Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jamestown Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 07/13/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mostly people are there to study. Without dorms, I suppose students interested in mischief would do that elsewhere in town.

    Greek Life

    Good, I guess. I was invited to join the Phi Theta Kappa honor society while at JCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    I confess I didn't pay much attention to clubs while I was there. I was busy working and studying.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters Low-income Not sure what program to pursue Local and not ready to leave home Did poorly in high school and need a chance to boost their resume

    Bang for the buck

    Great!

    What to do for fun

    I lived in town anyway, so I already had friends here. For fun I'd pursue outside activities with them, like going to Allegany State Park, or go see a movie at the Carmike. Occasionally we'd take a trip to Buffalo for shopping or museums. On campus, I spent time in the student lounge and attended campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    There was one cafe on campus, plus a few vending machines. The operating hours were limited and the food choices more so. With food allergies, I was basically limited to a salad if I wanted to buy food on campus. Prices were a little high for what you got. On the other hand, you could easily walk up the road to Burger King, or get some snacks at CVS.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home, and the local (Olean) campus did not provide dorms anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    Other than my struggles with mathematics, I found the coursework to be fairly easy. I enjoyed the subjects and thought the assignments fair in terms of time and knowledge required. Most professors were very willing to give extra help outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try! It is easy to do well here. Get good grades and take part in campus clubs and activities. Get to know your professors and make connections. Do this, and you will have an impressive resume and great references upon graduation.

    In three sentences

    JCC was a great place to start for a local girl not quite ready to leave home. I was able to meet my General Education requirements and narrow down my career goals a bit. I found the coursework not overly strenous, so was able to achieve a high GPA. By the time I graduated, I was ready to transfer to a 4-yr college.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's new events happening on campus. Just look for the posters!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the summer classes.

    In three sentences

    All of the teachers are so eager to do the best they can for you.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite safe and nothing extreme ever happens here.

    What to do for fun

    The activity board sets up many decent events

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but decent for what it is. The college is trying to make it better every year .

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I do not have any In put on that.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is hard but also dependent on your field for some are very intensive others just have many classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have an idea what you want to do. Also talk to the college they are always willing to help

    In three sentences

    A great place to begin ones academic career and a great stepping stone to move forward

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    JCC is a relatively safe campus and the Catt County Campus is near the Olean City Police Station, they are the campus security. There have been a few car break ins but those can be avoided by leaving no valuables in your vehicle.

    Great for these types of students

    JCC is excellent for all types of students, it has a wide range of classes and offers remedial classes for those that need them and also has a honors program and a version of National Honor Society. JCC is also great for students who prefer smaller class sizes and more teacher to student contact.

    Bang for the buck

    JCC is a very affordable way to get basic classes out of the way, no matter who you are. If you did well in high school JCC costs next to nothing. If you academics have not been superb JCC is still very affordable, the Catt county Campus costs somewhere around $2,000 a semester.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at the Catt County Campus is wonderful. Most or all of it is made by Shelia herself, and is very delectable. No one really ever complains about it.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the Cattaraugus County Campus, I do not live in a dorm. I have not seen the Jamestown Campus, so i can not rate the dorm life fairly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on what classes you take. The intro classes are easier, while some of the courses such as Anatomy and Physiology can be challenging but are manageable with the right amount of preparation. JCC also offers remedial classes that will catch you up to the college level courses so you have the best chances to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Jamestown Community College is an excellent college for both recent high school grads and unconventional students who are reentering the educational system. There are many exceptional professors who care about the students and will gladly help you when you need it. There are also two campus locations; Cattaraugus County Campus in Olean is a commuter campus, and the Jamestown Campus has residence halls.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to a school that is small class sizes and want to be in a area with a lot of wild life and vegitation.

    What to do for fun

    The campus life people plan a lot of events from a picknick at the beging of the semester to different events on infomation to suceed in college. Tranfer fairs and speakers.

    Food and Dining

    There arnt a lot of options for a person who is vegan. They have a lot of food choices for people who are meat eaters though.

    Dorm Life

    The residence life staff is attentive and avaliable whenever needed. They know everyone in the dorms and have a lot of fun activities planned for residents.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with all professors good communication is key to sucess. Study hard and get help when needed it is free to get help.

    In three sentences

    Has a great staff that are there for the students. Information is easy to acess and great if you live on campus. I would give the college a 10.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are not quite ready to move away from home or that do not have the money to spend!

    What to do for fun

    There are activities planned for most Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

    Food and Dining

    I live at home and do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some parts are relatively hard, but school comes pretty easy to me so I do not struggle too much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes here as you can if you plan to transfer so you do not have to pay at your next school. Take advantage of activities and organizations.

