Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Illinois Central College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 10/17/2016

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like that I can take my courses online. Very convenient.

  • 06/17/2015

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I.C.C.'s campus safety is very poor in my opinion. They only began establishing a Sexual Assault Response team this past semester (Spring 2015) due to it being required under the Title 9 Act (It's 2015 and they still have no resources as far as a Rape Response team because it is not LEGALLY required of them.) *There is NOT 24 hour police on campus as they claim and this is well known by all the students living on campus.* New management is working to change this but I have no idea how successful they will be.

    ***RESPONSE FROM INSTITUTION***'

    The statement that the college swept a sexual assault "under the collegiate rug" is a very serious allegation and one that has tremendous legal and ethical implications. This is not the case (which can be verified by the processes that are documented and in place). In any situation reporting a sexual assault, the college responded by calling in the local police (as per our procedures.) The local police were the primary investigators and determined that there was no evidence of a sexual assault based on their investigation.

    However, as soon as any student reports being sexually assaulted, the college responded and offered services to the victim in terms of counseling and other support. The college's Sexual Response Team (referenced in the review as being new and only because of Title IX) has been in existence the Fall 2013, so this statement is inaccurate.

    The mission of the officers and employees of the ICC Campus Police Department is to provide a safe and secure learning and work environment for our students, staff, faculty, and visitors. There is a new management over campus housing (although not for the singular reasons referenced in the review) who are working closely with Campus Police to make sure everyone is safe and following the rules and regulations of the college and the property. One example of an improvement is Campus Police conducting regular foot patrol checks of the property during the daytime and evening. We are committed to a safe environment on campus and always encourage any student with safety concerns to make contact with our Dean of Students as an opportunity to be heard.

    Tracy Morris, EdD
    Vice President of Student Services
    Illinois Central College

    Clubs and Activities

    As said above pretty dull unfortunately - they try, but the support from staff and I.C.C. as a whole really isn't there in my opinion.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional. Part time students. Parents.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gardens are amazing - almost no one ever goes there.

    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper!

    What to do for fun

    Beautiful gardens!!! Frisbee golf Some student activities - one of the two most active clubs is religious based and the other is service based. Everything else is very hard to become involved in because there aren't accurate signs posted and most groups are not active on social media. I know I.C.C. is working to change this as more tradition students start to enroll.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good - super nice cafeteria staff. (Older ones)

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the apartments on campus and would not recommend doing so unless you are moving into a two or four bedroom apartment with people you already know or if you are renting an efficiency apartment and are therefore living alone. I was sexually assaulted on campus, and I.C.C. was more than happy to sweep things under their collegiate rug once they received the police report stating their was no admissible evidence. **Keep in mind that RARELY is there DNA evidence of any kind in sexual assault or rape cases unless it is a complete rape.** I hope parents think twice before sending their kids there - male and female - makes no difference. There is an extremely high amount of drug usage on campus, and it was so out of control that they had to bring in a new management team this past semester (Spring 2015) to try and solve the problem.

    Academic Rigor

    It meets the standards. A good academic program overall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that it's a *Community* College and not a regular College/University. This may seem obvious, but if you have any issues people are not as willing to help due to lack of funding, resources, and time.

    In three sentences

    *Not a positive experience. *I was sexually assaulted on campus at Wood View Commons. *I do not recommend going to I.C.C. in general if you are looking for a tradition college experience - however if you are a non-traditional student I would recommend I.C.C.

  • 10/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is all over the place and nothing crazy happens around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students returning to school to improve their resumes. You can get a degree without dealing with college kids.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a degree and a solid education. You cannot complain about the price because it is so cheap compared to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports available for being a community college. However, the school isn't geared towards younger students so it is a relatively isolated college experience.

    Food and Dining

    General community college foods are offered. The cafeteria is clean and well kept. The food is decent, but not necessarily something you have to get.

    Dorm Life

    The school has housing but it is not used by the majority of students. Almost nonexistent.

