Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Community College of Beaver County Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The aviation program's students are subject to random drug testing and will periodically pull whole classes or even individual students out to test them. Their is a courthouse beside the school with officers their almost daily as well as a police station close by. The majority of the students here are very mature and are on task as the school has a zero tolerance policy with discipline.

    Greek Life

    The school did resurrect its single aviation fraternity this year with plenty of funding laying around for it. Although i do not partake in Greek life it does have students who do.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are plenty of aviation activities to be done as students are required to receive their Pilots licenses to offer a perspective to Air Traffic Controllers and the Pro pilot students have all the flying they could possibly want. Their is a small airport with two schools that are partnered with CCBC teaching students to fly just meters from the actual school. To give an idea my days consist of getting up , having breakfast, heading to the airport and getting an hour or two of flight time in before I have lunch and then head to classes the rest of the afternoon.

    Great for these types of students

    CCBC's aviation program is GREAT for driven students who are goal oriented and have the desire to be successful. This program goes above and beyond to cater to the students needs and its sole objective is to create professional individuals in the aviation field that are sought after. To have their students hired and have their employer think I want more employees like them I can say first hand this program is full of professors and individuals that want nothing but us to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The local Airport which is walking distance from the school. Students can be found spending their spare time on the airport receiving their licenses and gaining flying time.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price you are receiving so much information and in a very short period of time. If you are an ATC student you are doing this to enter one of the, if not the , highest payed profession requiring only an associates degree. This program has what I believe to be the only facility with a control tower operated by students at the airport directing students so that they have actual experience before they even enter their field. Offering both the perspective of the Air Traffic Controller but also the pilot who is being directed. This schooling is worth every scent it costs , especially if you are an in state local student.

    What to do for fun

    Flying , Flying , Flying. With an airport right next to the school your days can be spent in the air learning all aspects of the process of fling and boy-oh-boy is it an awesome thing to experience. Their is the Ohio river very close by as well as a local park you can spend time walking, playing basketball, picnics, Tennis, and even in a skatepark

    Food and Dining

    The Food and dining in the area is rather limited. It does have its share of chains that are tightly packed into the small strip of road. These include all your basic fast food chains. I believe their is an Applebees, a Mexican restaurant / bar, two Chinese one that is buffet style, and a Eat n Park. Their is the town Monaca 20 minutes away that has nearly any food you could want.

    Dorm Life

    The housing is very limited. Their is currently no dorms on campus. They are currently building a Hotel directly in front of the school with 50% of its occupancy under contract for aviation students. Currently their are local apartment complexes very close by. One of which is walking distance.These apartments are slightly overpriced. The area is safe and if looking into this facility and the student hotel is not complete yet I recommend looking into York Square appartments @ 275 Braden School Road.

    Academic Rigor

    The aviation program squeezes an associates degree into a 16 month program. Their is a lot of information that is force fed to us and we are not only expected to memorize this but not compartmentalize it. We WILL use this in our fields and depending on ATC or Pilot lives are in our hands. Their is a lot expected of us. ATC students MUST have at least an 80% in each course to pass or move to the next course in the program. This school offers Pilots a chance to become part 141 under regulations which allows them to receive their licenses in fewer hours but it does involve more information than a normal ground school at your average training facility. This being said their is plenty of help available and it is entirely do able. I can vouch a 4.0 is very possibly but school must be your priority and you must always have in the back of your head what your goal is. Note that ATC is known to have a 27% dropout rate in in school, and even its employment.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would have to say the biggest tip I could give pertaining to the aviation program is to be prepared to be serious. This program is quick, full of information, and quite serious. You will be required to memorize heaps of information and do it quickly with new tests every week. If you come to CCBC's aviation program with the mindset that you will succeed and are willing to spend the days and nights studying and organizing the information you are receiving you are bound for success. I would recommend considering becoming a resident of PA before attending as the discount allotted to local students is just phenomenal.

    In three sentences

    CCBC is aviation oriented. Full of professionals who are teaching or dedicated and attending. A life enriching experience.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Phones, Security stations, and guards everywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    The types that don't want to spend a lot of cash and want to advance their education. Also good for full-time working students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely getting what I paid for... cheap and better than overpaying something like the state schools.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of events if you like the sort of thing such as fundraisers and the like.

    Food and Dining

    Their dining hall is only open when i'm not there, I can't say what it's like, even if I wish I could.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They are average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip out on classes and you'll pretty much get your moneys worth out of this place.

    In three sentences

    The tuition is cheap and they have a wide enough variety of classes for those wishing to start their education. Helpful and generally very flexible with the times you can take classes. I would say it's a good place to start, wouldn't want to stay here though... definitely what you would expect out of a community college.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really the campus was pretty safe. Had security patrolling a lot, and the security was so nice! I actually got to know one of the officers there who became like an uncle to me. Security would have to be the best part of the campus.

    Greek Life

    Very small.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs, but I did not join them. None interested me.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't know what they want to major in. Students who want to save money before going to a University or other type of college. Students who want to get their GPA up before hand or who have no taken the SAT/ACT tests in high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Really the only reason I went was to get my basics out of the way for me to transfer. The Financial Aid office was not the best. The school actually screwed up a few things when it came to my Financial Aid Grants and they constantly bugged me. If I had not needed to get the basic classes out of the way there and save money, I would not have gone. But it does help you save money if you need to. Smart to go to Community before University.

