Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hope International University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/13/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want a close knit, Christian community. It is great for locals who are afraid to go out on their own or to leave their family so soon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! It is a very nice campus and the people are so friendly. When I visited, I felt at home and made new friends already. I visited their library, took a tour, saw the dorm rooms(decorated), and sat in on classes. Great experience!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so it will cost more. It is about twice as much as a Cal State, but FAFSA and scholarships are great!

    Will enjoy being here

    I love a small campus, and it is right around the corner from Pinkberry, Chipotle, Yogurtland, and so much more. A downfall, though, could be the hype across the street at CSUF or the fact that it is an extremely tiny campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I had the ability to sit in on quite a few classes and from Music Theory to John and the Apostles and I had already learned a lot. The teacher to student ratio is small, so you can from close relationships with teachers.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants to take Bible classes and challenge your thinking. Someone who wants to be in a smaller community. If you want to go to a huge school, then this might not be the fit for you, but I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus if at all possible, you will be able to get involved better if you do. And we are just 15 minutes from Disneyland, so there are lots of fun Disneyland trips with friends if you get a pass. Get to know your professors, they are super cool and want to make sure you do well.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private university, so it is more expensive than a state school would be, but as far as private institutions go, this is actually a really good price. The counselors in financial aid and student accounts are willing to work with you to make it as financially feasible as possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this community. Everyone is laid back and fun. Because it is small, it is a very tight-knit community and you can really get to know the other students. Living on campus is so worth it as well. You get a much more complete college experience and become much more a part of the community by living on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are amazing. It is a small school so you actually get to know your professors. They will work with you if you are struggling. They challenge your thinking and try to get you to think critically, not just accept everything you are told. The professors also have tons of life experience that you can learn from as well.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    because the campus is so small, safety issues are very rare. walking around on campus at night is very safe, and you can always call a campus security guard if you need anything.

    Great for these types of students

    hope is a great place for any type of student. being a non denominational christian school, you will meet very friendly people who you can relate to in almost any way. there are plenty of non christian students at hope but they also fit in very well because our student body is so diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year we have an event called gyrad (get your roommate a date) where everyone finds there roommate someone to go to the activity with by scheming with that person's roommate. no one finds out who they're going with until a week before the event when a list is posted in the student center.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of fun things to do on and around campus. there is a student activities room filled with board games, a tv, a ping pong table and a foosball table. we also have a movie lounge with a projector screen and the comfiest couches you will ever sit on. around campus is the brea mall, a movie theater, restaurants, fast food, and a ton of shops in downtown fullerton all within 15 minutes of campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food at hope is definitely not the greatest food you will ever eat, but it has its high points. the rotisserie chicken is always pretty good, as well as the grill where you can get a burger, patty melt, turkey or veggie burgers, etc. the cafeteria is also one of the places people go to hang out with friends and maybe just grab an ice cream cone. you can also stop at the hub to get a snack or something to drink before class or just to hang around and talk to people.

    Dorm Life

    it's very easy to make friends in the dorms because everyone is always hanging out in the lobby or outside. there will even be the occasional nerf gun fight in the dorms so be prepared!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes at hope can be very challenging, but the professors are very helpful and patient if a student has any questions. the library also offers tutoring to anyone who needs it.

    Tips for prospective students

    i highly recommend applying to and attending hope international because it was one of the best decisions i've ever made and it can be the same for anyone else. even if you are not from a christian upbringing, the christian perspective that is taught in every class at hope will definitely make you think and may even lead you to become a christian yourself.

    In three sentences

    hope international university is one of the greatest places to make new friends while going to college. everyone knows everyone and the faculty and staff are so friendly. hope has some of the greatest student activities as well such as humans vs zombies, clash 'n bowl, and a halloween carnival every year.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. I never worry about my surroundings being unsafe. The Campus Safety team has always been extremely nice to me!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always an activity going on at Hope. We have one of the best Student Activities programs. There are teams for Social Justice, Dance Committees, International Student Clubs, you name it!

