Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cuyamaca College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/29/2017

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many fun things to do in the area, the campus also offers a lot

    Tips for prospective students

    Get close with your professors Network and make good connections Take it seriously

    In three sentences

    Rigorous academics for stem related majors which really gets you prepared for a four year university. Cuyamaca offers many great opportunities as a community college and saves you a bunch of money in the process.

  • 07/08/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    San Diego is full of great things to do. There's great weather which makes outdoor activities great. There's lots of hikes and parks, as well as the beach half an hour drive away.

    Food and Dining

    There are some good restaurants in San Diego, but not a whole lot within walking distance of the campus. There's a shopping center right across the street for emergencies.

    Dorm Life

    It's best if you live in the area and are going here as a local student.

    Academic Rigor

    Meh. The classes are alright but it's not the most challenging school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's open enrollment so you just need to sign up for classes. It might be a good option if you want to do two years here and transfer to another college for junior and senior years.

  • 10/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fairly safe, I haven't been in a situation where I was in any serious danger. It's the community around the college that lends to that, its mostly residential areas, schools, and shopping centers. The demographic of that area includes teachers, students, and other middle-class individuals. The most dangerous situation i've been in what when there was a freak rain/thunder storm centered on the college, while I was outside. Luckily, I was able to sprint to the English building before trees started to fall over, and pieces of the buildings where thrown about. There is always at least one sherif on campus at any given time, occasionally there are two. Overall, the campus feels very safe and comfortable.

    Greek Life

    This doesn't apply, at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't any clubs or interesting activities that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    I would think that Cuyamaca is good for Math, Engineering, Chemistry, and Physics majors, and the only place where it is lacking is in the English department. Most of the english courses are simply responding to articles and papers utilizing the same methods that were learned in the 9th grade. The math and science courses actually build on what was previously learned, whereas the english courses are mostly time-sinks. There is also a very limited availability for Computer Science classes above the introduction to computing courses. There is only ever one CS181 or CS182 course available at Cuyamaca or Grossmont College, at anytime, and there is only one professor for the course. As you can imagine, the course is very difficult to get into as a sophomore, so I suggest grabbing it as a freshman if you can (or expect to wait for it).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Under the cafeteria, and next to the bookstore is a rather large room in which you can almost always find people playing games together, most of the time they are playing card games. If that's interesting to you, I would suggest seeing if they'd be willing to let you join in. It seems like a lot of people use the STEM center throughout the week, as it is cool, quiet (most of the time), has tutors, is air conditioned, and has wi-fi access.

    Bang for the buck

    On campus stores are expensive, there are handful of cheaper options off-campus. Of course, tuition is ridiculously inexpensive compared to other 4-year colleges. I'll say it again, look elsewhere for books, the Cuyamaca bookstore has all the books that you need, but at rather crazy prices. I've found books for upwards of $60 less (ended up being roughly $30, for that book) on Amazon. There has been a recent rise in online sources for free textbooks, search around for the best buy, and rent if you can. It's almost a guarantee that you'll never need the book again (unless it can be used in multiple classes, like the 3-year code for Calc I, II, & III). A parking permit isn't absolutely necessary, but it will reduce the hassle of finding an off campus parking spot. If you don't buy one, make sure to get to school half an hour early, at least. Most classes are at the far back side of the school.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't anything interesting to do on campus, but nearby is a movie theater, many restaurants (e.g. Starbucks everywhere), and a park. It is entirely up to your imagination and what you find fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Cuyamaca is of adequate quality, there is a main food court where a variety of food choices are offered; unfortunately, they're fairly expensive.

    Dorm Life

    This doesn't apply to Cuyamaca, as there aren't any on-campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Higher level courses such as calc 180 and 280 are challenging and require you to look to other sources for help. This isn't always a good thing, in one case it was because of a professor's poor teaching skills. Most of the general education courses are simple and straightforward, the majority of GE professors will tell their students exactly what they expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest purchasing a parking permit, it will save you a lot of time and hassle. The permit can be used on Cuyamaca and Grossmont grounds, so if you travel between the two or attend both, a permit would invaluable to you. Do everything within your power to know which classes you want to take and get them as soon as your registration date allows. Always look elsewhere for book offers, check Amazon, and any other places that could possibly offer your books for a cheaper price or for free, its worth the effort. Never be late to class, especially if its the first day; some teachers will drop students immediately if they aren't in the class on time. If you want a course and you aren't too far down the waitlist (20th spot and beyond), crash it, go on time and be prepared. Lastly, don't forget to make use of the school's wi-fi and STEM center, you're paying for it.

