Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kilgore College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/23/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always officers on the campus that are around on duty to keep the campus and the students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide selection of clubs to become involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Freshman, transfers, (all kinds)

    Bang for the buck

    There is a game room with a big screen tv, pool table, game table, and so much more for students to come and lounge around and hang with friends. By Kilgore being a small town, there is not too much to do, outside of campus besides go see a movie or go out to eat, shopping, or skating, especially if you are the type to become bored easily. Very few options when you want to go out all the time.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out around outside with friends, in and near the coffee shop, the Devall center, the band hall, the gym, across the bridge in the Fine Arts Building and many more other areas on campus to just sit around. There are buildings on campus too to get involved in different activities. Every year, there is always some type of exciting event going on, from the Crawfish Boil, to see a play, to a pep rally, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    The grill is a great place to hang out with friends and they have a great selection of foods to choose from, especially during the lunch hour. You can choose what you want to buy, have coffee, etc. The cafeteria though, I only ate in there once during breakfast time with a couple of friends, so it's not bad, but I prefer the grill. The Wesley Foundation (a Christian center on campus) serves free lunch on Wednesdays also.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus, so I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    When applying for the classes you want, there are excellent choices to make. You can choose the classes you want to take, while talking with an adviser in order to see where you are academically and be able to balance your school work with other things outside of school. Always be prepared!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and study hard! Depending on how many classes you take, you still need to be on top of your study game. No time for procrastinating a lot if you're trying to pass your classes.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Great instructors. Great place to meet new people.

  • 06/17/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would rate Campus Safety with 5 * because the police Staff are some of the best i have ever had the pleasure of witnessing. There is always a patrol cop on each campus ,sometimes 2-3. They are endlessly updating their info. so that each student knows exactly how to get help.They also have the best surveliance technology in the Dorms,parking lots & campuses.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know Kilgore College does not offer " Greek Life ". But meeting new people & making Friends is easy at KC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kilgore College some of the Best Clubs /Activities. While they are very well known for their Rangerettes they are also known for many other Clubs . This is a link to the many endless Clubs that KC has to offer. https://www.kilgore.edu/campus-life/student-clubs-0

    Great for these types of students

    KC is Great for all types of Students coming from all backgrounds & historys.They are very diverse. KC offers so many programs to aide in each different Students needs such as Counselors on campus 5 days a wk., clubs & organizations etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In all honestly I havent been on the campus long enough to answer this properly. Im certain that KC has many " Unusual" traditions .I'm looking forward to experiencing each of them.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a first yr Freshman as well as a Adult college Student. I am returning to collge after graduating from high school 19 yrs ago. My goal is to achieve a Bachelor degree in Social Work. I can not begin to convey the excitement I have of being given the opportunity to pursue my dream career at 37 yr.s old.

    What to do for fun

    There is always entertainment in Kilgore & the surrounding Cities. You have the Oil Museum & Museum of Theater Arts.There is Skating,bowling ,movie Theaters & of Course Shopping.Very close by is a water park, Six flags, lonestar Speed racing, Gyms & Crossfit box.So you can see there is always something "FUN " to do in East Texas.

    Food and Dining

    The food & Dining at KC is Amazing. Its very good & varely competitively priced. They even have a wide variety of healthier food options.

    Dorm Life

    While I personally do not live in the dorms, I can can say that the dorms at KC are nice.The other Students seem to like it.They are clean & are centered close to the campus & city so it makes getting around fairly easy.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the Professors at KC demonstrate just the right amount of rigor. They push you to be the best person/student you can possibly be all while showing sympathy.They are very helpful & understand that college life is hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get organized & make a Set Plan. Stay focused. Be on time for all your classes. Most importantly ,have Fun. Enjoy your college years; remember to plan time for yourself sothat you can relax & stay rejuvenated.

    In three sentences

    KC is a very pleasant College to attend.The Professors are very helpful & easy to communicate with. The staff in general is superb.

