Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Florida Keys Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/22/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is very good.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for dedicated students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in the surrounding area, especially water related. You can choose either a very relaxing and beautiful beach atmosphere or engage in a lot of water sport activities.

    Food and Dining

    The few times that I have eaten here, the food quality has been good.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I really cannot offer an opinion on the dorm life. But from what I can see, it looks very inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is challenging and you need to be dedicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any program of study, prepare to work hard. Its a smaller scale college, but it presents you with the same curriculum and opportunities as any other college. It's also much cheaper as well.

    In three sentences

    i just completed my first year at this school and I am very impressed with their nursing program, the professors and the guidance and support I have received. The classes are small enough for individualized attention. Florida Keys Community College is located in a beautiful area in Key West, Florida.

  • 11/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Way too much security. 24/7 and after 9 if you enter campus you must show 2 student IDs

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Dive club, RHA, SGA, and spikeball

    Great for these types of students

    Party animals, marine life lovers.

    Bang for the buck

    Lets face it your in Key West, the dorm is super cheap compared to other rentals but we do have a lot more rules.

    What to do for fun

    Go out of town for the weekend to vacation from the vacation, paddle boarding, fishing, kayaking. All 4 can't be done on campus by the way.

    Food and Dining

    Dan's cafe is getting replaced by subway and everyone will be forced into a type of meal plan if you live in the dorms which is ridiculous because we have kitchens.

    Dorm Life

    Its not cheap, you don't get an oven, security doesn't speak english, but its one of the better places you will get in key west.

    Academic Rigor

    I like my classes but my passion for marine life is not like it used to be. Teachers try to be fun and engaging but others are boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say study but its too hard to study without being distracted. Study somewhere else and fall asleep before the others get back from partying.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus and the classes here but there is too many events in Key West that you want to experience so you end up skipping class. This is for college students majoring in Key West and minoring in their degree field.

  • 08/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 security on campus, you are lucky if you get a guard who speaks english. As of last month they upped security and are strictly enforcing the after hour guests policy.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus, many related to water activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Marine Biology majors or diving enthusiasts.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are in state this school is the price of any other community college but on water. Out of state residents will see a cheaper price than any other Florida state school.

    What to do for fun

    Considering the schools proximity to beaches and downtown Duval street, residents choose to fish, dive or relax on the beach when they aren't studying or partying downtown. Every year there is a week long festival held downtown called Fantasy Fest that is hosted by Ron Jeremy (that should give you enough details)

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe located on campus that offers meal plans. Residents chose to buy groceries since dormitory rooms have a fridge and stove top.

    Dorm Life

    Residence hall managers are very strict and terminate contracts easily. In comparison to a state school, if you are caught with alcohol (even at the age of 21) on campus you will be charged with a felony due to the proximity to an elementary school. The rooms are filthy and are rarely maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly easy, professors hold interesting classes and you cannot beat the location for any marine science major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great classes available if interested in diving or marine sciences. Many professors truly want the best for your future and education. Please take my advice and steer clear of the awful residence hall.

    In three sentences

    Florida Keys Community College is a beautiful school with an unfortunate reputation. As a current student and previous dormitory resident, I can personally say that the staff in highly unprofessional. They will scam and cheat their way to charging you extra and making sure your student life is beyond horrendous.

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a great school with a great staff. It is a small school but has a wonderful campus. The best place for any marine majors.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely not worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Only positive about FKCC is that it is in the beautiful florida keys. Ive lived here my whole life and thought why not stay home and go to school, worst decision of my life. It not worth the beautiful nature to waste your time, money, and life with this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on them with your needs, they forget everything and don't finish anything on time. If you are in the nursing program, everything is self studied so I hope you are a good reader. Throughout the entire program, only one professor actually taught me something. Every other class, you're on your own. They don't tell you that when you start.

    In three sentences

    If you are considering attending FKCC, DONT! There is flaws in every department, nobody is professional with their position whether its in a financial aid office or as a professor; whatever they tell you its the opposite. Not to mention you will not graduate in time, turn around while you still can!

