Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lake-Sumter State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/11/2017

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a small campus, there are very few threats. Security guards are located on campus in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    LSSC offers theatre, volleyball, baseball, softball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to live close to home, and great for those of you that prefer small class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gyms are open to any student.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Sumter's prices are great for what you getting.

    What to do for fun

    LSSC does offer special events throughout the year. During October, for example, they host a Halloween themed 5K race that is really fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria as well as vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    LSSC does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at LSSC hold you to a high standard. You have to work hard to earn a high grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    LSSC is overall a great college for any student that likes small class sizes, high academic standards, and many of the class sizes are under 25 students.

    In three sentences

    Great for a State College.

  • 01/11/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gyms are open to any student.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria as well as vending machines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is key. If the offered resources aren't beneficial enough, do your best to find another way that works for you, if not it will swallow you whole.

    In three sentences

    It's expensive for people who don't have any financial aid or scholarships and have to pay for everything by themselves. Also the resources offered are only beneficial if you have time to go the campus when not in class. However, the success rate is good, as well as the credentials.

  • 03/08/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lake-Sumter offers theatre, volleyball, baseball, softball, etc. You are even able to create your own club!

    Bang for the buck

    Lake-Sumter is not very expensive. With Bright futures and another scholarship of about $1,000 you can attend for one year free. The books are not too expensive and they offer a rental deal for cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    From my experience at Lake-Sumter the teachers do most everything in their power to help you learn. This does change according to the teacher, but 4/5 of the teachers are willing to put themselves out their for your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a new student coming to Lake-Sumter be yourself. The people I have met at Lake-Sumter are all confident and nice people. If you are yourself and confident, you'll get along with everyone.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Lake-Sumter has been wonderful! I am only 16 years old and was worried about being in a college environment, but Lake-Sumter is very friendly. I have loved my on-campus teachers this semester and am excited about continuing my education next semester at Lake-Sumter.

  • 06/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a small campus, there are very few threats. Security guards are located on campus in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    This institution offers a variety of clubs, such as College Democrats, French Honor Society, Mathlympics, and Brain Bowl.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to live close to home, and great for those of you that prefer small class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here is roughly half that of UCF, while still getting a quality education. The books, however, are still very expensive, so be sure to buy online if you can.

    What to do for fun

    LSSC does offer special events throughout the year. During October, for example, they host a Halloween themed 5K race that is really fun.

    Food and Dining

    LSSC does offer food at each campus when you're on the go. They have plenty of vending machines and a cafeteria that serves meals, such as pizza and salad.

    Dorm Life

    LSSC does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at LSSC hold you to a high standard. You have to work hard to earn a high grade. Extra credit here is rare, so make sure you do all of the assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class regularly. The instructor will give you important information that the textbook doesn't always address. In an online course, be sure to listen to the professor's recorded lectures that are posted under resources in order to gain this information.

    In three sentences

    LSSC is overall a great college for any student that likes small class sizes, high academic standards, and great student assistance. Many of the class sizes are under 25 students, so the instructor is able to provide one-on-one assistance outside of class. The academic advisors, ad transfer coordinators are always willing to help you meet your academic goals.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs on campus, and the school is good about hosting activities and sports events.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria at the Leesburg campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging and there are few professors who are helpful, but the learning center is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest meeting with an advisor as soon as possible to discuss your major, and having a game plan for each semester. I also suggest getting a second opinion from another advisor.

    In three sentences

    The college has made many improvements since transitioning to a state college. The advisors have not been very helpful and the school is out dated but it is making changes to improve this. The class sizes are small, but the class hours are either very early in the morning, or early evening.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school provides a wide variety of online, face to face, and hybrid courses.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides school events around accessible areas such as the sails pavilion and library where students can participate in gatherings organized by the student government association.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hybrid classes, depending on the instructor, provide a reasonable percentage of classroom and online portions of the course.

    In three sentences

    Lake Sumter Sate College provides several opportunities for the students that attend the school. Not only are the face to face, hybrid, and online classes fair but there are always tutoring options available at the learning center with reasonable hours. As for the students who wish to attend the University of Central Florida, Lake Sumter Community Colleges from Sumter, South Lake, and Leesburg act as region campuses for the student's convenience.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been at Lake Sumter for a year now and I love it. The staff is always friendly and the advisors are great. I have had nothing, but great outcomes here. I would highly recommend this college to anyone!

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    S.A.F.I.R.E. clubs and various campus events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe on the Leesburg campus is a great place to get some good cooking.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life! Perfect for me! I get to live where I want, not on a campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are for every skill level. Calculus III for the math savvy and Chem with the hardest teacher I've ever heard of. Easier math classes are available and science classes for everyone are passable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out your professors before the time comes for registration. This will save you hours of frustration and the risk of withdrawing from a class.

    In three sentences

    Perfect for students of all skill levels. Equal opportunities for all. Great advising team!