  • 06/14/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on with a student organization. What ever meets your fancy they have a club for that. Political, philosophical, photography, academics, sports, the list goes on and on.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price to get started with college.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Kilgore offers all kinds of things to do during the summer: festivals, Texas Shakespeare Festival. During the school year there are plenty of things to do in Longview or Tyler, about a thirty minute drive off campus. You can always find a friend to drive you, take a bus, or call an Uber.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Its not amazing, but it isn't awful either. On campus you have the main dinning hall, the Ranger Cafe, and a coffee shop that serves Starbucks coffee. However, there are all kinds of food and dining options just a step off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but from what I have heard its not great. Small living quarters and dorm mates not getting along. You are better off getting an apartment or some other off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Really this depends on two factors: your effort and the instructor. If you don't try you probably won't make a good grade. I can always see a difference in my grade when I try. Some of the instructors can be more difficult than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantages of the free food on campus. Three church organizations have free lunch for students three days a week. Get involved with some student organization its a great way to make new friends. Talk to the students in your class. The campus is small so you will probably run into them again. Get to know your instructors you never know when you'll need homework help, recommendations, or advice.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and the teachers are friendly. A great school for transitioning to college (dual credit), to a larger school or university, and for nontraditional students. KC also is home to the Rangerettes, the original halftime dance line.

  • 01/06/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I have had a way better experience at tstc I got my associates there and continued at kcc until I transfer to UT and it has been horrible the certification for VA takes forever I can never get anyone from financial aid on the phone and they never call me back I've also been there to get my paperwork straightened and it took 3 hours seriously look somewhere else this place is a headache

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for another college go to tstc the financial aid and admissions is way easier to deal with kcc has been the worst experience

  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is great! There are always campus police everywhere. I feel safe going to school here. They also have a texting/email service in case something goes wrong where you are alerted immediately.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life offered here, which was a disappointment to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs and activities that I have heard of. Kilgore is just too small of a school to offer a lot. I've heard some activities include band, rangerettes, and twirling.

    Great for these types of students

    Kilgore has lots of students ranging from different ages. In some of my classes, I had people who were much older than me, but everyone is there to do the same thing, to learn. Kilgore is a great place for any student, no matter the age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations on campus that I am familiar with.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Kilgore is a great school to go to if you are looking to save money. The classes are very cheap compared to a University, and the teachers really care how you do in class, unlike some other colleges. I have gotten my money's worth out of Kilgore College for sure!

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, Kilgore is a very small school, so there is not too much to do outside of class. There are football games, and the Rangerette Shows which are fun! Besides that, and eating and hanging out with friends, there is not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't really eaten on campus that much, I normally go to my classes and leave. I have been to the Starbucks on campus and it is good! I'm sure the places on campus are good, a lot of students eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, I commute back and forth. So, I do not know how the "dorm life" is. I have a few friends that live in the dorms though, and they seem to like it!

    Academic Rigor

    I think Kilgore does great with the classes and homework situation. You learn a lot, and the homework usually isn't much. The level of difficulty depends on the class and the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen in class and you'll do fine. Do your homework, want to learn. Just give your teachers your all, and they will do the same for you.

    In three sentences

    I think Kilgore College is a great place to learn! The classes are usually small, making it easier to learn. The teachers are great too, always being there when you need them to.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball and hang out in the game room

    Food and Dining

    I prefer the food in the grill

    Academic Rigor

    If you pay attention you will learn a lot

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that since this is a community college you Don't Have to work

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kilgore College is a very safe enviroment. campus police are always alert to what is going on. As well with the use of RangerAlert the college can update and warn students of any danger or bad weather conditions. In my time at Kilgore there have been no safety issues or dangers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the organizations on campus include the Rangerettes, Band, Jazz Band, String Ensembles, Choir, Theatre, Baptist Student Ministries and Piano Ensemble.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students seeking an associates,nursing degree or planning to transfer to a four year university. The most recognizably successful programs include safty, nursing, police and fire academy and music

    Bang for the buck

    Ive had a great time at Kilgore College there is always something fun going on. As well with the help of instructors helping me strive for success i dont have to stress over how hard the class could be. My experiance at this college has been a great one!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of organizations to join. There is a game room for students to go play pool, ping pong and video games. There is also a raquette ball court in the fitness center. There are also ocassional events for students such as laser x, dodgeball, flag football, video game competitions and basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is great at Kilgore College. On tuesdays, wednesdays and thursdays three of the campus churches offer free lunches to the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at kilgore is fairly good from what i have been told. The cost of dorms are not as high as at most colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    The college will push you to succeed and instructor will help you do just that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be affraid to go to a instructor for help, they will provide it and information you will need. Join a program that you are familiar with, there are many scholarships provided through the organizations.

    In three sentences

    KIlgore College has a wide variety of great two year plans. The instructors interact with the students to help and insure success for their students. As well the college has many great programs such as the football team, band, choir and the Kilgore College Rangerettes.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At times it was good, and at times it was horrible. But it was better than nothing!

    Dorm Life

    Below average, and I was a Resident Assistant at Kilgore College.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor at this school is higher than the average junior college. However, teachers are there to assist you in every step of the way.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police Everywhere!

