Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Emmanuel College - Georgia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/11/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EC is best for those who truly want a quality education. Small class sizes and caring professors make EC a wonderful choice. Christians looking to grow in faith will also enjoy EC. Peer encouragement, classes, chapel, volunteering, and mission trips are all components of the school to enhance character, not only academics. Students looking for a more exciting, party-type atmosphere will not enjoy EC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships...EC is a small, private school so it is more expensive, but there are many alumni scholarships as EC is a place of strong tradition. Also bring your own car to EC or you will feel stuck. Transportation is needed.

    Bang for the buck

    Dorms were adequate, but not amazing when I was a student. The rooms were remodeled in 2008, but I have not seen them. The majority of classrooms were built in the 1940s. The building is old, but beautiful, and has been renovated. Newer, smaller buildings are also on-campus. Getting out is a problem, though...you must drive 20 minutes for a medium-sized town and 45 minutes to Athens. On-campus events such as the Sadie Hawkins Bonfire and the Dirty Pig Feast are really fun, though.

    Did enjoy being here

    Campus life was wonderful. The atmosphere was Christ-centered but not oppressive. I made many international friends during my time at EC, which was a learning experience in itself.

    Did learn a lot

    I was one of the top prepared new hires of 2007, according to my employer. I had a job lined up at graduation, thanks to the help of my advisor at EC.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe but there are no Emergency Blue Lights or official campus security

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students seeking a degree in Christian ministry and students who like to chill inside

    What to do for fun

    Not much in the town only fun is about 40 minutes away in Commerce GA or Athens GA, but a bowling alley is being built nearby by the school

    Food and Dining

    Only one dining hall and the choices are very limited. Closes early

    Dorm Life

    Dorms have curfew and frequent room checks. Built a nice new dorm recently.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not that hard and requirements except for Bible classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college many times to make sure you life it because many students transfer. Make sure you want to have a strict life style because the college prides itself in its policies.

    In three sentences

    Faculty with a warm and generous spirit. Lackluster facilities but the college is working on increasing them

  • 06/19/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Psh what's that? We're already out in the middle of nowhere, literally we're surrounded by chicken farms and such...it stinks awful. The security gives some people fits depending on who is working because they like to lock up buildings early, like 9 instead of 12, which makes it almost impossible for people to get work done in the computer labs. They drive around on golf carts, there's usually one working at a time, and depending on who it is, they write parking tickets. Then there is the one cop that drives around from like maybe 5 or so that work in Franklin Springs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There used to be a lot more clubs but with budget cuts they've been eliminated. We have Cab that plans campus activities, BASA, which we only hear from in February because it's a club for black americans, and some science clubs which are struggling to do events without being run over by Cab because they take over all the events and are therefore given more money. They tried to do a Halloween party last year but then CAB took over and there was such a deal about location and dress code that it was pretty much a flop.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're interested in Christian ministries and you're picky about prayer and services and dress code, etc then this is probably a good fit for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Nope, nothing here worth any bang for a buck. If I wasn't so close to finishing and if it wasn't so difficult to transfer classes out, I would've transferred again after my first semester just like I transferred in.

    What to do for fun

    Haha, EC is literally in the middle of nowhere. To do anything fun, you need to drive about 30 minutes to Athens or Commerce and oh here's the kicker... you can't drink or you get kicked out. They try to say it even applies when you're not on campus but no one listens to that. They sometimes try to have movies or something every now and then but whoever plans the events just sucks... like no one wants to go to them unless they're desperate, which sometimes we are.

    Food and Dining

    Again, with the school's financial issues, budget cuts have affected our already not-so-great cafeteria. Oftentimes, it's too expensive for us to be allowed to put bacon on our sandwiches or salad unless it is a special meal offering. The food is like an average of maybe 4 out of 10 if I'm being nice.. they try to mix up all kinds of recipes that we don't know what they are half the time. I usually end up eating a sandwich every day unless I feel brave enough to try something. In the summer, the place seems infested with gnats in certain food areas and flies around the tables. The only fruit we get are bananas, apples, and oranges so if you love fruit you're out of luck. However, we can use our cards to get select food offerings at an on-campus papa john's too.

