Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Flagler College-St Augustine Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 out of 29 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who don't like just being a number because the teachers will know your name. You will have close relationships here with both the teachers and the other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. This isn't a party school and you need to be serious about school. All classes you will need to study really hard and you will have to push really hard to get an A in a class. Always go that extra mile whenever doing any assignments and do the best you can.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are really there to teach you and make sure you learn everything possible. I believe they prepare you more for life and your future career choice more than any other college or university.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's so much to do at Flagler, it's really easy to make friends, and the teachers are incredible. I like the Pilate's, yoga, and zumba the classes that you can do for fun.

    Am learning a lot

    At Flagler the classes are so small, and the students to teacher ratio makes sure that you have that intimate relationship where you can gain more knowledge. The teachers are always willing to help you and they all want to make sure you succeed. They're concerned for you when your not in class because they want to make sure you get the full learning and education experience.

  • 01/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    One thing to remember though is, even though it is a beautiful school you still need to study. You cant slide by anymore because the classrooms are small and teachers do expect interaction from the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is just so fantastic there are over 40 clubs and organizations to get involved in and if there isn't one that interest you, you have the ability to create one. Also every weekend the student center (student union) puts on a game tournament where you can win up to 100 dollars.

    Am learning a lot

    I love this school so much. It is the perfect school if you want a close knit community of professors just eager to help you with any problem or if you just want to be able to make new friends.

  • 12/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who like small classes and wants a close relationship with the professor. Also, if you really like art and history, this is the place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get a job during college. That money will depleat faster than you think. Also, make sure you budget. Take some time to go to the gym. College food is better than high school, but remember they make it in masses. So, it might not be as healthy as you think. Don't put off work. You will be stressing extremely bad if you put it off along with all-nighters.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of Flagler is quite low, which I love. I barely pay $10,000, which I find quite affordable when I compare the amount my friends pay at larger universities. Flagler makes everything worth every cent.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is something going on at Flagler. If there isn't there is something going in the city of St. Augustine. The area that the campus is located is so beautiful and you can feel the history around you. I really enjoy the single-gender dorms also. Sometimes it's nice to get away from guys to be able to study.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are amazing. At the beginning of the semester, they give you all the assignments and when they will be due. They are so helpful and they show that they care about you as individual. Since the classes are small, you are able to ask questions in class to get a further understanding of the material unlike huge classes at other colleges where you have to email the professor and basically teach yourself.

  • 06/13/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who really want to do well. Students who need a little more structure, who need some guidance and rules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. They have junior day and a senior day. If you want to attend the school go.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always on watch at the dorms. we also have new blue towers that students can press in case of emergencies. security is also very nice and polite.

    Greek Life

    not really any greek life. sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    we've got over 20 clubs on campus who work together to get students involved and become more social. i'm in about 5 right now.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a small, very personal private school located in an amazing town. it's half the price of other private school and absolutely worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    the college offers so many activities to do as well as the town itself. located near downtown st. augustine, the fun never stops.

    Food and Dining

    there is always something to eat at our dining hall. whether you are vegan or a meat lover.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are great especially for girls. guy get nice and simple styled dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are harder than others but each class presents a type of challenge that you can learn from. professors are always willing to help you out so there's no reason to not not finish your academic work.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep you grades up, get some scholarships to help the costs, and be ready for an awesome orientation week if you decide to come here!

    In three sentences

    flagler college is a very open and socially accepting school. it offers many majors and minors. the students/professors/and staff are among the nicest people i've ever met.

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Flagler is great for students that aren't wanting to be another number in a class room. For students that like living in a tourist town and near the beach. Lastly for students that are open minded, its the best way to meet others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips to students looking at Flagler, definitely come to the student visit tours during the school year or the summer. Make sure to have some sort of transportation, car, bike or long board, it will help. Lastly look for a part time job, the extra money will help the process of making it through your first year a lot more easier.

    Bang for the buck

    When you attend Flagler College, money isn't a must but its beneficial so the first point is to budget. The dining hall food is good for the first few months but there will be times when you will want money to go out to eat at the many restaurants around school. The good news is that usually anything on campus is free towards students or reduced to great low prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    While attending Flagler, their are many activities going on through the community and the school it self. From physical sports, to trivia nights, movie nights, art shows, and many more activities.

    Am learning a lot

    Flagler college, being a small private school, has the best student to teacher ratio that you will find. The teachers take a interest in what you're learning and are willing to spend one on one time to make sure you excel. There goals are to expand your knowledge in class and to help gain the advantage needed to thrive in the real world.

  • 10/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy being around the same people all the time, For people who loved high school and the feel of highschool.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to feel like your in college instead of high school, this isnt the place for you. If you enjoy doing things other then drinking and partying on weekends, then this isnt for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Most days i feel like im in highschool.

    Am enjoying being here

    Last semester i loved it, this semester i cant wait to leave.

    Am learning a lot

    Most teachers invest in you and want you to learn the material. Other teachers spend all class talking about themselves.

  • 04/27/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who come from a small town and small students that love that atmosphere! I'm from a small town myself, and it felt like home when I was there!

    Tips for prospective students

    Well, I can't say much since I haven't started classes there, but if you're looking to stay somewhere that's like paradise for the next four years check it out! Get a tour through the school-there's no way that you couldn't love it!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is extremely cheap for what you're getting! A great education, a close knit environment, and right on the beach! I was looking at another school which wasn't nearly as nice, and was 45,000 a year. The bang for the buck is incredible!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous! I've been there twice and go for orientation in two months and I couldn't be more excited! Not only was everyone friendly, the town is one of a kind! Loads of stores and boutiques, and many job opportunities. I have loved every second I was there, and I can't wait until I step on to campus again!

    Will learn a lot

    Everything I've heard about Flagler College has been incredible. Small classes, and close relationships with professors. With this type of environment, you're bound to learn a lot!

