Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Harrisburg University of Science and Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe, high security but watch out for theft, don't leave a back-pack unattended or a cell phone laying on a library table. If you blink, it will be gone.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Gaming clubs, technology clubs. They have a lot of free conferences with free meals, presentations and panels

    Great for these types of students

    Urban, people of any color. single, childless, young, foreign or American, people who have jobs already, science and math majors, tech nerds, gamers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is interesting, it is collaborative and open. The librarian is really helpful. The campus elevators have no buttons on the inside. The building is secure but some theft happens.

    Bang for the buck

    The area is relatively inexpensive and the unemployment rate in this region isn't too terrible compared to other parts of the country. Food and housing is not over the top for a small town. Lots of crime in this area however.

    What to do for fun

    Great coffeehouses, bars, restaurants and nightlife. However it is not very safe at night. Best to go in large groups.

    Food and Dining

    The catering is always the same boring sandwiches. They should change it up! Strawberry square is right next to the school which has lots of great choices. The Taco stand is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Very good, you can get as much or little as you want. Demand feedback and make it clear that you want it. Be open minded to receiving it, this is one of the few opportunities that you can get real honest feedback on your work by professionals in the industry. It is a fairly new school so many of the professors are not tenured. This is actually a plus because they are often well connected to the corporate world unlike other universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you really research the outlook for your career. Most of the science and math jobs are safe, but the technology jobs are changing so fast that your career can become obsolete in a matter of months. Make sure that you interview the department head as that may be your only lifeline after graduation.

    In three sentences

    Not a mom-friendly university, unless you are online, no daycare. Most of the female students and staff do not have school age kids. Post-graduate placement and alumni opportunities are lacking for graduate students. Student's are rarely hired to be a part of the staff after graduation. Some student jobs are available, but fairly limited.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    City Island, movies, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Need to cook for yourself, but kitchen is great

    Tips for prospective students

    Need to know how to cook Need to be self reliant

    In three sentences

    Good small campus. No food plan. Excellent housing.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Capitol police and campus police are ubiquitous

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go the gym and work out.

    Tips for prospective students

    New your professor is the biggest tips I can give to a prospective student. I say this because every professor teach different from the other.

    In three sentences

    From Housing the the classroom, HU is a one of a kind school. The school has a direct focus on science and technology but also focus on business and many other majors. Overall its a great school with a lot of new and exciting things happening.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since the college is at the heart of the Harrisburg community, there many places to go from the science museums, to the theatres, and even sporting areas. As long as you are with friends, then I'm positive you'll have fun anywhere you go.

    Food and Dining

    Located in Harrisburg, there are plenty of restaurants located near the campus where students can get food or at out at.

    Dorm Life

    Since the University does not have dorm rooms, they offer apartment suites which I am positively sure are top notch rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have never actually taken any classes there but I love a good challenging class so I'm sure they won't be that easy. Just study, study, study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the admissions page on their website, and also their academics and majors. If you like what you see I strongly recommend that you apply right away.

    In three sentences

    I love what this college has to offer. It has small class sizes so I'm sure I won't be left out or feel like so. I can't wait to actually visit the campus to see what the Harrisburg community is like.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You'll be living in a city. There is always fun things to do. Theres two malls very close, The Mall of Harrisburg and The Capital City Mall. You can also go for walks by the river or around city island.

    Food and Dining

    Since HU is connected to Strawberry square, they don't have a cafe. However, don't be fooled. the food court at Strawberry Square is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    Not only are the dorms very safe, but everyone there is like one huge family. I know sometimes you need a little break though, so it's still nice to have your own place to retreat to. The dorm life at HU provides for both of these situations.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very helpful and readily avaliable whenever you may need help. They really focus on grades here because this could determine your elegibility for future financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to study each night so your work doesn't get backed up. Creating a schedule for yourself is very helpful when alotting time for friends, school, and family.

