Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Georgia Northwestern Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/17/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    this is a good college to attend to get your core classes or complete your associates. i enjoyed doing the online classes because it allowed me to be able to work and go to school. although it is hard getting everything straight every semester with admissions or financial aid, it is still worth going to and saving money to complete the next step in bachelors.

    In three sentences

    this is a good college to attend to get your core classes or complete your associates. i enjoyed doing the online classes because it allowed me to be able to work and go to school. although it is hard getting everything straight every semester with admissions or financial aid, it is still worth going to and saving money to complete the next step in bachelors.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    camera surveillance and safety officer

    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish Club

    Great for these types of students

    high school dual enrolled to retirees going back to school for a career change.

    Bang for the buck

    Costs less than most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid English with Mr. Teems.

    In three sentences

    GNTC offers a great small-town feel; Challenging classes and caring teachers; Dual enrollment while in high school.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    officer on campus and security cameras

    Great for these types of students

    self teaching

    Bang for the buck

    Books are high but the bookstore will allow trade of certain books on select days.

    What to do for fun

    Movies

    Food and Dining

    Good food.

    Academic Rigor

    I had good teachers except for one.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take English 1101 at the Whitfield Murray campus and you are a female, make sure you dress conservatively if you do not wish to be sexually harassed by the teacher (WT).

    In three sentences

    The classes are convenient. The campus locations provides many options. Ms. Webb is great.

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just do not five up

    In three sentences

    Friendly college, Professional faculty and a variety of choices

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    snack machines

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have the determination and the commitment that's needed for success.

    In three sentences

    I love the college. They're are very helpful when you need them to be. They always care about your education.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    GNTC as it is known is a great school to get your feet wet for college. You can learn and interact with students and teachers daily. I would highly recommend this college for any high school student who wants to enroll in a 2 year technical school/.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All campus' have police patrolling and walking through the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Football, basketball, school sponsored parties,

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to start at a small campus while getting the feel of college life. Students who need extra studies to bring them to college level. Transitioning students starting over with a new career

    Bang for the buck

    After talking to students from other schools I believe I choose the right one to get an education. The comparisons of other's academics verses mine I believe I am getting the best.

    What to do for fun

    The school has team sports and other planned activities all the time. If you can not find something to do you are not trying.

    Food and Dining

    It has vending machines but not a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    It has housing and from the outside looks nice. I do not use it

    Academic Rigor

    This school doe not hand out grades you have to earn them. The school is demanding but it is still nothing someone who applies themselves can not do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be slow to enroll classes fill up fast. Advisors are there to help use them. No matter how scared you may get trust the staff and instructors to point you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Friendly and encouraging staff and instructors help me to build confidence. The environment is inviting and encouraging. The instructors care about their students.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Although there were clubs, I didn't join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who also work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus was inviting and staff is always friendly.

    What to do for fun

    I attend some of the sporting events offer at Georgia Northwestern Reading Movies

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your advisor as often as you need to. Start with two to three classes to pace yourself. Go to college sooner than later.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Northwestern is a great school. The instructor was really there for me and I think I have learned a lot. My advisor took the time to show me all my options.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    This school does not have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I will give to up coming students will be to come in with a mind set that this college is not a game. To make sure that they study hard. And not to come to college just to receive a check but to learn something.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. The teachers here are very nice and very helpful.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Only for day students, night students pay fees for such activities but do not get to participate because of working during the day.

    Great for these types of students

    No comment

    Bang for the buck

    classes are reasonably priced, even though they keep adding different types of student fees everytime you turn around

    What to do for fun

    Nothing offered for fun for night students

    Food and Dining

    Night students don't get food and dinning even though we have to pay a fee for the extra curricular activities like catered in food and free t-shirts and school supplies

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Criminal Justice

    Tips for prospective students

    No tips

    In three sentences

    GNTC offers all the classes needed to complete my degree, with some great teachers. I love the ease of the online classes.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to play with my new baby, 3months old now. I love to go for walks with my family in the park and around town. Reading is also a favorite of mine, when I have time.

    Food and Dining

    Living at home

    Dorm Life

    Living at home

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to complete your FAFSA in a timely manner. Do not hesitate to contact your advisor if you need assistance with your schedule. Stay on top of your financial aid and your schedule.

    In three sentences

    The online classes work well with my busy schedule. Getting through to the financial aid and administrative personel can sometimes be difficult. When you do get somoneone they are usually quite helpful.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have little competion like monopoly.

    Food and Dining

    it is all right

    Dorm Life

    it don't have any dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    if you go to this school you might want to stop smoking becuase this campus don't allow it.

    In three sentences

    it is the best school to go if you have troubles with financial and disability. i give it a 5 stars. i want to come back here for future classes.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    tag foot ball. cheer leading. you name it.

    Food and Dining

    there are just vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it is hard any where. it is not so bad at this one. a lot of the tests are online.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you sign up for classes early. make sure you get as many scholarships as possible. take advantage of all opportunities.

