Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dominican University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/18/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Dominican University has a beautiful, Hogwarts-esque campus with the friendliest people you will ever meet. The staff and faculty truly care about you as a person, not just someone contributing to their salary and the students are so talented, driven, and hard working. The overall feel of the campus is just a bunch of people truly trying to make the world a better place.

  • 09/12/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been any event on campus that was harmful and even then Dominican is in Oak Park, one of the safest neighborhoods in Chicagoland. If anything were to happen campus safety reports very quickly.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 69 clubs and organizations and other events on campus such as WOW days where every Wednesday there is something to do or eat (last week was bagel day and the week before was bubble soccer).

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are passionate about what they are doing and are open to new possibilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Candle and Rose ceremony at the end of Senior Year that is just beautiful. It is where a student gives a candle and rose to the person who helped them the most on their journey through college. Its a procession on a gorgeous balcony that is held every year for many generations.

    Bang for the buck

    Dominican offered me the most amount of scholarships compared to other schools in the city. They give amazing scholarships that not other schools tend to offer as much.

    What to do for fun

    They have a few on campus events, yet could use a bit more in my opinion. I usually just roam the campus for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I personally love the Cyber Cafe on campus, which is separate from the dining hall, yet you use the same meal plan/ DU bucks for. They make whatever sandwich you want, they have a starbucks, and a bunch of other things you can buy like suchi. The main dinning hall is also cool, it looks like a scene out of harry potter and the food is varied and good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Murray, the new dorm and it is bigger than most dorms in the country, plus it has its own floor community. Dorm Life is cool because you get to meet someone who can be like you, and sometimes it may not go the way you want it to but you compromise. Plus, no one can tell you what time you should go to bed or what to eat when watching Netflix late at night!

    Academic Rigor

    I was in the International Baccalaureate Program in high school which was super rigorous itself so I though college was going to be a bit easier because you have more time. However, I learned that it was still pretty hard in terms of the work, the material is presented in an easily understandable manner by the professors so you are not left alone if you don't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is kind of hard making friends, but I learned almost everyone is shy so don't be afraid to approach people. Oh and use the underground tunnels to get to one building from another!

    In three sentences

    It is a breathtaking beautiful campus small enough to get to know your peers and faculty closely. The class sizes are nice and the amount of scholarships helped a great amount. It does get quiet on weekends just because most people who go here are from the chicagoland area.

  • 05/12/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs offered here at du, but they are not advertised enough, so people don't know about them. make sure you keep a look at your emails and go to events! they are so much fun and a lot of free stuff is offered :)

    What to do for fun

    downtown oak park is a lot of fun. there are a lot of cute stores and amazing restaurants around the area and they are not priced badly at all. also, its a shuttle ride away from the green line, which is cheap and easy access to downtown chicago.

    Food and Dining

    the food quality usually starts wonderful but goes down throughout the year. it is definitely better than average compared to other colleges, though. the people that work there recognize you and attempt to get to know you; they will always put a smile on your face. cyber cafe is a quick fix for food, especially later at night (it stays open until 11 on weekdays).

    Dorm Life

    everyone in the dorms are usually nice. the dorms, all of them, have their special qualities. murray has air conditioning, and you get your own bathroom to share with only 3 other students. coughlin and power are public bathrooms, but they feel "homey", for a lack of a better term; the floors are a dark wood and the walls are painted nicely.

    Academic Rigor

    because the class sizes are so small, it means that professors are able to challenge you to your best ability. they can help you, get to know you and your learning styles, and really strive for each and every student to do their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want the "typical college experience", dominican isn't for you. sure, we have parties, but this school isn't really knows for their parties. always smile at students, professors, and whoever you see; odds are, they will smile back, and want to get to know you! one thing that attracted me to this school is the fact that everyone holds open the doors for one another and always says "thank you". if you want a school with good manners, this is the place!

    In three sentences

    dominican university is a safe, diverse, and welcoming school. the classes are small, but the one-on-one interaction with professors brings about major success. the food is okay, but the dining hall and cyber ladies will always make you smile!

  • 01/01/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe at Dominican University. There is always an officer walking around the building.

    Greek Life

    I haven't seen anything of the sort for Dominican University however, I have seen posters about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities at Dominican University you just have to know where to look.