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Lake Sumter's prices are great for what your getting.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of student activites on campus like contests and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria area and the food there is okay.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are all kinds of different teachers at Lake Sumter. Some will challenge you and some will be easy on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on time management. Attend your class on a regular basis and keep an eye open for any school activities.

    In three sentences

    Lake Sumter is a great college to start off with. It has an excellent math department and many student activities. It challenges you but not too much to the point were you become stressed.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    You can involved so easily and have a blast with so many people you wouldn't know without joining that club!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out around town. Going out with friends to dinner or movies.

    Food and Dining

    There is not really anywhere to dine on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is only dorms for the people playing sports.

    Academic Rigor

    Great for a State College!

    Tips for prospective students

    Really consider this school for the great prices and convenient campus'. Sign up for your classes as soon as you can so you can get the ones you want because they fill up quick because of the so many students.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. All the teachers are always there to help and want you to pass. The school is so convenient and have times for classes to accommodate anyone.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am so ready to leave this school. At times, it can be the most unorganized place in the universe.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a game station set up as well as air hockey and pool in the student center. There is also a work out center. Or you can read in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use RateMyProfessor.com around registration time. It will help you gauge whether or not it would be right for you to take that class. Arrive early enough to find a parking spot. It gets a little hectic. Always speak to a guidance councilor. they seem to know what's going on.

    In three sentences

    1. Beware of the teachers you are signing up to teach you. 2. Make sure you get everything done early or face being told that you can't be helped. 3. Always make appointments for everything as well as keeping all paperwork for documentation (i.e. homework, tests, notes).

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great little cafe on campus. Reasonable hours. Good food and environment.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes offered. Material presented in an effective way and lots of resources available for academics. Plenty of options for classes and types of courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid on time and accurately. Stay focused on your classes and learn to manage your time well. Don't be afraid to ask for assistance, it is always available at Lake-Sumter State College.

    In three sentences

    Great school! To the point classes and plenty of assistance available. Quiet, low-key environment, amazing library, and great location for studies.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security guards on golf carts everywhere you go no matter what time it is and they are very friendly as well.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any Greek organizations at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really know what clubs and activities there are here since I'm always studying.

    Great for these types of students

    student who want to start out on a small cheap campus and work there way up to a local university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any.

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely you get A LOT of bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Go to library right on campus and do homework on the computers with friends from my classes, or sit at the Cafe or Learning Center and catch up on the latest things happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafe is good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on who you have as a teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for admission and Financial aid even if you don't think you qualify, also register for classes as soon as they are available because seats go really quick.

    In three sentences

    This school is just Awesome in general. I love the the Staff is so friendly and are willing to work with the students. The Cafe in the Library also has some really GREAT food.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe and people at the school are awesome! They really care about the customers and they provide good and heathy food to everyone.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on campus. There is off campus living which is apartments within the community or most people are commuter students that live close to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are some what challenging here but the teachers never make it too hard for you. There is always help if you are struggling in classes. The success rate at this school is very high and each course will help you with your furture.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to make sure to stay on top of their classes and don't be afraid to ask for help. Also to make every opportunity count with their college experience.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at Lake Sumter are willing to help you in every aspect that they can and they do not want to see you fail. Also I was apart of the athletic program here on campus and it is one of the best programs around. The last thing I loved about this school was the homey feeling it gave you and you actually felt apart of something bigger.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always zooming around on golf carts. The parking lots look a little creepy after night classes, but there have been no issues that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    A club for every kid, just about. The Sci-fi/Fantasy club is particularly active.

    Great for these types of students

    Money-conscious kids who still want a good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's an awesome network of nature trails behind the school that is kept up and cared for, complete with a boardwalk. There are also several lake/ponds and lots of scenic locations.

    Bang for the buck

    The same education you'll get at a large college, but much cheaper and closer to home. Start here, and then move up to more advanced schooling if necessary.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Life group is always planning things, from free movie nights to zombie weeks to Easter egg hunts to water balloon fights to lots and lots of free food.

    Food and Dining

    VIP foods in the cafeteria is delicious, but maybe not quite suited for a college kid budget. It's always fresh and made with care, but there's not exactly a dollar menu.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms! Very easy to rate.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes will give you a solid foundation for your degree. Some are easier than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your studies, but feel free to get involved in a club. It's a great way to meet your fellow students and break the ice of a new school.

    In three sentences

    This college is very professional, not just a local school. Most teachers are very concerned with student success and are willing to help students individually. LSSC also has a very active student government and student life group - there are always fun things happening.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I believe you are intended to eat off campus, but there are some instances of food items. At the Sumter campus, there is a few ways to get food.

    Dorm Life

    Currently not living on campus. Most of my fellow students live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers pushes us to do our best. They are also a good support team for helping you throughout your education course.

