Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a great, affordable school. It's located is such a convenient part of town. The professors are great and very helpful. If you are from the area and you are looking for an affordable school, this is a great place to go.

  • 07/16/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply well before the deadlines. be sure to schedule meetings with both academic and financial advisers.

    In three sentences

    a nice campus in a convenient part of fort wayne. it is one of the most affordable colleges in the area as well. it is a popular college choice as well, so several of your high school friends may be attending alongside you.

  • 12/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police department are on campus all the time so they make being on campus extremely safe. As well as this, warnings will be sent to every student through email as well as text or calling (optional) when an emergency situation happens on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I recommend downloading the Yik Yak app on your smartphone to keep up with some hilarious comments or even information from people living on campus. The best thing about it is there are no profiles, everyone is completely anonymous.

    Bang for the buck

    If you really want to join into the student life, take up a sport or a club because they give you so many more opportunities to make friends and have fun while on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Football games and other sporting events, local movie theaters, local shopping malls, spending time with friends, etc. The possibilities of what you can do to have fun while on campus is endless.

    Food and Dining

    Need something to eat while on the way to class or even to sit down and enjoy? With excellent fast food service such as Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, and Subway on campus, you'll be fed and back to class in no time.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus; I commute to school from Huntington, IN. I have heard from friends though that the dorms on campus are great to live in at a fair price though.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors I have had truly make understanding the courses I have taken much easier to understand. Studying in groups has been another benefit I've taken use of since I've come across the university life.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a much different experience than high school and IPFW gives you many opportunities to have fun, study hard, and make memories.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a great college choice for those just getting out of high school because of the relationships you may be able to develop with friends, professors, etc. It also allows you to incorporate the knowledge you gained from high school or even in general knowledge since there is so many options and opportunities for just about everyone to take advantage of. I would give IPFW a rating of 5/5.

  • 08/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Fort Wayne PD always has at least 5 to 10 cars on campus patrolling the streets for the students safety. There are emergency call polls located throughout the campus as well in case there is an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs and activities are either student or faculty run. They are always willing to accept new comers.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing lively friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The River Greenway runs through the campus which allows for students to take a nice walk around the town and enjoy the wonderful sites there are to see.

    Bang for the buck

    No matter what you spend your money on, you need to spend it wisely but there is never anything that is below average when it comes to quality.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports available for all to play as well as The Plex, which has many teams available for flag football and soccer both in the summer and in the winter

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is quick and easy to find, but there are fine places to dine all around the town.

    Dorm Life

    Room/ dorm mates here are almost always wonderful people to be around. You will never have a shortage of friends to turn to.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to try, and I mean really try, to fail out of any of your classes here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be embarrassed or afraid to ask for help here. There are always people or resources available for you to use for your benefit.

    In three sentences

    This is a place I am proud to say I am attending. With a beautiful campus filled with amazing and talented people who aspire to achieve much in their lives. This university is one that will grow and prosper for years to come.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always patrolling, and there are emergency buttons and security cameras all over campus. You can put your phone number on a list and you will get a text alert from IPFW in case of an emergency. To enter the apartments you have to put a key fob that is only issued to residents up to the door sensor.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 student organizations here for pretty much every interest. The only problem I have is not having enough time for all of the ones I am interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want an IU or Purdue quality education without the hefty price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Big Event is IPFW's yearly day of service. Students go out into the community and volunteer at local nonprofits like animal shelters, churches, or food pantries. It helps connect students to the community and give back.

    Bang for the buck

    IPFW is fairly inexpensive. If you don't take enough credit hours or fail a class and get off track you might have to stay/pay another year.

    What to do for fun

    Join a student organization! There is something for everyone. Participate in homecoming activities and the Big Event. Nearby there is a roller rink, laser tag, bowling, and of course the Coliseum. The Coliseum has hockey games, concerts, and the Vera Bradley sale.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of restaurants on campus, but not a big variety. Since housing apartments have kitchens, there is no cafeteria or meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I love the housing here. It's apartment style living with a furnished living room and kitchen. You can choose to have a private or shared bedroom or bathroom, You are matched with people of similar interests/personalities, so even if you don't know anyone going in the housing staff will find someone you can get along with. Housing staff is awesome. They put on lots of fun events like midnight breakfast, make your own snow globe, and laundry bingo.

    Academic Rigor

    I spend about two hours a day outside of class doing homework. The classes are fairly challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor, they will be vital when scheduling your classes. It's a bit of a pain, but change your access password regularly because all of your financial aid can be accessed if someone breaches your account.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great and very knowledgeable in their subjects. Campus is fairly small and easy to navigate. If being on a sports team is more important to you than focusing on academics this school isn't for you.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no need to ever feel unsafe on campus and walking to and from classes because the students here are so friendly and there are calling machines periodically where you can push a button and campus police will be happy to accompany you home.

    Great for these types of students

    IPFW is great for anyone but especially great for students who want to live at home and can commute or students who are a little short on money.

    Bang for the buck

    IPFW is a really great option academically and is incredibly affordable while still getting a great education. IPFW is a lot of fun and there's always something to do within a close distance. Not to mention by going to IPFW, you will still get a Purdue or IU diploma without going the distance or paying the price!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many groups to join at IPFW and there's almost always a sports event to go to--hockey is especially fun! In Fort Wayne there is also a lot to do, places to eat and a really awesome mall--all within 5 minutes of campus!

    Food and Dining

    IPFW doesn't have a dining hall because the apartments have full kitchens so you don't have to waste money on a dining hall you won't consistently use. On campus there is a smoothie place, Subway, Pizza Hut and Taco Bell if you ever get tired of making food at home!

