Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Guilford Technical Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/19/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    You get challenged on a daily basis which helps you grow more and more as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of their student tutoring program and their many different computer labs!

    In three sentences

    Not only do they have amazing teachers but their campus is beautiful. They also have many many clubs and student actives that allow you to interact with both your peers and your teachers. Let's not forget that they provide you with different things like free bus tickets, free ice cream and many more things!

  • 11/30/2015

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on around campus and movies after class.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus but a never tried it. I heard it was ok.

    Academic Rigor

    The Instructors engage in in-depth conversations with students they also have fun presentations and are able to answer all questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend GTCC Jamestown make sure to bring snacks and drinks.

    In three sentences

    the school has a beautiful campus, with a fountain etc. To me something that was very important to was access to computers and there are 2 labs on campus. Also the library can be very helpful if you are in need of writing a paper, formatting etc.

  • 12/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police make their presence known, so far they have not been needed, but they are there in case needed for any potential danger or hazardous situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Student Government Club, The Mentor program, and the creative writing center are great groups to join, with a friendly staff and co-operating students.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say that this particular school is great for those whom potentially want to start up a business, and creative writers.

    Bang for the buck

    GTCC is great for those who want to learn and have fun while doing it. Every instructor that I've had has been fun, greatly engaged with students, and is fair with their grading policy. Everyone here has welcoming arms for everyone, no matter what race you are or what country/state/land you come from.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, most students link up in the Cafe, many meet and greets are hosted here, you can play chess with those from the School's mentor group and other employees. The school hosts events from time to time, I myself is in the process of working with the school board to come up with fresh ideas and events for present and future students.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food at Guilford Tech, it can be compared to soul food! The staff are very friendly and engaging with the students, GTCC also provides students with a meal card that they can add funds to, in order to make meal purchases at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life is provided for this institution. You may either live at home or live at any student housing. The majority and fairly priced student housing can be located on Spring Garden St.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you pay for when you are involved and ask questions. The instructors make it known that you are in charge of your own education and while they are here to help, it is up to you to seek that help. There is no babysitting, while there are many employees of this institution who are in need, this institution is not lenient on those who are slackers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending this institution, come like you would to any other institution and that is being prepared to learn and have fun while doing it. Networking is an important key in this school being that there are students of all types of skills and involved in various kinds personal owned businesses attending. I am in the process of writing a screenplay and through meeting different students, I have been able to recruit a team of talented individuals who have a share in my vision. This is a place where you can feel comfortable to talk to staff members because many are here to help you and will assist you in any questions you have.. My overall tip for prospective students, come with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    I find that Guilford Tech is a friendly family oriented community college. Everyone including those whom work in the financial aid office are willing to help students. The campus is almost as big as a university and with the events that the school hosts, they make it feel like one for students.

  • 08/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GTCC have campus police so you are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    GTCC have a lot of clubs so there's a lot to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is get my homework early so I can have fun later.

    Food and Dining

    While on the Jamestown campus there is a cafeteria, there's not one on the Greensboro campus. There's a small sitting area where you can by food from the vender machines.

    Dorm Life

    There's are no dorms her because its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher here love their job so if you don't try to do your best than that your fault that you have a failing grade, not they're.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go here you should know that this is a fun environment to be in. My experience here is the best I have ever been in.

    In three sentences

    This is a very food school to attend. GTCC allows you pick classes that are right for you. They have tutor and teachers that are passionate about what they do and will help you when you need it.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria, but the food is average.

    Dorm Life

    It is a Community College, so there are no dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a good balance. It isn't extremely hard (5 star) nor is it extremely easy (1 star). If you apply yourself and study, you will make A's. It is as simple as that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of things. Apply early, apply for financial aid early, double-check and triple-check to make sure they have received all of your information. Use the services they offer to set your education path. Just put as much of yourself into it as you can, and they will repay the favor.

