Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Metro Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/20/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A lot of places to eat in San Juan

    Dorm Life

    Technically there are no dorms, but living in the area is pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent music department, right on par with the Conservatory.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a car.

    In three sentences

    Modern campus with around 6 levels, always has parking, and if living in the San Juan area in Puerto Rico, is quite accessible and always has available parking space. Education is decent enough to practically let you choose your own path as a student, whether you want it easy or hard.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have cameras everywhere and guards everywhere. I think slightly overprotected.

    Greek Life

    I love computers even though I study Business. I work well with computers.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer some not very into clubs really.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges in the states it's slightly cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    I play for sub 22 and semi pro football. I am a running back and I don't get paid. I play for fun and the cost of the league is not cheap.

    Food and Dining

    All they have around is junk food.

    Dorm Life

    My mother lets me stay in her house she has here in Puerto Rico.

    Academic Rigor

    I am trying my best in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen and study hard. Teachers won't be after you to turn in your work so considered a failed class as a failed investment.

    In three sentences

    The school doesn't have a very organized process for enrolling. School is one of the most expensive with little scolarships to help. They treat you as if it were a public college.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of organization/clubs that you can join in the school. I suggest taking advantage of as many as you can so that you become acquainted with other students and the Island as well!

    Food and Dining

    The food truck right off of campus are amazing!!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but can easily be done with hard work and self study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this college with a purpose! When you come to Inter American, know what you want to get out of a college and know what degree you would like to achieve!

    In three sentences

    Inter American University is a great college it is full of diversity. This school helps you get to know about other cultures while receiving a degree. I would pick Inter American University over any university, hands down!

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not very active.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very active student clubs,there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Curious and responsible students. Trimester courses are not for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there are any.

    Bang for the buck

    It's much more expensive than the UPR college system, but it's pretty good. Very clean facilities and flexible schedules!(until you start your concentration courses. In my case, Microbiology concentration classes tend to be offered in the afternoon or at night. I heard the school is working to change this, though.)

    What to do for fun

    Walk around, take the train to plaza las americas, eat with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There's some variety, but I personally rather eat outside the campus.

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not offer on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Anything is possible with time management. Since the programs are in trimester instead of semester, it can easy to get behind on work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make good use of your time, get orientation for study abroad opportunities, pass by the financial aid office for any extra aid you may qualify, enjoy how close you are to all your classrooms!

    In three sentences

    The campus is in a very comfortable location. Many places to eat and very close to public transportation! So it's easy to move around! It's a really small campus though..

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far I've never heard of any disturbances in the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities almost weekly in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Lack of food is not a problem as there are several places to chose from at lunch time or any other time of the day/night.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-site living arrangements available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some faculties are more strict and prepare you better than others.

    In three sentences

    A small university that is ideal for new college students looking for the basic college experience. Professors are very nice and care for the students. Somewhat pricey compared to other colleges in Puerto Rico.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not part of any.

    Great for these types of students

    General

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I study online.

    Food and Dining

    Not so bad local fare.

    Academic Rigor

    So far it seems quite easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of their on-line courses.

    In three sentences

    This school was my first option due to the number of programs offered. They have plenty of on-line courses available as well as many campuses. Quite popular here in Puerto Rico.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are sports and activities you can choose from.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good. it can be better.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit in person first to see the school.

    In three sentences

    inter american is a great school for student who wants to finish their degree fast. you have a variety of majors to choose from. classes are teached in english and spanish.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Amazing Concerts, DO NOT MISS THEM!!!

    Food and Dining

    Great food and service!

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Enjoy!

    In three sentences

    It's a place to learn and to create great friendships. Long lines before the Academic year starts, but great classes after all is done. Too much structure.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they bring pizza when is the student counsel votation

    Bang for the buck

    is in the average of other private colleges

    What to do for fun

    Going out at night to recreate at the old san juan. Going to discos, goin to the beach, walk in el yunque, go kayaking to bio bay. go eat mofongo, go to the observatory of arecibo, go to caves of camuy, go to rivers.. a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    ohhh.. Variety. they have their cafeteria with all that can you imagine. There is a subway, two pizza places, one burrito place, one pasta place, one church, one chinesse, taco bell pizza hut.. nice huh!! Yes, there is no veggetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Do not have dorms.. The hospels are like 15 minute walk away

    Tips for prospective students

    Admission is not that difficult. Hard is to pay tuition. Choose the trimester program, is fast. Use public transportation is great!

    In three sentences

    I love that is a green community,everywhere there is a recycling trash can. Students and Proffesors are reachable. Is a fast way to end your grade

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good

    Clubs and Activities

    Depending on you

    Great for these types of students

    Hmmm

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you make that mistake ok you will see for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    No way search other university in Puerto Rico such as UPR, Sagrado Corazon, UCB, Sistema Ana G Mendez, Adventist University, Catholic University, others.

    What to do for fun

    I dont think you will have fun being dissappointed.

    Food and Dining

    Same menu makes you irritated and dine elsewhere.

    Dorm Life

    About that, Your on your own, loans that's it, debt for you and more problems.

    Academic Rigor

    One thing only they want your money my fellow veteran and military servicemen. Don't go there thinking becuase of that you will get dissapointed with the lacks of accreditation and lack of knowledge and programs for veterans and soldier communities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not military friendly they lack full accreditation of any military education Financial such as VA Education Benefits are good but if you read above that's what they lack and is what military and veterans seek.

    In three sentences

    Not adequate for Veterans they lack many in accreditation Not military friendly they lack full accreditation of any military education Financial such as VA Education Benefits are good but if you read above that's what they lack and is what military and veterans seek.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its not that safe because anyone is welcome to see the campus, except those who aren't students wont be allowed to study unless they present a student id

    Greek Life

    none specific

    Clubs and Activities

    youth group

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who wants to make a living career out of studying criminal justice or nursing

    What to do for fun

    billards and panchita's pub

    Food and Dining

    the food provided there is quite healthy and good tasting

    Dorm Life

    i dont know since i dont stay there to sleep

    Academic Rigor

    quite well

    Tips for prospective students

    none, just to be academically and mentally prepared

    In three sentences

    the university specializes in criminal justice and nursing. very well prepared but unfortunately quite expensive, so i must say thats why i am looking for an extra grant to pay the extra money.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    not much.

    Food and Dining

    there are good places to eat right in front of the school. there's pizza, sandwiches, etc. right across the street are taco bell and other fast food places if you're having a craving.

    Academic Rigor

    it's fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    if english is your first language, there's an english trimester program!

    In three sentences

    it's a fairly boring school. not much goes on there.

  • 03/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All study fields. Excellent Education program, Music Program, Nursing and Chemistry.