    Dorm Life

    Ugh.. the dorms oh my goodness. I live in an old dorm so the bottom floor is closed due to mold and they still haven't fixed it a year later and now it has come through the ventilation up to the 3rd and top floor where I live so we all get sick pretty often. The rules about lobby behavior are ridiculous, no mixed company after midnight or you get a fine, no excessive cuddling, lying down, watching movies in the dark etc. No guys in girl dorms or girls in guy dorms except during open dorm in which you can't sit on the bed together, share a blanket, close the door, have just a lamp on, etc.. and the RD and RA have to come check on you. There are mandatory meetings for the dorm and halls plus activities for halls and curfew for freshmen at midnight on weeknights and 1 on weekends, you can get fined for missing those too, and that's recent, it was extended up a few classes too. There are random room checks so you have to have a clean room and take trash out or get a fine, so basically, whatever rules the RD decides to make up has to fly. And last but not least, All the dorms at some point have had rats or mice. However, the only upside is the new dorms that are built apartment style if you want to pay an extra $500 or whatever it is now and live with 5 other people that likely won't clean anything and will mess with air and heat, etc. So...not a lot of options. :-(

    Academic Rigor

    Well obviously academics depends on your major. From what I've gathered from other people, education, business, and school of Christian ministries are pretty good academically and pre-med and pre-law are ok. However, my major was recently added and I'm the first class to graduate with it, so as they change curriculum they don't lock it in. Which basically means, when they decide they don't need a class and replace it with another one, I have to take that new class. I've also had multiple teachers that come and go in this major and it's been very difficult to learn things because all the teachers have taught different. Also, EC does not take 2 for 1 classes, meaning if you need the same class in both your major and minor, for example, you have to switch it out and replace it with another class.. all of this has caused me to have to attend an extra semester as prices continue to get jacked up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely tour the campus but I would recommend coming on a day separate from the designated preview days because then you will get a better feel for how things actually are on campus. The cafeteria won't try to make fancy food or whatever, just the normal not-so-great food, you can have a better chance to see students because we won't be hiding haha, and you can see more of the campus than the designated areas for preview days. I would encourage you to ask actual students what they think too, away from your tour guide because it's frowned upon to say anything negative about the school.

    In three sentences

    Just three sentences is very difficult but I've come through when the school has a lot of financial difficulties that they pass on to students. Everyone's experience is different but from my experience, the only good thing about this place is the friends you make because the bad just far outweighs the good. Generally, a lot of money is put into recruiting athletes and the majority of freshmen leave after one semester.

  • 02/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like the small town college feel in which you still get a quality education then hey, Emmanuel may be just right for you. Students are even welcomed to get one on one time with professors at which larger schools, this opportunity is scarce. Not to mention the big city, Atlanta, is about an hour and forty-five minutes away as well as Athens is not to far up the road either. And if your looking to go somewhere on the weekend you might try heading to South Carolina which is less than half an hour away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. If the school appears to be bland to your taste then join clubs and organizations. Believe you me, there is plenty here at the school in which you may get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    Most folks would love to get a great education for cheap. And with that said, I do wish the price would be lower to attend the school. But each student does receive an awesome education and opportunities to relate to their professors more. The classes are typically small so students have exceptional time to be able to approach the teacher. So in summary, yes you do get your money's worth if you take advantage of all that the school has to offer. From the free counseling, which is not free in the real world, to the great educational programs offered at the school, you do get bang for your buck in some degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    Okay so I am not going to lie. Emmanuel College is literally in the middle of no where or at least it feels like it. Franklin Springs, Georgia is a cozy small town but if you do not like seeing cows then you definitely do not want to consider this school. On the bright side, Emmanuel has much to do on campus. There are many student organizations to get involved with as well as the college sports to play. To name a few, there is an on campus Broadway music theater group, an acting group, singing ensembles, and plenty of sports ranging from tennis, basketball, and volleyball, to cross country, softball, and baseball. Moreover, the school is expanding with the construction of a larger dorm, as well as brand new athletic facilities. So it is clear to say that they are making their mark fast.

    Am learning a lot

    To be truthfully honest, I really am learning a lot here at Emmanuel. At first, I was kind of hesitant coming to the school because I had my heart set on others colleges in the United States. Schools such as Harvard and Pepperdine were on my high school senior list. However, the staff at Emmanuel is well equipped to do their job. For example, my English professor is an editor for a magazine, and my Communications professor has worked with many of the theorist we study about today. Even other professors I have, have taught at or received degrees from the following schools: Penn State University, Oklahoma State University, and Ball State University. So am I learning a lot--yes. Emmanuel does provide a quality education that is underestimated by many.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian/Methodist/Baptist/ and basically anyone religious since the school is Christ-centered. BUT it's great for just about anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out where things are before the first day of school. Don't skip Tuesday Convocations....I think that's what it is called. Your attendance is mandatory and counted. NEW DORMS HAVE BEEN BUILT!!! They look pretty awesome! Have fun, and know what you're planning to study before you get there! Your advisors can only help you so much!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a bit pricey for my taste, and for the programs since they aren't 5 star. I would check out cheaper colleges, but if you're into this one, go for it!