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca college is an excellent choice for a community college. It provides fairly basic courses (some more advanced classes, but mostly GED) at a significantly lower price than an 4-year university (that I know of). There is a mixed bag of teachers, but from the classes that i've taken, I believe that there are teachers that truly care about their students' learning.

  • 10/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not knowledgeable as I am a night student.

    Greek Life

    I am not knowledgeable as I am a night student.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not knowledgeable as I am a night student.

    Great for these types of students

    I am not knowledgeable as I am a night student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not knowledgeable of the traditions on campus as I am a night student.

    Bang for the buck

    I am not knowledgeable as I am a night student.

    What to do for fun

    Arts

    Food and Dining

    I bring my snacks to class. I go to school at night after work.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm available

    Academic Rigor

    My studies have been long and hard. I have sacrificed to make sure that my papers were turned in on time and done to the best of my ability. Water treatment is not an easy course to take. It takes a lot of time and dedication. My academic rigor has not been easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set your goals, stay focused, and keep your school work on the front burner at all times. Go at your education full speed and don't slow down. Keep your eye on the prize.

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca College is the only College in San Diego that offers the Water/Waste Water Treatment Program accepted for the T-2 and D-2 State Water exams. I value the education I've received from the teachers.

  • 08/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus. There are always campus police officers walking around making sure we are safe.

    Greek Life

    Pi Theta Kappa is not all that involved. There website needs to be updated.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many academic clubs and sports. The sports teams compete against other colleges. There are even clubs just for the sake of having a club where others share common interests.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who want to pay for an overall cheaper classes. Students interested in degrees in ornamental horticulture and water conservation will really enjoy this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a water conservation garden on campus. On the weekends there is a farmers market that represents things people have done in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are cheaper. The items such as books and food can be found cheaper off campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun on campus. Students can be involved in sports and club. Some of the sports and clubs include art club, philosophy club, soccer, and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are high and the servings are small. There is a big mark-up on snacks in both the book store and on-campus convenient store. It is less expensive to walk off campus and buy something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms at this school. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be intense. The online classes tend to require the most work. The amount of work given does depend on what subject the class is in and who is teaching it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be to show up to class early and to price your book before you purchase. The prices in the campus book store are on the high side. You can rent them, but the cost to rent is still expensive.

    In three sentences

    Overall the school is really good. There are many opportunities for students to be involved in extra curricular activities. The only thing I would change would be the prices in the bookstore.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    theres 3 patrol cars last time i counted. never heard of anything bad happening here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a few clubs. I joined engineering but i haven't seen it do much lately, we did launch rockets which was a lot of fun. made fuel from sugar.

    Great for these types of students

    talkative child-type who think college is a joke.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    if you get financial aid, awesome. if not i suggest paying for university.

    What to do for fun

    theres a pool table and ping pong table as well. provided someone else isn't already using it. or you can join the group of magic and computer gaming playing kids downstairs.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food is pretty greasy, but it's filling. kinda sucks that a salad with chicken cost 8 bucks. open from 8am-2pm. don't bother with the coffee. poor quality and service.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i enjoy some of the teachers however a lot of them come and go since they do not have contracts with the school. had some teachers who were last minute fill-ins. primarily for GE classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    not a terrible school.

    In three sentences

    good looking school, not a very convenient location though, only accessible by one freeway and through el cajon. the teachers are alright. the people here are not that great.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    awesome

    Great for these types of students

    trnaspher students with a clear plan

    What to do for fun

    almost everything is student affiliated so its all very fun

    Food and Dining

    its average

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    not to bad but keeps you on your toes

    Tips for prospective students

    stay motivated get out quick and move forward try hard work hard

    In three sentences

    i give cuyamaca a 15/20 for the good staff and resources along with mostly motivated students.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very tasty!

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep trying and go to tutoring. Some of the work is hard because they are actually trying to teach you! Not just pass you along.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with a great campus. The teaching are well educated and very helpful. The tutoring is top notch.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in a club or sport if you've got that kind of time to spend. Be on the lookout for clubs! Its a great way to make friends and work on a team.

