Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Grand Canyon University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/09/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GCU offers public safety and has their own police department to deal with issues on campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus including club sports for every sport GCU offers.

    Great for these types of students

    Grand Canyon is great for both christian and non-christian students, they don't push their religion on you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Welcome Week!! Full of fun and games and free food and concerts!

    Bang for the buck

    GCU was home to the 3 point and Slam dunk contest this year, so there was the chance to meet many famous athletes on campus. Also, as a freshman the University has a private concert just for the freshman during Welcome Week, it was Lecrae last year. Welcome week is the week where freshamn move onot campus are given many events to have fun at and meet new people.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't many places around campus to hangout, malls and movie theaters are about 15-20 minutes away. The University offers Karaoke nights, Ping Pong, a gaming center, bowling, Jenga, intramural sports, sporting facilities and many open fields.

    Food and Dining

    The University offers many fast food places on campus such as World of Wings, Qudoba, Chic-Fil-A, Subway, Panda, Auntie Annes, Habit, Slices, Fresh Fusion, Jamba Juice, Normal Cafeteria type food and Canyon 49 Restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    When you dorm at GCU you fill out an application, kinda like a dating application. Be truthful on this, if not you will have a horrible experience with your roommates. There are single, double, triple, and apartment options at GCU.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the University offers a challenging curriculum, but the University offers many Explore More sessions for classes, tutors and a Learning Lounge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grand Canyon will offer you many amenities on campus, such as a bowling alley, ping pong center, life-size jenga, 2 floors of a library, a whole floor of a coffee house and many places to eat. Grand Canyon will help ensure that you're on track with your grades, by providing you with a Student Service Counselor who will help manage your finances and grades.

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University is a welcoming community to all of there diverse students. The University's curriculum is challenging, and will make you work to earn a good grade. The University offers a variety of majors, more competitive fields may require an entrance exam to be completed during the students freshman year.

  • 04/23/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have already learned so much from the school. It's really great the online classes are well prepared. Homework can be intimidating when you first look at it but when they walk you through it and you understand the concept, it is actually pretty rewarding. I'm glad to be a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tips I have for prospective students is to be diligent in your work, study hard, and have fun. College can either be miserable or memorable it is what you make it.

  • 03/31/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University online is very organized and user friendly. All of the people are very nice and helpful, probably because it is a Christian school. Material is put in a fun and interesting format that makes learning easier and more enjoyable.

  • 02/21/2017

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For me safety is priority and since Grand Canyon is very safe I choose to attend it!

    Clubs and Activities

    I really love the variety of clubs that they have here!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I enjoy volunteering with other students. I am a socialite so talking to other people I don't usually get shy.

    Food and Dining

    THE FOOD IS GOOD, I LOVE THE VARIETY!

    Dorm Life

    3 stars is for neutrality, since I'm not a student here yet.

    Academic Rigor

    3 stars is for neutrality, since I'm not a student here yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're into being involved with many fun activities and smaller classes Grand Canyon University is definitely the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I have fallen in love with everything that is GRAND CANYON UNIVERSITY. How involved there students are to the small class sizes. Going on to the campus I enjoyed this the most. As the people I waved to waved back to me and even said hello. The best part was seeing one of my favorite high school substitutes there as a professor!

  • 01/22/2017

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University had a diverse array of education and lifestyle within the school, different people come together to make it beautiful, which is exactly why I intend on attending the school.

  • 01/11/2017

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I believe that GCU is place for those who wants to accomplish their dreams ?. Make sure to have a goal & enjoy your ride of education ??. I am most definitely sure that this school is the one for me ??

  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GCU has its own police system that protects the campus. No-one is allowed in without ID

    Greek Life

    No greek life on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very fun!! Get involved with stuff you like and stuff you don't, you'll be surprised,

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, social, religious!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BASKETBALL GAME TRADITIONS. x 100000000 Go to the games. Become a havoc!!

    Bang for the buck

    kinda expensive for the education.

