Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hawaii Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Great for these types of students

    Adventure fanatics and beach bums

    What to do for fun

    Hcc if near the beach and three different rivers so swimming and beach activitys are great and your near the mountain to so it another thing you can do

    Food and Dining

    Great food ranging from burgers to salads and even omelet

    Tips for prospective students

    If you what to learn at a low cost it's the place to go

    In three sentences

    This school is fun. This school is a great place to learn. It's great place to meet new nice people.

  • 12/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the library to read books of all kind

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the assignment once they are assign, because it will get ahead.

    In three sentences

    Best school ever. East environment to learn in. THe instructors are great!

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I like to meet new friends. There are a lot of programs and groups you can get involved in. The always have really good fundraisers and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food in the cafeteria. I always had a great meal and was always satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    I live on the island so I didn't live in the dorms but they look very comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    I love the college class course choices. I think the teachers are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Always ask for help

    In three sentences

    I love attending Hawaii Community College. The people are very friendly and helpful. The teachers are very helpful and make the college experience truly worth every dollar.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Service Learning Activities

    In three sentences

    Professors and lectures of the Tropical Forest Ecosystem and Agroforestry Management courses are knowledgeable and eager to help students. Other staff are very kind and helpful. The cafeteria has good food.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a safe and carefree location.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very fun and very numerous!

    Great for these types of students

    Fun, learning oriented and driven students who are looking to make the best of their money, and have a great experience as well!

    Bang for the buck

    It really does save money to go to the Hawaii Community College, lots of the classes have the same teacher, course and classroom as the University of Hawaii at Hilo, but at a much more affordable rate.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of excursions, student activities, and clubs available at Hawaii Community College, all with there own perks. There is something for everyone, including several free seminars.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and well cooked. It is also reasonably priced, which I, a relatively poor college student appreciate.

    Dorm Life

    Although, I do not live in the dorms, I have heard that they are safe, and very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is a community college, that doesn't mean its easy. A lot of the classes are identical to the University of Hawaii at Hilo, even sharing professors and classrooms. It is a difficult but fun learning environment, and it is best to approach it with vigor!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Always do all of your work - Don't slack off! -Make use of the Student center and activities, these are your friends! -Join clubs to make friends with similar interests as you -Always be a respectful and enthusiastic student

    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College is a fantastic and immerse College that provides support and unique learning opportunities for its students, including those from the Running Start program. The staff are very friendly, and try their best to help every student. I have found my time there to be both fun, entertaining, and educational.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive especially for us college kids. The cafeteria is pretty darn big though!

    Dorm Life

    Have not lived in the dorms and do not plan too.

    Academic Rigor

    Good very good. They have a lot of opportunities and activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your serious about college, get to know who your adviser is and figure out who you can talk to about your issues or academic problems.

    In three sentences

    HCC is an awesome college. I love that its a small school because you can really get to know people and see them more often. Its helps with making new friends.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Both University of Hawai'i at Hilo and Hawai'i Community College campuses are relatively safe. However, you should just be aware of your surroundings. If need be, please stay with a buddy.

    What to do for fun

    The students at Hawai'i Community College is very diverse. Some students do outdoor activities while other attend bars on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at University of Hawai'i at Hilo shares it's facility with both university and community college students. The cafeteria is open Monday through Friday for breakfast and lunch. Additionally, the food menu changes on a daily basis. Otherwise, there is two food stations on campus which sell beverages, snacks, and food to students.

    Dorm Life

    Most students who attend Hawai'i Community College live around campus or living at home with parents.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are falling behind in classes, please see your professor so that he/she can assist you. Additionally, there is a learning center for both university and community college students at University of Hawai'i at Hilo. It's free!

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early since almost all courses will be filled once registration has opened. If parking on campus, please arrive early. Both campuses are small and cannot accommodate parking spaces for all students. Attend your classes - it is a waste if you're enrolled in classes and don't attend.