    Dorm Life

    At IPFW the dorms are like an apartment so people aren't interacting the way they would in a dorm, for example, like at Purdue or IU--this makes meeting people harder but it's not all bad. The apartments are nice and the maintenance is so great and help when you need it as soon as possible. The dorms are also an easy 10 to 15 minute walk from the classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Each semester your classes will get harder as you move into more difficult subject matter but it's absolutely doable and there are a lot of help sessions to go to when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to attend events at the beginning of the semester and events within your building because since the housing is like an apartment it can be more difficult to make friends than it would be in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a great school with academics equivalent to schools like Purdue or IU but a lot more affordable. The smaller population allows students to get more attention from teachers and build relationships that are so important in learning. The campus is great with housing options within 5 miles and in a really fun city.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police station on campus and there are emergency call buttons placed around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 50 clubs on campus and different groups to get involve in and intermural sports are very big on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are Mastodons placed around campus and around the city it is fun to try to spot them when traveling!

    What to do for fun

    Fort Wayne is a large city and there are many places to go to for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food can use some variety. There is not cafeteria and the choices on campus are limited. Subway, Taco Bell, and Pizza Hut are basically the only choices on campus unless you pack a lunch. These places tend to be slow during lunch hour due to the quantity of students buying meals. They are planning on changing vendors and maybe making a cafeteria once the contracts expire with the companies in 2015.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but the dorms are clean and very well designed and furnished. Couch, Beds, Stove, Refrigerator, Bathroom and Showers and different layouts of rooms to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but they do provide a good understand of the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of homework. I will catch up with you if you put it off. Enjoy what you are studying if you do not enjoy it do not major in it. If you need help don't hesitate to ask your professors for help.

    In three sentences

    I love IPFW! The Professors are very knowledgeable about their prospective field and the tuition is a good price. There are many ways to get involved whether through clubs and activities!

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost is definitely within budget, though even with some scholarships I have found it to be hard to cover living expenses.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time studying with my friends at the library between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Their are some options for fast food around campus, I choose to pack my lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, I have heard the dorms are nice but steep on price.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers give you a reasonable course load and there is plenty of outside support offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest this school if you are trying to save money. I would recommend living off campus because campus housing is pricey. Their are many clubs to join and plenty of opportunities to meet people.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small. The professors I have had have been very well educated and very committed to helping the students. The class sizes are reasonable.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several intramural sports programs and a great sports and exercise facility.

    Food and Dining

    There are not any food establishments on campus other than taco bell, pizza hut, and subway.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes that I am enrolled are tougher and are what I expected from college, both of the English classes I have taken are a joke.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a full college experience, do not go to IPFW unless you move out of your house. Living at home, especially a significant distance away, can make it feel like a long drive to a large high school.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small but nice, with very nice recreational sports and exercise center. The staff is generally good with exceptions to the bookstore and professors that treat students like they are still in high school. For the tuition paid, it is worth the money.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on campus police and emergency phones throughout campus

    Greek Life

    None to speak of

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs around campus

    Great for these types of students

    Poor

    Bang for the buck

    IU or Purdue degree for ~20,000? yes please!

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of area attractions near the campus. The coliseum is right down the road, where they often have big name events going on.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many choices for food. We have a Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Subway, and vending machines. Other than that we have a Bravas food truck that comes every Tuesday and Thursday.

    Dorm Life

    The student housing here isn't quite what it could be, there's not much in the way of amenities but it's not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here are quality but not too difficult if you commit yourself. If you don't work hard, don't expect an easy 'a' in most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. GPA isn't everything, it's pretty easy to get in!

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a great choice for anybody who is having to pay their own way through school. When you graduate, you get your choice between selecting a Purdue or Indiana University degree. The quality of education is very good, as well, with professors who have quality experience in their fields.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus poice have a very strong showing on campus, someone is always patroling.

    Greek Life

    Not as many greeks on campus that I have notice, or at least not as many as the main campus in Indianapolis.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs and activites to mention, there is always something going on!

    Great for these types of students

    All types, especially returning students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a river that runs along side of campus with a lot of tree's and other types of greenery that is not native to the Ft. Wayne area along a trail that runs the distance of one side of the campus. Very asthetically pleasing!

    Bang for the buck

    Everything on and off campus is fairly priced as far as I know. Concerning tuition, I think this campus is worth evey penny.

    What to do for fun

    I don't really go out to often because of my load, but I like to go hangout out at Thunder Bowl for karaoke and it's normally packed!

    Food and Dining

    There is a good mix of resutaurants on campus and nearby, so you should be ok in that area.

    Dorm Life

    I stay off campus, but the dorms seem to be pretty nice and also from comments that other students have shared with me that actually live there, somewhat pricey though.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though this is not the main Purdue campus of Indianna, it's not a cake walk. I am in pre-nursing so I can only speak for those classes. Like anything else you get out what you put in!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to student orientation because they have so many programs and organizations to help the students in ways other than academically, some might go unnoticed when it's the very thing you need.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is an excellent campus and I highly recommend it. They have a wide variety student body and in my opinion they really have student success in mind. Very nice and well kept campus.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any home body or someone that likes a small town feel.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural, local zoo and things of the sort.

    Food and Dining

    Name Brand food on campus such as Taco Bell and Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    I only took online classes

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough and demanding but also very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure to find out if you could online course and if it fits your learning style. I am more of a do it yourself kind of person and that has helped me with the online courses.

    In three sentences

    I have had great experiences with IPFW especially with there online programs. The teachers do a great job of communication to you, through email and connect sessions. I would suggest IPFW to any prospective students around.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities to do set up by the university and student housing. Most of the time though I have soccer or am so tired that I sleep or do homework.