    In three sentences

    It is a very affordable education that will get you a 2 year degree or help you transfer to a 4 year school. The teachers are extremely helpful and seem to care. The classes are definitely education and teach me something new.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria offers decent food; don't really eat there.

    Dorm Life

    not applicanble

    Academic Rigor

    Easy to fit in, be diligent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, be serious, don't slack, enjoy yourself.

    In three sentences

    I am in the Dental Hygiene Program here and its phenomenal. Top of the line, great instructors. I graduated from dental assisting here in 2011 and came back to extend my career in hygiene.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    great clubs activity

    Great for these types of students

    plan to transfer

    What to do for fun

    weight training

    Food and Dining

    i never eat it.

    Dorm Life

    i never live in it.

    Academic Rigor

    best one

    In three sentences

    Best way to cover your studies if u don,t get accepted in big colleges.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    we watch basket ball matches

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise them to join this school, as it is cost effective

    In three sentences

    It is cost effective. It has strong curriculum. Teachers are helpful

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an extremely safe campus, i haven't ever had any trouble here.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone but sports people.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you pay reasonable prices for this school.

    What to do for fun

    You can go fishing, or get a membership at the local YMCA and work out, or you can go to the mall, or Gander Mountain, or a host of other stores in the area.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places nearby to go and eat, and the mall is only about fifteen minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly can't say anything about the dorm life, because I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are indeed difficult at points, but most people can make it if they devote their time to it and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know something, just ask about it. Everyone here is friendly and willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    I love attending GTCC, there is a lot of fun stuff to do between classes and the teachers are extremely nice. It is a school that will challenge you, but at the same time make you feel comfortable and confident. When I say the teachers are good, i mean really good, they take the time to deal with you individually and help you through the tough parts of the class.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lots are well lit.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for most majors

    Great for these types of students

    The online classes are perfect for adults with families, busy schedules, or full time jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is 1000% less than a private school education

    What to do for fun

    I have a family and full time job, so I was unable to attend the daytime activities. I receive weekly e-mails regarding guest speakers, movies, seminars, and other programs.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus. I had online and evening classes.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college with no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is the same as other schools. Students are expected to their best work and turn it in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip for prospective students is to make sure you know what your educational goals are prior to registering in order to save time and money

    In three sentences

    I transferred from a private school. The price for classes are unbeatable for the education. The online program is perfect for people that work a 9-5.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there are campus police on site and they are very willing to help you in time of need.

    Bang for the buck

    There is bang for buck, much more cheaper there and still get quality teaching.

    What to do for fun

    There are many spots to spend time with friends and there are many clubs and activities available on the campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is fair its not outstanding nor bad mainly because its a community college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your profession the challenge will be there. You must remember every teacher is different because you fall into many different ways of teaching. So some you will find to be very easy and others very challenging.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to do extra credit assignments to get ahead. I enjoy art, I love to draw, I sing, dance, and write. I've always dreamt of one day being an actress.

    Food and Dining

    The food at GTCC is pretty good. I hardly eat there since I don't have much between my classes, but its pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    GTCC is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Trying to play catch-up for days you've missed is very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students to be prompt and prepared. Try not to miss any days, so much information can be missed when you miss days.

    In three sentences

    GTCC is a great school. It provides you with a number of opportunities for career options. The staff do their best to guide you in a positive direction. Most of the instructors are strict, but they do what they can to help and make sure you're equipped with the adequate information needed for your career.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has many clubs and extracurricular activities. They also have a few sport teams.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafeteria, although I have never had a chance to eat there since they do not offer food services for evening classes. The big store has some quick grab and go items, which are not bad, and they have a good small selection.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very challenging, but they really do help you learn. Time will need to be put aside to study for all tests and quizzes. Like anything in life, how much you put into it is how much you will get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of all documentation. When initially enrolling, it is a good idea to call and make sure all your paper documentation has been received. To save time, schedule an appointment to have the required SOAR account activated if you commute to the campus.

