Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Heartland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/29/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    going to a community college is basically a no-brainer. it's really cheap compare to any other college, and you get the same education for a fraction of the cost.

    What to do for fun

    there is a game room for students to use in their free time. it's locate by the library and any heartland student can use it. there's video games, a pool table, and some pc's students can use. they have an xbone, ps4, and wii you can use if you're into console gaming, and you can check our various games to play.

    Food and Dining

    i normally just bring my own lunch since i live on campus. there's some restaurants kind of close by, including subway, dunkin donuts, starbucks, mcdonald's, and stake n' shake.

    Dorm Life

    i'm living at home, rent-free.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors don't always care about you as a student, because students come and go so often, but they are generally very helpful and want to you succeed at their subject. most professions will help you if you need it, just ask for it. all of my professions where pretty decent at teaching, and knew what they were talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for the hcc foundation scholarship early, and then call to make sure they have everything they need. if you're planning to take physics classes, make sure you set aside time to do the online homework, it will take a few hours. it's better to start like half of it a few days early, and ask questions if needed, then try to do the rest of it before it is due. staying up late, while being stressed out to get your physics homework done, on the night before a chemistry exam is not fun.

    In three sentences

    heartland community college is a great school for people on a budget. i'm on the engineering track at heartland. all of my stem-related professors have been very knowledgeable in their subject fields, and all of the gen-ed teachers i've had are great as well.

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard of any problems.

    Great for these types of students

    It's Illinois, so if you are overly obsessed with corn, go here.

    Bang for the buck

    The most I've paid is ~1800$ for an alright school.

    What to do for fun

    There... There's a gym.

    Food and Dining

    Rather good food, but a tad overpriced.

    Academic Rigor

    A few professors actually challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get what you pay for, remember that in light of what I said in the three sentences section.

    In three sentences

    The facilities are clean and well built, the food is alright, but there have been budget cuts. The lot is a mess and the teachers are quacks. But not all of them, there are several good professors.

  • 05/26/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are friendly and helpful campus officers who are willing to answer any questions you may have about the campus or security.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at Heartland.

    Clubs and Activities

    Varied clubs and many opportunities for leadership. Get as involved as you can!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to college, but can't afford expensive tuition, or students who just need a few credits before transferring to a four year university will really thrive here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, the campus holds an event called Spring Fest, in which there's free food and many clubs/organizations set up tables around campus to showcase the different clubs on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Heartland's low tuition and engaged professors really make this investment worthwhile. The faculty at Heartland really want to see you succeed, so if you're having trouble, go talk to someone who can help!

    What to do for fun

    Heartland has many clubs and organizations on campus you can join! On the school website, there is a list of all the clubs on campus and more information on what the clubs are and who to contact. If there's not more information, or it seems outdated, I'd go to the Student Engagement office to ask more about a particular club you're interested in!

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive, but good. There are vending machines strategically located around campus and the prices on those are good, but make sure you have cash.

    Dorm Life

    Heartland doesn't have dorms, so there isn't much to review here.

    Academic Rigor

    Heartland has many classes that have personally challenged me, but there have been a few that haven't - but have challenged others. There is no universal hard/easy scale to measure classes, but my advice to students is that no matter how hard or easy the class is to try your very best to succeed in it.

    Tips for prospective students

    As it often is for many things: the more you put into your time at Heartland, the more you will get out of it. Try your best to succeed and ask questions if you have any. Make sure to visit the tutoring center if you need help and don't be afraid to talk to your professors!

    In three sentences

    Heartland is an amazing place to learn and grow as a student. Because it's a community college, tuition isn't costly, but they still provide a great education for students. There are many opportunities to join clubs, go on trips, and become a better leader here at Heartland!

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Heartland Community College is one of the best community colleges in this area; especially for it's nursing program! The staff is considerate and attentive and with the small class size it helps insure success! I would recommend this college to any one!

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and secure with security on campus 24/7 and text alerts anytime send directly to your phone so you are always aware.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a part of the Building Leaders for Tomorrow club and the Business Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting to get a decent education and trying to figure out what the next step is with their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a great deal for the price of your education.

    What to do for fun

    I am a part of the Building Leaders for Tomorrow club on campus and plan events to build up the leadership on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great and very functional and open for lots of students and for student meetings.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great; Heartland gives you a lot of knowledge for cheaper price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to ask questions and don't be afraid to take a chance with your learning. You may take a intro class just to find out whether or not it is the right fit for you or not.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere of Heartland is great I feel like I can connect well with my teachers. The faculty and staff are very approachable if you need help with anything. The classes are smaller for a more intimate learning feel.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a lot of safety features in place to help you feel safe on campus.

