Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

El Centro College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/21/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus being located in downtown would seem unsafe, but is really safe. We have police officers who are seen on campus patrolling 24/7.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of clubs, ranging from arts, to honors society, to student body/government, to basketball, volleyball, to drama club, to photography, multicultural club, to computer design and technology club, practically anything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Halloween, we have a strategic trick-or-treat activity. We do have parades. During the week of thanksgiving there is a food bash.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every single penny spent.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to join either for fun, or just because your interested in it or maybe it goes hand in hand with your degree. The school and student always have an event going on.

    Food and Dining

    The school is located in the heart of downtown and surrounded by pretty various places and lots of options to eat from that are close by.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly this school doesn't have a dorm, so accommodation is at your own cost.

    Academic Rigor

    The school promotes hard-work, integrity and diligence. It has a Honors Society for students who have outstanding academic performance. There is a learning center where students go to for help and meet one on with tutors for more help. The professors work really hard to ensure you not only pass the course but you understand the whole concept of it and also have fun while doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place. Be prepared to work hard. Be prepared to have fun too and also gain a vast knowledge.

    In three sentences

    It is an awesome school. The advisers are really helpful, welcoming and nice especially for international students. Education and classes are flexible to fit your schedule.

  • 05/05/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Highly safe, there is campus security indoors and police officers all around downtown.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a vast range of clubs for every subject on campus. Art, film, video games, drama, music, science, and hip hop.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter, distance learning, non-traditional, adult learners.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an annual staff versus students basketball game.

    Bang for the buck

    By far, DCCCD classes are the best value for acquiring your core curriculum to transfer to a 4 year university. You can save thousands of dollars!

    What to do for fun

    This campus is located in the middle of downtown, there is plenty of nightlife and music clubs in Deep Ellum. Check the Observer paper weekly for updates in the scene.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway on the ground floor and there's also some food in the campus bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at the two year community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors spend a lot of time preparing a syllabus and they actually stick to it. Check the syllabus frequently and you may find a nice loophole! Access e-campus daily for last minute class cancelations.

    Tips for prospective students

    El Centro College is located in the heart of Downtown Dallas and is accessible by nearly every bus line as the West Transfer Center is nearby. There are tedious and grueling waiting lines when you apply or register at the last minute, but those are expected at any institution. Get to know an advisor or professor during their office hours as they will be great help for acquiring letters of recommendation for transfer scholarships.

    In three sentences

    There is truly a sense of community in the mid-rise building among the skyscrapers downtown. You may feel lost in the shuffle of all the business people walking the streets of downtown but that all changes when you walk into El Centro. This college tries and successfully becomes a great foundation for all who seek valuable and applicable knowledge in the real world.

  • 12/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit all the buildings and shops surrounding El Centro in Downtown.

    Food and Dining

    El Centro is located in downtown Dallas and thus, there are a variety of great places to eat around there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the opportunities and clubs they offer.

    In three sentences

    El Centro College provides a variety of opportunities of majors to choose from. The staff is friendly and provides you with any help they can provide. And they also provide free dart passes for the semester.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    we only have one fast food in the student centre, which has no competition

    Dorm Life

    My college is in the heart of Downtown Dallas, there is no accommodation provision.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want in terms of the degree or major. Always ask questions, don't ever assume. Go to the appropriate source to find answers to your issues or problems. When visiting an Academic Advisor, PLEASE! make sure they understand what you want, or else you'll be placed in a class you don't really need for your major.

    In three sentences

    El Centro College is one of the best colleges in the country in terms of dedicated instructors. Adequate resources for students' success and one of the best School libraries I've ever seen. Vast in books and people assistance.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    like to explore and like meeting new people

    What to do for fun

    its downtown so there are a lot of things to explore

    Tips for prospective students

    use what el centro has to offer!

    In three sentences

    diverse cool fresh

  • 05/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are friendly and diligent, but I have heard horror stories about things can happen in non-frequented places like staircases.

    Bang for the buck

    During your new student orientation, pay close attention to the peer mentors and the resources they mention. You may need to use one someday.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do at the school itself per say, but if you don't mind getting to know downtown Dallas a bit more, you can find plenty of interesting things to do. Dallas has an interesting music scene, especially in Deep Ellum.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway on campus and occasionally the culinary arts department will cook and sell their food during lunchtimes. But there are tons of places to eat around campus, in the Bank of America Plaza and just around downtown.

    Academic Rigor

    The students here are generally unmotivated. It can be a challenge to remain focused on school in this college, because many of the students here attend school mostly to socialize. Discipline is definitely needed to succeed here. It is very easy to become sidetracked.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with anything, remember that you have resources here the college but you must utilize them for them to be effective. They have free tutoring, childcare, even a program specifically for students in the math/sciences majors. If you want to make the most of this college, go above and beyond to develop good relationships with your professors. They will help make sure that you have everything you need to obtain optimal grades.

