Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Darton State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    When I lived on campus at Darton state I immediately wanted to go home from the very first day. People weren't so friendly and I didn't warm up to it until my friends from my hometown moved in. Even then, I still never felt welcome and eventually moved off campus the next semester.

  • 07/13/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    amazing!

  • 04/25/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i am in the student center most of the time hanging out and meeting new people. here at darton our student center is awesome. our student center has many different feature. my favorite feature is the bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is great and there are different varieties of foods served here everyday. students don't have to eat the same boring foods everyday.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are awesome. they aren't too big and they're not too small. there is always something to do at the dorms. there are different types of dorms that are available here. however, the dorms other than the standard ones cost a bit more.

    Academic Rigor

    academic success is the most known attribute for success here at darton. the instructors help you even when you don't need help. students will succeed academically if they work hard and put in the work that is required.

    Tips for prospective students

    in order to succeed you must stay on top of your work. students should be motivated and encouraged to finish strong. help is always offered here at darton and it's free. stay focused. failure is not an option here at darton. darton is definitely the start to success.

    In three sentences

    darton state college is a great college for anyone planning on furthering their education. on a scale of 0-10 i would definitely rate darton as a 10. darton is a friendly and very helpful institution that provides students with all the help they could possibly need.

  • 07/23/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    What exactly do you use Darton Bucks for? For example if you have a 5 meal plan and $500 DB, on the 6th or 7th day that you dont have a meal plan is that where the use of Darton Bucks come in?

    Dorm Life

    What is the one downside about the dorms?

    Academic Rigor

    How would you compare the material you are learning going from high school to a first year student at DSC?

    Tips for prospective students

    Alot of the reviews i have read say that going from class to class is 'fairly easy with time to spare'. From the perspective of someone actually attending DSC do you feel that having a car is an ABSOLUTE MUST when attending there, or is it more of a luxuary for people who want to travel outside of the campus?

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Darton offers many campus life activities each semester.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, so i can only assume it is good because the dorms are new.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly difficult curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you do not lose your student id card. Always bring you id card and you state issued id with you when you go on campus. Be early when registering!

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my experience at Darton State College. The faculty is very friendly. The website is easy to navigate.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has a student center that has billards, ping pong, foosball, bowling, rock climbing, racket ball, and wolleyball. Other than the normal activities, the school offers many opportunities to attend events such as midnight madness, dodgeball tournaments, and comedians.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than high school food. It has its good days and bad days. It offers salad, pizza, sandwiches, and burgers with fries everyday while the other two lines offer more varieties.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. I stay in the cheapest room version. You get your own room and bathroom and share the kitchen and living room with your roommate. The room size is pretty good in terms of dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes here are easy, but there are also a few that require extra time to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips I have are to go check the rate my professor site before signing up for a class so you know what you are getting into, make sure to st.ay on top of your homework and study, rent your books unless you want to keep them, and spend your money wisely

    In three sentences

    Darton is a good starter college. The campus is nice but small. The size is good though because even if you have only a few minutes between one class to the next, you can make it to the next one without rushing to be on time.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Darton College has campus police and new distress towers that help any student in need.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs to chose from. MESA and Phi Theta Kappa are really good ones and help bring academic opportunities to their members.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Athletes, preferably soccer players or swimmers

    Bang for the buck

    Darton College offers a small taste of the college life (being independent, maturing and meeting new friends) without the high costs of universities.

    What to do for fun

    Darton College offers a lot of sports, such as Soccer, Wrestling, Swimming, etc. They also have an intramural league where you can participate for fun or competition.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has very good food and a variety of choice.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and offer your own bedroom and bathroom, which is convenient for privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    Darton College is very challenging and will prepare you for higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your schoolwork and maintain a high GPA!

    In three sentences

    Darton College is an excellent college to attend. My adviser, Doctor Josie Moore, has prepared me and helped me mature into the person I am today. Without Darton, I would not have the ambition I have today.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing lol

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come if you don't have transportation. Apply for all scolarships if out of state.

    In three sentences

    i don't recommend going there if you don't have a car as it is hard to get around. its the cheapest school as far as price goes. The people are nice.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency call post set around the whole campus in case you ever run into trouble, the safety patrol is so friendly and helpful, and we even have bike patrol! Safety has never been an issue here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club you can think of, Darton will more than likely have it. You can run track, play volleyball, tennis, or even join the Archery club.There are many organizations that provide opportunities to get out, get involved, and travel all over the country.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love playing sports, Darton is the right place for you. We rank top 5 in the entire country and offer some of the best programs.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally think Darton offers you so much for what your paying. The campus, staff, and the overall experiences has just been priceless.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of programs, events, activities, games, races, and courses here to keep you occupied. Wether you like to rock climb in the rain or go bowling and play Call of Duty in the student center. You'll never have an opportunity to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe provides every food group and has a wide variety so your able to stay fit and satisfied, no matter what kind of food you eat.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is great. You get to stay informed about all of the events and activities that are happening on and around campus, and it's so much easier to get around. Plus the resident assistant's are always around in case you have any questions or concerns.