    Academic Rigor

    Because the classes are Gen Eds, they are not extremely difficult. As long as you go to class, you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have someone to guide you through the college process. If you are not sure how transferring, scholarships, student loans, and other college activities work, find a teacher and have them guide you. Because of the size of the school, you can develop personal relationships with your instructors easier.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central College has a very diverse student body. The school is geared more towards those who are going back to school to better themselves in their workplace as opposed to college aged kids. The school offers a good education and degree at a low price for those who cannot afford a 4 year degree.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a Frisbee Golf course on the school property, and there is a gym you can join that is also on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and you have a very wide selection to choose from between the vending machines and the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have been told the dorms are nice, but I lived off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't understand something in class, go see your professor during his/her office hours or go to one of the help labs. You can get behind really fast in college.

    In three sentences

    A good college, the instructors are willing to work with you and want you to understand the material.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not to active as far as I know. Not well advertised or attended.

    Great for these types of students

    transfers or those who want to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people, see old friends.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty decent, but kind of pricey and no electronic deposits.

    Dorm Life

    Nice facilities, not too exciting. I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can. Get good grades. Look for ways to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Very much like a more relaxed high school. It is fairly well run, but not too much opportunity for extracurriculars. It is what you make of it.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Fall apart or are hard to get into good ones.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students of all ages and walks of life.

    Bang for the buck

    Great on budget, especially if you live and went to high school in district.

    What to do for fun

    Join organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Books are cheaper online. Take daytime classes for best teachers.

    In three sentences

    Easy on budget for Gen.-Eds. Good daytime staff who are knowledgeable and often friendly. Very similar to a high school atmosphere.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is really good and te dinning area is nice as well. You dont have to worry about space or anyting or where to sit or anything like that.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say much about dorm life becasue it cost too much to live on campus. I hear that they are nice and I would love to live on campue but the cost to live there is more than what you would pay to attend the school.

    Academic Rigor

    ICC has everything you need even if you are looking to transfer. Its the best place to start out if you are looking for a nice school that's not too far from home and where you can have a good education. It would also get you prepared for life at a four year college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have good connections in the school. Talk to your teachers all the time about assingments, deadlines,anything and things will go better for you.

    In three sentences

    I like ICC so far. The staff is very helpful. Whenever I need help I know where to go and get help no time.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive. Simple as that. There is a McDonald's super close by and that's way cheaper, so it's not awful. I've never actually eaten here because of the prices, I usually just bring a snack with me from home.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home and commuted, so I don't know too much about the dorm life at ICC. I know they promote it around the college and I haven't heard anything bad about it so I assume the dorms and apartments are good enough!

    Academic Rigor

    ICC is a community college, a prep-college for most that students will transfer out of to attain their Bachelor's degree. For that reason, I know the academics are strictly 100 and 200 level classes. They are an easy transition from high school to college and help you slowly accumulate the new work and knowledge load that you will be receiving. The school tests you in order to place you in the appropriate Gen. Eds and for that reason, the academics are tailored to your knowledge base. There are differing levels of all classes and they can be as easy or as challenging as you need them to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    ICC has some of the best advisors, make sure that you use this to your advantage! Ask them questions, take their advice, and be sure to take their opinions into consideration because they are very educated on their subject areas and guiding students. Also, get your schedule as soon as you can to get the times and classes that you want... once again, use your advisor for this process! Get an 8 AM class.. as awful as it sounds, it'll help so you get a good parking spot and don't have to walk miles in the snow/rain/cold/heat to get to your class.

    In three sentences

    ICC has many options on how/when to get your classes- online, night, regular daytime, etc. It also has extremely knowledgeable professors who are willing to help you in ANY way that they are able. ICC is an all-around very accessible school that is there for your betterment.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    watch out for those parking tickets

    Greek Life

    There is one greek thing at the school but it's a mixed greek house.

    Clubs and Activities

    I see clubs but never participated

    Great for these types of students

    Low income families Don't know what to major in Paying for school by yourself

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The place in the cafeteria that is on a platform, don't sit there!

    Bang for the buck

    A cheap college education if you are paying for it by yourself.