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we do have security at the entrance of the school

    Greek Life

    check school site

    Clubs and Activities

    check school site

    Great for these types of students

    out going and loves the water.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in october we have fantasy fest which isa week long and its totally crazy and you will see things that would never expect to see. Its a lot of fun dressing up and having fun with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    down fall about living in key west is that everything is very pricey due to the fact that this is a touristic place.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of water activities that can be done, plenty of tours also

    Food and Dining

    dining is my favorite here in KW anything you can think off there is a restaurant you can go too.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    from what ive read and been told, the professors are wonderful and very helpful. Class are small so you get a lot of individual time which i find great.

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy the beauty of the campus.

    In three sentences

    rating the campus a five as of now, I've only been to the campus a few times just to speak with an adviser and the staff has been fantastic. The campus is beautiful and clean with views of the ocean that will take your breath away.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When the college closes they have security guards who roam the campus, which is a good thing. The only problem I have is the appearance of the guards. In essence they don't look like they could protect anything without threatening to call the police. They also seem to be lazy when it comes to checking ID's and in general.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers clubs and some random activities here and there, but in my experience they need better communication. Overall, if you're a full-time student, you might not be able to join clubs due to schedules conflicting.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love to fish, drink, and take things easy: this is definitely the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't noticed any on campus, but I'm sure they have some. It is the Conch Republic after all! They do have a lot of stuff downtown, but nowhere near our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The only bang for your buck here is the low tuition cost.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the beaches, to the movies, going out to eat, go shopping on duval, partaking in water activities, taking the numerous tours they offer on land and sea, and hitting up the bars. Key West is expensive and if you don't have money you probably won't be able to do half of the things that the island offers.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has one small cafe located by the campus store. The food at the cafe is good, but you will become bored with the menu options. It's also expensive! A $5 meal can turn into $12 before your very eyes. The cafe offers a meal plan to Lagoon Landing students, but it's a total rip off and unhealthy. The cafe closes at 5pm daily and are closed all weekend. SO, students with a meal plan miss out on dinner and food for the weekends. The service is alright, but customer service sucks. The employees are pretty rude!

    Dorm Life

    Lagoon Landing is nice, but definitely built cheap. If you end up with a room, that has a window, it can be a really nice experience. Overall, I wouldn't recommend that any student live here. It's way too expensive and unorganized. The dorm kicks you out for every major holiday, which can become pretty expensive if you live out of state or try to stay on the island. They offer no type of activities for students, which is kind of messed up since they charge us a $10 activity fee. This also has a negative effect on students. When there is nothing the do, students partake in illegal activities and underage drinking. This is a dry campus, so many students who do these activities (on campus) end up in bad situations and every arrest or getting suspended. There is no place to study if you want a break from your room and the move-in/move-out policies suck. It's SO unorganized. If you get locked out of your room, the RA's are never here. The RA manager is never here, so students end up tracking down maintenance to help them. The housing office (located in main office) is next to impossible to get a hold of. Also small islands mean gossip, so be leery of people in the office or students. They could potentially ruin your reputation. It has it perks like the outside views and being super close to the water, but the negatives can definitely ruin that experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at FKCC are fairly easy, but for the most part hard. Some academic classes require a lot of study time and some do not. The only downfall I have is how difficult teachers make some classes. You can have a fairly easy class, but the teachers will make it hard with unnecessary requests or assignments. Also some teachers tend to take things personal like students leaving class early or answering a text in class. They also tend to be a bit rude and uncaring. But that's not all teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't really a small town kind of person, you might have to adjust to it. The Keys are a little out of date from the real world, but it's a good experience.

    In three sentences

    You get to experience The Florida Keys drop dead gorgeous weather first hand! The campus is a very calm place, but it has it's con's. i.e- Library, places to study, and WiFi.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing ever happens here but if something were to, it may be troublesome. There is no security nor a police force.

    Greek Life

    None exist. It's a small school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government, Nursing Club, Leadership Club, Dive Club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for marine-engineering students, dive students, and marine biology students. The nursing programs is really good as well. Besides that, you might as well go somewhere else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a dive lagoon out in the back of it. Next to the shore in the back is a beautiful, hand-built Tori Gate that is perfectly aligned to capture the sunset when sitting out back.

