Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

East Central Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is pretty reasonable at EC, however, nothing else is. The prices you will pay for books are outrageously high. To make matters worse, they have implemented a system where they are using mostly custom edition books to prevent students from buying books online at more reasonable prices, and then at the end of the semester they do not buy back the vast majority of books. During my time at EC I paid well over the price of tuition for my books yet they report to financial aid that the cost of books per semester is less than $400 a semester, which directly affects the amount of aid you receive. I thought it was kinda odd when I paid over $1300 for books my last semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip that can be offered if you are considering going to East Central is to explore every possible option beforehand.

    In three sentences

    East Central Community College is a money hungry institute that cares more about the amount of dollars they can get out of a student than any other aspect. Most of the teachers, with a few exceptions, are sub-par and have no business being mentors. If you have absolutely no other option in attending another college, then EC may be right for you.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police on East Central's Campus is always there for you whenever you need them. If you have a problem you can call on them, and they will be right there.

    Clubs and Activities

    East Central has many clubs and activities for students who are enrolled to join. Whether it is a school related one or athletic related one, there is a club on campus for every type of person.

    Great for these types of students

    East Central is great for any type of student.

    What to do for fun

    East Central has many activities to partake in. It contains many sports teams that one is able to go support throughout the year. It also provides many activities throughout the year to make the students' college experience more fun.

    In three sentences

    East Central Community College is a great school that cares for each and every one of its students. It is a great place to attend to get your education or trade. Teachers there will do their best to help you become successful in life.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At East Central we have a great system of security guards and officers. They are always patrolling to make sure no one is speeding, for night classes they are always close by the buildings and if you ever need them, they are there within a matter of very few minutes.

    Greek Life

    East Central is a community college so there is not any Greek life on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the yearbook staff, newspaper staff, Phi Beta Kappa honor society, Centralettes dance team, Astronomy club and Student body association at East Central.

    Great for these types of students

    East Central is great for students who want to be part of a prestigious band. The Wall O Sound band at East Central is very popular. It is also a great school for students wanting a career in nursing. East Central has a wonderful ADN program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a beautiful lake at East Central with a track around it and a beautiful courtyard beside the tennis court. These are very relaxing places to go after a long day of class.

    Bang for the buck

    East Central is one of the most affordable community colleges in MS. Tuition is right around 1000 which is a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    East Central has make concerts put on by the Choir and many dances throughout the school year, a mardi gras ball, homecoming dance, etc. The football games at East Central are very enjoyable as well.

    Food and Dining

    At East Central, we have the cafeteria and The Grill in the student union. Everyone loves the food at East Central. The cafeteria has a wonderful salad bar and The Grill has sandwiches that taste just like Subway. If you do not have a meal card thats ok, the meals in both places are very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    At East Central the dorms are a great place to live. They are clean, orderly and everyone seems to get along really well. The dorm mothers in the girls dorms are very loving and make you feel right at home.

    Academic Rigor

    East Central is a great college for students just graduating from high school and as long as students stay committed to doing their work and asking for help when help is needed there is not much difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make your schedule early as soon as scheduling opens to get the class you want. Get to class on time because tardies do add up. Do not be afraid to ask your teacher for help, all of the teachers are very willing to help their students succeed in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    East Central is a very friendly campus. All of the staff help out as much as they can. East Central is located in a very nice town.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and do not hesitate to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers who really care about their students.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police department

    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    To go out and have fun, students must drive thirty minutes to reach a major city with activities.

    Food and Dining

    The meals are always healthy and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There is limited space for extra dorms in this small town, so housing is very limited.

    Academic Rigor

    The school holds the students to a high standard of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though it is a small school it is important to take it seriously.

    In three sentences

    East Central Community College is placed in the quiet town of Decatur, Mississippi. The staff is very friendly and the teacher to student ratio is better than at a university. The college is known for producing students who will go off and continue their education at a university.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is guarded by the local police. They patrol the campus frequently. They make sure that cars that are on campus are suppose to be there. Students are required to have a sticker on their cars identifying them for the police.

    Greek Life

    I haven't joined.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any.

