Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kentucky State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is excellent. the police are always on campus and are constantly checking up with people to make sure everything is ok. if you are ever in trouble just call the campus police and they will be there in a heart beat.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs at ksu, two of my favorite are the weight loss club and bible study club. i find a lot of encouragement here as well as hope in god.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on some days the ksu choir comes out an just starts singing in the middle of campus. it is really beautiful and helps people to de-stress a little bit.

    Bang for the buck

    ksu tries to make college life as economically friendly as possible. the local bookstore is always on sale, and the food is always pretty cheap in cost but not in flavor.

    What to do for fun

    ksu is always pumping out things for us to do on campus. for instance; there are basketball games, plays, contests, all sorts of fun things to do. on tuesday's ksu students get free admission to the local movie theater as well.

    Food and Dining

    there is wonderful food at ksu! we have a cafeteria the cooks food just like momma used to make. on saturday's the brunch is delicious and you can get omelets made to order. yum:) we also have taco bell and chick-fil-a on campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are wonderful and give you the opportunity to meet many new friends. the rooms are just the right size, spacious enough to move around and comfortable enough to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    ksu's curriculum is fairly hard, but if you keep up with your studies and stay organized you will be fine. make sure you keep a calendar with you at all times, it will help you to stay focused and plan out your study times.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you make copies of all of your registration papers, sometimes they can get lost. don't be shy, most of the people here are as eager to make friends as you are.

    In three sentences

    kentucky state university is a wonderful school. the people here are super sweet and really know what they are doing. in my opinion, it is one of the best schools in kentucky.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    eager to learn and sociable

    Tips for prospective students

    Frankfort is not the most exciting city to be in but it is what you make it.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun on campus there are always events that are made by the students for the students.

    Food and Dining

    Personally I love the Cafe: , there is always some new food ideas taking place. My favorite would have to be the seasoned burgers and fries. There is also different styles of pizza that are made if you like a little extra. Then there is everyone's favorite, fried chicken Wednesdays!

    Dorm Life

    There is a variety of dorms to chose from. The best dorm to stay in would be Whitney M. Young Hall. It is a dorm with large space, a suite-style bathroom, a lounge room on each floor, along with a study room and patio. Not to mention everything else that's cool! this dorm is for honor students, that should motivate you!

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work and sometimes can be difficult but no college will be easy, that is why you must pay attention in class and seek help if needed. You must have goals and be determined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to start strong and finish just as strong. Prepare yourself mentally because college is way more difficult than high school.

    In three sentences

    Kentucky State University is a well-rounded school overall. They challenge you academically and give many academic opportunities. They also make you feel at home.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour campus police.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is great. Everyone is always involved and keeps the campus entertained

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are Greek events, cookouts, campaigning, and campus parties.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and dining area.

    Dorm Life

    Clean, organized. Have activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Plenty of tutoring sessions even on weekends. You can never say that you didnt have help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with your professors and ALWAYS go to class. stay prepared at all times.

    In three sentences

    Kentucky State is a great school for me. Its a small school in a small area so it is easier for me to stay focused. It is also a wonderful HBCU.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not found to much to do yet.

    Food and Dining

    Ok, have had worst.

    Dorm Life

    Needs updating, but ok.

    Academic Rigor

    Need more objectives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study.

    In three sentences

    Slow moving, good and friendly people.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am an online student.

    What to do for fun

    I am off campus.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to your adviser.

    In three sentences

    I take online classes. This makes school a lot easier for working individual. The advisers are great. I really have been able to accomplish a lot here.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons to do. The people here are friendly so you'll meet someone new daily. Enjoy going to the games and dance along to the marching bands. Join clubs and many student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. its fresh and the dining room is always clean and well kept. the scheduled meal times are perfect.

    Dorm Life

    Slightly small, but fun to meet your roommate. The lobby has television and lounge couches to relax and hang with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Offers many programs for your degree. The class sizes here are smaller with a typical ratio of 16:1, which means you can build a relationship with the professors. The Student Center is available to those you need a place to get help and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Stay focused - Arrive on time for class - Do NOT feel ashamed to sit in the front *T* - Get involved an have fun!

