Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    video survellience

    Greek Life

    Good technology and computer services.

    Clubs and Activities

    Young student parent program basketball, volleyball, football, baseball, and softball team Anishinaabe club

    Great for these types of students

    Nurses and small campus learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They incorporate the anishinaabe culture.

    Bang for the buck

    Its more affordable and provides great services

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball

    Food and Dining

    The food they provide is very delicious and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms but they look really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    They are good at getting students prepared on continuing college.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get a good start in education this would be a good place to start.

    In three sentences

    It a great working environment with a friendly atmosphere for learning. The school's diversity is very interesting environment to learn in. It's a wonderful learning experience.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Typically, I bring my own lunch to school. I do this for a few reasons. One of them being, that I will always like what I bring to eat, whereas cafeteria food, I may not enjoy. Secondly, it is less expensive to simply buy the foods I know I will eat, then spend over $10 a day for food and drink on campus. However, I do give the school props for putting out a menu email every week for those that do eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in the dorms, nor have I been in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class I've taken has its difficulties. Some are from the online or hybrid sections, and not getting as much clarity as an on campus, face to face session would hold. However, some classes are just difficult. Challenging classes make you grow, but there are a few that just don't seem worth the effort for what you receive as a result.

    In three sentences

    Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College is a small school atmosphere that allows for personal teachings. Small class sizes allows students to be involved at whichever level they would like. Staff are friendly, but don't always know what they are doing.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a concern at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have student senate and native american culture activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All students. As I stated above, you can tell the staff wants you to succeed, and if you don't you only have yourself to blame.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since it is a native american sponsored college, they have Pow Wow's and events of the like all the time. It's pretty interesting if you are not native.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely affordable and worth it.

    What to do for fun

    About 5 miles from Jay Cooke National Park. A couple disc golf courses relatively close. Duluth is a great city about 15 miles away.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria on campus catered by B&B Market down the road. Food is good and reasonably priced. There are several restaurants and fast food chains in town.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in one. But i know it costs about $400/month and they are 2 bedrooms split with 4 students.

    Academic Rigor

    Each teacher has their own style. I have never had a problem with one and you feel like they want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Housing. Either live in the dorms or with a relative because housing in affordable housing in Cloquet is non-existent.

    In three sentences

    Fond Du Lac is a great community college! The students are all nice and don't cause any trouble. Faculty are all pleasant and will do whatever they can to help you. They have plenty of program options including Electric Utility Technology which very few colleges in the country offer.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They aren't as an expensive college, but you still get the same degree. Totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I attend basketball and volleyball games.

    Food and Dining

    Good food in the commons, I especially love the coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in the dorm, but I have heard from friends that it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but that is like every school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class and pay attention, do not blow off the lectures and assignments and you will do well.

    In three sentences

    I love the environment and smaller classes. There is a wide variety of courses and activities that will keep you busy. Everyone is nice here.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of any problems on campus. Everyone seems to be very respectful, but I know that there are cameras set up in the parking lots and any of the staff would be more than willing to walk someone to their car if they felt unsafe for any reason.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly there is a wide variety of students that attend and all with a very wide variety of ages. I think Fond Du Lac is a really good school for just about anybody. It does have especially great programs in Nursing and Law Enforcement though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fond Du Lac is a tribal community college, so it has some very traditional native american aspects. Sometimes in between classes you can smell the sage burning as someone walks an abalone shell around school or you can hear the drumming and traditional native singing from in the commons. They have classes on spirituality and things such as native beading.

    Bang for the buck

    Fond Du Lac is a very reasonably priced school and I know some people go there to get some of their generals out of the way before transferring to another school for that reason. Financial aid is always available and three advisors there to help.

    What to do for fun

    Fond Du Lac has quite a few different events throughout the school year. I love when they have the feast with traditional drumming and a welcoming talk with the students in the commons. It's very calming and a great way to start the semester.

    Food and Dining

    I've eaten at the cafeteria a couple of times and definitely enjoyed the food. Everyone I know loves the mashed potatoes and gravy with chicken strips.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and the teachers don't seem to pile on too much homework. If you start to feel overwhelmed they are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    First of all I would say to believe in yourself. If you think you might not be able to get through something sign up for a tutor and you'll be amazed at what you'll be able to do.

    In three sentences

    Fond Du Lac is a very good choice for a community colllege. The staff if friendly and helpful. There are many different types of organizations to help current students including professional tutors and Young Student Parent organization.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    *****

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    *****

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all ages attend FDLTCC

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FDLTCC is a tribal college and has pipe ceremonies and smudging as well as pow wows.

    Bang for the buck

    *****

    What to do for fun

    Attend campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    *****

    Dorm Life

    *****

    Academic Rigor

    *****

    Tips for prospective students

    Weekend college program! Check it out!