    Food and Dining

    You have to cook your own food because there is no meal plan. I like that a lot better because you can choose what you want and can eat a lot healthier. I think it also prepares you better for when you are on your own.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun! I have good roommates and there are also a lot of activities that they set up for you to meet lots of new people. The people here are just really nice as well.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are not too bad right now. They will definitely increase rigor level next semester because I am getting into classes for my major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to class and do your homework and you will be fine. The professors like you a lot more as well if you attend class and contribute.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a great school. I like all of my professors and classes are interesting. There are also a lot of clubs and activities that you can become involved in.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There isn't a dining hall on campus, therefore there are no meal plans. On campus we have a Subway , Taco bell , Pizza Hut , Yum Yums ( frozen yogurt) , and Bon Bons ( coffee shop). Also each apartment comes with a full kitchen because there is no dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Its apartment style living. You can choose anything from a private 1 bedroom apartment to a 4 bedroom , 4 bathroom apartment. They are fully furnished and all utilities paid. Also there are lots of student activities located in the club house in students housing.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a lot of help on campus from office hours to free tutoring. So even though the courses may seem a little hard at first, with all the resources, it gets easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    *study hard *be time efficient *Use the FREE campus resources *GO TO CLASS *get to know your professor * get involved

    In three sentences

    Its a wonderful school. There's are small class sizes and involved teachers. Its also very inexpensive.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rated one of the safest campuses in Indiana!

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 100 clubs and organizations ranging from A to Z.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a great degree for cheap Students who want one on one time with professors Students who want options and opportunities with orgs Ability to study abroad Student athletes Commuters Financially pressed Non traditionals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nearly Naked Mile every September. Annual Root Beer float socials. Sky walb is a wonderful place to study!

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable university while receiving either an Indiana or Purdue university degree.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals, lots of opportunities for group organizations, giant chess on campus, student housing has sand volleyball courts, basketball courts, and ping pong. Pool is offered in housing and on campus. Beautiful trails to bike, run and walk on campus.

    Food and Dining

    3 restaraunts on campus plus yoyos and a convenient store. No meal plans available.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are apartment style only. Can have a shared bedroom bathroom or private. The apartments still have the dorm set up so it's easy to meet people and create friendships. Each apartment is equipped with a fully functioning kitchen! There are computer labs in many of the buildings and they have multiple keyed entry to ensure your safety.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are manageable but offer a challenge. Wide range of professor styles so your sure to find the learning style that fits you best.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is am upcoming university. While in transition from a commuter to a tradition college they are going through many important changes. IPFW is a fun, and beautiful campus with many great opportunities.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events and programs here at IPFW. Sometimes the theatre holds shows and musicals, and there are many clubs available for almost any interest, from learning Arabic to Anime.

    Food and Dining

    The food I've usually eaten here on campus is fast food, but it's enough to get by. Since I don't live in a dorm, I don't know if there are other food options available. However there are plenty of food areas surrounding the campus that are relatively easy to reach.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are a full time student, there is definitely enough academic work load to keep you busy for a bit of your time every day. As long as you know how to budget your time, the work is manageable and will surely improve your skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend students planning on enrolling in IPFW to step in with an open mind and an open heart. There is no use in being intimidated or afraid, just put your best out there and know you can do anything you put your mind to. IPFW is a great school with goals to help you grow, and you can if you let it.

    In three sentences

    I just transferred here from Ivy Tech Community College, and being 16 years old, I was so afraid that it would be too overwhelming and intimidating for me to enjoy being a student here. However, my experience here so far has proven me wrong, because IPFW has proven to be a great school where I can expand not only my mind but my character. The teachers are always so helpful and my fellow classmates have also taught me a thing or two about life as well.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe at IPFW. We have our own campus police and have emergency stations around campus and the dorms.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here at IPFW. There are one or two small groups, but they are not prevalent on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here at IPFW, there are a decent amount of clubs that you can join. Activities are always happening on campus and can be viewed on our very own IPFW Events app.

    Great for these types of students

    Science and Engineering students at IPFW will find a rigorous and rewarding educational program. Music students will find the same rewarding program. Student athletes will find a competitive Division I program, especially if they want to participate in Volleyball or Basketball. If they don't want to participate in the athletic programs, there are intramural campus sports that they can participate in, as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Gates Center at IPFW is our athletics center. It has recently been renovated and new additions have been added to make it a beautiful facility. Our sports programs have prospered because of these renovations and fandom here at IPFW has grown due to these changes.

    Bang for the buck

    IPFW's tuition is fairly expensive, but not completely unaffordable.

    What to do for fun

    At IPFW, there are occasional on-campus activities that students can participate in. Our IPSGA is our activities management organization and they do a great job at organizing events and getting students involved. There are also many shopping stores and other businesses that students can go to for fun.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus food and dining at IPFW is available, but not optimal. There is no meal plan for students. However, there is a cafeteria with a Taco Bell and a Pizza Hut attached to it. There is a Subway in one building and a Yo-Yo's in another building. If you are looking for a college with a meal plan, this is not the campus for you, although there are a wide variety of restaurant options close to the university.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at IPFW has its pros and cons. The dorms are not really dorms. They are more like apartment complexes, complete with their own bathrooms, kitchens, and, with some apartment options, private washers and dryers. However, the monthly rent is high due to the beauty of the apartments. If you are looking for cheaper options, there are apartment complexes very close to campus that you can choose from. Also, the dorms are across the street from the campus, connected by a bridge. Student life is not very large due to the fact that this college is considered to be mainly a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Our academic rigor here at IPFW depends on the degree that you wish to pursue. Some degrees are easy to obtain and don't require much work. On the opposite end of the spectrum, some degrees are top-notch (since they come from top-notch schools - Purdue and IU) and require a rigorous learning process to complete a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understanding that IPFW is mainly a commuter campus is key. If a prospective student is looking for a large on-campus student life, they would want to try another school. Since our degrees come from either IU or Purdue, a prospective student should know what major they want to pursue BEFORE coming here, so that they don't have to switch colleges midway into their college career.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is mainly a commuter college, so if you're looking for a large student on-campus life, there isn't much depth. However, the campus is beautiful, the education is top-notch (getting your degrees from either IU or Purdue), and the faculty and staff are very cooperative and provide a friendly environment. The athletic programs here are Division I and compete against the best schools in the nation, more specifically our Volleyball and Basketball programs.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Summer classrooms are even colder than Spring classrooms because of over cooling.