    Food and Dining

    Every time I go to get tater tots at the Coyote Grill they're gone. Now while that is unpleasant for me, It also proves how tasty the food is. A little costly, but to my understanding, you can get a student card to discount that. They also give a ton of fries when you buy an order of them. There's also a Starbucks qualified vendor right across from the Coyote Grill. Not as wide a selection as a normal Starbucks, but if you're functioning on an hour of sleep, a good caffeine boost could do you good. Not only is there a variety of snacks in the bookstore on the floor below, there are also vending machines all over campus. Don't forget the snack bar in front of the math building. They have a sandwich bar. It operates like a Subway. like I said before, its expensive. However, if you want something more than a snickers and a cup of easy mac, you might satisfy your hunger with something better. I always went the easy mac route. for easy mac though, you have to purchase it from the bookstore below and go upstairs to the snack bar store by the math building. There they have a hot water dispenser next to the coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there is no on campus living here. (I mean unless people are living in the ceilings of some of the older buildings). But don't fret. Although its more expensive to live out here in San Diego County, There's a wide variety of things that the surrounding area offers. all sorts of places to eat. entertainment as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and tutoring programs at Cuyamaca are helpful. Most teachers are rooting for your success. That doesn't mean slack off. Effort matters and they can see it in your work. Be sure to talk to a academic adviser once you choose what you would like to do as a career. They can help you plan ahead, find the classes you need and even set you up for a transfer to another school for higher degrees. Got a pesky math class? Go to the math building and take advantage of their FREE tutoring sessions. It is worth the effort. Your brain cells will thank you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you don't think you'll get it, apply apply apply!! The BOG waiver (Board of Governors Fee Waiver) was a super helpful tool when extra credits put me in a financial pinch. If you are deemed 'in need' of funds, the BOG will waive your fees for the school year so long as you meet certain requirements. Also, the FAFSA is a federal grant that you can obtain. this takes time and paperwork, but is well worth it. Combined, you can go to school without having to stay employed and thus get your academics finished! But don't stop there! There are lots of scholarships out there. Some awards are given with little effort just because not enough people applied.

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca, while sometimes difficult to navigate, has helpful maps posted everywhere. The students are largely willing to help you. The food is expensive, but the education is reasonable for the price you pay.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus clubs and sports, events and shows, and extra activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and get ready to start a life changing experience.

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca is a beautiful and quiet campus. Staff is very helpful and care about the students. The programs and sports they offer are outstanding.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am an older student so I mainly study, but I did found the Philosophy club last year to create another opportunity to meet and interact with my fellow students

    Food and Dining

    Even though there are only a few on campus eating places they are still of very good quality and serve healthy choices for any diet structure

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus

    Academic Rigor

    There is a great flexibility in learning opportunities at Cuyamaca, so no one is left out of a further education

    In three sentences

    The Cuyamaca College campus is a Great place to learn, not only are the instructors wonderful but the student body is also a friendly group. Being Disabled it was hard to go back to school, everyone on the Cuyamaca campus, ranging from the DSP&S office all the way down to fellow students, have made me feel welcome and comfortable in class as well as on campus. I have had the most wonderful college experience on Cuyamaca, I just wish I could stay forever, but SDSU is next.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    at every site you will fill safe campus police are always on there jobs

    Greek Life

    we do not have fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    student goverment host all the big activities on campus it so fun to be involved and dress up for certain things

    Great for these types of students

    all types many of the students are older but the love to see young people and they help whenever needed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a big wii tournament during finals to get a nice relaxing hour

    Bang for the buck

    all bookstore items are perfectly priced

    What to do for fun

    join student government !

    Food and Dining

    we do need more variety as for food and dining areas

    Dorm Life

    we do not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are sometimes a struggle

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to stay involved. also use the tutor center as much as possible don't wait to the last minute to study for a midterm or quiz or test

    In three sentences

    cuyamaca is a great school. the campus life is beautiful. Also my professor take so much time with me to help me understand the material.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very good, there are campus police patrolling the area. Especially at night they are out there to offer you services such as walking you to your car if you don't feel safe walking by yourself.

