Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Highly secure buildings

    Greek Life

    DEFINITELY NOT.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plethora of political, special-interest, and social groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Gay.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The courtyard corner...

    Bang for the buck

    For a liberal arts education, especially one in the city--it's CHEAP.

    What to do for fun

    YOU ARE IN NEW YORK CITY.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeterias but with large organic and local selections.

    Dorm Life

    No experience but I've heard great things.

    Academic Rigor

    Highly stimulating socratic method.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to read, a lot. Don't be afraid to express your opinions, it's a very safe space.

    In three sentences

    I couldn't ask for more from an institution. Progressive, stimulating, accommodating, and in New York City? What more could you ask for?

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for more liberal students who prefer discussion in class rather than lecture all the time.

    What to do for fun

    There is literally something for everyone. You're in New York City.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Lang Cafe is usually excellent, but only if you get there early. There's a sushi bar where they make fresh sushi, which is really nice.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    There's usually not a ton of work involved, but the reading load is pretty hefty. The assignments are generally writing papers in a relatively free form environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes in all areas of the school, not just Lang. Attend extra curricular lectures: some of them are world renowned experts in their fields.

    In three sentences

    Eugene Lang is probably the smallest college at the New School, so you get that small liberal arts college feel, even though it's part of a bigger university. Actually, being part of the University gives students more opportunities, being able to take classes and attend events throughout the New School. Eugene Lang has interesting, thought provoking classes that are mostly discussion based.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every building has a security guard, and they're really good at what they do.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a Greek Life, at all (thank god).

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for intelligent and self-informed people, with an off-beat personality and ambition to do great things. There are a lot of artists, designers, potential CEOs, urban landscapers... I don't know... you can make your own major and so there are a lot of interesting people here.

    Bang for the buck

    I had to take a year off because I wasn't sure if I was getting the bang for the buck. But really, you're getting more than that. I just wish there was more financial aid available.

    What to do for fun

    It's NYC- you can always find SOMETHING to do for fun. The campus is the city, the city the campus.... really.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the main building is great- there's a sushi bar! But overall it depends on which building you're in. There's a starbucks in the student center that you can use your meal card with, lots of deli sandwiches...

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you dorm, you might have a kitchen instead of a dining room, or a mini-fridge in the corner. The R.As try to keep their residents entertained, and the custodial and security staff is awesome- they are nice, funny, willing to help if they can, etc. etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The work-load is fierce, but if you dedicate the time to it, it's usually not that hard (just boat-loads of reading). Some professors let you make up late work, but for the most part they don't. Just be on your game!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be confident in who you are and what you want. My freshman year was spent quietly doing my work in my room, only talking to those I've lived with. I took a year off, and realized just how many opportunities my school offered for its students, they just have to find them.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely adore the open-mindedness of the courses offered here, as well as the candor of the professors. All students have advisors that are ready and willing to meet and help students meet their academic goals. The dorms are awesome.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. Though it is located in New York City I feel safe walking around at night, though there is always that small fear coming from what I've seen on television shows about what could happen in NYC.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life here at The New School.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want small classes, don't want to take science, math classes, want to live in a big city, and are ready to take part in discussions.

    Bang for the buck

    All classes are discussion based, so if one is better at learning this way this school is worth the money it cost. Plus, teachers are there when one needs them for help.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in New York City. That is all I have to say. Step outside your dorm building and there are endless possibilities of things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing fancy about the food here at the cafeterias. Standard salads, sandwiches, and beverages. There are four locations where one could use their meal plan. The hot breakfast, lunch, and dinner is good, once again nothing fancy about. Only one dorm building has a cafeteria, so students that live in the other dorm buildings have to buy their own groceries, but there are plenty of grocery stores around.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life experience was amazing. I had the best roommates and suite mates. All of us got along so well. Though the dorms are about a fifteen minute walk from school, that walk could be what one needs to fully wake them up in the morning. The security people are nice and they keep one safe. The dorm building has a gym, laundry room, and lounge. Also Stuy Park resident building is located in a wonderful neighborhood, right near the east village. There is so much to do around here and it is close to many subway lines to get one where they need to go.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers assign readings to be discussed in class so be prepared. The academic rigor comes more from the essays and research papers that must be written, but if there is any trouble with an essay teachers are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Eugene Lang be prepared to participate in discussions, so do all your readings. Located in New York City there is plenty to do, but don't forget that while one might live in the best city one must go to class on time and be prepared. Classes have between 15 to 20 students so the teacher will know if you are not prepared or if you are absent. Like most colleges one has to make the best out of what they have. Teachers are really helpful. If one is feeling lost in class or needs help with an assignment the teachers are there to work one on one with you.