    In three sentences

    Hawai'i Community College is a two-year public community college for students who reside on Hawai'i island. This is the college to attend if you're looking to receive your associates degree before transferring to a university. Additionally, tuition rates are usually cheaper than university.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Dining is a bit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms being built currently.

    Academic Rigor

    Easier than a traditional university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the deadlines!!!

    In three sentences

    Small student-teacher ratios. Inexpensive education. Caring professors.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small and safe :)

    Great for these types of students

    Mature students and those wanting to be in a small, close knit community.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost effecient, especially for in state students.

    What to do for fun

    Kona is a small community and doesn't offer much for young adults.

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college, the instructors are fair but demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to complete liberal arts courses and pre-requisites for further education.

    In three sentences

    I attend the West Hawaii Campus of Hawaii Community College. It is small and easy to navigate. I have found all staff to be helpful and the courses offered, very relative to my program. Course fees are very reasonable as well.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's beaches, beautiful hikes, and so much more.

    In three sentences

    Amazing learning environment as well as campus. Teachers go the extra mile to see to it that students understand what they're doing. Great teacher student ration.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is the number one subject we students talk about besides how school is getting ridiculously expensive. There were a few incidents where cars got literally driven off campus, children at the age of 8 years were talked to by strangers, etc...I got talked to by a stranger who was not enrolled. I think we all need to come together and watch out for one another...

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about what you mean by Greek life, but here at the college, we make life Greek. We enjoy each others company even though you come from other countries or just down the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are e-mailed on a daily basis. There's enough to do for people who live on campus or off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Blogging on the school page.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have seen mix culture here at Hawaii Community College and I think that it is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck is education, nothing is like educating your mind, so when you need help, call on the best of the best, your instructeor.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy my time with my 13 year old daughter going fishing, playing basketball, and talking story.

    Food and Dining

    Oh, my gosh! They make the best salads ever, not to mention the soups.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, but my cousin lives in the dorm and she likes the atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    If I ask a question a day, that makes me succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try seeking a course that interests you and you will find that coming to school is not at all tiring.

    In three sentences

    Exciting opportunity for degree seekers. Outstanding teachers at your fingertips. Amazing teachers with superb skills.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The staff and security makes the campus feel safe and keep it at that too.

    Greek Life

    I am not intrested in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in no clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of students. Here we have diversity of all and yet it does not matter.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This being my first year, second semester, I am still learning and looking around.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing that I appreciate and love about attending Hawaii Community College is because the people are so friendly there and the student lounge is a positive safe place, and the refreshments are free. On campus dining halls have cheap eats and good food.

    What to do for fun

    Now days I don't do much but tend to my homework and children. If I ever do have free time I love to go to the beach and enjoy the sun.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining ares are awesome. The food are great and with varieties, you can't go wrong.

    Dorm Life

    I do not liv ein a dorm so I would not know how dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically I belive that Hawaii Community College is performing and teaching students to the best that they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid. Ask questions, espesically if you need the help, and get help by getting tutored.

    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College on a 1-10 scale, I would give them a 8 for all they are missing are more campus activites that bring the peers together.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Hawaii Community College because there is someone always around if anything happens. It really helps when I see security walking around. When I see them walking around campus, it makes me think they care.

    Greek Life

    I am not Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally am not in any Clubs or Activities through Hawaii Community College, but I do dance Tahitian three times a week. Also, I am in kickboxing two times a week.

    Great for these types of students

    It might be just me, but I feel Hawaii Community College can be for anyone how wants it. So far I have had a great experience and I cannot wait for the following years to come.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Kau Wa'a Center is a place where I do my homework a lot of times because it is quiet and the staff puts out refreshments. Like I stated before, I am a food lover. In the Kau Wa'a Center, the staff is very helpful and nice.

