Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Edmonds Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/22/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college has security guards constantly on patrol and a helpful alert system for your phone called Triton Alert. Triton Alerts are also sent to your school Email if you haven't signed up for it on the phone. I feel safe on campus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Edmonds Community College is a very logical choice for students who do not want the social experience of going to a university, such as fraternities, and who wants to transition into college life with high school-sized classes rather than university-sized lecture halls. This college is all for the student who wants to get his or her prerequisites done efficiently and save money doing it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finding parking is difficult on most days, make sure you come early to find a spot!

    Food and Dining

    I usually do not buy from it, but I do find The Brier Grill convenient from time to time. It's stocked with the usual convenience fare on one hand, and offers prepared food as well. There are also two espresso stands. Some days, it can be hard to find a spot in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on-campus, but a rating is required, so I gave it a three. The college has added new dorms on-site supplementing the other existing housing available near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect the basic responsibilities: that you do the work, do it on-time, and often to high standards. The pace is fast, but not totally overwhelming. The advisers estimate the average number of classes students take is three per quarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very helpful to attend the Triton Jumpstart orientation tour before you begin classes; your advisers and the website let you know when the next one takes place. Also, the college uses a test called the Accuplacer to place you into the correct math and English classes. Some might not need to take it - contact the college for details - but in general, incoming high school students who have not done the Running Start program often have to take it. It is important for your long-term planning to know that if you already know your major, you should pursue one of the college's more specialized associate's degrees to save money; else, you have to take your prerequisites at the university.

    In three sentences

    Despite being a community college without the 'four-year college social experience' and focusing on efficiently getting that associate's degree, Edmonds Community College is a friendly and inviting place. The staff and organization are easy to approach and communicate with, and the students are also friendly. Simply put, this college is a smart choice because it combines quality programs with local convenience and community college efficiency.

  • 08/28/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers with great ethics and experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard be on time and pay attention to your teachers that with their experience can make help you to make a difference in your professional career

    In three sentences

    I found many students about my age and that spend many years working before they get back to college and as for me I spend 25 years working and when I decided to go back, everybody was very helpful and courteous that make me feel very comfortable taking classes with students my age, youngers and international ones that with all the diversity enriched my experience and knowledge from other cultures.

  • 12/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very awesome security system. Triton Alert is announced in school and by email when security department recognize a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    Diverse clubs are created due to various hobbies of students. You can create your own club by having at least 5 people and an advisor. Club budget is provided by Center of Student Engagement and Leadership. Service Learning Project offers great activity trips. I've participated in Make a Difference Day activity - go in a forest and remove invasive plan.

    Great for these types of students

    _ Energetic students _ Students who take initiative in their study _ Out-going students who enjoy meeting new people and participating in activities _ Students who like small classrooms and interactive teaching method

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every quarter the college has many funny event days. Every quarter the college has Club Fair day- the day that every clubs build their own booth and greet new students, introduce their clubs, and help new people register for the club In Spring quarter they have Spring Fest - a fair that people can play games and win free food accessories like shirt, sunglasses, bracelet. Every week they have a free movie night with popcorn offered The college have a celebrating day for every holidays

    Bang for the buck

    Food here is a little bit pricey compared with the quality Tuition is affordable. They offer scholarship every academic year. Financial aid is given. You can borrow textbook in Diversity Center for free With Science and Math classes, you can borrow textbook in library and do homework in 2 hours. One tip for saving your money from textbook is : buy the old edition of the books on eBay with 20% newest edition's price. Some instructor allow old edition books

    What to do for fun

    Participate in volunteer activities. It is really fun and also help you to gain skills. Participate in clubs. You can find people have the same hobbies and create projects. Register for the club at the club fair days every quarter. Sometimes the college offer alternative break trips. It is a lot of fun and very worth your money Hanging out with your friends at the game room of the dorm

    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias here are so so.Mostly fast food and instant food. Cashiers are sometimes not friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm has good security service and affordable price. It also has a game room with pools and TV. Parking lots are a lot and awesome

    Academic Rigor

    They offers good programs with affordable tuition. Financial aid is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have rich resources here to help you succeed with your studies. Go find it and utilize it! They have Learning Support Center to help you catch up with your study. They have International Student Service to help International Students with their insurance problems, travel abroad, and very helpful advising workshops. I highly recommend international students to meet with ISS's advisors to get help with transfer plan They offer plenty of part-time job position on campus available for International Students. The Diversity Student Center can lend you text books and calculator FOR FREE You can print for free 20 pages/week They have great GYM, dance practice room, and piano rooms for students art and music students. All of them are free and available about 8 hours/day They have clubs here in which many students who share a same hobbies can meet, do projects,socialize, and gain skills. The Career Action Center offers workshop for career research and resume tips You can lend text book for 2 hours in library and do homework. Library offers a great quiet area for study In academic sides, go check your professors in ratemyprofessor.com before taking a class. Register early to ensure that you can have a spot in classes of good professors. There are more helpful resources in Edmonds Community College. Go check it out. Be initiative in your academic life

    In three sentences

    A great college with big resources and small and friendly classrooms. Most faculties here are very friendly, professional, and helpful. They also offer many activities that help you students engage with the school and gain soft skills.

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Lynnwood, it is pretty much enough for doing something fun. We can go to the beach which is in Edmonds or Mukilteo that we can go there by bus. We also can go to downtown Seattle for more excitement by taking 30 minutes by bus.

    Food and Dining

    Near Edmonds Community College, there are a lot of fast food restaurants like Qdoba, Taco Bell, Yeh Yeh's Vietnamese Restaurant and many more. In addition, most of them are walking distance so it is not really that far. We can grab a quick snack and go back to school. Moreover, the school also has Caffeteria and College Cafe where we can buy snacks and lunch too.