    In three sentences

    El-Centro is a great place to get your feet in the water, college-wise. The staff here are extremely informative and helpful, and there are so many programs to help you get to where you need to go, regardless of your current situation. I love it.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being in the downtown area their are a lot of cops. I consider this campus as a safe place because there have not been any crime-related incidents since i enrolled. The school has a broad club and organizations list to chose from depending on your interests. They also have a program for single moms, they help them with child assistance and school appliances.

    Clubs and Activities

    their are a lot of clubs but students are proactive

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion major

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in the city district then yes. Only about $250 per class

    Food and Dining

    only a subway

    Dorm Life

    the school doesn't offer on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are between 35-15 people. You get great one-to-one attention. The teachers are very helpful and understanding. MOST of the classes are transferable. There is always people who help in the learning/tutoring center. The teachers regularly don't give heavy workload consecutively. I am currently taking 4 classes (while having a part time job). The school has a really good variaty of teachers and hours that fit any schedule!

    In three sentences

    Overall, I enjoyed my experiences at this college. They have a variety of classes which you can take online or on campus. The teachers are flexible. My Drama teacher gave me some encouraging words the first day of class.To take in all of what you want If you are dedicated and work hard you will do good and ace all goals. My advice for prospective students would be that it is definitely a good choice. It is cheaper and really flexible with your schedule. The school also gives FREE DART passes for El Centro students.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has officers who keep the campus secure and are able to assist in any problem that comes up.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than a ton of clubs, most of them range from anime clubs, to government and political clubs. These clubs help shape the students into a more team based people. Which I think is great!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student can go there!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't have knowledge of any.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has a high percentage of students who's tuition was paid with financial aid. This is great for students who want to attend college and save money. Unfortunately for me, I happen to be a foreign student, which unfortunately I am not able to many sources of aid. It's terrible that I will not be able to attend this college this semester because my tuition won't be paid.

    What to do for fun

    As far as I know the school has a gym, it also has a few centers which provide you with entertainment. It seems that the school always has something to do in terms of activities.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a subway, which is pretty good. There are also other places which surround the area and provide good food at a price.

    Dorm Life

    The school currently doesn't have a dorm as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    From the people that I have met there, most of the one that I have talked to have a hunger for helping and providing opportunities for those who might now have one at the moment. They will always compromise and find ways to improve your current situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to keep on the look out for resources, make new friends, most likely those friends will help you out in anything that you will need in terms of advice and help. Also, joining a club, and understanding the requirements that it takes to join one.

    In three sentences

    Awesome School!

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is pretty safe, there are lots of police around especially at night time that stays in the building in case of emergencies and what not.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great choice of school to start off with after high school if you want to major in any medical fields.

    What to do for fun

    El Centro has a lot of activites every month that anyone can join and have fun and meet new people. The school also offers a free gym and zumba classes, which really attracts many people.

    Food and Dining

    El Centro has subway inside the foodcourt, I think its a great choice of food to have in the school since subway has been proven to be more healthier compared to other fast foods.

    Dorm Life

    Since El Centro is a community college, there really isn't a dorm, but there is a train that is close to the college which you can get a free pass of.

    Academic Rigor

    El Centro's academic rigor is really on the point, if you already know what you want to major in, the staff will guide you towards achieving that goal and will tell you what classes to take. To me, most of my classes are challenging since I'm working on my nursing program and it really made me learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be always prepared for challenges, always try to get ahead if you want to do good. Also, never hesitate to ask for help, that's what the staff and teachers are there for, they are always willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    El Centro is a really great school. Most teachers will challenge and push you to a higher level to become more educated, they help you understand the subject that will actually apply in a real world. The school staff are also very helpful and kind.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a couple of very good restaurants within a couple of blocks of this facility. They cater mostly to tourists and the students at both the Allied Health facility and the main campus two blocks away.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of very good restaurants within a couple of blocks of this facility. They cater mostly to tourists and the students at both the Allied Health facility and the main campus two blocks away.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college therefore there is no dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    The students at this facility are all specializing in medical degrees so they are all very dedicated and health-minded individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    The administration staff is fairly small and they handle all the programs in this facility. Get to know these staff members well and you're attendance here will be much smoother.

    In three sentences

    El Centro College Allied Health campus is located in the former Paramount Pictures building in the West End in downtown Dallas, Texas. It is a renovated seven floor building housing programs including Radiology, Nursing, Medical Laboratory, Surgical Tech, etc. This is a beautiful facility that I am excited to attend and will be graduating from in 2015.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There always an officer around checking student I.D and practicing random safety of our school

    Clubs and Activities

    Fashion Society and Phi theta Kappa member

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    campus being in the middle of Downtown Dallas

    What to do for fun

    Read fictional books,shopping, hanging out with family and friends

    Food and Dining

    subway right on campus, underground food restaurants across from school in the Bank of America building

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what classes you will have to take before the advisor suggest classes for you to take

    In three sentences

    I will give the school 3.5 out of 5 only because it's a crowded school. As for as academic I give them 5 for having high school students to attend and achieve their goals before their own high school graduation. Fashion program is a 5 with the knowledge of instructor have and the networking.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    El Centro has campus police and everyone is required to have their student/employee ID showing at all times.