    Bang for the buck

    If I am not mistaken, Bang for the buck means that I get my monies worth; I am very sorry if I am wrong. Yes, I feel as if I am taking getting every pennies worth. I enjoy being a student at Hawaii Community College.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I enjoy going to the beach and being with my family. The beach relaxes me and lets me feel free for a moment. Also, I spend time volunteering at a preschool because i love being around little children. Although they can be a little rascal, children is what keeps me sane.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, i absolutely love food and I enjoy the fact that there is a dinning room because there is a home feeling. Also, the variety is the best because I get over eating the same food pretty fast.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have heard great things about it. Several of my friends live in the dorms and all of them said that they like how they have freedom verses living at home with their parents. I'm sure i would enjoy living there as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is bearable if you set out the time to actually read the material or complete the book work. What would be the sense to come to college if it is easy? I know I want something that I can learn from instead of by-passing and not learning anything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be positive when learning something new because you can only gain when you learn. If you go in with a bad attitude you will only get a bad response back. Most of all, do not commit to something if you cannot commit 100 percent.

    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College is a great school for me because the tuition is the most cheapest, the staff offer a lot of help when needed and the location couldn't be any better. I would say that Hawaii Community College is an 9 out of 10 because although academically it is a great school, i wish there was more parking. Attending Hawaii Community College was one of the best choices I have made.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this school has good security and they are very friendly they make me feel safe

    Great for these types of students

    self motivated students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some classes are actually located at another campus up the road

    What to do for fun

    go swimming and work out

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell those thinking of attending that they made a good choice .

    In three sentences

    I think that this school is very good , the teachers are good and they have a good selection of courses.. overall I would rate this school between 1 threw 10 id say 6

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe while I attend college

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food on campus

    Academic Rigor

    I learned allot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and ask for help if you dont understand

    In three sentences

    I rate this college a 10, I received allot of help in the process of becoming a student. All my questions were answered and I felt really comfortable.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ive never felt unsafe!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to enter careers that have different cultural views, or those benefiting island, marine life. As well as the normal careers. Also if for those, like me, choosing to complete their pre-req's at a lower tuition cost with a goal to transfer to a University to complete their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my finals last semester was a Ho'ike, which was our way to present what we learned in our Hawaiian class. Easiest final ever, great food, Hula, family, friends and all the Hawaiian classes were involved.

    Bang for the buck

    HawCC now offers a Hawaiian Lifestyles Program which I've heard is a Liberal Arts Program geared more towards the education of Hawaiian aspects!

    What to do for fun

    There is many activities going on throughout the semester on both HawCC and UH Hilo campuses. And if your a non-resident there is a mall 5 minutes away and beaches about 10 minutes away. Right in the heart of Hilo so there are many things to enjoy in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Fried Korean Chicken is a must try!!! Culinary Students do a great job feeding the students. But the cafeteria is not open on Mondays :(

    Academic Rigor

    HawCC has a offers a broad variety of academics. Being a Multicultural atmosphere there is much to learn outside the norm.

    Tips for prospective students

    I chose to attend HawCC not just because of the lower tuition cost, but also because of the smaller more personal classes, staff, campus activities, and fellow classmates. Meet with an academic advisor and see what options there are.

    In three sentences

    HawCC has a very Ohana (family) like atmosphere that seems to invite you to their campus activities. The staff is so welcoming and very determined to help you achieve your dreams. And fellow students are full of Aloha and since we are all trying to achieve the same goal, we help eachother because were all in it together!

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really on it. They have cell phones that you may call if you are one of those who are taking night time classes and would want to be excorted to your car from your classs. The security will come to your class and walk with you to your car and stay there untill you leave. They also roam the school grounds through out the day watching for suspicious activities.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym that is located at the university of hawaii at hilo and it is really relaxing> Myself and friends go there to have a good time to chill as well as staying fit.

    Food and Dining

    I recommend that you buy your own lunch or bring something from home because the food at the cafe is so expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but by overviews from friends they say that it is ok but they need to make it fun because there is nothing really to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are awesome and very outgoing. My professors are there to help you hundred percent if you really wanna accomplish the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should look into the Hawaii Community College it is an awesome enviroment. They have many activities and there goal is to help you achieve in your future career.