    Dorm Life

    I used to live in the dorm before, in general, the dorm is exceptionally good because it is really near the campus, so you will not need to spend more time taking the bus or walk (because the dorm is just less than 5 minutes walk). They also have assistants called the RA (Residents Assistants) which is like students that helps the other student or the residents when they have trouble with roommates or anything involving the dorm. They also arrange some activities too where we can meet other residents and making friends with them.

    Academic Rigor

    In Washington State, it is already common to hear about running start, and in Edmonds Community College we provide this program for high school students to experience college life. The quality of the subjects offer in Edmonds Community College are really good and taught by good teachers that really understand about it. So far I think the teachers are kind and understand us well. They are really helpful and they also provide office hour where we can talk with them face to face. They also prepare modules and schedule so we will keep in track with them and their materials.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, just be ready for Edmonds Community College. They will provide the best for you so you dont need to worry. For those who specialized in hospitality and nursing, Edmonds Community College will be the best college that you can choose because they offered really good classes for them. As for me as an engineering student, they also provide us good quality classes.

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College located in suburb area in Seattle, which is for me it is a good place for studying because the environment really motivates me to study hard, also it is not too crowded. The campus building is not that big but the good thing about it is that the buildings are really near with each others so we do not need to worry about going late to class because the building is near. In Edmonds Community College you will find a lot of students from different countries which will open your views about their cultures.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking used to be free.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are available in student life, such as the Underground Research Club or dance club. Networking with other students creates opportunities for growth.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody looking into continuing their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a trail that goes around the campus. In the summers, the benches and fields in between Lynnwood and Mountlake Terrace Hall are a great place to de-clutter.

    Bang for the buck

    Their are great work study positions around campus.

    What to do for fun

    Wander around the Library or Brier Hall. Check out student life to become involved in the community.

    Food and Dining

    Many nearby restaurants such as teriyaki, La Raza, Starbucks, Ye ye's, Papa Johns, Subway, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived on campus, however the recreational room consisting of ping pong and pool tables in the dorms are available to every student. The gym is very useful for use in receiving strong physique.

    Academic Rigor

    Mathematic courses and Science related courses are very challenging, yet beneficial in the learning process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish your first two years and then transfer to a University. Research into your careers of interest and engage in personal projects.

    In three sentences

    After nine consecutive quarters as a Running Start student from Edmonds Community College I learned how to pursue my career. All of the teachers were knowledgeable and reasonable to work with one on one. Events on campus manage to bring together students to network and create beneficial relationships.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing 24/7 Service, open up our school's web page (edcc.edu) and subscribe to emergency alert (which include: campus closure, sudden fire, etc.) and you will get updates sent directly to your emails and/or your phone number.

    Clubs and Activities

    Go to 2nd floor of Brier Hall / Building, search for the CSEL Office, and join a club / charter your very own club. We do have +/- 50 clubs available, from Rugby to Geeks Club. :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Annually, we do have Powwow Celebrations in Seaview Gym. It usually happen during Spring quarter. The event is to celebrate diversity, specifically in the culture of Native Americans.

    Bang for the buck

    Lynnwood Building's RUBY Coffee Machine! $1 / $1.5 for a yummy cup of Pumpkin Spice Latte - Limited edition during Fall Quarter only.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Brier Hall where all the events are happening MONTHLY! I promise, there will always be something going on there. Sometimes, CSEL Officers & Programmers host events with free foods in either Brier Hall / Courtyard. So, don't forget to grab an agenda at the beginning of the quarter and come there once in a while or regularly if you can to any event listed in the agenda! :)

    Food and Dining

    This 5 star rating is nowhere near bias! This review is for the school's College Cafe NOT the Brier Cafe Grill which can be improved further. :)

    Dorm Life

    Rainier Place ($$, on campus) and Sophie Courts ($, near campus) are great! They are both fairly convenient due to the close distance to EdCC (less than a mile), safe place to live in, plus great roommates to live with!

    Academic Rigor

    Just the right balance between amount of coursework, level of challenges, and helpfulness of the faculty members (professors / instructors of the courses)!

    Tips for prospective students

    International students: prepare your international documents (i-20, i94, Passport, bank statements, and High-school transcript early) plus prepare an open heart to be open and flexible with other students who are friendly! :) Domestic students: Remove any of your negative vibes (that you may experience registering for the first time - the staffs are working on making the experience better and faster). Just go interact with students in Brier Hall! Also, don't forget to visit the CSEL Office (2nd Floor) where you can learn more about the campus! :)

    In three sentences

    EdCC Tritons (Staffs, Faculty, Students Population) are overall very welcoming. They have been providing the school such a conducive atmosphere, plenty space, and safe securities for all to learn and interact with each other. EdCC also has an amazing student government (ASEdCC) which I am a part of, holding a title of Executive Officer for Academics! :-)

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on top of it and there is a police station not too far from the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college, the tuition is fairly average, but there are always scholarships and grants that you can apply for to receive extra help.

    What to do for fun

    There are always a list of events going on with the school, take a look and join in on the fun.

    Food and Dining

    The kitchen is run by Culinary Students, food it fairly good for a school kitchen. However there are a lot of affordable restaurants in the areas that cater to the student population.

    Dorm Life

    As of the last few years, there is on-campus housing, but I am not familiar with it.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are there to help those who put an effort forward and guide you in doing your best when working towards your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a look over the class schedules, there are so many interesting classes that qualify to work towards a certain aspect of your degree.

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College has a great transfer program. There is a Washington University location on campus and the faculty is there to help you with you every need. It is definitely a school worth attending.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security guards always linger around...they really don't do much besides tell people not to park in certain areas. Pretty safe area in general, though.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't fit well in the typical four-year university atmosphere, students looking for a cheaper alternative while still getting a higher education, students still deciding what to go into education-wise and career-wise.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is CRUCIAL, but if you don't make the effort to fill out the work, ask questions in the office, or fill out your FAFSA right, you're gonna have a bad time. Financial aid, even if you are approved, takes a super long time to process and they take forever to let you know if you even get it or not.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of shops that are a walking distance, but nothing too fancy. A lot of the fun things are wayyyy off-campus.