    In three sentences

    Lake- Sumter Community College is a very positive environment with many resources for educational purposes that students don't have at home. The teachers are very helpful, but pushes you to do your best at the same time. I highly recommend this to my cohorts.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although I did not recieve financial aid, the pricing for the classes is reasonable. Compared to 4-year Universities, these classes are cheap. The only downside to make this category a 4 is the textbook prices. Buy used or rent as often as possible.

    What to do for fun

    The main campus in Leesburg is much bigger and has more activities to partake in. The student lounge has a pool table and ping pong table. This helps pass the time between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has great food and prices. I gave it a four since they close the cafe at 5 when night classes start at 6. It would be more convenient to have longer operating hours for those rushing from work to school who don't have time to grab a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms available at this community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is to register for classes early to have first pick on convenient class times. Classes tend to fill up fast and only a certain number of seats and courses per semester are offered. Don't be afraid to meet with an academic advisor. Meeting with them often will help you stay on track with your educational goals and to avoid taking unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the small classroom sizes at the college. This helps for a better opportunity to ask questions and get help from the teacher during office hours. At other colleges the teachers don't know you by name, but at Lake Sumter the teachers get to know you on a personal level which motivates and encourages you to keep going strong.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are call boxes all over campus, as well as security or some other staff members always driving around on golf carts. The two years I attended I do not recall any safety related incidents.

    Bang for the buck

    Spend two years here and save a ton of money.

    What to do for fun

    Study make better grades than anyone else in your class.

    Food and Dining

    From what I here it is good. I normally eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the rigor is what one would expect, however many students feel certain courses are to difficult. Not having attended other colleges it is hard to compare as to what average academic rigor is.

    Tips for prospective students

    If appling for financial aid apply early, the process may require multiple visits to the financial aid office. At your earliest convenience visit career development services, they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Lake-Sumter Community College is in the process of becoming Lake-Sumter State College. My experience here has been good. Class size is small, usually less than 30 students. Instructors seem concerned for students and are available and willing to help serious students.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college has many different fun clubs that anyone who is interested can join. Also, there are activities held on campus during various times throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    I absolutely love going to the cafe on campus. They have cheap food that doesn't taste cheap. They also have healthier choices for those watching what they eat.

    Dorm Life

    LSCC does not have on-campus dorms or living arrangements.

    Academic Rigor

    At LSCC, the classes ensure there is enough difficulty to be able to learn things, but keep the topics at or slightly above the level you are at. I don't believe any of the classes would be too difficult to manage as long as you pay attention, do the work, and try your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there's anything I would advise you to do, would be to get signed up for your classes early. This ensures you get the classes you need and at the best times for you. If you wait too long, the classes you want will be filled up quick.

    In three sentences

    Since I have been a student at LSCC, I have found the teachers are fantastic, the courses are on point, and the campus/website is easy to navigate. When you have any questions regarding transcripts, classes, or really anything in general, you can easily contact someone that can help you find the answers you need. The teachers I have dealt with so far are extremely nice, know exactly what they're talking about, and most have been at the school for quite a while, so they've experienced quite a bit. I love this school!

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One little old man riding on his golf cart putting tickets on peoples cars for not having a LSCC car tag.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nothing

    Great for these types of students

    Weirdos and rednecks

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There was never any real student involvement.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and you get your degree.

    What to do for fun

    There's a tiny lounge area with a tv and pool table. Always weird kids hanging out. yippee

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria always smelled gross.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure. I didn't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class was easy except English 1

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take Professor Jochims.

    In three sentences

    Teachers here always seem like they have somewhere else they need to be. They don't really care about how well you do. I had a teacher that came to school everyday sick and all we did was watch movies. Lazy, lazy teachers.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards that always ride around on golf carts

    Bang for the buck

    getting an aa or as at this two year college is cheap and with the direct connect to ucf program they give you the tools you need to get into ucf, or anywhere else

    What to do for fun

    there's multiple nature trails and intramural sports, there is also a walking path that encompasses the school.

    Food and Dining

    theres a mcdonalds, wendys, kfc, etc. within 5 minutes away ive never actually ate there

    Dorm Life

    there are none

    Academic Rigor

    I have all core classes and ive never really studied and i have good grades, so long as you do your homework and come to class you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    register asap seats for classes go fast.

    In three sentences

    Lake sumter is a great college, with cheap tuition. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and so far classes are easy.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I first started, this was something I was worried about because there are a lot of people that go to this school, but there are a lot of security guards wondering around on their carts. Also, I read in the college catalog that their had only been one theft in the past ten years or so.

    Greek Life

    From what I have seen, there isn't a Greek Life at LSCC. I believe this is because it is a community college and not a university, and I have never heard of a community college with sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I see several clubs and activities posted on the bulletin board all the time, but I have not personally attended any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    LSCC is great for all types of students. Everyone that goes there seems to find their own little niche, and do their own thing. You don't have to be outgoing or super smart. You can just be yourself and try in your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    An education at LSCC is totally worth the money paid.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs and activities that I see posted on the bulletin boards all around school. I am not a very outgoing person, so I am not really involved in any of that but it is there.