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, the classes I've taken at Hope have been worth the amount of money. Thankfully, there are ways to get financial aid that lessen the burden a bit. I'd say it is worth it (but also still worth searching for scholarships)

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do around Hope. Disneyland is about 15 minutes away and Downtown Fullerton has many cool shops and concert venues to hang out with friends. On campus, there is a gym where people can work out and the library is surprisingly fun when you have a big study group!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Hope has been great! I had the most delicious tacos in the caf one time!

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not live in the dorms, but everything I have heard about them has been above average. Hope is a school that emphasizes community. From what I know, the dorms are where people get to know eachother and become great friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been to three schools and the professors here have challenged me more than any other school. I have to really search for answers and try hard in my academics. It's hard work but a worthwile education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to seek out financial aid if you are in need. Hope has excellent professors, for Bible classes especially. I would hate for a student to desire their education here and turn it down because they didn't realize how much aid was available to them. The financial aid and student accounts staff are AMAZING!

    In three sentences

    Hope is a school where community is important. Professors, staff, and faculty genuinely care about your academics as well as your general well-being. My experience at Hope has been challenging, exciting, and a real blessing.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HIU makes everyone feel safe. The campus securities circle the school during all hours of the day.

    Greek Life

    HIU does note offer sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many ways to get involved with school spirit or even the community. HIU does participate in Missions trip to help those in need as well as spreading the word of the Lord to those who do not know it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Fever is an event that is some time before finals creep up during the Spring semester every year. It is an event the school puts on to show the students they are truly appreciated. It is a great way to relax and get away from all the stress finals bring.

    Bang for the buck

    One will pay quite a bit to attend HIU but the attention one gets is amazing. The professors know how to make a student feel involved and cared for.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is about 3 a half hour away. There are nearby parks to go and have a picnic at. Attending sporting events to support fellow classmates and raise school spirit is always a great option. There are also many places to eat and just hang out near the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food could definitely be better but it is decent. Something different every day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty great, but the rebuilding are in need of remodeling. The school has started to fix up the dorms and College Town will open soon enough so that HIU students can enjoy that as well.

    Academic Rigor

    HIU does not have the greatest number of Academic Major programs to choose from, but they do offer a contrat program with California State University, Fullerton for those students who wish to attend HIU and Major in a field of study that HIU may not offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come eager to learn and meet new people because the HIU community is very accepting.

    In three sentences

    If I could make my decision all over again, I would choose HIU all over again because it is an amazing school. The professors are great and always willing to go out of his or her way to help someone in need. The area is nice and the people are very welcoming.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Disneyland is close by, along with tons of eating places and Brea has a lot to offer also. Cal Sate Fullerton is right across the street and Hope's students often go there to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Good school, but the food is nothing extraordinary.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is not a big school, dorming students tend to end up like family. A little pricey, but worth the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the Professors provide a lot of help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a Private Christian School. If you want to attend a big school, this probably is not the place for you.

    In three sentences

    If you want an intimate setting this is the school for you. The Professors truly have a heart for what they do and love building relationship. Another important fact about this school is that it is very community based.

  • 03/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want to be at a small tight knit school, where you know you can rely on anyone there. and also for the who love to be surrounded spiritually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit walk around and meet people and talk to students and administrators.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricey but scholarships, and grants help and Hope is there every step of the way to help you with financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes everything about Hope is so welcoming, when I was there I felt like a student. Everyone is very nice and friendly and the atmosphere is amazing, its a great spiritual experience, and everyone gets along there.

    Will learn a lot

    When i was there for a tour I had already learned a lot by just sitting in on a few classes. The professors are very nice and very interactive and know there students names. The student to professor ratio is low so class sizes are nice and small.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and other costs is a little pricey, but not too much, and you can get a lot of help with scholarships and other things that Hope provides so that if you have all the credentials, they'll make sure you can go.

    Will enjoy being here

    The environment of Hope is so amazing! All the people there are so nice and inviting, the weather is great, and since the campus is not that big, you'll have to opportunity to get to know everyone.