    What to do for fun

    They actually have a gym thats open to any one, and sometimes they would have campus activity every once in awhile

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining halls are good but a little bit pricey, they have a good healthy selection as well as burgers and burritos. I would say that the quality of the food is a 9/10

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a Dorm life because this is a community college and they do not offer on campus living.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a real police station on campus and they are always patrolling (usually for cigarette smokers). There are also blue-light emergency buttons in the parking lot. Its a small, but open campus so the safety is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some activities, usually music related, like battle of the band & holiday concerts.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are paying for school out-of-pocket, returning to school, elderly that want to stay active in learning.

    What to do for fun

    Go to class then leave right after, haha! its right in the center of the Rancho San Diego shopping strip malls, so just walk across the street to Target or get food at the several food places. Most students work full- time so everyones pretty focused on just going to class. There is a new lounge area to relax and chat or play ping pong.

    Food and Dining

    Has a brand new 2-story food court building and hang out area. There is also a mini convenience store too.

    Dorm Life

    There is none, most students live in a 10 mile radius at home with parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great, most are Tenure and teach several classes of like-subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most of the staff is work-study and speak minimal English, so don't except too much help unless your Arab, as they tend to practice favoritism. There is a segregation students, those that are American/or come from Mexico to attend and those that are any relation of Arabs, Chadians, Muslim, etc. As most of the them attend classes in groups like the grandfather, father, mother, aunts, uncles, daughters & sons (as the youngest are the translators for the elders). It is a sister campus to Grossmont college.

    In three sentences

    Its more of a stepping stone to a University and the environment resembles that. its a quite campus with some school functions, but most students lack enthusiasm. The students consist of roughly 65% Arabs' and Iranians that are there to learn english and G.E. subjects. Not my favorite campus,but the professors are excellent!

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are usually ALWAYS security around for your safety.

    Bang for the buck

    Sweet educational deal in a friendly setting.

    What to do for fun

    Day of the Dead, Art Festival, Music Festivals, Indian Dancing, Yoga, and now the Farmers Market, trust me you'll find something.

    Food and Dining

    Try the Coyote Burger at the grill! Theres also a Starbucks for you coffee lovers!!! :D

    Academic Rigor

    Once your placement test results are recieved you are placed in an appropriate math or english class. Don't like results? Ask for a 'Retest'. As for other classes, majority of subjects are up to par with the difficulty of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to love the Cuyamaca College Website at http://www.cuyamaca.edu/ . Research your professors through ratemyprofessor.com/ . Like on FB to recieve up to date information. VISIT THE LIBRARY and TUTORING CENTERS!!!! Use all of the schools resources offered. Never be afraid to ask questions whether its your 1st day or last semester.

    In three sentences

    Just a few steps from the bus stop and student parking lots, the landscape immediately takes you to an open flowing and simple design that allows easy access to your academic ventures. Though buildings are sometimes spaced, they all have working elevators and very accessible to suit every students needs. Laid back atmosphere, killer WiFi, and interesting extracurricular makes student life happy.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police patrol the campus and student areas often

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities but not a lot of participation

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds - hang out in the student center Jocks - the basketball team is cool

    Bang for the buck

    Price vs. quality is very good. Just make sure to research your teachers before class

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the student center, play pool, or listen to music

    Food and Dining

    There is a grill, a snack place, and a starbucks

    Academic Rigor

    Strict if you are caught cheating - Don't cheat!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look for your classrooms ahead of time because Cuyamaca has a larger campus