    Food and Dining

    They so have a cafeteria on campus. I have not eaten there though so I do not know if the food is any good. They also have several fast food places within walking distance from campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own home so I don't have to worry about this but they do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are financially able to pay for your schooling because even when they tell you what you will receive from financial assistance that is not always the case.

    In three sentences

    The classes offered are varied. Some online classes are well organized others are very unorganized and some in class room classes are enjoyable. However the school does discriminate against people who are estranged from family and friends when it comes to offering financial assistance, as I happen to be.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe at all time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tones of clubs that you can join there is also a lot of different things that you can do.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go and have some fun at the game room. there are also some times that their are food festivals at the quad.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really good. The teacher will help you when you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to join this school you will really save some money.

    In three sentences

    It is a really good place to start college at.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think HCC is great for students from the area who aren't quite sure where they're headed yet or are paying for college themselves.

    Food and Dining

    BloNo is mostly chain restaurants (& not very good ones)

    In three sentences

    I LOVE the HCC campus. It's new, it's fresh, and it's exciting! For a community college, Heartland definitely has a lot to offer!

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a good school for all kinds of students; both young and old.

    Bang for the buck

    It certainly is a great savings compared to 4yr colleges. Many of the instructors who teach at Heartland also teach at Illinois State. Still I know there are other community colleges out there that charge a bit less for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the student activities. They change monthly. There's also a computer gaming room and fitness center.

    Food and Dining

    There's only 1 place to get food and it's pricy and not very good.

    Dorm Life

    Heartland doesn't have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The school is just as difficult as any college level program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early. Make sure your financial aid is in place. Meet with the guidance counselor and take their suggestions about classes and work load; especially if you're an older student returning to school. They know what the classes are all about and want to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Heartland meets students on a personal level. They have a good variety of online classes. The teachers care about your success.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that go on around the campus. There are a ton of clubs to join to get to know more people.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has pretty good food choices. The prices are fairly cheap.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms for Heartland. There are apartments that are near the campus though.

    Academic Rigor

    Heartland is pretty easy for a college. Study for tests and complete all assigned homework. Take your classes seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on the course that you take. Join clubs to get to know more people. Engage yourself in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Hearltland Community College is a great school to start off at. There are many transfer opportunities that come from attending Heartland. It is also cheaper than most other community colleges.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The people with the lower end of smartness.

    What to do for fun

    Heartland offers activities every day it seems. From movies to baseball.

    Food and Dining

    They have a caf�©, pricey, but they have a little of everything.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class, but rigor is in higher level classes the most.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would really encourage all students to go here first, it saves lts of money.

    In three sentences

    Heartland has a very clean campus. The teachers are very nice and helpful. Its also close to my house, which is a plus.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorm offerings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, get to know your teachers

    In three sentences

    Heartland gives students many opportunities to expand their interests. They offer classes which are interesting.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    its too expensive

    Dorm Life

    there is none.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships and save some money your first few years of college.

    In three sentences

    Small Class sizes and teachers who are there because they care make it a great learning environment. a great place to start your college career but it is a community college so you get all kinds of people in your community.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards all around campus driving around to ensure the safety of every student. Heartland is a very secure campus.

    Greek Life

    I haven't done much looking or researching on this topic at Heartland.

    Clubs and Activities

    I get weekly emails from Student Engagement at Heartland informing me of all the events, clubs, and activities that are happening at Heartland. Heartland always has great activities planned for students and the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Heartland is great for the type of students that want to get their associate degree. Heartland is also good for students that want to earn certain certificates because they have good programs for those.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Heartland recently just put up a wind turbine. It's huge and really cool to look at because it's right on campus. This wind turbine generates about half of Heartlands energy use. It's very beneficial and environment friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing I can say about Heartland is that it is VERY affordable. There are many classes that are offered at Heartland for half the price that they offer them at most universities. Many classes at Heartland are the same classes that are being taught at major universities, so the education is great for the little amount that is being paid.

    What to do for fun

    Heartland has many activities that go on throughout the week. If you ever find yourself getting bored all you have to do is check your email and there will be an email from Student Engagements telling you about what's going on at Heartland that week.

    Food and Dining

    I was very happy to see that Heartland has a very nice cafeteria. They have salads, sandwiches, burgers, french fries, and much more. They have miscellaneous things too like chips and fruit. The food at Heartland is awesome and well worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    Since Heartland is a community college, there are no dorms per say. But Heartland does have two apartment complexes across from campus that are dedicated for Heartland students. They are called Heartland Village and The Point. I have heard great things about these apartment complexes.

    Academic Rigor

    Heartland is a very good school curriculum wise. Classes are small so you are able to have one on one time with the teachers very easily. The curriculum is very fair and understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about going to Heartland, I would recommend that you take classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays because its easier to not have to drive to school every day. Also, I would recommend that you take 5 classes per semester so you don't get behind on credits.