    Will learn a lot

    When I visited down there I was able to attend several classes and all the professors so far are great!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play ultimate, flag football tournaments, Bible studies, pick-up basketball, watch a sports' game, go to an event, dodgeball, lasertag, swim in the pool, play humans vs zombies, and more

    Food and Dining

    We may have one of the cheapest unlimited meal plans, but it is the only meal plan. This is the greatest fault of HIU. They do not offer any cheaper meal plans which is to the detriment of the student. Many times, the meals do not feel justified by their price.

    Dorm Life

    I may be a bit biased, but the dorm life is a high priority for the Residence Life department and their RAs. Dorm rules are easy to abide by and are not too invasive. In order to get the greatest benefit out of dorm life, get to know your RA and come out to their events.

    Academic Rigor

    Education comes easily for me, but some students have trouble maintaining right academic standing. As long as you are able to apply yourself and do your homework, good grades are ensured.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to experience new things. Get to know your RA There is a place for everyone

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed my time at HIU. The sense of community this school provides is unparalleled in my experience. Each year there are tangible improvements to the student's lives.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very tight knit and has everything very close together. There is security/campus police and has a very safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have dance classes, ASB, sports teams, and various clubs to join. In the theater they put on performances, dances, plays, etc for the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone there is a believer in God and is very nice. Everyone strives to help out each other any way they can.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You are required to attend Chapel once every week and it is like Church. It is just to build your relationship with God and get closer to him.

    Bang for the buck

    HIU is extremely expensive because it is a private school. You are paying too much for what you get out of it in my opinion but that could be because I am not financially wealthy. The cost per year including everything is about 36,000.

    What to do for fun

    Hope International University is located in Fullerton, CA, which is Southern California, so there is plenty to do there. You can go to the mall, beach, Los Angeles, restaurants. and enjoy the weather doing numerous outdoor activities. I play basketball and go to the beach with my friends for fun.

    Food and Dining

    If you choose to live on campus, which most people do and are almost required to, you will have an unlimited amount of food you can eat in the cafeteria. The Food is like a home cooked meal everyday and they serve breakfast 24/7. Also, the food is always hot and fresh.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly small unfortunately. The rooms are about the size of a typical living room with 4 beds placed inside. For extra money there are two beds in a room and even a room to yourself but that is pretty expensive. The plus side to the dorms is that there is always a staff member there to help you out at all times, she is like your Mom away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, HIU is a school where you have access to a lot of tutors and teachers. Though the material may be a bit challenging, you have a huge support system. Unfortunately the classes you need will not all be covered at HIU, so you would have to take some of your major classes at Cal State Fullerton University across the street.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending HIU then prepare to grow as a person. Also, make sure you apply for financial help through the school because they have a lot of scholarships available. Be ready for small class sizes,and a lot of one on one attention because there are around 10 people per class room.

    In three sentences

    Hope International University is a very religious school. They value education as well as spiritual and individual growth. It's a small private school so everyone seems like one family.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't live or visit campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Love the discussions and the involvement level of the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in for a visit. The staff is really welcoming. Consider their online program if you are older and want to return to school.

    In three sentences

    HIU is extremely flexible. I am constantly impressed with how the staff is always available to answer questions and give encouragement. HIU fits my busy schedule and I feel like they really care.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, shopping, the beach, biking,

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded.

    In three sentences

    HIU has a loving staff. HIU care about their students and want them to achieve. HIU encourage and challenge their students.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fullerton is a very safe city in general. Between our campus security and the Fullerton police department down the street our city doesn't see much crime. But then again, nobody's perfect.

    Greek Life

    Hope doesn't have any Fraternities nor Sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for religious, athletic, social, artistic, anything music related, business, teachers, psychologist and political science students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester during finals, the teachers would go into the cafeteria and serve us breakfast betwen 11-12:30 am.

