Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gavilan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/27/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in all the time i've been here I've never felt unsafe

    Clubs and Activities

    this college counts with great programs that offer you guidance and resources during the time you attend this school and also those programs guide you through the transferring proses

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for students who like nature and like being away from town since its located on the foot of a mountain and a good distance from town.

    What to do for fun

    here you can go and watch the sports game and have a great time with Friends

    Food and Dining

    the food here is good, you have a plenty of options to choose from and the people who attend you are very friendly

    Dorm Life

    it your are planning on enrolling to Gavilan College i strongly suggest you that you start looking for a place to live since Gavilan doesn't counts with dorms here on campus

    Academic Rigor

    it has great studying programs, the teachers here are helpful and they are always there for you when you struggle with an assignment, and finally it also has resources as labs and studying areas.

  • 01/10/2015

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They had security on campus at night. It made you feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is for students who aren't ready to move away from their hometown and familys.

    Bang for the buck

    If your just trying to get your general educations, its worth it to spend less money than having to spend too much in an University.

    What to do for fun

    I would run on the track. They had some hiking trails on the main campus.

    Food and Dining

    On the main campus they had a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Their was no dorm life. it was a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It was hard a times but it was a good learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend to take classes in your home town first then do the commute.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college. Its perfect because its close to home. It had some great teachers that motivate you to do the best you can.

  • 10/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does a good job and it is a rather safe environment.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs, but not as many as in a University or CSU.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to finish general education and transfer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have college hour. College hour is an hour where there are no classes held, on Tuesdays and Thursdays 12-1 pm. This allows students to attend events, study, or participate in activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Gavilan has all the courses you will need in order to transfer, and they have many opportunities for financial aid. There are also many resources that students can take advantage of such as tutoring services, the welcome center, the writing center, the student success center, and the math lab.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities such as some held by ASB or different clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria prices are ridiculous. The food though, is not bad, if made fresh.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms or housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor varies. It is a community college, so there are a handful of students who do not take school seriously. However, there are many bright students who have a strong drive to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get familiar with resources and never hesitate to ask questions. Take advantage of all help available and get involved.

    In three sentences

    A nice, diverse, and welcoming place to be. Gavilan is a welcoming place for all types of different students of all ages to expand their education. It has the resources to help students get ahead in whatever their goals might be,

  • 07/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a local number in which you can call during emergencies. Also, when there is something happening the campus will notify you. The campus has your number on file and will leave you a voice mail or text you, which I find very convenient.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus also is very open to different clubs the students can join. Two clubs that are popular are Trio and Meza that are for beginning college students and science/math majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They also have great pond at the front of the campus where ducks, turtles and fish live. It is a great spot to relax and enjoy the out doors. Because the campus is on the mountains there is wild life such wild turkeys which you can see in campus and completely harmless.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in activities such as walking for health and attend theater shows to help the campus while supporting student actors.

    Food and Dining

    Turcky Pesto Tortilla Rap is one of my favorites.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be successful everyone should attend S.I. classes and tutoring sessions. Be curious and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I have chosen to attend Gavilan and am greatly appreciative; they have great tutors with math, science and English and thus gives you everything to be successful.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not on campus long enough to find out, since I also work.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not on campus long enough to grab food, but it is available.

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and teacher, the academic challenge can somewhat vary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you don't get a class, you can go on the first day and hopefully add it. There seem to be quite a few people who drop after the first week or so.

    In three sentences

    Gavilan has some good teachers and some so-so teachers. I like the fact that they have a campus in Morgan Hill, which has free parking. It's easy to go back and forth from classes for commuters.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has a fully stocked library, computer room, cafeteria or student hang out, and a running track.

    Food and Dining

    Kinda priced high but good burgers.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Could be more advanced

    Tips for prospective students

    Take school seriously and don't ever believe you can't achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    Havilland college is a school to pursue the paths and many majors. Going to gavilan, is very inexpensive and a great transition before a university. Gavilan is an amazing place to grow.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have felt safe on campus, however it has only been during the daytime!

    Greek Life

    They do not have these opportunities at Gavilan.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not belong to any.

    Great for these types of students

    Child Development and Theatre Arts are big on campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school for the amount of money that you have to pay to attend, its a great way to get through some of the required general education courses.

    What to do for fun

    Socialize and interact with other students in your classes. They have a lot to share and you can learn from their experiences as they are different from your own!

