Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jarvis Christian College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They try their best.

    Greek Life

    We have Omegas,Kappas,Sigmas,Alphas,Deltas,Zetas, Aka s,and the Sigma Gamma Rhos.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have fraternities and sororities .

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who have a low GPA they accept anybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people go to church high off of marijuana.

    Bang for the buck

    There is not a nurse on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I record Music for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good on occasions. I usually eat in Cafeteria on Wednesday and Friday because on Wednesday they serve home made fried chicken and on Fridays they serve fried catfish

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not nice at all. Most of the time the water is cold and the fire alarms go off a lot at night. At Jarvis there are no reliable food sources.

    Academic Rigor

    This School has had many issues with its accreditation .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Jarvis Christian College you should consider getting a vehicle before you come. This campus is located in the country with very little attractions.

    In three sentences

    Jarvis Christian College is a historically black college. It is also a very small college located in Hawkins TX. Jarvis is a positive place.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security patrolling our grounds 24 hours a day and seven days a week.

    Greek Life

    We, as an HBCU have the Divine Nine. However, the Kappa's have been suspended from the yard for ten years (only two years have passed). Greek Life is the only life on campus and is so much fun when the opportunity is given for a social night life.

    Clubs and Activities

    For Jarvis to be an active campus, there are less than ten (not including the Divine Nine) organizations established on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small, family like atmospheres.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a year, students gather in the middle of the night and walk to the graveyard on campus or try to make a journey through the wooded acreage on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I constantly hear students complaining about how much they spend to attend college at Jarvis, and have nothing to do.

    What to do for fun

    To have the most fun, you must find transportation and go into the city and enjoy the nightlife in Tyler, Texas.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place to eat on campus and they have specified dining hours.

    Dorm Life

    Whatever dorm you choose to enter, there will always be a few people hanging out playing dominoes, watching television or just hanging out.

    Academic Rigor

    Students can easily pass these courses, so long as they do their work, attend class and develop a good rapport with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carefully weigh your options before deciding to come to Jarvis. It is not the best school to gain a complete college experience. However, there are ample opportunities available to every student.

    In three sentences

    Jarvis is small but provides a superior education. Everyone knows everyone. Jarvis provides ample opportunity for a student to get involved and stay in a position of prominence.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dominoes and any sport you can think of.

    Food and Dining

    Typical college cafe food. Somedays it's the best; most of the time average.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is small and that makes it even more fun because everyone knows each other so it becomes a big campus family.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are the number one priority at Jarvis. All the classes are hands on and professors make it their duty to help all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class no matter what.

    In three sentences

    Jarvis Christian College is a historically black college. Traditional and hands on. Perfect for students who want the college experience without being on a big campus.

  • 11/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For campus safety we do have campus security at our front gate but they don't be on top of their jobs like their suppose to. There are a lot of robberies on campus with students belonging being stole out of their room. Many events that don't be a top priority to them.

    Greek Life

    We have Sigmas on campus along with the Q dogs & Alpha Megas. Most of all our greeks wants to fight because they feel like they popular. But the price to join is crazy that's why that's noy my style.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun on campus. Some weekends we will have a social (school dance) that be crowded. All your fun will be a social or an sport event (basketball game).

    Food and Dining

    We have breakfast, lunch & dinner. The food really isn't good, they serve mostly chicken and fish. Every now and then you will get something good out of the food company Jarvis hire but that's not daily.

    Dorm Life

    There are some dorms that are nice and then there are some that look like you in job corp/ prison with brick walls. They claim they have good WIFI but it's iffy and not strong. The students that stay in the dorms are not home trained so you will need to be a mature to deal with everything.

    Academic Rigor

    If you attend class you will pass because the teachers don't want to see you fail. Mostly all of the classes are simple and easy. But some teachers just don't care and don't pay attention to its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Jarvis make sure you are use to being in a small area. You must have a vehicle because their isn't too much activity on campus so you would want to get off. Hawkins only have 2 grocery stores and a sonic.