    Greek Life

    As a community college, it doesn't have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I didn't join any clubs this semester, I do know that there are several and I would see flyers for different club meetings. There was also a club fair where you could meet people from some of the clubs and get information.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable; it costs a whole lot less than a university while still getting a great education.

    Food and Dining

    Inside El Centro are snacks and Subway, however, very close by are several restaurants. Many are within walking distance, or most students are eligible for free DART passes and can ride to some as well.

    Dorm Life

    As most community colleges, El Centro does not offer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it is fairly easy to sign up for classes last minute, try to do it sooner rather than later so you'll have a better chance of getting the classes and schedule you want. Also, work on getting financial aid as early as possible- the wait can be long but stick with it, the people are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    El Centro is a great community college- if they don't have your major, I definitely recommend it for at least learning the basics. All of the teachers I've had are very nice, helpful, and are all around good teachers and people. Everyone there seems nice; both students and professors will smile and say hello and even make small talk in the elevators.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They've got great campus security at El Centro. The officers are there to help in any way they can.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities at El Centro. Just start asking questions at the Information Desk or Student Life Office and they'll direct you to the path you want to go.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of clubs and organizations at El Centro College. If you ask at the Student Life Office, you could give you a rundown of what could be the right fit for you! El Centro College also has a lot of events throughout the semesters, so one day you could walk right into a video game or dancing party in the middle of the school!

    Food and Dining

    Food options are limited if you don't want to stray too far, but with the DART pass, you've got plenty of options! Subway is right in the school too!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms seeing as it's a downtown community college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some tough subjects offered, but with the right teacher and studying skills you could pass the class with flying colors. There are some easy classes, depending on your strengths in certain subjects, but if you apply yourself, they could all be easy classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    LEARNING CENTER! LEARNING CENTER! LEARNING CENTER! They have really great tutors and if you have a question, they have your answer! If they don't know the answer, they can definitely direct you to the people who do. Parking is a nightmare sometimes, but thankfully El Centro College gives students a DART pass that can be used on the trains and buses to get you to where you need to go. Just remember, stranger danger! It IS downtown after all. Get to Financial Aid and the Advising QUICK! They get pretty busy at the beginning and ends of semesters because everyone wants to register for classes at the last minute. Go about a month ahead of everyone else and your wait time won't be more than 20 minutes! Get to know the teachers as well! When worse becomes worst, they can be your very best friend and help you out. Just let the teachers know at the beginning of the semester that you'll ready and willing to pass, and then SHOW IT!

    In three sentences

    El Centro College is a great starting point with amazing teachers, the classes to get you started and services you didn't even think about. The Learning Center at El Centro College is a tremendous help and you can always meet new people anywhere. The options for food are a bit limited and parking can be a hassle, but with your DART pass, you're all set and ready to go!

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    So many services are close by if you get tired of eating Subway on campus. There's alot of fast food around, a 7-Eleven if you would like to eat on the go, and the buildings across the street have many resturants to dine in.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your instructor. Some are pretty strict or detailed oriented. Others are laid back, but all of them are available to help you when you need it.

    In three sentences

    It is a campus located in downtown Dallas with lots of services so close by the campus. It is a small campus but with floors of classes. The people that come here are very mature that encourage and help each other to succeed in college.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is staffed with security and police officers 24/7, and that makes me feel very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Science major students with interest in staying in shape will fit right in here at El Centro. That is exactly what I am doing here at El Centro, six days per week; studying and exerciseing everyday.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best tuition that I've found from any community college that also offers a great education for science majors.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the gym to play soccer, lift weights, play volleyball, and play basketball for self entertianment.

    Food and Dining

    Being in the heart of downtown Dallas, there is a huge variety of resturants to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    The biological courses offered here are very competitive but extremely knowledgeable!

    Tips for prospective students

    New students, and returning students, should apply early for their classes of interest to reserve a seat and leave time to apply for grants and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    El Centro has knowledgeable staff so you can obtain a great biology foundation for any science majors. The tuition is also extremely reasonable for a community college. The campus is realatively compact for quick transportation between classes by the use of elevators within a 8 story building.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is safe they are securities around. They help you when you needed and there is a policy to have your id on.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are a hundred percent fun , i think everyone would like it and enjoy it.

    What to do for fun

    They have lots of activities to get into, you can enjoy it.

    Food and Dining

    Th food served there is great they sell healthy food and the dining is always clean.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in El Centro Community College, but if they did it would great.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a college to get your major from the teachers help you or the librarian if you need help with and project.