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any art degree seeking student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always start out in the dorms. You may not like it, but it is definitely an experience worth trying for. Always be ready in class (organize and prioritize) - it'll help you out in the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    Flagler is one of the cheapest private schools in the nation and definitely is worth the money to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. The weather is amazing. The people are friendly and supportive. And there is so much to do in this little town!

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoy how the college is so small - especially in the classrooms. The teacher to student ratio is the perfect fit allowing me to understand and comprehend the materials better. Plus, I love how the teachers actually want to see you and help you succeed.

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, fun- loving, and anyone looking for a close knit feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for anyone planing on coming here is to enjoy your time here. It goes by quick so make it a great run; but don't forget to pay attention to your studies either.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely one of the cheaper colleges in the South which helps a lot for those who need all the bang for their buck that they can get.

    Am enjoying being here

    Oh I love how there are plenty of things to do here so I'm never bored. There's fun competitions on Saturdays and De-stress days where maybe C.A.B will bring out fun inflatables and trivia on Wednesdays. There's yoga, Pilate's, zumba, tai chi, and ballroom dancing, (I'm personally taking Tai Chi and it is amazing). And if that's not enough, randomly throughout the year there are epic scavenger hunts where you get a chance to win some really cool prizes.

    Am learning a lot

    I love how there are so many people here invested in making sure that you don't just fail out. From the staff in the library, to the student writing center and even the professors themselves, everyone is making sure that you don't just go through the motions; but that you actually understand the course concepts and materials.

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Independant,northeast ,and international

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because they were full by Mid- Feb.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for a private liberal arts college

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a great town to be in for school with all the history of St Augustine.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are always open to meeting with you tyo discuss class or your college experience.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on watch.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 40 clubs and organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Small class sizes and rich communities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oldest city in America

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest private college in Florida

    Food and Dining

    Beautiful and richly decorated dining hall with Tiffany Stained Glass and plenty of food options. Buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    Guys have 3 dormitories and girls have 2. Guys dorms are great and renovated and the girls get to room in a regular dorm or in the national historic Old Hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and students are really focused on achieving good grades and graduating with honors. Teachers will know you personally and will hold standards for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for admission and aid and apply for scholarships as well. Find a part-time job as it will make paying for college a bit easier if not a lot.

    In three sentences

    This school has a beautiful and rich history that is engulfed by more rich community and history in the oldest town in America. The college is small yet beautiful and gives plenty to do. Finally it is one of the cheapest private colleges in Florida.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make your essay lively, that's what got me in.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great, but there's a few sour ones in a bunch of great ones.

  • 06/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art students, history majors and out-going people. This is a good school if you don't like to drink or don't want to do it often because the campus is dry and there are no real sororities or fraternities on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Having a car or a friend with a car is also very useful because most things around St. Augustine require driving such as to get to Target or Walmart for necessities. Plan trips off campus with friends every few weeks, there are certain weekends when everyone leaves and there are more tourists on campus than students.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is the lowest for any private school in the nation. The classes are small and the professors really care about helping you. This school is definitely worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    This whole campus and town are beautiful, there is so much history everywhere. There is almost always something to do on campus different clubs will show movies during the week and even on weekends, there are classes such as pilates and zumba which are fun to do with a friend. The beaches aren't too far away and it is almost always sunny here. This is just a beautiful place to live.

    Am learning a lot

    The small classes make interacting with Professors and other students so easy. The professors are always willing to help and there are several professors that I still go to visit even after completing there class. The attendance policy is strictly followed by all the professors I have had, but it is useful because you can't slack off and miss class and the more you are in class the better you do.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is never really an issue on or around campus. Security is pretty good, and the police station and fire department are on each side of the FEC dorms.

    Greek Life

    One sorority on campus, but I'm not sure about a fraternity. The sorority is more of a community service organization than anything, and it is full of cliques. It's not worth all the money you spend to join just to deal with other girls talking about you when you're supposed to be sisters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for almost everyone, even if you don't feel like you fit in well.

    Great for these types of students

    academics, beach addicts, preps, socialites Drunks and druggies: please stay away. No one on campus wants to deal with you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a statue of Henry Flagler in front of Ponce that is actually on loan from the bank.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great education for the amount of money you spend on it. It sucks that nowadays you have to pay so much to get a decent and challenging education. I don't understand why tuition and housing keeps increasing each year; there's no call for it.

    What to do for fun

    You can always walk around campus, or attend a fun student activity like Zumba or Pilates. St. Augustine itself always has something to do, like weekend craft festivals on Vilano Beach, or nightly ghost tours. Take advantage of these opportunities while you can, because you won't have the funds or time to once you get in the real world.

    Food and Dining

    Do not eat in the dining room unless you need to and if your stomach can handle it. If you can, get a doctor's note to excuse you from purchasing the meal plan and present it to the Food Director asap. Your health is so important, and I know many people who get physically ill from eating on campus. Even if you get food labeled gluten-free or vegetarian, it's not. They cook it all in the same pots and pans they use for everything else, and it all mixes together.

    Dorm Life

    Be straightforward and honest with roommates and neighbors about noise issues and other problems, even if they disregard your complaints. At least then you can go to your R.A. and eventually the Housing Department and President of the school and be able to say you went through the proper procedures. On the roommate forms, if you want someone clean and quiet, mark Very Clean and Early Mornings/Nights. Residence Life is very lenient with what they consider clean and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Even if you think a class will be easy, you still have to try like a normal class. Attending school in such a beautiful location offers lots of distractions. You really have to work to stay focused instead of just going to the beach or late night ghost tours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your advisor and do not avoid meeting with them. Keep in mind the attendance policy for each class so you don't lose points at the end of the semester for missing class. Try to take practical classes that will be applicable to life after school, in addition to the courses required for your major.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus in a town that always has something to do. The small classes paired with the excellent instructors makes for a lovely learning environment. The academic advisors actually know what they are doing.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore the city!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, it could have been a lot better. Some days I could not find anything I liked to eat so I ate fries. Other days I had to choose from many options.