    Academic Rigor

    I think whatever level of difficulty your college is set at is based on the way you approach it. The more you study and stay focused, the easier it'll be upon completion and graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is key to making good grades, and it's also important to create a plan and set goals for yourself.

    In three sentences

    So far attending Darton college I have had a wonderful experience, It's nothing like I thought it would be. The professors here make it easier to learn and there are so many programs to assist you along the way. I get to earn my degree while still maintaining a balanced social and academic life.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school provides good food for everyone to enjoy. There are varieties of food s for you to choose from like burgers and Philly cheesesteaks, sub sandwiches and wraps or you could make your own salad. They even switch the comfort foods each night like nachos and lasagna to meatloaf and fried fish.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great experience to see how it is living with others besides your family members. They have residence assistants on each floor so you always have someone to ask for help. They offer washers and dryers for you, they have a communal kitchen for everyone to share and they have a lobby for you to hang and watch TV with your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are very helpful. They explain and help you analyze each example or problem so you can understand how to do it on your own. They have a very good curriculum and if you are struggling they offer tutors to help you one on one.

    In three sentences

    I would give Darton College an eight because they are very helpful and friendly. The people apply you with the right information and direct you in the right path so you will be successful in life. The atmosphere makes you feel safe and secure and makes you want to stay and build new friendships.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Darton State offers several activities that offer discounts when a student ID is utilized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Online classes can be very overwhelming and busier than traditional classes.

    In three sentences

    Darton State College provides an excellent education in nursing. The teachers are very caring and willing to help. I am very satisfied with my education received.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Our campus is amazing. A lot of peopl may not know of the many activities that are held at our school. The campus life is great. The student center is the best hang out spot for all the students. There is so much to do in the student center. You can play on the pool tables, bowl with a built in bowling alley, and rocking climbing. Much more fun things are inside of the student center, that was just few of many activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delightful. If you're a incoming freshmen you can say Bye Bye to the high school food you once hated. The food varies and has a wide range of varieties to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty nice. They are like small apartments. Game rooms, laundry room, kitchen area, and etc. Everything you need is right there in your dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor isn't bad at all. You get a little more freedom with your education. The teachers are great, of course you may have that one teacher that isn't so talkative. Trust me, they will talk to you if they know you are serious about your education. Which is why I like being here. They have given me so much advice.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell any student that is interested in coming here to go. Going here can do you no wrongs. Everything is well organized and steady paced. You don't have to be the brightest crayon in the box to shine here. It gives you a opportunity to grow and develop. You can literally see yourself changing at a blink of an eye. I'm really enjoying my time here at this school. I'm getting more and more involved in school activities.

    In three sentences

    Darton State College is a great school academically. This school has many opportunities for all kinds of students. The student activity here is amazing and well organized.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus they have emergency phone pole located all over campus

    Greek Life

    The greek life is in progress they do have programs for honors students

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the cheerleading club its ahh-mazing but darton has many clubs and activities to participate in

    Great for these types of students

    If your very invovled and like to help other the leaders servant club is a great club to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I usually keep to myself but when I move to darton I mostly stay at the student center its so cozy and full of youth

    Bang for the buck

    The school story has amazing deals year round I brought a paor of earring for 5 bucks yhat to me is deffinantly a bang for the buck

    What to do for fun

    For fun you could either go to the pool the student center which has a basketball court in it a louge from a rock climbing wall and a bowling alley its just so much to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at darton is yummy they have just about everything you could possible want I would say that you will gain weights because its so yummy and your gone to want more and more

    Dorm Life

    Depending on your roomie dorm life can be amazing but you have to make sure that you have everything you need and to chose a room mate that matches your personality

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is everything at darton its a good school to start off in. im very excited about attending I think everyone should go to darton you'll love it I promise it just a great school and the student teacher ratio is 30:1 which is sorta like high school classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all your information in at once. Dont hesitate to call your advisor or admissions to ask them questions thats what their there for. make sure that you do your research on the school before choose to attend also make arrangments for a campus visit.

    In three sentences

    Darton is a awesome school it reminds me of home. Darton has a beautiful campus. The advisors and falculty are very kind.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fairly safe. In each dorm, around 10-11 or so, a security guard patrols the lobby. In order to enter the dorms, you have to use a Darton ID; your ID will only open the building you reside in. As far as the rest of the campus goes, there are MANY officers on and around campus.

    Greek Life

    Sadly there is no Greek Life at the school, but their pushing to get some by 2015.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and activities to partake in. Servant Leadership is the one that stands out the most throughout the school, but there is also MESA and a few others.