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    All kings!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wanting to get your two years out the way and transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is very common

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than what you pay for!

    What to do for fun

    They have so many clubs on campus, will definitely have what ever your into.

    Food and Dining

    The food was ok, not all that.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorm, its the next thing to getting your own place!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is very thorough

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you read your book, take notes, and study, you will make great grades.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. The classes are small. The teachers are patient

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly cops around

    Greek Life

    Very little

    Clubs and Activities

    All the usual clubs, but they have the world famous Rangerettes and host the Texas Shakespeare Festival every summer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students putting themselves through school

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to knock out some core curriculum that's going to cost at least twice as much at a bigger university. Especially during the condensed summer or holiday semesters. Most of the teachers are willing to go the extra mile to help you learn, so long as you show up for class and try your best and ask for help when you need it.

    What to do for fun

    Get out of town.

    Food and Dining

    Typically cafeteria food, nothing special or extraordinary about it. Several different religious groups offer free lunch throughout the week, and are pretty good about not pressuring you to join their religion.

    Dorm Life

    If you're a Rangerette, your dorm is awesome. Otherwise, not so much.

    Academic Rigor

    The core classes are pretty easy, but once you get into a more specific field of study the classes are a bit more challenging. They definitely have classes to weed out the students who don't have the motivation to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy textbooks on amazon whenever possible! Web courses are alright, but flex courses are a nice option they offer. One class a week and most of the work is online, which is nice since I've never met the profs I took 3 different online classes from.

    In three sentences

    Reasonably priced for getting basics done. Convenient locations in Kilgore and Longview. Most profs really seem to care about what they're teaching.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Looks like a great college to get your foot in the door to the real world. Its not too far from home. I have heard great thing about this school.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spirit here at Kilgore is unlike other community colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper tuition than other universities.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Kilgore is only a couple blocks away. Many of us ride our bikes and get frozen yogurt. It is a small family friendly town.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many options and all three of the meals have healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    I am a Kilgore Rangerette and we live in a private dorm. It is very accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    The education here at Kilgore is wonderful. The teachers are always willing to get to know you more on a personal level to continue your own personal academic achievements.

    Tips for prospective students

    Introduce yourself to each of your professors on the first day of class.

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College is a small campus with a big academic and family feel. It is full of tradition. It always upholds a large university academic education.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest college in the area

    What to do for fun

    Sports and Activites

    Food and Dining

    Not bad for in campus food but there are great places to eat around the campus and in Kilgore.

    Dorm Life

    Needs to be updated unless you are a Rangerette.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to learn but they help you grasp the material. They do not have the typically college professor attitude of I Do Not Care

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College is very inexpensive and resonable. They have very flexible class schedules to suit every college student's needs. They also have many student activities to keep you having fun.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a full fledged police station and officers who have every authority of any city policing agency. They will walk you to your car if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Getting started and want to stay close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    East Texas Oil Museum. Kilgore was once called the world's richest acre and has a rich history in oil discovery and recovery.

    Bang for the buck

    I live in-district, so I get alot of bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, local theatre, nice park, biking, football games, tennis.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of fast food around for meals. Have not had a meal on campus yet.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to me. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Cannot answer yet. Enrolled, have not attended classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Student Building for all your needs. If it's not there, they will help you find it. Get the tour and the free t-shirt.

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College is small enough to be personable and large enough to meet all of my community college needs. I found the counseling office to be sincere and helpful. I found Kilgore college to have more buildings and classes than I have found at other communty colleges.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On call, on site security is always available. Never had ANY problems at KC.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not real big, but if you want Greek life it's easily found there.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of church clubs, organizations that are out there to help everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't think college is for them, and that make think they are not smart enough. At KC everyone is welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Local concerts, food on campus, and always big football games!

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, KC is BANGING!

    What to do for fun

    Kilgore it's self is always having concerts, places to voulnteer, movies, and Longview is real close with clubs, bars etc.

    Food and Dining

    Small town with lots of nice, good homecooked meals, but if your looking for alot of nice restaurants Longview it only 15 min away with everything you can think of.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not lived in KC dorms. I have never heard anything bad about them!

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to go to college somewhere that will help Kilgore is the place. It's a school with average students but tough classes that make you smarter than you have ever been!

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what your degree plan is! It's alot easier than changing every semester and it taking forever to finish school. Once you graduate with something you can always go back!