    Bang for the buck

    The hidden gem about FKCC is the art department. There isn't much variety for art subjects anymore, however the ceramics studio at the back of the school is very large and productive. The studio is filled with talented students and mentors. The ceramic teacher himself is a world-renown potter who has been making all sorts of pots, statues, art, etc. for over 40 years and has had expos all over the world. His styles and influences span from Japan to India back to his hometown of Wisconsin. His name is Gerald Gogin and if you've never heard of him, look him up. He is talented and has many years of experience. The whole back half of the school is covered in murals and sculptures and pottery done by Gogin and his students. He even built the Tori Gate at the back of the school. His artwork is astounding and he is the kindest man I've ever met. He truly is the best teacher at the school and has been there the longest as well, going on 25 years now.

    What to do for fun

    This is an aspect that FKCC is lacking. They don't have much to offer as far as fun things to do. My best suggestion for anyone is to leave the campus and check out nearby Key West, FL. Small but beautiful and there is always something going on in town!

    Food and Dining

    FKCC has a small cafe run by a husband/wife team. They are both great people, very kind and humble. Dan, the chef, knows how to cook; everything is delicious and well priced! You become apart of the family and your face will be remembered by these two. Always good food and service and great jokes from the two of them!

    Dorm Life

    To be honest, I've never been over to our new dorm but I've heard mixed reviews. I suppose it all depends on a person's lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of how small the school is, the typical classroom size is around 25 students, give or take. Since there are less students, there is more one-on-one practice with work and better learning possibilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your research first! Take a visit first and check it out, then check the program majors. Diving, marine biology, marine-engineering, and nursing are the top programs at this school and are all really in-depth.

    In three sentences

    FKCC is a very small school but has very dedicated staff and faculty. This school doesn't have the resources of larger schools so it gets by on community support, which it receives graciously.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being safe is not something that needs to be worried about at FKCC, there is constant security driving from the front to the back of campus ensuring there is no out of order activity. After 9pm, there is an ID check to make sure you are an FKCC student.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is non existent at FKCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to join. Monthly socials are set up for the student body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location on campus that is like no other campus, is definitely at the end of the dorms. Here you can sit and watch the Key West sunset. This location is publicly known as the greatest spot in Key West to watch the sunset.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join, dive club being one of the most popular. Throughout the past semester, students have actually been attempting to develop sports teams too.

    Food and Dining

    The FKCC cafe is very well taken care of. The food is good and the establishment is always kept clean. I enjoy eating in this dining room because it is very family oriented and a friendly environment.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms at FKCC all depends on exactly what you prefer. My first semester living in the dorms, I had tons of fun. But there are also the negative times which will happen in any dorm building. One thing I like about Lagoon Landing, is that there are only 2 floors of rooms and these are all 4 or 5 bedroom suites. The fact that there are so few people living here opens up the opportunity to develop a closer relationship with all of the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards for FKCC are held rather high. Although it is only a community college, students from across the country move here to attend this school due to its reputation and standards being held so high.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would give to future students, is to dedicate 40 hours a week to studying your material. An advisor told me that if you spend at least 40 hours a week, you will be successful in learning the material.

    In three sentences

    Florida Keys Community College is a very highly acclaimed school. The chances of getting a job directly after graduation from FKCC is better than most. The dive program is also one of the best programs you can receive your open water dive certification from.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school have a cafe, where you could go eat. There's a lot things in the menu you can choose from

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't that bad, it includes two people per rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is pretty good. It's up to student to make sure the have good grades, by doing the home works and studying for the tests.

    In three sentences

    It's a fun School, it's very small, and the will remember your name your name and face. Because, the classes are not full like other colleges are.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers many different activities and dives.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't seen any dining halls, but I could have missed them. I did see vending machines, though. :) I usually pack my lunches, so I can have a well balanced meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spectacular; however, I live with my husband in our own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect you to show up, listen up, speak up, and hand up assignments. They want you to succeed and they know in order to do so they need to teach you! :)

    In three sentences

    There is plenty of parking spaces located in front of every lettered building, which comes in handy. The buildings are color coded and lettered for us. There are outdoor benches and fountains to relax any hectic day! :)

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are more indepedent and enjoy reading & problem solving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good school, you will learn a lot. Study hard & be dedicated to the program or you will not make it through.

    Bang for the buck

    Our equipment is a little faulty but they are working hard to improve it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy my classes, the only negative aspect is that we video conference from Key West which can become a little distracting.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently enrolled in the Nursing program at FKCC. The professors are very knowledgeable about the subjects they are presenting and I am learning a lot through them.