    In three sentences

    Eugene Lang College is a place where one makes the most of what they are given. Located in New York City, it is one of the best places to study liberal arts. The teachers, staff, and students are all helpful and unique individuals that one will not find anywhere else.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    What to do for fun

    All the things. You're in New York City. If you can afford a Metrocard, you'll be good.

    Food and Dining

    When I was last an on-campus student it was probably a 2, but I'll give an extra star for benefit of the doubt.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been in their facilities for several years, but there was a range of experiences in the different buildings when I did see them regularly.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to write a lot and read a lot, but the challenge of this depends a lot on your level of ability and interest. It's possible to coast through if you're good at those things, but students who do harder work tend to enjoy themselves more than students whose classes are boring and easy. It's easy to find people passionate about the subjects. The senior capstone project is usually the most challenging work you'll do, especially the independent paper option, but it's also the ultimate chance to work on something that you think is cool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lang fancies itself a school of writers, in all its disciplines, so take your essay and research writing seriously. Even if you can get away with less, it serves you better to be good at it. Also, be willing to talk in class. It's sort of a pain to be a quiet type here.

    In three sentences

    Good place to get a different college atmosphere than the usual, small. The people are interesting, extremely cool, and very outspoken (i.e. annoying and snotty, on a bad day; inspiring on a good one). Overall the faculty are great professionals and fun to get to know.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Great for these types of students

    Outspoken and loves small classes.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the city!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Must love the city. Must love small classes.

    In three sentences

    Great if you love small classes. In NYC!!! Dorms are SUPER expensive and small.

  • 01/06/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although we don't have a closed campus, there are security officers at the doors of every building. You need photo ID to gain access to the buildings.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Great for these types of students

    -Independent -Creative -Socially aware -Concerned with more than a standard education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stuyvesant dorm is the BEST for freshman.

    What to do for fun

    You are in NYC so the options are endless. Everyone is pretty independent about doing their own thing with their own friends in the city but there are a lot of school activities also. There are a lot of clubs to join, some sports, outdoor adventure, and there are endless talks and speakers coming to the New School. Many notable people who are making breakthroughs in their fields come to the New School.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so good. The new cafeteria will make you feel like you are eating at a real restaurant every night. You can watch them make your food and tell them what you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are expensive (but what isn't in NYC) but pretty nice. The nice thing about the dorms is that you are dormed with other students from The New School, not just Eugene Lang students. So I have met a lot of my friends from other schools in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of reading and writing at Lang. The small classes force you to be prepared for every session. Participation is a big thing at Lang. Lang has made me learn in new ways. I'm pushed to come up with my own ideas and own interpretations of things. Most finals and graded work are exams rather than tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Become comfortable with creating and developing your own ideas. -Be unique, we like different at Lang. -You have to be independent to survive in a city campus.

    In three sentences

    Eugene Lang is a unique, progressive school in an amazing location. The diversity between people and people's interests will keep you constantly intrigued. It is a college that has small class sizes but will push you to your academic, creative, and personal limits.

  • 03/31/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All of the buildings have full time security, and you need your student ID to get in.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're opinionated and like to talk a lot it's great. The class sizes are small, so you'll get to know your teachers personally; that means if you're interested in making lot's of connections for future career stuff this is a good place to go.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is ran by a bunch of white collars, so the focus of the head faculty isn't always on the life of the students, but rather on public image and paying the deans.

    What to do for fun

    It's New York City. You will find plenty of things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great if you have special dietary needs. They're always trying to make things vegetarian friendly, gluten free, free range etc. I tend to be a picky eater, and there aren't always a lot of options, but they are always opening up new cafeteria's in each of the school buildings which have different types of food. As far as eating in the dorm/at home goes, it's New York City, so there are plenty of restaurants, and grocery stores are all over the area.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not a huge fan of dorms in general, but they do come with a few perks. For example, they have free internet access, are roomier than one would expect, and unless you end up in the 13th St. Dorm building, you get a suite styled dorm, which is more like an apartment than a dorm; your room attaches to a kitchen space and a bathroom that you'll share with one or two other rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor of course work depends on what classes you are in. There are a lot of required readings, most of which your teacher provides directly so you can print it out online. Typically, my weekly stack of readings is about a quarter to a half inch thick. Essays and tests aren't frequent, but they count for a lot of points when you have them, so it's important to study; these are especially important since teachers here don't give out many small assignments, so most of your grade will be participation/test based.

    Tips for prospective students

    The New School loves creativity, community engagement, and opinionated students, so long as your opinions are supported by reasonable evidence.

    In three sentences

    The New School is the most career oriented liberal arts school that I have seen. Most of the teachers work in the real world, and the classes offer in depth hands on experience. Most classes are discussion based, so be aware that you'd be required to speak up a lot in class.