    In three sentences

    A university dedicated to helping students prepare and advice in the world. Small, classes with excellent teachers decided to help you learn. People have great hospiltality and the campus is beautiful.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are heavy on campus just for safety purposes not to bother you so i respect them but don't ever want to go in the police station which is over by the halls

    Greek Life

    They have all divine 9 and others

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of activities and clubs you have : basketball, football, volleyball, track and field, marching band, cross country, indoor track, and golf

    Great for these types of students

    anybody can come here and you will feel welcome by someone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the yard is where everything goes down everyday all day

    Bang for the buck

    if your out of state its not that much more then an in state student but its about a 4,000 difference.

    What to do for fun

    i go to Exum and work out bell gym is another possible gym the pool is pretty nice( inside exum) you can run on the track the library is open frequently you can go to a party party are mainly: exum, bell, houses, the yard, dorm, the football field, or anywhere

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not that bad if your really hungry you will find something to eat. We have fried chicken Wednesday and that's just about all they serve the whole day. We have pizza, chicken, pasta, calzones, stir fry, veggie options, and salad bar

    Dorm Life

    i Love the dorm i stay in because its a very homey environment that you can easily become apart of and want to be there. i stay in the halls actually which is not the best dorm but it good enough to live in but i would recommend Kentucky Hall for girls and Combs for boys or hunter

    Academic Rigor

    the work is not a really big issue as in term of the difficulty level. You might look at all your lesson plan and notice that you have a fair large amount of work. Which might hurt you a little but its not that bad when you start finishing your work with a little help.

    Tips for prospective students

    -just come with a open mind -don't be afraid to express yourself -don't try to fit in -be your own person

    In three sentences

    This school has a variety of empty spaces. There are many good attributes about the campus. I enjoy the welcoming feeling i get on the campus from staff and friends

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    PARRTYYYY! Since Kentucky Sttate University is in the middle of a very small town. There isnt a lot to do for fun besides party (at least 1 every week). A car is needed since there isn't really any public transportation. There is a movie theather, restaurants (only 3 big ones Applebees, Buffalo Wild Wings, and Some mexican restaurant), and a place to go skating.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is open at weird times. FLEX will be your best friend if your work schedule doesn't match up with cafe hours.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm is different. The Halls = Party Dorm (CO-ED) New young= Hotel (the nicest dorm on campus) (CO-ED) McCullin Hall aka MY DOOOORM = Very Quiet, Studious Upperclassmen (CO-ED) Combs Hall = 2 floors of boys. 1 floor of girls Hunter Hall= All boys dorm/ Coed dorm every other year Chandler Hall && Kentucky Hall = ALL GIRLS DORM

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other institution college is what you make it academic wise. If you go to class study and do your homework you will do very well. Missing one class is like missing a week and once you fall behind its tough to get back on track. Depending on your professor you may be able to get extra help to get back on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your financial aid. They will not contact you if your aid doesn't process etc. You will spend a lot of time in ASB (financial aid building) in the beginning of each semester.

    In three sentences

    I am a Sophomore at Kentucky State University, and I LOVE MY HBCU! This college is a lot of fun and also there are lots of people here to help you. Once you get into your major you will love K-State there are people all over willing to help you with any problem you may encounter.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm not interested.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club. The SGA or the band will have something planned.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There is always salad out for those who choose to eat healthy, then there is pizza, burgers, and much more for those who don't want salad.

    Dorm Life

    Could be bigger, but it is enough room not to get in your roommate's way.

    Academic Rigor

    Somewhat challegening, but with the tutors here, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you prioritize. Time is one of the most important things to have on your side in college.

    In three sentences

    Kentucky State University feels more a home, rather than a college. The people and instructors here are nice and can have very encouraging words to say. The academics are not the only thing here, the athletics and the band makes everyone feel good about themselves.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have campus police that are everywhere

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very cool.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have almost every club. and alot of activities and parties.

    Great for these types of students

    people who dont like large schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its kind of in the middle of no where.

    Bang for the buck

    you get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    hang with a group of friends

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is pretty good. We have a Chic fil a and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    It is very eeasy and fun to make friends and meet new people

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your grades are atleast a 2.5 to get in.

    In three sentences

    I love kentucky state. There arent too many students. Great class sizes.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities on campus, however you have to want to get involved, and they can only be as strong and empowering as their weakest leader; so make sure you do all you can to help improve the school in a positive way.

    What to do for fun

    Since Lexington, KY is only about 20 mins away, you can go there and go to the movies as well as the mall. However, if you don't want to leave Frankfort, you can stay within the city and you and your friends can find something locally to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be, stay on top of your financial aid, as well as your adviser when it comes to what classes you want to be placed in. Make sure you and your adviser are always on the same page.

