Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Indiana University-Northwest Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/23/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good choices, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to IUN. The parking is horrible because there are no dorms. Programs are hard to get into.

  • 04/09/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food was average

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    seems decently rigourous.

    In three sentences

    the school is decently sized and gives off a homey atmosphere. it's structure is not the most pleasant to the eye. everyone seems to genuinly want to help you.

  • 03/28/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see the campus police driving around. The school has emergency alarms all around campus- even in the parking lot.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to save money by staying local for a few years. Those who want to stay in NW Indiana the rest of their lives. Those who can't afford to go away for college. Those who do not know what to do with their lives.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    You will constantly get emails about events going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafe. I have not tried the food.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    They will accept you if you have at least a 2.0.

    In three sentences

    IUN is a good school. The campus is a descent size. Teachers are nice.

  • 11/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everything is well lit and there is campus police always patrolling the area.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are living in Indiana this is a perfect in state school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is awesome. Not to mention there are always events where you can get free food. This school will feed you.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus so Im not sure how the inside is but they are located literally steps away from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The the staff is so support and trying to help you find classes each semester. They is online and office assistance to make sure you are on track with your academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact anyone at the financial aid office about grants, scholarships and financial aid. They are so helpful. Mr. Harold Burtley was the one who helped me.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University has a beautiful campus. It is a perfect size. The staff is great and helpful.

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is very very good! Some foods are a little pricey but it's well worth it! It's really good! They sell food in the cafeteria and in a cafe in the library. The library cafe also has specials for the day such as a hot dog with chips and a can of pop. They also sell bagels, nachos, snacks, sandwich. In the cafeteria, they sell pizza, chicken tenders, fries, etc. The dining there is neat. You can sit in booth or tables with your friends or by yourself if you wanted to. If you wanted to do in homework you can do it in the cafeteria or in the library cafe where it's most comfortable and that way you can also eat your lunch.

    Dorm Life

    My school doesn't really have dorms as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be quite difficult and challenging. Sometimes it may depend on what you're going for but not always. Expectations that teachers so expect may be that the students read the material that is suggested and also the assignments. As said before, it can be quite difficult, but for the most part, you learn along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is pretty big, a decent size maybe. I'd suggest the student knows where there classes are because there are multiple buildings. Also another good tip would be is to meet new people. You will meet new people in your classes and other places so it's good. Also when studying or doing homework, it's good to make study groups. Also another tip is to join whatever activities the school may have and whatever best fits your interest.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school! I also met so many new people and the staff and students there are really nice! They help you in whatever you may need help with.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police admistration on campus. Can request an office to walk you to your car

    What to do for fun

    Association and Clubs.

    Food and Dining

    One large lunch room and a small cafe in the library. The soup is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms. Its a commuting campus.

    Academic Rigor

    A very tough science department. Be prepare to absorb alot of information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check out the Math lab and S.I sessons for help or review sessons. They will help out in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Quality education from a varity of P.h.D professors. Diversity of people and majors offered. A very positive atmosphere in a tough area.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In the Student Savannah Center, there is always something going on. Whether it be open mike or our very own photo booth, you name is. Also, once the weather clears up a lot of clubs will set up activities outside the buildings so that you have something fun to do between classes.

    Food and Dining

    I personally cannot speak from experience about the food here, because I always bring my lunch to school. I can, however, say that the cafeteria was just remodeled and it looks great!

    Dorm Life

    IUN is a community college, so there is no living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a pre-medical biology major, my classes are very challenging. The professors will really test your ability to not only comprehend, but to also apply the concepts of what they are teaching you. I cannot speak for other majors or degrees, as I have not taken their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must stay on top of things! Although it is very easy to slip your focus from school work, falling behind will only leave you with a head full of stress. Study whenever you have time, and do your work ahead. Ask questions, the professors are there to help you, and that it why you are paying for a degree. Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    This school is great! The professors are wonderful and the small class sizes really help develop a one-to-one classroom environment. You will never feel like just another student at Indiana University Northwest.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has their own police and they are always driving around. The school also has emergency telephones linked straight to the police if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    IUN has a wide variety of clubs and activities to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper than other schools, but same level of expectations.

    What to do for fun

    You could join and of the clubs that IUN has, go to the sporting events, or even just hangout with friends in the lounging areas.