    What to do for fun

    With a very productive student activities department and all the emenities of Cal State Fullerton there is never a dull moment on camous or in the city of Fullerton. The Angels Stadium is just one city over along with Disneyland, the Nokia theater and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria has made a big improvement from last year as it changed from over the years. The food is continuing to get better and our meal plan is unlimited so you can go and snack on food anytime through out the day.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms have just been refurbished with flat screen TVs and great lounging space. The rooms are somewhat spacious but can get somewhat cramped with more than 3 people to a room. The dorm environment is quite nice because there is no curfew and our dorms are located next to a lot of off-campus apartments illustrating a true college town feel. The dorms are also pretty close to the main buildings, so you could get from class, to the cafeteria, back to your room in a matter of 10minutes.

    Academic Rigor

    Our school strives for great academics and really rewards and encourages the people that work hard. We also offer free tutoring and student professor counseling to ensure all bad grades are brought up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students, please be ready to engage in friendships and receive love and guidance. Another tip is to make sure you engage in campus activities. Cal State Fullerton offers a contract program with Hope that allows you to pursue just about any degree you could imagine.

    In three sentences

    Hope International University is the clear definition for the term community. Small classrooms provide the best opportunity for student-teacher interpersonal relationships along with a bond between your peers. God is truly at work on this campus and dwells within the people who attend this university.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Education is expensive but I would say that Hope is an extremely high quality education so well worth the investment.

    What to do for fun

    Finish my masters degree so I can find a better job.

    Food and Dining

    I go online so the food is whatever I make at home.

    Dorm Life

    I go online so do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are rigorous but the professors are great so it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students would be just to go for it. Going to school is a big step and a lot of work but one that you will never regret.

    In three sentences

    Hope International University is a great school. The online learning offers students flexibility to learn while working at the same time. The professors really care about each and every student.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus safety 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    Experience the worship, sport and gain knowlege.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining were excellent, five stars.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life was excellent, everyone seemed to enjoy there stay.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be able to learn from various instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and be yourself and experience HIU.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed my attendance at the Fall Preview Day. Everyone at the University were very kind, helpful and informative during my visit. I would give them a 5 star status. Hope International University would complement my present undergraduate in Theology Biblical Studies as a Christian experience by providing me with the educational degree I need to meet my current goals. Currently I a�m a Pastor without a degree but with many certificates. Many areas of my Pastoralship suffered because I lacked in educating myself to gain the knowledge of effectiveness in current theological dissertations. Attending Hope International University will bridge the gap of denying me of learning everything that would enhance my abilities to be the best Pastor in my denomination. Needless to say if I would have had theological training to enrich my prior studies there is a possibility, I would have a better understanding of God has views for my church. My sincere desire is to fulfill the appetite I have in grasping God���¢��������s word and being able to take the application back to my members and then to the nations. I am confident the my studies here at Hope International University will help me accomplish the tasks at hand for myself and other pastors and colleagues of the various churches and communities that involve spreading the good news of Jesus Christ to the world.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    no soroities

    Clubs and Activities

    The formal is the best dance. Almost always there is something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Christains who want to learn about serving the Lord or want a biblical background in their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombies vs. Humans. :) awesome weeklong game. Bring a lot of extra socks.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is awesome. The only downside is the price, but if you can manage that, then it is worth it. The price per unit after passing the maximum amount you can take is 920$. That made me mad because if you're planning on being a contract major, you probably need those extra units. I'm going to get extra credits at summerschool at a csu to keep on track for my premed major.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of oppertunity for volunteer work, intermurals and spoting games are also fun. Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and Universal Studios are not very far. There is a mall down State College blv in Brea that a lot of people go to.

    Food and Dining

    You have to get a meal plan if you live on campus, the food is great at first and when there is a special event, but other than that, its not very great. They focus too much on incorporated each culture and on presentation than on the taste. Dont eat the mexican food if pioneer is still the caterer-or the curry.

    Dorm Life

    Live on campus. The first semester, you might not get along 100% with your roommates, but if its a big issue, you can esily be moved and youll meet friends for life that you can live with the next semester and for the remainder of your time there. Only part I dont like is quiet hours. The opposite sex has to be out of the rooms at 10 pm and no one is allowed in the lobbies.