    What to do for fun

    There is a few social things that go on, but not anything to brag about.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing really healthy

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay at the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The school is focused on getting the students a degree, just taking useless courses too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take classes that don't give you transfer credits.

    In three sentences

    ICC is a great way to get started in college. However, the school resembles high school a lot, the same atmosphere as well. The plus side, the classes are not too hard.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The college has a nice price overall. It`s a food school to start off at then transfer to another school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs you can join which is cool.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to taste the food but have heard it is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not actually attended a lecture yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a question don`t hesitate to ask the employers they are always willing to help you. also, don't get stressed about getting things done relax and just try to do your best at getting what you can done if you rush things they might not end up the right way.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice college. The feel you get when you walk into the doors is a sense of comfort and that`s what you want walking into a new environment. I like that if you get lost someone is always around to help you find the correct way.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had any problems

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Quest and connect are a few to look into

    What to do for fun

    Theres really not much to do. The school lacks community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great lots of variety

    Dorm Life

    Not that exciting

    Academic Rigor

    Its definitely manageable. Most students have a part time job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to ICC and save a lot of money

    In three sentences

    ICC is a great institution to educate yourself. It doesn't matter if you're just getting started, continuing or going back ICC can accommodate for you. Its really work oriented nothing like a traditional college.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security officers are always on the move. I have never seen them standing around not doing anything. Our security also patrols the parking lots at all times, from 6am to 9pm. I always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not in a Greek club, but we have them.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have at least 100 bulletin boards around campus and they are full with different clubs and upcoming events around campus. Name a club and we have it.

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't want to pay a lot of money for college, if you want to go to school and then leave right after class, or if you want great professors and friends then this college is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our northern campus used to be a mental health hospital. There is still original doors in the campus. It's kind of creepy, especially since its a quiet campus and not as busy or big as the east Peoria campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is perfect for getting an associates degree and for taking any extra classes that you need. We are the best community college in Illinois. The professors go into detail with the material, if their going to fast or if you don't understand it, they will slow down and address your needs. Cost of tuition and books, roughly $3000-$5000 for two semesters.

    What to do for fun

    We have a disc-golf park that is on campus. We also have 4 or 5 theater plays for both semesters. Occasionally, we have a golf tournament on campus in the building.

    Food and Dining

    Great open space to eat with friends. The price of food is over-priced for me. Overall, this is a great place to meet more friends.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms, but they look really nice with an economic price tag.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really good at explaining the material to you and helping you understand what you need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Treat this just like college, and that means study.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere with amazing professors. Best bang for your buck. Friendly students who are easy to get along with.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, choir, band, etc...

    Tips for prospective students

    arrive at least 10 minutes before class. Its a pretty long walk

    In three sentences

    ICC is a good place to go if you are trying to save some money after high school. It doesn't exactly have top notch professors but the majority of them are fairly decent and classes are fairly priced. It is good for knocking out some general education classes before transfering to a 4-year school.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is of importance, there are 24 hour security guards on campus. There are also emergency stands at multiple sites on campus grounds

    Greek Life

    None Known

    Clubs and Activities

    Men and women baseball and basketball. There is also a golf course on campus grounds.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who function better in slow paced environments. Students who are looking for less distraction than major universities. Students who are seeking to get a handle on college life and increasing grades before moving on to a four year university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None known

    Bang for the buck

    The City of East Peoria is conducive to student life, and success in education. The Education one receives is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball, attend games, go to the mall, and fellowship with fellow neighbors as this is a family oriented school environment. Also utilize state of the art facilities at the gym (CougarPlex)

    Food and Dining

    I am truly unable to comment on this, as I grocery shop and cook within my apartment, or eat out

    Dorm Life

    Illinois Central College does not have dorm life like that of a four year university, but the apartment living is adequate and safe like that of dorm living

    Academic Rigor

    Illinois Central College offers a variety of different degree and certificate programs to choose from. Endeavoring to do well in school in accomplishable at Illinois Central College

    Tips for prospective students

    If attending just for sports and partying Illinois Central College is not the place for you Attending Illinois Central College will prepare you for the next level of educational endeavors The family atmosphere makes Illinois Central College appealing to prospective students

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central College offer excellent education. Professors are available to assist outside of class, and the family atmosphere is great. My edcuation at Illinois Central College will adequately prepare me to transfer to a four year university.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i felt like it was a very safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs, but i didn't get involved in any

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    I would say most of the teachers do a great job for the price that you pay.