    Food and Dining

    IUN has their own cafeteria area with great cuisine. They have a wide variety of food, drinks, and places to hangout at.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm at IUN, and I'm not sure if they have dorms. I personally lived close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    When having difficulties at IUN, it easy to reach out at anyone on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to feel at home at IUN. The professors work with the students, and do whatever it takes to help their students be successful.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Northwest is a school with arms opened wide. IUN is willing to help you whenever you need it. You will feel at home at IUN, and I rate it a 10 out of 10.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are always available when needed and you always see them walking around

    Clubs and Activities

    all depends on your major

    Great for these types of students

    cheerleaders and basketball players

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is always one week where the groups and clubs try to to gain members and there is a dj present and popcorn

    Bang for the buck

    there are no specials on food or anything in the book store

    What to do for fun

    nothing..

    Food and Dining

    The school has a place available but anything near the school is located towns over.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms are available.

    Academic Rigor

    It is always the best when the kids stay on top of their work. It helps with the progression of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead on all of your work. It is the best to always do the assignment and use your own words.

    In three sentences

    They have a great teaching staff. Since the increase of students there is very poor parking and very few spaces. The closeness of the buildings is great but you still have to bundle up when it is cold.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school serves delicious food. It is also very cheap!

    Dorm Life

    IUN doesn't have dorms. You have to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    College is tough. You have to study very hard to get in the program that you want. It is so competitive! Make sure that you attend all classes, or you can get lost very easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Hard! College is't easy. When going to school, it's best that you don't have a full time job. Having a job takes away from time to study.

    In three sentences

    I like the school, but I am transferring to Kaplan College (Hammond). I can't afford to go to school, so I am looking for a cheaper way to attend. I will attend Kaplan College for Medical Assisting in 2014-2015.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not had any issues personally and the campus is in a decent location but the area around campus isn't the most ideal so just like anywhere it is good to watch your back. Of course they also have campus police to watch your back too and they are happy to escort students to their cars upon request.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are independent and in need of a degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities just like many colleges including athletic and academic. Also, they have a lot of cool on campus events throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    I've always enjoyed my meals in the cafe and there is also a cafeteria. Its reasonable and perfect for hunger pangs in between classes!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are their to do their job but I have also found that they are compassionate and flexible if you have a special situation or circumstance.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what you need to know, always ask. Get to know and communicate well with professors. Stay organized and keep track of your progress.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Northwest is a well-staffed college with a very accessible campus. It is the perfect college for students who are on their own and just need a place to get an education. After 3 years of attending IUN so far and having transferred from another school, I have had a very positive experience there.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Definitely need more campus security. I wont stay on campus past 3pm.

    What to do for fun

    Try to get involved in student activities. will make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok. New staff in cafe are terribly slow and just sit there and don't help.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are super easy whereas others give you a run for your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never talk to Anne Mitchell in nursing, she is a horrible person who should be fired. Don't take night classes if possible. Get to campus early because parking isnt the easiest.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a nice campus in a not so nice part of town. Some staff don't work with students, but some professors go over and beyond to help their students. Don't take night classes if you can.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of officers on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    Slim.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a bunch.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is looking to save money and stay home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Library second floor, great view.

    Bang for the buck

    100%.

    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of clubs. They also have sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    On campus good, around campus there isn't really anything.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't live in them when I can live at home 15 minutes away.

    Academic Rigor

    There is less temptation than big universities like Bloomington.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Take notes. Read the chapters.

    In three sentences

    I think IUN is a great commuter college. It still gives you the Indiana University feel, for being at home. Everyone I have met here is real friendly.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters

    What to do for fun

    There's not a ton to do on campus outside of clubs. It's a commuter college.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter college

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your academic adviser and don't hesitate to ask them or your professors questions.

    In three sentences

    IUN is a very good school to go to. They have a ton of helpful resources. A nice cafeteria with good food, as well as a cafe in the library. And they also have tons of computer labs.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many intermural sports groups one can join. There are plenty of clubs to join. There is a weight room where you only have to pay a small amount per semester to use.

