Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Georgia Piedmont Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/19/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are trying to get ahead. ( currently in high school)

  • 08/04/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    my college offers a lot of technical majors. it also provides a close for ged. some classes are hosted at night. this institution will change someone's life.

  • 08/08/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always officers around the entire campus. I personally have dealt with an issue at the campus and it was dealt with very appropriately. Officers are always around whether its walking you to your car at night or just simply being a presence there. ( Let me know if you would like to know anything else about GPTC) Thanks!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs like SGA, National Society of Leadership and Success, the honor society, the accounting club, humanities and more! I am currently leaving the office of parliamentarian and all of us were required as students leaders to make sure that the clubs were important to student life and are designed to be a fun experience for students.

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy interactive professors, small classroom size, and enjoy seeing an up and coming college become an amazing college. This is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Make every effort to get financial aid. Also make very effort to buy used books. Never ever buy new books especially when the used books are in great condition.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities one can get involved in here. There are field trips, competitions, leadership conferences and more a student can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria here, at the moment any way. So what the college does is host eatery events for students. There is pretty much an event almost every week. However, a cafeteria is absolutely needed here. A guy gets hungry you know.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently taking up Business Management at GPTC and it has been a great experience for me. The professors are kind and allow students to be expressive in classrooms. The professors teach students in meaningful and purposeful ways that can help you in the business world. They teach students how to deal with real life situations, not just out of a book.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would have for perspective students is to register as early as possible. Don't waste any time! First get academic counseling. Secondly, you need to ( if you so choose to) apply. Thirdly, don't wait for someone to hand you information, get it yourself. You should dedicate an entire day to this process.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Piedmont Technical College is an up and coming kind of college. It has great potential and many of the programs are geared towards students. GPTC has been a very engaging experience for me.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This college is exactly what I was looking for. The instructors care about the students and really want you to succeed.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i think its awesome!! I have a lot of friends that attend this school I I have never heard no complaints as far as anyone messing with there cars or any other personals...

    Greek Life

    im loving everthing about gpt college!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There clubs and there activities about there school are on point!!

    Great for these types of students

    There mathematics classes and business classes are great!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really don't see to much unusual things going on...

    What to do for fun

    Basically

    Food and Dining

    There dining area stays top-notch ,and clean!! and very friendly staff!!

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus but they say its great!!

    Academic Rigor

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaa++++++

    In three sentences

    There great as far as there instructor,there teaching is inpecable! There location is very easy to find!! And there staff in financial aid,registration,etc are really upcoming!!!

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are very visiable.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the Humanities Society and we have other clubs on campus which also is preparing me for social activities at a four year college.

    Great for these types of students

    If a person is planning on trying to get a job after training, this is a good start.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy being able to do my work online because it has gotten me preparred for academic life at a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    I am in the Humanities Society and the school also have activities planned for us.

    Food and Dining

    There are only vending machines. We are requesting a cafe but there has not been any talks of getting one. Hopefully we will get one soon.

    Dorm Life

    Georgia Piedmont does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The hard work is woth it in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you communicate with your professors.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Piedmont has been very helpful in the knowledge I have gotten to make for my career choices. I enjoy the professors. I like the activities they have planned for us.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Technical students , trade students , ones who are intimidated by larger colleges its a smooth transition

    Bang for the buck

    I went for free . They have about a billion scholarships to make sure everyone does.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on here

    Food and Dining

    There is only a quick trip gas station and a soul food restaurant nearby . You have to bring lunch or a car :/

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms so I stayed at home but I give my house 5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't hard you have to show up and try .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are the top of your class you'll do well here and probably remain at the top , however even if you are at the bottom you can become the top. The teachers really help you and everyone cares.

    In three sentences

    It's definitely a place to learn and grow . I feel like its made for an easy transition and its very inexpensive.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and societies to join within the college for fun!

    Food and Dining

    The college is surrounded by many different cultures that offer fine dining options in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Georgia Piedmont does not have dorm accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic requirements are strict, but teaching and workshops are always offered to assist students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always register for classes and financial aid in ample time, should problems or the need for more information should arise.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Piedmont is conveniently located on Memorial Drive. The College has a lot of programs to offer for common careers. The staff is very attentive and helpful!