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca College is a nice large green campus with new facilities. There is a student center, computer labs, tutor center, and a grill.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is above average because the location of this campus is in a higher-middle-class urban neighborhood. There is campus police protecting the campus at all times, and there is not much violence that occurs at this school. The reason why there are only 4 stars instead of 5 on this review is because the parking lot can sometimes get dangerous from 9-12, when most students have classes. The lot fills up quickly and the young drivers get frustrated easily. Driving defensive is the best tactic! But overall the campus police keep everything in order.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek life, and fraternities as well as sororities do not exist at Cuyamaca College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus such as the engineering club, and science club. These clubs are not popular amongst students, and are not known about throughout campus. The clubs and activities severely lack relevance on this campus because most people are not enthusiastic about going here, and therefore do not want to participate in extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Cuyamaca college is great for motivated students who want transfer to a four year university and save their money by receiving a general education that is cheaper than what the majority of universities will offer. It is also great for adults who want to go back to school in order to obtain a better job, because it will provide the education necessary to compete in America's job market.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions at this campus. One unusual location is a spot unknown to most students, on top of the two-story communications building, which holds a great view looking over Rancho San Diego. Besides this there are no unusual locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I paid about 600 dollars for one semester with 5 classes. The bang for your buck here is outstounding. Students receive the same general education and prerequisite classes that a university offers, at a fraction of the cost. This is the best feature Cuyamaca college offers, an education at a low cost to students. This is very helpful for any student who does not want to be burdened with the high costs of student loans, yet still wants to become educated and transfer to a prestigious four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Cuyamaca has a basketball, volleyball, and track team. These teams are not popular at all, and are rarely even talked about. Other than that there is not much more to do for fun on this campus. The students are not here to absorb the typical college experience because it is a small community college. Therefore the majority are not enthusiastic about being prideful in the school or engaging in extracurricular activities involving the school. On the bright side, the school is located in Rancho San Diego, which is a thriving urban community with many restaurants and places to go to have a good time with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining consists of two convenient stores, and one good sized dining hall. The convenient store closest to classrooms is full of snacks and drinks, and is nice to visit with some friends during a class break to grab some food and refuel. The dining hall has about 15-20 tables with 4 chairs around each of them. It is spacious, newly built, and is usually pretty busy during lunch hours. There is a full-service kitchen here, cooking up hamburgers, fries, and even burritos. The food is surprisingly tasty, but not the highest quality. There is also a Starbucks in this dining lounge, which tops it off to make it an above average dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which major a student is pursuing, the academic rigor varies. Since Cuyamaca is a community college most students are taking general education classes and completing prerequisite courses for their intended major. The general ed classes are simple if students stay committed, focused, and study efficiently. Prerequisite classes are hard if the major is hard. For example an engineering major has to take physics and chemistry classes. This will be difficult for most students because it involves lots of new concepts, math, and science most high school students have not learned. So overall the prerequisite classes are hard depending on the difficulty of the intended major, and the general education classes are not academically rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip that would have benefited myself before I came here would be to make sure I stayed highly focused on my studies. This would have helped me because the freedom Cuyamaca's teachers and tardy policies offer influences one to slack off. If one slacks off they will eventually regret wasting their time, and will be upset once they have to take more time to complete classes, while others who worked hard are succeeding and transferring to a four year university. But if one stays very dedicated to studying the material for each class, focused on completion of homework and assignments, and manages their time allotted to make sure they master their curriculum, they will get good grades, transfer within two years, and be on to bigger and better things.

    In three sentences

    The campus itself has nice landscaping and newer buildings, but the mood due to wearisome students is dull, and the environment of this community college is not the liveliest. I have attended this school for two years, and have taken over 20 classes, experiencing about 20 teachers' teaching techniques. Only a handful of teachers were passionate about their curriculum, and anyone who attended that college who was a full-time student there would see that more than half of the students there lacked motivation to succeed in education.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad I've ever seen on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Theres a nice strip mall nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Theres a place to purchase some snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt like the classes just dont matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do everything on your own, I thought I could handle it but it turned out to be too much for me.

    In three sentences

    Very nice clean campus with a very enjoyable library. Friendly staff and the teachers actually care. Very confusing process for financial aid and signing up for classes.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively small, which makes it an easily manageable place. The grounds and parking lots are patrolled by a local officer of the peace. Nevertheless, the campus is near the Rancho San Diego hills and it is a non-smoking campus. There are emergency call phones at key locations throughout the campus which can be used for medical emergencies or even to help call you a tow truck. The grounds are open to public or student alike but I have never had any trouble with thefts, vandalism, or conflicts with students or teachers. I feel very safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is ideal for almost any type of student, especially minority students, students with high financial need, returning students, students with day-time jobs and bills to pay, and students wishing to change their current career.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to the dismal funding from the government, the tuition has increased from $20 to almost $40/unit. However, the quality of the education offered at Cuyamaca is still valued much higher. You get a quality general education with emphasis on the field you desire at a fraction of the price at universities in California which can top $400 per unit. Looks like I'll be taking the choice education for one tenth the price of university and still maintain the opportunity for transfer.