    Great for these types of students

    Close to home if you want to commute instead of living in the dorms. Older workers sometimes need to return to school to change professions. This allows them to continue working while returning to school at night.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is the best deal around. Why would you want to spend 4x as much going straight to a University when this is close to home and much less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    This campus offers many extra curricular activities to keep you busy such as baseball, football, golf, tennis, ... You will always find something that interest you.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten in the Grill. The food was good but a little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes make is easy to acquire knowledge but require studying and preparing for class. It is a must to keep up. Don't get behind or miss class. This will make understanding what is going on in class hard to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and attend the first session of orientation. This will enable you to have a better selection of class and class times. Buy you books early. This may allow you to be able to save on your books by being able to buy used textbooks instead of new ones. Be disciplined!

    In three sentences

    The campus is very friendly. Classes are small and easy to acquire knowledge. Tight campus.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great starting school for your college career. Get on the dorm list early!!!

    In three sentences

    An academically excellent school with motivated instructors. Numerous degree availability with job credit availability. Great college to get your basic core classes prior to transfer for an advanced degree

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I give East Central Community College a 3 because the only food on campus is the cafeteria food and it closes after 6 or 7. They cook great food for the students, but when the doors are closed that is it.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not know much about dorm life, but I do know a little about it from staying the night with my friend up there. If a student that stays in the dorms wants to have a friend over, they have to ask their dorm advisor. It is a very organized system because it keeps trouble from coming into the school. Outside the dorms, cops stay around for security. The dorms are very organized and secured at East Central. I will not say they are perfect because nothing is, but I will say they are close to perfect and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    East Central is full of smart, talented, artistic, creative, hard-working, and different races and ethnicity people. Mostly all of the students that are enrolled at ECCC have an A or no less than a C if they really try hard in their classes. I am overwhelmed everyday by how bright and vibrant East Central Community College is.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will say some good tips for the students coming is to work hard on getting in because it will be well worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    East Central Community College has such a great environment that I feel like I am still in high school but with every other high school in my district. This college has friendly and helpful teachers that want to see their students obtain their degrees. Not only is it a great college for anyone, but it also is a great learning college.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each female dormitory has a security guard present at night time. Campus police are constantly on patrol and the campus is well lit at night. East Central also provides Warrior Alert which sends voicemail, texts, and emails to students in the case of bad weather or other emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities at East Central are vast. Clubs range from Astronomy to Music organizations. There is always something to get involved with ECCC.

    Great for these types of students

    East Central is great for any student that seeks a close-knit student body and faculty and staff. It is not uncommon to waltz into an instructor's office and have a friendly chat.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year before the homecoming game, a bonfire pep rally takes place at the lake on campus. The Wall O' Sound band provides music, and the Centralette dance line and cheerleaders display school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    East Central is great academically. Tuition is only $895 and many scholarships are available. You can stack your scholarships, and what you have left over after your expenses, you recieve a refund for! Overall, East Central is a great college buy especially if you apply for their many scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    East Central has many intramural sports, including softball, flag football, soccer, volleyball, and ultimate Frisbee. Also, during the spring, the students participate in Spring Spree an entire week dedicated to scavenger hunts, field events, crawfish boils, and more. This is usually two weeks before finals and a great way to close out the year. Most students drive to the nearby city, Meridian, to go to the mall and the movies. This is because the town East Central is located in is relatively small.

    Food and Dining

    East Central provides two food and dining options, the cafeteria and the Grill located at the Student Union. At the beginning of the year, the food was all right, but as the year progressed the food became more bland to me. However on Wednesdays at 12 the Baptist Student Union serves a lunch at the cost of $1. These funds go to support students going on mission trips. The food is always wonderful and I highly suggest attending these lunches.