    What to do for fun

    Join the events.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is the cheapest and the best university in the region.

    In three sentences

    Excellent

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANY!! Young, old, working, living at home, in-state, out-of-state; It's perfect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Nearly Naked Mile is a special event at IPFW organized every year that rallies students together for a good cause, all while having fun.

    Bang for the buck

    GREAT prices for in-state students. You do not usually find these prices at a credited university.

    What to do for fun

    IPFW is located in the heart of Fort Wayne, the second largest city in Indiana. This means there is always plenty of entertainment around town with the mall, fun spots, and plenty of parks for nature lovers. There is also an overwhelming number of restaurants, all worth a try on a culinary tour around the world.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great because there is always variety with the choices offered. Also, chances are that there is free food somewhere on campus on the days you are there, and even if it's mainly pizza, nothing tastes better than free food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at IPFW are brand new, and apartment style. Every person will have their own closet and room for privacy. It does not matter if the student is a freshman, they are able to receive the same room and treatment as a senior.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult at IPFW; however, there is so much help if one looks for it. The teachers have office hours where they will accept any questions, and have one-on-one time with students who need it. There are great tutoring programs that are free to students to help them pass with flying colors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should make sure to ask around about professors, their teaching styles, and homework. New students need to form a network of close friends to help them succeed in college and should look for groups with similar interests as their own.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is the perfect location for a college student looking for a good affordable education with a welcoming campus. This school is optimal for students in all parts of life, young and old, in-state or out-of state, as it is in a good city. IPFW is the place for a good education and experience.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus security, and stations with panic buttons.

    Greek Life

    There is nothing like that at IPFW.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs for everything that your into.

    Great for these types of students

    IPFW is great for anyone, they have something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are these Dons that are painted all over campus, and they are even around the community.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost you are attending a University nut your not paying like your attending a University.

    What to do for fun

    You can attend the basketball games and be part of the blue crew and show your team spirit.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants on campus. Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice, they're not like dorms you see on other college campuses. They are more like apartment style living.

    Academic Rigor

    Its college so its tough but if you stay focused you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your classes in the same building, it makes it easier for you to get to class and you can make them closer together.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school, the classes are just the right size so I get the help I need but I ma able to make new friends. Everything on campus is so close you can walk to everything which is great. The teachers are great as well, they make learning fun and interesting.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rich students who don't have their own family.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not feel you really get what you pay for. The teachers are cynical.

    What to do for fun

    Go to home games. Lots of extra things to do and see in Fort Wayne.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is great, but pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about this aspect of this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are extreme in some classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to spend a lot of extra money on classes that you don't need, but have to take to remain a full time student.

    In three sentences

    I feel that it is too expensive. It is very hard to get the classes I need to get done fast. I also feel that you have to jump through hoops to get registered.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get out of it whatever you put in. I put my time into figuring out what I want to do with my life and planning towards that. However if you don't, you will end up taking classes you don't need and may get off track.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join, including intramural sports and student government. There are sports games to go watch.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria or meal plan. Subway, Pizza Hut, and Taco Bell are on campus, but you have to pay normal price for all items.

    Dorm Life

    The campus housing is actually apartments. They are much more expensive than living off campus. I live in the St. Joe apartments and they are cheaper and just as nice as campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes are pretty easy and do not require much outside study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what you want to major in early and make regular meetings with your adviser to stay on track!

    In three sentences

    IPFW provides many majors and many opportunities to explore what you may want to do with your life. It is inexpensive and very affordable. One downfall of this college is that people aren't friendly and it is very hard to make friends as compared to other colleges.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    IPFW is a great community. The professors and advisors are available to help whenever you need them. It is a wonderful place to go to school.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are available 24/7 and are very friendly

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students have many opportunities on campus as well as engineering students.

    Bang for the buck

    IPFW is a very affordable college that doesn't skimp on the value of your education.

    What to do for fun

    The theater department has several plays each academic year that students get to go to for free. There is also a great sports center to work out or take fitness classes. There is an awesome sprinkler to play in during the warmer months. Ping pong, billiard pool, big screen TVs, game systems, and of course computers are available to entertain you in the student union.

    Food and Dining

    IPFW has many food choices to offer you. Even as a vegetarian, I never went hungry. They have on-campus a Subway with all of the fixings, a Pizza Hut with a full salad bar, a Yo-Yo's yogurt shop, a locally owned coffee shop, and a Taco Bell. There are also many places to eat near-by. My favorite is the local health food shop just down the road.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spacious, clean, safe, and modernly decorated. A dry campus and dorms assures safety for all students, staff, and faculty, and highlights the professionalism associated with IPFW.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though IPFW is a community college, it is still an award winning for its performance of offering higher education. Professors are experts and professionals that have worked within their field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter who you are or what you're doing, IPFW will make it work for you. They have many online, night, and weekend classes to offer traditional and non-traditional students. Work with faculty, other students and alumni to determine what type of class is the best fit for you. I really enjoy evening classes because of the diversity.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a great local community college. It has opened doors for many people in the Fort Wayne and surrounding area, at all ages. Our community is a stronger, smarter, and more innovative one because of the academic excellence IPFW offers to its students and alumni.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IPFW has a 24/7 campus police with officers that have been on the city police department. The campus is well light and there are emergency stations all across campus. If it is late and you do not want to walk to car alone, you can contact campus police and one of the officers will escort you to your vehicle.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of student organizations on campus. There are organizations for majors, religion, sports, and other special interest groups. The student government has 4 branches that students can enter; the executive branch (presidents and VPs), the legislative branch (Senate), student activities board (the fun group), and the judicial branch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is becoming a yearly tradition to have a Humans vs Zombies game.