    Food and Dining

    I can not speak to this as I have not had any food and or dined on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I can not speak to this topic as I am not living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken so far have been fairly rigorous and time consuming. They have provided me with quality information that will be beneficial for my career. I have been required to complete the assignments in a timely fashion in order to receive the most credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look at all of the information provided online! It can save you a TON of time when you register for school. You must establish a relationship with a counselor that can help guide you through the process to ensure that you are registering and taking the right courses that will be applicable to your major.

    In three sentences

    I have had a very positive experience at Gavilan College, in Gilroy. The staff is extremely helpful and wants to see the students succeed, please realize that they are very busy and respect their time! It is imperative to you success that you visit the student center and find a great counselor to help you create an educational plan.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For as long as I have been there I haven't seen or heard of any threats. I do know that somebody broke in but that was during night time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs, maybe there are but i haven't heard of any but I do know that anybody can start a club.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is small and we are surrounded by nature which is soothing and it looks beautiful when the trees have changed color and the leaves are on the floor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions that I know of but there is a television in the student center where students often play video games with.

    What to do for fun

    We are going to get college hour so that should be fun! In the student center there is music playing sometimes or the students play the piano.

    Food and Dining

    The food area is a little expensive but it is really good!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Sadly there aren't many classes of my own personal interest but there is enough for you to transfer. The good thing is that signing up for classes isn't very hard and the classes don't always get full.

    Tips for prospective students

    Introduce yourself to your instructor!!! Get involved!!!

    In three sentences

    The college experience really gets better when you get involved with any club or organization or program. my professors are easy to talk to, I just had to go to their office during office hours and introduce myself so I am not just another student. The librarians are there to help and are very friendly and easy to talk to.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Gavilan college has opened new doors to me as a student-athlete. The professors are pretty easy-going and willing to help you out if you have trouble. Since it's a small school, the instructors are willing to work with you one on one.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few attacks on campus on the hiking trails, one being a sexual assault but I do not know the level of seriousness of this incident. There are security people driving around the parking lots, however.

    Clubs and Activities

    There could be more clubs offered

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love open campuses that are not too spread out but just enough to be close to nature.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for an affordable way to receive an AA for transfer, this college is the way to go

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of hiking trails that are shadowed by the beautiful mountain ridge, some interesting clubs but there could definitely be more. However, I don't think that most of those attending the college are involved enough to make more clubs happen.

    Food and Dining

    Gavilan has a small cafe that offers the usual of burgers, fries, salads, and sandwiches at decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered

    Academic Rigor

    I have only been here a year, and while some classes are a breeze and feel like an honors course in high school, there are those teachers who do want to challenge you and prepare you for a 4 year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive and involved, do a lot of research yourself (the counselors at Gavilan are not the greatest), with increasing budget cuts make the MOST of your classes and apply yourself 100+%

    In three sentences

    Gavilan is a good community college to get your foot in the door of further education after high school. If you are not quite sure what you want to pursue and looking to save a lot of money with General Ed, I would choose a CC first. There are better CCs, but you can definitely make the most of this campus if you are motivated enough.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study.

    In three sentences

    Gavial supplies me with what i need. Also offers the help i need. I rate it a 8 out 10.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like nature , and nice relaxing places , Gavilan is the school to attend.

    What to do for fun

    enjoy the pure nature the school has and just relax .

    Food and Dining

    Im not very sure

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are committed to transfer out of this community college will most defiantly transfer within the two years of attending community college. Students who atend t o recieve an AA or just their GED are most likely to be done with their goals. It all depends on the student.

    In three sentences

    Gavilan College has a beautiful campus its very , relaxing and mellow in every aspect. It has very welcoming counselors that provide you with the information you need. Its a nice school to attend .

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Half of the cafeteria is closed off. For over 6 months a crack in the ceiling has made it unsafe for any person to walk under it. When will it be repaired ? I have not heard of a plan.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Poetry,Math and other interests are available.

    Great for these types of students

    Gavilan is great for serious returning students that need an in town education . Students continuing education and have children are welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a great duck pond with large rocks to climb. I take my 4 year old daughter there when she visits.

    Bang for the buck

    ? College is expensive. I recomend buy anything you can off campus. Food, school supplies and text books can really add up. So do yourself a favor buy these off campus. How ever the Student Success Center offers filtered water and sometimes free snacks!

    What to do for fun

    Rest, do no required reading and take a walk.