    What to do for fun

    When I had breaks in between classes I would hang out with friends and study with them.

    Food and Dining

    The food was good and there a variety of things to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in a dorm so I couldn't tell you how it was.

    Academic Rigor

    great!!

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school to go to and there are lots of scholarship opportunities, so make sure you apply for them!

    In three sentences

    It was a great school to get my general education classes out of the way. It was much cheaper too!!

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those wanting to expand their education, go back to school, or get started toward their degree. Also, wonderful for summer classes that will easily transfer to your 4 year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because this is a community college, don't expect things to be easier! Study hard, learn about your professors, be ready for a lot of walking!

    In three sentences

    This community college has a wide variety of degree options. It has a great college campus. The instructors are tough but also understanding and helpful.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much. The best you can do is make a few friends and hangout in between classes. ICC is a come to class and go home type of school.

    Food and Dining

    I have never had the food, but from passing through and hearing from friends the cafeteria is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    They have on campus housing, but student who choose to stay there don't last very long as there is a sketchy crowd that tends to prowl the area.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are extremely demanding, and there are others that require little to no time outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students, you will want to use the quad when switching between classes. Actually, for even more ease of finding classrooms, you should come visit campus before classes being and find the fastest routes between your classes.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central College provides a great learning environment with professors that love what they do. To first year students, campus may be confusing, but as your time here increases you begin to find shortcuts. Don't expect to make a ton of friends as many of the people here are commuters.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs, sports, and after soon activities to join into.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little expensive. So, a lot of people bring their own food

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus because i'm in driving distance but, the buildings are brand new.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and very good and there are many majors to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes as soon as it opens up. Don't just wait around.

    In three sentences

    It is cost friendly. The teachers are very helpful. It's in a friendly community.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There needs to be a little more security for those with night classes.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball Games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take out student loans, pay for everything you possibily can out of pocket. Also, apply for as many scholarships you are eligible for. Take EVERY semester seriously.

    In three sentences

    While ICC is expensive, the class availability is broad and flexibile. The campus is not too large or too small, and is easy to navigate once you learn your way around. ICC is my top choice.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just listen to the advisors! They really do know best and are there for YOU!

    In three sentences

    I like that ICC is small and close to home. The faculty is great and very focused on helping me obtain my goals. Their system is also very self explanatory when it comes to getting around the campus.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent in this area.

    Greek Life

    It exists. I wasn't involved, but they have phi theta kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school if you like to know your professor and learn a lot. Not great if you want to make friends as most people commute and have jobs so there isn't a lot of time for that.

    Bang for the buck

    For how much you pay, this school has it all.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and shows going on always.

    Food and Dining

    It's a typical cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know of anyone who lived on campus but the campus dorms do look nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's about average. I feel like I really didn't do that much more than I did in high school and most of the professors are willing to work with you. They don't see a lot of students who care so if you do they are SO excited to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with most 2 year schools, it is best to go in with you major already chosen and the school you will be transferring to already chosen. Sometimes the advisers don't know everything but they are there to help and if you know what you want, they can help ensure that your classes will transfer.

    In three sentences

    ICC is exactly what you want from a junior college. The pricing is reasonable. The professors are knowledgeable.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Work

    Food and Dining

    Good food (especially the deli) but a bit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in a dorm, I commuted from home

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in something and make relationships with your professors. ICC gives you the same education as a 4 year university would but at a much lower cost. Junior College is the way to go!

    In three sentences

    ICC is affordable, personable and has multiple opportunities for involvement.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take all of my classes at night due to full-time employment all day long. Every night when I leave my final class, I see at least one security guard driving and one on foot around the campus. It makes me feel much safer!