    Great for these types of students

    There is an Honor Society and of course Student Council for over achievers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll find that there are many places to get away on campus. There is at least 3 locations to regroup, in and around every building.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, this is a pretty good school. Like I said before, every college has there pros and cons, but this one has some outstanding pros. Once everything is squared away financially at the school, you'll enjoy it.

    What to do for fun

    Every semester, campus life makes sure there is always at least one event going on. For example, they might organize a movie night on the lawn or Free Fun night at The All-American Fun Park. The school also offers discounts for the local movie theatre for those who cannot or do not wish to attend the campus life events. There also is a club called Servant Leadership, that encourages you to volunteer for important events. They usually do a mission change, where they venture out to different areas to volunteer for various occasions. Last year they went to New Orleans to help break down houses that were destroyed from Hurricane Isaac, and they went to Crystal River, FL to help pick up Lyngbya and swim with Manatees.

    Food and Dining

    The food itself is not that bad, but the way the meal plan is set, it could be better. There is a grill line that allows you to get a burger, fries, etc., there are three hot bar lines, one serves food of different cultures, another one serves your average spaghetti or thanksgiving dinner, etc., and the last one serves different types of pizza. There also is a salad bar. The school used Darton bucks, and depending on your meal plan, you can get 5 free dinners out of the week, and use your Darton bucks for the rest, or you could get 7 free dinners, and use your bucks for Lunch and Breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly new. There are two layouts to the rooms. One is set almost like a one bed hotel room. The other is set like a two bed room apartment. The rooms are connected by a kitchen that is supplied with a refrigerator, microwave, 2 seat kitchen table, and a stand for a TV. Each room has it's own bathroom with a bath tub/shower. In the actual dorm room, there is a lounge chair, desk and chair, 2 stackable dressers, and of course a Twin XL bed. On each floor of the dorm buildings, there is a laundry room, community room, and a fitness room. However, in the newer building, there is no workout equipment in the fitness room.

    Academic Rigor

    The beginner classes should not be too challenging, if you remember courses you've taken in High School; some of the classes could stand to be a little more challenging. Most of the information presented is easy to retain.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is very laid back as far as rules and regulations goes. Faculty and staff expect you to be responsible for yourself. So upon entering the school, it is best to maintain so type of maturity.

    In three sentences

    Attending Darton, now State, College is very enticing. It is easy to succeed academically, as well as, maintain a healthy social life. Just like any other college, there are many pros and cons.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall i feel Darton is very safe. Darton provides everyone with Dart Cards and you have to have it to get access to anywhere. I belive there could be improvements, but i do feel safe at my school and about alarm systems.

    Greek Life

    Darton does not have greek life, because they are not an official 4year college. Darton does have student unions to get student comments about the campus. Darton is now a state college and is currently working on getting greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Darton has a event for all students to come and see what clubs they have to offer. Darton go out their way to provide students with calandars of all important dates and events that will be going on for the year. Students interacting with one another is important, so there will be plenty of events for students to have the opportunity to interact friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Darton is recently buliding another student center i believe. I havent heard of two student centers before. There are a lot of places thave fun at one time.o studu and

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe u get the bang for your buck. Tuition is not high at all and you get a lot from what you pay for. You can come out cheaper staying off campus, but to each its own.

    What to do for fun

    There are music trivia sessions in the student center for a chance to win money and prizes. Rock climbing, bowling, video games, and tennis is avaliable inside the student center as well. During the months Darton also provides activities for bands, get invoveled with the holiday spirit events, illusionists, and more!

    Food and Dining

    Dinning area is clean, nice, home and restarunt vibe to it. They have breakfast, luch, and dinner for students. It is very helpful for on campus students and safe during dinner hours, and also social.

    Dorm Life

    Darton dorm life could be handled more safely. They do have where they make sure you are a Darton student to have access to everything in the dorm. They do have different areas for kitchen, you have rooms with their toown kitchen, and areas to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Darton is critical. Knowing your work is very important. The more you know and learn, the better you will be to get through Darton graguayiong successfully.

    Tips for prospective students

    Darton is what you make it. Darton is not a party school but you will have lots of fun during different events. Teachers are serious about their work, learning, and helpful at all times.

    In three sentences

    Darton is the best school in my city. They believe in students success, and they have a high graduation rate. Even though Darton is a community college, I do believe you will leave Darton full of knowledge, and success.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap school, but nice degree options.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing much. Join a club, make friends ,and hang out. Play games in the dorms. Student center contains a bowling alley and game.

    Food and Dining

    It's the same thing every week. Nothing new, but it is pretty good. It is expensive though so try yo go to walmart.

    Dorm Life

    Never been in the dorms much but it's okay. Strict rules, but some students need them. Rooms are a little small.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard, but it will be okay if you work hard. Stay focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to get work ahead. Some teachers don't realize you have other classes.