    What to do for fun

    Go as far from campus as possible. The weekends are dead on campus because everyone leaves. The basketball games are super fun though, and getting involved can help.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are good, but after a while it's super expensive and you get really sick of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Besides the rules that are extremely easy to break, the dorms are awesome. They have their own bathroom that is shared between a few people. The dorms are great compared to most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Super easy tbh.. Didn't have to try for any of my classes and passed with great grades. The teachers make it easy to pass, and don't grade hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the free Discover trip and enjoy what you can. Attending the university is nothing like Discover, so take it as it is. If you're real big into being drunk or high, make sure that you get roommates that are no the same level as you. If you don't enjoy your freshman year, give it until the 2nd year because there are no rules in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    GCU is a school for people that want a good education, but also want to have fun. The campus is protected from the not so great neighborhood, and is extremely safe. The school isn't big on partying on campus, but there are GCU parties.

  • 11/15/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The official mascot is the LOPE. Often thought of as an antelope but known only as a LOPE. The GCU students are referred to the LOPES. There is a LOPE salute holding up the pinky and pointer finger with the other fingers folded down, it looks like the Hawaiian hang loose sign.

    Bang for the buck

    Grand Canyon University offers large scholarships based on merit to high school students. They use SAT and ACT scores to judge eligibility and the higher your grades at GCU the more money offered in the scholarship. The scholarship is usually available for the four years unless the grades drop.The admissions office will often help with the FAFSA completion.

    What to do for fun

    On campus the big sports are soccer, basketball, baseball and wrestling The arena offers concerts and special events. The theater offers .plays and musicals. There are outdoor swimming pools , several gyms and the student union and even a bowling alley. A short drive away in Glendale are shopping malls and the University of Phoenix Stadium home of the NFL Phoenix Cardinals. In the springtime the Los Angeles Dodgers and Chicago White Sox share MLB training facilities. Phoenix is home of the MLB, NBA , MLS and WNBA teams. Arizona is about the outdoors and places to hike and explore are only a few hours away.

    Food and Dining

    Since it is a large campus there are many places to eat. Most are fast food but the choices are diverse. In the past years the restaurants have moved away from the student union and toward the dorms and apartments where it is less formal and more casual. Lopes Dollars which are accepted at most stores on campus are required for students living on campus in the dorms. With parking lots located at the perimeter of the campus and requiring a hike to your car, leaving the campus for a fast meal isn't possible.

    Dorm Life

    Before you move to campus you are sent a survey to match your interests and life style for a roommate. You are matched and notified about matches. You are given options of 2 or 3 to a room and your roommates profiles. All the dorms and apartments are located on campus with parking included. Premium parking permits are limited in availability and paid separately.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough, but lots of help is available. Virtual help is available on line.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for the heat. The heat in Arizona is very well known for 100 degrees or more for a lot of the year. Always carry water and remember all buildings have water fountains and are air conditioned. If the haboob or dust storm hits go inside or seek shelter.

    In three sentences

    A fast growing univerity with a small town feel. The student population is fairly diverse and very welcoming. The school spirit is high and everyone is very proud of their sports teams. Both the in class and on-line classes are very good.

  • 10/13/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am willing to apply for Grand Canyon. My main majoirty is Business administration. I would like to been submitted to be able to calify.

    Dorm Life

    I want to be able to expiernce a dorm life. I am also willing to make new friends and communicate with people.