    Great for these types of students

    Adults returning to school after many years are somewhat skeptical and unsure, but the process is so easy and if you get a good advisor...mine rocks...the process goes very smoothly and they walk you through all of the steps.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that getting an eduacation is so important, much more important than I thought it was 20 years ago! I lecture my kids (teenagers) that they must go to college. ICC has made my return to school such a wonderful experience that I keep wondering why I didn't do it sooner!

    What to do for fun

    This is a community college so I do not think that they offer as much as a university, but with my children, my dogs, my volunteer duties, and my work, I really wouldn't have time to know about these things.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten in the cafeteria once and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the teachers and being able to approach them with any questions that I have had. They are always happy to help and walk you through until you can understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make the phone call! They will guide you through every step of what needs to be done! Get your eduacation while you are young instead of, like me, when you are 40 and still struggling to make ends meet!

    In three sentences

    I love the flexibilty of class times since I am a single mother that works full-time. I have, so far, been able to take my classes with minimal time off of work. The easy of registration & filing for financial aid is amazingly simple!

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs, organizations, and activities to keep the students entertained. There is also the Cougarplex which includes a variety of exercise equipment, a basketball court, a juice bar, and a track. The college also hosts movie nights and other activities to keep the students interested.

    Food and Dining

    The meals offered at ICC are quite delicious, a bit on the pricey side but this is to be expected on campus. The cafeteria includes the main dish of the day, a deli counter, multiple ale cart items, snacks, and other items. There isn't a long wait at the register and plenty of room in the dining area. ICC even offers a quiet room off of the cafeteria where students could study and eat peacefully. The East Peoria Campus also offers Cafe Breve on the third floor. This is a coffee shop which also sells snacks, sandwiches, and other beverages. The staff is friendly and works quickly. The Breve has a dining area where you could sit at tables, there is also couches and lounge chairs where students can relax and socialize. Also, as a cherry on top of this there are computers in both the Breve and the cafeteria for quick access.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fully furnished and are only a minute away from the campus. Dorm sizes range from studio suites up to a four bedroom apartment. Along with this there is free access to the pool and a basketball court.

    Academic Rigor

    ICC is a good place to get your general education requirements out of the way. A lot of the teachers have taught at other universities and have well structured classes. Each class is different and the level of difficulty depends on the class. In general, the classes aren't too challenging but do require a fair amount of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professor it really comes in handy when your'e looking for a recommendation letter or help boosting a grade. Also, make sure you utilize all learning labs including: the studio, the math lab, the career center, etc.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very down to earth and caring about students' futures. The campus is easy to maneuver and has a simple layout. Overall, Illinois Central College is a great start for any student who has either been out of school for awhile or is transitioning straight from high school.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent on safety

    What to do for fun

    Sports, go to the gym

    Food and Dining

    Great food and dining

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in dorms

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars a beautiful campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have fun and do your homework and you will make it through this wonderful college

    In three sentences

    I think Illinois Central College is a great learning environment . I love going to this school this has changed my life for the better. All thanks to Illinois central College

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Forensics/Speech team is ran by Kari Schimmel. She is a wonderful teacher and coach. You learn a lot about giving speeches as well as a variety of topics that are covered by your team and teams around in the area.

    Great for these types of students

    Freshman Full time or Part time workers

    Bang for the buck

    Illinois Central College is affordable and a wonderful school with some of the best teachers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all really fantastic and affordable. They have a wonderful cafe upstairs that is easy to get to and has great drinks and small snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Community Colleges do not have dorms. Woodview commons is located on campus but not owned by ICC.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you keep up with deadlines and stay on top of your work you will be golden! Always ask teachers for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in contact with your advisor as much as possible because they will keep you aware of opportunities that you might have missed out on otherwise.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central College is great for students that are working part-time and full time, students trying to find their major, and students just starting their college experience. The staff, for the most part, will go above and beyond to try to work around schedule conflict or restraints. They offer a wide variety of classes and mediums to take those classes in, such as hybrid classes and online classes.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police officers that keep this campus safe.