    Food and Dining

    On the Leesburg campus, they have a little cafeteria by the bookstore, so if you get hungry or you are going to be on campus for a while, you can eat something there. They are also located by the Lake Square Mall, so you can go to the food court or whatever.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    You really have to work hard and make sure you do your homework and study for your tests and quizzes, but the work itself is not that hard if you pay attention in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip would be to work hard. My brother made the mistake of going into college with the high school mindset, where he thought he wasn't going to do anything and get by on tests. It is not that simple at LSSC, and you have to try if you want a good education.

    In three sentences

    Lake-Sumter Community College, now known as Lake-Sumter State College is an amazing school. They have great, down-to-earth teachers who are willing to help you if you need it, and small classes that help with that. They also offer free tutoring in the Learning Center for students who need any additional help.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much, the library is mostly what's used. They have a game room in the dining area which offers decent entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, it's at a decent price as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The material taught isn't to the point of being impossible to excel at, but it isn't easy at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely attend the college, even if only for a short period of time.

    In three sentences

    It's very convenient and is much better in my opinion than going to a University directly out of college. It has a sense of home to it, it isn't too intimidating for those just out of high school while still presenting enough of a challenge to be entertaining and interesting.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They frquently have outside activities that are great fun.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe Dupree is the only spot on campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    The best way to excell in college is to put the time into your studies. Lake Sumter has a very good library and resource area.

    In three sentences

    Lake Sumter Community College is a very good starter college. I am enrolled as a dual enrollment student and find Lake Sumter as a challenging and exciting college. I would recommend it to anyone just starting out in college.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe .

    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers and low costs.

    What to do for fun

    Moives, shopping, hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a little cafe in the student area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    LSCC has some easy classes and more challenging ones. There is a nice mix.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply!

    In three sentences

    LSCC is a nice down-to-earth community college. It has a variety of classes of many different subjects. Plus, it has some of the nicest teachers I have ever met!

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few small campus well lit with security

    Clubs and Activities

    Volleyball,baseball, Volunteer clubs,Book clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes with more one on one with the professors. Offers online classes for all students making it easier for the ones who still work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college and local library are adjoined

    Bang for the buck

    The location is perfect. Not crowded, small class sizes,all age groups in the same class which I believe helps us younger ones appreciate the opportunity we have been given to attend college now. Constant learning school for life.

    What to do for fun

    There is bowling,theater, theme parks,live concerts, water activities, too many to name within 30 minutes or less from campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small eatery on campus. Very close to major restaurants and mom and pop places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    does not have

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes transfer. I believe they are challenging classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign uo early to get the classes you need.

    In three sentences

    Great for freshman. THe preview of college was a plus so you do not feel out of place on the first day.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never encountered so far anything dangerous and the campus has security guards patrolling the campus every few hours on golf carts.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large variety of clubs and activities to join at the community college, just keep your eyes peeled for those ads they post up on the walls!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I saw

    What to do for fun

    Chill outside on the campus, talking to your classmates and friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafe on my campus with a variety of selection, but of course the prices don't help either.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so there are no dorms. You complete your classes for the day and head on back home or to your work.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what classes you sign up for and what type of degree you're heading for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to sign up for classes the first day it's available since classes can fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Lake-Sumter for the most part (depending on which campus you select) is a small college which makes it easier to find and get to your classes on time. However, with that being said, since it's small, there aren't many classes as you'd like, and they can fill up real quick if you're not a senior there. Overall though, all the staff and professors I've talked with are awesome and friendly and I would recommend future students to this college.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A cheaper way to go for your first 2 years compared to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are some activities here but the college is very small. Also I was just going to get my degree and also I was working.

    Food and Dining

    I never used.

    Dorm Life

    This doesn't apply for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    I did have to study but overall most classes came pretty easy to me. I listens and took notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out rate my professor.com before you sign up for a class.

    In three sentences

    I attended as a dual enroll student. It was very convenient and I liked the fact that I could be in control of what classes I took and when. Overall I had a great experience here.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    it is a great school and can help you prepare for a big.ger school

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Older students, returning students

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school for the money and the quality of the education yo receive.

    What to do for fun

    Snow Ski, Scuba Dive, ride Motorcycle, Write Poems,

    Food and Dining

    The food is prepared fresh and quick, along with a fresh salad bar allows for most diets.

    Academic Rigor

    At LSCC the classes are tough and the teachers except you to attend class and get your assigments done on time. Exams are not easy but the teachers take the time to prepare you properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly reccommend attending Lake Sumter Community College, I would always suggest being an active part of the class, answer questions when asked and ask questions when you don't understand. This allows you and the teacher to get to know each other and helps you retain information.