    In three sentences

    it is a amazing school to attend. You get the help that you need from the counselors,financial aid, and the the teachers. They have a lot of programs to get in to, if interested.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have cameras like many other colleges. In addition to surveliance there are campus police on board. Also the campus is in a good location downtown where other police headquaters and office buildings are located so safety is ensured!

    Clubs and Activities

    I just recently enrolled

    Great for these types of students

    I didnt quite comprehend this sections.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just recently enrolled

    What to do for fun

    I've just recently enrolled

    Food and Dining

    If your money is as funny as mine you may want to possibly bring your lunch everyday. However, I usually tend to treat myself here and there. The best part about the dinning here is they have a subway!

    Dorm Life

    I cant share this expierence because I'm not currently in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I've just recently enrolled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for everything early as possible or it can begin to be a stress trying to accomplish all of your task right upon registration deadline dates.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 im going to have to rate El centro at a 7 with the expierence I've had wit the college thus far. However, Elcentro was not exactly my first choice overall I'm glad I made it my Plan B. Anyone pursing a community college in the Dallas area I think should go along with Elcentro.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good rating is about a 10

    Dorm Life

    no dorms rating is 0

    Academic Rigor

    easy to obtain I would say the academic standing is fair about a 7 on a scale of 1-10

    In three sentences

    El Centro College is full of higher learning and have a awesome library.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    At $52.00 a credit hour, you can't find anything cheaper. This is by far the best education for the best price! I would reccomend this college, if even just for the basics because of its low cost to the community. It is beyond affordable and worth every penny spent.

    What to do for fun

    The Old Red Museum is right across the street as well as the court house. There are several historical sights downtown to tour between classes. There is also some shopping.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway located inside the schools main building on the first floor, but if you want something other than a sandwhich, they have several other restaurants around including a Chipotle, a Sunny Brians, and even a 7-11.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. It is in the heart of downtown Dallas. They do offer a free dart pass to any student enrolled in classes at least part time.

    Academic Rigor

    The college classes can be hard, but if you do the work and go to class the professors are more than willing to help their students out. The Nursing program is a rigorous one, but it is one of the best ADN programs in the state of Texas. They offer everything to their students to keep them in the program and help them succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research you different degree options. Print out the required classes and speak to an advisor. Go to class and take advantage of all the perks such as a free dart pass.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college located in downtown Dallas. It offers several degree programs especially in the health care field. They really cater to the Texas community and are dedicated to their student body.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is only a subway on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    This community college is perfect if wanting to transfer to a university. There's a lot of resources for a new student to take advantage of in order to make a smooth transition to a college student.

    In three sentences

    This school has excellent instructors. This is a good place to start a college education. EL Centro College is a small community which means the classes are not so big.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, there are always police officers walking around campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available at school like the drama club, the nursing club, rising start club and the tech club. There is also a computer lab for all students to use for free!

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway in the first floor which is pretty good, but that's the only dining place.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, there are no dorms in a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a full time student and I am planning on transferring to UTA next fall and I feel like El Centro has given me the tools to be prepared for a change.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come with your materials ready to learn. Show up to class everyday because if you miss a class then you will be missing out on a lot.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing school. Not only is the environment great but the staff is amazing! I feel welcomed and safe.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police do a great job to look out for all of us here. They let it be known that if you need someone to walk you out to your car or to the train station that they are here to help. I see them constantly interacting with students and staff and always offering help if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of organizations to chose from here.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very pleased with how much I get out of my classes for how little I have to pay. Tuition is very affordable and they have great staff in the financial aid department to help you if you need a little extra help to pay for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    El Centro always has something going on. Last week we had an election watching party, with pizza, prizes and a dj. There is always something on the calendar to do, from plays to arts shows and helpful seminars. They also host job fairs and have universities come in to talk to students who are looking to transfer for their bachelors.

    Food and Dining

    The campus book store has a wide array of snacks to choose from. Anywhere from junk food to healthy choices as well as vegan friendly options! There is also a subway inside the main building, so if you're looking for an actual meal you can eat something healthy and not just blow your money on snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect as much out of you as a 4 year university would. I think that is great, I don't want to pay to attend a school that does not push me to do my best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to head into the admissions office for help, they will get you going in the right direction. After taking the accuplacer speak with an adviser and find out what your options are, they will help you get into the classes you need to succeed. Don't be ashamed or afraid to take the developmental courses if you place below the college level, many people start in these classes and work up. The developmental professors do a great job at building your confidence in your weak areas so that you can succeed on the college level!

    In three sentences

    El Centro College is a great school for someone who may not have huge pocketbooks to fund their education. The professors here are great and genuinely care about your success in their classes as well as your total academic career. El Centro offers a wide variety of help outside of class such as free tutors at the learning center and course specific SI (supplementary instruction) sessions.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club yet then you make a club!

    Great for these types of students

    Students with a job and a family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zumaba

    What to do for fun

    Student Center has it all!