    In three sentences

    I have been attending Kilgore College for 3 years now. It's a very dedicated school. KC has lots of tradition that makes everyone feel at home. Home of the lovely rangerettes.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The KC police are very serious. They give out tickets for almost everything. They are very good about checking on everything that is reported to them though. I feel pretty safe for the most part. KC is pretty small so they are able to do their job pretty well.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have lots of different clubs you can get into. They also have all their sports for students who don't play on the college teams. They have an awesome gym you can go work out in or play some basketball.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students who are just trying to get some basics out of the way. As long as you know the classes will transfer, then you're set to go. This is also great for students who just want to get an associates. Kilgore has some great programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There might be some for people who live on campus, but I don't live on campus; therefore, I don't really know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    You save alot of money by going to Kilgore. And just about all the classes I have taken so far have been great classes. I learned alot and definitely enjoyed them. The teachers are very helpful, and want you to be successful.

    What to do for fun

    They have alot of churches that do things for the students, such as, free lunches, different banquets, game days, cookies and worshiping time. They also have the pep rallys that are fun to go watch, and they always do a meal afterwards. The library sometimes has stuff going on. And during the hot times they have free snow cones. Also close to the college you have a movie theatre, restaurants, Kilgore also has a game room you can go chill in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe on campus is pretty good. It's always busy around lunch time, and you have to wait a while. But the food is normally worth it.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in a dorm on campus so I can't give you personal experience. But from friends that do live on campus, they say it's not the best but it's definitely not the worst.

    Academic Rigor

    They have great teachers, and you learn alot. But sometimes the classes you take might go to waste because they don't transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you know the exact classes you need, if you're trying to get in a program or take classes for a program at a different school. Also be sure that all your classes will transfer and be sure that Kilgore gives the right class. Alot of the time Kilgore will have the same class, but it'll be different from other schools and those schools won't accept the class.

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College has great teachers, and they really work with you. Not all your classes transfer, and usually the counselors aren't very well at helping you figure out which classes will and will not transfer. The campus is a fun campus though.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere.

    Greek Life

    Not much!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty

    Great for these types of students

    Transferring students and students looking to get a trade.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really a lot to do. Most people go watch basketball and football to see the rangerettes. The location of the school doesn't provide alot of out of school activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and snack bar.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a lot of Female Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO your research before you decide to jump in. Look up all of you teachers so that you know what to except.

    In three sentences

    I would give Kilgore College an 9 out of 10. This school is great stepping stone for students that are considering transferring to a University. This school in know for its nursing program and it is very competitive.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    KCPD, Kilgore College Police Department, provides safety to all students. They are on the clock twnty-four hours a day, and on the look out for any trouble that may arise. No crime is tolerated here, and the tickets handed out for disobeying any law are not the cheapest.

    Greek Life

    While there is not much Greek Culture here at Kilgore, the Greek Studies are limitless. Theatre, history, and theology are all great classes that teach about Greek philosophy and help to experience the Grecian life, without ever leaving the campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    From RealTalk, Book Club, and Key club, to Basketball, Swimming, and Cheerleading, Kilgore has it all. The World-Famous Rangerettes are stunning to watch, as well as the sports and cheerleaders. Looking for a place to interact with other students and it not interfere with studies? Kilgore can help with that.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a low-cost school as well as environment, quiet neighborhood to study in, available teachers and staff, and different cultures of students, Kilgore is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a group at Kilgore called RealTalk. the group is Christian-based with student leaders, and student members. It is a unique organization that allows students (Christian faith or not) to speak their mind on individual topics. The group is a good way to meet other students, hear what different views students have about different topics, and to enjoy concerts, fun, and other great activities.

    Bang for the buck

    As mentioned before, Kilgore College is very inexpensive. On average, students pay about five-thousand dollars total for both semesters if they choose to live in the dorms and about twenty-five hundred dollars to only attend the school. Everything about Kilgore is very inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Kilgore is full of shopping and eaterys, as well as unique boutiques and book stores. Kilgore is mostly a quiet city, with parks for families, restaraunts, a four star cinema, and a theatre that puts on different shows all through the year. The college life is a little less quiet, though. From sports activites, clubs, churches, and just your average college night life, there is more than meets the eye when it comes to Kilgore College.

    Food and Dining

    A center court cafe, cafeteria, and not to mention the different churches on campus that offer free food different days of the week, are all some of the choices Kilgore College has to offer when it comes to food. The taste is delicious, the cleaniness is very acceptable, and the interaction with other students makes the meal just a little warmer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is average. While it may be inexpensive, it comes with exactly what students pay for. There is a laundrymat, privacy for every room, and security on all dormitories. The dormitories have rules and regulations (including a curfew), that when followed, no consequences come about.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Kilgore is like any other college/university; students are required to do their work independently. The work is easy when studying and practice is applied, and the teachers are always willing to work with their students to help them along the way. If low-cost and good education is an interest, Kilgore College is the way to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all students looking at Kilgore College to jump-start their college life, or even for a career, then dont hesitate! The tutition is inexpensive, the career/degree opportunites are innumerable, and the facilities are easily located. Thereare also many clubs, organizations, and groups that welcome all new-comers to join!