    Food and Dining

    Chill pizza place across from the campus, a couple little cafes for coffee (although quite pricey), lots of vending machines around campus, even a cafeteria area for meals. Nothing too extravagant, however.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms available look very nice, especially on the exterior. Very modern, no real signs of being run-down housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Online classes can be extremely easy, while classes on-campus are more engaging and challenging. Some classes, either way, can swing both ways, but this is usually how they work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financial aid done early, ask questions frequently (not only in class, but about classes, fin aid, etc!!), good luck with parking in one of the main parking lots.

    In three sentences

    A good place for making plans on getting a two-year transfer degree to a four-year university without the costs and stresses of a four-year university. The campus is a unique place with lots of diversity in students. Teachers can be a hit-or-miss but there are some where you can tell that they really love their job and teaching in general.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus security is always available and always willing to help

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to participate in. In the Spring there are inter-murals.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, goal oriented, motivated

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to get a 2 year degree before going to a 4 year, community colleges are a great way to save money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different events held at Edmonds Community College, along with athletics and a private theater on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Edmonds culinary department has very good food

    Dorm Life

    I never participated in the dorm life as I lived at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are extremely easy and require little or no effort to get a passing grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to complete FASFA papers early, as the later you complete them, the later you recieve money. Take care of your core classes early.

    In three sentences

    The School is very cozy and is surrounded in a nice environment. The classes are not very challenging, as many students don't take them seriously. The financial aid and library are very helpful in advancing students needs.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I recently joined a club at EDCC and am loving it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not many Community Colleges with such nice dormitories, or any at all for that matter.

    What to do for fun

    Campus events, plays, clubs, and the Black Box Theatre to name a few things.

    Food and Dining

    EDCC has the best cafeteria food I've ever tasted. All the food in the cafeteria and campus restaurant is made by the culinary program at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I am not one to assume things.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor, based on a 15 credit quarter is very reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take hold of the many opportunities available to you and take advantage of being able to approach your teachers with questions and/or concerns.

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College is a great place for students looking to save money for University or looking for a more fast-paced degree path or transfer degree. It is a great starting point for anyone.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has 24/7 security guards. It is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Edmonds CC has up to 88 active clubs currently. You can choose anything you can think of. If it does not exist yet, you simply can gather up 5 people and make a club of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    International students from any country around the world. The atmosphere of the community here is very welcoming and friendly - as well as conducive for a learning sphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have community garden at the back of Meadowdale, a building where fine art courses and building constructions' are being taught.

    Bang for the buck

    It is fair for the US citizens, but a bit too much for the international students to get out of their pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Brier, there are a lot of events going on there. Go to Blackbox Theatre, too- they have many free and engaging events / lecture series.

    Food and Dining

    The college cafe is presented by the culinary art students of EdCC, which makes the dining experience exclusively memorable and high-class with a very affordable price. The Brier Grill also serves great food-for-the-day!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. We're no party people, but we do enjoy things together. We celebrated thanksgiving together and we do harlem shake, as well. EdCC Rainier Place has the most diverse & fun people ever.

    Academic Rigor

    The course requires you to participate up to 99% or else, you will not be able to get a GPA of 4.0. Grade is fairly balanced in these following percentages: paper (15%), hw (25%), exams (35%) and participation (25%).

    Tips for prospective students

    Study your course's material ahead. Park your ride early so you get to class on time. Apply for financial aids as early as possible, and don't forget to do counseling and advising before you enroll.

    In three sentences

    Education here is very engaging, innovative, and high quality. Professors are willing to help students, and courses are rigorous, involving active learning and participation from students. On top of all, the community in Edmonds CC is strong and vibrant in unity.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tons of events hosted on campus, they are fun and usually provide music and free food.

    Bang for the buck

    It's close by, cheaper than a university and has small class sizes. I am glad I chose to come here after high school rather than going to a university. I have been able to warm up to college life.

    What to do for fun

    Ummm leave campus!

    Food and Dining

    Expensive and pre-frozen food. It's cooked by students studying to be chef's and it's rarely fresh. There is a student cafe that is inexpensive but that too is cooked by students.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms here(at a community college) which is a new idea. I haven't lived in them but I know many international students who do; they are nice and have a REC room with computers, a tv, a pool table and free Wi-Fi

    Academic Rigor

    I'm taking engineering courses and they are not too difficult. I feel comfortable with the material and do well on nationally ranked standardized tests, they do a great job of teaching while not putting stress on students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes before 930 because parking will take a long time to find if you come later. Utilize the learning support center, math center, rise or SI tutoring offered at this school.

    In three sentences

    This school has a growing science and math community catering to the needs of the students. It is easy to find work on campus and there are numerous organizations that support students with tutors. It is close to a few major cities and there is free parking.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on the campus.

    Greek Life

    It's there if you look for it!

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are varied and inviting!

    Great for these types of students

    Sociable, Dedicated, Studious and those whom choose transfer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the more interesting spots in the campus is the dining hall in the Brier building. Many students of many different backgrounds congregate and you will see unusual but fun things going on in there.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is definitely one of the most techonology inclined campuses around and the students and teachers are varied and helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Make sure you visit Seattle and ask teachers and locals for the best hidden spots to enjoy what you love to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few spots on campus to find many different types of food. If not local dining is varied and relatively cheap.

    Dorm Life

    The buildings are new and many students work closely together to achieve the best possible grades.

    Academic Rigor

    With the amount of school work suggested by the campus and the teachers I found no problem reaching my academic goals

    Tips for prospective students

    Put yourself out there and in class ask a lot of questions!