    In three sentences

    Kentucky State University has been good to me overall. The professors and advisers are great here. However, the institution is only as great and fun as you make it.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lmao there is no campus safety half the time the dorm directors are never there..

    Greek Life

    the ques are freaks umm the kappa are never around... the alphas are around nothing serious for real.

    Great for these types of students

    if your a party person and love to stay high .. perfect place

    What to do for fun

    nothing except get drunk and get high

    Food and Dining

    same food everyday... :/ I was eating at the caf���© one day and then there is a chair fight that broke out

    Dorm Life

    guys on the girls floor 24/7 you might even bump into guy while using the bathroom. Guys and girls took showers together. you WILL hear moaning thru the night. and sex... guys stay all night every night and girls stay all night on guys floor also.

    Academic Rigor

    everybody is on academic probation. people stay up 24/7 even when its quiet time so no time for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't speak or say anything to anyone. Never leave your door unlocked..

    In three sentences

    Its REAL GHETTO. everybody is a ^wanna^ be drug dealer from every hood. A lot of fire trucks and police situations. Everybody judges you from what city your from like naptown vs louiville or Detroit vs. chicago.. girls will try to fight you and guys will try to fight too..

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Great greek unity. I am a member of PHI BETA SIGMA FRATERNITY INC. Very friendly people and always open and willing to help others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doing THE BUTT a school wide dance performed with the band. Great Kentucky State tradition.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of intermural sports on campus and the student life department does a great job of planning events for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is what you make it. Keep your head on straight and be sure to attend classes!

    In three sentences

    Small campus allows for great social life. Better one-on-one communication with student and faculty. A great opportunity to make college a great experience.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room in the bottom floor of the student center that has a ping pong table, and multiple pool tables. There is also usually some sort of event on the weekend be it a block party or a step show scheduled by the SGA or Student Life. The town itself has an old movie theater that only has two show times 4:30ish and 7ish. Mostly you entertain yourself, which cable is offered in the dorm rooms as well as wifi.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Chic-Fil-A, Subway, Thorobred Grill, and recently another food place as opened up and these places have quality food that is very satisfying. However, the cafeteria on campus is lacking. It is only a step up from public high school cafeteria food and it is usually bland because its 'catering' food. But, it has some good qualities too like they have good pizza which is usually available, a solid salad bar, good cookies, soft serve ice cream, and an always available waffle maker.

    Dorm Life

    The best dorm on campus is the new building Whitney Young. If you aren't in this building you can run into lots of issues. A broken washing machine may not get fixed for a week. In the 'worst' dorm on campus (where they usually stick the freshmans) they have had issues with mold. While, the residential hall managers and the room assistants are amazing (at least in my dorm, Kentucky) there are a good amount of maintenance issues.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, especially if you are in the honors program. For example, freshman take Latin as an English course. However, you can run into problems of professors not showing up to class or technical issues in class rooms taking up vital class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into scholarship opportunities, for example there are two academic scholarships the Excellence (a half-ride) and the Presidential (full ride). If you are interested in sports there are opportunites to join the teams when you haven't been recruited. Also, make sure you have a grocery stipend because the cafeteria food is just a step better than high school cafeteria food.

    In three sentences

    It is a small university and a close community. The Professors are knowledgeable and the classes are smaller than thirty people so it is a more focused experience. However, there are few clubs to join other than social greek life.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Terrible, people have gotten shot, have gotten jumped and there have been brawls on the yard.

    Greek Life

    This is about the only positive thing on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    crazy ghetto kids from the hood.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth the money!!!

    What to do for fun

    Watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is terrible also. It looks like prison food and tastes like it also. We have chik fil a , and subway and that's pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    Terrible, the custodians don't clean, and the students are filthy. There are no kitchens on campus so u can only use your microwave, and the dorms are filled with drama.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is easy, and I learn nothing. The classes are not challenging and do not prepare you for anything. It's like high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into another university! There are so many better opportunities, this school is for students who do not care about their education.

    In three sentences

    They do not care about their students, student life is terrible, and there are not enough activities. This school is ran like a business, all they care about is getting and keeping their money, do not come here!