    In three sentences

    Harrisburg U is a great place to be. It's confortable, and everyone knows everyone. It's an amazing change from high school.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes wallets get stolen. However, overall I think it is fairly safe.

    Greek Life

    Do not have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Need more clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Science and technology nerds.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is too expensive for what is available.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout in the library.

    Food and Dining

    Strawberry square is the only available place that is close really. Unless, you want to dine up 2nd street.

    Dorm Life

    I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be challenging sometimes, other time too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you a sign up for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    I think the school could use more extracurricular activities. I like how small and close nit the student and faculty are. However, I find it too expensive.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The city of Harrisburg is not much unlike any major city- there is a high crime rate if you end up in the wrong areas. Having said this, the downtown area is relatively safe as long as you don't wander alone, and the academic center itself requires key card access, so there aren't any non-students on the academic floors unless they are registered guests. Safety on any campus essentially all boils down to common sense.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life represented on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am giving the clubs and activities two stars because of the lack of funding for such things at the university. Because the university is in its infantry, this aspect is very underdeveloped and needs a lot of attention. The events council does plan a few events throughout the year, but compared to any other university the student activity level is very low.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a very competitive student who thrives in environments of academic rigor, you may want to choose another institution. This institution is perfect for those students who prefer quiet, and perform better when there is not a great deal of pressure to compete. While there are many sharp professors at this institution who come from a variety of esteemed backgrounds, the general feel of the university is very relaxed and students have a chance to shine because they are not fighting to be noticed in a crowd of 800+ students. Many of the students at this university are introverted when they arrive as freshman, but quickly find common ground with the other students and start to become very socially active. If you are the type of student who loves Dungeons and Dragons, putting together robots, or video games, this would be an ideal spot for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The graduation ceremonies are always rather extravagant, and are well planned and put together.

    Bang for the buck

    Given the small student body and the opportunity to build strong personal relationships with the professors, I am giving the university three stars. There are many disadvantages to attending a university of this size- the lack of student activity, very small campus limited to one academic building, not much funding for institutional scholarships...the list goes on. I have however had some very unique experiences at this university that I know would be near impossible at a larger institution. I was able to go on trips free of cost to me (including supplies, travel, and board), there is a very close community at this university given the number of students (nearly everyone knows one another), and it is very easy to get personal recommendation letters from professors because of the fact that they have a chance to become acquainted with students on a very personal level. The cost of this institution is a little higher than some of the better known and recognized universities such as Penn state, and scholarship money is much more difficult to come by. Having said this, the price of attendance is far less than that of your average private institution.

    What to do for fun

    If you are under the age of 21 and are attending this university, the amount of outside activities are very limited to you. The few events groups the university does have plan a few events throughout the year, but attendance is typically quite low and the events themselves don't occur often. There are social networking organizations you have the opportunity to join as a student at this university, but many of their events are 21+ and therefore are not the best for underclassmen.

    Food and Dining

    This university is attached to a building filled with businesses known as Strawberry Square. Because there is a direct entrance to the university from Strawberry Square, the university has opted to use the food court of Strawberry Square as its dining option. There is essentially no dining plan at this university, which can be a pain for students who rely on their financial aid to cover a comprehensive package of tuition, books, housing, and meals. Put quite plainly- students at this university are each individually responsible for all of their meals. Some of the vendors in the food court do offer small discounts to university students, but you can expect to shell out about 10-15$ a day on food if you don't have access to a car to go grocery shopping. (There is no decent grocery store within walkable distance to the campus.)