    Dorm Life

    There are three female dormitories and five male dormitories. One of the female dormitories known as Jackson Hall is in need of renovation in my opinion and has community showers. I have heard many complaints of residents of this dormitory. Barber Hall, another female dormitory, is the newest dormitory on campus. Most rooms are suites and are connected through a private bathroom. Each room contains two students. The building also contains a kitchen, a study room, a living area, and a laundry room on each of the two floors. Leake Hall is a female dormitory on available to sophomore Honor students. The dormitory is actually an apartment. Each apartment includes one bedroom, a laundry room, a bathroom, walk-in closet, kitchen, living area, and dining area. Each apartment requires at least three other roommates. Two of the five male dormitories are reserved for athletes of East Central. Some male dormitories have community showers, others have private baths. The dormitories are not co-ed. Men are not allowed into women's dormitories and vice versa. Each dorm, has a dorm mother or dorm father who looks after the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but the instructors are willing to help you outside of class. Most instructors will offer extra credit if you ask. Online classes are offered and are great if you are the self-disiplined type.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise any prospective student to get highly involved at East Central through clubs, organizations, athletics, fine arts to make their EC experience the best possible. It saddens me to see fellow students not taking advantage of the wonderful activities East Central has to offer. Also, I advise to utilize the library's study facilities. East Central has individual study rooms for study groups or individual use. Some come equipped with computers. Take advantage of this! Do your best to get a 3.5 GPA. In doing this, you have fulfilled the requirements to receive an invitation for Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for community colleges. The membership fee is $100 but consider this an investment. Numerous colleges offer nice scholarship for Phi Theta Kappa members. These scholarships are normally automatic also.

    In three sentences

    East Central Community College is a small college with roughly 3,000 enrolled students, and the instructors and staff are willing to accommodate their students in any way possible. Academically, the courses are challenging, but the instructors are more than willing to diligently help you make the grades you would like. There are many opportunities to participate in activities on campus, such as crawfish boils, scavenger hunts, intramural sports, worship services, community service projects, and numerous clubs and organizations.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is one strict security on campus they are pretty much visible at all times. You can call them at any moment and they are there. East Central has a great campus security since I been there.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and organizations that are willing to do what ever they can to help. They are well organize and prepared to do pretty much what they plan to involve everyone on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    EC is a friendly oriented school and very helpful. I loved and enjoyed the classes and the teacher are great. I would reccommend anyone of that demeanor to go to East Central.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I didn't have any unusaul locations or tradition on campus. I pretty much hung out in the library or the computer lab was where I pretty much hung out and you could fine me there during my breaks and down time.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes they pretty have it all right there on campus when you need it. If not they will see to you getting it or direct you to where you can go to get it. EC is on their stuff I would be glad to refer anyone to go to school here.

    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs and other extracurricculum to get involved in. You will have a blast as long as your are a student there at ECCC.

    Food and Dining

    Didn't dine there.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    East Central is very high demanding when it comes to academics and grades. As long as you are putting in the time and effort they will do everything they can to make sure that you get what you are there for. At the end of the time of you being there you will be proud to say I am or was a warrior. So go in strong and do your best at everything they give you to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in and be ready to dig in because as long as they see you trying and doing what they ask. They will be ready to help you as much as possible so be a strong will person and do your best. And participate in class as much as possible will get a lot of attention from instructors because they will notice everything.

    In three sentences

    East Central is a great prepatory getting you ready for your career. I have attended there before and enjoyed it. Looking forward to this coming up semester when I will be entering the EMT-paramedic program.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for Artistic individuals looking for a chance to just have fun or find a peaceful environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to you is make sure you do something. Don't just sit around a do work all the time; you will eventually go crazy. Don't party as much join the drama department, ambassadors, and/ or cheer-leading. These school loves active people. When you have heavy projects stay on the weekend; noone is there it's always very quiet.

    Bang for the buck

    They are a rule-oriented school. They give ridiculous fines. If you are caught after dark there is like a fifty dollar fine that you have to supply. They don't even take it out of your school funding wish is awful.

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes, i enjoyed East Central. I participated with the plays and did the beauty pageant. It gave me a chance to meed new people. Their Drama program is excellent.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot at this school. The teachers are all well rounded espically Dr. Crenshaw. He is an amazing teacher. He went far and beyond with his lessons. He taught us to critically think. There were numerous other teachers but, i remember his name the most.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who feel they are not ready to go to a university. Students who like small classes and want to have more time with their teachers. Students who like meeting new and interesting people from different places.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for scholarships,etc. Call if you have any questions and plan a tour of the campus and classes.

    Bang for the buck

    East Central I think is one of the schools where you will get the best education for the least amount of money.

    Am enjoying being here

    East Central Community College has many great clubs and organizations. There is always something to do to keep you occupied and not bored.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at East Central Community College are always willing to help you in anyway they can. They are very understanding of the reasons why students miss class.