    Food and Dining

    While I would not compare the Coyote Cafe with a Four-Star restaurant, I would say that they offer a decent selection of all the important things. If you fear you might be stuck on campus with several classes back-to-back plus library time, the student center offers life-saving meals cooked in front of you on an affordable budget. They also have an array of packaged snacks in the Convenience store as well as the Bookstore for those in-between class boosts that a person needs to make it to the end of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    Truthfully, I'd put the asperity here at 3.5 out of 5. Here's where the confusing part is. Many students feel that high expectations here means the work is going to be difficult. However, the professors here limit the coursework to just the essential. No unnecessary busy-work but the expectations are that you are going to apply yourself and thus earn the knowledge needed to succeed. Not to worry, there are many avenues of tutoring and assistance for when it gets tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! This school has an amazing selection of professors but you better believe that the best ones will be wait-listed before you even know the books you need. That's not to say you can't still get into them. I once wait-listed half my classes for the semester and got every single one, but you must have a back-up plan and even a handful of elective classes that you can take if your required classes are full. Even with all the stops you can think of, you should be able to manage an Associates degree, transfer, or other certification at Cuyamaca in under three years.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very knowledgeable in their fields and tailor the courses to include the most applicable information and create reasonable workloads that are manageable on full-time or part-time basis. You could acquire an Associate in a different field, fulfill transfer requirements, work full-time to support yourself, and transfer to a world-class California 4-year university in as little as 2 and a half years. The school also projects an atmosphere of acceptance of people from any background, ethnicity, religion, and career track; the only requirement is the motivation to slingshot your college career at Cuyamaca College.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    What to do for fun

    Sports or student center games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Clean open and great environment.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police patrolling but I do not know how effective the safety patrol is because I never had to use it. I also have never heard of anything bad happening at this school.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs and activities are unknown for me.

    Great for these types of students

    working students who are busy and just need to get to school and leave. Also good for students who just need to take a couple of classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It seems that financial aid services are a little different at this school compared to others. For instance, someone taking 7 units at cuyamaca might get $670 each disbursement. But someone at another school might get $790 for taking 6 units. (at least that's how it was in my case)

    Bang for the buck

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I give the school a rating of a 6 1/2. It could be better, but you pretty much get what you paid for,

    What to do for fun

    In the student center are televisions, a few games like pool, ping pong, and video game stands. There is also a gym at Cuyamaca. Other than that, there are not many amenities there

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is quite small, with a very limited food menu. There is one grill- restaurant type in the building but it seems to only be open for short periods of time? There are the convenient store type markets, but they only sell things like chips, nuts, drinks, candy, and things like coffee, donuts and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Although, Cuyamaca has less options for you to explore academically, most of the teachers are passionate about their job, They teach what's necessary but in a way that makes you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you handle your financial aid as soon as possible because if not, it takes a long time to get it taken care of. register for your classes as soon as you are able to because there is not as many courses as other school and the classes that are popular or needed fill up fast. Make good impressions on your professors because they can continue to be good friends, mentors, and references.

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca College is not my favorite college, but not the worst either. It doesn't have as many degrees or certifications as other schools do.It has a pretty landscape and is semi-big.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very safe campus. I take night classes and feel safe walking to my car after class.

    Bang for the buck

    Less expensive than a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is in a suburb of San Diego, which is an awesome place to live. We have it all - beaches,mountains,deserts, Sea World, SD World Famous Zoo, lots of parks and outdoor activities. You'll love it here!

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria on campus, just a small snack bar.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a 2 year community college, a good place to start earning credits and then transfer to a four year university.

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca College is a beautiful campus with lots of grass and trees.You get personal attention from the instructors since most of the classes are small. It is real easy to find your way around.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus. I attend a night class that gets out at 10:00 pm and I have never felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I only go part time so I have not got involved in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Cuyamaca a very diverse student population.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am only going part time so I don't have any to share.

    Bang for the buck

    Cuyamaca has made college affordable with the governor's bogs waiver for my tuition.

    What to do for fun

    I am more interested in reading since going back to school. I really like to crochet.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten at the school yet.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Going back to school has been a challenge. My teachers and counselor have given me encouragement to go threw with my educational dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise going to the counseling office for information and help with planning the classes you will need for your educational goals.