    In three sentences

    FDLTCC is beautiful small community college in Cloquet, Minnesota. I attend the weekend college program which allows me to attend full time while working full time. FDLTCC is a wonderful choice for working adults who wish to go back to college.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The administrative team at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College do a wonderful job at keeping the campus safe.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of Phi Thetta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of the Human Services Club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is located on the Fond du Lac Reservation so many cultural events take place on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Wal-Mart!!! Need I say more?

    What to do for fun

    Movies, hanging with friends, going out to dinner, and bowling are all options to having a good time.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of fast food places near the college. There are a couple of grocery stores and even a Wal-Mart

    Dorm Life

    I was not in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I do believe that by attending Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College I have been challenged with Academic Rigor. I believe that I have used my academic skills for in and out of the classroom setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the staff at school. Make sure your instructors know who you are and talk to them about any problems you may have.

    In three sentences

    I have received a wonderful education at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College. The instructors are easy to talk to and the campus is small; which ensures for more one on one interraction with the staff. I have gained alot of information both of myself and for my chosen career path.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has a good control of safety, last year my vehicle got hit in the parking lot. They caught person on camera and police handled the situation accordingly after the person had driven off. There safety is focused directly on the students and when it comes to protecting the students there right there standing by you.

    Greek Life

    Im not aware of the Greek Life with in my school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs, I was a part of the student senate at one point in time. they have many things that students can join to fill there time helping other students or for volunteer work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is a Tribal School. They offer many courses on campus about the native culture, they often have ceremonies and drum ceremonies in the middle of the school. Regardless of weather or not your in class you will smell the smell of sage and tobacco burning as well as the sound of the beating grandfather drum during these times.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the school is a great school. I'm a combat veteran and they have been patient and understanding with me and they cared about me doing good and finishing my courses. I would have to say that this school is no doubt a great place to start your education.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a gym membership with tuition at a very nice gym in town, many times i spent my time at the gym working out or in there pool.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers a cafeteria type place and have pretty decent food, however i went to town and ate at other places many times such as mcdonalds and other restaurants or at home.

    Dorm Life

    I Never lived in the dorms but i have friends that have and I've been in them. The dorms are very nice there equipped with full kitchens and bathrooms for each room and its coed.

    Academic Rigor

    i had to push myself through many classes i struggled in. school for me is not easy i have a hard time being that I'm a combat veteran and its hard for me to be in busy places such as a college and to sit there through some of the classes were just as challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head up and never give up because throughout the hard work and struggles the satisfaction of achieving your goals is the reward in the end.

    In three sentences

    Fon du lac Tribal and Community College Instructors take the time to help you as a student. They care about your well being as a student and help you in the areas that you may need extra help. In this school you are not another face you are someone they care about.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No real violence or crimes

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs if not one you like you canaletto it

    Great for these types of students

    Low incom or students with children

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a very different lay out and desineit is very open and a child care facility on campus

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you paid for

    What to do for fun

    Different clubs and organizations and a gym but for most fun have to go to town

    Food and Dining

    No actual cafeteria no meal plans so if you live on campus for most your meals your on your Owen

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus because I did not like how the dorms are set up

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers work with you to understand and compleat work

    Tips for prospective students

    If money is an ishue come hear I suggest off campus living thou

    In three sentences

    It gets the job done most the time a friendly atmosphere

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a Tribal school so they have Powwows and throw a fanstastic feast for thanksgiving.

    What to do for fun

    Not to much to do for fun out there except for if you play sports or like working out. You would have to go to Duluth, MN if your looking for activites to do.

    Food and Dining

    There's no really spectacular place to go eat there besides a Resurant called Gordans which they were featured on the food network channel for there burgers which are delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is kinda of boring there's not to much to do in cloquet, MN but the people in the dorms can make it fun to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Great school for Law Enforcement and Nursing

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to adjust to the different culture and how things work but other than that great school to get an education.

    In three sentences

    Very good school to go too. All the staff there makes the students there number one priority. A good oppertunity to learn about different cultures.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining is very limited and they stop serving at 3pm everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are steps away from campus and they also have a food shelf program.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics' are challenging and will prepare you to transfer to a four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the workshops that are offered throughout the year. Sign up for tutoring before you need help.

    In three sentences

    Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College is a very good school to get you liberal arts. The instructors are very helpful and always available. The school's atmosphere is laid back and very welcoming.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Students attending Fond Du Lac Tribal and Communtiy College should come prepared to learn in a cooperative way with other students.

    In three sentences

    Fond Du Lac Tribal and Community College has a great learning environment. It is a small school that allows the student to have specific attention placed on their needs. It is also very welcoming to a non-traditional student

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be excited about it and mentally prepare to succeed and you will.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are great! I really enjoy the energy of whats being taught. We work at a pace that helps me learn more.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being located near a reservation, this community college falls back on plenty of Ojibwe traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    All classes are worth the money. Currently taking 6 classes, 3 of which are online, for under 3000.