    Food and Dining

    Very delicious!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a flexible college, hours that you can manage your way then look no further! All of the dates are on the college website.

    In three sentences

    It is a very well prepared college. It is a very flexible college. whatever you need help with, this college is willing to do it all.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always on alert, especially at night. There are many camcorders and panic buttons located throughout the college as well.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join and participate in. Many of the clubs meet on a weekly basis and require commitment and certain GPA's.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are active and wish to gain a rich education for a small price are El Centro ready! You must be vigilant and full of commitment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual locations or traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    El Centro College is a community college which means one things, you will gain an education rich in knowledge without emptying your pockets. Classes are cheap compared to other colleges and the professors are knowledgeable and care about your education.

    What to do for fun

    You can join many of the fun interacting clubs across campus. There are always events going on for special holidays and occasions such as Halloween and Christmas.

    Food and Dining

    El Centro is located near many popular venues and even has a subways conveniently located within it's walls.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic success is important at any college and many colleges are very strict about this aspect. Many will not give financial aid if you fall below a certain scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to venture farther into the unknown. El Centro College offers many fun, exciting and rewarding opportunities and the college's staff are there to help you pick the major that best suits your preferences, personality and dreams.

    In three sentences

    El Centro College can be described as a sturdy foundation beneath a height of possibilities. In order to grow and rise, one must first develop a sturdy foundation to build on. El Centro College opens many doors and is a great start to endless possibilities.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is a biggie. There's an entire section inside one of the business buildings where they offer food from Dickey's to a nice cup of coffee from Starbucks. Always has something to offer even when you're limited on cash.

    Dorm Life

    With near-by apartment complexes, travel and commute is simple and quick.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor; Theres always a teacher willing to test your knowledge and always gives you that extra push to exel

    Tips for prospective students

    Always use the stairs. It's quicker than waiting on an elevator that's always packed. Don't be afraid to ask for directions, theres always someone willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    This college is simple. It's one where you basically go in take your class and get out. It located in Deep Downtown Dallas, so you're always surrounded by people. The atmosphere is always a bit neutral, from people playing yu-gi-oh cards to people talking about drama. Always something for your taste

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join some of the clubs that they have.

    Food and Dining

    They have subway and they make great sandwiches.

    Academic Rigor

    great. Its not to hard and not to easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here you will love it because they want you too succeed.

    In three sentences

    El Centro is a great college. The teachers or very helpful and nice. The classes are great to be in.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. They always have police officers walking around in the school to make sure people are safe or if they need help with anything, such as finding a class.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, people can go in the gym and play basketball, volleyball, or soccer. There are also a club where students can be able to participate in the community (Phi Theta Cappa).

    Food and Dining

    El Centro has a cafeteria that has one restaurant, which is Subway. It also have nearby restaurants, such as McDonalds and Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    El Centro don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    El Centro makes it very easy in finding the right courses for the students specific major. They can select their program and be able to choose the courses they need to complete the program and earn a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that want to enroll here should know that it is an amazing school. Everyone is helpful and friendly, according to my experience. The teachers are amazing because the students are able to learn something they don't know.

    In three sentences

    El Centro is a very diverse school. The teachers are very intelligent and if someone do not understand something, they will make sure you learn it. El Centro staff is the most helpful staff because they help you in every way possible.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour you will be pleasantly surprise about the amount of space inside the school

    In three sentences

    The college has alot of study options. The location is great. The atmosphere inside the college is amazing.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and talent show.

    Food and Dining

    Subway on campus if u like sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms , it is a Jr. College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay encouraged and don't quit.

    In three sentences

    I rate my school a 10. El Centro has plans made easy. Classes are awsome.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police station located on the basement floor with friendly, regularly patrolling officers. FBI headquarters located on a private floor of the newest addition -the Paramount Building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life provides information on many clubs and organizations. There is something for everyone. Except sports teams!

    Great for these types of students

    Both the Visual Arts, and Nursing programs are excellent.

    Bang for the buck

    At $45.00 per credit-hour it is an awesome, affordable option to reach your goals.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is located in the heart of Downtown Dallas, with direct access and a free pass to the DART Rail. The sky is the limit.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway on campus, with limitless options for off campus dining within walking distance in the heart of downtown.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to college, I have always believed 'you will get out what you put in'. At El Centro, the more involved you are with the instructors and programs, the more tailored and rich your experience will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Know your instructors. Meet with your advisors periodically to make sure you stay on track to meet your goals.