    Dorm Life

    Its nice, but not what I expected. I loved the history of the Ponce dorms; however coming with age there is a lot of dust which caused my allergies to go haywire. For girls the Ponce dorms are located in the same building as the beautiful dinning hall, and the security building. Be prepared though to have tourists in your home at all hours of the day. Plus they seem to enjoy ballroom dancing in the rotunda.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work hard and attend class. Nearly all my professors took account my attendance as part of my grade in the class. I even had some professors that if you missed 3 classes he would drop you a letter grade, another if you did not miss any classes then you got 5% points added to your grade!

    Tips for prospective students

    Flagler's admissions likes it if you are involved with extracurriculars. I was told that they care more about those than even your test scores since it shows that you are more well rounded.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, there school has several events weekly. From laser tag, to bounce house, or even a small concert.

    Food and Dining

    There are several ways of eating and drinking on campus: There is a bistro There is Chic-flay There is a dining hall that is open three times a day..

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun. There is no alcohol, drugs, or girls allowed in the dorms, so this keeps you very concentrated on school work. And parents have less to worry about.

    Academic Rigor

    There is an outstanding academic program The course are very exciting and help my future career path in many ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be scared. Try to meet with your professors once a week. Be friendly and dont be shy.

    In three sentences

    FLagler College is a paradise. It fun, exciting, there are plenty of activities on campus. The staff and professors are extremely knowledgeable and encourage their students to be successful.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus and surrounding town feels extremely safe. It is a high tourist area and town police take safety and order very seriously.

    Clubs and Activities

    Always have cool activities planned. They do organized events often.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck. I expect good things for my second semester. One difficulty is that its hard to get to a pharmacy, grocery or Target without a car.

    What to do for fun

    Weekends can get dull if you don't take advantage of campus planned events

    Food and Dining

    The food is varied and good. This fact does not keep boredom away when trying to transition from anything goes at home. Hard to get to grocery stores without a car.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life. Love having the dining hall just downstairs.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not found the academics to be too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with professors. Don't allow yourself to get behind.

    In three sentences

    An over the top gorgeous school and surrounding town The professors and classes exceeded my expectations with their normal classes and their learning community study plan for freshmen. The school seems to have ongoing student activities like organized scavenger hunts, and high stress day stress relief activities for students

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Flagler is really cheap for a private school.

    Will enjoy being here

    Its a fun town and the college campus is beautiful! Everyone I have met from Flagler seems really nice. I look forward to spending time on the campus and meeting new people.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes at Flagler are smaller and make it easier for one on one with the teachers. Flagler is also very close to Florida School for the Deaf and Blind, which is good for Deaf Ed majors.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I am super excited about going to this school this Spring. I can not wait

  • 09/22/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    athletes,friendly people and hard workers

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to study hard for classwork and for tests, but enjoy the moment of being there

    Will enjoy being here

    Flagler College is one of the most nicest campus's I have ever seen I have always walked pass the campus and been wanting to attend the school. I've known people who told me that they attended the college and said its worth every penny and don't ever regret going to there

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Very social students and anyone majoring in deaf education would love it here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Augustine is full of amazing things to do, but don't let that distract you from your work. Also, there is plenty of free activities for college students and their family, so avoid blowing all your cash in the first month.

    Bang for the buck

    Buying a meal plan for the dining hall seems to be a waste of money and Ponce (the dorms for women) needs an upgrade interior-wise if so much for housing is going to be charged next year.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and students are very nice and are willing to help you in any way they can.

    Am learning a lot

    As an art major, there does not seem to be that many classes to expand my knowledge in graphic design.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel pretty safe on campus, as there is almost always a security guy or emergency pole in sight. However, if you're wanting to walk off campus at night, I would recommend never going alone, because there are a lot of small streets and alleyways.

    Greek Life

    There are no actual sororities or fraternities, but there are two volunteer organizations that try to pass themselves off as such.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to participate in, and if there isn't something that suits your fancy, it's easy enough to get something started.

    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded and tolerant, hard-working, friendly,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of any unusual traditions, but you're guaranteed to hear plenty of ghost stories, especially if you are living in the girl's dorms. In the main foyer, there is said to be a tile haunted by Henry Flagler himself, where you can see the outline of his face.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 40 clubs and organizations, plus the beach is very close by, and there is an excellent shopping district. The student center has pool tables, air hockey, and ping pong, but it's usually pretty full; it also has televisions if you don't have one in your room. The Campus Activities Board has something going on almost every week

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food isn't terrible at all, and some days it's pretty good. I'll admit the menus occasionally scare me off, because they aren't what I am used to, but there is always an omelet bar, sandwiches, and pizza if you aren't feeling adventurous enough to try the main courses.

    Dorm Life

    I know this isn't the case with everyone, but they did a pretty bad job of picking a roommate for me. Aside from that, I cannot complain about the size of my room, personally, but many of the rooms are very small and cramped, especially if you have more than one roommate. Most of the RA's are very friendly and the staff members are all very nice. The college is only a walk away from anything you could possibly need.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are the kind of student who prefers to slide by without studying, this is not the school for you. The classes are small and personal, and the work is definitely a step up from any community college or AP classes you've taken. While the classes can be hard, the professors are more than willing to help you, but you can't sit idly by and expect them to come to you; you're an adult now.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, never hesitate to ask. Visit the college and talk to the professors who teach classes you are interested in, about the course work, subjects, and anything else. Attend any and all orientations. Honestly, the people here are so willing to help you out, even if you're still only considering whether or not to apply.

    In three sentences

    This is a school for students who plan to work/study hard, and who enjoy very small classroom settings. It is also a place for those seeking a more accepting and open environment. You definitely can't beat the location or scenery, as it's set in the beautiful, historic St. Augustine.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100% best campus safety I've heard of. They even have security vehicles that will transport you to the parking garage at night. I never felt unsafe at all.

    Greek Life

    We actually don't have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of opportunities for clubs!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of any.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I paid a little extra for a great education, and I learned so much. The professors work hard to make sure that you understand everything.

    What to do for fun

    The whole town is fun!

    Food and Dining

    I feel that they could really improve the food honestly, aside from the sandwich line and the mongolian line.