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College has a great technical use of their Internet and the campus is welcoming to new students from abroad.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have felt very safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals, varsity sports, business clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't know exactly what they want to do, that love a lot of activities, and those that don't have the money to go to a university or want their student loans to be smaller. Great diversity at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good education for the money. After two years, I will be leaving with a degree, and heading for a four-year university to continue my education. I have worked through the summer to pay my way through these two years, so I will not have the student loans that many have that went straight to a four year. This was a good investment.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, clubs, etc. This is a school with a population like a small city. Not far from beach and ferries, and event centers in Seattle and Everett.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at school, so can't give an opinion.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in dorms, but have heard they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Electronics and Robotics have been challenging, but I have found my passion. The teachers have been very thorough and very patient, and really care about your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor and look into the many programs available. There are also many extracurricular activities, so check the school website often. Talk to counselors about financial aid and scholarships right away as they close much sooner than you expect.

    In three sentences

    This school has a lot of certificate and degree programs you might not expect. I came here not knowing what I wanted to do, but found a passion for electronics, and then Robotics, thanks to a good counselor I met. The teachers have been very instrumental in guiding me into what I know will be a great career.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    The facilities and technology on campus are slightly outdated but still functional.

    What to do for fun

    Edmonds is located in central Lynnwood close to the mall and the beach.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students run the college cafe which is very low priced and serves delicious gourmet food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the campus housing, but it looks very nice. I have heard they are the same price as off campus housing in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not been overwhelmed with challenge, but students definitelyhave to work hard to maintain their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    The application process is easy, and tuition is in the average price range for the area.

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College is a smaller, conveniently located place to learn. They have a great advising team to help students with information on transferring to universities. The class schedules are manageable for students who work.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I give campus safety a three.

    Clubs and Activities

    -Language clubs -Leadership clubs etc.

    Great for these types of students

    - Outside time school. - Lot's of walking. - Friendly students.

    What to do for fun

    - Hang with friends. - Study ( ALOT) -Music -Have family time -

    Food and Dining

    Theirs alot to eat, although they can be a bit too much for some products, where you can get them cheaper at drug stores near the college.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say, I have never been in Edcc's dorms or lived in one. But It looks very urban from the outside, therefor I give it a 5.

    Academic Rigor

    I give them a three.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Find out what text books you need for your classes so you don't have problems in the future before your classes begin. -Know your teacher, research a bit about them, example: ( if you except late work, how their grading is etc.) -Know your way around the school, and offices and buildings, so you don't lose and awkward.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Edcc (Edmonds Community College) very benevolent. They are a good community college, they help you with questions you have an set a path for the scholars to succeed. It's a wonderful community college and very helpful.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Once you start a main focus pint on a degree you start to really get to know your fellow classmates and teacher it becomes a great learning experience.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of outdoor activities and beaches near by.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of great little eatery's and not to far form Seattle.

    Dorm Life

    Great places near by to live off camous

    Academic Rigor

    I'm going for CIS so its a workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an adviser in the department you plan on getting your degree in they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I love going to school. Its amazing how fun school is when your passionate about what you are learning. The atmosphere here is great and so are the teachers.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some many activities to do on campus you will always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    They have plenty of meal options for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    I don't use the dorms but the do offer assistance to families and single mothers.

    Tips for prospective students

    For veterans that are going here get in contact with the representative as soon as you can. You need to make sure if you get to the enrollment office as soon as it opens for the quarter you want to attend because it get pretty busy and the classes will fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    The employees here at the college are very friendly. The veterans representative is helpful. The class sizes are small enough so you won't feel lost in the tide of students there.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International students, the college has agreat international student program that helps them adapt to a different style of schooling and school customs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first quarter at the college so I'm not sure of any right now.

    Bang for the buck

    The total cost for a quarter at the college is very affordable. It was one of the more cheaper costs compared to other colleges in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Intamural sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus is cooked by the culinary arts students. It is delicious and well made.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I am a commuter student.

    Academic Rigor

    There is definitely a clear difference between high school and college classes. The classes really make you think about what you are studying and make you interested in the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes early, classes get filled up as soon as registration is open.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe; no thievery or crimes I've heard of or witnessed!

    Greek Life

    I haven't experienced any yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to earn credits while they are still in high school., international students, and much more!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions, but the school seems to be frequent with events.

    Bang for the buck

    I learned many things from my experience so far at Edmonds Community College. I learned to organize my work and be more motivated and hopeful about my future. It's a great place to start your journey after high school!

    What to do for fun

    If you like to hang out with your friends and play pool, there's a free game room on the campus! There's a;so a fireplace; you can make yourself cozy!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It is also very overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but the dorms I've seen look pretty decent. It seems almost exciting to live in the dorms and be close by with other students!

    Academic Rigor

    Most students are at the college to work towards a future for themselves, so they work hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized and always know what your tasks are for that week. It's easy to get behind since the classes are fast-paced. Also, make sure log on to Blackboard regularly!

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College is a great way to start your education path to your career! They have good instructors and a good dance class. The administration is helpful and the library is a great study environment.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of choices in the cafeteria. I would like more healthy options. However, there are a few natural food vending machines on campus (I believe there are two) which is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I'm assuming it's nice. The building looks good. I've only met one person who lives in the dorms, he really likes it.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard you will be pleased with your grades. I believe the work is fairly dispersed among all classes; if you sign up for a 2 credit class you will only be given 2 credits worth of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on receiving financial aid fill out everything as early as possible. The financial aid department has a lot of students to work with so give yourself time to wait in line.

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College is great. When I started I only took one class at a time and worked full time. Now I am a full time student.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types of students

    What to do for fun

    all kinds of sports and clubs

    Food and Dining

    variety, clean and well cooked

    Tips for prospective students

    come and join, its a wonderful college to be in

    In three sentences

    wonderful environment, great teachers and i have learnt a lot so far

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is good, many coffee shops

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great! Right on campus, less than five minutes from all classes, very nice dorms. Big! Lots of space! Full kitchen and living area.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors work close with students to help them achieve their academic goals!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your financial aid in on time!

    In three sentences

    Great faculty. Very student centered. Good resources.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Heavily patrolled with much crime to create any sort of issues.

