Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kanawha Valley Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security

    Clubs and Activities

    several

    Food and Dining

    need to have more choices

    Academic Rigor

    they are great

    Tips for prospective students

    none. great place to go

    In three sentences

    Great School, great staff, great facilities

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Chief Boz is always willing to help no matter the situation. He is a police officer located on campus.

    Greek Life

    Again I don't know much about this either. I do know there is an association available for business degrees and the honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    This I don't know much about because I am usually in class when these clubs meet out front and I don't have time to talk to them. It would be nice if When you sign up for school they gave you a list and the literature of the clubs, etc. that are available.

    Great for these types of students

    Any. Young, middle aged, or older. They have all types there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a virtual library, quiet and not so quiet study areas.

    Bang for the buck

    From what I have seen of other colleges this school is not too bad in price. Though I do think that if I need to make a copy or print something it should be included in the cost of attendance. When I have to print off 80 pages worth of slides for a class it is a bit ridiculous. The school uses Follet book services and they are OUTRAGEOUSLY priced. You save a tremendous amount of money if you can afford to buy the books from another site, but if you have to rely on financial aid money then Follet it where you have to go.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in South Charleston, WV. So you can get to pretty much anywhere you want to go. You could go out Southridge for movies, dining, or skating. You could go to Charleston to the mall, movies, or dinner. It really depends on what you're looking to do.

    Food and Dining

    If possible I would give this a 0 star rating. There is no food court, there is no lunch room, there is no cafeteria. Chik-Fil-A has a booth set up, but it is too expensive. A meal chips, drink, and sandwich, is $8.00 and that is just too expensive for a college student. It would be great if we had a cafeteria with a soup, salad, and fruit bar. Just so we could eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about this because I don't live in a dorm, but I have been told that students can live in a WVSU dorm and attend KVCTC.

    Academic Rigor

    Since everything is under one roof you don't have the problems of being late to class like at other colleges. There is a 15 minute break in between scheduled classes. There is a virtual library available. Also, there are teachers and tutors available to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    See this opportunity as what it is and don't waste it. This school provides free tutoring and anyone is ready and willing to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Free Parking! Any problems are usually solved quickly. Entire campus under one roof :)

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students like me. I have to work ot support myself and the class schedules here are excellent. I also do not want to live on campus and the location is convienant. Finally, I enjoy a small school filled with people I know or can get to know.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a whole lot cheaper than wasting money to go to a big University. At least it can be useful for getting your basic studies behind you before moving on to a major.

    What to do for fun

    Just up the road is Corridor G or South Ridge, it was a plethera of restraunts, shops, a movie theatre, and a go--kart/putt putt/roller blading/laser tag aracade.

    Food and Dining

    Chick fil A is good, but the hours are awkward and there are no waffle fries.

    Dorm Life

    There is none :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rely on Chick fil A to always be open. But seriously, the easiest thing you can do is come to class. Stay organized and write down all your obligations. If you truly do not understand something, as your professor. I've never had any trouble getting extra help.

    In three sentences

    I love it here. I was a student at WVSU, however, the small student body makes education at KVCTC easier and friendly. The small classroom size also allows for more one on one time from professors.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    While KVCTC is affordable, there is definitely a reason for that. You're frequently faced with obstacles in simple tasks such as contacting your advisor or scheduling new classes, because technical failures are common. The entire first week of the Fall 2012 semester, the school's phone lines were down. The following week, the internet stopped working. The e-mail system was out for several months during the Spring semester.

    Food and Dining

    The school does offer Chik-Fil-A during some hours.

    Dorm Life

    KVCTC no longer offers on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    On campus classes are usually easy, but some professors assign illogical work and ask you to jump through hoops to complete it and turn it in. Online courses are sometimes difficult, and instructors are not at all understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thoroughly look into the school and other options before settling on this one. If you need to contact anyone at the school, don't rely on phone or e-mail, as you'll often be ignored.

    In three sentences

    There are frequent technical difficulties with the administration. Many advisors are difficult to get in touch with, and unhelpful once you do speak with them. Some professors seem unhelpful, unconcerned, and under-qualified.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Scrapbook, paint, spend time with my nephew, family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    I will go with a neutral rating, I am not on campus often so I have yet to try what is available.

    Dorm Life

    Neutral rating given again, I live off campus so this does not apply to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start planning early, get in touch with the advisor of the program you plan to study, see what the best courses are for you to take first. Get any and all information there is available to you for scholarships and or grants. Ask questions, do not hesitate, no question is a dumb question when it comes to your future.

    In three sentences

    I returned to this school to finish a previous degree I started years ago. The whole process from enrolling, financial aid, registration, and so forth was very easy to complete. All of the faculty especially the advisor for my major have been very friendly and helpful!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is a very safe campus

    Great for these types of students

    everyone!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    you get a really good education for you money

    What to do for fun

    not much to do for fun at the moment, new campus just opened

    Academic Rigor

    I study every day, sometime not as much as I should but for the most part i do a lot of studying

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend all your classes

    In three sentences

    KVCTC is a very friendly and caring school. You can actually see how much all the staff care about students graduating. I look forward to my future after graduating from KVCTC

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For our campus safety, we have a security guard and camera's...like most schools. Since the move to Dow, I am not 100% sure what the new plan for security is.

    Food and Dining

    Since the move to the old Dow Chemical building, KVCTC does not have a vender, but does have 3 vending machines: 2 with drinks and 1 with snacks. This is not very great for those students with a long day of non-stop classes, but works okay for those other students. At least there is a small food source.

    Dorm Life

    Our school does not have a section for dorms since we changed locations. It would help a lot if we did because of students that live farther out.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy the course work, and the constant hecticness; it keeps you on your toes! Every teacher and class that I have had thus far is exceptional, you learn everything you need to know and it is up to you to do the best you can with what they give you!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip, as a student of Kvctc, for the perspective students would be to know all about the school and be dedicated before enrolling. This may be a community college but if you don't have dedication to your classes you may end up retaking them due to insufficient studies and such.

    In three sentences

    This school has moved to a new location, and it is very beautiful now! Every member of the staff tries their hardest to help you achieve the degree you want. I'm in the Pre-Nursing program looking to be in the Nursing program as of next year, and everyone has led me in the correct direction, or otherwise I would be lost!

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are alot of activities posted in every building. You can choose things that you will enjoy, and participate or watch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in class when you are supposed to be in class. Listen to your professors, and do the work that is assigned. Accept the free help that is offered.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with the attention I receive at KVCTC. The professors take time to explain the goal of each course, and offer assistance in any way possible. I feel the staff of KVCTC are there to help me reach my goals.

  • 02/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    KVCTC is great for students who only want a two-year program and who want to just get it over with. It would also be great for students who know a lot about admissions, financial aid, registration and other common student issues.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school can be pretty unorganized sometimes. You can't rely on them to do everything for you. If you stay on top of things to make sure they are doing their job, everything should be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    I attended a private university for my freshman year. It was about four times more expensive than KVCTC, but for a good reason. The admissions and student services department at the private school took care of everything. All I had to do was show up to class. However, the admissions representatives at KVCTC are the ones who just show up. I have to take care of everything myself. I understand that it is my responsibility, but I can't be expected to know how to do everything. That is their job. You get what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like this school because most of the professors are friendly and willing to help. My advisor has helped me with so much, including transferring a ton of my general education credits from a previous school.

    Am learning a lot

    As far as general education classes go, I don't feel like I have learned a lot that I didn't already know. However, I have thoroughly enjoyed the classes that are specific to my major.