    Dorm Life

    I am giving the dorm life 4 stars because it is fairly new. The university now operates two residence buildings which are less than a block away from the university. The cost of living in the dormitories is quite similar to that of other institutions, and the dorms come with many amenities such as a full kitchen, full appliances, and separate living space that freshman students typically do not get. The dorms are brand new, so they are in very nice shape. They do allow for some freedom, students are allowed to hold functions in their rooms as long as they do not disrupt neighbors (although the neighbors are usually in attendance too so it's not a problem). I gave 4 stars instead of five, because the financial aid package is not adequate to cover the cost of living in the dormitories for independent students not receiving aid from their families. There is also no program available for adult married students who wish to live in campus housing, or students with families who wish to live closer to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This university is not highly competitive, and it is ultimately up to the student to seek out extra academic activities that will strengthen their resume upon graduation. The professors are quite proficient in their fields, and nearly all of them hold a Ph.D in their focus areas. The courses are comparable to a typical course at a university, and many of the professors do allow for a little bit of freedom of choice when it comes to some things since the student body is so small. All students must engage in 2 research projects of their choice and 1 internship as a condition of graduation. I gave the program 3 stars because for an institution of science and technology, there is little to no research available for students leaving many to commute to and from other universities/laboratories.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the dorms if at all possible, because it can be hard to find a safe neighborhood that's close in proximity if you are new to the Harrisburg area. Stay on top of your academics and you will be recognized. Utilize your personal connection with the professors when it is time to apply to research programs or internships.

    In three sentences

    Very small class sizes. Professors get a chance to really get to know the students. Low level of student activity outside of academics.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Like I stated earlier this college is all about convenience for me.C

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines but the school is located in the downtown area so there are many venues to choose from.D

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I am incapable of answering this question properly.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is challenging and I personally so far have enjoyed the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to get everything taken care of as earlie as possible and always ask as many questions as you can.

    In three sentences

    So far I have found the school to be very unorganized. Being a mother and wife it's location is very convenient for me. This school for me is all about convenience.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm told no incidents last year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't joined any yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody interested in technology of any kind. They also have a forensics major.

    Bang for the buck

    I think so!

    What to do for fun

    Small city, but I'm there to study. University provides a 100 Things to Do checklist.

    Food and Dining

    All apartments have their own kitchens. All granite and stainless steel.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't moved in yet, but brand new apartment type dorms are right across the street from classroom building. They are awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm just starting in August, but I expect it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please visit (ask for Jared).

    In three sentences

    A great new university dedicated to preparing students for careers in STEM areas. Small class size and personal attention are tops. Moderate tuition and fees are a great plus too!

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This college is about 100 percent safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    The students are pretty much in charge of any and every club and activities. If we want something to happen or make a different club then all we have to do is talk to the one that could put it all together then we do the rest.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all type of students especially those who like that one on one with the professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a new school everything is like new. The ;abs are great and the classrooms are set up in a relaxing easy to study room.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I usually either ready a good book in the library or watch a movie in one of the private rooms.

    Food and Dining

    Where HU is at, you can get food from everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing. You pay one set price and all you really have to do after that is by food and extra stuff that you would need for the dorm. A lot of different things are already there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a lot of learning and fun. This college has a lot to offer and will help you every step of the way with any and everything. The people here are here to help.

    In three sentences

    Harrisburg University of Science and Technology is a great school to go to. You get that one on one with teachers. Everyone is so helpfully and will guide you to a better education and decision making.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is very safe inside the building. However, out on the streets I recommend that people be more cautious.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for each general major at the University such as social media club, forensic club, video gamers club, and student government. My personal experience in forensic club has been wonderful because the officers are constantly creating activities for us to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Harrisburg University is great for students that want to take college seriously and are intent on focusing on their school work. The University is not a party school, but the University does hold student friendly events to give students a chance to socialize and relax outside of their apartments and classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are right next door to Pennsylvania's capital building, and very close to the farm show complex where different events are held.

    Bang for the buck

    The housing is a tad expensive since it is fairly new. However, the building is much safer and nicer than other buildings so it is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    The school hosts different events throughout the year and the students create their own activities such as flag football and dodge-ball. Some students get together and car pool to go bowling or to the movies. Also, the Whitaker Center is close by for an educational experience, and the campus is surrounded by numerous restaurants and places to shop.