    In three sentences

    I am so blessed to have the chance to attend Lake Sumter Community College, This is my second semester back to college after 20yrs, and things have changed so much but the professors have been wonderful and encouraging, in all aspects. I am very thankful for the extra time and questions that my instructor�¢����s gave me without hesitation.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on campus to ensure that students are safe as possible.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there are no sororities or fraternities at Lake-Sumter since it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association (SGA) Campus Diplomats Leadership Institute Clubs & Organizations Student Publications Intramurals & Campus Recreation Community Service Opportunities

    Great for these types of students

    Work Study is offered at Lake-Sumter for those looking for a job while attending college at Lake-Sumter.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student lounge is The Spot furnished with tables, chairs, vending machines, pool table, and table tennis (Ping Pong). Also the teen lounge located on the first floor of the Cooper Memorial Library is exclusively for teens only; many go there to read, use the computers, or causally socialize with others at the table and sofas provided.

    Bang for the buck

    At Lake-Sumter Community College you get the education you want and expect, you make life long friends, and have fun at the local attractions which create an awesome community college experience!

    What to do for fun

    Since Lake-Sumter (South Lake Campus or Clermont Campus) are in the heart of Central Florida there are many shopping districts in and out of the Clermont area, restaurants, and other local attractions such as movie theaters, bowling, and roughly a 30-40 minute drive to Orlando's most popular theme parks, as well as an 1-1 1/2 hour drive to any of the Florida's beaches.

    Food and Dining

    From smoothies to burgers and a variety of other meals and healthy options the food at Lake-Sumter Community College is tasty and provides you with the right amount of energy needed to stay awake in class instead of day dreaming of food during a lecture. Also around the campus are vending machines for that quick pick-me-up kinda snack.

    Dorm Life

    One important idea to remember while considering attending Lake-Sumter is that none of the Lake-Sumter Community College locations (Sumter, Leesburg, Clermont) have accommodations for such needs as dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at Lake-Sumter are serious about students understanding the material that is taught to them and want to ensure that any questions a student may have will be clarified with their answer. Since we are talking about answering clearly, this skill will need to be developed in order to do oral presentations which will become second nature, since most professors want you to have the ability to approach and present themselves to a crowd or class in a professional manner. Some oral presentations may be accompanied with a paper, so essays and other long paged assignments will also be a normal thing at Lake-Sumter, and waiting to complete that 5 - 8 paged paper a few days before the deadline will definitely set you back a few steps on the game board and you may be playing catch up in order to bring up your grade. But do not be terrified to these challenges, they are what builds the confidence that students strive to achieve in order to be successful in their career field.

    Tips for prospective students

    DirectConnect is offered at Lake-Sumter Community College for the University of Central Florida (UCF), and Saint Leo University. Your credits may possibly be accepted at other colleges if you plan on attending a different University or College. A great way to get a clear answer is to speak to an academic adviser, someone in the Main Office at any of the three campuses, or calling any Lake-Sumter location.

    In three sentences

    Lake-Sumter Community College is an exceptional college to attend if you want to save money and continue to be on the right track to your future degree, which is possible because of not only the DirectConnect with the University of Central Florida but also Saint Leo University and many other colleges as well.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Assoications, Diplomats

    What to do for fun

    Student Lounge

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best out of your college experience by getting involved in the organizations that they offer.

    In three sentences

    Lake Sumter Community College provides a student focused environment for all students. It is a school that's highly involved in their student's education. LSCC is a power driven school that provides a support system to encourage academic excellence.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All the chemistry and biology classrooms are full of safety devices in case of fire or chemical spill. That is the only real danger we have here at Lake-Sumter Community College.

    Greek Life

    We do not have much Greek Life at LSCC which in a way is good because we are a drama-free campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama Club, Anime Club, Honor Societies, Computer Club, Sports Clubs. There is so much to offer at LSCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Sumter Community College is great for anyone just starting out in Lake County. It's a growing experience. It helps you reach towards your future while still being close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The center of campus is where the various eventful games take place. Sometimes there is random barbeques and picnics. Occasionally there is a career fair. Sometimes there's students playing Frisbee or soccer. There's always something going on.

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, the classes are pretty cheap and the experience itself is worth every penny. Spending my time at LSCC has changed me as a person and I think most people feel the same way.

    What to do for fun

    LSCC has a nature trail behind the main buildings where I like to go and hike through the forest with my friends. There is a campus-wide game called Humans versus Zombies my school plays too where we chase each other around like maniacs. It's exciting and entertaining and relieves stress from classwork.