    Dorm Life

    It was pretty great and my dorm advisors were really nice. I really felt comfortable and like I could talk to anyone.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, there was a lot of work, but personally hard work is the only way you can learn anything. I loved all of my classes this past semester and learned so much!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell people to start saving money for extra spending...and also that there are no exceptions for partying on campus.

    In three sentences

    I love the size of Flagler College! The teachers and staff are really in tune with their students. I learned so much this semester.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown St. Augustine offers a multitude of shops, galleries, and restaurants as well as historical sites. CAB, an on-campus group oraganizes student activities such as outdoor movie nights. The beach is also a short drive from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining room is beautiful and there are tons of options for every diet including vegan and vegetarian. The dining hall also includes a sandwich station and an omelette station daily. Meal plans also include a fixed amount of money to spend at on-campus restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Although the female dorms are housed in the beautiful, historic hotel, there are lots of restrictions because of the age of the building such as not being able to bring your own mini fridge (you may rent them for $250.) Certain rooms may also house up to six people.

    Academic Rigor

    Flagler takes academics very seriously and personally. Small class sizes help professors keep tabs on every student and hold them to high standards. Flagler also has a strict attendance policy in which absences may result in poor grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take advantage of Flagler's online resources. Not only does Flagler's website give you all the information you need to prepare for attending beginning with the admissions process, but after you have been accepted this will be your primary form of communication with the college.

    In three sentences

    This school is AMAZING! Every time I visit campus I'm overwhelmed by how welcoming and friendly everyone is, students and staff alike. The picturesque campus is only the icing on the cake for Flagler's outstanding academics and affordable tuition.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach; walk around the fort; hang out on St. George Street.

    Food and Dining

    Typical institutional food

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fine - not where you want to spend your time though.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very challenging - the teachers stay involved in their specialty and stay current with their specialty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't spend your time in the dorm. Get out and get involved. Go to the student center and go to the beach.

    In three sentences

    Flagler is a beautiful campus in a fascinating city. The academic program is good and the teachers and staff care about the individual students. I'm glad I went there.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security at Flagler is amazing to say the least. last year there was a robbery at one of the banks near Flagler. The security instantly sent out emails and text messages to the students to tell them the situation and to be on the look out for any body that seemed suspicious.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many different clubs at Flagler. I personally am in three of them. their clubs range from anything to Archaeology to Surfing and everything in between.

    Great for these types of students

    Flalger is great for any students that don't care to get drunk or high on a 24/7 basis. Flagler has a great learning and friend-making environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    intramural sports are the best at Flagler.

    Bang for the buck

    You are definitely getting what you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    I have made several friends at Flagler and instead of going out and partying (and possibly getting arrested for doing so) I would go and play video games in the Ringhaver Student center. they have rooms that people can go in to watch sporting events, play video games, play a few games of pool, ping pong, and even air hockey. whenever those items are not available, I would occasionally take a walk around the city.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has been getting increasingly better. there are a few times that I personally would rather go to one of the restaurants on St. George street, but that would just be to break the mold of going to the same place over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are an alright place to be for studying, depending on whoever your roommate is, of course. there is no coed visitation though. That makes having a study group a little bit harder than what it should be, just because the only other place that is quiet is the library and it closes at 12 midnight.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes make you think. The teachers are actually there for the students. There is a really strong relationship between students and the faculty at Flagler.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO YOUR ABSOLUTE BEST! the teachers here actually challenge you, unlike high school. You absolutely MUST pay attention and take the best notes that you can. Flagler is a dry school as well, so no alcohol should ever be in the dorms. Men are NOT allowed in female dorms and females are NOT allowed in male dorms UNLESS it is the first few days of the semester (or the last few days) and someone of the opposite gender is helping the other move out.

    In three sentences

    Flagler is an unique school; being one of the very few to have beautiful scenery, amazing history, and, above all, unparalleled faculty and staff. The School is in beautiful historic St. Augustine, Florida, not too far from the beaches. There are numerous things that have happened to the buildings that are owned by the school including possible ghost encounters

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    110% fail proof safety. Rape buttons, placed strategically around campus, and officers on duty 24/7.

    Greek Life

    We have fake Greek life. one sorority, and one fraternity. I use the word fake loosely and not with a negative connotation. What i mean to say is, they don't live together, party together, they just have meetings and plan fundraising.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of religious clubs, theres is surfing, photography, adventure, dance, cheerleading, yoga, zumba! The list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    Artys, musical, philosophical, theatrical types. Its a liberal arts school for a reason!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The forbidden fourth floor in the girl's dorms. Do you believe in ghosts?

    What to do for fun

    If you are working, and or have money, there are many things for you to do for fun. Ghost tours, cafe's, and horse drawn carriages! But for us poor college students, there is the monthly art walk, and that's about it.

    Food and Dining

    Flagler College dining hall food is on the top 10 list of worst college food in the country. Need I say more?

    Dorm Life

    Don't get me started. Dorm life was just not for me; I could not be in the same room as two or more other girls for more than a couple weeks without going stir crazy!

    Academic Rigor

    Boring, and or easy. Teachers are able to get to know you on a personal level which is a wonderful help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Love the liberal arts with your soul, because there is nothing else for you to do there. Find your talent and find people who are your interest, because there are less people there to be friends with than you think.

    In three sentences

    At first glance, it's nothing less than a dream come true. Your first month away from home, and you are loving it. That second month comes around and you are begging for someone to save you from the tourist trap that is Flagler College.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Flagler's number one priority is safety. The school has it's own security team along with a city policeman that keep watch over the school at all times. Flagler Security also offers a transportation system for students who are moving around campus and the town between the hours of 6pm and 6am, so that students can feel safe during dark hours.

    Greek Life

    Flagler features Phi Alpha Omega to add to the Greek Life on campus. They do things like organize rummage sales to spark interest in the student community. They encourage all girls to join and help set a welcoming environment for any who joins Flagler's embrace.