    In three sentences

    I love being a student at Hawaii Community College. It is a wonderful campus and everyone here ishelpful and friendly. There are many places that you can recieve free help and they also can answer any questions you may have.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College is a great college. It is a great start for attending college. I plan on getting my first major there in Culinary Arts.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    HawaiiCC is great for students that need to take their required basic classes then plan to transfer to a University to continue their career goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a lot of different holidays and traditions from other schools because of our culture. If you enjoy gathering and bbq's HawaiiCC is the place to be.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to spend time with my son. Going to school takes up a lot of my time so when I have extra spare time I like to have quality mommy and me time.

    Food and Dining

    I love Hawaiian food, and HawaiiCC isn't just located near many local island diners but also near the UH campus where they also serve local plates.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming would be located on the UH campus. The hale's you would reside in are decent. Hilo is a hot but humid place so if you decide to come to school here, be ready for rain.

    Academic Rigor

    Hawaii in general isn't known well for their education levels but in the islands of Hawaii I believe that HawaiiCC offers a well leveled academic teaching scale. They aren't to fast paced but not to easy going. Kind of gets you thinking but also helps you have a good understanding.

    In three sentences

    HawaiiCC is a small, comfortable schooling environment, with understanding teachers and aloha friendly students I enjoy taking classes here to achieve my career goal at being a RN. They have a well managed campus with campus security and is well maintained with the restrooms and classes. It's location is very convenient also, being located right in the middle of Hilo makes the school close to many places including students homes.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want to transfer out of HCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some classes are at UH Hilo campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Each credit is less than 100 dollars. So the price is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activites on campus sometimes. But outside of school, there are beaches. You can also go up to Mauna Kea.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I recommend would be to go to class everyday. Don't go to class hungry. Have a good nights sleep.

    In three sentences

    I like Hawaii Community College. They care about your education. I rate it a 7 out of 10.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their is security guards that are friendly and enforce the rules. If your in need of help, they will gladly assist anyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    The library is great for students who don't have a computer available to them and that would like to study in a quiet, nice environment.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the education is worth every penny. There is a student center where students can go and get free lunch or snacks, coffee, cocoa and just chill out or study.

    What to do for fun

    This college has a lot of activities. Sometimes there are free concerts with live bands and it always turns out successful. There is a pool on campus, also a gym, student center, huge library, and bulletin boards that posts the wide variety of activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very nice but the food I think is a bit on the expensive side. Although they have great food but should make it more budget friendly to students.

    Dorm Life

    There is apartments across from the college for students. The living spaces are great and the prices are affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this college is awesome. The class time is well spent and the teachers are really passionate about teaching their students. There are a lot of classes available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to arrive 15 minutes early to class because of the lack of parking stalls. Be sure to attend class and don't waste time. Take advantage of the resources available around campus.

    In three sentences

    This school has great classes that is taught by exceptional teachers. Education and experience is worth every penny. It also has great student activities and facilities.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Zero tolerance of any kind of crime is posted on campuses. guards are always patrolling the campuses very friendly also.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to choose from all depends on the student and what they are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    enjoy on or off campus foods, going to the beaches cost nothing which is fun because we have more then one beach to go to. love the gym on campus for students.

    What to do for fun

    We enjoy any programs that the school offers, the beaches in hawaii are beautiful so much to be had here on hawaii campuses

    Food and Dining

    just love eating from the cafes or the culinary classes food very tasty, very friendly students that work in the food places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    It will be hard at first but once you get into the flow of things it will be up hill from there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do things as early as you can before a semester starts and follow up with a counselor.

    In three sentences

    The counselers there are very helpful with me since its my first year in college im very nervous but they go out of their way to make sure i start off on the good foot.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super friendly, helpful folks.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs scene is actually pretty active, but the actual activity scene could use some help.