    Food and Dining

    There are several restaurants in Merrillville, Indiana, not too far from the school. Near the school, itself, there are plenty of fast food places! There are grocery stores nearby as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not believe dorms are available to stay in here. All of the classmates I have talked to commute from all over the place. I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is definitely academically challenging. I do know many other schools that have way more requirements. The program I am specifically going into is a lot less strict with its requirements than others I was looking up in other states.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would really recommend trying hard even with the easy classes. It is really hard to pull a bad gpa up. Also, always check with more than one person if you have questions regarding say financial aid or your classes.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Northwest is perfect if you do not want to live on campus. It is a smaller campus; so, it is really easy to walk from place to place and find your classes. There are some really good professors.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have different weeks dedicated to cultures all over the world.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Join different clubs on campus for extra fun.

    Food and Dining

    School food is expensive with limited food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no college dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are everything. Work hard for the grades you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! To excel you have to dedicate yourself to your classes.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Northwest is a small campus with an amazing dedicated staff. It works hard to provide the best service for each students. IUN is a commute college in Gary, Indiana.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has the best safety regulations. The police that are on duty are willing to help you no matter the reason.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the Student Alumni Association. The other people in this club are so nice. We volunteer our time to help great causes. I am so happy I decided to join this group. From what I hear, no matter what you want to get into, you have a great time.

    Great for these types of students

    Business Majors Health Majors Criminal Justice Majors Education Majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of anything that fits this criteria at the minute.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm learning so much, so fast. I love to challenge my brain and my classes are doing just that!

    What to do for fun

    -Study! (seriously, it is fun with a study buddy) -Surf the Internet -Visit the library -Join and be a part of various clubs, groups, etc. -Play sports

    Food and Dining

    I recently tried IUN's food at the RedHawk Cafe. I must say, I was impressed. I am a vegetarian, so they do offer accommodations. The food was served fast and tasted delicious! What more could you ask for?

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not offer college dorm; however, there are decently priced apartments surrounding the area. With that in mind, the apartments are not in the best of conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus have a very friendly atmosphere. However, do not mess around with the rules. If you aren't serious about your work, IUN is not afraid to drop you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is completely different from high school. If you miss a day of school, you have to find out what you missed. The teacher will not come up to you to tell you what you missed. Another tip is to be prepared to study, study, study! (study buddies are very helpful!)

    In three sentences

    I have been attending IUN for the past couple of weeks. All of the teachers and students have been a pleasure. The locations of the buildings are mostly on campus, which is really convenient.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police presence at IUN is second to none. Offers are well-trained, helpful, and friendly. Emergency police call boxes are located throughout the campus and parking lots.

    What to do for fun

    IUN frequents visits from various companies that provide entertainment and amusement. From mariachi bands to zip-lining, there's rarely a dull day.

    Food and Dining

    The IUN cafe offers a very eclectic menu. All diets and allergies can be easily accommodated.

    Dorm Life

    Due to its small size and proximity to the majority of students, IUN does not offer on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The IUN academic faculty does an excellent job at creating a challenging and stimulating experience for students, while satisfying the needs of the individual student.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly encourage that classes are attended at every session, and notes should definitely be taken and reviewed.

    In three sentences

    While it may not be one of the most aesthetic campuses, Indiana University Northwest offers just as much to students as a major university. Class sizes are typically smaller, guaranteeing personalized attention. Considering tuition is comparatively lower than its Bloomington counterpart, IUN offers an excellent education at a reasonable price.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great campus police is only a call away and they come quick :)

    Greek Life

    there isnt any.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a nice selection of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    the campus is good for sociable and friendly people with great attitudes about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there really isn't any.

    Bang for the buck

    the amount of money you pay you do get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    There is always the beach!

    Food and Dining

    the campus food selection is a nice selection of items to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't really know because i don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are great choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient and have a lot of encouragement.

    In three sentences

    i feel as though IUN is a great campus with a lot of opportunities. It is very easy to get around. All of the staff is very friendly and opening to newcomers.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    IT HAS A VERY DIVERSE ATMOSPHERE, HELPFUL FACULTY AND STAFF.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police escorts are always available upon request. At anytime you can be escorted to your car with just a phone call.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs. Always welcoming new students.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as tuition goes the pricing is low compared to most schools. Professors do try to save you money sometimes and reuse books.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs are always great ways to get involved around campus. There are many different clubs for students to join and all are welcome. Sports and recreational activities also take place and students are encouraged to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is very clean and well stocked. The prices are reasonable and there is a good variety of different foods to eat. Also there is plenty of seating so students are able to continue studying on lunch breaks.