    Great for these types of students

    University is great for students looking for a smaller class sizes, closer interactions with professors and a home away from the busy city life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dominican University is in fact a religious school to a certain extent. We follow Caritas Veritas symposium which classes are canceled for students to attend presentations on very interesting subjects.

    Bang for the buck

    Many employers are very noticeable for a student at Dominican. Dominican University has events where employers are at campus with hopes of hiring Dominican students.

    What to do for fun

    Dominican is a relatively small campus. At the university you can attend Men's or Women's soccer events, open gym and at times the Fine Arts building they have scheduled events such as musicals, stand-up comedy and plays.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Dominican is really good. Recently, they offer a way range of foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They now offer deserts at the Cybercafe now.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter I have friends who dorm at Dominican University who state that their isn't much to do on campus. However, since the campus is pretty close to the city so their are many alternatives.

    Academic Rigor

    Dominican offers competitive classes that can prove to be difficult. It all depends on your major and level of classes you intend to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small class sizes, advisor supervision thoroughly your four years at Dominican, study rooms in computer rooms, library and cafeteria and many organizations that are available to join.

    In three sentences

    Dominican University is a great school to attend if you are looking for a alternative to everyday city life. Dominican University offers small class sizes and here you can develop excellent relationships with your professors because of the small class. Strongly recommend considering Dominican University in your college search.

  • 11/27/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They barely have security and at night there's only a few and they aren't patrolling as often or checking areas from what i see. Very dark at night so don't Rome around alone(obviously) especially on priory campus. For dorms they do have a pretty safe set up for guest entry and double doors etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    They don't promote as they should and they lack enthusiasm. Plus side you do have more fun if you get involved because you meet people and get the 411 on events.

    What to do for fun

    At times we have activities on campus but they lack the promoting part of whats going on. We have a decent amount of clubs for such a small school but not much to do its a very quiet campus. NOT A COLLEGE TOWN type like other bigger schools.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast and at times lunch is the best place to eat at the dining hall but dinner sucks. Cyber is were majority of the students go to. The staff at the dining hall are always open to suggestions on what to improve and are sweet.

    Dorm Life

    The halls are boring hence the fact that many students are commuters. Also its hard to have fun in the city if your under 21 since there aren't that many fun things to do in the city at night on the weekend if you're under 21. There ups and downs, the closeness to all the resources this university offers is great and the size of the room is pretty good compared to other universities but it depends on which hall you stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors do have a rigorous academic plan but its manageable as long as you study! Studying becomes your life here if you want that 4.0 gpa.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love the social aspect of school this university lacks it very much. Also don't be fooled by all the highlights there a lot of downfalls as well. This school suits the people that really want to study hard and have their life plans already.

    In three sentences

    This university is small. The social life is dead. Majority of professors are amazing.

  • 12/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never seen anything bad happen here.

    Greek Life

    Seems fun, I do not dorm there so don't know much about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from and a lot of events going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want small classrooms, Professors that care about you like in high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a priory campus located about 5 minutes away from the school itself, pretty weird but it exists.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty affordable or at least for me it was.

    What to do for fun

    They have game nights, plays, shows, free food, the quad, movie nights, and small parties for everyone to come.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten there but the food smells good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm there, but I have seem that the rooms are pretty big compared to other university dorms I have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are really good at explaining and talking with you after or during their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school will be great for you if you are looking for a small school, with small class sizes, where your professors will know your name. This is it.

    In three sentences

    I like this school more than I liked my highs school. First of all, there are great professors that care about the students. And there are students that care about each other. I love the small classrooms, I like how there are a lot of resources in this small school. I wouldn't go anywhere else, even if I got a full ride scholarship. Best school!

  • 11/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very secure and is located in the quiet residential suburban area of River Forest. There are security personnel on campus but it is so secure that call buttons are unnecessary and have not been needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs - around 45 and each one hosts so many events each year, and they all enhance the community. So from Fashion Club to Campus Ministry you will find your niche.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are invested in their future - Dominican is a great school for students interested in a number of fields. If you have a field in mind not only do we have it but we have all the resources necessary for you to succeed