    In three sentences

    It's a school where you can get a degree. Don't come thinking it's a party place. It's just a community college.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe! Police officers are continually driving all around dorms and buildings to make sure everything is safe. There are also Emergency Poles situated all across campus with a speaker that is transmitted directly to the officer's walkie talkie.

    Clubs and Activities

    I recommend Servant Leadership, Honors Program, Phi Theta Kappa, and Darton Ambassadors Program.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for high school graduates from all over the nation. I say this because of the smaller class sizes and professors with servant hearts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The second speed bump is bigger than all the others. In the J Building, the middle door tends to lock itself.

    What to do for fun

    Servant Leadership and the Honors Program provides many opportunities ranging from on campus bake sales to New Orleans trips. There are opportunities around ever corner for those willing to stand up and seek it out. Involvement with Darton organizations will take up your time whether it is volunteering, student working, or spending time with classmates or teammates.

    Academic Rigor

    At Darton, students will be educated and challenged to pursue higher levels of learning. Keep the pace and know that each professor is more than willing to help. Knowledge can be used for the greater good and an education is an extremely valuable gift.

    Tips for prospective students

    To future students, I recommend staying on top of all your classes and taking college seriously. Darton will has always been a gracious and personal, but make sure to be responsible in college as well. Time management will be your best friend if practiced efficiently. Also, be aware that procrastination will show itself a huge mistake near the end of each semester. Time is valuable!

    In three sentences

    Darton is an excellent school for students fresh from high school. My experience there definitely grants a five star rating. I highly recommend this school to all high school graduates.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to to Student Center!

    In three sentences

    I would give Darton College a 9/10. It is a wonderful school with an amazing staff. It has a great sports program, so I would recommend it to in and out of state students.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many police around campus. So there is really no need to worry when it comes down to safety. There are also small pillars that, with a press of a button, summons the police to your exact location if something is wrong. These pillars are located throughout the campus.

    What to do for fun

    In Darton there is an area called the student center. Here, you can play pool, rock climb, foosball, racquetball, table tennis and video games. You can also bowl. In the gym area there is a swimming area, basketball court, yoga station and a track.

    Food and Dining

    I loved the food at Darton. It is an all-you-can-eat buffet, with the option of Darton Bucks which is usually used for other food related products within the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    My experience in the dorms was a good one, but i personally did not like how the dorm residency was ran. In Darton, there are many floor plan. This gives students a wide variety of choices on how they would like to live. As of right now, there are two dorm houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Because Darton is a small college, it tends to have smaller classes. Because of this, it is easier for you to contact your teacher and set up tutor sessions if you are having difficulties in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are still not certain about applying, or may have read a past review that may have swayed your decision, i would at least apply and tour the campus. I personally think you will enjoy Darton.

    In three sentences

    Darton is a small college where learning is a breeze. Although the area around it contains no activities, Darton makes it up with many scheduled activities on campus. Because everything is close, its easier to meet new people and learn new things.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are specific police officers for the campus who don't really do much besides traffic tickets. Some students also ride bike patrol which does not make me feel safe at all. I think they need to amp up their security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Darton is very club oriented and it pays off to get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of foreign exchange students and I think it is a great idea for them to go to Darton. It is huge into sports so if you are an athlete and are good at what you do, they will reward you heavily.

    Bang for the buck

    Darton is very cheap. You get a good education for a pretty small price. They are a two year institution but have expanded some programs to four year. I recommend if you are in the South Georgia area to go to this school to save money and then go off to a four year.

    What to do for fun

    Darton tries to have many student activities to make up for the lack of things to do in Albany. Outside of campus Albany has many restaurants, a movie theater and a mall. The mall does not have very many stores and the theater hardly brings new movies to it unless they are huge movies or doing really well in the box office. There are a few parks and things of that nature and 2 sit down coffee shops. If you look hard enough there are things to do. Keep your mind open and be creative with daily activities!

    Food and Dining

    They just got a new catering company last year and the food is very good! They change the hot line daily but also have a pizza and burger bar. They have snacks stocked as well as deserts. I have seen better cafeterias but for the school's size and budget I say it's really good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms but many of my friends did and enjoyed it very much. They are new and are spacious compared to other school's dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the instructor. I have had classes that were very strict and into the book but I have also had classes that are very laid back and I did not have to purchase the book. I have brought my GPA up tremendously here and it is all because of my instructors. They help you with whatever you need and want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you do your work. If you put in the effort you will see results and so will your instructors. Do not expect it to be a huge college campus with a bunch of partying and all kinds of things to do. This school is located in a small town and has that small town feel to it.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small but home-like school. The professors truly care about you and your education. This school wants to see you succeed.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is amazing. They always have different types of food that you can choose from. The let you experience different types of food among the world.

    Dorm Life

    I actually live in an apartment off Campus. But i've heard that the dorms are very comfortable and make you feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very good at what they do. They always make sure that their students aren't doing anything but succeeding in the class.