    Academic Rigor

    Im only a freshman, but its really not hard at all. The professors are understanding and will help you the whole way through everything. The hardest classes are the bible classes and the contract classes at CSUF.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus. Its so much easier and so much funner. :)

    In three sentences

    The community environment was the selling point for me. Its a tiny school, so everyone knows each other as well as gets to know the professors on a personal level. Hope is a school where God truly is the number one priority and your relationship with Him will be challenged, but it will grow.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Returning adults; moms, full-time employees, people whose jobs require travel.

    Bang for the buck

    The cross-cultural focus of all classes makes Hope and excellent choice for people working in fields where understanding other cultures is a must.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I read, attend local music and art festivals, and paint.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student, so I am unfamiliar with the food and dinning.

    Dorm Life

    I'm an online student, so I am unfamiliar with campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    I've been extremely impressed by the level of education that I am receiving through Hope International. It is challenging, and as a returning student, I appreciate the education and the learning process.

    Tips for prospective students

    The curriculum is challenging; make sure you make space in your schedule, and be sure to keep your education as a top priority!

    In three sentences

    As an adult learner, Hope International has made it simple for me to return to college and earn a degree. They keep me on track to complete my degree on time and at a reasonable price. Since all classes are online, the program is perfect for me as a working mother!

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Me and my roommate are pretty cool to each other, never have problem.

    Academic Rigor

    I would giving HIU five stars, because I feel warm there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not understand something in the class, make sure you go to see a tutor, is all free, and they always giving you tips on how to pass that class.

    In three sentences

    I think that HIU is a very nice college. Every one in there is so nice and treat others like family. If I want to gave a grade to HIU, it will be an A.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is on watch 24/7 at HIU. Security is patrolling the campus parking lot, main building and either ends of the campus. The security office is at the front of the school's visitor parking lot which is located next to the dorms.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for strong friendships and who are looking to grow in their education and their faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Almost everyone in the school plays ping-pong in their spare time. Everyone has a paddle and a set of ping-pong balls within their dorm room and they use the table in the activities center.

    What to do for fun

    The activities center offers a billiards table, a ping-pong table, and a TV/video-game room. Student activities will offer different activities each day. Also, every semester, there is a week-long game of zombie-tag that takes place. The school does a lot of work within the community which means that there are different programs that are available for sign-up.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus. The Royal Hub is a kiosk offering Starbucks, sandwiches, snacks, and a variety of combo plates. The cafe offers different dishes for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. There are four stations including a basic lunch, Stir-Fry, Sandwiches, or combo plates.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have seen better days; however, the Googie architecture of the buildings make them unique. The room advisers will plan events for almost everyday of the week. The old saying, Love thy neighbor, is used in a strong manner within the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors want the student to succeed. They will make time to help the student if they are having trouble on a certain subject being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every class that you take will manage to incorporate your faith in one way or another. The Chapel program offers amazing guest speakers who motivate the students to grow in their faith. Attend every event you can for the first week of school.

    In three sentences

    A small school with a huge amount of opportunities for students. The faculty is always helpful and will work on the students time whenever they can. The students are loving towards one another and everyone manages to create a second-family atmosphere.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good. You can feel safe. There are security guards constantly on guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities on campus. The ASB is very good about getting the students interacting with each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year our school host this Humans vs. Zombies game which lasts about a few days to a week. Almost the entire school participates and it is a way to get the students more involved.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus as well as off campus. We are conveniently located close to both the beach and Disneyland/Downtown Disney. There is also local shopping malls and fast food places.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a variety of different foods offered. They also have salad bars and dessert bars. In addition to the cafeteria, there is also The Hub (a snack shop) that also sells sandwiches and other snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but my best friend does dorm here on campus. She has no complains about it. It is a different setting than most are used to but it also allows for more personal relationships to start. She has met a lot of people just by dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors here do expect you to do your best but they are also understanding. I do not feel that they are unfair. Your grades should reflect your effort in studying, reading, or doing homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are very much into the small-knit community style you should really consider Hope. This is truly a campus filled with loving people. I am a commuter but I still feel a part of the school.

