be concerned about while attending college there.

    Greek Life

    No information to give.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know that there are clubs because I see information about them on the CWI web site, but I have never looked into them so I cannot provide any additional information about them.

    Great for these types of students

    CWI is perfect for any student who is strapped for cash, needs to hold down a job while attending school, prefers picking their own schedule, needs a college with multiple locations and needs help with paying for school supplies, gas, etc while attending classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sorry, I don't know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordability was the main attraction that brought me to CWI. Not only is tuition less than any college that I can think of, but they had Powersports and Small Engine Repair. That was exactly what I was looking for. On top of that CWI refunds the balance of my financial aid that is not used for tuition and books. Other colleges do not refund as much as CWI and I depend on those refunds to make it through the months when I cannot work.

    What to do for fun

    I go to school full time and work during the Spring, Summer and Fall so I don't get a lot of free time. When I do I enjoy going to the school to just hang out with some of the cool people that I have met while attending CWI.

    Food and Dining

    I have visited the coffee shops and they are great! The people who run them are very nice, the coffee/espresso is affordable and I get the energy I need to make it through a full day of school when I need it.

    Dorm Life

    I was born, raised and live here in Boise, Idaho so I attend school from my home. I don't know anything about any dorm living that is offered by CWI.

    Academic Rigor

    The schedules at CWI are great because us as students are able to choose what classes we want each semester and when we want to take them. The syllabus for each class is packed full of cool stuff that will help each and everyone of us to reach our individual goals. If we hit a spot that is hard to grasp it is very easy to reach the instructors for a personal sit down to get passed the barrier. I prefer to split my classes up between in class and online with more on the side of online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a list of questions prior to attending your entrance appointment or any type of group session. All of your questions will be answered so come up with as many as possible that may need answered before any deadlines approach.

    In three sentences

    CWI has great locations to meet everyone's needs. As well as locations, CWI has One Stop stations at each of those locations full of very willing people who are always there to help anyone with any questions they may have. I am starting my second year at CWI and I couldn't think of a college that was more affordable with great instructors and fun students that are easy to befriend.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The teachers and staff at CWI want you to succeed and will go to great lengths to assist you.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the college so I don't have anything to say.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fast paced and condensed. There are plenty of opportunities for assistance from tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for your classes. Schedule your time for studies. You will succeed.

    In three sentences

    College of Idaho has been a very good experience for me. I am a non-traditional student working on my AAS in Information Security and Digital Forensics. The classes are rigorous and the teachers are very good.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safty is a piroty

    Clubs and Activities

    autobergade and skills USA

    Great for these types of students

    very hands on and visual learners

    Bang for the buck

    being a new campus, we get to use all new equipment and have one of the best facilities in the city

    What to do for fun

    build your own projects and work on your own cars and trucks

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll in in CWI for the spring semester it is totally worth it.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing. the new facility that was built for the PTE programs is incredible. The faculty at the school is will to go the extra mile for the students, which is truly helpful.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part, depending on the campus, its safe. I've only ever taken class from the main nampa campus you see in all the brochures but what I can tell you is, is if you have a class that goes well into the evening, just beware that the parking lots will be pretty vacant and sometimes it can be spooky. But if you are in a class rather than alone staying that late, its normally fine because you are leaving the building at the same time as everyone else is and if you need help people are usually more than willing to help you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities to participate in, you just have to email the club advisor if you are wanting to join or attend an activity. Some of the advisors can be pretty busy since they are teachers too, so just beware if they are hard to contact.

    Great for these types of students

    Students still in High school (dual credit), Students who aren't ready to leave home, Students who are trying to save money, Students who are trying to get back into school after a break of some kind, students who are older or looking to change careers, or Students of any kind. The school is pretty much open to everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since CWI is a Community College there are locations spread out all over. They have a campus in the Caldwell/Nampa area, 3 more in the Nampa area, and at least one location in the Boise area as well as several others all over the valley.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap classes so that's always a plus, but if you are using any Financial Aid make sure you have it all lined up early!

    What to do for fun

    Bulletin boards are up all over the school with posters everywhere usually you can see what's going on. Or you can join a club and they are usually pretty active during the school year, otherwise there's always something you can do with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are food places near by the school, but (in the nampa campus at least) the only food or dining they have is a little coffee shop and the old bookstore which is now just a 'store'.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor, some classes they grade you fairly harshly and if you don't conform to their specific mold they will give you an F. But for the most part, most professors will give you the benefit of the doubt and they will grade you based on how you did and if you were similar to what they were wanting, but that's also not to say they won't mark you down, they just probably won't give you an F.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in and talk to someone in person! Do not call or email for help! Make sure you get your classes picked early and all your financial aide is in order and everything else will be a breeze.