    Bang for the buck

    IPFW offers both Indiana University degrees and Purdue University degrees for less than the main campuses.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Board hosts many events throughout the year. There are many student orgs on campus who do the same. There are official sports games as well as club sports. IPFW has Riverfest during the summer. There is a comedy club right around the corner. For those old enough, there is a club not far from campus.

    Food and Dining

    IPFW has 4 restaurants and a coffee house on campus. There is a convenience store in the student union as well as several vending machines with sandwiches, ice cream, and frozen food items located around campus. There are many off campus restaurants in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more like apartments. They range from a 1 bed:1 bath to a 4 bed: 4 bath. All of the dorms have a living room, dining room, and a kitchen. There are 24 hour laundry facilities in each building. The Waterfield campus housing has a fitness center and social lounges. Student orgs tend to host some of their events in the social lounges.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes recommend at least 3 hours of study time for every credit hour being taken. Make sure to come to class prepare and do not slack or procrastinate. It will make your life easier and a little less stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus and meet with an adviser from the department you are interested in to give you the full scope of what IPFW has to offer.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a wonderful university with a beautiful campus. Numerous undergraduate and graduate programs are offered. IPFW has a wonderful Honors Program for students who wish to excel.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police cars are parked at every corner

    What to do for fun

    Many student activities offered every single day.

    Food and Dining

    Pizza Hut, subway, Taco Bell and spoons are on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Fafsa done early and tidy hard!

    In three sentences

    I love it there. The professors are awesome!

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can ride their bikes on the campus trail that circles around the college, play pool or watch movies in the Clubhouse, attend clubs and groups that focus on subjects that you may enjoy, or work out in the student gym. There are numerous activities scheduled each month, so students have many opportunities to choose events that they would enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    I really do not eat at the college . I wish I could say more on this subject, but I do not feel I know enough for it to help new students.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is great for first and second year students who can study in a group setting. It is also great if you love to be around people and meet new friends all the time. It is definitely better for students who are social and have no problem sharing a space. It is also great if you want to feel secure and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    I always feel challenged in my fine art classes. I am learning and growing in this field and really feel that I will succeed because I have worked so hard to get where I am. I think that if this same challenge is in all classes then you will also feel challenged as I have.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important rule would be to stay on top of your studies. Try not to get bogged down in other activities that are not related to your classes, especially if your grades are slipping. Maintain a great GPA! If you have to work, make sure you stay on a schedule with schoolwork. Try not to procratinate because it will be very stressful if you wait until the last possible moment to complete assignments. Think of college as high school on steroids and be ready to dig in and stay focused on what truely should matter to you. This is an opportunity to make the rest of your life worthwhile. Try to make friends that make healthy relationships so that you are not using energy in all the drama. It may affect your grades and you are the most important aspect of your life while at college. Try to take time to relax and get focused if you are feeling overwhelmed. Talk to someone you look up to and don't be afraid to ask for help if you need it.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college for those who want a smaller campus feel. The advisors are very helpful and are willing to assist in any situation you may need them for. Housing is great for the first and second year students until you get aquainted with the college and friends.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No idea.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to attend small classes and like to connect to their teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful bridge over the river.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the club house and play different types of games.

    Tips for prospective students

    IPFW is a good place to complete your graduation. Try to aim for the scholarships, that will reduce the cost of attending school extensively.

    In three sentences

    The university has a beautiful campus. The quality of education is very good. A good university to attend to.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police. Fort Wayne Police. we're safe

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really have any experience outside of the athletic department

    Great for these types of students

    All types. IPFW definitely has something for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we're crazy about our Don. show the spirit !!!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a major university degree (IU or Purdue) for a minor university price

    What to do for fun

    Sports galor. Concerts, pro sports games. Fort Wayne has plenty to do if you look.

    Food and Dining

    plenty of food options on and off campus

    Dorm Life

    WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYY to exspenive. Nice apartments though, and the staff is usually friendly

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention to what your intended major is and follow the graduation guide explicitly. Also, don't let academic advisors limit the number of credit hours you take.

    In three sentences

    Great School. Amazing Athletics. Beautiful Campus

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe nothing has ever happened to me on campus. The officers are always patroling and doing their rounds.

    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for all types of students young and old.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe you get the whole package coming here. You can get a taste of campus life and you can get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    I dont know much you can do for fun I think they need to create more social activities to encourage interaction and begining to meet people and build relationships.

    Food and Dining

    I think the food is ok. I do think they could work on having more choices and healthier options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms I am not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. work hard from the begining. Stay focused and go for your goal.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is very diverse. IPFW has teachers that care about your success. IPFW is growing as a campus.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We don't have a meal plan. Clubs and different events offer free food.

    Dorm Life

    IPFW's dorm life is expensive. They're strict. They have different events for students to participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    IPFW's academics are virtuous. They're compelling. They're very supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be active. They should be open-minded. Also, be very determined.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is creative. They're helpful towards anyone's major. They're inspirational.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Other than the murder a few years back campus is safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Most fun on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want their own space and those interested in feeling independant

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    It is a nice average college campus

    What to do for fun

    there are many interesting clubs on campus to join. Like Chinese Club, Club Seoul, and Global Christian Fellowship, where one can meet people from all over the globe

    Food and Dining

    there are a few restaraunts on campus, however this is not as effective as a meal plan. for students who live in the dorms and are without transportation it can be very difficult to get a cost-effective meal plan due to the only grocery store that the campus link bus takes students to is closed.