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is excellent, they will even walk you to your car if you need them to. And they are very friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    The first time student who is not sure of themselves or the classes they want to take. The campus has many that will help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make sure that when deciding on classes , sign up for them quickly they fill up very fast.

    In three sentences

    Nice and clean campus. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The classes are easy to understand and the setting is very calm.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    no cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    they do not have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focused and you will succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here and be focused

    In three sentences

    This school is a school to attend once you have exhausted all options or messed up at your current university. The teachers are good depending on who you choose. The campus is not all that great, it needs to be updated and renovated.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a good security campus

    Greek Life

    We do not have a greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    We have the Humanities club ,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone hangs out at the little cafeteria bar outside in the breeze way

    What to do for fun

    We go to the campus next door which is Georgia Perimeter and meet up with other students.

    Food and Dining

    Around the campus there is an Applebee's , Waffle House , China Cafeteria , Donnies Restaraunt.

    Dorm Life

    Georgia Piedmont does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a great learning oppurtunity you dont want to miss.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your coming to learn at Georgia Piedmont stay focused on your work. Do your work and study hard.

    In three sentences

    I rate Georgia Piedmont a very nice school. The students and faculty members are very polite. The pace of learning is just right.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GPTC clarkston campus is not the best for safety. However the newton campus is VERY safe and quite.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 25 organizations on campus. Some that are closely related to one's major.

    Great for these types of students

    From high schoolstudents (GED) to seasoned adults.

    Bang for the buck

    A great starter college to get most, if not all of your core classes for cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Joined the Humanities Society. Participating in different walks (breast cancer, aids). Hosea Feed the Hunger volunteer

    Food and Dining

    If you're more of a honey baked ham/pizza/vending machine kind of person, then this is for you!

    Dorm Life

    GPTC doesn't offer on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    3 Things: 1. Get to class ON TIME 2. Study groups 2. Communicate with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, develop a relationship with your advisors/professors. If you plan on transferring to a 4-year institution, keep track of transferable credits. Also get active on campus!

    In three sentences

    Georgia Piedmont Technical College, a place where everyone is welcomed with open arms. As a transfer student, it was easy for me to adjust and get acquainted with my professors. Faculty and Staff truly look out for the best interest of the students of GPTC.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Georgia Piedmont Technical College offers great programs. I enjoy how you are able to do core classes along with your curriculum classes. I just enjoy this school.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Security always present.

    Clubs and Activities

    Available

    Great for these types of students

    Independent Online Nontraditional Anyone needing a career oriented education

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are dedicated to your success. The director of my program worked tirelessly to obtain interships for all the students in her class.

    What to do for fun

    There are various student activities, clubs, and greek affilialtions.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The material is hard and fast-paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn the material. You can succeed.

    In three sentences

    An exciting atmosphere with a focus of career and employment. Educational experience geared towards hands on learning. I recommend this school for anyone needing to enter the workforce.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all age commuters and older adult students living in Covington or around the Covington area. Main campus better for the younger audience that lives in the Clarkston area.

    What to do for fun

    Not much is offered in the fun department at smaller campus but there are many academic organizations. The min campus has tons of social events as well as academic organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines at both. Cafe at the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    NONE

    Tips for prospective students

    Good if you live at home and more into your academics then anything else. I do not suggest this school is you want a On Campus Student Life. This school does not offer any elective courses in Arts, Music, etc. but many options in career based two year degree/diploma programs.

    In three sentences

    This technical college a two year degree school that is strictly built around a business and professional environment with very little to do as far as Student Life goes. All work and no play type campus. Has two campuses the bigger campus, located in Clarkston,GA has more of a younger student fell to it and a lot more student base activites, but both are commuter schools.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    not really nothing to do for fun. there are seminars but they arent really fun there informative.

    Food and Dining

    vending machines

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    they are really good at drilling information in your head.

    Tips for prospective students

    get tutors if needed. stick to your counselors they will help as much as possible. keep in contact with you teacher when they are available.

    In three sentences

    this school is very intimate. the classes are small and its a good starting school. just a slow process with this school and they are really slow so you would have to stay on them.