    In three sentences

    Cuyamaca has wonderful teachers who are interested in our success. I have attended workshops on communication and learned a lot from them. I have received help with everything I have inquired about there,

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never had any problems. police patrol the campus so you feel extra safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    club challenge the non-forceful christian club. engineering club- build things like rockets and more.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students welcome. you'll end up loving it here. great people and awesome teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a great alternative. if you choose classes that are transferable to the college you want to attend you can go through all the general education and pay less than half of what you would pay at a normal university.

    What to do for fun

    join club challenge. it's a great christian club at cuyamaca that isn't trying to force their religion down your throat. the speaker, david, is funny and makes you want to know more. they have activities were you can just hang out with the members like having girls night or guys night, and we also all hang out together to watch movies. it's a great club to meet new people even if you're not christian or religious.

    Food and Dining

    they have starbucks!

    Dorm Life

    doesn't exist.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are easy to understand. the teachers i choose always end up being very interesting and give you all the information you need to know to pass the class. if you do your homework and study you can pass the tests really easily. it's not hard when you got teachers that want you to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should make sure to visit the career center and your counselor. visiting both of these will help lead you to the career you want.

    In three sentences

    cuyamaca college gives students the help they seek. the teachers are interesting and understanding. cuyamaca is a great gate-way college to your future education.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's a few cops supervising the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    not a lot of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    independent. serene. organized.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i spend most of my time at the library since there are private study rooms.

    What to do for fun

    computer lab, and spend most time at the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for financial aid as soon as you enter college. there's going to be a lot of people applying and it's more of a competition.

    In three sentences

    this school lacks classes. but it's really spacious and a great place to study. still, i would not consider a great school.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security always around in parking lots- no need to feel afraid even after dark!

    What to do for fun

    studying and starbucks!

    In three sentences

    cuyamaca college, to me, has a great reputation for its excellent curriculum. it has demonstrated fine teachers with amazing degrees. cuyamaca college is a great college, hands down.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police regularly cover the campus.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    if you love the outdoors and great san diego california weather with a kick back and relax sort of feel, this is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the only outdoor water garden reservation at any college in california. people from around the country come to check out the garden and it is truly beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    very cheap school to attend. plus financial aid, you will end up paying $6 in total a semester, if even that. well worth it, one of the cheapest schools in san diego with some of the best education.

    What to do for fun

    go to the student center, shoot pool, play ping pong, chat and eat.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is great. they serve starbucks coffee and have multiple convenient stores, almost like gas stations, located on campus with different snacks and drinks. along with the cafe and grill, that serves a wide assortment of food.

    Dorm Life

    the campus doesn't provide dorms for students.

    Academic Rigor

    great academically if your searching for pretty easy going teachers but still require a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't hesitate, apply as soon as possible. core classes go fairly quick. if your applying for financial aid, i suggest getting the direct deposit and staying on top of everything. if you have questions, don't hesitate to ask them.

    In three sentences

    cuyamaca college is a small and simple, yet satisfying school to attend. the school is like new, very clean and bright. the school is crisp and fresh, with all the grass and trees, it makes a great study environment. it is very peaceful and the teaching there is excellent. the staff works hard for the students, and you feel as though they help you through every step and process along the way. very diverse community, with all types of people.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think its strange that some subjects are randomly mixed with other subjects.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events that the students post on the bulletin boards for other students to see,

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure not to over load on classes and relax,

    In three sentences

    The campus is very large and beautiful. The professors are willing to work with you. Classes are easy to take.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club or get into athletics. Don't forget to support the Basketball team!

    Food and Dining

    If you're on a budget, you might want to think about packing a lunch. Small purchases here and there add up fast.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms, as this is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. Get to know the people in the Financial Aid office, Career Center, and Counseling office.

    In three sentences

    I believe that at Cuyamaca, students take their education more seriously here than other local community colleges. The campus is easy to navigate even though there are constant upgrades being made. Counselors there as well as advisers are extremely helpful as well.