    In three sentences

    Heartland is a great college. I have really enjoyed my time at Heartland and I am very glad that I chose to go to Heartland. It is very cheap and affordable.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the middle of a cornfield with 24/7 security.

    Bang for the buck

    Heartland is a great way to go for launching your education.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is small but not inadequate. Food is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Heartland does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Heartland offers a few advanced classes, but it is a junior college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save yourself some money and study for the placement exams.

    In three sentences

    Heartland is a good community college, offering many opportunities to those that are motivated. Many at Heartland do not seem very motivated.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's tons to do around town. ISU has football and basketball games, the Cornbelters have baseball, and the PEPSI ice center has hockey, as well as several movie theatres, malls, tons of restaurants, paintball, parks, and lots more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take your education seriously. Talk with your professors, schedule meetings, get to know people. These are the keys to getting the most out of your time at Heartland. The counselors are great, and even the Deans will take time to talk to you if you need it. Good luck.

    In three sentences

    Heartland Community College is AWESOME! Small class sizes, dedicated staff, and great students who care about their education. There's also student activities, tutoring, and a great library staff for all your needs.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a good security team on campus with cameras everywhere. There is also several alarms in the parking lots for emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is Student Government, PRIDE, FUEL, as well as other clubs.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room, a concert weekly in the cafe, monthly bingo (for great prizes) and other special events.

    Food and Dining

    Heartland has a cafe with pretty good food there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Heartland but there are apartments for students nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but can be successful if you go to class and ask for help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all of the many resources the school has to offer to make your learning process better.

    In three sentences

    I think Heartland is a great Community College. The instructors are great and there are a good tutoring services available. There are also a lot of fun student activities.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY safe. Security officers are very visible and the campus is non-threatening.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Heartland offers a very wide variety of clubs and organizations and community activities!

    Great for these types of students

    ALL students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a windmill to power the campus!!

    Bang for the buck

    A great buy!! The entire two years will cost less than one semester at a four-year school.

    What to do for fun

    Run, read, and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the cafeteria...I just eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.....I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Tougher than high school, but not too difficult. Small class sizes and instructors are accessible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities to broaden your knowledge of the campus and connect with other students.

    In three sentences

    An affordable way to get a 2-year degree. Great facilities to attend classes. Pretty good instructors.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and go to sporting events. The softball and baseball teams are extremely good!

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at the dining area this semester...

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus being a community college, but there are plenty of apartments in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've taken have been challenging but not to the extent of feeling like a fish out of water.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and go to class! Your professors will enjoy having you in their class if you work hard and it will pay off in the end when you get better grades!

    In three sentences

    The professors really want to make a relationship with their students and are extremely helpful. There is a wide range of activities and clubs to get involved with. All the staff members want to help you succeed.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have wonderful safety patrol system in order at heartland community college. you can request the safety guards to walk you to your car at night if you feel at all uncomfortable. they have parking lot on call stations for assistance too.

    Bang for the buck

    heartland offers a lot of scholarships. i personally got all my tuition payed for through scholarships. the full tuition bill is still fantastic compared to going to a university for your first two years. great academic quality for the amount of money you pay!

    What to do for fun

    heartland has a few clubs. they are always looking for people to start up a new on and such. other then clubs they have a great new fitness/recreational center. you could also go view a soccer or softball/baseball match.

    Food and Dining

    heartland has a cafeteria and nice seating area for lunch or dinner. i personally bring my lunch and find a nice, quiet spot around campus to sit.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms to live in at heartland but there are apartment buildings within reasonable walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    i came out of high school as a b average student and i found heartland to match the academic standard fit for me. there are the occasional classes that are beyond easy and would only let a fool fail. they have a great tutoring center that is free. i couldn't have been more happy about that. i would take up on that offer for papers or anything you need help in. no judgement and it is a solid tool to rely on to help in your classes.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since I began attending Heartland Community College, there have been no major reports of theft, assault, or other criminal behavior. Security personnel can always be found with ease and will address problems in a timely and satisfactory manner. I feel as safe on campus as I do at home--if not safer.

    Clubs and Activities

    The variety of clubs are certainly diverse, but many share one fatal flaw: an inability to put themselves out there and make themselves well-known. While this is likely a side effect due to the brevity of some aspects of student attendance (due to achieving their Associate's Degrees, transferring out, or dropping out), this is certainly not the rule for them all. An example of an outstanding club would likely be the Heartland Game Club, a club dedicated to various aspects of gaming culture which is easily the most widely known group on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Heartland Community is great for the following types of students: those intending to transfer, those figuring out their major, and those getting back into education after a long period of time. For people who are transferring out or deciding upon their majors, Heartland is a cost-effective way to get a feel for what you need and want to complete your intended major. For those who are attending school after a long absence, Heartland has a number of student services who are available constantly to offer suggestions for courses or set up study groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A notable feature of the campus are its skybridges, which link buildings together to help alleviate student traffic and keep students out of bad weather. Not all of the buildings have been linked yet, but further construction is being currently discussed. Another area of note would be the Childcare Center, where parents who are currently attending the college can leave their children in capable hands while they attend classes.