    Clubs and Activities

    Flagler offers a wide variety of clubs for students to join. It seems like every interest is expressed in one club or another here. And if what a student likes most isn't offered here as a club, Flagler makes it easy for students to start their own.

    Great for these types of students

    Flagler is perfect for anyone with a creative mind. It's set in St Augustine, Florida, which is a town that lives in celebration of the arts. Everywhere students walk, there are street performers and people selling their artwork. There's a bundle of opportunities for the creative student to go out and express themselves, and then be known for their contributions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flagler hosts and annual Harry Potter day. The whole day is filled with activites such as Quidditch games, reenactments of movie scenes, costume contests, trivia, and even a redecoration of the Dining Hall to look like the Great Hall featuring Wizard-dressed professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Flagler is a stunning campus. Students say it looks like Harry Potter's Hogwarts because the college is a big castle look-a-like. Because of the style the building was built in, everything on campus looks very high end and elegant, you almost feel like royalty living here.

    What to do for fun

    There's always things to do around campus. The student life organization hosts different activities almost every week, some of the most notable being a live action clue game, filling the lawn with blow up water slides, and the annual Harry Potter Day. And even when special campus events aren't taking place, students can always visit the game room-- which features pool, Foosball, and air hockey; the dorm common rooms-- which all have gaming devices and are a meet up lace for students to interact together; or also the Student Center-- which is a building made specifically for students that features televisions and a bistro.

    Food and Dining

    Flagler College offers a wide variety of foods everyday. There's many different stations, most of which rotate between different foods of their respective nature daily. The dining hall even hosts special events a few times every month, such as steak night, iron chef cookoff, and a tri around the world's cusine.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's make a sincere effort to relate with the dorming students. Activities are planned every other week for dormmates to get together to do something fun. Also, it's nice to note that the dorms themselves are beautiful and of a nice quality.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here at Flagler College are highly informative. While they try to keep the workload light, most classes are discussion-orientated and students take away more from their academic experience than with many other institutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be social! The students and faculty here are open-hearted and accepting to everyone. Speak up in class, join a club, form a study group-- the other students here will be glad for your input.

    In three sentences

    Flagler College is a perfect fit for any creative-minded student. They feature small, personalized classes that are taught in a way that makes learning fun as well as informative. The community on campus is a tight-knit, loving environment that makes any student feel as if they have a second family while studying here.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have securities on campus 24/7 and everyday from 6 pm to 6 am there is a police officer available on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs here at Flagler. From philosophy to surf to homosexuality to writers club. You'll have to check out the flagler page for all of the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Art(Any kind of art student), Philosophy, Psychology, Communication, Education, International Studies, Entrepreneurship, Writing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a pool on campus, it's great for lounging in the sun in between classes!

    Bang for the buck

    Considering it's a private school, Flagler college is definitely worth the tuition and fees.

    What to do for fun

    THE BEACH! The beach here is amazing and only about 10 minutes by car from campus. Walking down town through St. George street is also really fun or hitting up a hookah bar. If you're 21 or older you should definitely check out the downtown as well as the beach-side bars. Besides that you have some skate parks and of course off-campus hang out sessions at friends' house.

    Food and Dining

    I love the diversity at the vegetarian section. Some days are better than others but, overall Dhall (as us students call it) is pretty good. The staff members are absolutely divine! If you ever need anything just ask and they'll be glad to help you out.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Flagler college is definitely very safe! We are currently not allowed to have inter-dorm visitations but, we also do not have a curfew. You can hang out with your friends pretty much anywhere at any time. Dorm life definitely saved me when it comes to 8 am classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and an adventurous soul. Don't forget your quarters for laundry!

    In three sentences

    A free-spirited and open minded community filled with ambitious and social students. A college that is willing to do all that it takes to help their students progress academically. Diverse selection of courses and activities.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is about 5 miles down the road, downtown St. Augustine is right out your back door! Beautiful, charming city!

    Dorm Life

    If you're a female- dorm in Ponce Hall. FEC is a nightmare.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful if you are a transfer student- I lost a lot of credits and had a hard time acclimating with the student body.

    In three sentences

    Great if you enjoy the small school setting. Very private, very small.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything! History is all around!

    Food and Dining

    Tons of places to eat

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here! Great place to go!

    In three sentences

    I love Flagler College! The atmosphere is great, everyone gets involved, and it is an amazing small school feel. The professors are interesting and invested!

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is excellent and top notch!

    Great for these types of students

    Above 4.0 who were in their top ten of their graduating class.

    Bang for the buck

    Freshmen students have to buy room and the full meal plan and well I've told just how much I loved those. I feel that this price is too much for the hardships I've gone through.

    What to do for fun

    I was never able to have any fun due to the amount of work I was given, but if one had extra time they could go to Old Town which holds the oldest wood school house in America.

    Food and Dining

    In the beginning it was great, then it became horrible. The meat is fake, the veggies taste strange, and the dishes are never cleaned properly. The extra star is just because the dining hall is lovely.

    Dorm Life

    I love that I was able to stay in such an old building like Ponce De Leon, but due to the old building the walls are cardboatd thin and everything going on in different rooms can be heard. I had party neighbors and their dance club music would beat late at night until they left. It must also be kept in mind that since this building is old what may sound like ghosts is just the building moving around.

    Academic Rigor

    So much work...I'm still blown away at how much I had to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go into this college as a full time student be prepared to study and do homework 24/7 and I'm not joking. You will be cut off from civilization until the winter break due to the work load given.

    In three sentences

    Flagler College is a beautiful campus due to the lovely Ponce De Leon hotel and the culturally rich city where it's located. Yet, most of the kids attending this college are just looking for the next party and the work load for a full time student is all-consuming. I feel that Flagler may have lowered their entrance expectations but not there learning material.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No instances since i have been here

    Greek Life

    Definitely not at this school

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are somewhat small and not really developed/

    Great for these types of students

    You have no life and are Catholic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always see some kids sword fighting on the West Lawn if that interests anybody.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, their ain't much to do on campus or in St Augustine for that matter unless you have a car. Student Center is the best thing I could offer.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright. Not the best thing, but certainly not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    Two dorms to choose from: Lewis and Cedar. Fairly small rooms and not really a lot to do unless you brought video games and such.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be challenging if you do not put your mind to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep up on your work. This is not high school anymore. Studying and doing your work is the key to be successful in college.