    Food and Dining

    The student center is the place to go for food. You can purchase anything from pink lemonade to cheese burgers to chicken tenders. Personally, I prefer the potato wedges and if you're lucky you can even get some free ranch dip for them. They have vending machines at almost every building where you can get some fuel before classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at LSCC. It is a local community college. However, it is full of a friendly family-oriented staff and friendly family-oriented student-base.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses at Lake-Sumter Community College are Gordon Rule and thus assignments must meet deadlines and be formatted in certain ways. This not only benefits the student and prepares them for a University but it also makes sure the student learns the material thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for your classes early and if you miss the main sign-up wait until the withdrawal and drop-out deadline and re-check the class lists to see if you can get the classes you wanted. Join and go to every activity the school announces; Never hold back. You can go to the library and learning center after classes and meet fellow classmates along with tutors to help extend the learning experience further. You can also meet with the teachers during their office hours; This allows for full understanding. You can also spend your lunch break at the student center: eating fresh baked foods, playing ping pong and game cube, or socializing with the friendly students of LSCC.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at this school instruct well and the lesson plans are thoroughly organized. The students have fun at this school through special organized events which helps put them in good mood and create a positive atmosphere. The advisers encourage success and will do everything in their power to help their students succeed.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've yet to see or hear of any incidents involving saftey of the students or staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities all the time to do. They even have activities for students with little ones.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We finally have Zombies V.S. Humans on campus! There are a good few new games and contests mixed into it as well.

    What to do for fun

    The SAFIRE club is the one I attended and its a fantastic group. They do fantasy and sci-fi stuff, from games to books. And if you like nature, there is a great nature preserve with many trails. Its a wonderful place to hang out with friends or to just have some personal time.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    While the majority of the teachers are wonderful, there is a handful that are... not so wonderful. I would check with other students who have had the teachers you are signing up for before diving in. You will have to check with a good few students before you choose though, some will just be fussy because they got a bad grade regardless of teacher.

    In three sentences

    A wonderfully friendly place with great faculty who are very helpful.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards that area around the school, especially in the parking lot at night. They are protective of students in dark areas to keep them safe while coming and going from the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities at our school, they are so passionate about their causes, and what they do for the campus. They try to help students, involve students, and have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for any type of student, no body in general. Anyone can attend and feel at home with the activities, teachers, and other students who attend here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can really think of, but it is a great campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a relatively cheap school for the activities that you can participate in, parties, and other things offered at the school, such as laptops that you can borrow, the library, and quality of teaching and learning.

    What to do for fun

    There are great student-life activities hosted by SGA, trips to amusement parks, and they host parties on campus that are great to attend, a lot of fun, and help with social networking as well. The student center is a nice place to hang out between classes, they have a Wii, pool table, and also other activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, the men and women running the food line are so great, very nice, amazing to see every day, and they recognize you when you walk through the line every day, and make great food for good prices.

    Dorm Life

    We dont have dorms, you have to live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really want you to succeed, they work hard to help you, and the smaller classes help you to have more teacher-student attention to answer questions and explain information.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would sign up for classes early to be sure you get the ones you want, go to ratemyprofessor.com to make sure you know what you are getting into, work hard and enjoy all of the SGA activities.

    In three sentences

    Lake-Sumter is a great community college, the professors are really great, and all of the office employees try their best to help you. I have really learned a lot and have a lot of fun.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit on the bench beside the little pond and relax for ten minutes before going to your next class. There is sometimes a little turtle out there.

    Food and Dining

    There is food, somewhere on campus so do not eat out of the vending machine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner like I do. But the vending machine by the Main Building has the freshest candy!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as you get the grade you deserve. Work hard and you get an A. Be lazy and you won't get a good grade. The learning center is a godsend for help with math!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to take any class with Ms. Simmons she awesome! Sit outside by the student center and do homework much more relaxing then inside the library. And there is food so do not eat out of the vending machine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner like I do.

    In three sentences

    Everyone from the teachers, administration, to the librarians are very helpful and nice. It has a clean campus and it is not too big, to avoid from getting lost. I love the website for looking at grades and making class schedule.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    To University and get their AA, AS and opening new oppportunities all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Over all it is a very pleasant and accomodating college. They offer alot of acedemic help for little or no cost. And the tuition is comparable.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, swimming, and reading

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of restaurants in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    It has been challenging with some teachers but all in all they have been great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make if you are applying for any type of assistance you get all the details of what is needed and apply early. It can take awhile with processing due to all the students applying. Before picking classes make sure you check reviews on the teachers.

    In three sentences

    They have been awsome. It started off a little slow at first but has been rewarding.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    the campus doesn't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip for any student is to just get started get your general AA. that is a great start and then you can figure the details of what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    LSCC is a great starting point for the college student. There are many options for everyone to choose from and they give you lots of help to be successful.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Work-Study, Drama Club, and Softball are amazing

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are trying to transition to a University Level or student who would like a fresh start.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not many that I've heard of.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends between classes and go to Universal Orlando on the weekends. It's only about 45 minutes down the road.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with your student advisers as much as possible to make sure you're on the right track for your degree program. Also, use the learning center anytime you need help. More than likely one of your professors will be available to assist you.