    Dorm Life

    Student housing at IPFW is much better than at other dorms due to it's apartment like style, however the cost of living here appears to be greater than the quality of the dorms themselves with neiboring apartment complexes with similar furnishings being able to easily undershoot the cost.

    Academic Rigor

    professors are for the most part competent in their field and advisors seem to be effective coaches on how to graduate here. There are also many resources to help students such as, CASA tutoring services International Students Organization and ODMA (Office of Diversity and Multuicultural affairs) which are all geared toward students success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for buying your own food an suppling your own transportation because their is no meal plan at the school. There are resturants on campus but they are only open on week days from 8am to 5pm 8am to 3pm on friday

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Purdue University Fort Wayne Is a diverse campus. It is small but feels welcoming and professors are egar to help students. the housing is very well funished but is a little expensive.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I decided to get my PHD degree from this university.

    In three sentences

    it is fabulous university.i am intressted in applying for this university and i want to study in this good university.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is some theft so don't let your things out of sight.

    Greek Life

    None at this campus as in a bigger campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    BBC and intrumarals

    Great for these types of students

    For people who doesn't like the really big city life but a small city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a little romantic place in the back where you can take your significant other and enjoy the scenery.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many on campus jobs. Stress that you're a student because most companies loves to hire students.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club that travels and go on outings.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of resturants near that is good and tasty. Don't sleep on the small resturants because those be the best.

    Dorm Life

    Never stayed in the dorms but I would personally recommand aan apartment. Much cheaper inmy opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very hard but you have to stay focused and please utilize what the university offers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be to make sure you have an idea of what you want so it will make your path to success easier. Try new things as well as organizations and clubs.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a growing college that is makign progress. One of the things they are working on is making the college diverse. If I asked for one thing out of this university it would be for them to start a football program.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with activities on campus, do not just study. It is also very important to never procrastinate on your homework.

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a nice school that has much to offer incoming freshman, with all of there various degrees. There is a very good diversity of students. There are also many good advisors that will do everything that they can to help you graduate.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm incredibly excited to play in the Pep Band at IPFW. Continuing the hobby of music is something that felt very important to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    They've sent home bags full of tips and pointers for excelling in the college world>

    In three sentences

    IPFW is a fantastic opportunity to experience the university life without having to travel to distant lands. I'm incredibly excited to start college and purse my dreams here. Already I've received advice and counsel from a wonderful advisory board and they fill me with confidence.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Student Govt is very active and one could catch a free meal seemingly everyday

    What to do for fun

    Fun is what one would make of any town. Fort Wayne isn't packed with things to do but I have been here 12 years and enjoy it very much

    Food and Dining

    I give it 4 stars because there are a handful of options. Typical college food..nothing particularly healthy

    Dorm Life

    I have lived off-campus from the start and do not know

    Academic Rigor

    Connected to IU and PU. I've taken one class at West Lafayette and in Fort Wayne and they compare quite well

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Federal Aid. Cheap school that is almost covered in grant money

    In three sentences

    I have been away from school for a few years and IPFW is a comfortable fit

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A good education for a great price.

    What to do for fun

    Sports events, Komets hockey and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Besides a couple of on campus fast food restaurants, the only place to eat are places in Fort Wayne that you must drive to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new, but expensive. Most students at this college live in nearby apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Not every class is simple, but not too many classes are extremely tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! You don't realize how important this is until you graduate and start looking for a job. Just having a degree isn't enough in today's society, so do everything you can to stand out.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a smaller and cheaper school, this is the school for you. The class times are flexible and there are plenty of ways to get involved. Class sizes are smaller than most universities and teachers do get to know your name.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    IPFW offers a decent amount of dining experiences. A dining hall, Taco Bell, and Subway are a few of the choices

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms, however the students who do really enjoy it. They're only a few years old, and still have a new feel to them.

    Academic Rigor

    IPFW has a wide variety of IU and Purdue degrees available. It's a great place to start if you're undecided or want to stay close to home.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not to expensive compared to other big colleges plus IU and Purdue are world know colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor they are always available and very helpful in helping you start your college life in the right path.

    In three sentences

    Great place to meet people from all parts of the world, a very diverse school and great place to meet friends for life.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've had very late classes and always felt safe on campus, even in the dark.

    Greek Life

    No idea!

    Clubs and Activities

    Always have tons of fun activities going on in Walb, and I hear the sports department is pretty great even though we don't have a football team.

    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombie Run thingy is cool, and campus is beautiful. Great for exercising.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive, but then again it is everywhere! It's worth it, and the professors really try to give you what you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in Walb Student Union - they have tons of stuff going on!

    Food and Dining

    Taco Bell on campus?! It's awesome! Also, Pizza Hut and Subway. Though adding some Chinese food wouldn't hurt...

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know because I live off campus, but I've heard it's not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and sometimes the grading may seem harsh, but in the end it's for the better and you'll learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in Walb Student Activities, you'll make a ton of friends!

    In three sentences

    Most of the students are friendly. The professors are unique and funny. The campus is beautiful!

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The best,i feel safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    swimming

    Great for these types of students

    sharp-minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    really none

    Bang for the buck

    yes it is,

    What to do for fun

    read

    Food and Dining

    dont eat much there

    Dorm Life

    very quite

    Tips for prospective students

    To ask questions

    In three sentences

    The best school

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    challenge yourself. sign up and take harder classes, it's worth it.

    In three sentences

    ipfw is a fine school if you don't want to be pushed. if you're looking for an easy 4 years for a degree, ipfw is honestly the school for you.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is very safe. there are campus police available, and there are emergency stations.

    What to do for fun

    the athletic center is very nice to work out in.