    Great for these types of students

    Just-graduated high school students, students who aren't sure what they want to major in, returning students, older students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the student center for free coffee, hot chocolate, and tea throughout the day. Also, microwave acces, campus-wide wifi, and a place to chill when it's hot/rainy outside. Also, print for free in Hale Kea! Just bring your own paper.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are all about bang for your buck. Literally, it is the same. exact. education you'd get from UH Hilo, for a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    The beach(es) are always an option, as this is Hawaii. There is a TON of local culture to be found in Hilo, as it isn't as vacation-y, tourist-y as Kona or Honolulu. Lava flows, tons of astronomy and outdoorsy options.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent for mass production. There aren't many options for on-campus food, but Manono campus is a short stroll/scooter ride from all kinds of different food: natural, organic food, fast greasy stuff, local food, snacks, sit-down food... Plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are shared with UH hilo. Pretty standard dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be as hard or as easy as you make them. Do your assignments regularly and get into good habits! It only gets tougher once you leave here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an educational plan and stick to it. Try to knock out as much general ed as you can here, even if you're strongly considering going to a four-year school. It's the same courses and the same information, but tuition is a fraction of the cost. This also makes HawCC a great place to try classes that you're interested in. The average student changes their major at least twice, so if you're going to expand your academic horizons, this is a really fantastic place to do it.

    In three sentences

    Terrific, very supportive staff and professors who will push you to succeed if you're willing to put in the time and effort. Not many degree/certificate programs. Mostly geared for students to finish general ed and transfer to a four-year University.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, there is a place called lava landing you can play pool or air hockey. And there's a mall right around the corner.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. They don't just have one thing to choose from they have a variety

    Dorm Life

    It is really good I got to tour the different dorms and I love them all

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to sign up for as much scholarships because you want to start school knowing that you are going to be able to pay for everything.

    In three sentences

    So far I think that this college is very good, it has what I need and I think I am going to be able to succeed here.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security and level of student safety is high. Hawaii isn't very high in crime as it is and this college gives student, parents, and staff a sense of safety and security.

    Great for these types of students

    Environmental, agricultural, and culture oriented students and staff will find this college to be a wonderful place. Peaceful, laid back, career oriented students will find what they are looking for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hula and Hawaiian culture is a very big part or Hawaii as well as student life. These studies, hobbies, and courses aren't offered everywhere but is for sure offered at Hawaii Community College and all over Hawaii.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is super affordable especially if you qualify for financial aid. The money spent is worth it because tuition isn't outrageous prices. Education shouldn't cost you your financial life. So yes you do get a bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my husband and children and other family members. The Hawaii beach life is the best, its all about relaxation and getting some sun therapy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and dining facilities may not look 5 star but the taste of food is what matters.

    Dorm Life

    I hear that dorm life is great and comfortable. But as for myself I own my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards are high but the teachers take the time to help everyone in learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    File for financial aid as early as possible to receive as much funding as possible. Complete all your pre-acceptance and student enrollment requirements as soon as possible, procrastinating isn't a smart move. Meet all your deadlines and never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College is mostly a hands on learning facility. It is a great place to start your education with great staff and friendly student interacting. The Hawaiian culture is a great part of this school and like Hawaii the school is very multicultural.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No murders or rape's! This is a very safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure you take advantage of all the free food you can get from student activities.

    What to do for fun

    Find someone to talk story with. There is always someone to talk to there.

    Food and Dining

    Quite excellent!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, fun, different in a good way, and doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The work is doable. Just be sure to stay on top of it.

    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College is a great start to post-secondary education. The tuition is affordable and the opportunities are priceless. And I love the openness of the campus; it makes me feel free.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and it's very safe; everyone knows everyone, basically.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who wants to study in Hawaii, adventurous, loves the Hawaiian culture, and wants to make a difference in the world (to make the world more GREEN).