    What to do for fun

    The director of student activities ensures that there is never a dull moment on campus. There are bowling nights, movie nights, game nights, homecoming, Halloween Bash, DU Fest, Haunted Tours, guest lectures, Campus Ministry, DU day at the Lake movie theater where tickets are only three dollars, Poster sales, book sales, bake sales, soccer, tennis court, racquet ball, a gym, and the list goes on and on.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall is amazing, we have a buffet style cafeteria so it's all you can eat for eight bucks. The dining staff is friendly and the food that is served is fresh and there is a variety - taco's, pizza, spaghetti, the food is as diverse as the student body.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm at Dominican but I have been to the dorms, They are spacious and the community of resident Stars are close knit. They look out for one another and there is never a lull in social events.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the courses is not meant to overwhelm you - The University firmly believes that an education is meant to broaden you understanding of the world. The professors ensure that what you learn has a real world application, and that what you learn will be pertinent to your other classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no lack of activities or support ask and you will receive the attention and support that you need to be successful

    In three sentences

    Dominican University is a unique institution with a challenging atmosphere. It provides students with the prefect blend of supportive staff, engaging professors and innovative technologies. The University is truly a place for those who want to be leaders in their fields.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is very good with security.

    Greek Life

    There's no greek life at this school.

    What to do for fun

    There clubs around the school that you can join in order to be involved. The school is always offering special promotions to theatres, sports, or any other events that you could attend. There's also local resturants and bowling alleys one could attend for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Let's just say this school would be really great if it wasn't for its food. We have Cyber, and that's where a lot of people go instead of the dinning hall.

    Dorm Life

    This school is a commuting university. The dorming life is small. There isn't much to do during the weekends as most people go home. Though, this does not mean you can't have fun. The dorming life is much easier as you can get to your classes much faster.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are very helpful. The fact that the classrooms are small helps them pay more attention to you. They have very good courses depending on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to this school if you do not like small schools. You will get to know everyone specially if you are dorming.

    In three sentences

    This school is a small school. If you are looking for a residential university this is not the school for you. This school is a commuting university. Besides that, this school is a very good school!

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    It was expensive, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Chicago is just a shirt distance. Explore the beautiful city and all it has to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, and explore life.

    In three sentences

    Dominican University was on of the most beautiful places I've been. The faculty and staff are professional. Dominican was a great place and atmosphere to learn.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to study before your second year, as this will make getting your degree in 4 years or less.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patrols outside at random times. (unpredictable) I like the security system. I don't think you would have to worry. People are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a good variety. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who look for a 'home' environment. Students who are serious about their education.

    Bang for the buck

    They will offer scholarships and work study. There are jobs on campus you can take. It is a good investment.

    What to do for fun

    It would depend on you definition of fun. I think this school covers all definitions of fun effectively. Sports, movie nights, awsome libraries, good cafeterias, nice patio.

    Food and Dining

    They had hamburgers and a Really, Really good ice tea. I think that the food they had the day i went wasn't the food that they usually have, so i can't say much more.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. There are two types of dorms you can pick from. On one dorm you have to share a bathroom with the whole floor . (just a hallway, not too bad unless you take hours in the shower) On the other dorm you share the bathroom with less people.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to a college visit here, and i really liked it. Students are encouraged to pick a rigorous schedule. There are a lot of classes to pick from.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security coordinates with local police and always able to get help when needed. whether you need directions, public assistance, or work

    Greek Life

    there is none

    Clubs and Activities

    many different kinds. can very from music to peace or language to government.

    Great for these types of students

    who are interested in small private colleges who want a lot out of their education

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little on the expensive side, but there are plenty of free activities to get your money's worth back.

    What to do for fun

    Forest Preserve right across the street good for walks, running, and fishing. On campus there is always something going on to join for both residents and commuters

    Food and Dining

    Is provided by a company called Chartwells. Could be better, but at least provides basic nutritional needs. Meal Plan for school is convenient.

    Dorm Life

    Simple and easy to live on campus and close to the classrooms. Good security for a safe campus

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are able to be applied in many different kind of applications in jobs, school life, and social life

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active in classes, and get to know the teachers.

    In three sentences

    Dominican University is a school with a sense of community throughout. The Teachers are devoted and are willing to help students when help is needed or wanted. The campus is the most beautiful campus I have ever seen.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere all the time. They drive the shuttles to downtown Oak Park, they walk the halls all night long, they are there 24/7. I feel very safe and protected at school.