    In three sentences

    the faculty are nice over all. the teachers are nice overall. they offer good courses.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police academy on campus, and campus security is always somewhere nearby.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are basketball teams for both men and women.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are working full time or are going back to school.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are cheap and it is assured that you will get through them. But this school literally has nothing; no dorm, no cafeteria, no social clubs.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun, this a facility built for parents who are going back to school.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren�¢����t too hard, anything is possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never take math online, it doesn�¢����t work.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Northwestern Technical College is a solid six out of ten. Georgia Northwestern is a great school for people who are coming back to school, but this school does not offer many classes. It is small, limited and often the classes are easier than they should be.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well-lit and patrolled by campus security and defibrilators and fire extinguishers are accessible. The staff go over their locations as well as fire exit locations and startegies with students as part of class introductions and provide documentation that this has been explained to students. Students are respectful, courteuos, and focused on academics and I feel safe around them.

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Lambda

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Leadership Council, G.O.A.L., Phi Beta Lambda

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a healh-care, business, IT, culinary arts, automotive, business, industrial, service oriented, or avaiation related field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the main reasons I went here and proximity to home being the second as I am a divorced mom for whom relocating or campus living wasn't an option.

    What to do for fun

    There are several fun campus events scheduled each semester to get students involved and have fun; and there are sports teams including basketball, football, softball, volleyball, cheerleading, golf, and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    There are no food vendors or refrigerators on campus. But there are vending machines and microwaves. Students eat at nearby restaurants or at home.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. People typically choose this college because they can live and work within commute distance.

    Academic Rigor

    People seem to knock technical schools as being for people who can't cut it in real college. I have been to both and the academics are not much different if at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with your advisor and demand their time because you are in control of your destiny and things you need to know are assumed; not well explained otherwise.

    In three sentences

    GNTC is a great low-cost alternative for non-traditional students displaced from their jobs by the economy as well as recent high school graduates. The staff has it's all-stars though it also has it's share of unqualified instructors which I hope changes; so far they have weeded them out fairly quickly once the problem is realized. I am proud to attend this college for my career change because though it is a tech school it is nothing to scoff at academically yet still remains affordable.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Older students that have children and/or jobs.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Just follow the syllabus, ask questions promptly when you have them, and be proactive about your goals.

    In three sentences

    Great online classes and a few all-online degrees. They try to keep costs reasonable. Like most colleges, you have some great professors, and then there are the ones that should not be there and that you just can't avoid; but, like I mentioned, that seems to be the case at most institutions.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All on-campus classes review safety rules, emergency exits, defibrillator locations, etc. from day 1. Building room numbers (location identification) are posted inside each classroom in case of an emergency. Campus Safety is very transparent, and they provide periodic reports regarding overall incident rates at every campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners, those seeking career changes, recent High School graduates who are undecided on a major and/or which traditional 4-year institution to attend, those needing to complete prerequisite courses before transferring to another institution (at a very reasonable rate.)

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, especially for completing prerequisites needed if planning to transfer institutions.

    Food and Dining

    I have personally never dined on-campus.

    Dorm Life

    No campus housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    Impressed, especially for a non-traditional college. (I already have a Bachelor's Degree & am taking prerequisite classes for a Master's Degree.)

    Tips for prospective students

    There are waiting lists for many degree programs (esp. Nursing & Occupational Therapy Assistant.) GNTC does not transparently disclose this information with students - you find out the hard way.

    In three sentences

    High-quality academics, moderate-to-small student/teacher ratio.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always feel safe when you are on campus. Well lit at night time and always a campus guard around in case you need someone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students just finishing high school that may have not decided on exactly what path they want to take in the future. Also, great for working adults that want to go further in their jobs or take a whole different path in their careers.

    Bang for the buck

    You can request financial assistance through their financial aide department and they will help you find what is right for you. They are very helpful when filling our the FASFA and other financial documents.

    What to do for fun

    They are currently in the process of starting sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are your friend but most campuses are about 5 minutes from restaurants and fast food chains.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm. All students live at home. I am sure if they did have dorms they would be well taken care of and great places to live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are just finishing high school or just deciding after several years out of school what you want to do, the staff at Georgia Northwestern can help you make choices that will best benefit you in the future. If you have some idea of what you want to do but still are not completely sure they can give you ideas about their programs that will help you decide and know you have made the best decision for your future.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Northwestern has a wide variety of degrees/certificates to choose from. It is close to home and great for moms that work but want to go back to school. The staff are very friendly and always very helpful.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    go ahead and complete your pre-classes. if these are completed it make things move a lot faster.

    In three sentences

    so far everything is moving along well, however i dislike having to wait and be placed on a waiting list to in order to start my program.

  • 04/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best at the college and ill guarantee you will succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Striving for the best

    Will enjoy being here

    You will enjoy this college very much.

    Will learn a lot

    I am pretty sure you will learn a lot from this college. i just want a better life and opportunity and this college will give it to me.