    Food and Dining

    we have taco bell, subway, and pizza hut. it is really good.

    Dorm Life

    i commute to school, so i do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the work load is about average i would assume.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you always go to class. you do not want to get behind.

    In three sentences

    it is a great college. the campus is good sized. my professors have been great so far.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    social greek life is nonexistent.

    Great for these types of students

    most students would probably enjoy ipfw. you may want to make sure they have a major you want, though. if you're really into aviation or forestry, for instance, you may wish to check out purdue west lafayette instead.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a couple of interesting pedestrian bridges; also there's a mastodon skeleton in kettler hall.

    Bang for the buck

    the price is right. except for the textbooks. don't buy textbooks from the bookstore, instead buy them from amazon. or check out mastodonmarket.com, which is a small but growing ipfw book resale website.

    What to do for fun

    go to an event. most weeks there is at least one event where everyone is invited and there's free pizza. lots of stuff is free for students, especially on-campus concerts and speakers.

    Food and Dining

    taco bell is awesome! pizza hut- pizza is tasty and i've heard good things about the buffet subway- haven't tried it but it smells like subway

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the major and the class. my classes are not easy, nor are they particularly hard. if you show up, put in a good effort and do the assigned work, you will most likely get a decent grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    living on-campus is pretty expensive but there are several other options nearby. there are no meal plans. walb student union has a taco bell and pizza hut in the basement, but they close around 5pm. subway in kettler hall is open later. if you are moving from out of town, bring a car. it makes life in fort wayne much easier.

    In three sentences

    ipfw is great if you want a bigger school with fairly small classes. most professors i've had seem very knowledgeable and helpful. there are many student organizations to join and events to attend.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always driving around making sure everything is going good.

    What to do for fun

    sporting events

    Tips for prospective students

    if you like small schools yet want a true college experience you need to attend ipfw.

    In three sentences

    this school has helped me come out of my shell. i know i will be getting the best education at ipfw. the staff truly cares about your education, and are there for you.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the mall. go go karting or putt-putt

    Food and Dining

    very good selection of food in fort wayne

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are really nice have your own rooms and a kitchen.

    Tips for prospective students

    come here to school it is fun and there is a lot to do.

    In three sentences

    this school is very good and helpful. they have a lot of good degrees. they help you decide on a major.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of different clubs to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    great for close to home/ commuter students

    What to do for fun

    go to the games and the mall!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that this school is the best place for your major. if you are a biology major, maybe going to a more developed program will be more beneficial to you.

    In three sentences

    a small school that gives you a quality education for a great price. you get what you pay for.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there are many choices to pick in fort wayne, near ipfw campus. it pretty much has anything you can think of.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice and very spacious but i wouldn't recommend them to anyone because of various reasons

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are great for what you need and are especially for your major. the professors are always available to help and are willing to provide you with extra amount of help if your struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to study hard, focus in class and get involved.

    In three sentences

    it is a pretty campus. the students are very helpful and easy going and the professors are very willing and available.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security on campus and in dorms. they are on campus 24/7. you feel very secure on campus.

    Greek Life

    the campus offers one sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a wide variety of clubs and activities to choose from. i think there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    ipfw has a place for every type of student. it is truly home away from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    scattered around the campus, are huge/decorated mastadon statues.

    Bang for the buck

    after researching many colleges, i found that ipfw was a college that i could afford and offered everything that i was looking for.

    What to do for fun

    sporting events and campus activities are always available on campus. dorm activities are another plus. students can also volunteer for city events.

    Food and Dining

    on campus we have pizza hut, subway, taco bell and a cafe. each campus apartment includes a kitchen for your own personal cooking. not far from campus, you can find any type of restaurant you choose.

    Dorm Life

    dorm housing is available both on and off campus. you have a variety of room styles to choose from. they come fully furnished and utilities are included.

    Academic Rigor

    the grading scale is a 4.0. this requires additional studying along with assigned work from professors. attending classes is very important, along with communicating with professors, to the students overall success.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit the campus and see all that it has to offer. the city life also has a lot to offer.

    In three sentences

    indiana university-purdue university- fort wayne indiana is the perfect college for me. not only is the price right, it is close to home but also gives me the opportunity to be away from home. with all the educational degrees, it can be the perfect place for everyone!

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IPFW is largely a commuter's college, giving the local community a chance to work, live at home and attend classes. The classes online are great too. Potentially, the student body isn't as tightly knit unless you live on campus. If you're like me, 25 years old, commuting and employed full time, it's a very good fit.

    Bang for the buck

    Who wouldn't want to obtain a legitimate degree from a state university like IU or Purdue for half the cost? You may not walk the same halls as Neil Armstrong or Bobby Knight, but Fort Wayne is a great place to live!

    Food and Dining

    At IPFW there is a Taco Bell, a Subway and a Pizza Hut on campus. Plus, Fort Wayne is the city of restaurants. Can't beat that!

    Academic Rigor

    College doesn't pull punches. If you don't show up and don't do your homework, you're toast. IPFW gives you the grade you work for, most of the time. I enjoyed the honors classes I've taken. However, you may not have an equal balance of motivation among some of your fellow students. The ratio of students accepted to students who actually graduate is rather staggering. It's not the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. It's local and a great place to save on tuition while receiving a Purdue or IU degree - pretty rocking concept.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a new college student, be aware of studying habits.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are expensive

  • 10/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to have a great college experience at a reasonable price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not purchase your books from the bookstore on campus, they are VERY expensive. If you have to, wait until the first day of class, see what the book looks like and then find it online. They will be so much more cheaper. Renting is okay, and if you return your book you will NOT receive as much as you purchased it for, almost guaranteed.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is great. The campus is beautiful and well-kept. The new student housing buildings are the nicest looking apartments you will find in the area, not to mention, you get your OWN bedroom. No need to have a tiny dorm room that you share with a roommate. You even have the choice of living with your own bathroom. The choices for floor plans are great.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are tons of activities to do on campus and student housing. Free food is EVERYWHERE and the RA's do a really good job of putting on activities almost every night.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really try and make sure you are learning the material, so long as you have a non-lecture setting to the classroom. They are very open and nice and will help you, or set up a time when they can help you, as long as you ask.