    In three sentences

    A small, private school that resembles a castle. Very good academics with a variety of majors and minors to choose from. Decent athletic program at the Division II level.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harry Potter weekend, it is the most fun time at Flagler. Students and teachers dress up, you are sorted into the different houses, and so much more.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is literally down the road, there is an outlet mall, and movie theaters as well.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of the same foods, I have grown to hate sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    While it is nice to be right there for my classes, the dorms aren't perfect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to finish all your general education classes first. Otherwise, you cannot take the classes you will need for your major until later on.

    In three sentences

    Flagler college is absolutely beautiful, the campus is awe-inspiring. The professors care and are very helpful. Classes are interesting and Flagler is amazing.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and is dedicated to safety.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority. They are community service based and amazing girls. They do a lot for the school and the community while getting that sisterhood experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are PLENTY of clubs and there are often weekend activities planned by some clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are going to school for an education mainly. There are parties of course, but not as many as a big school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is historical and it is a great tourist town.

    Bang for the buck

    The dorm price is too expensive, but education wise you get your moneys worth with great professors.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are often events on campus. There are no crazy clubs or nightlife, but the beach is very relaxing and great for surfers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is similar to a lot of other colleges, but a smaller selection. There are hit and miss days at the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The girl dorms are in the perfect location,but my room was small and needed bunk beds. Ponce is absolutely beautiful, but termites are a common problem. Maintenance is timely, but not always. If I had to live on campus again then I would be okay, but I woulld prefer not to.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes in a way remind me of high school. The material has gotten harder but the set up is similar.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that it is a dry campus and drinking and drugs are NOT looked over.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place for one-on-one teacher student relationships. The location is prime. It has educational valor.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is less than 3 miles away.

    Food and Dining

    Our D-Hall rocks! The staff are awesome!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms for the females are HUGE! I love living at Flagler.

    Academic Rigor

    This is certainly not community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships! You will get something!

    In three sentences

    Flagler College is one of the most beautiful college campuses I have ever been on. The small knit group of students show great respect for each other and their professors. I love this school because it allows me to do my best.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24 hour security guard on call. He/she will drive students to the off-campus parking garage or any other campus building if it is between the hours of 6PM and 6AM

    Greek Life

    Flagler has one sorority and one fraturnity. That's it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many different club all pertaining to different areas of interest. They have English clubs, American Sign Language clubs, Christian clubs, and several others.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is small, so I would recommend it mostly for homebodies or people who enjoy smaller, quainter places. If you are some one who like the big city and the party scene of college, this school is probably not for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since St. Augustine is a historical city, there are many festivals and celebrations located on or around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Flagler College is expensive for sure. However, if you live in Florida there are benefits such as Bright Futures, and FRAG; if you're going into education there is a TEACH grant for that also. Flagler College also gives out several scholarships for incoming freshman and current students.

    What to do for fun

    St. Augustine is a historical city, so there are many places that you can go on a free day. It is about 4.5 miles away from the beach too, close enough to ride a bike to. There are also a few clubs located near the school, but they tend to be 21+ unless you go into Jacksonville which is only about 30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    At first, the D-Hall food is fantastic, however you will quickly notice that there is a schedule. The food repeats every week day, ie. every Tuesday there are chicken ceasar wraps, and every Friday there are chicken nuggets. The food is not bad, but nothing beats mom's homecooked meals!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms here are very small. I do not know what the guy's dorms look like, but the girl's dorms are very small. A room for three people looks like it should only hold two people, and college is very fond of bunk beds. However, there are ways to get the bunks off if you would prefer less walking space.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard enough to keep a student interested and intrigued, but not hard enough to turn them away from the class. The teachers are very helpful and would be more than willing to offer help outside of the normal class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends quickly to situate yourself into a group. Since this is a small school, cliques form rather quickly. People are friendly here but they still tend to keep to those they already know.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school, unless you are into the party scene. They have some very strict rules, but they are easy to either get around, or follow. Overall, this is a very good school and I highly recommend it.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm a pretty boring person, so I tend to hang out in my dorm a lot. Although, some people go to clubs, but that's a drive away. There are parties but they often get busted. And also the student council tries to put up fun things for students to do. Just find a great group of friends and you're all set.

    Food and Dining

    Good some days, bad others. If I were you, I'd totally avoid Sunday nights--it's really just a compilation of the week's food. Kinda gross. Can't go wrong with ceral, though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is all right. Guys and girls live in seperate buildings (except for FEC I think) and neither are allowed to visit the opposite sex's dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are not as hard as it would seem. The professors hand out syllabuses in the introduction of class, listening all that will be covered in the course of the semester. So as long as you keep up and don't procrastinate, the coursework will not overbear you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make certain this is the place you really want to be at. And when applying, write a good essay, because that is what the college tends to focus at anyway. Also do decent in school.

    In three sentences

    Flagler College is a beautiful and historical place to be. Their is many choice of majors (focusing on liberal arts) and a great deal of interesting classes for the majors. The academics here are superb.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards on campus, and between certain hours of the night they are willing to drive you to different areas on campus if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is not a presence of Greek Life on campus, but there is a community service sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs that I can't keep count!

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy students, or people wanting a career in the art, teaching, or communications industry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Harry Potter day in November which is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    I couldn't picture myself going anywhere else. The school is a little pricey compared to public universities, but the experience is what I love.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board always has events happening on campus, but the town is small, there there is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    It depends on what you like. There is a wide variety of choices, so I am never hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The girls above us are very loud, but other than that I love it.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not too bad. I made the mistake of taking three writing intensive classes, so the load was intense the first semester, but I am starting to get used to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the rules that are already set. I know too many students that have gotten kicked out for being careless.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very personal and care about you as a student. The campus is small, so you get a sense of community. There are always activities going on, so you are never bored.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    Split. Not co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    Semesters are short. Work is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Short semesters. No breaks in semesters.