  • 10/04/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and even things outside of clubs to do for fun. One fun club to join is Outdoor Rec where they go on different hikes and camping trips you can sign up for and go to all around Phoenix. There is also a bowling alley on campus with ping pong and things like that. You could also join intramural sports if you are really into playing sports for fun. There's also a couple gyms if you like working out. We also have two pools on campus and one with a hot tub. GCU also has dance classes on campus which are always fun to go to. There's also fitness classes on campus such as Zumba or yoga. There are also activities put on all the time like little mini fairs or free snow cones or movies on the lawn to look out for which are always fun to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    GCU has a lot of good dining options to eat at such as the Habit, Einsteins bagels, Jamba Juice, Slices pizza, Panda Express, Chik Fil A, Subway, Qdoba, and many more. We also have a couple grocery store type places on campus and even an organic grocery store type place.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is absolutely wonderful at GCU. There are always different activities GCU puts on to ensure GCU students have the best college experience possible. The dorms themselves are very nice as well especially for freshman. The freshman dorms are only two years old and they are right by a nice, big pool and a couple big fields where many activities are put on such as intramurals or movies on the lawn and activities like that. There are always things going on by the dorms or even little events put on just specifically for your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great at GCU. The teachers care about your success and well-being so much that they will take any time they can to try and help you with whatever you need. Their office hours are always posted and if you can't reach them there they forums you can reach them at and also emails you can reach them at and they always respond rather quickly so that's always a nice quality to have in a teacher. Going to a school where all the teachers have qualities like this is very nice and extremely helpful. GCU also offers tutoring centers for every subject all around campus called learning lounges which are extremely helpful if you need help with something and do not want to go ask your instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because GCU is a Christian school do not let that take GCU out of your college options. It is a great school no matter what your religious background is. No matter who you are or where you come from there is things on campus to help you fit right in. The people are all so genuine and nice that it is almost impossible to not meet new people that will connect with you. The campus life is so nice with all the activities and things going on around that GCU is always filled with joy. Don't let the thought of going to a Christian university scare you. Just remember the wonderful campus experience and amazing people GCU has to offer.

    In three sentences

    GCU is overall a wonderful community to be a part of. The people are great, the teachers care about your success, and the activities GCU has to offer are extremely fun. GCU is a school where not only is learning a priority but so is your campus experience.

  • 09/14/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GCU literally has their own police force on campus. It is amazingly scary for how many officers are on campus carrying and driving a Razor. The campus is surrounded by gates of course to protect the students, there is access points to leave and enter and most importantly, there are guards watching those access points checking the ID's of students.

    What to do for fun

    From walking around to bowling, there is so much to do on this campus. Hanging out with the clubs you joined or playing sports on the grove lawn, the students have a blast with what is on campus. Now for outside of campus, there is hiking, the lake, the clubs and racing.

    Food and Dining

    In every hall, there is a mart on the first floor that sells everything that a 7-11 would have. Also on campus, there is Panda Express, Chik-Fil-A, Subway, the Habit and some others I can't remember right now but the food is just delicious and I love going to those places mostly.

    Dorm Life

    Depending which type of dorming you want, means how many people are in the room including yourself. In addition, there are certain floors for STEM or honors STEM and the hall is co-ed of course but the floor is all one gender. Dorm Life is fantastic for freshmen because it introduces more people to meet, more opportunities right away and less stressful situations than living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers make the class very challenging but are more than willing to help any student to make sure they understand what's going on. In addition, the teachers make the class to where the students participate and enjoy the class. The students are required to think and do more but this allows for the teachers to get an understanding of what type of students he/she has.

    Tips for prospective students

    Staying on top of your homework and studies is very important and anyone can actually finish all their homework for the week if they put the effort. Getting a good nights rest with good food is key to feeling energetic for homework, sports or just hanging out with friends.

    In three sentences

    GCU is friendly with the students and staff that it does not feel like college at all, other than the classes of course. The campus holds a variety of activities for students to do like bowling in ThunderAlley or working out in one of the gyms, I mean there is more to do than just homework and tv. For food: Panda Express, ChikfilA, the Habit, etc. but overall, GCU is a University that actually looks out for its surrounding community and students.

  • 09/01/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University is a great university for students who, like me, live farther away. It's a great way to move away from everything you're used to. They also offer so many majors and dorming.

  • 08/28/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school, so it is relatively expensive. However, there are a number of scholarships and means for financial aid that you can find, with a little research.

    Academic Rigor

    The academia here ranges from relatively simple to "what the heck is going on", which requires students to be relatively technically and research oriented. There are classes that require you to do a lot of the background work, which can be daunting at times, but if you power through you can make high grades and succeed, relatively easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work.