    Greek Life

    There is not Greek Life at Dominican.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many organizations, fashion club, language clubs, religious groups, ministry, activity boards, student ambassadors. etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Social, religious, and soccer players

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really unusual just random. The school loves getting students involved and working together, so there are many activities each month.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many majors offered here, so almost everyone can get the degree they want. It is veryyyy simple to get a ton of scholarships through the university. Cost really shouldn't be an issue if you really want to attend Dominican.

    What to do for fun

    There really isnt much to do in River Forest but shopping is only 10-15 minutes away from the university. It is a 20 minute L train ride downtown Chicago for higher end shopping. Lincoln Park has many bars and clubs. Bowling alleys have free monday night bowling for college students and $3 movies on wednesdays at the local theater.

    Food and Dining

    There are options at the school and with every college, it has its good and bad days. There is a cafe in the computer lab, it is similar to a subway and it also serves pizzas. Its good and they always have good stuff.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are very small, but they are standable. Upperclassmen dorms are nice, they resemble hotel style suites. Many students end up renting houses, or levels around the area with four or five other students. It can get very pricey but I can see how it would be better for space and home-iness.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't very complicated and it is very simple to recieve help on anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small university with great connections, Dominican is great for you. It is not a huge party school so you won't find that here. Other colleges are close so it makes it easier to connect with other students. The city is close, shopping is good, school food sucks but that is with any college. All in all its a good school that will get you a degree.

    In three sentences

    Dominican is a school with a very closeknit environment between students and faculty. Everyone is caring, generous and very focused on helping the community. Many classes are community and religion based.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe because security is literally everywhere. They can also be quickly contacted on any campus phones.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a build-a-bear and ice cream social event so that students can mingle and get to know one another. We also have different events where people come in and give massages, do henna tattoos, and serve snow cones.

    Bang for the buck

    Dominican wasn't one of my initial school choices but I am really happy I did choose to go here. The professors are great and really care about what the students are learning. I've also met many llife long friends.

    What to do for fun

    There's the Cyber Cafe so eat, chill, or work. There are also campus activities, clubs, and sports to become involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad. It's actually very healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter student but I hear people enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are wonderful. Professors are very thorough and motivated in their subject matter. Students also have the opportunity to study abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should focus on their studies because the teachers expect the best from students.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending Dominican University. There is a very diverse student body and professors really care about the well being of their students. I would reccomend students to attend.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around and does hourly checks 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from, but they are collaborate, so having to pick just one or two, is never an issue.

    Great for these types of students

    Active, hard-working, driven, and excited about life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a beautiful Candle and Rose ceremony at graduation, where the Seniors that are graduating pass a candle of knowledge and passion for what they do to their most honorary chosen rose.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many on-campus student organizations to join in and this campus is ten miles from the heart of Chicago, so you can always go downtown and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Their food in the Dining Hall can be questionable some days. But in the Cuver Cafe, the subs are better than Subway!

    Dorm Life

    The Facilities Staff is very understanding and helpful in making sure the dormitories are in tip-top shape. But, this school is older, so the dorms are very old, most of which do not have AC.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes taught are rather easy to get by in, but that is only because of certain professors. Overall, this is a challenging academic load each and every year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fret about everyone knowing your business or professors singling you out -- this University is small, but not that small.

    In three sentences

    Dominican University is a very amiable, courteous, and understanding to all their students. It is a very tight and close-knit community, that is always there for one another. And lastly, Dominican strives to make the most of each and every one of their students.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a day has gone by where I have felt unsafe at Dominican. If anything, Dominican feels safer than my home.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure if there is any.

    Clubs and Activities

    As an upcoming sophomore, I am still experimenting with many of the clubs and activities that Dominican has to offer, but once one is involved, one can get to great places.

    Great for these types of students

    Dominican is great for optimistic people who dream of a utopian community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The underground tunnel under the Lewis building makes me feel like I'm at Hogwarts.

    Bang for the buck

    Dominican is beautiful in every possible way, but I would like it to provide the U-Pass for its students.

    What to do for fun

    Dominican University is located very close to the CTA and also very close to River Forest downtown area. Therefore there are many dining places as well wonderful paths to take on a walk. Since it is also close to the green line, it offers cheap transportation to downtown Chicago, which is breathtaking!

    Food and Dining

    There are not many food options as a commuter, but from the couple of times that I've dined at the cafeteria it felt as if I were dining at a luxurious buffet.