    What to do for fun

    ICC has a huge selection of groups and organizations to partner with. They also have different sports teams, a gym, clubs, and job opportunities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large lunch room with a large variety of affordable foods.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses at ICC are challenging, but not overbearing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always seek advisement for classes from the counselors provided. They are quick to listen and willing to work with you to set up your schedule every semester.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central college is a fantastic, affordable college (by offering a variety of scholarships and financial aid) to begin at for any college career. You can obtain an associates degree at this college, and possibly a 4 year degree, depending on what your major is. They have a huge variety of classes to offer and the teachers are great.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ICC offers few activities. The most fun part of attending ICC is the students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very average. I would say it is rather expensive compared to the quality of the food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Illinois Central College have a history of shootings and drug related problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Illinois Central College is average. Some classes will be challenging while others will be a cake-walk.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the professors of the classes you are wanting to take. The professors can make all the difference in your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central College is a decent school. The classes offered are very basic, however, and there are a few teachers who seem to value their jobs less than others. I would say that compared to other community colleges, ICC is average at best.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is patrolling constantly. It makes me feel like my self, my car, and my other belongings are safe while I'm in class.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have never participated in any clubs or activities since I take evening classes.

    Great for these types of students

    I feel ICC is great for the students that live at home still and just commute to school and back. Also, ICC is great for the people that work full time because they offer a lot of classes at night, although I wish they offered more after 6.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like ICC is moving up in academics and is becoming more competitive with the neighboring schools, however I feel like they shouldn't raise the tuition for in district students anymore.

    What to do for fun

    ICC has a decent Frisbee golf course that's fun.

    Food and Dining

    I have only had their coffee from the cafe and it was very good.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm at ICC so I can't answer this question. They look nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that some teachers are really flexible as others are not at all flexible with the academics. But, all the teachers have been more than willing to help out if I had any questions or didn't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't buy or rent the books from ICC if at all possible. There are tons of other cheaper options out there that carry the same books like Chegg or Amazon. You have to have a 67 percent success(completion too) rate in your classes in order to qualify for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    The advisers are super helpful. The campus is easy to get around. They offer a lot of night classes for the people that work full time.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I attend the downtown campus and there are plenty of delicious places to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, so I cant give any advice.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the tips I would give to prospective students is to take advantage of the study sessions, and tutoring. It's extremely helpful to take the extra time to work with another person who has the knowlege to teach you another way of remembering and learning your subjects.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central College is a great community college! I truly believe their staff is dedicated to helping all students get through the process of applying, attending, and graduating from their school. I would rate Illinois Central College on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the best, a 10.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Quest, some Bible study groups

    Great for these types of students

    Shy, unsure of major, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There's a Frisbee golf course, but other than that you would have to join a group to know about the activities they're involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty expensive so packed lunches are always for the best.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the curriculum is fantastic, especially for me since I'm taking the top math courses. The teachers I've had are fantastic and really know what they're talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should look at what the Associates degree calls for and make sure you take those classes that apply. Also, look at the transferable credit courses since some will not transfer to four year schools.

    In three sentences

    ICC is a fantastic school. I was able to take the gen ed classes so I could spend time figuring out which degree I wanted. I would recommend it to anyone who is unsure of their major or is financially unsound.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is disc golf as soon as you enter the campus, and a golf course as well. there is a huge new workout facility called the cougarplex and you can go play basketball, tennis, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    gourmet food in the cafeteria definitely the best cafeteria food ive ever had.

    Dorm Life

    very fun and easy to meet new people

    Academic Rigor

    One of the best academically accredited schools as a junior college

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO CLASS!!! USE THE LABS!!!

    In three sentences

    Illinois Central College was a great school to begin at i love how the teachers work with you to make your grade as best as possible. The lab's are great for studying for a test or going to get help when a teacher is not available. All you have to do is go to class and the teachers will do whatever they can to help you achieve your desired grade.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They hold class neighborhood classes for those who have trouble getting to the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the classes transfer to a 4 yr university.