    In three sentences

    Guildford Technical Community College packs a lot of learning opportunities in a small central campus. The college has staff that is more than happy to help drive success in their students. Those enrolled get will get all the same quality learning that the big universities try to offer.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is very little food for the actual school, but there is a delicious little restaurant a couple of minutes away from the school on high point road called The Boxseat.

    In three sentences

    My sister attended GTCC for many years (2003-2007) and they were not helpful for her visual disability at all. The teachers very rarely care for their students, but she recieved a good education. I have very mixed feelings on this school.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a campus police there but there is also a satellite station of the Guilford County Sheriff's Department located there.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a good menu and the prices are reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the instructors are eager to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Some classes are limited enrollment.

    In three sentences

    GTCC is committed to the education and success of its students. Their financial aid department is very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    locations only know as to date my classes

    What to do for fun

    i watch movies

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to be focused and really want to go to school

    In three sentences

    I enjoy this school, it has given many oppunities. I rate this school a 10 in rate. I suggest anyone to try it.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is full day campus police who can detain, give ticket and arrest.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi theta Kappa, Rotary, SISTAS, lot of minority groups. They also have a group for those who want to quite smoking.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to major in technical fields. Students who want an associate in technical subjects. Student who want to transfer to a four year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a very old library in the campus that has a huge collection of books.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very cheap if you are In state student. But, the out of state rate is equally costly. They consider people who have lived in NC for a year In-state.

    What to do for fun

    Join few clubs. There are some cool places to hangout near the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is no dinning area inside the campus but there are some good restaurants near by.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most rigorous courses are available only in Technical subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please get your documents ready before the deadlines. Apply for Federal aid on time.

    In three sentences

    A nice small technical community college that is undergoing a phase of expansion. It has some excellent faculties and provide large number of courses.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs or any sport you like.

    Dorm Life

    dont have dorm

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    just study and forcing on your study.

    In three sentences

    is a nice college. have great teachers and stuff member. A lot of good programs.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None, just honors.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college the prices seem a little high, but that is also due to the large numbers of students that register, get their Pell Grant money, and then drop.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafeteria on the campus. It has a limited selection and the food is tolerable. My suggestion is to stop at Sheetz up the road and get something before or after class.

    Academic Rigor

    Several of the 200 level courses are taught at the university level. Students who are unprepared for the workload will have to repeat the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to class everyday. Keep up with your assignments. Ask for help when you need it. Professors are more willing to help a struggling student that has done the work and asks for help early in the semester then one who comes to them at the end of the semester wanting extra credit.

    In three sentences

    The college is full of both traditional and not traditional students. You go to school with students that range from being still in high school to students taking additional classes to enter grad school. The school has several programs to help struggling students.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At GTCC, everywhere you turn, you see either a blue help box, or a security officer. With the public safety building right on campus, there are always police officers, firefighters, and EMT students in training. Help is right around every corner, which is always a good thing in my book.

    Clubs and Activities

    At GTCC there are a number of clubs that one can join. There are clubs for just about anything that you could possibly want. Also, I have heard talk of little concerts in the court yard, which can be entertaining to watch, or just listen to on your way to class.

    Great for these types of students

    GTCC is great for any student wishing to further their education. Around campus, you will see recent high school graduates, fathers and mothers, returning students that still require a little more learning, and even a few advanced high school students.

    Bang for the buck

    GTCC, as a community college, is cheaper than a four-year university. With that being said, it is a great community college, which can be the stepping stone for a four-year university, for around only a thousand dollars.

    What to do for fun

    At GTCC there are a number of clubs that one can join. There are clubs for just about anything that you could possibly want. Also, I have heard talk of little concerts in the court yard, which can be entertaining to watch, or just listen to on your way to class.