    In three sentences

    I completely love Hope for the variety of ethnic, religious, and international groups. I think it is amazing to see so many different groups of people come together and work together in a harmonious way. I also love the Christ-centered atmosphere because we are allowed to learn about our careers while learning about Jesus Christ.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hope has a 24 hour patrol of security, with locked doors after hours in dorms.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a student leadership body that helps plan events for Hope. There also groups that take mission trips to Mexico or in the local area. Hope also plugs students into the community by offering students opportunities to help children and adults in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Commutative Free-Spirited Adventurous Seeking leadership in God

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since Hope offers a diverse community of students, there are plenty of multi-cultural events that always involve food, music, and meeting new people.

    Bang for the buck

    Hope International is an accredited Private Christian University. If a student is extremely certain they have a calling to pursue Christian ministry, Hope offers an excellent biblical program for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Hope International is located directly across the street from Cal State Fullerton, offering various sports and music events to be a part of. There is a local down town area where to enjoy the night life, shop, dine, dance, and much more. It is also located twenty minutes form the beach and about thirty minutes from the mountains. It is an excellent destination!

    Food and Dining

    A new food caterer has recently partnered with Hope in order to provide excellent cuisine and service to all students. One day the cafeteria might be serving Thai Food and the next Indian Food. The cafeteria will always offer basic and general foods such as burgers, fries, sandwiches, ice cream, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The Hope dorms offer a relaxing and communative environment for students by providing large televisions, vending machines, and comfy couches in lounge areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Hope offers a strong biblical program that is typically used for students who desire to work in a form of church ministry. The professors are very knowledgeable in their studies while guiding students in applying knew gained knowledge practically.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for small classes where you can receive individual attention for your studies, Hope is a prospective school for you. If you do not want to get lost in the waves of the thousands of students like in most universities, Hope offers an excellent body of peers and friends due to their emphasis on a school of community.

    In three sentences

    Hope International is great school for students looking for a community to be a part of. Hope offers small classes that offer a one-on-one academic study. This school has a genuine care and attention for their students in order that they become leaders in the world.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During class sessions, there's always the security guard patrolling the entire campus. He's awesome.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at HIU; if that's what this section is asking about.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not attend clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    - The religious type - The athletic type - The open-minded type - The academic scholars who want a Christian oriented environment

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students like to play games on campus; for instance, a game called zombies vs. humans; they play throughout the whole week, I believe, humans are unable to interact with zombies, and if one does, they become a zombie. There are water balloon fights, and all sorts of good stuff there. It's definitely unusual for a lot of people but hey, that's how students have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Hope International University is actually very expensive; I wouldn't honestly say I'm getting the best deal for my buck. At 24,000 $ a year; I'd say it's a little bit of a gyp; but which private college isn't?

    What to do for fun

    You can work out in the gym, apply for jobs on campus, you can date people, and there's also a swimming people where people really know how to throw it down. There's also a lounge room where you can just watch cable TV.

    Food and Dining

    I for one do not eat at the cafeteria, but many students do. Food is honestly not the greatest, but students live off of that stuff. I assume it's okay to eat everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I am not a dormer, but I have heard great stories of bonding in the dorms. Therefore, I place it at 4 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    I've realized in my college years that HIU is a lot more of an academic school than I had originally thought. The professors actually do know what they're talking about-- and they're just like any other person, like you and me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best to dorm as a Freshman; it gets quite lonely being a commuter sometimes. Obviously, if the situation doesn't allow you to dorm, you will still benefit greatly from this school academically; it's a little expensive, however.

    In three sentences

    HIU offers a variety of degrees. As a commuter, it is rather difficult to make many friends on campus; however, there is quite a lot of opportunity to learn about Christianity and its religious studies. I hope to become an ordained pastor, and will be proud to have HIU as one of the colleges that I attended for my education.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The have many group activities like flag football, small groups, even get your roommate a date day. there should be no reason you don't get involved unless you choose not to.

    Food and Dining

    The meals are top quality. Your choice of healthy choices or your usual dinner meals. They have it all.

    Dorm Life

    Its a great experience to spend time with other classmates. It also helps you keep up with student activities and even the opportunity to dorm with international students.