    In three sentences

    The College of Western Idaho CAN be a good college but do your research on your professors and make sure you go in person to one-stop if you have ANY issues. Emailing the school and trying to do things over the phone you often end up with people being sarcastic and rude so it's just better to go in person for EVERYTHING. And some professors do grade pretty harshly and if you ask them questions they sometimes will ignore you, but overall CWI is a good Community College.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Great!

    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student should go here.

    What to do for fun

    Join as many groups as you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with an adviser by your second or third semester to make sure your on the right track. They are awesome to work with.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. All of my instructors have been amazing and understanding!! LOVE IT!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brand new or returning!

    Bang for the buck

    excellent tuition cost

    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    Campus store and coffee bar are great!

    Dorm Life

    None availiable

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive about registering!

    In three sentences

    New and wonderful place to start or continue education!

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You see their presence and that makes you feel safe

    Bang for the buck

    Great community college that you can attend before going to a university and not be in debt.

    What to do for fun

    Make sure to get involved in clubs or organizations and it there is one that is not there started up.

    Food and Dining

    There is no dinning service, but once again as the college continue to grow it is soon to come.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college, but as the college continue to grow there soon to come.

    In three sentences

    Affordable college for one that doesn't want to be in debt their first 2 years.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problems with safety on the campus. I had night classes my first 3 semesters and had no problems walking to my car at night. I didn't worry about anything like that.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs, but the only ones I know of are Psychology and Math for sure. I know there has got to be more though. It's a decent size school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't say it's unusual, but the worst campus to attend is the one in Caldwell/Nampa, by the Karcher mall only because it's so far away, even for people who live just in Meridian.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition unfortunately increases each semester it seems, but it's way better and more affordable than attending BSU when you can get the same education for less at CWI. Plus they have financial aid which really comes in handy.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of booths and events going on at CWI. The only one I have been interested in was when they shaved peoples hair for a special cause.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus so I don't know how the food is. They have snacks which are great to have in the bookstore when you're rushed for time between classes and can't really go anywhere else to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They don't expect what you can't handle. Classes aren't too big so questions can get answered. You get to know your teachers pretty well so homework would be a lot easier to handle if you get to know them a little better.

    Tips for prospective students

    College of Western Idaho is a school that works best for getting into the rhythm in the way college functions and what is expected. I think it's worth it to come to a community college first and on top of that, it's much more affordable.

    In three sentences

    College of Western Idaho is a good school to start off at. It's a great way to get accustomed to the ways a college works in order to prepare you for a 4 year college. The faculty for the most part are extremely helpful, with the classes being somewhat small, so usually questions can be answered well, if needed.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The CWI campuses resemble small satellites rather than a large, sprawling campus. Security is maintained by a small detail at every campus, with crime rates far lower than that of a typical college or university.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek organization at CWI is Phi Theta Kappa, the nationally recognized community college honor society.

    Great for these types of students

    The flexible schedules, wide variety of offered classes, and multiple campuses make CWI highly accessible to students with jobs, families, and those who have not been in a learning environment for extended periods of time.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for is a non-element when it comes to the education offered by CWI in comparison to the tuition required to attend a comparable 4-year university.

    What to do for fun

    CWI offers a plethora of clubs that cater to almost anybody looking for people of common-thought. Those with a flair for public speaking are more than welcome to try out for the renowned Speech and Debate Team. Outside of school, students have close access to Bogus Basin skiing and snowboarding in the winter and a wide variety of exciting clubs in the Boise area.

    Food and Dining

    Besides the nearby restaurants, there is no dining experience outside of a convenience-store-quality student store at the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    This field is non-applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    The choice to take education to a higher level is no laughing matter, and the College of Western Idaho knows this. Class curricula are professional while still maintaining an air of compassion that makes the classroom experience challenging but approachable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your schedule can be as hard or as easy as you prefer, just stick to your goals and the CWI professors will help you achieve them. Don't let the label of a community college fool you, the education you gain here will serve you well.

    In three sentences

    The College of Western Idaho shows promise for current and future students who wish to attain a degree with an education comparable to that of a 4-year university. The staff and faculty provide ample opportunity for students to grow as professional individuals who will contribute to a constantly changing world. Available degree and certificate programs cater to almost any individual searching for standalone credentials or a beneficial transfer position on to higher education.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are coffee bars in both locations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up a meeting with an advisor, they're great help.