    Food and Dining

    GTCC has a cafeteria, which I personally have never eaten at. However, I do hear others making comments about the great food. Also, not even a mile down the road, is Sheetz. If you have never eaten at one, this fantastic gas station restaurant will become one of your best friends while attending GTCC.

    Dorm Life

    Since GTCC is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    GTCC does fairly well in academics. It is what one would expect from a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students? Register early, and be prepared to walk! Parking, at least at the main campus in Jamestown, is a bear. Be prepared to get your feet dirty walking from your car to classes. The only way you will be guaranteed a good parking spot, is by getting to campus by eight in the morning, which you only do if you don't mind sitting in traffic for almost an hour.

    In three sentences

    GTCC is a very well rounded school, with many majors and opportunities. Every member of the staff, including teachers and janitors, are extremely friendly and are liked by many. With four campuses around the triad, GTCC is a great community college for everyone who wishes to further their education in any way.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, we actually have in the main building the police on site and we have several patrols that go around the parkings every few minutes. The campus has many stands with lights that cover a huge area and if necessary, a student could always ask a police officer which is on campus to be close by when leaving school.

    Greek Life

    I am sure there are many students that are in the Greek life, I am not one of them right now, I am already in so many different extra curricular activities plus school, so unfortunately no time to be part this year in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs depending on what type of degree a student may be interested in obtaining. I am in HOA which is Health Office Administration and we are actually trying to raise money for the month of October for breast cancer awareness. There are many clubs such as the Spanish and Bible Studies which I participate on some of the groups and studies.

    Great for these types of students

    I noticed that we have several special needs students and it is so wonderful that there are facilities in place to make the educational experience for students with special needs very accessible and convenient.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a fountain in the back of the Technologies building and is right between the main building which is Medlin and the Spears and almost every student on campus goes by it during class. It is a nice area to relax and just meet with friends and sometimes you will see students in that area trying to raise funds for different activities on campus, so it is a very strategic and central point to meet most people.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a bookstore that you could of course get your books and supplies but close by the school, within walking distance you will find Textboook Unlimited, which you could purchase use or new books for lesser amount as in the college.

    What to do for fun

    There are several student clubs within GTCC campus where students can participate in social events, to raise awareness in different activities and there are dance and theater students that present shows and invite the public to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The campus does have a cafeteria and it provides a culinary restaurant in where students that are concentrating their studies in the culinary arts provide dinning experiences to the campus facility and the community. Around the campus, there are many different bending machines and small rooms with seating area where students can enjoy their meal or buy something and eat it in those areas as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at GTCC because is a campus that doesn't have availability for living arrangements.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically , I will suggest to try to take as many classes needed for their particular curriculum during the first semesters, not to wait until the summer because sometimes some classes are not given during the summer session. I am currently taking Medical Terminology II, along with Anatomy and Physiology, so I will suggest to try to take classes that are similar in backgrounds such as in Medicine. It may be helpful while you are learning a particular subject to take another similar class to clarify what you are learning in the class plus sometimes, the classes are in the same building so you are maximizing your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that are wanting to apply for the next year curriculum should make an appointment with an advisor or counsellor to make sure that they have the requirements needed to attend school.

    In three sentences

    Guilford Technical Community College provides a wide variety of degrees with very convenient schedules. The professors are very accessible and willing to help the students succeed. I am very satisfied with the knowledge that I am gaining at this educational institution.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Have festivities on campus such as free snow cones, poetry nights, and guest speakers

    Food and Dining

    Food in cafe is kinda expensive

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments near but it is not included in tuition

    Academic Rigor

    Has great teachers for health programs, really prepares you for your field

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school a hour before class to find a parking space

    In three sentences

    Has too many students and not enough parking

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police was always present to the best of my knowledge.

    Great for these types of students

    Get to class early!!!! Parking is difficult to find, and attendance policies are strict.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located in a historic town.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition was reasonable, although book prices and parking fees were high.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities, and clubs were offered.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food was mediocre.