    What to do for fun

    They have some great theater productions.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has some amazingly delicious food and is always open.

    Dorm Life

    I havent lived in the dorms, so I cant comment on this.

    Academic Rigor

    They really challenge you as a student to do your best and expand your mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as early as possible to get your first picks.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are small enough that you receive the extra help you need. The teachers are passionate about their subjects. The size of the school is small enough to feel comfortable.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    eat?

    Dorm Life

    no dorm/never lives there

    Tips for prospective students

    get there early, the parking lots are so far away!

    In three sentences

    it is a good school. the professors aren't always the best. some nice people, but also some weirdos.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe at icc. they have well staffed security who are constantly patrolling campus. so be careful not to park in the staff parking spaces or the visitor's lot if you are a student because you will get ticketed. also, just be careful when crossing the roads. student drivers are very unpredictable!

    Clubs and Activities

    as i mentioned before, their are various activity groups, study groups, and book clubs. there are also various help labs for different subjects such as math and writing.

    Great for these types of students

    icc works real well for local students who are pursuing careers in engineering, science, education, and art.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely a great place to start and get through all gen-eds. a full time student's semester cost is roughly $1500-$1800 which beats the cost of university prices (which range in the tens of thousands per semester). transferring is really simple with icc with programs such as quest which help with every step of the process. i would really suggest illinois central college to any student.

    What to do for fun

    there are various types of book, study, and activity groups at icc who meet on a regular basis. their is a fitness center and gym for those who work out on a daily basis (membership is required for the fitness center- $80 per semester). there are a few sports fields as well and a frisbee golf course close by. there are a few workshops on campus for people who work on art, wood, music, etc.

    Food and Dining

    the school has a cafeteria and a small cafe. not to mention all the snack machines scattered throughout. the prices aren't the best but the cafeteria has saved me on a few occasions from the munchies.

    Dorm Life

    i do not dorm at icc but the school owns an apartment complex right next door. this makes it a lot easier for some students as they are closer to the campus than even most students who have to park hundreds of yards away!

    Academic Rigor

    unlike many colleges and universities, the instructors at icc have dedicated themselves to their subject of study and really make learning an interesting experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    illinois central college is a great starting place for new college students. just remember to not to enroll in too many classes at once but to take what you can handle and you'll do just fine.

    In three sentences

    small and friendly community. dedicated and very helpful instructors and staff. very inexpensive and a great start on college education!

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very secure campus and community.

    Clubs and Activities

    phi theta kappa honor society and quest.

    Great for these types of students

    all students. i moved 2 states over to attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    great monthly festivities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    very inexpensive school and tuition.

    What to do for fun

    fishing on the river.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has decent food and affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    there are dorms on campus but i have not been to them or lived in them.

    Academic Rigor

    this school will afford its students every opportunity to succeed and gives free tutors and math and writing labs for students to take advantage of.

    Tips for prospective students

    take your time choosing a school and intended major. plan on taking at least an equal amount of time outside of the classroom to complete all work for your classes.

    In three sentences

    this is a very good and accomodating 2 year institution. the professors are very understanding and approachable. there exists a positive and optimistic enivironment for continuing education.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frisbee golf course

    What to do for fun

    basketball and working out. Frisbee golf.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get prepared.

    In three sentences

    Full of opportunity. In depth hands-on training. Variety of degrees.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I did not take advantage of campus activities, as I am a non-traditional student.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not take advantage of campus activities, as I am a non-traditional student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I did not take advantage of campus activities, as I am a non-traditional student.

    What to do for fun

    I did not take advantage of campus activities, as I am a non-traditional student.

    Food and Dining

    I did not take advantage of food and dining, as I am a non-traditional student.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in or visit the dorm, as I am a non-traditional student.

    Academic Rigor

    You get out what you put into your studies. Courses are designed to push your academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    School is hard but life with out education is harder.