    Greek Life

    Diversity.

    Clubs and Activities

    More than can be named!

    Great for these types of students

    All students looking to get a 2-year degree and/or transfer to the WSU campus or another 4-year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Green-team keeping the campus not only clean but colorful.

    Bang for the buck

    Great opportunities, many degrees, so much to offer a student with an amazing atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    You are only a few miles from Edmonds which is an amazing seaside-town that reminds some of Boston and others cannot compare it to anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask question and prepare in advanced notice. Look to have a short-term plan to meet all the requirements needed to attend the college and be apart of a club or organization to be more socially involved.

    In three sentences

    Green-specific campus that highlights what the region is all about - beauty and nature. Dedicated teachers that teach because they are passionate about the subject. Student Services in full force to help students get the resources they need for success.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, dancing, film and art festivals, awareness weeks, volunteering projects: it's never a dull day on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Not much different than a high school cafeteria, but the prices are pretty staggering. Luckily there's a nice assortment of restaurants within a mile of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unexpectedly quiet, but very fun and community oriented.

    Academic Rigor

    Specialized classes are quite challenging, but most remedials are not at all. The professors truly work hard to help you grasp any material, so with good effort it's quite easy to pass classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register and enroll early! Processing times can take several weeks, so it's easy to miss a chance to attend certain classes or receive you aid in time for school.

    In three sentences

    Great faculty, resources, and student body. Attending on line and on campus has been a wonderful experience. Professors work hard to help you conceptualize material and the financial aid department is very overworked, but incredibly helpful.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Campus security at all time and is very well patrolled. And there are help boxes around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student learning center, Free tutoring, 24/7 online student support, and a student center for disabilities.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for all types of student young and old.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a University on campus as well.

    Bang for the buck

    What you put into it, you will get out of it. That is what I am doing.

    What to do for fun

    Arts show, Baseball games, The Black Box theater.

    Food and Dining

    They have really good food and they also have a sit down dining area, where the Culinary students make everything.

    Dorm Life

    They have 2 College Dorms I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Be well prepared for 3-4 hours of studing a night. And even longer during finals, it pays off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to see the advisor for the program you are interested in and look at the program sheets carefully as they pertain to financial aid. Otherwise I say go for it, it has been wonderful.

    In three sentences

    An excellent experience for the returning older college student. Teachers are there and also the learning center offers free tutoring and the I-Best program is so helpful. Cant wait for summer quarter.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of the top priorities of this school. If you walk around campus, you will notice various parking attendants and security personel to ensure that students are always safe.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a high school student, then take place in the Running Start program. You will save tons of money on tuition while earning high school and college credits. The quality of education is also great and I've met many great teachers that have been very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities that the college provides. Time to time, there are festivals and events that provide entertainment like live performances and free food. The campus also has a theater that always has performances for a reasonable price.

    Food and Dining

    The college has several places to eat and all of these locations are very convenient because they are spread across the campus. Edmonds Community College has a cafe for dining in. If you need a quick fix for caffeine and a small bite for class, you can look for two different espresso's in two of the most populated buildings. Finally, the college marketplace provides great quality, freshly prepared food to really satisfy the growling stomach during class.

    Dorm Life

    I am not currently residing in a dorm but I know that the college provides housing for students right on campus. Around the campus, there are many apartments and housing available for those in need. There are also many ads around the campus showing numerous housing opportunities and students that need a roommate to help pay for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging depending on the amount of effort and time being put into your courses. Taking the time to study will truly make the experience easier. Finding study partners and groups will also prove very helpful and motivational to getting high marks

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the numerous resources that are available at the school. Also, register early because there are many students that attend this college. Finally, make many friends and connections. Not only will this make schoolwork easier, but it will also have memories that will last for a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College is a great school for those who are looking to further their education. The campus and staff promote cultural diversity and also a green environment. The school has many resources and programs to help you get where you want and the staff is always friendly and helpful to suit your needs.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone of any age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Cafe! Fine dining for $7.

    Bang for the buck

    Seems reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of coffee places close by to hang out at.

    Food and Dining

    Great fast food in the cafeteria, excellent fine dining in the Cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tough, many are in the middle.

    Tips for prospective students

    The College Cafe has great food and is very cheap.

    In three sentences

    Major specific classes have the best teachers and students. I enjoy the campus and atmosphere. Great location in Lynnwood.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room in the Brier building that has pool tables, free popcorn, and touch-screen computers.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one restaurant, and one place to buy to-go food. The marketplace is over-priced and not very high quality. However, the coffee is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely find all the great places to relax and study if you have any gaps in your schedule. The fourth floor of the Lynnwood building, above the library, can be a great place to get work done.

    In three sentences

    Depending on the classes that you take, Edmonds Community College is a wonderful school. The bioanthropology program is amazing and the teachers are fantastic. The online classes are starting to become better, but could still use improvement.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the Office of Student Life in Brier Hall. They are a wealth of information and there are study rooms to reserve there if the library is full.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are taking math classes, math80 and above, use all your resources in the student learning center and the math lab. Financial aid is always behind, so make sure you get your paperwork in on time and check your portal to make sure they are on track.

    In three sentences

    Overall my educational experience here has been a good one. The campus is easy to navigate, there are many services available to help students succeed.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    OSL, ISS

    Tips for prospective students

    always attend the activities, a good way to make friends quickly.

    In three sentences

    has nice and friendly staffs. offers good learning environment. provides a lot of opportunities.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is active security on campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities offered on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Edmonds is affordable but I have found textbooks to be a little spendy on campus. I look for my textbooks on various websites and other places.

    What to do for fun

    Lynnwood/Edmonds area is full of fun and adventure with a shopping mall in close vicinity and many grocers close by as well.

    Food and Dining

    We have a culinary program on campus that makes most of the food offered on campus. It is very tasty!