    In three sentences

    Jarvis Christian College is a small credited school with 700 or less students. It's build on oil and a farm area with trees surrounding the campus. I rate Jarvis a 2 out of 10.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Fantastic!

    Clubs and Activities

    Its growing

    What to do for fun

    Going to the Cafe and also socializing in the lobby.

    In three sentences

    Jarvis is an Accredited College. Jarvis is striving to put the students first. Jarvis has made major changes to enhance the quality.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are very many clubs and organizations you can join.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to Socials , walk the nature trail , play basketball outside or in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good , can't complain.

    Dorm Life

    You learn to live with different types of people .

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very good school academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come you should go to class. If you have situations going on , make sure you talk to your professors. Don't do anything you don't want to . Learn yourself.

    In three sentences

    Jarvis Christian College is a very good school , because it teaches so many life lessons. Not only do you further your education but you learn who you are as a person. You also figure out what you want to do with your life being here.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is great. 24 hour security and protection at ALL times. I always feel safe walking on this campus no matter if it is day or night.

    Greek Life

    I really cannot comment on this but I have heard that it is fun from people I talk to!!

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of the time they do try to plan many activities and do stuff for the students such as festivals concerts and movie night and dinners as well as parties. So they do have plenty of things to keep you busy

    Great for these types of students

    For students who want to party and just have major fun this is NOT the campus for you as there is not a lot around to do. However for those who are serious about an education and don't mind the quiet and some boredom it is great!! I do enjoy it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the nature trail that is there. The location seems isolated but still unique and serene.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very affordable college in my opinion especially considering how much I paid for both room board and books for both semesters and still had money left over.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun, there is not much to do here as it is out in the middle of nowhere, however the nearby towns have things you can do and it is close cheap and convenient.

    Food and Dining

    I really cannot speak on the food because I cook my own meals in my apartment on campus, but I have heard it is pretty ok.

    Dorm Life

    Being a single mom they have student parent apartments so that I am able to be with my son. I do like the dorm life and accommodations provided. Could use some updating but still great.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you keep up with your work and attend classes and make valid efforts the classes are not too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are there for your education and not to goof around and waste money because they do have a strict attendance policy that they enforce and it reflects on your grades tremendously.

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty peaceful college. It is a college that works with all of its students and their needs. The teachers there are wonderful

  • 11/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security don't do much. My room threw my clothes out of my room and the security told me I'd better go check on that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The wash block (the Washington) is where Gip sends his drug dealers to live.

    What to do for fun

    Most students on campus smoke weed and drink alcohol for fun. There aren't much activities unless Cory Gipson is over it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food has been causing some sort of stomach virus for about a month now. I definitely wouldn't recommend this food to my worst enemy.

    Dorm Life

    They put you in the highest dorm as soon as you are admitted to Jarvis, the Sebetha Jenkins Learning Living Center BKA the LLC. Sebetha Jenkins was a former president at Jarvis who was terminated for stealing money for over 7 years. The LLC is ranged from $2,789-$3,086 a semester. By the time you realize how expensive it is and relocate, you already have a $3,000 balance. Be careful!

    Academic Rigor

    Jarvis Christian College is a second chance college for both students and faculty and staff. Every year Jarvis fired at least half of the faculty if they haven't quit by then and start fresh. Some teachers are racist and will not give you the grade you truly deserve. While other students lie about life at Jarvis for whatever reasons, such as incentives (gift cards) , I will tell the true story of Jarvis as much as possible in this review.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come to Jarvis, be sure to get on Cory Gipsons good side because that is the only way to make it at this school. If you are a female, Cory Gipson will expect you to perform various sexual favors for him with discretion from his wife, Michellen Gipson. If you are a male, Cory Gipson will expect you to sell drugs to students on campus and give him 50% of profits. If you fail to comply, Cory Gipson will be sure to call drug dogs on campus and you will be prosecuted.

    In three sentences

    Jarvis Christian College is not a school you want to attend if you want a fair opportunity. The school's activities and organizations are ran by Cory Gipson. If Cory Gipson does not like you, you will not get very far at Jarvis Christian College.