    Food and Dining

    There are numerous restaurants and pizza shops along the street. Also, the school connects to Strawberry Square where students can purchase Starbucks, McDonalds, Subway, and Chinese food. The University does not have a cafeteria or meal plan due to the closeness to Strawberry Square.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious because you are given a full apartment since there is no cafeteria or meal plan. Dorms include a full kitchen and bathroom. Each room comfortably fits two to three people.

    Academic Rigor

    The University certainly does challenge the students, but the information and projects assigned are relevant to the student's major making them more interesting and useful. The lectures and projects may not always be easy, but they are certainly worth your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    This University is a very close knit community. Harrisburg University is a fun and interactive learning environment. However, the Harrisburg area is not the safest place, it is best to walk in groups and to come prepared with pepper spray.

    In three sentences

    Harrisburg University of Science and Technology has very small and close knit classrooms where students are encouraged to ask questions and receive a superb learning experience. The University is very up to date on the latest technology. In addition, all of the professors are very friendly and available to the students.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Forensics Club Anime Club Glee Club Student Government

    Great for these types of students

    Shy students, students who need academic help can learn from small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many parties but are not as good as normal ones.

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of expensive, however kind of worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Many malls around, and many activities that go on, with the school and without.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of restaurants around the school, so you have many choices to eat from. Sometimes it gets tiring, however.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is expanding, so it's really good. They are more like mini apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the way the classes go here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small college, come here. If you do not like cities, don't come here.

    In three sentences

    The school is good for students who want the one-on-one teacher student time, since it is a small college. Also, with the new improvements it also is becoming better. The location is a great one because there are many things around for the students to go to.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The parking garage is within the 3rd and 9th floor of the school. There is a security guard here at all times. The actual school itself, as in the floors where the classes are being held, can only get to by a one card pass.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I only know of one club and that is the Biotech club that doesn't do that much anymore. I know there is a biotech day every semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Harrisburg University is only good for technology based students who are interested in Science or Computer majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nope.

    Bang for the buck

    The location of Harrisburg University is nice because it is downtown and right across the train station. There is no cafeteria and we just got dorm rooms. The tuition is not that expensive, especially for some of the classes I have.

    What to do for fun

    There are many after school activities that students have come up with. There are movie nights and video game nights.

    Food and Dining

    The only food and dining Harrisburg University has to offer is strawberry square that is connected to the school in downtown Harrisburg.

    Dorm Life

    We actually just got dorm rooms last semester as in Fall of 2011.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is that if you need more individual attention then this is the school for you. Harrisburg University is great at giving more individual attention with professors and tutors as well. The best professors are Dr. Peter Meek and Dr. Leena Patterkine. These professors and excellent at teaching and helping the students understand.

    In three sentences

    Harrisburg University of Science and Technology has done a lot for its students. Every student who has graduated has done something great for themselves, as in get a good job or had good connections. The classrooms are small which helps with more individual attention so students can learn easier and be able to ask questions.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    before you apply to this school, check to see what this school is really about and check the school profile. more than likely if you want to go out, you should get a car because its nothing to really do in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm learning alot but for one class, i'm struggling with alot.

  • 10/08/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who loves science and having top of the line technology, small class sizes, people who don't like a lot of distractions.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit and see how nice the school is.

    Bang for the buck

    Seeing as the building is only 3 years old, everything is brand new and top of the line. there is a 98% chance graduates will find a job right after graduation. Shadowing is mandatory for seniors and labs are hands on ensuring that you will learn what you need to to be successful in a real-world job.

    Will enjoy being here

    The School, like i have stated, is brand new and has technology i have never seen from vacuum hand dryers to automatic elevators to rooms full of smartboards. The problem i found was that although the campus is just blocks away from the capitol, there was not much to do in the city from what i saw.

    Will learn a lot

    Students in the forensics field do a pig dig where a class murders a dead pig and buries it. they then go out to find a pig body from the previous year's class to analyze it and find a cause of death. this is just an example of how much this school can teach and prepare one for their future.