    Dorm Life

    There is an opportunity for students to live in the one dorm building on campus. There are many apartment complexes surrounding the campus as well. Plenty of living area and opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the courses you enroll in and what your educational goals are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are ready to succeed. College takes work and should not be taken lightly!

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College has given me the tools to complete my Associates Degree and move on the getting my Bachelors degree at Western Washington University

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see security guards often, and have been told that you can ask them to walk you to your car if you feel unsafe.Or call them if you need some type of assistance.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in any. I do not know about how to join any.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a lot of diversity! I think the school is great for people who either wish to have a school that they can go to for classes, or whatever, and return home. It could definitely stand to improve in areas that would attract people who wish to have more opportunities for involvement in the school though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any campus traditions. There are not any unusual locations either..

    Bang for the buck

    You get a challenging education for a price that is much less than the price of a University.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, I have never been to a campus event! I do not think that they are very well advertised.. I never hear about the sports games, or other events. So, if you want to attend a campus event, don't expect to be invited. Take it upon yourself to find out when such an event will be occurring.

    Food and Dining

    There is a student-led dining place, but it is only open for a very limited amount of hours and they only make a limited amount of dishes for each meal. As a result, it is difficult to actually be lucky enough to get the meal you want -- so come at the beginning of their hours, I would suggest. And understand that it is student run and operated by those in the culinary program at the school. The cafeteria offers many more options, and always have tons of food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms. I have visited them though, and they became my favorite place on campus! They are very convenient, modern, and pleasant.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are especially challenging, but no class is especially easy. All have expectations that the professors are required to meet, and so are the students. When your teacher says that for every hour you spend in class you can expect about two hours of homework, plan for such.

    Tips for prospective students

    TALK TO AN ADVISOR, BUT DO NOT EXPECT FOR ANYONE TO GIVE YOU ALL THE ANSWERS YOU NEED. You have to come to appointments prepared and have a clear understanding of what you need. Do not rely upon what someone else says, even if they are an advisor or even a professor. Ask multiple people, take it upon yourself to make sure that you are getting the information you need in order to be successful.

    In three sentences

    Edmonds Community College provides challenging coursework and opportunities to increase student success. However, opportunities are not greatly advertised, so the students must take accountability for discovering them. This school has a lot of diversity, but it can be easy to feel like little more than a student, take it upon yourself to find ways to discover your niche.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    you should choose a good instructor.

    What to do for fun

    join many activities.

    Food and Dining

    The kind of food and dining is not rich.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry I don't know this. Because I don't live in school dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study hard and do assignment on time, you will get a good GPA

    Tips for prospective students

    keep studying hard and join activities.

    In three sentences

    I think EDCC is a good community college. There are various of activities that enrich my study life. EDCC has many advanced equipment to make our studying better.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I have only been to one club, Club Francais, but I have had so much fun there. We've seen a movie, played games, went to Seattle for a club field trip, and discussed things related to France that get us distracted from what we were planning on discussing. It's a lot of fun, especially when you feel like you have somewhere you fit it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey, as all colleges are, but if you keep up your grades, it's definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are several events on campus, from time to time, that you can go to, or you can look around and join a club that seems like it would be fun. Some of the classes were even pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    I also haven't eaten at the school, but I haven't heard anything negative about it either.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't had to stay in the dorms, so I have no idea how bad or good the dorm life is. The school has relatively new living areas, though, which I would think are quite nice,

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be tougher than others, and some more fun as well, but it's worth it to study and get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest seeing an adviser before each quarter, and if you are able, talk to the teacher you have that you know help in advising.

    In three sentences

    EdCC can be a confusing campus at first, but the teachers are great, and they really care about helping you succeed. I really like the fact that I found an interesting club to join, and I am enjoying it thoroughly. Getting good grades here is not overly difficult, as long as you keep up your studying, and try to have fun.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Nada. At least not that I know of ;P

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many great clubs, whether you're into soccer or Magic: The Gatering you can find someone else who is interested too.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. I have met people who are just starting out in college here and people who are coming back after 40 years. I have met teenage moms and single dads. Those who don't know what they want to do and those who are there to learn a specific thing. Everyone can learn at Edmonds, there is such a vast array of opportunity.

    Bang for the buck

    I love that I won't have (much - if any) debt from Edmonds! You get such a fantastic education and it's so inexpensive. I am often asked Why not the Art Institute? Or Le Cordon Bleu? and my answer is I get the same education, a degree - not a certificate and small class sizes for about a quarter of the price. You can't beat that.

    What to do for fun

    There are many coffee shops around, like I've mentioned. The beach is about 10 minutes away (driving) and so is the shopping mall. But on campus you can get involved with sports, journalism, clubs (SO many clubs!) and ASB (ish).

    Food and Dining

    I'm a bit biased, since I'm studying Culinary Arts. But I think it's so great that we have so many venues for food at EdCC. There are two coffee carts on campus, plus many within walking distance. Also, there is the Marketplace (cafeteria) which has everything from gyros to burgers, curry to grilled cheese sandwiches. It's pretty great. Also, on the other side of that building is the cafe. No other place will sell you duck or salmon or quality steak for under $10 bucks! Both have students cooking for you, but they are students taught by amazing chefs who have worked in the industry (in Seattle restaurants) for years and years. You're getting great quality for a steal of a price! :)

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it is pretty great, but I can't attest to anything. It's always nice living on campus though, right? :)

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on the classes you take. I've had a couple classes which, to me, were really easy. However, there were some people in the class stuggling. I, also, had a class where my final ended up being over 150+ pages (granted, it was a research project, plus I'm an overachiever... but still)! No matter what, the teachers are there for you when you need it. They have office hours and are so readily available. They want you to do well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet people. It's hard to do anything alone, we all know that. Getting your education is no different. Form study groups, get coffee with people and talk! Nothing helps learning and time go by faster than studying with a couple friends over lunch.