    Will enjoy being here

    There isn't much to do in Franklin Springs or Royston, so you have to drive to places for shopping and such. It is a very small campus, and everything is within walking distance. I guess if you meet friends, you'll find things to do and will enjoy it better.

    Will learn a lot

    Depends on the program, but one good thing is that the professors know their stuff. Most of the professors are centralized within their studies only, so you have to go to a certain department's teachers to figure out about the department. They seem to have a good system of teaching, but you may not learn all that you want. For example, classes like history and english are designed for not everyone, but for those majors specifically. Best thing is be prepared for anything.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you dont want to go to a large college, if you want the teacher to student ratio to be small, small town but growing

    Bang for the buck

    It might cost a lot but you are getting your money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    You will enjoy being here if you don't like going anyway, but if you have a car you will be fine. You have curfew.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities taking place on campus. Open dorm night and basketball games are a hit!

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely delicious! There are so many options!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are a good size and provide a desk, a bed, a nightstand, a closet, drawers, and cabinets for each person. Beware of spiders !

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are open to one-on-one help and the Student Success Center is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the activities that take place on campus!

    In three sentences

    Emmanuel College is a great school for those looking for a small, Christian community. Emmanuel College offers great ways to get involved. This college also provides great advisement and counseling.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    It is a difficult school. They challenge you on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, don't miss convocation, and enjoy school.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a very formal school. It holds students accountable. It also has high expectations of all of its students.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If your into sports you can join one of the many teams, along with the intramural teams that play such things as freebie football,basketball, soccer, and many other games. There is also shops in the towns around the campus that you can go to, and if you become friends with the locals there is hunting and fishing as well.

    Food and Dining

    Ever since getting a contract with Chartwells, the food has really come up. They use fresh produces everyday, and as of this coming fall will have a papa johns on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a little out of date, and they don't always have enough room, but they do their best to fit everyone in comfortably.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd have to say it ranges between majors. School of Christian Ministries is by far the hardest of them all and requires the most dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because its a Christian college does not mean its a Christian campus. You'll find many people of all levels of faith that makes just about anyone feel welcome. One other thing is don't expect to find a lot of excitement here, because this place is very remote.

    In three sentences

    Highly accepting school with great forgiveness and understanding. Very Christian based and excels at trying to give students a focused environment that will allow them to learn with distraction. Also considered a small school, but with great potential to grow.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It great for Students seeking to strengthen their faith and relationship with God and that they have an open mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do our last chapel service on the quad at end of April.

    What to do for fun

    We have commerce 20 minutes away. Then the quad is always fun with people hanging around.

    Dorm Life

    I liked my dorm girls.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and do not underestimate this small college cause it has a lot of unexpected surprises.

    In three sentences

    I love the fact that when you walked on campus and people say hi to you. It feels like you are a part of a family. Love meeting people with different backgrounds.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't had any problem with campus safety. Every time something comes up, they are quick to fix the problem and work towards it not happening again.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs to be involved in. There's music, dance, drama, math, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that no matter what kind of student you are, you can find a place that you feel like you belong in at Emmanuel College because there is so many activities you can be involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday afternoon, the Campus Activity Board (CAB) has a mini-celebration for the end of the week call Fantastic Friday.

    Bang for the buck

    It's well worth the cost, and getting better.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with friends and we do anything from having a Bible study, to playing games, to just chatting.

    Food and Dining

    The food could definitely be better. While they are working to improve the quality of the food, there are still some foods you need to avoid, but it doesn't take to long to realize what you don't like and what you do like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Everybody knows everyone else and it feels like a big family.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but totally doable. At first, it seems like you can't handle the class, but once you adjust to the way college works, the classes really aren't that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try something new or to be yourself. There are so many people at Emmanuel who are friendly and eager to meet someone new, and even enjoy differences in personalities.

    In three sentences

    Emmanuel College is a great school! I love the classes, which challenge me to think in depth about the subjects presented, spending time with fellow students, and have after class discussions with my professors. Emmanuel College has made me a better person than I was before.