    In three sentences

    Darton College is a very interesting, calming and relaxing school. I feel that it's a school where your focus never leaves. The professors are always there to help you succeed.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always surveying the area and the car park, haven't seen a breach of safety yet!

    Great for these types of students

    Sports athletes will have a ball! This college takes there sports seriously, successful on and off the court/field!

    Bang for the buck

    I would say its definitely bang for buck with a little financial aid, would certainly want to pay all of the fees out of pocket though!

    What to do for fun

    You can play soccer, indoor or out door! We have our own climbing wall, and our own bowling alley! The student center is where everything is, perfect place to socialise! We have video gaming, racquetball, pool and table tennis!

    Food and Dining

    Food is diverse, but can get boring after a while. Closing time of the cafeteria as previously mentioned can be a problem but you are surrounded by too many fast food restaurants to worry about that to be honest!

    Dorm Life

    Fun, the best dorms I've ever seen. Better than some four year schools! Everyone is really friendly and it's really safe, staying off campus is where the problems lie. Can be a little costly on campus especially including the meal plan, problem with that is the cafeteria closes at 7:30pm and you are bound to get hungry after that!

    Academic Rigor

    So far, so good. Pretty simple as long as you stay focused in class and take care of homework. Only problem might be if you are stuck with a lecturer who expects you to take your own notes and study them to prepare for a test. There are a lot of essays though, so be prepared for that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head down. Apply for housing early! Stay on top of your classes and do what you can to use all systems available to you. Keep an eye on your teachers work ethic and success rate, having the wrong teacher can cost you a better grade. Some teachers seem content with people not passing class which frustrates me.

    In three sentences

    Darton is a very helpful college with top sports facilities. They have a really successful soccer team. You will do really well here if you stay focused!

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You have the small university feel for the price of a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Darton offers many activities and clubs, fitness area, bowling alley and rockwall are made available to all students. Included in tuition is also free admission to parks and theaters in surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    There is quite a variety. The cost is a little high.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have first hand experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic expectations out of students are very simple. The curriculum is very straight forward

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although hassling at times, Darton has an excellent campus safety. Darton has its own police department who will answer you at any time of night. Throughout the campus and around the dorms, there are emergency buttons to press if something disastrous were to happen and you needed help right away. Darton students are given a Cavalier Card to give them access to certain buildings, in particular the dorms. If you do not have a card, you cannot gain access inside the building unless someone lets you inside. Once inside, you cannot gain access to hallways, elevators, or stairs unless you have assistance again. During the day, Resident Assistants and Desk Workers monitor the doors at all times. In the evenings and at night, Darton Police monitors and outsourced security guards come in for the early mornings. You are allowed to have guests from off-Darton in the dorms or in other buildings on campus, but, of course, they are not free to roam around on their own.

    Greek Life

    Darton does not offer Greek Life at this time, but it is in the works to be in place either by 2014 or 2015.

    Clubs and Activities

    Darton offers a great variety of clubs and activities for students to participate in, whether it be sports, arts, religious affiliations, or even video gaming! There's something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as I am aware of, Darton does not offer any unusual traditions or locations on campus... although no one has ever seen the mascot... EVER.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the dorms are a tad expensive (definitely cheaper than an apartment), the actual tuition at Darton is very manageable. If you went all out with books included and living on campus in a PRIVATE dorm, you would spend no more than $8700 a semester. Of course, most students choose a small meal plan, a roommate, and to not pay some fees, but Darton is definitely a great place to go financially.

    What to do for fun

    Darton does offer some activities for fun, but they are definitely lacking in this department. They tend to offer something every Thursday and some on different days of the week. The problem is that Thursdays do not always accommodate everyone as the Darton Campus Life office tends to believe. Students still have class on Fridays, so some of the students do not get to participate in these events.

    Food and Dining

    Darton has its own cafeteria, and... it kind of bites. Unfortunately, Darton does not have commercial restaurants around like a Chic-Fil-A or a Starbucks, but there is a decent cafeteria where many different kinds of foods are served. There aren't any strangers to the cafeteria, but if you live in the dorms, you won't avoid it; any resident at Darton is required to obtain a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Darton College's dorm life is not the greatest. Although the dorms are the nicest I have ever seen (private bathroom, private bedroom, and shared living area), they are increasing in price. Darton is soon to start building another dormitory, but it seems to be set up like the other two buildings. Things are very loud in the dorms from the other students, so expect that! Security is kind of tight and the stipulations and rules can be a hassle sometimes, but it is a lot better than four walls and walking down the hallway to use a bathroom stall!

    Academic Rigor

    Darton State College has some hard classes and some easy classes. If you find the right professor for you (I suggest RateMyProfessor) and pay attention in class and actually attend class, you will be set on doing well in your class! It is NOT hard to have a 4.0 GPA here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Darton College, take as many classes as you can! I'm not saying that instructors go easy here, but not many classes are deathly difficult. If you plan on living in the dorms, be prepared for noise. If you just have to have complete silence, I advise against living in the dorms. There are pretty nice and safe off-campus apartments about half of a mile down the road.