    In three sentences

    Jamestown Community College is a good transition between high school and a bigger college. The teachers are good, overall and the fact that it is a SUNY school makes me confident in the education I'm getting. The facilities are very nice.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never seen or heard of anything unsafe happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure. I am not a part of any Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. I am the secretary of the DNA club. I have been to Boston for the Immunology conference and Washington, D.C. for the CCURI conference.

    Great for these types of students

    I don't really know much about the other programs, but definately great for science students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brand new science building with state of the art lab equipment.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very satisfied with my education at such a low cost. Lots of oppurtunities to go beyond.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, clubs, gym.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are brand new dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The biotech program is very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to communicate with your advisor and professors. Get to know students ahead of you in your program; they can give you tips and insider info.

    In three sentences

    I had a great experience at JCC. The biotechnology program is great. Professors were very helpful.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    That have tons of clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always some kind of event going on in the student hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is about 2k a semester, not entirely much and financial aid covers all if not most of it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool table and a giant tv for video games in the main building.

    Food and Dining

    Fantastic food with the option for a meal plan. The Cafe has everything you could imagine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get our work done, ask questions when you do not know how to do something and overall enjoy your classes.

    In three sentences

    JCC is a friendly school that does not have that far of a walk from each building. Most teachers have fantastic personalities and they represent the information in an understandable manor.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to a variety of sports events, and chances are res life will probably have something fun to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your work. Understand that the winters can get pretty brutal here because it is right next to a lake.

    In three sentences

    JCC is a nice college to transition into if you come from a very small high school like me. The class sizes make it so that you can actually connect with what your professor is teaching, it's not just another lecture given in front of 100+ students. Most of the people are friendly here too.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The nurse is fantastic! I sprained my ankle the first semester and she took me in a wheelchair all the way across campus to the office.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an old train station that was reconstructed into a building of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Some classes I have taken, I have had teachers that seem to waste more of the students time then actually use it teaching useful information. I feel like regaurdless of whether or not we have to read a chapter of a book the teacher should still have to review the information in class. Overall though, it is cheap for going to college. It is also a SUNY school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of plays, sporting events, and lectures that JCC offers on a regular basis. There is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe, but most of the food you will come across is out of a machine or may as well be.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, nor have I seen them.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers stress the fact that classes taken at JCC, although just community college course credits, STILL college credits all the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever enroll at JCC do not take any math classes by Daniel Rabb. William Fraser, in Psychology- on the other hand, is a very enthusiastic, interesting teacher. I would highly recommend him.

    In three sentences

    Jcc is a great school for individuals interested in smaller classrooms. There are some teachers that will really go out of their way to help you. There are also some that seem to do things out of spite.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small campus, always people around and very well lit!

    Clubs and Activities

    dozens! If you don't see the one you want, just go to the activities director and make your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small student to teacher ratio, who want one on one attention.

    Bang for the buck

    Great financial aid plus its only 2,500 a semester!

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and sports plus activity hours every week with entertainment!

    Food and Dining

    A little pricey in the cafeteria but so delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Awesome accommodations, plus they are building even more!

    Academic Rigor

    As Changeling as you would like it to be based on you course choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your student help centers! Call instead of email so there is no confusion.

    In three sentences

    Most helpful staff I have ever encountered. Clean, beautiful, and easily navigated campus. Constantly adding on to and improving their facilities.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, people are very friendly and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students unsure about what they want to do, they give a variety of courses to find what you are interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    I do suggest when buying books to buy them online, they will be cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    JCC has a lot of extracurricular activities and things going on near by like the Chautauqua Institute.

    Food and Dining

    I have only ate a few times, the food is really good but sometimes at busy hours you will have to wait.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm but I have friend that have and they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load can be heavy but doable if you put in proper time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and get to know your professors. Get involved in extra curricular activities.

    In three sentences

    The campus is growing, well kept, and organized. Professors want you to succeed. Class sizes are comfortable and provide a good learning environment.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Great selection

    What to do for fun

    Join a campus group.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class, do all work, and you'll succeed.

    In three sentences

    The staff at Jamestown Community College is professional, courteous, and kind. The atmosphere is inviting and peaceful. The education is excellent.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe locking dorm doors

    Greek Life

    Not really a part of this campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of variety in the clubs, something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone of any age can apply

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Yes!! making cola cupcakes

    Bang for the buck

    definitely worth the price you pay with the professors being avaliable often, student teacher ratio and library avaliability.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, sit out side, make new friends, socialize is the key

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria serves great food, lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    My dorrm experience is wonderful. Great roommates, smart RA's and help when you need it

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging but not to hard you can't do it

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to new ways of life, get to know everyone this networking could be your future

    In three sentences

    My experience at jamestown community college has been very enjoyable and the class size is big enough to meet new people but small enough to get one on one assistance. The professors care about there students and are understandable

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the lake, the mall, museums, dance clubs and hockey games. niagara falls is an hour and a half away.