    What to do for fun

    Since, the College is located on one of the most beautiful places on earth with a difference geographical climate, their are many things to do; such as, surfing, bodyboarding, snorkeling, kayaking, watching the sunset, hiking, biking, hunting, etc. You name it, our island has it.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to meet with the counselors constantly.

    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College is an outstanding college. The staff are very helpful and understanding; also, the environment is full of ALOHA.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been no problems involving people when concerning campus safety, but there have been vehicular thefts of cars, trucks and bicycles happening. Not all the time, but often enough that you should be aware.

    Greek Life

    Pretty nice, keep a certain GPA and a couple will contact you - others aren't so much a fraternity/sorority as they are a kind of academic club. Good for study groups/finding out about classes, professors.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very fun - clubs of all kinds with a lot of great people (political, agricultural, musical, gamers, you name it!). Activities are often festive (from mainland festivities to Hawaii festivities), but also a lot of parties where there will be fliers and info for. The theater is nice too, there's a bunch of different types of dance and group that perform quite a bit.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get an AA degree, especially in Liberal Arts. People who don't feel that they want to pay University amount yet because they're still deciding on a major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This isn't very unusual, but on the Upper Campus (Uni. of Hilo), where some classes from HawCC take place, they have an amazing gym. There's new equipment, mirrors, two separate rooms for various exercise classes (all free - hula, aikido, PX90, etc.) and they have a fantastic pool.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount for kama'aina is very reasonable for a community college (although the books, not so much), but for incoming and nonresidential students it can be a pretty hefty amount.

    What to do for fun

    On campus activities, and usually parties or celebrations around the holidays. There's posters and things everywhere all the time for something.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, depending on which campus you like to eat at, Manono or Upper campus. Hot plates and sandwiches usually are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little dated, but are still comfortable. They monitor bad behaving students in the dorms (too loud, smokers, etc.) well so it makes for a comfortable atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the on campus courses are mostly very easy; in that while you are expected to work, as long as you try your best, you will pass your classes. For online courses, I believe can be harder because compared to on campus courses, the deadlines are online classes are strict. Participation is a necessity, and you have to remember to check in at least briefly every two days or so just in case something changed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to HawCC, I would go on ratemyprofessor.com just to be sure that the classes you want have the sort of professors teach the way you learn. If you're heading for online courses, be aware that while they are done at your leisure and you make your own schedule, that they have very strict deadlines and that participation in discussions counts for a lot.

    In three sentences

    Hawaii Community College is a great junior college to start off with. It sort of leads the way into a great start to a 4 year college, and is fantastic for a 2 year degree program. HawCC has professors that want you to succeed and will help you anyway they can, and the online classes really make this a nice school.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is excellent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alpha Epsilon Chapter, Student club

    Bang for the buck

    little expensive for international student

    What to do for fun

    Play with friends, and participate in different college activities.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is good.

    Dorm Life

    Good.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Nice schools, All of you should join.

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty good school. Instructors are nice and helpful. I am happy being enrolled in this school.

  • 10/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hawaiian Language/Studies Major Students who just want to learn about Hawaii/Hawaiian Chill, Laid Back type that does their homework when it needs to be done

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the small, laid back college/school scene Hawaii Community College is a great place. You get to meet and get to know so much other people. Unlike big universities you only know a portion of the faculty and students, but here at Hawaii Community College, you can pretty much get to know everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Hawaii Community College is cheap compared to other schools. For me it's very affordable. I would rather come to Hawaii Community College than any other college because of the cost of tuition. Tuition here is very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and students make things feel like you're at home, like you can just be you. I feel like I know more people here then at University of Hawaii at Hilo because the classes and campus are small enough to where I can get to more people and friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Hawaii Community College is a great college. I have only attended for one semester, but from the time I started school to now, I feel like I have learned so much, especially about Native Hawaiians, Hawai`i island itself, and the state overall. I have also learned so much about myself through learning about Hawai`i

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    come one, come all.......Great environment!!

    Tips for prospective students

    We work hard and we Play hard....Lots of community Service projects