    Dorm Life

    Because campus is fairly close to my house, I do not live in a dorm. I personally do not know anyone on campus who does. I would say most of the students at IUN live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the courses I have completed have been considerably difficult. On another note, every single one of my teachers has always made themselves available for questions and help understanding concepts. None of the classes that I have had are unmanageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    IUN offers great courses in a wide variety of majors. All of the professors are friendly and work with you to ensure a good education and understanding on different subjects. The equipment and study areas are nice and extremely helpful always.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Northwest is a great school for students who are planning on staying home to get their education. This school is reasonable in price and location with a lot to offer. I would give this University a 9 out of 10 based on my experiences.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is filled with security everywhere. Safety is definitely not an issue at IUN.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 70 clubs to join. These clubs all sound extremely fun and all have a plentiful amount of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Indiana University Northwest is very diverse and is great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is definitely one of the big advantages of coming to Indiana University Northwest. It's prices are much cheaper than Indiana University Bloomington.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do for fun like playing basketball in the gym, working out in the work out room, playing ping pong with some friends or playing some sports outside in the field.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Indiana University Northwest cafes is amazingly delicious. Definitely some of the best food I have ever had at an amazingly low rate.

    Dorm Life

    I have no clue what dorm life is like because I live 15 minutes away from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The most difficult part of the academic process is definitely the speed of the coursework. It goes pretty fast which is why good attendance is required.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with all the material, and pay very close attention in lectures. Have good attendance.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Northwest is a very diverse campus, ranging from all ages and all ethnicity's. I have certainly enjoyed attending classes here because the class size is fairly small, and the professors are very generous. I plan on continuing my education at Indiana University Northwest and hopefully get accepted into the medical school there also.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek organizations, national society organizations, ethnic organization groups, etc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is in a real urban city but the campus is very safe, if you have a vehicle try to park in the main parking lot. Campus security can always escort you.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in chicago area, the mall in merrillville indiana, the beach in miller or michigan city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, especially the breakfast muffins. Try the cafe located in the library on the first floor.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please get familiar with onestart and oncourse becuase you will be lost if you don't.

    In three sentences

    A very beautiful campus especially in the location that its in. This campus had wonderful and caring faculty and staff. this campus has a wonderful nursing program!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go into college with a goal and with high expectation, don't lower them for no one or anything! You can do it! If I, a single teenage mother working full time and doing it all alone can you can too!

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Northwest is wonderful! I love this school the environment and staff is just so welcoming. Getting accepted and starting August 27,2012 is a blessing to me!

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops do a great job of patrolling around, and the parking pass guy does a great job of ticketing cars that don't belong there. However, there is a crossing that goes through a four lane traffic area that is pretty ridiculous. Last year someone got hit. I purposely park somewhere else so I do not have to cross that street.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not experienced any. The psychology club sounds like they do a lot, but I have not gone.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students who are trying to change their careers, or students who are paying for school without any scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    If you plan on going to Indiana University, then take your per-requisites here.

    What to do for fun

    There are some opportunities, but I have not been to any except for a GRE night.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cheap, but not very good. There are no other food places around either because the campus is in Gary.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    As was previously stated, Indiana University-Northwest is a glorified community college. Some courses are actually worthy of taking...and some are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes early. You are in the middle of Gary, and it tends to get creepy at night. If a professor comes into your class and asks if anyone is interested in doing extra help, DO IT!

    In three sentences

    Indiana University-Northwest is a glorified community classes. With this school, you will not get a great education unless you go the extra mile to achieve it. Fortunately there are some really great professors who have the know how to get you where you need to go, it is just a matter of finding them.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For being located in Gary, campus police does a good job of keeping the students safe.

    Greek Life

    Little is known, those that are noted are based on ethnic background.

    Clubs and Activities

    Minimal participation and notification on events leads to unknown.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is drab. Students tend to congregate in the Savannah Center, where the newer building houses the beautiful art gallery, or the older Moraine Student Center that has a lot of seating in an old, but very loud, setting.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely cheaper than going to a big university.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. Intramural sports is disorganized and the clubs have low participation. The students tend to make their own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Eating in Gary, Indiana is NEVER a good idea.