    Academic Rigor

    You must take 21 units of biblical studies but its a special experience that helps your personal growth. As long as you path is set on what you want to achieve there should be no reason why this school shouldn't take a close look at you.

    In three sentences

    This Fall I will be moving on to the university level and will be attending Hope International University in Fullerton, California. I have chosen to study at Hope International University because I want to experience an education like no other. Where I can continue to pursue my teaching degree, learn more about the mission of Jesus Christ and understand where my relationship with God currently stands. I also believe that this university will give me the necessary tools to become a successful educator.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Vanguard is better dollar for dollar if you are looking for a similar univ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try Vanguard

    In three sentences

    Try Vanguard

  • 11/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is extremely safe. Due to our small size, any suspicious activity is reported and handled right away and we have campus safety on call 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are all student initiated at HIU. There are not too many right now, so the opportunity to develop your own is very realistic.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to be more than a number and want to be cared for by a community of Christians who value education and living life together.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of our most famous events is called Clash-n-Bowl. We put on the most ridiculous outfits and go bowling for the night. We are the only people in the bowling alley and we dance and sing karaoke and look ridiculous and it the best!

    Bang for the buck

    HIU is the cheapest Christian college in Southern California and if you choose to really embrace this community, the price is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    We are only 15 minutes from Disneyland and 30 minutes from the beach, and those are always visited by students. The area also has a ton of restaurants, chain or not, to meet any dining needs and to also serve as fun places to hang out with friends. The campus also has a pool and the Student Activities team is always putting on events to bond students.

    Food and Dining

    Just like any cafeteria, the food is hit or miss. But, there is always a salad option, rotisserie chicken, burgers, sandwiches, grilled cheese, and my personal favorite, French fries. The cafeteria is a huge part of our community life and I would encourage all students, living on campus or not, to get a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life! Never again will you have the opportunity to live with hundreds of other people from all different walks of life and it is acceptable to just randomly ask them about it. The residence assistants create an environment of community and are eager to help students with any problems that arise. I would recommend living in the dorms for any student attending HIU.

    Academic Rigor

    In just two and half years I have learned the basics of Greek and Hebrew, how to study the Bible, how to write masterful papers, and how to ask for help. As I prepare to leave, I feel confident to not only be successful in my chosen career field, but to also be successful as I look at graduate schools and hopefully doctorate programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students would be to call your admissions counselor. Showing interest is always good, but then you are also able to develop some solid relationships before you even step foot on campus. Having at least one familiar person can make the transition easier.

    In three sentences

    Choosing to attend HIU was the best choice I ever made. Not only have I received an excellent education and preparation for my future career, but the community has made me feel like I am home here. This is the place for any student who wants to grow academically, spiritually, and in countless other ways.

  • 11/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety team is always here 24/7 and responds to calls quickly.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a small group leader and I am in Yearbook. I love being involved at Hope and it is super easy to get involved!

    What to do for fun

    The S.A. team puts on some fun events, there is a formal, a Sadies, as well as Pack the Gym (or the field) to support our sports teams, there are clubs on campus as well. The girls love to watch Once Upon a Time and other shows in the Lobby of the Girl's dorm together.

    Food and Dining

    EH, its not the best, but it is better than other colleges I have eaten at. They have four different meal plans for whatever suits your needs and financial abilities and there are different options if you don't like what is on the mainline there is a rotisserie station, sandwich station, grill and salad bar. So many options!

    Dorm Life

    It's awesome living on campus at HIU! Each room has it's own bathroom (think share a bathroom with 3 people or 30?) Also HIU is so small that living on campus keeps you active on campus just by going to lunch. There is always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too difficult but I have been challenged by my professors. They are super helpful and supportive and want to make sure that you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the campus! It is the best way to see if HIU is a great fit for you. Also meet with your admissions counselor, they are helpful with not only admissions but they know the basics of Financial Aid and we're super helpful in making HIU affordable.

    In three sentences

    The Perfect Fit for me. If you are looking for a small Christian College, and to feel at home the second you walk on campus, then this is the place for you. I love the tight-knit student body and the fact that I am more than a number here.