    In three sentences

    People love to party. Students mostly do work that is asked of them and no more. Beautiful campus.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitley check out the campus and make sure it clicks with you

    In three sentences

    Flagler College is in a great part of St Augustine, with plenty around and a beautiful campus

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and the security guards definitely do their job and are very kind.

    Clubs and Activities

    Flagler offers a large variety of ways to become involved in the school! Make sure to get involved as much as possible!

    What to do for fun

    There is so many fun things to do here! There are sports, shopping, parties, and also... THE BEACH!!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good and there is a huge variety of food you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone at Flagler is so nice and it makes it so easy to make friends! The dorms are all very nice and they are not super packed.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes can be challenging, but there are so many teachers and they are all willing to sit down with their students and help them as much as they possibly can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make lots of friends and also make sure that you bring your bathing suit!

    In three sentences

    This is probably one of the most beautiful colleges in all of Florida. Plus, it's by a beach, making it all the better! Everyone at Flagler is nice and they are always willing to help if you have any questions!

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, and the security guards are awesome! You will find yourself sharing a pizza, or just sitting down talking with them, but don't try to double cross them because they don't play.

    Greek Life

    There are a few, but not like in the movies or other larger universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are ALOT of clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, beach bums/ surfers, Business, History, Fine arts Majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, higher education at a higher price, but going to Flagler is very prestigious.

    What to do for fun

    I usually spend my time in the library watching a movie, or in the Student Center playing pool or watching TV if I am not in class or working on homework. Some days you will wake up and there will be random activities going on at the West Lawn.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, there are always options.

    Dorm Life

    No inner dorm visitation, sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    Falger is a hard college, but you get what you pay for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work, ad even try to get alittle ahead. Friends are great, but will they be there for you when you are on academic probation?

    In three sentences

    This school is great! I love it here at Flagler. The professors are great, and they want you to be be able to think critically and not go text book per say. In other words, Flagler prepares students to think and now HOW to find the answers instead of some colleges that teach ways to take the test and pass.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe campus, clean... Security does a great job so does the Flagler staff.

    Greek Life

    none specifically aware of.....

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a club night at the beginning of the semester. tons of choices to choose from. Many sports and co-ed leagues that go on. For example, baseball, softball, flag football, basketball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are friendly with anyone, like to be social have a good time but at the same time are focused with academics while attending the college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many locations that include the fort, beaches, events that take place throughout the year. All the locations are historical.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private college in the state of Florida you really get a lot for the amount of money you have to spend. Financial aid helps tremendously. Just don't buy books here!!!!! Rent them online, there way cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    People tend to think there's nothing to do because it is in St.Augustine. However there is plenty. You can go down St.George Street and go to different stores (2 Min's away from campus). You can go to the standard (dance club). Flagler has events going on all week.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is decent, there will be days its very good and days where you do not want to not eat. I recommend getting a fridge from the school and stocking up on your own food.

    Dorm Life

    Girls live in Ponce the main building (very historical), up to three girls in one room. Guys live in Cedar and Lewis House 2 guys per-room. Spacious rooms, however very strict rules... No co-ed dorm visitation.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of your studies at all times through-out the semester. Classes or not long and work is not difficult as long as you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before choosing to attend officially. Small campus easy to get around, be friendly and respectful and you will receive the same treatment. Lots to do just have to go and explore.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Flagler College a 9-10. They have a beautiful campus and very helpful professors. I would recommend it to any student.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers are very strict and always around to help everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to do on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student that can study on their own and are very laid back.

    Bang for the buck

    Flagler College has a great bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do at Flagler College, 1 and 1/2 miles from the beach, the campus has the St. Augustine fort across the street and the town is beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    The food is like any other college, not the best but not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Flagler are really nice, they are close to all the classes and the area is safe.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are tough, but they are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Flagler College ready to study hard.

    In three sentences

    Flagler College has been a great experience for me, I had a great first year with a 3.0 g.p.a. and met a lot of great people. I will be playing baseball this year and looking forward to it. The professors and faculty at Flagler have been nothing but great, helpful and caring.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Fun, hardworking, outgoing.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach! It's super close!

    Food and Dining

    Several nice places to go out and eat at.

    Dorm Life

    Great! Lots of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard if you stay on task and have a focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and don't worry about not making friends.

    In three sentences

    Very big and pretty campus. Students say there is a lot to do there. The professors work hard to help students.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is of high importance 5 star

    Clubs and Activities

    Hopefully I can get into the baseball program. I rate it 5 stars

    Bang for the buck

    5 star

    What to do for fun

    Beach and sight seeing

    Food and Dining

    Have not experienced that yet, but it seems to be good. I believe that according to those who have experience the food and dining give it a 5 star

    Dorm Life

    I look forward to be housed. Dorms are spacious and clean I rate dorm life a 5

    Academic Rigor

    I have not experience that yet because I will be attending in the fall. I give a 5 start rating

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and experience it for yourself. Get to know the area

    In three sentences

    Flagler is an amazing beautiful campus. Flagler College has the opportunity for me to explore my horizon in the academic area. The College is a respected college by many and I am hoping that I will also get involve in their baseball program.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I recommend pepper spray if you plan on walking at night. The school isn't isolated, and anyone can walk onto the campus... or follow you to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority, and I suggest avoiding them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students will love this place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many happy hours that the over 21 crowd goes to.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey, but worth it. You wont get one-on-one time with your teachers at most schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool and lots of clubs to join. If you have a car, there's a theater, bowling alley, beach, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't many food options on campus, but a five minute walk will get you into downtown Saint Augustine. There are lots of food options there.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is small, and there isn't much dorm life. They are strict, and it is a dry campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school if you are looking for small classes. All my teachers know my name and help me whenever I need it. It's a little pricey because it is a private school, but worth every penny!