  • 12/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People searching for a degree, Students trying to save money, Students who are looking to stay home or rent/buy a place to stay, people who like having shopping centers nearby (Movie Theater, Staples, Target, Kohls, Michaels, Starbucks, Ralphs, countless other stores), Students hoping to transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    I did not want to attend Cuyamaca at first, just because it was a community college and I was already accepted into an accredited 4-year that I could not afford. After my first semester, my mind is completely changed. Nothing is better for a student than saving money. You can even get all of your general education out of the way, economically priced, and then transfer to any University you want. Also, Cuyamaca has a variety of degrees that you can get, and it is easy to graduate. If you are considering Cuyamaca, it IS worth it!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it to attend Cuyamaca! I got all of my tuition fees waived my first semester, so the only thing I had to pay for was books. All in all, I spent less than $300 for the semester to attend, whereas my sister attends another university and she nad to pay close to $10,000 for one semester. For the quality of the learning, the price is outstanding, and it is worth it to attend Cuyamaca. The only thing is that I know a lot of people who get ridiculous amounts of FAFSA money when they don't need it, and they spend it on things that do not relate to school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here just because of the fact that it is saving me bundles and bundles of money. There is a nice student cafe that I go to sometimes after classes to play pool or ping pong, and the campus is nice on the eyes. I also enjoy that students get the chance to speak with all of the professors, and the classes are very tight-knit.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot in the higher level classes at Cuyamaca. For example, I am taking a chemistry class with the head of the chemistry department, and she is an amazing professor. People take her if they want to go far in their careers. However, the general education classes are extremely easy, and sometimes the professors seem like they are repeating things I already know.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't schedule all of your classes on the same days. Make sure you don't have large gaps between classes, but also make sure that you don't overlap classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth attending here so that you can save some money. You can take your general education classes, then transfer to the school of your choice. The counselors are extremely helpful!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and the professors really want you to succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging and interesting. And if you can't get a class at Cuyamaca College, you can go to Grossmont College. Since they are linked, you can get your credits at both schools.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone trying to higher their education even if they do not have the money for a four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early!!!!!! Like right now!!!!!! Your going to love it!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a fabulous school for anyone trying to save money. For the last semesters my tuition, books and even the parking permit has added all together to be less than $1000.

    Am enjoying being here

    The best thing for me is that the school is right in the middle of a wonderful area and it has a beautiful campus. At the center of the campus there is a huge lawn with trees that makes for the great visual break from the classroom setting.

    Am learning a lot

    At this point I have had two semesters at Cuyamaca and in that time I took several really interesting classes. One I really enjoyed was the Personal Development class called PDC 124 because it really helped me to know exactly what college is all about and helped me to chose a major. Another that I found wonderful was the Intro to Art course called ART 100; it exposed me to a variety of types of art and cultures. But the one I found the most helpful was my English classes; they really take the time to really teach the subject and help when ever it is needed. So you can imaging why I find Cuyamaca such a great school.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think Cuyamaca College is great for all types of students. If you are not so brilliant at school, there is always someone who can help you get better grades, especially the teachers. If you are very brilliant at school, then you'll get very good grades at Cuyamaca. There is space and support for every student who wishes to apply here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get nervous, focus, and try the best that you can. It is not hard to get good grades in Cuyamaca College. It is all about organizing yourself and paying attention to the teacher. Also, please go to class. Don't expect to get an A if you miss classes.

    Bang for the buck

    In Cuyamaca College you receive more than what you pay for. The tuition is 20 dollars a unit, but you receive a lot more because you have great teachers, security, gym, clubs, counselors, parking, great vegetation and horticulture space. Even though it is a small school, it is great. I believe the school is very pretty, and you get everything you need to succeed in college being in a great and beautiful environment.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying Cuyamaca because I believe it is a school that even though it is new, has a lot of potential and great classmates. Like it is a smaller school, it is easier to make friends and to enjoy classes without being nervous of two hundred people watching you. Also, I really enjoy being around the teachers. They are always so polite and enthusiastic about teaching. Most of the teachers in Cuyamaca College really give themselves into teaching. You can tell they love teaching, and if you ask them if they would have preferred to study anything else, they tell you: if I would have the chance to live my life again, I would still be a teacher. I believe that when teachers love their job, they inspire their students, which helps them have a better understanding not only of the subject the teacher is teaching but of life.

    Am learning a lot

    I am really learning a lot in Cuyamaca College. The teachers are excellent because they dedicate their time even if it is not during the class in order for you to understand whatever subject you are confused on. Most of the teachers learn your name, so you feel more comfortable and involved in school. Classrooms are small in order for you to have a better understanding and participation.