    In three sentences

    Online classes at an accredited college is an important part of my busy life. Illinois Central College has been a great way for me to attend college while working and taking care of my growing family. I would give ICC a high rating in quality and convenience.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't shoot down a community college because all of your friends are going to real colleges. This college is pretty cool, a lot of the people are really nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college is like having a coupon for tuition. My tuition is 2,000 . If I went to another university that wouldn't even cover room/ board.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm having a pretty good time .

    Am learning a lot

    Definitely a wake up call from High School; prepare yourself . Your not in High School anymore.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for students just out of high school, wanting to test school, and also for returning, non traditional students, wanting to go back to school and get the education they missed.

    Tips for prospective students

    ASK. I promise someone will have the answer, or they'll find it for you. There's no reason to wander around confused.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are typically cheaper than a 4 year school. Despite the lower cost, this school does provide everything needed for continuing/renewing your education!

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are friendly, and they pretty much all make their living from their art trade. It's great to learn from such hands-on experience!

    Am learning a lot

    The Fine Arts department here really packs in a lot for a small community school! Wonderful and experienced teachers, with pretty much any resource a student could ask for!

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will get a fantastic education you want for the price that is more comfortable.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy this campus. Its close to home for me which is good for my mom. My sister went here and she had a good experience.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors here are one on one and like to help you succeed. Classrooms are small enough so you can have the small class size and get the education that you want.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for the students who don't know what they want to do or dont' have a lot of cash for school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you tell your adivisor EVERY THING about you high school education or they will put you in classes you are not ready for/do not need. Get the scholarships done early and make sure your FASFA is before you visit financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    It's relativly cheap and you get what you need done to earn your associates.

    Did enjoy being here

    I wasn't a big fan on how seperated the campuses were. You can only take certain classses at the Peoria campus, and all your other classes would be at the East Peoria campus. It was expensive to drive back and forth between the two.

    Did learn a lot

    The classic in-class setting is the best way to learn here. Online classes are challenging and hard to learn from. It takes forever for the teacher to respond to you when you have a problem or question, and the system they use isn't very organized.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students! Returning students, people who took time off in between college and high school, people in careers already, homemakers, everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep walking in the academic building, it's a big circle. Speak out in class, that's the way to make friends, and make sure to ask for help if you need it! Don't feel stupid, I ask questions often. And, make use of the help offered.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are fairly cheap, but the professors really care about their students and are passionate about what they're doing. The class sizes are always limited to a certain number, so you get fairly individualized attention too.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at ICC. There's always something going on, there was a Mariachi band for Latin Heritage month, there was a petting zoo last spring, and there are always plenty of interesting people to talk to. I love the foreign students as well, they provide a good contrast to us Midwesterners.

    Am learning a lot

    These classes are so challenging. Although, no matter how hard the classes are, there is always help available. I learn so much through the Math Lab available at ICC. There's also a writing lab, and a general help lab. I talk to the professors a lot as well, and they're always more than happy to help you understand.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is a great place to start for students that have graduated from high school or have their GED. It is also good for students (or anybody) not sure what they want to major in but still wish to take some college courses. It is good to be able to take cheaper courses until you have decided what you really want to major in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that a lot of students attending this school have undecided majors and may take awhile to decide. Don't get in the mindset of staying here forever!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is great when it comes to money. It's not expensive at all, plus they offer financial aid and scholarships! Just apply for both and you will soon be on your way :) I guarantee that the financial aid counselors will help you out in any way they can.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a great place to meet people. No matter what kind of classes you take, there are so many students here that you are guaranteed to meet someone that you will like. Not to mention all of the activities you are able to join, you will never be bored if you put forth the effort to find something to do. There's something for everyone!

    Am learning a lot

    To be honest, I really am learning a lot. This is the real world and you learn to survive. The teachers will help out in any way possible with plenty of time to talk to them, e-mail them, or even call them. You can easily find tutors if you are having trouble in a subject, too.

  • 07/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable!! There are many scholarships available and ways to pay for your tuition and books.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is very friendly. If you are involved in any extracurricular activities you meet many new people very easily. In a area with lots of attractions

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging but at the same time the professors are very understanding offering endless help.