  • 08/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I feel like the campus is great for all kinds of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have is to get involved, and to be open to meet new people. Everyone there is really nice and probably wants to get to know everyone just like you do.

    Bang for the buck

    Although this school is expanding, it's still fairly cheap, compared to other universities. The only thing that's moderately pricey is the dorms, but i feel like it's not too bad considering they have just built them and are very nice.

    Am enjoying being here

    i am really enjoying it here. The campus is beginning to grow and there are a lot of things to do here. I feel like I'm never bored, they've just redid the gym and it's great if you're the workout type. There's a higher grounds coffee shop on campus and if you love coffee like i do, you will really enjoy it.

    Am learning a lot

    I've been there for only a week but i feel like all the teachers there are very informative. They always are there to help whenever they can. If they can't help you they'll send you to someone who can.

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. Even if they don't have a major you want, they have most or all of the basic/gen ed classes you need to get started.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like most colleges, parking and traffic are really bad for the first two weeks. Arrive early, especially if you don't know your way around. DON'T park somewhere that isn't a space - you will get a ticket, no matter how many other people are also illegally parked. If parking gets really bad, they open up overflow parking, and they're currently constructing another parking garage.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're on a smaller budget, IFPW will work with you so that you can start out at Ivy Tech and only take credits that will transfer. They have lots of free tutoring and help services, the campus is nice (and constantly being updated/added on), and hold lots of events that are free or cheap.

    Am learning a lot

    I've only had a few professors that I didn't like. Most of them are very knowledgeable and experienced in their field, and many of them are professional while still being approachable and fun.

  • 02/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for social students, students who love to make friends and want a great learning experience for a GREAT price. IPFW offers free tutoring, help for any and every student!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go to the school and take a tour before enrolling. This school would be for someone who wants a change and the college life, but someone that does not want to leave and be totally away from your family.

    Bang for the buck

    At IPFW it is about half the price, if not more, than other colleges around Indiana. It also gives you a great learning experience for everything you learn and how you get to interact with the professors and other students. IPFW also offers free tutoring to all students!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to school at IPFW. Being 30 minutes away from my house and having such a great learning experience, I really am learning at college not just going there to spend my money. I have made many friends, there are also many campus activities to get you to know others very well.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes have about 20-30 students, this creates a great learning experience and getting to know your professors. I have learned a great amount since being enrolled at IPFW.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IPFW is a great university for all types of students. I believe there is something here for everyone. There are so many clubs, events, and activities to get involved in. There is always something going.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to IPFW saves lots of money as opposed to going to college out of state. They offer a variety of courses and have plenty of majors. If you are undecided, take different courses and I'm sure you will eventually find something that interests you.

    Am enjoying being here

    My instructors have been great and really have a passion for teaching. Everybody seems so nice and I have met a lot of great people this past semester. There are always events going on that students can participate in and many people on campus that students can interact with.

    Am learning a lot

    IPFW offers a variety of courses that students can choose from. So far, all of the classes I have taken at IPFW have been very interesting and the advisors do their best to place you in a class that is right for you.

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IPFW is great for just about any student. We have many international students, students who commute to campus, and apartment style on-campus housing. There is something here for everyone to get involved in. If you are struggling to adjust to the lifestyle in Fort Wayne I would recommend trying to join an on-campus organization. This may bring you out of your comfort zone but I have found that in the end the benefits greatly outweigh the costs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure of what you want to major in, come to IPFW. You will save money by coming to the satellite campus for Indiana or Purdue University. Once you decide what you want to major in then you may decide to transfer to either of the main campuses. However, the charm of this college may entice you to finish your degree here.

    Bang for the buck

    The city of Fort Wayne has so much to offer spanning from sports venues, festivals, and theatrical productions. Each of these attributes make Indiana-University Purdue-University Fort Wayne a great campus to study at because you not only get a reasonably priced education but there are so many activities going on that you can never get bored.

    Am enjoying being here

    I commute to campus, but this does not change how I feel about IPFW. While on campus I enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, the down-to-earth professors, and quality of student life. There are always activities occurring, clubs to get involved in, and free food!!

    Am learning a lot

    The courses not only in your major, but also in your general education requirements will be very insightful. Also, since IPFW is a smaller campus than the larger state universities, you can expect to enjoy class sizes that are around 30 people or less. This definitely helps to enhance your learning because you are able to develop a closer relationship with your professors.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IPFW offers numerous areas of study. This school is great for practically everyone. If you intend on being a video game designer, or something of that nature, this school is not right for you. Other than that, IPFW can offer everything else!

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to you is this: do not buy your books until the first week of school UNLESS you are absolutely sure that you will be using it. Some teachers do not use the books listed for the course or will allow you to use later editions of the book. This will help you to avoid any unnecessary purchases.

    Bang for the buck

    Fair prices. They also offer fair deals on their cash for books event. I was able to get more money back than what I paid for on my books.

    Am enjoying being here

    They offer many extraciricular activities and sports. They have events where free food is given as well as IPFW gear. The teachers are great and enjoy working and teaching at IPFW.

    Am learning a lot

    IPFW places you in classes that are at your level. They work hard to make sure they find you classes that are right for you.

  • 06/10/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This school has a very pretty campus and the apartments are extremely nice. They are getting new floor plans which will be nicer. One downfall is that you don't know your roommates until about July more than likely plus financial aid information is given late.