    In three sentences

    Lake-Sumter Community College is the first college I've ever attended and I've come to love it. Smaller class sizes caused more interaction between teachers and students in order to sustain good grades. The admission and financial aid processes are also a breeze with the help of student advisers and counselors.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    eager students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it feels a bit like high school, the college layout.

    What to do for fun

    there are many functions that the college offers.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    college can be over whelming, if you begin with a positive attitude and keep it with you through out your degree seeking year(s), you will achieve.

    In three sentences

    lake-sumter is a great community college. the college staff makes time for the individuals who are in need. they have many sources of help you can turn to.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this campus is very safe. there is security that maintains a safe environment and there have only been like 3 safety incidents within the last few years, which is incredible. i believe that since they are a smaller school that it's more of a tight knit community where safety is not an issue.

    Greek Life

    there is not a greek life considering it is only a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    as i mentioned before, they have clubs for all walks of life. whatever you like or whatever subject interests you, there is probably a club for it. if there is not, you can create the club yourself, which is cool. the only activities i have seen so far are career based activities or scholarship functions, but those seem pretty cool as well.

    Great for these types of students

    i believe this school is a perfect school for all types of students. they have many two-year degrees and if you are planning on going to a university, you can do your prerequisites at lscc and then transfer those classes to the university.

    Bang for the buck

    i think you get a sweet deal on costs at this school because it is a community college, but they teach you to get you ready for university. they actually have a transfer degree so that you can go straight from them to the university of central florida.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs and activities at lscc. the activities that i have heard about so far are to help you once you get out of college like a career fair. the clubs, however, are available for whatever subject you like, or whatever you have in common with other people. they are all over the place, so i am sure you can find one that's perfect for you.

    Food and Dining

    they have a cafeteria on campus where you can buy food if you need to, but seeing as there aren't any dorms, most people do not eat there.

    Dorm Life

    there are not any dorms at lscc because it is a community college, so i am not giving it a bad rating because it has bad dorms. i am just giving it a bad rating because it does not have any.

    Academic Rigor

    i believe that lscc is teaching at a higher level than most community colleges, but they give you the resources and they prepare you for your next classes. it really is amazing. i am in enc 1101 right now, and i feel my teacher is setting me up for the rest of my classes. it may be hard work, but it will help me out later.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are brand new and you did not take a tour of the school at some point, i suggest printing out a map available on their website. also, do your work always. if you do your work, you are sure to make a passing grade, so why not just do the homework and get it over with.

    In three sentences

    lake-sumter community college is a fun and helpful way to start your college education. when you first get there everyone is willing to guide you to your classes, and even throughout the year if you have to go somewhere new. also, the teachers are pretty easy going, and none of my teachers are stuck up in any way.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as a small campus, it is easily patrolled, and there are many security guards out here, especially in the parking lots at night. as a woman, i feel very safe here.

    Greek Life

    doesn't exist here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are typically lots of openings available in the different clubs here - and scholarships to go with them! they're hurting for more participation.

    Great for these types of students

    adult students returning to college, dual-enrolled, and students getting a transfer degree tend to flock to this school. there are also nursing programs and night classes for certifications.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a nature trail out back. the school is always expanding, so i suppose we're unusual in that they're always building something.

    Bang for the buck

    if you are a florida resident, a full term here could cost about $1500, including books and lab fees. that's awesome! i'm actually making money going to school right now with grants and scholarships, plus i'm able to work part-time. if all you're doing is getting your aa so you can transfer, why not do it somewhere inexpensive? math, history, and english aren't going to change just because it's a community college.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs and extra-curriculars here. lake county itself is pretty boring, though. if you're looking for a night life, look elsewhere.

    Food and Dining

    there is a mall nearby (i use the term loosely) and many restaurants. there is a small cafe in the student center, but that's pretty much it for on-campus food.

    Dorm Life

    there is no on-campus housing at lscc. most students either live with their parents or in apartments off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes you take here, it can be quite challenging. as a community college, many students here are giving themselves a fresh start after high school, but there are also many who simply want to be close to home or don't want to pay university tuition fees yet. they offer classes for most students' needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    be active in talking with the financial aid department! one of the biggest mistakes new students make is assuming they'll take care of all of it - they won't! they aren't here to baby-sit you, so if you want money for school, pursue it!

    In three sentences

    lscc is a small school, and for completing your first few years of college it is an excellent spring-board to a university. they have a direct-connect program to ucf, and are planning on expanding to offer four-year degrees.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, nature trail

    Food and Dining

    decent food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    just cause its a community college doesn't mean it's easy. work hard, believe in yourself or you wont get anywhere.