    In three sentences

    Darton College is a relatively small campus with an enormous quantity of students for it to be a two-year college. The campus and the student size are growing and growing leaving lots of new people to meet! Although Darton does offer some activities, things do die down sort of quick.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have law enforcement on campus 24/7 to ensure our safety and protection.

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to list such as outdoor, fbla, sga, honors program

    Great for these types of students

    social and dedicated educational people

    Bang for the buck

    Not only that the expenses here are competitively cheaper, but it is a bang for your buck. I would have at least half the loans as a normal college student at any university in one year alone.

    What to do for fun

    Here at Darton, we have an amazing student center; including rock climbing, bowling, pool, video games, etc. We also have several student activities for peers to enjoy and meet others.

    Food and Dining

    We have plenty of varieties; from international foods to pizza to american.

    Dorm Life

    We have state of the art dormitories; everyone has their own room and bathroom. I've seen horrible dorms and rate Darton's the best I've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are somewhat rigorous, but the teachers are there helping you along the way providing assistance and support.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip needed for prospective students is to be ready to learn and enjoy the upcoming success you will endure.

    In three sentences

    Darton College is a very successful institution. It has a great social life with very greeting peers. Also, you will find it easy to get help with your career goals.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big deal at Darton. There are several emergency stations in the parking lots that alert the campus police. The campus police also walk around the grounds, keeping an eye on every thing. I feel very safe at Darton because of this.

    Bang for the buck

    Darton is an excellent school for saving money and getting a good foundation in the core classes. The option to rent textbooks is also a great money saver. Overall, Darton is a very cost effective school.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun. The bowling lanes and pool tables are always busy. The school also has many different activities such as paintball games and clubs for just about everything. The theatre also hosts plays and monologues. There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    I am not familiar with the food and dining because I ate off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not familiar with the dorm life because I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I found Darton college to be a good academic challenge. The teachers are very helpful but also want you to take notes and figure it out on your own. If you have any questions about the work you are doing the teachers are always willing to answer them during their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library and all the other resources the school offers. Do not be late to class or miss class because there is little tolerance for it. Enjoy your time there and get involved in student activities.

    In three sentences

    Darton College is a great school for starting the college experience because it allows students to save money and get a great education in the core classes. Darton also allows first time students the chance to get a feel of college life without the overwhelming population at a larger campus. Overall, Darton College is an excellent school to start out at.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The environment of the campus is safe, you can walk from your apartment in the mornings, with no worries at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different activities on campus in the student building, and clubs that you can join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is in a great area where you have the mall, and other shopping centers near the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall Darton College is a great school to attend that has excellent instructors. Everything about it is what I thought it would be, I would give it a 5 in ratings.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is meet my friends the school activity hall after my classes, etc.

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent I would give it a 5 stars

    Dorm Life

    I give the dorm life a 5 plus

    Academic Rigor

    I give the Academic a 4 plus stars

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking to attend a great 2 year college, that is also affordable then this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I see Darton College as a great 2 year institutional college, its has great instructors that are always willing to help you. The campus is also great and has a newly built dorm rooms. My first year here at Darton has been a great one.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is very safe, but some students in the dorms have been vandalizing other students' bikes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Darton has an endless amount clubs and activities. I especially like the athletic activities.

    What to do for fun

    Darton has several activities that are open to all students, such as rock climbing, dances, many different competitions, free activities at Fun Park, and movies featured on the field.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually good, but it can be expensive. I like how they have people who perform music or trivia games for entertainment during lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms can be very fun and entertaining because they offer ping pong and pool tables in some of the lobbies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Darton is a fairly easy school to figure out, but many of their offices are very unorganized, and not very helpful.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have visited the campus on several occasion and every time I have noticed a police car patrolling the campus.

    Dorm Life

    though I don't live at the dorms they appear to be a nice and quiet living environment

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want peaceful college life this school is for you. though I go to the Cordele campus I have visited the Albany campus and either place is a great place to go. but you must study in order to past the teachers keep you on your toes.