    Dorm Life

    I've not lived in the dorms yet but I have a friend who lent me her dorm room and it was fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class and lecture was culturally, spiritually, and mentally challenging and therefore it was incredibly fascinating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax, everyone is welcome with open arms!

    In three sentences

    Dominican University is an incredible home away from home. Going to Dominican is like going into another family since its community is that of a heart- warming family. Even though its close to a bustling city, it still manages to feel like a haven for anyone wanting to enjoy silence and nature.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Personally I've been very involved all over campus and I believe I'm getting everything and more for what I'm paying.

    What to do for fun

    River Forest is near the L line that goes right to Downtown Chicago, and also many great local eats and things to do in this west suburb of Chicago.

    Dorm Life

    Dominican University is more than 50% commuter, and has 5 residence halls all connected together.

    Academic Rigor

    small class sizes give all the attention you need and also gives professors an opportunity to be tougher and give you chances to learn from your struggles early in a semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't plan on skipping class like a small university, this is a smaller campus with near 15:1 Student-Teacher ratio. Come to class and get all the individual attention you need to make your educational experience the best it can possibly be. Dominican also has many different involvement opportunities and becoming involved is a great way to network, build your resume, and also make new friends

    In three sentences

    Dominican University is a small community based learning university. Dominican is proud and rich in it's Dominican Catholic history, and is very welcoming to anyone of all religions. The small class sizes give students a lot of individual time with professors and a unique experience compared to larger universities.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus because it's small and there isn't much trouble that goes on around campus but the security is always around especially after a certain hour !

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Dominican !

    Food and Dining

    Because the school is soo small there isn't much of a variety and what we have to choose from isn't much they will feed you :) !!

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Dominican University is top of the line. There is always someone around to make sure the environment is safe. The campus safety is always on duty to make sure someone can get back to the dorms safe. The campus safety also has the staff drive through the parking lot at set times to make sure nothing sketchy is going on in the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dominican offers a huge variety of clubs. Some that are offered are italian club, math club, nutrition club, dance team, Eco club. That is just to name a few! Sports can also fit into this category. Dominican has an amazing athletic department. The coaches are all extremely easy to talk to and create a fun, challenging environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student is welcomed here. The school is very diverse and open to everyone.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun on campus as well as off campus. Once the weather is nice, it is always fun to get friends together to play volleyball in the quads or maybe some soccer or Frisbee. There are parks that are near the school which is nice because you can walk to them with friends. In the winter, it's always fun for a snowball fight. Also there is transportation that can take you to the green line to go downtown for the day! Some other things you can do is join clubs that are offered at the school because it's an easy way to meet people.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't always the best in the dining hall, however, the cyber cafe has really good sandwiches that you can create that will fulfill your craving. There are specials in the cyber every week whether it's a deal on a certain sandwich or even a soup of the day! There is a huge variety of things to pick from in cyber and also the dining hall. My favorite meal would have to be breakfast in the dining hall. They make extremely good breakfast and have a lot to offer. There is always a special going on at the dining hall every meal. Besides the entrees that are offered in the dining hall, there is also some type of dessert made for the students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun at Dominican University. I stayed in the Coughlin residence for my freshman year and absolutely loved it. Everyone on the floor usually has their doors open so it's an easy way to meet people. Also, the RA's are super easy to talk to and are always willing to talk whenever you need something. There are activities that take place at floor meetings so you get to know the people on your floor even better which is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dominican University is a great school with challenging courses. Procrastination is something that happens to almost everyone, however, make sure you don't let this happen to you. Manage your time wisely because time is key. I learned to spread my assignments out and to make sure I have plenty of time to complete each homework assignment. Don't overload yourself with all the assignments in one day; this can cause stress. Just make sure you manage time and always stay focused. Learn to make the right decisions; be smart about the choices you have to make.

    In three sentences

    An amazing school.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around campus and get together with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your studies going and not give up.

    In three sentences

    Dominican University is a excellent school it provides a lot of support and have faculty that will help you raise your grades.They have awesome organizations and is located in a good enviroment.This school will change student lives in a good way.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus is close to downtown Chicago therefore everyone can find something to do for fun. From different sorts of clubs to walks on the beach to amazing shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Food is exeptional with a large variety to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not a dorm living student, but from my classmates' opinions it is a very friendly and clean enviornment.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is intense and just right depending on the kind of classes a student is looking for. Everyone will find something right for them at Dominican.