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University has offered me the unique experience of earning my degree while being an Army spouse and living abroad. My counselors, advisors, and teachers have been supportive, professional, and have helped me to shape my unique goals for being an inclusion kindergarten teacher with a centers-based classroom into an almost reality. I am at the end of my journey with GCU, but I would recommend this school for self-motivated learners who strive for academic success in the post-secondary world of education.

  • 08/28/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has a lot to offer and I'm willing to go far just to go here! Not only that but it also has a beautiful campus that you'll feel at home. This school is AMAZING!

  • 08/11/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    gcu is great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    students learn a lot and must be willing to sacrifice their leisure life to keep up with studies.

    Food and Dining

    i am an online student so i cannot respond to this question.

    Dorm Life

    i am an online student so i cannot adequately respond to this question.

    Academic Rigor

    there will be long nights and long days for study, homework, projects and tests. if you show your willingness to work hard and communicate with your teachers, they will provide the support you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    i advise prospective students to come in with a mindset that with all they may already know about life and education, gcu will broaden their horizons and become a sounding board for a voice they never knew they had within them. staying teachable is key. saying relentless is a must for success.

    In three sentences

    grand canyon university has been a breath of fresh air in my life and academic pursuit. as an online student i have been able to keep up with my studies. counselors and professors alike have made my journey lighter and have given me greater confidence that i can finish this journey successfully.

  • 08/03/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is really safe, that's what i really love about campus. you can take a late night walk and not have to worry about anything bad happening and always feel comforted. there are posts everywhere to press if there is an emergency and public safety is there.

    Clubs and Activities

    most of the clubs are really inclusive and are just like a big family. my experience with cubs was a bit unorganized but only due to the fact that these clubs just started that year.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is actually a lot cheaper than most out-of-state schools even cheaper than some in-state schools. if you do really good and have good grades this shouldn't be a huge problem. depending on the program it could cost more but i know most attend because of the price.

    What to do for fun

    they do have a bowling alley,pool tables, karaoke, life groups, various clubs, intramural sports. like i said be very involved and you will have lots of fun!

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good. there has just been so many rumors going on about the food and which places were bad and what not but i mostly heard that from freshman and never heard any problems from the upperclassmen. with my experience nothing was really gross the quality of food was up to par, nothing bad overall.

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorms are actually really fun. i loved living in the new dorms, the only downside is there is no kitchen to cook in, you'll probably have to find a friend with an apartment. all the dorms are really nice with exception of the older ones, but are still great to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    overall the programs are usually great. i am currently a sophomore majoring in mechanical engineering so with the new program it would get confusing and disorganized but it's a new program and isn't actually that bad. with more years to come i know this program will get a lot better. from other programs i know they are usually really good and often offer hands-on classes for more experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to be prepared! if you think you need to or want to take it with you, take it! being from out-of-state makes that part hard but there is always places near by to get what you need.

    In three sentences

    grand canyon is such an immersive community, when you are involved it just gets better from there. the school is expanding and with that comes more students so it tends to get a bit crowded especially during move-in. other than that it's quiet and a great place to be to grow not just academically but spiritually as well.

  • 07/14/2016

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is 24/7 campus security dedicated for student and staff safety.

    What to do for fun

    clubs and watching the university's sport teams are the best things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    heavenly!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are in a suite style which is super nice because you only have to share a shower with only one or two other people instead of the whole floor. everyone seems to know each other and there is a friendly sense of community and support withing dorm mates.

    Academic Rigor

    the students are here to learn and are focused of earning their degrees within four years and many students take a fast track route to receive their degree even sooner!

    Tips for prospective students

    sunscreen will be your best because of the desert climate and brita filters are recommended because the city's water is not delicious at all.

    In three sentences

    the campus is so beautiful and immersive! it feels like you are in a fun, safe, and vibrant town because the campus has multiple outlets for entertainment, shopping, and eating. the food choices are so vast and diverse with multiple restaurant/ fast food choices: chick-fil-a, qudoba, panda express, einstien bagel co. to name a few.