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach walk on st George street shop and hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Food is great

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus its not for everyone

    In three sentences

    The school is so pretty 5 minutes from the beach you can walk everywhere. So much to do and people are so nice!

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always feel safe because there is a lot of security and RAs that are available to you if anything was to happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs for peoples interests like surfing club, writing club, honors clubs, glee club, and even a gay and lesbian awareness club.

    What to do for fun

    The school always offers a wide variety of fun actives to do here because it is such a small school. Some things they have offered already are: tie-dye day, movie night, water day, man hunt night, game nights, a lock-in for both girls and guys, and pumpkin carving. There are many more things they try to do to keep people occupied. Every Wednesday they have coffee and doughnuts before classes and they even offered a Disney trip and a Halloween Horror nights trip. After finals they always have a relief time where they have food and blow up slides for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is meal plans offered in the main dining hall. Depending on which one you buy it offers 1, 2, or 3 meals a day. Plus you get money for the Chick fil a and Starbucks in the student center. The food isn't too bad actually. They have a variety of different things in the dining hall. They even have an omelet station and a vegetarian station. The people that cook in Flagler are very aware of different food illnesses and will prepare the food anyway you would like it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Flagler are very nice. I am currently in the FEC building for upperclassmen and they are very spacious and clean. There is only one or two people in a dorm and there is no sharing bathrooms with other dorms. There is two sinks per bathroom and a big walk-in shower. You must know though that in the dorms there is no alcohol or drugs allowed at all and there is not opposite sex aloud in each others rooms. That is pretty much the only set back to these dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really want all of the students to be successful here. The professors also hold everyone to a higher standard by making the assignments a little bit more difficult. The students here seem to want to do well and are always working very hard to achieve their goals.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was great something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms weren't big but bigger than most of the colleges ive visited.

    Academic Rigor

    Has exactly what im looking for academically they added coastal environmental science right when I started looking.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    City police & also campus security is visible.

    Great for these types of students

    Arts, non-traditional

    Bang for the buck

    The best value for the education and service that is provided.

    What to do for fun

    College is located in a historic downtown district; it is in the middle of a major tourism city, Saint Augustine, Florida.

    Food and Dining

    Meal cards can be purchased & environment is very nice to say the least.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but it does seem quite nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Projects & research papers along with individual/group presentations will be assigned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Staff can answer any questions & if not, they will surely contact you with someone who can. Maintain contact with your counselor to ensure that you have submitted all required paperwork.

    In three sentences

    The college has a very supportive and helpful staff. Everything for a student is easy access to ensure success, such as technology, seminars for writing and staff to guide students throughout their education. A great value for education and not to mention a great location!

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of tourist destinations. The fort is great. So is the Ripley's museum. Just hanging around the city is an adventure.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of wonderful food choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful and there is always and activity going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others but so far I haven't had trouble passing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy when it comes to making friends and asking for help from teachers.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful school with a lot to offer. The teachers and staff are welcoming and helpful and it seems like there is never a dull moment on campus. It's a great school if you're looking for a small college.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harry Potter Week

    What to do for fun

    The beach, bars

    Food and Dining

    Tour guide said it is really good and they have a chalk board where you can write suggestions on and the chefs will actually cook that food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are HUGE because every single room is designed differently and was once a hotel room. However, I have heard it gets hot in Ponce sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Have yet to attend a class here.

    In three sentences

    Small, beautiful, tourist-filled place. Not only is the campus absolutely stunning, the dorm rooms are huge, and the beach is only four miles away. Also the small size is great for those who need the small class sizes.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very!

    Greek Life

    None!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of options!

    What to do for fun

    Explore St. Augustine, its really old and historic and Flagler students get discounts in most places.

    Food and Dining

    Quite a few people are not fans of the food but I enjoy it. It can get a little repetitive though.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet for the most part, it's easy to change roommates if necessary. You can't have drugs or alcohol but there's specific smoking places. No interdorm visitation but there will be in FEC fall 2015 and there will be limits on that.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be heavy with required readings but I don't do most of them, to be completely honest. If you do what you're supposed to before it's due you're golden.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be nice to everyone because they're nice to you. Keep you room clean, talk to people in class, form study groups.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very passionate, they want their students to learn and are willing to do what it takes to help them succeed. The school can be rather strict, the attendance policy is crazy and no interdorm visitation except in FEC starting Fall 2015 semester. There are plenty of opportunities to be involved on campus, plenty of clubs, organizations, a few Greek things.

  • 05/19/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't like trying new things, so if the meals begin to repeat I won't mind. I'm a very picky eater, so eating the same thing makes it easier.

    Dorm Life

    I want to live on campus for the Full College Experience. Somewhere I can experience some home-sickness, and still able to go back home for Holidays.

    Academic Rigor

    It doesn't seem like a very competitive college. Which makes it easier to get to know people on the campus and still focus on your classes.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for a small school, this should be in your top ten. I would dislike being the minority race at the school, but it'll be easy to adjust. It's close to home, so my mom can always contact me whenever she'd want.

  • 07/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus. Local police headquarters located 1/2 mile from campus.

    Greek Life

    none that I am aware of

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and intramural sports to get involved in. Located in tourist area of St. Augustine. Beach close by.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy small class sizes and one on one interaction with educators. This is not the school to attend if you plan on cutting classes - it will be noticed. Very strong business, sports management, education and communication programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harry Potter Day

    Bang for the buck

    Great academic education on a beautiful campus for far less than many other private colleges. Excellent job placement for graduates.

    What to do for fun

    Beach, surfing, co-ed sports, clubs

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food, however many great places to eat off campus within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorm life. Most live off campus after first year. Male dorms and female dorms - males not allowed to visit in female dorms, females not allowed to visit male dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong academic programs. Do the work and stay up to date on assignments. Challenging, but professors always willing to assist.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get behind in your classwork and make sure you attend classes. Low tolerance for students cutting classes

    In three sentences

    Excellent location and strong academic programs with excellent job placements for graduates.