    Dorm Life

    The school did not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Conditional largely upon major. AA degree was moderately difficult, you definitely had to put in study time and effort to achieve a good grade in courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to classes early in order to find a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed most of my professors. Parking was always a hassle. Classes were fairly large.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I school from home so I do not know.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    That is up to you and your choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minuet to sign up, register, or go in. There are so many students things seem to take a long while!

    In three sentences

    I go to school online at GTCC. It is convenient and beneficial. I give it a 3 out of 5 stars.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a low income situation, but still wish to go on to a four year school. Great cost-effective way to get the first two years taken care of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Used to be an asylum.

    What to do for fun

    There are some events that take place, free movies and lectures.

    Food and Dining

    Menu items continuously rise in price and fall in quality.

    Academic Rigor

    I've dabbled in everything from English to Biology to Graphic Design, and I would say that the course load rivals that of state and private universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't treat this the same way you did high school. Even though it's just a community college, you should keep in mind that it is a COLLEGE. Put in the effort, and you'll get a lot out of it.

    In three sentences

    The college is okay for the price. There are some inconsistencies when it comes to branding, and there are some programs that are better than others. All in all, it's an alright place to start.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Very accommodating for returning adult students.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of good restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've had, if you are in class and pay attention you will pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Instructors are very knowledgeable and caring. Advisors are very helpful. Parking is sometimes a major issue.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very helpful

    Great for these types of students

    all students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Building H5 is very nice on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I am a older student returning to college seeking new career

    What to do for fun

    I like to read, go to movies, and take long walks

    Food and Dining

    very limited choices at the High Point campus

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    full time college courses can be very challengingly

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for scholarships ahead of time. choose a major. Take the college placement test

    In three sentences

    Guilford Technical Community College is conveniently located in High Point. Most classes are available at the local campus. Easy to register for class online

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read, spend time with my family and friends. Exercise!

    Food and Dining

    Great selection

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging as instructors are able to apply the concepts to your experience which also makes you more efficient in your work environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in everything on time and check Moodle often for any updates.

    In three sentences

    Excellent environment for business professional returning to school. Instructors will continue to challenge you and apply concepts to your industry/experience. Environments forces you to focus and be prepared.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is to its best. This is not a daycare and we all are adults, so there is only so much that can be enforced.

    Greek Life

    Not One.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm involved in out of school activities but i have heard about some of the activities at Gtcc, but not much.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small campus & a low class room size them this school would be great for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Great students ans teachers.

    What to do for fun

    I'm involved in out of school activites but i have heard about some of the activites at Gtcc, but not much. I went to one of the job fairs as well, very informative and helpful.

    Food and Dining

    I've only ate here once so far but it was great. I honestly don't have nothing bas to say.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small campus & a low class room size them this school would be great for you.

    In three sentences

    Guilford Technical Community College is an overall great school but it just isn't for me. They are full of great students and teachers and the admin. team is amazing. I want to go to a university and I never would have pictured myself at a Community college but you never know what life holds.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police office based in GTCC. Campus police and sheriffs also patrol around the campus throughout the entire day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and fun activities involved in every clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    GTCC has plenty of online classes. It also has a part-online, part in-class courses were students can do most of their works online if that's the kind of schedule that best suits them. This school is also for students who are busy and have no time to linger, since most people who are done in classes typically leave right away. There is also a day care center for faculties and students who have kids or younger relatives.

    Bang for the buck

    If you qualify for financial aid, all your tuition fees and books will be covered. If you don't qualify, the most you will pay for tuition fees is less than $1,500 for a full-time schedule. It can go higher if you have more than four classes (at least four classes is required to be full-time). Books are rather expensive if you're buying it yourself.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of extra curricular activities to do in GTCC offered by different clubs. For example, Spanish club does plenty of fun activities that involve travelling and food! The school also has an observatory that is open and free for public. There's also a YMCA next to the campus which is also part of GTCC.