    Food and Dining

    great meal plans and fresh selection of food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    very nice dorms, you get your own living room and kitchen. it's basically a suite with 4 single rooms in one big room. the dorms are brand new though and their building a third dorm currently.

    Academic Rigor

    not really that hard depending on your major of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to jcc if your big into nursing or business. they both have great programs for those majors.

    In three sentences

    it's a nice community college with good teachers, facilities and dorms. it's a small campus, but set up very nice and convenient for students.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are police call stations all over campus if the need for one ever arises, but i haven't heard of that being used yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    you can make any club that isn't there, or join one of the many that are.

    Great for these types of students

    any student who is afraid of college or being out on their own.

    Bang for the buck

    for how cheap the price is (i pay only 10,000 a year and i am out of state) the quality of the education is excellent.

    What to do for fun

    we have a beautiful hiking trail that is within walking distance of the campus. the reg lenna center in dowtown jamestown always has something going on for a person to attend.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is good, but the kitchen isn't open past five most days and is kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    the buildings themselves are very nice. the furniture is so comfortable, as are the beds. also the full stove and sink along with the bathroom is a nice touch.

    Academic Rigor

    the nursing program here is top notch, although i myself am not a part of it. this campus can be both very easy and incredibly challenging, it depends on the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions. don't be to worried about not having a designated major.

    In three sentences

    the smaller campus leads to a better student teacher relationship. the offices are all very helpful also.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard!

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to get general education requirements out of the way at a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Highly recommend this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the education you get!

    Am enjoying being here

    I like it here. Everyone is very friendly. I wish there was some more things to do one the weekend. Not just on campus but around the town as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I have learned a lot from the teachers and students here.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JCC is great for the student who does not want to go too far from home yet, or if they are moving far from home, going to JCC will make them feel like they are at home with such a close community. It is great for the prospective student who wants to get the same education he or she would get by going to the University at Buffalo or some other major state school. JCC is a great starting point for those who just need a good place to get back in the groove if they had been out of the education system for a while as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to go to JCC, keep in mind it is a STATE school, so the credits you receive here will transfer to another state school. But if you wish to transfer to a private school, you will want to make sure the classes you take match up to the curriculum of your intended transfer school!

    Bang for the buck

    If someone were to be looking for the cheapest way to get a wonderful education, JCC is the route to go. Since I graduated in the top ten percent of my graduating class, JCC offers us their USA scholarship, allowing me to go there for two years tuition free! Needless to say how much money they saved me.

    Am enjoying being here

    JCC definitely allowed me to enjoy my time there from all the different clubs and sporting events that would be going on. I could have even started my own club if I had wanted to! Although I don't live in the dorms, I can see how much those who do enjoy it. Being on such a quaint campus, it is easy to make friends, whether you go and watch the movies they show nightly, play card games in the Student Union, or join a sports or intramural team!

    Am learning a lot

    In high school, I had the opportunity to take some JCC classes without having to go to the campus itself. So before I even graduated high school I was already learning a lot of information! I took two U.S. History courses, three English courses, two Spanish courses, a public speaking course, and even a health science course. They offered so much for me as a high school student I knew what to expect when I attended. When I actually went to the campus after high school for my classes, the teachers were just as awesome as they were in high school. They were all helpful and willing to meet with students one on one. I was able to take such a variety of different classes I know I learned a lot! Being able to take all these different classes in a close and helpful environment helped me figure out where I wanted to focus my major on!

  • 05/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JCC is great for students that come from small schools, or prefer small classes. Since the classes are small, teachers are able to accommodate all of their students either in class or during office hours. I feel JCC is an amazing stepping stone between high-school and larger universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on living on campus (I am not), apply early. There is only space for 220 students! Don't be afraid to go and talk to the teachers to see if it is right for you. Any of the staff that I have met, have been wonderful and accommodating. As long as you let them know you are coming, I'm sure they would love to sit down and talk with you.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the price. For a full time NYS resident the tuition is only $1,860 a semester (and only $3,720 for non-residents)!

    Am enjoying being here

    The people at JCC are all very welcoming (teachers and students alike). Being one of the few people attending JCC that didn't come from a local school, I was worried that I would not be able to break into the already existent cliques, but that hasn't been a problem. There are also a huge variety of activities on campus. In the last two semesters we have had concerts with internationally know artists, concerts featuring the students, art shows, games shows, ice-cream socials and tons more.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a music major, I can't really comment on a large portion of the classes offered at Jamestown Community College. Not to sound full-of-myself, I am a little ahead of where the music classes are, so I'm not learning a lot in them. But, the general education courses that I have had to take have all been very educational.