  • 11/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clash and Bowl! At the beginning of the year, we rent out a bowling alley and go in our craziest of outfits and have a blast with all of the new students!

    Bang for the buck

    Hope is expensive, but one of the least expensive private Christian universities that you will find in Southern California. The education and experience is well worth it!

    What to do for fun

    We love going to the beach and to Disneyland! On campus there is usually a sports game or some sort of event happening.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved! To feel the community that everyone is talking about requires you to take chances and get to know people.

    In three sentences

    Hope has been the best opportunity for me! The education and community here is unique and unlike any place else. Hope is my home!

  • 12/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    HIU is ten minutes from Disney Land!, fifteen minutes to the closest beach, five minutes to Brea mall, twenty minutes to Knotts Berry Farm, five minutes from a three dollar movie theater, and one block over from all the food options you could think of.

    Food and Dining

    HIU always has a grill, salad bar, sandwich station (set up like Subway), rice, soup, and a changing hot meal as well as cereal, fruit, and waffles! Freshman fifteen is a real thing people.

    Dorm Life

    HIU prides itself on its' community. They're right to do that! Living in the dorms helps create that community. RA's have weekly movie nights, games nights, coffee nights in the halls so that everyone can get to know each other. We have weekly gatherings as a school as well as smaller events during the week so you have every opportunity to bond with your fellow Royals (HIU students).

    Tips for prospective students

    In applying, work with your Admissions Counselor. They're great! As a student, show your effort and take advantage of all that Hope has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Coming from being home-schooled and then going to a small high school, HIU was the perfect fit for me. The professors actually care about you and, when you show effort, they put effort into making sure you succeed. I'm challenged in my classes to discover why I believe what I do and how to further my knowledge. I love HIU!

  • 12/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    All the events that happen on campus are very unique and tons of fun! You would be missing out if you didn't go to these events!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things around the area because we do live in a college town! There are plenty of restaurants, the Brea mall, Downtown Fullerton, Disneyland, Angels Stadium, and the Honda Center!

    Food and Dining

    There is a large variety of food to choose from, but it wouldn't hurt to learn how to cook your own food in the kitchens provided in the dorms!

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus! Some of the craziest stories of my college career are from the inside of the dorms! There is a better sense of community when living on campus and it helps bring everyone so much closer together.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging but they are worth every sleepless night! Professors teach you how to think, not what to think. They care about you and want you to succeed and no class on this campus will ever be a waste of your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Don't be afraid to put yourself out there and meet new people because you will meet your lifelong friends at this school!

    In three sentences

    Hope is a place that you can call home and be yourself. Everyone is extremely friendly and the sense of community we have here is something that is hard to find at most other large universities. There are also numerous opportunities to get involved and serve at this school!

  • 12/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and everyone knows each other, so we are usually pretty safe. Also the campus is well-lit everywhere and there is a Security Guard on duty 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Activities (S.A.) always have fun activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Christian students who want to broaden their perspective on life, their worldview, and their theology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the Monday of Finals Week (A.K.A. the week of doom) the faculty, professors, and even our president Dr. Derry comes to serve us breakfast at night because they know how stressed we will be staying up late studying.

    What to do for fun

    Disneyland, the beach, shopping, and lots of great places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that provides a wide variety of food and meal plans are offered. But if you know you are a picky eater...learn to cook.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's (Housing Department) are awesome but it can be challenging living with 4 girls to 1 room. But if you are willing to pay more then you can live with less people. Also, aside from living at home with your family or being a transfer student you are required to live on campus until you are 22.

    Academic Rigor

    High school was nothing compared to the work you do in college; but it will pay off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are getting yourself into-This is going to be hard work but it will be rewarding. Listen to the professors- They really just want to help you succeed. Remember that it is YOUR life- Even though everyone wants to help you when it comes down to it, this is YOUR life and YOUR decision.

    In three sentences

    Hope is a place where you know you will be supported. The professors are amazing, intelligent, and personal. It may be small, but make no mistake HIU makes an impact.