    Tips for prospective students

    If anyone is looking for student to teacher attention and wants a calm college experiance with less stress then Dominican is right for you.

    In three sentences

    It is a small cozy college with a beautiful campus. Teachers are amazing friendly and caring about each student individually. The campus is old fashioned, but with a modern twist.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. they have a great security department, with amazing and super nice security gaurds.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities at Dominican. They always have great events for students, like free bowling on wednesdays, and much more. I myself am a part of three clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always something new or different going on due to the diversity of students. A great location is the O'Connor Gallery there are always great exhibitions through out the year. There are also spectacular study nooks in the magnificent library here.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is a great school for the amount. You get many opportunities through Dominican and advantages.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much beauty in the ares and it is also very close to downtown Chicago. There is always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious in a very simple way. Definitely much healthier than any restaurant food. Dominican has a huge emphasis on health.

    Dorm Life

    It is improving from year to year

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are so inspiring, and informative. They believe in you and educate you in so many different ways. Even in classes that are not in your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school if you want to achieve something in life, and learn and stay true to yourself. The schools in Business, Art and Education are some of the best in the country. You can study abroad in so many different countries and take so much away from Dominican. This school give you faith, knowledge and friendship.

    In three sentences

    Dominican has a beautiful campus that is calming and great for studying. Professors in the art department are exceptional and exceeded all of my expectations. I have learned so much and feel enlightened when looking out at the world, feeling very prepared.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i visited dominican and i loved it. i really liked that the students get a lot of help when it comes to choosing a major or choosing a career.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security guards walk me back to my dorm from the lab every night! they're the best.

    Greek Life

    slim to none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a good not great selection of clubs here.

    Great for these types of students

    if you're looking to study and not party, its perfect for you. the school fits me well because i don't go out every night.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is expensive, but they aid they gave me beat everywhere else, including state school.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of student activities every week but other than that its a little dead on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good but not great. by the end of the semester you'll be sick of anything you have to eat everyday. there is not a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    there is little to no social life here. i was a transfer student, so that may be why i feel a little out of place.

    Academic Rigor

    my teachers challenge me every day. they increase my knowledge and outlook!

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus and see how you feel. i knew the second i saw the university where i was going to school.

    In three sentences

    dominican university has a great student to teacher ratio. most of my classes have 15 or less students. its small and not a party school.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say that you have to be a little out going to really appreciate the extra perks the school has. Most of all, students that like smaller schools I think it my be getting a little crowded

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one thing is to talk to other students as much as possible about their experiences with particular teachers, they all have their teaching techniques. Number two, match your major to the school. As I said before, it can use some updating, I'm not a tech major or anything but there can be better technology. Number three, take a good long tour to see if your going to be happy with the school.

    Bang for the buck

    They only thing that deters me from this school is that it can use updating computers, equipment, some class rooms especially, technology. The school I think is suppose to look old I like the new age look, just my opinion so I don't know how much I can really complain at this. Another thing that makes me give only 3 stars is that the school can be a bit pricy when you can get into much larger schools for about the same. The biggest factor that make me give it a 3 is that some classes seem to be getting crowded and its getting a little hard to find a nice quiet spot. But if you don't want giant class sizes (like hundreds) or just a giant school then Dominican can be a great choice

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like the school here, especially if you are a little out going (which I'm not too much). Something that I found so amazing yes amazing, is the friendliness of the staff. You can ask just about anyone and people will go out of there way to make sure they help you to the best of their ability. I give it a 4 because everything that you could expect from a smaller school is here. Also, if you go out of your way just a bit to get involved with some of the many organizations around the school you will have a much better time. The reason I give it a four out of five is based on not being able to find nice quiet spots. If there were more spots were you can just relax in quiet I would give it a five.

    Am learning a lot

    In my experience, I have not attend other schools so this is based on just my experience in this school The reason that I rate learning a lot 5 of 5 is: almost all the classes were very fun as well informative. to make sure you get this 5 out of 5 is talk to previous students about their teachers. Here teachers have a wide rang of teaching techniques, so you should be able to match you needs and likes. When I started I found the thought of Freedom! amazing, but even knowing that some of these teachers are more lenient on attendance these teachers actually go out of their way to make classes fun and interesting while still being VERY informative. Making you want to go to class.