    In three sentences

    For any students that are not ready to jump into a 4-year university but want to get some of that college experience, Kilgore College is the place to start. The teachers are willing to work with students outside of class to help them through the semester, and students have access to free tutoring, job opportunities, and workout facilities. The college is definitely full of students from different cultures and will help prepare students for a 4-year university in no time!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police driving around the campus keeping students feeling safe. They have an alert system that texts students when and where problems are occurring.

    Greek Life

    There is not a Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Kilgore is great for students that maybe did not do great in high school and need a boost before attending larger colleges. It is also good for parents that are returning to college and have not been in school for a while. It is a good transition school to help students get set on the right track towards a diploma.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kilgore is home to the first ever drill team. The Kilgore Rangerettes are an all girls dance team that attend school and travel around to perform for many audiences. They have many traditions and are an interesting part of this schools history.

    What to do for fun

    There are several church based organizations on campus that are fun and provide activities to do on certain nights. Also, there is bowling, a movie theater, and another theater that only costs two dollars. Downtown, which is right down the road, has several shopping boutiques, a frozen yogurt shop, delicious restaurants, and a coffee shop. Next door to the school is the oil museum that explains how Kilgore got its start. It is a small town, but full of rich history to be explored.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus. The Cafe is pretty good and has meals that you can order there and pay for that are very good although the service is slow. In the cafeteria, they always serve pizza then have other choices that change everyday. Sometimes it is really great, and other times it is below average. They do not offer many food choices there, but luckily several fast food places are right down the road.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun if you make it fun. The people are interesting and enjoyable to be with, but the actual dorm is not so great. It has many maintenance problems that are ignored.

    Academic Rigor

    Kilgore College has its share of difficult and easy classes. I have noticed that many students have found the business and science courses the most challenging. From my own experience, I think that if you keep up with your work, and ask questions when they come up, it is not difficult. Like every college, students must be willing to work to earn their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to future students would be to open up and meet as many people as you can. Because the town is so small, it is important to make friends and get creative with how to have fun. I've heard many students from Kilgore say that they do not enjoy it because of the city, but that is because they did not get involved or try to make it fun. Also, get to know your teachers. Show them that you are a dedicated student and ask questions whenever you have them. When teachers see you work hard and make an effort, they are more likely to help you out when you need it.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Kilgore College is an exceptional start into the college world for those not quite ready for a university experience. It is a small college in a small town, driving students to work hard in school and become close with fellow classmates. It is also inexpensive, but students still receive a good quality education.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    My professors in my college classes have been great to help and go above and beyond to assist me. As being a high school student this has been a blessing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Kilgores accredition is one that is respectable because when my sister transferred to UNCP in North Carolina to work on her BA, all but one class transferred. Kilgore is a good school with alot to offer.

    In three sentences

    As a high school Senior I have advanced my ranking with the help of Kilgore College dual credit courses from 17 to now ranked 4th in my graduating class, graduation May 25th. Kilgore College's help line and staff have been there to make any questions me or my parents had, easily answered which is very appreciated. When I graduate May 25th, I will have almost 30 college credit hours thru the dual credit offerings from Kilgore College, jumpstarting my carreer in the medical field.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online classes are great for students with families and full time jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    The eduction in return is well worth the money.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate at school.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rank the academic rigor 3 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take online classes.

    In three sentences

    Teachers who teach online classes are awesome. The assignments are easy but informative. Kilgore college is worth paying for.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling, movies, dining, night-life, fitness center...you name it, we've got it.

    Food and Dining

    The town is full of food places.

    Dorm Life

    Dont stay in the dorms. TERRIBLE.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes let's the professor tailor the education to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes fill up fast, don't wait to register or you wont get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are small and the teachers are generally friendly. I enjoy being a student here. The education is well priced.

  • 04/14/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Is the student s who want to become sucessful or who just want to experiance the college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Kilgore is a great school to look up.

    Will enjoy being here

    My sister angela went to kilgore and she told me so much and she said that it is a great college to attend.

    Will learn a lot

    You will only learn alot if you want to. Of course it wouldn't be a college to go to.