    In three sentences

    The Visual Arts program has been the best college experience I've had yet. The instructors are involved, challenging and uplifting- with a common goal of setting each student up for success on a personal level. I have had more doors and opportunities open up for my art and college career in this program than anywhere else.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a serious factor at this college. There are many college police officers located all throughout the building to ensure the safety and protection of all students and staff members equally. Students are always encouraged to report any incidents that happen in and outside campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many types of clubs that range from the super fabulous fashion club to the cooking club and as well as the beat-making club that encourage studeots to get active with their hands and creativity. I would have to say that the cooking club is the most active as the students go above and beyond with setting up events that include wine tasting and even competitions sponsored by local restaurants and venues.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a video game room in where serious gamers can come and enjoy battleling other students with their favorite video games. There is also an arts display room in where artists can display their most magnificent paintings and display them for auctions to see how much their paintings can go for. Many entrepeneurs and local business owners come frequently to buy student's master pieces. I think this is a great way to encourage students to display their artistic abilites.

    What to do for fun

    The Dallas Aquarium is two blocks away from the college and is always a fun and exciting place to visit and admire the wonderful world of the sea. The YMCA is also a few blocks away from the college and it is a place where vigorous activities can be done such as working out to having fun in the pool or as simple as lending a helping hand and volunteering here. There are also a couple of parks around the college that allow for you to sit down and enjoy the view as well as the Arts Museum and the amazing sky scrapper next door that floods with neon green lights at night.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one restaurant inside the campus which is small Subway store. Outside the campus, however, is a total different story. As close as a street away, one can find many different restaurants with different backgrounds such as homemade Italian pizza which is located a block away at a small dine-in called Dante's. Sushi can be found around the corner by a family-owned restaurant as well as many other delicious places one can eat at. Restaurants encourage the customers to enhy the city view by having outside tables.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there is no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    El Centro has very kind and lenient teachers that are more than glad to help you with your studies and assignments. Having a good communication with your teachers will make the class go by much smoother and will also put you in a position in which you feel comfortable to ask questions whenever in doubt. Peer interaction is always encouraged here which was a big help for me personally.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any other college, it is smart to stay focused and not loose sight of your dreams. It may get tough sometimes to keep focus but with determination, strive, and dedication you put forth into your education anything will be possible. Surrounding yourself with students that have the same interests as you do will also aid in your conquest to obtain your degree.

    In three sentences

    I love how this minority college thrives in the heart of down town Dallas with the rich Hispanic background as well as with the soul of the African American influence. Quiet and peaceful would not be words to describe this college for it is always in movement and in tune witht the cultures' backgrounds. The beautiful city adds in a pop of color and amazes you as you admire the architecture that surrounds the college, a very influential thing.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a problem with theifts and people getting rowdy.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Bang for the buck

    Very managable to pay. Free Dart pass.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway that is decent. The employees are not that great. But there are so many options that are within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do and where you want to transfer too.

    In three sentences

    The tuition is cheap. Some of the people who attend are really cool. Spending money on lunch will be a big exspense.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You will never be bored the college is centered in the middle of Downtown Dallas amongst the night life and the arts district, this influence flows right thru to the programs functions and campus clubs of the college.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of eateries close to the downtown campus

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing as this is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The experience is yours yo make however all the tools that tou mayneed along the way will never be far from your reach.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should look forward to receiving the most valuable and inviting experience you will receive dealing with other students and staff on campus.

    In three sentences

    El Centro is a very great eclectic mix of cultures to home or to start or base your studies.The teachers are friendly and inviting. Most of all the almost unlimited access you get to available resources to aide you are astounding.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.They do safety drive often.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hard working students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have enjoyed El Centro thus far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best & you should do fine.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a good college with great professors & oppurtunities.Most of the staff are helpful & care about helping others.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is like other schools no difference.

    Dorm Life

    Not living in a dorm .

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise that you check out the campus and the classes they have to offer before you go in and apply and start to attend. But otherwise great school.

    In three sentences

    Ive seen most of the campus and it doesn't seem to be so crowded which is a plus and also the teachers seem to pretty nice and sweet. The people who attend there are very kind. And they help out when you need it to help you succeed in life.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no problems that i know of.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    working students or students that are not quite ready for university life... or students on a budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for 10% of the cost of a university. I always advise others to get their basics at community college first before they go on the the university unless you have a full scholarship.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm campus available. Most students commute and live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Study and stay focused and on your bad days just ask for help from another student or your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start as early as possible and research and become familiar with your academic advisor and financial aid counselor.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Great atmosphere. Some of the best professors who prepare you for real life scenarios.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is great

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Volleyball, Basketball, Paralegal Association, Nursing clubs and Art clubs

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    El Centro always has talent shows and student functions

    What to do for fun

    Walk around downtown and sight see

    Food and Dining

    There are food places all around El centro

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to El Centro its the best school

    In three sentences

    El Centro is a great school the teachers are friendly and the staff helps you with anything you need or want.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's basketball,cheerleading, and many activities you can join and if you have an activity or sport they don't have you can join a group of others and talk to an advisor to start the activity or sport you wish to have.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus really isn't diverse with race. Everyone has as much fun with each other.

    What to do for fun

    In order to have fun all there to is have as many friends as you can. And if there is any sports and activities you can attend those or join them.