    In three sentences

    Darton College is a great place to go if you live in or out of state of Georgia. The teachers are heads on in learning and the material is interesting. so if you want to attend a college with small classes and a great learning environment this college is for you.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Darton Police are very strict and are always on campus doing rounds and in and out of the dorms and buildings to ensure safety. All Darton police officers are also certified Albany police officers.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes. With about 7,000 students both in class and online, they are split between 11 men and womens sports teams it makes up almost half the college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you love sports then you will love Darton even more. Darton is one of the most competitive schools in the NJCAA and wins or contends for the national championship every year in each sport.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price that you pay to attend Darton vs the experience and education you receive is more than worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening every night here at Darton. Whether it is an event happening that night or the huge variety of activities at the student center. There is also a fun park not too far from campus/

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with clubs and intramurals as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Darton is probably the best 2-year college there is. The student involvement and events are unreal. I am currently a freshman here at Darton, and I never thought I would have so much fun at a 2-year college.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very important at Darton College. They have Georgia Police on staff working full time to keep the campus safe. There are also safety posts around campus with call buttons in case of emergency. The dorms can only be accessed by those students living there through their ID card.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs such as Student Government Association, Baptist Collegiate Ministries, MESA (Mathematics, Engineering, Science, Achievement) Phi Theta Kappa, Servant Leadership, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone trying to get those core classes done before moving on to a larger college. Also, great for anyone interested in Allied Health and Nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located in South West Georgia it has the southern atmosphere, but with the large international student population it makes for a great campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth the tuition. The education is great and well worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramurals, the student center has an indoor rock wall, raquetball courts, bowling alley, and video games. There are always events going on like international festival, beach party, and outdoor adventures.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. I eat in the dining hall occasionally. Some of the students that live in the dorms get tired of it though.

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not stay in the dorms, I have heard that they are great. The have work out rooms and lounge areas for the students. They also hold many dorm-wide activities such as Christmas parties and Haunted houses

    Academic Rigor

    This college is one of the best 2 year colleges (now 4 year in nursing) in Georgia, both academically and athletically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the instructors and ask questions; get to know them. Get invloved in some sort of club and meet students with a common interest as you. This isn't high school so find some motivation to get through your classes no matter what.

    In three sentences

    It�´s a small campus with big opportunities. The instructors are always there to help a student when needed. They offer many online courses so you can finish your degree faster.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Due to the on campus police department, student who come to Darton will always feel safe and secure knowing that the officers are essentially right up stairs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs ranging from the Gamer Club to the Foreign Language Club as well as many different academic and sports related activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Darton College campus boast a Japanese style pond in the middle of campus which is home to many Coy Fish.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the same education at Darton as you would at an University while having smaller more personal classes.

    What to do for fun

    For students who like to hang out with friends, Darton College has a Student center equip with a rock climbing wall, bowling alley, pool tables, Racket Ball court, and multiple gaming system.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall offers many different choices in a friendly cafeteria/ dinner setting boasting booths as well as individual tables.

    Dorm Life

    I currently commute to school so I do not have any personal knowledge of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    While the classes are not as challenging for some student for most it is hard enough to keep them interested and attentive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Early registrations is key for any college, due to the opportunity to plan out a schedule that fits you best.

    In three sentences

    It is a small, down to earth, peaceful community college. It is a growing 2-year college that has recently started a 4-year nursing program. It offers small classes that allow for more on-on-one time with professors.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses in Georgia

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a lot of clubs and activities to join, no matter your interest happen to be.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good school for someone who wants to go to a small school. They don't have much prestige and it's not a glamourous school, but it's very community oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing too crazy on campus. Just the regular college stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I'm getting my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of things to do on campus thanks to campus life. They also have events off campus like skate night and free events at the local fun park.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. They have healthy options and then they have the usual pizza, fries, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. You get your own room and bathroom no matter what dorm you live in. The only downside is that since there aren't a lot of dorms you might have to be on a waiting list if you wait too long to apply.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too hard so far. The homework isn't a lot. It's actually better than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid done early!

    In three sentences

    This is a great school, especially considering it's a community college. The teachers want to help you learn. It has the feel of a university, but it's still small.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Darton has a very low crime rate. School police and the local police department are there, on campus, 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Student Center!! It has games, bowling, food and a media center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. I love that there is a Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but they look nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the school's labs, tutors, library and instructors. They are there to make sure you accomplish your goal.

    In three sentences

    Darton College ensures that all of their students have the tools necessary to complete their academic goals.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Compelet the application process early

    In three sentences

    I believe Darton College is one the highest rated colleges in the area. It is very professional and has great staff and students. I would recommend datron to anyone

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ranked 3rd in the Nation for Campus Security.

    What to do for fun

    Stardust Skate Center sponsors a Darton College Skate Night, where DC students get special discounts and have lots of fun with their fellow friends! It's so exciting!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and home-cooked. Very comfy and down home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are AMAZING! Great space, a chance to network with new people, and the thrill of being on your own..AWESOME!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a 2-year college with lots of amenities, Darton College is the place for you. I guarantee that it'll be well worth it.

    In three sentences

    Darton College was one of the best decisions I've ever made, in regards to college. The campus is always jumping with different events and activities. I LOVE IT!!

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and ways to get involved.

    What to do for fun

    Darton holds many events for students on and off campus including movies, free days at fun park, and skating.

    Food and Dining

    Nice Cafe, it is an all you can eat buffet. :)

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are usually fair about everything and relatively good about helping out or returning e-mails.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any future college student, check all of your options for buying or renting books, whether it's online or through other students don't pay full price!