    What to do for fun

    There really is not much to do for fun. I was never intrigued by doing anything with the school when they had events. Mainly because its hard to be friends with people when so many of them already have their own groups and are very cliquey. But there is the gym and computer lab and hanging out a bit between classes with the friends you do have or make there.

    Food and Dining

    The food was constantly catered by a woman in the catering business. It was good food, better than public school foods like in elementary through highschool, but nothing too amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are great, others are not. The ones that remember your name, are there for you, and are like a friend are the best ones. Though their are a few who do not help with learning at all, but that is alright. You can go to a tutor or your admissions counselor again for them to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you apply early, go into the admissions office and talk with a financial aid faculty member, and when signing up for classes definitely set a meeting early with your admissions counselor, if you know what your intended major is or if you are wanting to transfer, bring the expected courses of the next university with you to the college and your counselor will help you with finding the closest classes CCBC has for that intended major at the other school.

    In three sentences

    A college for people who want to get basic classes over with in order to transfer or even a place for people to find out what they want to do if they have no idea when they graduate high school. Hard to get to know people here if you are a bit shy, but it is possible. Easiest way to meet people is in the classes though.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe quiet campus

    Clubs and Activities

    NJCAA athletics ( Men's and Women's) Intramural Sports Art Club Business Club

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, older, ambitious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is located in Beaver County, a rural area that has low crime.

    Bang for the buck

    Like any other school, it helps to have a support system and at CCBC there are teachers there that supports the student body.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities through the art program, intramural sports, and the student government.

    Food and Dining

    Basic Cafeteria food and they cook specials for the holidays.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms like most community colleges but there are affordable apartments not too far from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Students planning to be a teacher would benefit from the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't plan on smoking on campus ( Non-smoking campus) Air traffic control program is one of the best in the nation You must find off campus housing

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Beaver county is a safe place to learn. The teachers are quality especially in the Early Childhood Education program. Campus is very clean and the basketball program is top notch.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i took some dull enrollment classes here and really like it. the teachers are all really nice (at lest the ones i had..hahhaha) i plan on attending here in the fall.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    this community college doesn't offer housing. however, they do provide a list of apartments that are close to the college.

    In three sentences

    this community college offers a wide range of majors to pick from. they have an excellent campus, that is convenient for walking from class to class.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several security guards that drive around campus that you can talk to if you ever have an issue. There are also numerous emergency boxes that can direct you to security and 911 which are located around campus and in every classroom. I feel safe here.

    Greek Life

    I'm not really sure if any greek life is available honestly so I can't really rate it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs here that you can join. There is also an honors program as well.

    Great for these types of students

    It's really great for anyone who is looking to save money, trying to find out what they want to do, or for adults wanting to go back to school. There are plenty of services here to help you figure out what you want to do with your future. I also seem numerous non-traditional students here on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think that the campus is a good size for being a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    I think CCBC is a great way to save money, you get great quality classes for a low rate tuition. I am honestly so glad I came here first since I plan on going to graduate school, I'd like to keep my debt down as low as possible.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of shopping locations here as well as a nice mall. There is also a movie theater, mini golf, bowling, and tropical fun zone just to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe at CCBC which is pretty nice if you are hungry in between your classes. They have a variety of food from hamburgers, fries, chicken, salad, sandwiches, and so on. However, there are plenty of fast food places around here too if you're ever hungry for something else.

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus here at CCBC, but there are several apartments available for rent. I am currently living in a nearby appartment which makes it easy for me to get to my classes. Apartments are cheaper anyway but it depends on your preferences. I would much rather have an apartment so it can be quiet when I need to study.

    Academic Rigor

    The Community College of Beaver County is about the same academically as any other school would be. Obviously college is not easy and you cannot just string by without studying, but if you have the motivation to work hard it isn't bad at all. If anything else its mainly time consuming, but you are going to have that no matter where you go.

    Tips for prospective students

    It doesn't matter where you go to get your degree, just as long as you have one. When I was looking for colleges to attend I thought it had to be some prestigious school with high tuition. CCBC is the same as any other school, except it allows you to get an idea of what career you actually want to pursue, as well as receive universal general education classes that you can transfer later on to a 4 year college if you wish.

    In three sentences

    The Community College of Beaver County is a great school for students who are looking to save some money with a low tuition. Community Colleges often get a reputation of being easy; however, they are just as challenging as four-year colleges. CCBC offers great instructors that actually care about their students success.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for older students such as myself. It is very convenient that I can also attend class in the evening.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your guidance counselor frequently.

    Bang for the buck

    I could not afford to go to college any other way.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers here are the best. They are helpful and always there to answer your questions in a very timely fashion.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned an extreme amount of information in a short period of time.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, keep in contact with academic counselors, and make sure you are asking about required courses and the semesters they are available.

    Bang for the buck

    Plenty of services available-Supportive services, career counseling, financial aid and course credit counselors, ACT 101, Keys program, tutoring, and I'm sure there's more that I can't think of or don't know about.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are several clubs to get involved in if you keep your eyes and ears open. Being a student here has been a positive experience for me.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors and college staff are very knowledgeable and helpful and give practical information that is relevant to the career path I am on.