    Food and Dining

    The food at El Centro is great, we have a subway and since our campus in Downtown we have other offers to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    El Centro doesn't have any dorm rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for students is do not follow behind others if they do not want to learn because its you who have to graduate. Also, never quit just sit calm and do as much studying as you can in order to pass your classes.

    In three sentences

    El Centro College is a very great college for students to learn and enjoy themselves in class and out of class. It give students the opportunity to pass and give them as much tutoring as possible. Most of the teachers are great and breaks the work down in order for students to understand, and also takes there time.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    El centro is at the heart of dallas- DOWNTOWN! Many restaurants are near the college, so food and dining is really good!

    Academic Rigor

    El centro is just the best!

    Tips for prospective students

    There's great proffessors on campus, it is like if you attended the same high school you graduate because you get to see many old faces from your previous alumni from high school.

    In three sentences

    El Centro College is one of many other DCCCD Community Colleges. It offers great programs and well experienced proffesors. Its a great college in order to start your career. And very fun also!

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    El Centro has it's own campus police, with a station in the school. With collaberations between Dallas Police AND DART (our public transit)police, and these two law agencies being in very close proximity to the school, and requested escort to your vehicle, these guys are very dedicated to your safety!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are LOTS of clubs, too many to list, but the main organization is PTK.

    Great for these types of students

    Social students, Fashion majors, technology majors, and culinary majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You may never know it, but there is a ninth floor. There's only one elevator, and one tiny staircase!

    What to do for fun

    The A/V lounge, the Student Center, the Circle are the main hangouts. There are other places as well, these are just the main spots.

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway at the school. That's it. There's also two McDonalds, on a block in opposite directions from the school. But it's Dallas, so as soon as you step outside the school, you'll be ready to figure out where you want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm, BUT there are apartments all over the metroplex who will give a discount just for being an DCCCD (El Centro, or the other campuses) student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Registration first to learn all documents you may need, if you're confident you have those documents, then the next step would be to go Academic Advisement, especially if you're undecided about your major. These two offices are right across the hall from each other. Last place, of course, is Financial Aid!

    In three sentences

    I've enjoyed this college experience. I received a certification my first semester. The staff is nice as well!

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't live by the school and I am a mom for hard to say.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food selection on and around campus. Sits West End of Dallas.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm, I rent a house.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic are good here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with the advisers and program department heads, they are all willing to help you choose a correct career field for your interests.

    In three sentences

    El Centro is a very inspirational school. They truly want you to succeed in whichever program of study you choose. The vision is more of success and help versus money!

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    since the college is in downtown, it is always best to stay aware of the people that may walk in who do not belong there.

    Clubs and Activities

    phi theta kappa student government association student democratic society environmental club

    Great for these types of students

    any one planning to complete an associates degree or taking courses to transfer to a four year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    art gallery heritage events

    What to do for fun

    all the clubs and organizations there are a great source for finding new friends and stay entertained.

    Tips for prospective students

    speak to someone who will help finding the right courses to complete an associates degree. meet people with the same goals and ambitions. study and work hard.

    In three sentences

    el centro helps their students reach success. with great professors and a friendly staff, it is a great school to be part of. the tutors, mentors, and advisory staff there are always helpful.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    el centro is a great comuunity college. they will help you in the best way that they can.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the classes are incredibly affordable.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of options to do along with the annual texas state fair and very entertaining parades all year round.

    Food and Dining

    since the college is located in downtown dallas, there is a wide variety of dining options. there is also exceptional ethnic food all over dallas.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately, there are no dorms offered by the school so a student must rent out an apartment but at least there is a lot of space in downtown dallas.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes require one to study in order to receive an excellent grade. there is also a lot of engaging activities that are outside of class. but overall are on a medium difficulty with some exceptions.

    Tips for prospective students

    an important tip for prospective students is to send in your information as early as possible because there are more delays than one would expect. make sure to register for classes early on since there is limited space. and if commuting make sure to depart at least 30 minutes before class starts because of traffic.

    In three sentences

    the college has a great variety of classes and knowledgeable professors. the classes are also at a great price and very informative. the college is also very accessible with different forms of transportation.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are a lot of police on campus so there is very little serious crime, but the often complained about stealing issue is definitely something to be concerned about.

    Greek Life

    none that i know of. although i know there are greek clubs and such, but i wasn't involved in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    as i said before, i didn't attend very many events. however i did attend a few club meetings. there is the government clubs(socialist, republican, democrat) and in there are very strong minded people. if you want to meet someone who understands your political beliefs then join one of them, however be warned they are a group of tight people so insult one of them, and you insult the whole. then there is the anime club, but i don't think it is very active.