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't eat at the cafeteria, but it sure smells good in there whenever I pass by. Apparently, cafeteria food can be quite expensive, but they do have some good meals.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm available in GTCC.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends in every course. Math and Science courses can be quite challening, especially Biology and Chemistry. GTCC may be a community college, but the standards of the math and science departments are just the same as other four-year universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students really need to push themselves in order to keep up with the school work. Because most school activities are done online, it is easy to lose track of time and forget that there are actually school works to be done. But don't worry, teachers would normally email students to remind them they have things due soon. Most teachers I had so far are quite lenient and very understanding. If something comes up and a student can't take the exam on that specific day, they can work with that student regarding exam schedule. And more important tips: Make sure to ask your instructor first before buying the required books whether they will be used or not; Also, the parking lot can be very busy after 8 am. Be sure to get there early if you have morning classes. The school has a parking deck that a student can pay for to ensure a parking space throughout the semester or throughout the year.

    In three sentences

    From 1-10, I would say my experience at GTCC would be about 8. The classes are very flexible, and it's easy to adjust the class schedules with one's own personal preference. And since most of the school works are online-based, school works can be done in one's own time.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    too many to name

    Great for these types of students

    need to save money

    What to do for fun

    clubs plan a lot of fun activities as fund raisers.

    Food and Dining

    not horrible, but not great either.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to gtcc for the first two years of college and then transfer. it saves a ton of money.

    In three sentences

    the classes are small so there is more one on one attention. lots of opportunities are available there both academically and socially. the schools is growing rapidly.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is cruising all the time

    Clubs and Activities

    they have all kinds of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    those who live close by. it is a community college

    What to do for fun

    sign up for physical education. they have a ymca at the jamestown campus, you can go swimming, lift weights or play volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    they have a small cafeteria in the main jamestown campus. i don't know about the high point or greensboro campuses.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    not too hard but a lot is on the computer

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a good school and the campuses are not so large that you get lost.

    In three sentences

    i rate gtcc as an a+ school. it has a variety of options to choose your major from. it also has three different campuses.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards available and police that patrol the speeders, however there could be more of them around.

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm not very involved in any but i know they're quite active and close-knit groups.

    Great for these types of students

    it's for students who are searching for a college like they would a first car: it gets you from point a to point b. not much flair but it works and its affordable, plus there are unique (as well as out-dated) qualities about it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i think it's unique that the college has star gazing sessions weekly and fly-fishing classes in the campus lake.

    Bang for the buck

    you get more than what you pay for, in my opinion. the teachers are truly genuine people, but some of the students may be lacking initiative.

    What to do for fun

    various clubs, movie showings, weekly star gazing in observatory, wii and games in cafe/student lounge, cheap hair cuts and dental cleanings by students, cheap fine dining practice by the culinary students, ...

    Food and Dining

    i haven't eaten in the cafe, but i know it's small. most people go across the street to get food, i think. theres a sheets nearby, as well as an ice cream shop sprinkles

    Dorm Life

    (there is no housing on campus here.)

    Tips for prospective students

    always but your books used; avoid financial aid lines as much as possible; take evening classes if you want to avoid all the traffic; wear walking shoes; tuition & fees out of pocket increases a bit each year, but is currently around $750 per semester

    In three sentences

    this college has alot to offer for alot less than universities, and without the attractive flair. it's very congested in the am and around noon. financial aid office is packed and phones are always busy, but the staff is very helpful once you're patient enough to get through to them and the teachers are all wonderful!

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is not much on the campus for recreational purposes.

    Food and Dining

    there are lots of vending machines all over campus and also a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    little time is needed to study at this school, unless in a subject one is not strong in.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's important to study and put time into the different sciences in college. it's way harder then high school sciences.

    In three sentences

    guilford technical community college is a great school. most of the professors are very nice and helpful. the classes are easy with a little studying.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always around making sure that the school is safe and secure from disturbances and crimes. safety is a bigger issue because each parent wants his or her student to be at peace without anything to disturb their studies.