    In three sentences

    Darton College is a very pleasant college, it has a nice campus and a good sized student center. The school also has a safe environment with many friendly professors.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! I had evening classes so I got out late and walked with a group if possible but the college offers alot of lightening around the campus. Also, there are always an security office riding around on campus. There are also buttons you can press around the campus if you are in fear or need security!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs and activities you can join. The college is always having some sort of activity going on; bowling night, ladies night, pizza and movie and ect.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is decent in price, however I felt like some of the money they charged the students was useless but that is most colleges. That is the way the colleges get their money, additional fees. This college charges every semester $10 fee for your student ID but if you loose it you have to pay like $15-$20 for a new one? I dont understand since they charge you by semester. Also since the gym is fairly new they charge you I think almost $100 per sermester whether you use it or not. Crazy to me!

    Food and Dining

    Darton has a lunch room with a variety of food and drinks. There are homemade lunches, sandwiches and fries, salad area and pizza. They have different deserts and all kinds of drinks to choose from other than there soda machine.

    Dorm Life

    They have brand new dorms that are really nice. I have not lived in them but have friends who do and love them. They are nice in size, and have alot to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always something going on. Their baseball is very fun to watch and very popular. They have a nice, huge gym with inside swimming pool and lots of exercise machines and tools available for use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let anything get in your way of getting a college degree. If you cant attend college due to your job hours or babysitter or whatever the case may be, check into the online courses it offers and start from there. If you have time, engaged in some of the activities the college has to offer; it helps to get-away from school work and have some fun here and there. Work hard to get what you want :)

    In three sentences

    Darton is a large college with alot to offer. It has alot of courses and many ways to achieve your dream in the degree you want. It has many events to offer to students to keep school fun and less stressful.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are around 24/7 to make sure the campus and the students are safe everyday and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are fun and I always learn something new from them. I also get a chance to meet new people.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the student center gaming area to bowl, play pool and also videogames and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. You have a variety of different food that you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun. You hhave your own room and space. The dorms are a good place to stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Education is the key that most teachers and tutors try to help students with. You get a chance to have one-on-one time with your teachers. They are there to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be prepared for what to come and be ready to face challenges that come ahead. Be smart and get your education and get all of the help that you can get.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kind of students

    Tips for prospective students

    just keep a level head..focus on your goal.

    Bang for the buck

    I have to make use of my time there so i can help my mom take care of all my education expense which will occur while in college, after i graduate, its not a very expensive college to most but to us it is when things are the way it is.

    Will enjoy being here

    my main focus will be studing , but i believe i will enjoy myself there.

    Will learn a lot

    yes i believe i will learn alot from Darton, they have a good program going on.

  • 11/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college can be great for any type of student. The potential student just has to determine whether the college is a good fit for him or her.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your applications (to the college, for financial aid, etc.) out of the way, so more time can be spent preparing for college.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is generally clean. Although one might see trash from the occasional litterbug, trash is picked up and will not greet you when you enter the campus. Trash cans and recycling bins are readily available for those who want to dispose of something. The janitorial staff is in full force. You will see them throughout the day cleaning the campus. The bathrooms are clean except for the occasional tissue or paper towel on the floor or the somewhat found unflushed toilet. There is soap and water or hand sanitizer available for your hand washing needs. The landscape is well-maintained with cut grass and well-shaved trees and bushes. The availability of classes is good. Darton offers a wide variety of associate's degrees and certificates, and the classes correspond to that fact. In some of the most popular and/or most required classes, there might be as many as 20-30 sections available. Classes are offered face-to-face, online, as hybrids, by television, on Saturdays, and at night. Most classes last the entire semester, but there is the option of taking classes that last half of a semester or classes that last 10 weeks.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are a variety of activities to do on campus. Seminars covering a wide variety of topics are held from time-to-time. Clubs, honor societies, and other student organizations are present. There is a new student center on campus where students spend time together. They can partake in a bowling alley, a climbing wall, a ping-pong table, a pool table, racquetball courts, or a meal. There are men's and women's sports teams available. Other events, like pep rallies, dodgeball tournaments, and casino nights, for example, occur sometimes. If there is some event happening on campus, students will get an e-mail about it and/or will see fliers about it all over the place.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are a mixed bag. A lot of the teachers are very nice people. In regards to their teaching style, some teachers can be easily understood. Others have a style that can make it hard to understand the material. It is understood that respect is expected in the classroom. Teachers try to be helpful when explaining something that a student might not understand. Some teachers, in their capacity as online teachers, do not interact with their online classes very well. Examples include not responding to e-mail quickly enough and not spending enough time focused on the class. Other online teachers are interactive and responsive. Some of the online teachers do not live in the same state as the college and can be reached only by e-mail. Some face-to-face teachers do not have offices.