    In three sentences

    I would give the College of Western Idaho a 10 because they are a low cost, and a very friendly environment. The teachers are great and very helpful. The one-stop office will help you with anything you need help on.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have neither heard nor had any problems at any of the campuses for the College of Western Idaho. I feel very safe and welcome. Of course most of Idaho seems to be this way.

    Bang for the buck

    At $136 a credit, can't beat that...at least in the state of Idaho!

    What to do for fun

    There is lots to do if you are an outdoors type of person. There is hiking, swimming, rafting, kayaking, rock climbing, biking, camping and so forth. The capitol city, Boise, (which is the largest city in Idaho) is nearby as well, about a 25 minute drive from the Main Nampa Campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great coffee bar with some snacks. I have never purchased from here, but I hear it is good.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't currently any dorms specifically for CWI that I know of. This is a community college so that is probably why. There is however housing in the area and as well at the other campus locations.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are of high quality and it just really makes you push yourself further. With knowledgeable and caring professors, you can accomplish a lot here at CWI. A good number of the professors at CWI teach at Boise State University (which is the local 4 year). So you are getting basically the same professors for half the price!

    Tips for prospective students

    It's important to really understand what classes are required for your major. I found it really easy to just disregard the necessary classes. Then all of the sudden the two years sneaks right up on you!

    In three sentences

    I am really impressed with the quality of education here at the CWI. The professors are knowledgeable and caring. There is a diverse population of students here with diverse cultural backgrounds.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Clubs and Activities

    good, two clubs

    Great for these types of students

    all students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tutoring centers are really good

    Bang for the buck

    i need the money to pay off books

    What to do for fun

    photography, designs

    Food and Dining

    doesnt have

    Dorm Life

    doesnt have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    international business

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up with daily homework

    In three sentences

    it is a good school to get my associates degree. it has great programs for my study. its a small town school

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for those students who want to get their general credits out of the way then transfer to a different school for their major. it's good for anyone who just wants their associates degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i find the location of the campus to be a bit weird. they have all this land surrounding it when they could have used it for a bigger parking lot, or they could have fit the buildings that are across the street on this unusual piece of land.

    Bang for the buck

    college of western idaho is on the less expensive side. it's very cheap when you compare it to a lot of schools out there. i would have to say the money you are paying is definitely worth it. plus if you ever wanted to transfer, most of their credits are transferable.

    What to do for fun

    this is my first semester here at college of western idaho. i can't say there is nothing at all to do for fun. i really don't know. i'm sure there are some clubs and organizations within the school and they do some fun things.

    Food and Dining

    the college of western idaho is just a small community college. it's not by much. the most we have by the school is wal-mart and jack in the box.

    Dorm Life

    the college of western idaho does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    when it comes to the school being strict, i think they do a good job with keeping up with all the rules they set.

    Tips for prospective students

    be aware of financial aid issues. the school isn't very good with updating you or informing you of deadlines. they also loose a lot of your paperwork. so watch out and keep track of what you have turned in.

    In three sentences

    i think the staff has good intentions and truly cares about your education. i love all my teachers; they are very helpful. however, i do think the one-stop office could be a bit more organized.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    never had food here.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i think it is challenging to a degree, but not a lot of time needs to be committed outside of the classroom in order to do well in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest to wait on going here until they get more situated. i understand they are a newer school and maybe just need the time.

    In three sentences

    i think that cwi is still working on becoming a great school. they have some problems with wrong things in the course catalog. some teachers i had have a hard time being able to answer a lot of the questions.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always around 24/7 to watch and make sure the school is safe.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of great restaurants and arcades around.

    Food and Dining

    does not offer one.

    Dorm Life

    does not offer one.

    Academic Rigor

    for me, i don't see any classes i am taking to be challenging because i make sure i take the time to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to study at least every other day or so to retain all the information for your classes. cwi is not that challenging as long as you are willing to work for it. if you set your mind to it, you will be able to receive a's in all your classes and graduate with an associates degree.

    In three sentences

    college of western idaho is a great place for locals to go to school and further their education. they offer scholarships and classes to receive associate degrees in. even with a busy schedule, students are able to start careers with a school like college of western idaho.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    get financial aid in quick

    In three sentences

    small class sizes great atmosphere

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the school Clubs!

    Academic Rigor

    I think CWI has a great Academic status, it pretty relax and hard one must not be procastinator or take it to easy this is college not high school. So do the work and everything will flow smoothly.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for the students is that they stay on task and always review any information whether it be by email or paper and keep up with the homework.

    In three sentences

    An amazing school, that goal is to have the best academic success for each student. Very affordable and open to anyone who would like to continue with their career.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    talk to other students about what classes and teachers to take