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kentucky State University has its very own police department located directly on campus. Campus police patrols very frequently. There are also emergency poles located all throughout campus and the police responds in an ample amount of time.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life (from the outside looking in) is pretty impressive. Watching the Greeks stroll and have step shows has always been enjoyable. In addition, the Greeks are heavily active in community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kentucky State University has a very competitive sports department. The women's volleyball team just recently became two years in a row SIAC champions. Kentucky State University offers basketball, volleyball, track and field, cross country, football, golf, cheer-leading, dance, and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fried Chicken Wednesday is a popular tradition at not just Kentucky State University, but at almost every HBCU. In addition, we have prayer at the flag pole every Friday afternoon. Also, we have Town-hall meetings with the President of the university to address our concerns and gain answers. In regards for unusual, if you bring your car to school, be sure to purchase a parking pass because the ticket man shows no sympathy. He will give you a ticket in the rain, sleet, snow, hail, and maybe a tornado. So please, get your parking pass as soon as possible to avoid getting fined.

    Bang for the buck

    Kentucky State University is a very small institution so almost every student knows each other which creates a family oriented vibe. We offer a plethora of majors and minors as well as many organizations to join on campus. Kentucky State University has its very own aquaculture program and its own farm. At Kentucky State University, we grow our own food. In addition, Kentucky State University is home of very successful band Midnight Star who performs at the Alumni concerts during homecoming week.

    What to do for fun

    Kentucky State University has a number of events on campus hosted either by Student Life, SGA, the Greeks, or other organizations on campus. Most popular are the campus block parties, pool parties, and BBQs in the summer and spring. The major event that most look forward to are the fall and spring homecoming concerts. Joining an organization on campus can allow you to be apart of something great and create events for the whole campus to participate in. There is also what is called Freshman Week, New Thorobred Week, Greek Week, and Homecoming Week. During those times, many different events are scheduled for the campus to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Kentucky State University's dining experience is made with health conscious students in mind. The cuisine at Kentucky State University is prepared to ensure that allergic reactions, and other dietary/medical needs of students are met. The most popular day in the dining hall is Fried Chicken Wednesday. Also, Kentucky State University has it's own dining grill, along with Chic-Fil-A and Subway. In addition, Kentucky State University has a mini convenience store and coffee spot called the Thirsty Thorobred. Also, located on south campus it a pizza and wings food place. The food court areas can all be paid for by the use of flex dollars.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Kentucky State University is pretty standard. There are community style dorms, as well as suite living, in addition to singles and triples. There are a total of 7 dorms on campus. They all have 24-hour security and are heavily guarded, allowing only persons living in the building to access entrance with the key card. There are study areas, laundry rooms, vending machines, tv lounges and kitchen areas in every dorm. In some dorms, the dorm director lives in the building on weekdays.

    Academic Rigor

    Kentucky State University is a liberal arts school. We focus on a general studies course load for every student. Kentucky State University offers a variety of majors and minors. The class sizes are no more than 40 people depending on the class. Normally the student to teacher ratio is about 25:1 unless the class is lecture style. The academic rigor is pretty much explained accurately in every professor's syllabus. Kentucky State University offers courses of all kinds to appeal to the diversity of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start on the right path early and don't be afraid to ask for help. Get involved in the many different organizations on campus. Be willing to have an open mind and experience new things. Take courses that are challenging and will allow you to grow and learn from the experience. Get to know your student leaders (Student Ambassadors, SGA etc)

    In three sentences

    Kentucky State University is a prestigious historically black college. It has a diverse student population. In addition, it offers an all around cultural experience for every student.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Cool

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    going to the student center,it alot of peoples hang out spot.

    What to do for fun

    parties, going out to dinner, and going to lousiville or lexington is always fun

    Food and Dining

    crappy !

    Dorm Life

    Crappy yet comfortable sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    I have no idea what rigor means but academics wise, everyone here is very intelligent, but the teachers are here for the money

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused join a sport !

    In three sentences

    I am a currently a junior in college. I have been here since 2010 i left for a semester and came back , and since coming back, it has been a long journey. They tried to kick me out of college for unpaid bills randomly, and our school accredidation as a historical black college is fading. I have had great times and really bad times but i guess this is just the journey of life!

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am a commuter, but have been told that the food is great the first few weeks, and declines in quality as time goes on. The food hall always smells great!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, but from what I can see, the dorms are moderate. There are a few to choose from, all well built.

    Academic Rigor

    The current courses I am taking are similar to a review from past courses. Professors are lenient and work with you if a date does not work, etc.