    Food and Dining

    Bring your own lunch it saves money and tastes better than cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes and faculty want to challenge a students mind and help them develop critical thinking skills. Others collect a pay check and hand out A's. I believe this may be true for all colleges. So just do your best in every class you'll be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Gavilan you must ask questions again and again. If you want to succeed you must be self motivated and driven.

    In three sentences

    Gavilan is a local school and is 1.9 miles to from my house. Gavilan is a community college that has low transfer and graduation rates for it's students. This is a wonderful college for individuals returning to school because of it's many resources and support clubs.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus security (I would suggest saving the number into your phone if you can), and a GAV-ALERT text/e-mail that you can sign up for (it's FREE!) to know if there has been any mountain lion encounters (very rare) or any suspicious or criminal activitie that has happened on campus, almost as soon as its reported to campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want a bigtime college feel in a small town setting. Also great for people who love nature and forest settings.

    Bang for the buck

    It's currently about $46 a unit, and if you can take up to 18 units during fall and spring (6 units during summer) semesters without consulting a counselor. They have books available for rent or digital rental, which tend to be cheaper then buying; they are usually due by the last Friday of the school semester. But if you buy a book you can sell it back (way less then you bought it for), but i suggest if the book is cheap enough and if you think you can sell it to another student for more then you will get back at the student store or that you think you can use it long term (such as a buisness book) I say try to buy it and keep it if you can.

    What to do for fun

    They have a student center were you can relax in a some-what lodge like setting, many shaded areas that are good for relaxing or reading between classes. They also have a hiking trail around the perimeter of the campus where you can see wild turkeys, ducks, and possibly even an occational mountain lion.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafeteria in the student center but some of the food costs way too much for how little you get and unseasoned it is. They do have vending machines spaced through out campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms or on campus living is available. This site made me put a rating but it should be 0 starts because it is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    Alot of the teachers are friendly and willing to help. The classes are fun but still serious enough to learn something.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Make sure you have a reliable car *Make sure you do your own research about classes you need to get your degree and/or certificate, some of the counselors do not know what you need for certain degrees. *If you need to talk to a counselor to sign up for a class, use your online account degree-works to know what classes you need and to look up what classes are available, some counselors are in a rush and need to see about 100 other students that day and just want you to get in and out.

    In three sentences

    The main campus in Gilroy is beautiful, its in a very forest-like area with lots of wild life. It also has two satellite campuses, one in Hollister and one in Morgan Hill. The only down side is that sometimes there are not that many classes that are available to the satellite campuses, and some are only available at a certain campus and it makes it hard if you need that class and you have no way to get their, because the bus systems are only available for certain times which make it hard if you have a night or weekend class and live far away from campus.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never been to the main campus so i'm not sure if they have any dining areas. But most school at least have a coffee shop nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but there are apartment complexes in the same town.

    Academic Rigor

    if you start out taking general education classes the material is easy. It depends on you whether school is difficult, because you need to be in class, study and always ask the teacher if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are aware of all deadlines, whether it's for a term paper, homework, scholarships, or registration.

    In three sentences

    It is low cost, most students qualify for aid, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Sometimes you can get supplies from class mate or other students at no charge. Teachers are always willing to work with you.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none as far as i can tell

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities to choose from, you won't know where to start.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone and everyone, no exclusions!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have a pond here where you can feed the wildlife, very intriguing as far as im concerned.

    Bang for the buck

    very great cost for what you get in terms of an education.

    What to do for fun

    there are alot of birds here such as wild turkeys, blue jays, crows, and deer, as well as very inviting people who are very open to making new friends, great atmosphere

    Food and Dining

    very delicious food here that is well beyond reasonable in price.

    Dorm Life

    great location and great scenery, i would more than agree that this campus is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    to get a good grade here at gavilan college it takes will and motivation as well as people to help back you up if you have any issues pertaining to any homework assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    never be late for any assignments, and always be attentive in class, as well as never be late for class.

    In three sentences

    a great environment!

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hiking

    Food and Dining

    the teriyaki burgers are fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to have money for your books, or have a way to get them. this isn't high school, please respect your teachers or they will drop you from the class. well, they do have a right to.

    In three sentences

    it's a very pretty campus, and its very tranquil. teachers are great. great experience over all.

  • 07/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone would benefit from attending Gavilan, student friendly environment

    Tips for prospective students

    Great College to attend, everyone is very helpful, starting from admissions and financial aid department

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely, great affordable college

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy Gavilan, the campus is beautiful and the classes are easy to find.

    Am learning a lot

    I have a great Teacher for Algebra