  • 06/24/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i an sure you can swim in one of their great pools or even take advantage of the local stores near by.

    Food and Dining

    i visited the campus for orientation and the catering was amazing.

    Dorm Life

    i did not stay on campus, but i am sure the dorm rooms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    in all of my classes that i have completed; i noticed that every student was engage in learning. i learned so much from my peers, as we all would research and put our thought together to find the answer.

    Tips for prospective students

    find out what works for you. i love the online experience more then being on campus. i found that it was more convenient to my life style, being that i am a professional volunteer.

    In three sentences

    i love the online atmosphere at grand canyon university. the professors and student advisers are very helpful, when it come to a students needs towards passing a class. they are very great at checking on every student to make sure they have every tool they need to become a successful graduate.

  • 06/17/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    not a campus student. nothing for online students

    Bang for the buck

    i don't feel you are getting what you pay for. my academic adviser never contacted me until i completed my un-enrollment form. did not finish first class and was told that i would have to pay 25% of tuition and fees. only attended two days.

    Food and Dining

    not a campus student

    Dorm Life

    not a campus student

    Academic Rigor

    students are held to a higher standard than instructors. only class i attended (did not finish) had posts from the instructor (6 out of 10) with grammar errors. enrollment counselor told me that was typical.

    Tips for prospective students

    try another school, if you are an online student. the classroom system is antiquated. 95% of the focus is on campus students. your so-called 'team' is not really interested.

    In three sentences

    online antiquated classroom not focused on online students don't believe that your 'team' has your back

  • 03/05/2016

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Good student body life with real community feeling. Excited to be apart of their Athletic Trainning program!

  • 02/24/2016

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I've visited this campus a couple times , and every time I go I fall in love with it again. The atmosphere in this campus is amazing and the people who surround you as well. The education here at Grand Canyon university it's great as well since they provide the majors you need and it's a private education.

  • 01/28/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far I have seen that it is a very safe campus. Security is always around and people have so far been calm and keeping to themselves. I have not seen any problems so far.

    Greek Life

    There is a lot of academic help available for students. There is a service available for students to get help from other students who have already passed the same courses. The professors are also very helpful as long as you approach them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to join on campus. There are a lot of different clubs. There are activities like dance for example.

    What to do for fun

    There is a small bowling alley on campus. There are also a lot of events on campus for the students often like movies on the lawn. Basketball games get very exciting here. There are a lot of places to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of things at the university to eat. The university is also in the middle of town so there is always the option of stepping out for a while. Inside there is a Chik-fil-A and Panda Express on campus for example. There is also a good coffee place called Canyon Coffee. Overall there are a lot of things available to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I would personally not know because I do not live on campus but I have no heard any bad things from the people who do live on campus. The campus is very peaceful I have been there at all hours of the day and I can safely say that it is a very safe campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This university does keep their students very busy to prepare them for their degrees. It is a hassle but it is all very worth it. You will have to work very hard to make the grades here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, dedicate everything you have. You will be kept very busy. In the end it will all pay off, it is very due-able work. It will be challenging but it is very possible to get all of your work done.

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University is a very peaceful campus. The people are very nice. The professors have for the most part been a great help.

  • 12/15/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    the best way to be a prospective student is to persevere and complete task in a timely manner. do not let your social life get in the way from your long-term dreams. always ask your instructors what extra assignments or tweaks you can do to improve in class.

    Food and Dining

    grand canyon provides amazing food in the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and meet new people who have the same interests as you. attend the chapels and focus on what god has in store for you.

    Campus Safety

    grand canyon cares for it's students by having surveillance at all times. cameras and officers are regularly on campus to protect students from any harm. gran canyon also takes cyberbullying and or plagiarism as an at risk behavior, therefore, grand canyon requires all assigents to be completed and turned in into the "turn it in" system in order to record data and check for originality.