    What to do for fun

    STUDY!

    Academic Rigor

    Homework is homework. There is no getting around it. For those willing to put up with the rigorous coursework, the reward of a future is not far.

    Tips for prospective students

    My current personal experience is for Law Enforcement Associates Degree. Currently, this program is a 2 year course, followed by the fabled Police Academy, and then on from there. Talk to the program directors directly, such as Scott Lyons or Damien Paulson.

    In three sentences

    Although there is other classes offered such as those for Art and Science majors, Law Enforcement remains one of the top notch programs available here. The teachers are knowledgeable and friendly, and any major takes here is sure to keep students on track to their futures. Located only 20 minutes from Duluth.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras in school as well as on the grounds to make sure the students are as safe as possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    Human Services, Student Life, and Trio are a few of the clubs that make up the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get a great education in a smaller school to start. Business, Nursing, Police, and Human Services are just four of the majors found here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I find the entire campus to be unusual. Because it is a Tribal College, there are all kinds of Native art, music, people, classes, and language

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are willing to help in any way they can, there's a Center for Academic Achievement where students can go for tutoring or test proctoring or just a quiet place to study, there's a computer room with a lot of computers and great hours, the library is wonderfully unique and amazing books, the coffee shop has delights for the coffee drinkers, and the student lounge has been known to be a great place for naps.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on. Feasts, games, fund-raisers, career days, meetings, and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    It's just a small area but the food that is there is wonderful!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    FDL is as easy or as difficult as you make it. The classes are passable and even fun if you apply yourself and don't spread yourself too thin.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to anybody here. Everybody is caring and willing to help in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    FDLTCC is a small school with small class sizes. It is the least expensive college in the area. It has wonderful teachers who care about their students.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    i am a non traditional student (46) and have classes with people who are older and younger who are all respected and comfortable with other students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are native events but the school respects all cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    affordable credits that will transfer to other colleges it needed.

    What to do for fun

    i live an hour away from the school and don't participate in any activities but they have a lot of functions including the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    relax and enjoy your education but keep up with the assignments.

    In three sentences

    very comfortable school where students & instructors quickly get aquatinted on a first name basis. the instructors are approachable and care about each students' success. instructors are very supportive and encouraging.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All students get the fun, and interesting, opportunity to learn of the history and culture of the Ojibwa Native American Indians of N.E. America. Classes regarding this are available on the campus, as well as many free opportunities to attend; some in the school, along with more off of the campus during each season. I have enjoyed all that I have participated in, as the Natives of the area have been very welcoming sharing everything involved in their culture with all who are interested to learn, and be involved.

    Bang for the buck

    F.D.L.T.C.C. is an accredited college, and all classes are transferable. The campus financial aid is great, and the financial aid staff is always very professional and easy to work with.

    What to do for fun

    Sports teams to join with cheer leading opportunities, clubs and fund-raising opportunities to join, transfer trips to experience, seminars, music, parties, plays, raffles to win numbers of thing at the many occasions held at the college. With my experience on the campus, I have found that the classes themselves that I've taken at F.D.L.T.C.C. are fun. It's a great place to be!

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a nice cafeteria with great and inexpensive food. I believe this cafeteria is open for both breakfast and lunch. There is also a very nice coffee shop in the college, in addition to a number of vending machines with food and beverages. There is also a cash machine on the campus, inside of the front doors to the college.

    Dorm Life

    I have had no experience with the campus dorm life. From what I've seen, the dorms are on the campus and very close to the college. Also, from what I have heard from other students, the dorms are quite comfortable to live and study in.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes on this campus are very educational, and they are always fun to take. I have found this college to be exceptional as far as how welcoming and helpful the staff has been regarding me, and my all around education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage all prospective students to F.D.L.T.C.C. to seriously enquire about, and get involved in, all student academic services available on the campus. One of the services that I am involved in, which is very beneficial for me, is the T.R.I.O. program (formerly P.R.O.P.). This program has been created for any student who falls under a certain low-income status, has 1 or both parents who have not attained a college degree, or is one of the campus's registered disability students. The college has sports opportunities, many scholarship opportunities, and a number of academic programs to register for. if undecided on a particular major, students can always choose to register to take their general classes until a major is decided to further pursue.

    In three sentences

    Choosing a major, and attending classes at F.D.T.C.C. is one of the best choices that I have ever made. The campus is very inviting and comfortable, while all of the staff on the campus are welcoming, helpful, and always ready and willing to set all students up for success. At F.D.L.T.C.C. all students are given many opportunities in their academic career while being comfortably welcomed, and fully respected.