    In three sentences

    EdCC is not only a very pretty campus in a pretty area, it's full of sweet people and intelligent faculty. I have my AA from here and I came back to get another Associates because I had such great experiences before. It's a great place to learn. :)

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are lots of fun thing to do on campus and in the city of lynnwood. you can watch our sports teams compete, or go down to the local aloha cafe and enjoy the company of your peers.

    Food and Dining

    edmonds community college has a great cafeteria in brier, and they also have a student cafe. in the student cafe food is served, by our own culinary students, for affordable prices. the food is delicious! there are also healthy and delicious option available.

    Dorm Life

    edmonds community college has two places where you can live on campus rainier place, and sophie court. i personally do not live on campus, but i have seen both of the facilities and i think they look modern.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors at edmonds community college have created a fun and comfortable learning environment. the teachers i've had in my experience are excited to have you in their class and will answer any questions you have. teachers and tutors will challenge students to think critically, solve quantitative problems, and improve writing skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend to students joining the edmonds community college family to make an appointment with one of the advisors, and they will help you find what classes you need. get to know your classmates, and join one of the many clubs offered, or create your own. i would also recommend going to the new students orientation, to discover all that edmonds community college has to offer, and get all your questions answered.

    In three sentences

    edmonds community college has a beautiful, homey campus. everyone here is friendly, welcoming, and it doesn't take long to feel like home on campus. the professors genuinely care about their student success, and create a positive learning atmosphere.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is safe. security is always noticeable every time i go to class :)

    Clubs and Activities

    music (classical, pop) transfer clubs volunteer clubs that lets students help do work for events and charity.

    Great for these types of students

    students willing to mingle in organizations and clubs can fit in great in this college

    What to do for fun

    student clubs!

    Food and Dining

    the food in edcc canteen is great! i love to buy naked juice every morning, along with cheeseburgers or tuna sandwiches.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to mingle and join the student clubs. try to take tests such as toefl as it prepares you for placement tests.

    In three sentences

    edmonds community college is a great college for international students like me. they provide classes and treat international students fairly. they also let students join in very interesting clubs to develop external skills, such as music and volunteer clubs.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they hold safety meetings and car prowler prevention classes for students, and often have on site police who help monitor activities. this is a safe school.

    Greek Life

    dont really have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a ridiculous amount of activities and clubs happening every day. there is something for everyone, and you could always start your own club if you wanted to. they accept new people and love visitors

    Great for these types of students

    students who are getting back into college and want to continue their education beyond community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every term they do some type of international festival to embrace all the different ethnic cultures in our school.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is worth every cent that i pay.

    What to do for fun

    there a dozens of after school activities and clubs that happen almost every day. the school is also surrounded by restaurants and bowling alleys, skating rinks, movie theatres,etc.

    Food and Dining

    they have a variety of food available, and someitmes their culinary art students cook for the schools events or dinners.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms, but i hear they are wonderful

    Academic Rigor

    they challenge you at every step, engage you in class, and expect the best out of you because they know that you have it in you.

    Tips for prospective students

    get all of your hard classes out of the way the first year. always take a natural science and social science each term, that way you are able to do the easier classes towards the end.

    In three sentences

    edmonds community college is the best school that i have ever gone to. the teachers actually care deeply about the students learning, and do everything to make themselves available for help at any time. they understand their students and are able to communicate to them the lessons each day in a manner that everyone can understand.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is plenty of security

    Bang for the buck

    parking is a pain get there early.

    What to do for fun

    golf range is right on campus

    Food and Dining

    there is a full service cafe.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    very helpfull they will help you suceed no matter what.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask for help its there!!

    In three sentences

    there teaching staff are the best. they walked me threw the process of becoming a student. there is also allot of resources to me tutoring, math-lab etc...

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is one of edcc's top priorities. everyones cars are safe, as well as the students on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    edcc has a fantastic baseball team!

    Great for these types of students

    edcc is great for those who are just out of high school, as well as those who are coming back to further their education.

    What to do for fun

    edcc has a lot of extracorricular activities. from sports to clubs, edcc has it all. but if your like me and love to play hockey, the ice rink is right next to the school.

    Food and Dining

    i never ate at the campus, but i heard the food was good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    some of the courses i took were pretty dificult, but the instructors took the effort to make sure that every student was able to understand the information.

    Tips for prospective students

    unless you have a class that starts before 07:00 am get to the campus early. the good news is that the parking is free. the bad news is that everyone parks there, so expect to search for awhile.

    In three sentences

    edcc has a beautiful campus just west of lynnwood wa. they have very friendly and knowledgeable instructors as well as fellow students. the best part is free parking!!!

  • 11/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EdCC is great for students who are very focused on getting their education without too many distractions. The area is quiet but nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a job, you're more likely to find one if you have reliable transportation. Since this is a small town, the bus system doesn't run as often as one would hope. Also, if you're applying for financial aid, be sure to check if the deadlines were altered, since that has happened to me before.

    Bang for the buck

    As a resident the price at EdCC is great, but I've had many international student friends who have said that it is overpriced for them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although the College is a good one, Washington state's weather gets to me. Lynnwood tends to get more rainfall than other areas so be prepared for grey winter months.

    Am learning a lot

    After having been here for over a year, there have only been a few classes that were a bit dull. The majority of the teachers are engaging and the classes keep your interest.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Edmonds Community College is great for all students I believe because they offer online and on campus studding, they also offer study groups and tutoring for those who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a prospective student needed advice I would tell them to make sure they make advising appointments all through out the school year to make sure you are on track and also make sure you keep track of the classes you take.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is really worth the money you spend to go, and it is really easy to find books that are on sale or used through other students. They have a lot of options to get things paid for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really do enjoy being here because there are a lot of great people and teachers, there is no drama like there is in high school. Edmonds is really organized and easy to find your way around the school even though it is big there are lots of signs telling you where to go.