    Academic Rigor

    students are brilliant you will notice how many of them are dedicated and motivate you to do the same as well. students are great at participating and at debating/ supporting others ideas. instructors are professionally and academically prepared to serve students int the best way that they can.

    In three sentences

    grand canyon university is an institution filled of kind and hard working students and staff members that support each other. i rather be here at grand canyon than any other university simply because our professors care about our education and there is so much support from older students as well. although education is a priority, grand canyon has adopted me as a family member focusing on my social, spiritual, and academic life.

    Bang for the buck

    grand canyon maintains all students engaged whether it is about sports, majors, and/or internships grand canyon gives each student the opportunity to reach his or her goals adequately. gran canyon educates students to collaborate, to give back to society, and to learn from others. the professors are absolutely considerate and understand student's point of view. there is a massive amount of support from counselors to professors and to even the gcu library. everyday we work and learn to stay committed and to be a part of a greater future. gcu is just right for you!!!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is pretty neat the rooms are simple, but very convenient.

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on golf carts EVERYWHERE. And there are ID check stands at every single gate. On top of that, you have a specific passpoint to get into your dorm, then into your floor, and then a key to get into your actual floor. We couldn't be more safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't personally participate in any clubs but there is always something going on on campus that one club or another is putting on. They are the reason that campus is so much fun to be on.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, hard working, love the warm weather.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lopes Up thing. I was embarrassed to do that in public at first, but then it just became this really awesome school pride thing and now it's normal.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, it isn't all that cheap to attend here, but because I came from out of state and we have a higher minimum wage it was easier for me to pay these payments. Again, I'm a freshman so I haven't really experienced all the things that GCU has to offer academically.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different sports teams, both men and women, that have games on campus. Also there are life groups, chapel, and worship nights. Intramural sports. Dances, there is always something going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We don't have like a cafeteria, it's mostly fast food. While that seems really good in the beginning, it starts to taste like eating Top Ramen after two months. So don't be dazzled by the food options, that will soon get old.

    Dorm Life

    People are so friendly here it's ridiculous. The freshman have brand new dorms and they are building more brand new buildings that will be ready for next year. It's just a great experience to be around all these people that love Christ and want to share that passion with the world, as well as having the drive to further their educations.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm a freshman, so I'm sure that I haven't encountered the hardest material that they have yet, but I am majoring in Pre Med and I have not had to panic yet. Study hard and everything is learnable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are always prepared because the teachers take it very seriously. The class size means that you are spotted much easier than at a larger school so you actually need to be paying attention as well. Just be prepared, and don't be afraid to let God do amazing things with your future!

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon is beautiful and very much oriented around Christianity. They have had some problems dealing with the massive influx of freshmen, but they still manage to keep me up to date on everything. While they are growing, and there is always going to be some pains associated with that process, it is a beautiful campus and a very friendly environment.

  • 11/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am an online student, but I hear that the food on campus is wonderful

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student

    Academic Rigor

    Professor Sheia Dwyer is very responsive and asks thought-provoking questions during the class. Additionally, I have definitely felt that the overall quality of instruction has been great, and I feel that my paper writing skills, critical thinking skills, and research ability have definitely improved. The work is challenging, and the flexible schedule of online courses is hard to beat. I would definitely recommend Grand Canyon University online programs!

    In three sentences

    Getting enrolled was effective and easy. Derek Harada, my enrollment advisor, was available to help guide me through the process. Professor Sheia Dwyer is organized, helpful, and informative.

  • 10/08/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe there are security all around campus and feels very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to join. You can play any sport from soccer to volleyball and join clubs that could be very helpful in your career.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do there like bowling in thunder alley to just hanging out with your friends on the grass.

    Food and Dining

    There are many variety for food and dinning places on campus from coffee and bagels to panda express and habit burger. Great food and great service.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on the dorms I am a commuter but from what i have heard that it is very safe and fun to live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school because not only do they just educate you they also combine faith and religion into it because it is a private christian school.