    Greek Life

    greek life is the first step the school takes by offerring fellowship, academic scholarship, job training, leadership preparation, participating in campus activities, community servive and preparing students for univerity.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs depending on each student interest. since health issues is one of the nation's biggest concern, we have days to work out and teach people about how to keep their bodies healthy at all times. you can find more information at www.gtcc.edu.

    Great for these types of students

    yes, the school has an open-arms to receive students who want to know their career paths, and continue by transferring to a four a year university. any student can come to gtcc because it is one of the best community colleges with scholarships, transfer programs, sports, and loving is always abound in each student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are diverse populations in terms of different ethnic groups. there are also different campus locations at highpoint, greensboro, and also an aviation center-this tells how traditional the school is with many resources.

    Bang for the buck

    the school has a wonderful students who are willing to understand the meaning of being a college student and prepare them for the future. hard and determined students always succeed although they go through a lot of challenges.

    What to do for fun

    there are many games such as basketball volleyball, and soccer. library to read from wide range of books. students' can also volunteer to help others.

    Food and Dining

    the school has chefs who are well-trained and qualified for providing a balance diet. the food and dining is always kept clean, and there is a comment board for the students to write what they think the food and dining was set up. theere is a program teaching students about how to eat well and exercise.

    Dorm Life

    guilford technical community college doesn't not have a dormitory. but they have departments to assist the one's who can't afford to live on their own, counsel them, help them to feel acceptable and worth living. i haven't heard of any greater love than to give the less fortune another chance in live.

    Academic Rigor

    guilford technical community college has an intense programs, but they have vast resources to help students who are serious and dedicated to studying. the school is also ranked one of the best community colleges in the country. yet the materials and staffs are there to seeing the success of all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    my advice to other students is that they must be willing to love what they do. never give up to whatever challenge they may face each day because they are meant to tell those obstacles that they are stronger and winners. they must make every effort to be the best.

    In three sentences

    i vehemently believe that guilford technical community college has an outstanding programs and staff. my first semester was tough, but the tutors were willing to work with me to come out with flying colors. the atmosphere that surrounds the campus says something unique to each individual.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police and other police on campus.

    Greek Life

    Do have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have varies of clubs and activities that you and join.

    Great for these types of students

    They help out a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    They is one of the colleges that is not high on tuition.

    What to do for fun

    I read, write poetry, go to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    There food is good just high

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    They have high hopes for all there students and what everyone to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up if all the information you give that and stay on top of every thing that you do.

    In three sentences

    This school is good in all there programs. They need to be more better in how they handle information for people and how the send information. I like this school a lot, I graduated from this school in May 2010.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a community college I can get the education I need at a less cost.

    Will enjoy being here

    Because I always enjoyed college ambience and the joy of learning for a brighter career.

    Academic Rigor

    Because I am returning to college after over twenty years and am determined to graduate.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you need experience before jumping straight into a 4 year or more university. recent high school graduates Anyone needing 2 year degree or certificate program.

    Tips for prospective students

    ARRIVE EARLY!!!! Parking is crammed until checks come out.

    Bang for the buck

    It's decent for the level the college is on. It just isn't meant for a 4 year degree, so you will have to transfer.

    Am enjoying being here

    A lot of recent high school kids hang out at the cafe. They can be annoying. Other than that, it's fine.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot in the time I've been at GTCC. Most of the professors really do care and they will work with you--if you aren't afraid of meeting them.

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    paying out of state tuition really sucks!

    Academic Rigor

    psy 150-was interesting eng 111-learned mla citing format mat 171+172-were filled with new material and relatively challenging

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    good for students wanting to major in technical fields and such

    Will enjoy being here

    i will enjoy the campus life hopefully

    Will learn a lot

    they have a nursing program here that i think will help me