    Great for these types of students

    listen to me: if you have just gotten out of high school yet aren't sure of what university to go to, go to a community college. this school is good for students who've just graduated high school, want to continue their education, or want to get core classes out of the way for a cheap price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    most of the time, you'll find people hanging out on the 2nd floor. so if you're a new student, chill there for a few days and i promise someone will notice and speak to you. other than that, there are a number of places people end up missing because they don't explore those areas like: the 3rd floor roof, the basement that holds most of the artistic types, the other building where mainly art students reside, and an outside staircase that leads up to the 3rd floor without any traffic.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely worth it! it will be an even better experience if you research what teachers you want before getting them. for example, there's an english teacher who is really tough but i promise you, you'll learn a lot. on the other hand, there's a philosophy teacher who is very dedicated to his students and is incredibly intelligent. so there really aren't any bad teachers, just a different teaching style for a lot of them.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of events at el centro, but i did not attend many. i created a strong group of friends and we kind of settled into the second floor circular corner. so therefore, most events seemed to be worthless compared to the many fond memories we shared.

    Food and Dining

    inside el centro there is only subway, but around it there are a lot of eating places. go there enough and they will recognize you, keep going and you'll be able to get an el centro discount, and then finally become a regular and you'll notice that some of the people go to school with you. it's a very friendly community(food wise)

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    a lot of the teachers are very friendly! i promise you that a lot of the time, you will run into your teacher outside of class. i should know - i took a basic animation class with don and now i see him everywhere! it is a challenging school that definitely makes it worth the 135 you have to pay.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions of your professors. they are there to help you and don't leave you backpacks unattended because they might be snatched.

    In three sentences

    if you want a school where you can get a good education for a reasonable price, go to el centro. a lot of the teachers are very good at being there when the students need assistance.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police very visible

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to joins

    Great for these types of students

    On a budget, need to improve basic skills for college entry, without personal transportation, not ready for a 4 year institution

    What to do for fun

    Explore downtown Dallas

    Food and Dining

    Limited on campus dining but the school is near an underground food court about a block away and several restaurants

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Do the work you will do well

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and register as early as possible and take care of financial aid before semester begins!

    In three sentences

    El Centro is affordable, easy to commute to especially with the free transit pass *students are given, and offers a wide variety of programs.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Since El Centro is located in the downtown Dallas area, there are so many places to choose from when eating out. The options are endless.

    Dorm Life

    El Centro doesn't have dorms as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is perfect for college level. The teachers make it fun to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have is to focus on school and keep on going no matter what.

    In three sentences

    El Centro has many great opportunities to offer. The teachers are friendly and the service is wonderful. I love it!

  • 03/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think that college is going to be just like high school but also don't think that college is difficult and impossible.

    Will enjoy being here

    I know i would enjoy going to El Centro because they have good nursing program. When i went to go visit the college i had a very good time seeing all the fun things they have and do.

    Will learn a lot

    I know i would learn alot about how to take out blood from a person and how to take care of a sick person.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art and Nursing

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are on a budget, community college like this one is a great place to start.

    Bang for the buck

    affordable!!!

    Did enjoy being here

    I rode the bus for free for all the semesters I attended, but when it came to the weather in downtown, not the greatest place to be.

    Did learn a lot

    Most of it was review for me since I took honors classes in high school, but you learn if the specific topic wasn't covered back then.

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think El Centro is great for anyone, really. But mainly students who just came out of high school and adults who haven't been in school in a while and have a family or other things going on. El Centro is really diverse in ages, so returning adults won't be out of place in a classroom. You don't even have to know how to drive to get to El Centro! If you take 6 credit hrs in spring/fall or 3 credit hrs in summer, you receive a FREE DART pass. It's a great place for art students and has a great competitive program for nurses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think that college is going to be just like high school but also don't think that college is difficult and impossible. There are so many resources offered at this college if you are struggling or just need some help in counseling or tough classes. Some good programs are Rising Star, Dual Credit, Financial Aid, The Learning Center (free tutoring) and TRIO. For example, TRIO helps you with Tutoring, Advising, Financial Aid, Transfer planning, Workshops, Field trips, Career Counseling and even textbook lending.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've never had any teachers that I've had problems with. Yes, every teacher has a different personality, but if you work with them and actually strive to learn and pass, you can accomplish it. The hallways and buildings aren't crowded, which is a great plus for me.

    Am learning a lot

    I thought when someone started college, they would just be considered as a number, even in a community college. But at El Centro I've had the pleasure to know teachers that really do care for your success and help you get to where you need to be. I've learned a lot, from management skills to how the human anatomy works. I've grown both academically and emotionally being at this community college.

  • 07/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people Just out of high school, people who have been to college and now want to come back for another degree or just to take a class, the older aspiring students. It's pretty user friendly once you get the whole applying, registering, testing, going to class thing down. I've been away from college for only about 4 years, so I kinda got right back into the swing of things quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Registration dates and class schedules are on the website. Show up early for registration. Show up early if you need to use the advising center. New students MUST use the advising center to sign up for classes, so go early in the morning and expect a little bit of a wait. If you are applying to the Nursing program, read everything given to you. It's a very competitive program, so be prepared to make all A's and B's and be serious about school.