    Dorm Life

    DO. NOT. EVEN. TRY.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a handful of professors that teach well and know the subject matter intimately. Many professors are very boring, dry and have no interest in their students as people. The classes have more work than is necessary to teach the lesson, busy work so that the professor hits the requirement.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have other options...take them! If you're stuck at IUN, it is best for people going into a branch of the medical field. The Nursing Program and medical tech programs are sufficient.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start an education if you are looking to live in the area with family and want to get pre-req's out of the way. A great place to be inspired by English professors with the limited number of English classes they offer. A joke in most respects.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although Indiana University-Northwest is located in Gary, Indiana, there are lots of campus police and safety is always number one. If there is ever a security breach on campus, the campus police notify all students via email.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs for all different majors and degrees. By going to their office or floor in certain buildings, a student can certainly find a way to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't feel totally comfortable moving away from home, or cannot finance going away to college is an ideal student for IUN.

    Bang for the buck

    IUN is definitely a good way to save money and still go to school.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out at the library and work on homework or study. However, there is also a student center where students can get together, socialize, and relax.

    Food and Dining

    Indiana University-Northwest has a variety of food options including healthier choices.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms on campus but due to the high crime rates in the Gary area, I wouldn't advise living by the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your class and professor, some courses are more difficult than other. All around classes are mild to somewhat difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always read ahead and study in advance before quizzes and tests. When you put forth the effort in your classes, professors notice it!

    In three sentences

    Indiana University-Northwest is a really good school for people who don't mind commuting to class. It's also good for students who wish to stay at or close to home during their college careers. I found many of the professors knowledgeable in their fields and always able to help.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to the IU Bloomington campus, you spend significantly less money, and receive the same Indiana University diploma when you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities to join clubs, sports, and work with other students outside of the classroom.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many choices for food on campus or nearby. This campus is a commuter campus, so it is wise to bring your own lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has some classes that are quite easy, and others that are difficult. I would say that most classes are moderate in the area of academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor regularly to check with your academic progress. Also, making sure to touch base with your teachers is of the utmost importance when trying to balance a college schedule.

    In three sentences

    This school, although located in Gary, Indiana has a wonderful academic setting. The teachers are knowledgeable and helpful. This campus is definitely a value.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The city isn't that safe, but it doesn't seem so when you're within the confines of the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for diversity and a small, intimate college experience.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure, as I am a commuter student.

    Food and Dining

    More than adequate, from my experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments can be lengthy and difficult, but fair and definitely applicable to our learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're constantly checking up on your application and financial aid, as it may take awhile to yield results. Don't overlook graduate school here - the professors will truly give you their attention and make it feel like a one-on-one experience.

    In three sentences

    All your professors know who you are, you're not just a number. I wish there was more sense of community among students. There's tons of diversity at this campus!

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play cards

    Food and Dining

    cool

    Dorm Life

    cool

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    to go here its an awesome school to go to

    In three sentences

    really great school

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    take the freshman orientation!

    In three sentences

    iun is excellent. it's also conveinent. it is very diversified.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social Dedicated Interactive

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be on time. Its a pet peeve for some teachers when you walk in late 2. Go to class. A lot of people don't go to class and then ask their classmates for notes. This gets quite annoying after a while. Go to class when you can. 3. Make friends. Everything just seems easier after you make friends. 4. If your in trouble or having difficulty with a class. Speak with your teacher. You may be able to work something out. 5. Exhaust all options when buying school supplies, mainly books.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has a wide variety of classes and each one is worth the money. Not to mention you receive help when picking your classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made many friends and I enjoy easy to understand teachers and the campus size.

    Am learning a lot

    I found that a lot of the teachers are very easy to follow. They make the transition from high school to college more comfortable and try to work with you.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the area scare you! It's a nice school and you get the same degree as IU in Bloomington.

    Bang for the buck

    IUN is cheep compared to many other schools. I have a little bit of financial aid, and don't have to take out any loans to cover the difference.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus is nice and the student center is always filled with people hanging out.

    Did learn a lot

    IUN offers a wide variety of classes, and has some of the best teacher I have ever had.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to leave home but stay home.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is expensive and there are barely any parking spaces. If you ever feel nervous there are real cops on site.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many different subject and a wide variety of diverse teachers.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheap compared to other schools but an amazing school to attend.

    Will learn a lot

    They have a diverse of majors to choose from.