    In three sentences

    Grand canyon university is a great college for anyone who is willing to put in the hard work and dedication into their education. I am a freshmen at Grand canyon university and its the best school out there. They have the best Nursing program and that is what i am currently enrolled in.

  • 09/22/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Visits my high school alot is really nice---

  • 06/23/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety at Grand Canyon is very top notch because it is a private university. Security guards are at every entrance post and in order to get into the school you have to show a parking pass, school I.D. or talk to the security guard in order to get onto the campus. The school is very on top of ensuring that the students are safe and protected.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition that I noticed Grand Canyon has is students can write something that they need a prayer for and put it in a balloon for someone else to pop. It is not a required thing but students can participate if they wish. It allows the students to help one another spiritually. Grand Canyon is a Christian University but they do not force you to practice it. It is all voluntary and this was something I found interesting and unusual that other universities would not have.

    What to do for fun

    Grand Canyon has many different things to do for fun such as going to school events, sports events, going downtown which is not far and seeing the scenic opportunities within Arizona. Grand Canyon tries there hardest to keep students engaged in the social life around campus. The sport events are intense and amusing because you get involved for supporting your school and get to hang out with all your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Grand Canyon University has many different tasty and great food and dining. The students can all gather in the coffee shop, Thunder Alley which is where most of the restaurants are located or go off campus to eat. The school is going to add more as the school year continues but being at Thunder Alley enables you to socialize and meet with tons of people.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in campus but what I have hear from others is the dorm life is a lot of fun and it is like living with family. You and your roommates learn to bond and get closer. Your roommates and you get so close that you begin to help one another and hang out a lot and create that friendship that is unbreakable. The dorms keep everyone posted and interacts everyone within the building in order to create friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    The stuff that is taught in the classes are interesting and beneficial to what you need in order to earn your degree. Going into college I thought that the classes would be boring but the classes at Grand Canyon are fun! On the first day of class, you get to know everyone by doing activities in order to meet everyone. The classes keep the students involved and want them learning more rather than blocking out what is being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though Grand Canyon University is a up and coming school, it is as if it has been there as long as these other established universities. Being at this school brings you closer to others and build relationships that will carry on for a long time.

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University is the type of school that is prepared to help you with anything in order to get you where you want to be in life. Grand Canyon is a small, private Christian school that enables everyone to get to know one another and have that bond you really cannot get at any other school. Grand Canyon University is not by the Grand Canyon but it is almost in the heart of the city but the school is the school that is prepared to do anything to ensure their students prosper.

  • 05/07/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many options when you are looking to relax and wind down. There is a bowling alley, numerous pools, basketball courts, fields, and events to attend, and there are a number of new attractions coming to the school for the 2015-2016 school year!

    Food and Dining

    Even as I write this review GCU is currently adding more incredible restaurants to dine at. From Chick-Fil-A to Subway, and even a new Panda Express, Grand Canyon never lets it's students go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are incredible with a suite-like style. A perfect opportunity to room with 3-5 other students and make some life-long friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic variety and rigor that GCU provides is astronomically effective. The courses are set to be challenging and force you to think critically but the professors are excellent in guiding us and instructing s on the proper material needed to go out into the real world and apply this knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students: Come prepared to have a blast and have your minds challenged in the best possible way.

    In three sentences

    GCU is a fantastic student-focused college. The advisers and all of the business men and women come out to all of the events to show that they are not just running a business but a college for us students to make a difference in the world. GCU definitely inspires its students and faculty by providing us students with anything and everything we need to succeed.