    Bang for the buck

    These classes are an absolute steal compared to traditional universities. A standard twelve-hour course load will probably run you about $1200 not including textbooks (which are available from the campus bookstore for a reasonable price) and it's certainly much less of a burden one would expect from college costs. The education quality isn't diminished by the relatively low cost and you get a gorgeous, highly functional campus to boot.

    What to do for fun

    As previously stated, tons of clubs can be joined and there's always one event or another that's going on. There is also a recreational room known as the Hawk's Nest which boasts modern generation gaming systems, computers for leisurely surfing, pool, and air hockey at no charge to students of the college. Alternatively, there are multiple student lounges set up across the campus for an area to socialize with friends or to while away an hour or two between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Spacious cafeteria that's open almost all day with a variety of food choices, including vegetarian/vegan options. The food quality is acceptable, but a tad on the expensive side. It can also serve as an entertainment hub as live performers will sometimes come to play in the cafe at no cost to the diners.

    Dorm Life

    Commentary cannot be applied as it is not something that exists.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman college student, I find that the challenges presented by Heartland are reasonable. It's neither overwhelming nor a complete cakewalk. Considering that I intend on transferring out, I think it's a nice in-between step.

    Tips for prospective students

    Asking questions will get you far and there's always someone who will have an answer for you. Utilize your student ID to the best of your ability; it'll get you perks both on and off campus. Lastly, there are a number of student clubs available to join for any number of activities you can think of and joining one can help you make new social links.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with friendly students and faculty. The facilities are great and all worth using at least once. This is what community colleges should be like.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When mapping out your 2 year plan, make sure your adviser tells you if a class is only being offered on particular semesters. I am one class shy of graduating because the last class I need to take isn't being offered spr. semester. It wasn't posted as a fall only class. HUGE problem! Now I'm ready to transfer fall of 2012, but I'm missing the last class to complete my associates degree.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the price!

    Am enjoying being here

    Small class sizes, teachers care, opportunities for study groups

    Am learning a lot

    It's a great school. Affordable quality education.

  • 08/21/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANY! It's amazing to get your general education requirements out of the way. If you already know what you want to do if and when you decide to move on, that's even better!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend going to Heartland! Don't be afraid to approach your teachers as they are there to help YOU! It took me a long time to figure that out.

    Bang for the buck

    Heartland is extremely low in regards to cost compared to a 4 year school that's for sure! However, This does not lessen its value as an academic institution. Some of Heartland's teacher are employed by ISU as well so I consider it to be a really good deal! It's kind of like going to a 4 year school and getting the education you would there but for way less money and in most cases, a smaller environment.

    Did enjoy being here

    I really enjoyed my time at Heartland. I loved the feel that I felt when walking around campus. It has helped me tremendously in my academic life as well as my personal life. I know what I want to major in. It took me awhile but I'm glad that the teachers made each class inviting and fun. This helped me with my decision. The teachers are very kind and caring. The small class sizes made it really easy to approach my teachers if ever I needed help with anything. They were extremely accommodating to my needs and I felt they didn't just care about me as a student, but as a person as well! Most, if not all of my credits transferred to my 4 year school. (60ish). They are really good at transferring credits if you decide to go on to further your academic career!

    Did learn a lot

    Heartland helped me figure out what I wanted to major in. Some of the teachers are also employed at ISU so you know they are knowledgeable. Even the ones that aren't are really, really good at what they do. Each class I had turned out to be fun and a joy to go to while still learning things in the process!

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think this college is great for any type of students. It's an easier transition from high school to college, it's a lot cheaper, and it gives a student the same great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to relax. College may be overwhelming at first. This is because the teachers at the beginning list the things that will get done in that class. Something to remember is that all those things is going to get done in 16 weeks not 4.

    Bang for the buck

    The college gives a student the education he or she needs in order to go further in his or her education or to just further it from an high school education. This is also a great choice because it saves a college student so much money and they get the same education students at Universities get.

    Am enjoying being here

    Heartland has a very nice setting. There isn't too much going on, the classes are generally in one area so it means less walking and easier to get from class to class. People are very nice, both students and teachers.

    Am learning a lot

    I am able to get my general education classes taking care of and I learn a lot in each class. The classes are not huge which means that the professor is able to spend more time to get to know each student and they are able to help him or her more easily.