    In three sentences

    surprisingly a great variation in classes since its a community college. the teachers tend to be very helpful. the school is easy to navigate.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a nice nature trail on campus

    Food and Dining

    there is a small dining area.

    Dorm Life

    there isn't any.

    Academic Rigor

    not very challenging for the most part. really depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    try your best to manage your time and work (if you have to)

    In three sentences

    it is a great school if you like a more direct learning as the class sizes are small. however it lacks in the online class department as very few are offered each term compared to surrounding schools. i would only ask that more online or hybrid classes be offered.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can go to Lake Sumter. If you are willing to learn while having a job and trying to balance a social life, then this is the community college for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will admit, I was nervous going to college, so I chose Lake Sumter Community College first before heading to a university. I am glad that I made that choice.

    Bang for the buck

    Renting books are great prices even though I get my books through the Internet. There are plenty of scholarships to apply so college can be affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school has a lot of awesome teachers and the students make great friends for years to come. Academically, I would give this school 5 stars.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers will take the time out of their busy schedule to help a struggling student(s) succeed.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lake Sumter is a great college for any student looking to start the college life off slow and sort of easy and to even get those pesky pre-reqs out of the way. Lake Sumter is know for having it's own direct connect transfer programs to UCF and UF, two of the top schools in Florida. The transfer program is a great because most colleges take transfer student like that! *snaps fingers*

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Sumter is a well priced school and I believe every penny going into it is worth it. But my advice to any student going to any college is to try to get as many scholarships as possible, the more extra cash the better. Books are the main money sucker in college and Lake Sumter allows you to rent books so you do not have to pay full price for a brand new one. Lake Sumter also buys used books in case you are not able to find a certain book and had to buy a new one.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am defiantly enjoying being a student at Lake Sumter. I was terrified that the whole college life was going to be intimidating because it is so different from high school, but Lake Sumter's atmosphere is so calm and friendly my first year was a breeze and I cannot wait till my second. I also love the fact that the students are put in control on how many classes they want to take and what classes to take and when. It helps students like me that have two jobs 6 days a week, I am able to work my school schedule around my work schedule.

    Am learning a lot

    Lake Sumter teachers are phenomenal. They are skilled and knowledgeable in the field they teach. All of my teachers have made me a better student by helping me understand the context of the subject rather than memorizing it. I use to hate math until i took Mr. Tripp's math class. Mr. Tripp has made me a fantastic math student and i do not hate math anymore either. The teachers are all very concerned about their students passing and they always take time out of the busy schedules to help any student that is struggling, the teachers at Lake Sumter are truly incredible.

  • 10/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Are you a human? Do you breathe air? Did you select yes for any of these questions? If so, the Lake-Sumter is right for you. No matter what kind of student you are, such as a returning student from years of absence, a struggling parent hoping to garner an education to help their family, or simply a young, fresh out of public schooling student hoping to get a feel for college life, Lake-Sumter is a perfect match. With flexible class hours, ranging from eight in the morning to even six-thirty at night, the prospect of not finding a class you want and can go to is low. Even if you only plan on receiving a few credits from Lake-Sumter, with its easy and flexible transfer programs, you can know that all of your credits are worth something

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure when registering for classes to view what campus they are being placed on! With the major campus being in Leeseburg, most students shall want their classes here. However, Lake-Sumter ALSO has two other campuses for students, at both Cleramont and South Lake.

    Bang for the buck

    With convenient schedules, small class sizes, and enjoyable teachers, your money is well spent when investing into your education here at Lake-Sumter. However, though the bookstore on campus is easily accessible and contains a good selection of materials and used texts, the prices for them can definitely take a large bite out of a strapped for cash student.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is beauty in the simplicity of the school grounds, often peppered by passing students or professors during the day. With a wonderful library that contains enough computers for students, flexible free lab hours for those of us that need a little more time on a project, to the always lively and energetic Student Center, Lake Sumter always has the appeal and wonderful vibe of welcoming all students alike.

    Am learning a lot

    Most universities or major colleges will have the inclination that students actually ENJOY being smashed together like sardines for their classes. At Lake Sumter, the class sizes are small and enjoyable, so information can easily be learned by the students without feeling cramped and confused. Most teachers at Lake Sumter not only enjoy teaching, but many have a guaranteed interest and concern that the students learn the material.

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students, people who like smaller classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up on time, do your homework, and have a set schedule. You will do fine here.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start the application process early. You don't want to wait too long and then end up missing the day you can register for classes, and end up with no classes. Also you don't want to have to take the CPT and end up having to take it over and over again. So start Early!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot cheaper than going to a large university. The book store is like any other book store, so it is more expensive to buy there than online (which I would tell you to do).

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small, and they just added a new/bigger library so the campus is perfect for a student who doesn't want to go to a large Univerity. Plus you are able to take University of Central Florida classes at this campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The amount of students in each class is not much, so the teacher is available for help at anytime you need it.