  • 04/25/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GCU employs a ton of public safety officers that are constantly patrolling campus. They are always there to call if you lose something or will escort you somewhere if you don't feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is currently no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    On Grand Canyon University's campus, there is a club for everybody and anybody. There is also at least one event a week being hosted by the Canyon Activities Board (CAB) that is actually a lot of fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Grand Canyon, there is one huge party that happens the week before basketball season officially starts. It is called Midnight Madness and is a massive party that lasts a couple hours to get the student body hyped for basketball season.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Grand Canyon does give the student a lot of amenities based on how much we pay to go to school here. There is a cable jack in every room and wifi all across campus. In every room, there is a bathroom for every bedroom and a living room between two bedrooms. The campus is aesthetically pleasing and is very close-knit.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are several things to do for fun. There is a place on campus called Thunderground where you can participate in bowling, karaoke, ping pong, and pool. There are currently three pools on campus and a park just beside campus.Grand Canyon does host campus wide events or parties for sporting events or just before holidays and exams.

    Food and Dining

    Grand Canyon currently has 7 spots on campus where you can grab something to eat by using lopes cash that you purchase at the beginning of every school year. This summer they are adding at least 3 more food places to campus for the next semester. The food places on campus do get a little boring after a while but luckily they have a little market where you can buy just regular sandwiches, salads, or stuff to make your own food.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm has at least one residence director to watch over every student in the whole building. In every individual hall there is a resident assistant and a life leader to help and guide students throughout the school year. The RA and LL are students that attend GCU as well so they know the struggles that the student might be experiencing. In the dorms, they have dorm wide events that occur at least once a semester and hall events once a semester as well. This brings all the students together as either a hall or a dorm to help get the student to know the people they are living with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is something that varies by major and the teacher itself. Grand Canyon is a school that pushes you to achieve good grades so they do want to help you pass your classes. Also, they do have a website where all students have their classes and classwork shown. This helps to keep the students focused so that they know what they have to do. It keeps students accountable and makes sure the academic rigor is not too strenuous.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would apply as soon as you know that you want to come to school here to secure your scholarship before they go down. Also, make sure to take a tour before coming here and making sure that this school is the right fit for you. This is a close -knit school so make sure that is the atmosphere you want at a university.

    In three sentences

    They are a good school for all kind of academics but not so much in the fine arts department of the school. Grand Canyon is really good on safety and has a multitude of public safety officers always patrolling the campus. The environment itself is warm and always very inviting.

  • 04/12/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security and safety on campus. The fact that the campus is a dry campus gives the place a safer vibe, especially for underclassmen.

    Clubs and Activities

    GCU has both competitive and noncompetitive leagues in many sports. I saw them playing soccer which looked fun and competitive. There were people playing frisbee, and you can go to the Gathering worship service on tuesday nights.

    What to do for fun

    GCU offers many awesome activities to do for fun: bowling, pool, table tennis, lounging with buddies, boarding, frisbee, the Gathering, swimming, and intramural sports, among other things.

    Food and Dining

    Great restaurants on campus which are incorporated into the meal plan! It has a good variety of food: healthy and otherwise.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorms split up into two rooms. Super awesome living space!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus on one of the free fly-in visits, and you will not regret going.

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon Unviversity is relaxed, inviting, and engaging. It is secure, safe, and a dry campus. GCU is a christian college and has meetings on varying days during the week.

  • 04/01/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Enclosed and patrol is constantly checking on things

    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE

    Clubs and Activities

    Seems to be a lot going on campus all the time and clubs are constantly doing this individually.

    Bang for the buck

    Not To Expensive. Only 16 K a year roughly. Tripple Dorms are only 1700 (ish) Double Dorms are only 2200 (ish)

    What to do for fun

    Lots of things going on, so as long as you put youself out there you will be able to have fun

    Food and Dining

    Really Awesome. Their Student Union is great and the resturaunts inside the campus are a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    Tripple Dorms are only 1700 (ish) Double Dorms are only 2200 (ish) Dorms are set in suites with two bed rooms with a living room between. Each room gets its own bathroom and the closet is HUGE

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be a lot of variety. Also Most classroom sizes are 20-24 students. And their lecture halls only fit 100 students, so even the big classes are considered small against other colleges

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus. You will see how it runs and that will gauge if you want to go here

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon University is a interesting school. There are swimming pools, bowling allys and really yummy food. It feels like an alternate world where only college buildings surround you.