    Am learning a lot

    Edmonds Community College is one of the most organized schools I've been too, the advisers really help you know what classes you need to take for your desired degree or certificate. The teacher are also there to help you after class or before class and there is a really great learning center where you can get help at any time.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The students who want to improve their english. Student who want to transfer to UW

    Bang for the buck

    For international student, there is nothing give me to bang for the buck. Everything is more expensive than others.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are very nice here. The environment is great for study. If you looking for a silent place for study, here is good for you.

    Am learning a lot

    The professor is very nice and helpful. They are willing to help you if you need help after the class section.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like or work better with a small school environment.

    Bang for the buck

    $87.00/credit is a lot cheaper for me to achieve my goal, then if I went to a private/technical school, or university.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is so nice. I love the environment, how I am close to town even though it doesn't seem like it. The campus is small, which means more one on one time with the instructor.

    Will learn a lot

    All the staff and students here are amazing. I was able to ask any question and get a clear answer.

  • 11/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely not overpriced, but classes fill up very quickly so you will have to register basically right when the class schedules get posted; especially higher up math classes and online courses.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are a lot of international students and everyone is very friendly. There are tons of clubs you can get involved in, and it's easy meeting new people and making friends. There is a wide range in ages from high school juniors to middle ages adults, the majority being between 18-25. The professors are super helpful and enjoy what they teach.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here really know what they're talking about and they are really interested in what they're teaching. The professors are top rated and everything they teach is understandable and challenging, but they want you to succeed. There's even a free tutoring center if you're having trouble with the course material. I'd say this school does a great job preparing students for the real world and preparing students to continue their education.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EDCC works well for a wide verity of students as there are those who are doing running start, Ed-cap, getting their AA degrees (or like me their ATA) filling out requirements for university. there is also job training and even Resume training as well as help with job searches.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy as many books as you can used online, in the college store or from other students it is much cheaper. do not use the vending machines they are ridiculously expensive. also register for classes early as they fill up fast and if you don't get a class you want if you visit the class on the first day most teachers will let you add if you have the prerequisites and if there's additional space in the class rooms plus people often drop the class on the first or second day so there is usually room.

    Bang for the buck

    As it is a community college it is generally cheaper so you could get all your prerequisites here and then move on to a university and end up paying half as much as you would for a full four years at the UW.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Faculty is friendly and helpful making every day a pleasant one. close to the student book store there is also a game room where you can play pool, use the Internet, watch TV, or even play video games.

    Am learning a lot

    The Classes are fairly small and allow for a more interactive teaching style teaching style, there is also a free tutoring center on campus that helps on a wide verity of subjects from math to Japanese.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want to be too far from home, or those who are trying to save cash until they transfer. Also for those who want to work and go to school at the same time, since there are a good number of evening and online classes available.

    Tips for prospective students

    On your first day, just grab as much relevant paperwork as possible. There are a lot of obscure events and clubs that are hard to find out about, and some of them hardly exist outside word of mouth. The coffee shop in Mountlake Terrace takes 12 minutes, roughly, to heat up a sandwich or produce a cup of coffee. No joke. A lot of students make the mistake of trying to grab a cup of coffee in the 10-minute passing time between two classes. If there is a large line, many people will just endure being late because they've gotten in line, and want to stick it out. Don't be one of those people. Your teachers will appreciate it. In every new class, pester the people sitting on all sides of you for their contact info, and give them yours. Some teachers encourage this, but others think it's your problem. However, I can guarantee you that there will come a time in the quarter, where either you need to call them, or they you, and emergency study parties when it comes close to finals are always an acceptable reason to call.

    Bang for the buck

    No one likes paying for textbooks. It's a fact of life. But when I think about how much it is actually costing me to do my first two years here at Edmonds as opposed to going straight to a four-year, it's an amazing difference. The registration fee is only $18, for cripes' sakes. Another thing to consider is that the Office of Student Life makes many of the school events free or very cheap. There are small amenities, like free popcorn, a free game room, free drama events and movie showings, and everything at the welcome and spring festivals (including the food), are free as well. The school will put a lot of effort into making us students comfortable. As far as the aforementioned housing goes, the prices for living can sometimes be higher than just finding an apartment in the area, but it is nice to have the option at least, and financial aid can help cut the costs if you are needing a place to stay.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've been very impressed with the facilities, considering that it is a community college. There are a lot of student run events to be a part of, including the welcome back festival and Springfest, an ongoing lecture series welcome to anyone who has the time between classes which brings in famous authors and experts from all fields, and of course the clubs and organizations, some of which are purely for fun, but others can be a big help for your transfer application. There are also regular college and career fairs, which I've attended a few of, and several of them have had very good turnouts of potential employers or colleges. On a last note, there is student housing available, in a somewhat unusual manner. This fall (of 2009) there will be an actual dormitory opening up, which no one can speak for or against, aside from the major plus that it is located right on the campus. The other housing opportunities are apartments, in two different locations each about a block from campus. One of them is a large complex of 4-bedroom flats, Somerset, but in all honesty, the school bought them up after they'd been there awhile, and from what I've seen of my friends' apartments, they're rather dingy. The other complex, which is now only a year old, is Sophie Court. This last year it has been open to students, and the apartments are all 3-floor townhouses with 3 bedrooms and a full kitchen. I've heard mention of how they are trying to change the demographic of students living there, and they hope to save it for students with families, and possibly staff as well, but they have yet to close application to all other students, and they are very nice houses.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers I've had so far (that being 10 of them), are very helpful, and really know their subjects. Since it isn't a research university, and there are no graduate students to pawn off freshman-level classes on, they have given their all to their students., and it really shows. There is also a nice variety of classes to consider, and since a large chunk of their student populace are planning to transfer, it is nice to have options when it comes to your free electives, as well as to be able to fine-tune your Associate of Arts in the direction of your intended major, or even divide it up between a few candidates.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like small classrooms, lots of one on one teacher/student time, smaller community, and on a budget.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the research in your field of study and what you plan on doing. EDCC has some really first rate departments, and they have an outstanding, accredited, Construction Management department that is recognized by many international Construction companies.