Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lake Washington Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/23/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security office is located centrally, and as it's a small campus they're able to respond fairly quickly to anything that may need their attention. Regular logs are made of incidents ranging from theft to minor injuries around campus, and they host a lost-and-found that gets stuff turned in more often than you may expect.

    Greek Life

    The closest thing to greek life is the honor society Phi Theta Kappa, recognizing and awarding students who have a good GPA with the opportunity to network and do community work. Becoming a full member costs a one-time fee, but then gives access to scholarships and further networking opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a handful of student-led clubs on campus, and while they don't necessarily advertise outside their main department, they do exist and the school is very open to starting new clubs if the students are interested. There's also student government, which is very active in the planning of seasonal activities for students to enjoy throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to dip their feet into a field without spending their life's savings would do well to check out LWTech. The college also has lots of resources for students fresh out of (or still in) high school, students returning to school after a long time, or students who need to learn new job skills to advance within their established career.

    Bang for the buck

    The fact that our instructors have experience in the industry and are willing to offer all that advice to us is valuable in and of itself, and far more personal than you would get at most larger colleges. The ability to talk one-on-one about your work and goals and get the feedback is tremendously important, and if nothing else I would say to check out LWTech just for that opportunity. That said, the courses are comprehensive, teaching theory and ability and giving you the hands-on opportunity to learn a new skill and get experience doing the actual work involved in your trade, at half (or less) the cost of other similar institutions.

    What to do for fun

    The school hosts many small festivals and activity days throughout the year, so there's plenty of interesting stuff happening periodically. For regular entertainment there isn't a whole lot, although campus is close to Juanita beach and if you play the mobile game Pokemon Go in your off time there are no less than two Stops and two Gyms on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves breakfast, which is pretty good, and lunch, which is very bland. They have a variety of options available to choose from, varying by day, so there's usually something that's reasonably palatable. The campus also has its own culinary program, allowing LWTech to host an in-house restaurant that makes delicious meals and takes critiques of their food and service into account to make your experience as good as it can be. The bakery program also allows students to indulge in a variety of cookies, cakes, mousses, and the occasional lunch option. If none of those strike your fancy, the campus is situated in close proximity to many fast food and small restaurant locations, so there's always something for everyone if you're willing to make a short trip off-campus for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My degree is Digital Gaming & Interactive Media, and it has had both the most fun and difficult classes I've ever taken. Our classes are all project-based, with the goal of honing our skills to a level where we can join the gaming industry as a career - this is no small task, and there's always something new to learn. The instructors are honest about their experience and give critiques that don't pull punches, but are always aimed at making your work better. Every instructor I've had has always put in extra effort to help when asked, giving extra feedback, insights, or even helping you learn an entirely new skill that you're interested in. I've found that the difficulty of the classes lies in learning new technical skills at a rapid pace, coupled with pushing myself to continually do the best work that I can.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get out of it what you put into it. The college offers suggested courses each quarter through a degree - plan your courses in advance to make sure you can get the ones you really want to take. Go to advising meetings on advising day, because your head of department will not only approve your schedules, but probably have good insight on how best to achieve your personal goals and reflect on how you've been doing so far. Try your best to stay on top of deadlines, keep organized with whatever system works best for you, and ask for help! Your classmates, instructors, and lots of resources for tutoring and further help on campus will let you polish your work and help you get the most out of it.

    In three sentences

    LWTech is full of passionate instructors and helpful staff that go out of their way to make your experience the best it can be. All of the courses are geared toward preparing you for entry into a real career, not just padding a certificate without giving you real qualifications. The campus is small but vibrant, and the student government creates a real sense of community with activities throughout the year to keep the stress from piling on too hard.

  • 01/05/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a fairly out of the way place. I haven't heard of any trouble, and they do have a security office and many, many cameras.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hmm I know they host blood drives and parties in the common area. I'm not positive what the parties are fore, because I missed the introduction, but a party is a party!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for kids just out of high school, or adults returning to school. It's affordable, the atmosphere is good, and it isn't a huge school. It's the kind of school for someone looking to really go and learn something. To take a class for more than just the value of the credits. I like going here and wouldn't transfer out until after I finish my associates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The coffee stand in the center of the cafeteria is great, they have plenty of snacks, sodas, and really sweet clerks. They have PLENTY of microwaves and vending machines, and there's usually some card games going on at the tables nearby. The bakery there is fully functional and they make delicious desserts. There's usually guys outside throwing around a frisbee, if you want to take a load off between classes. The architecture and artwork around the school are all really cool; I'm the type that just likes to go for a quiet walk around, alone with my thoughts.

    Bang for the buck

    For residents, Lake Washington Tech is pretty inexpensive compared to other schools like it. It's priced like a community college, about 500-600 a class, and the academic courses are relatively short. Most degrees are two year degrees, and tuition after class fees is around 1700 full time for one semester.

    What to do for fun

    It's in the middle of Kirkland, so there's mostly just businesses around. There's a great bar for those over 21 called the lucky 7. Nice place to stop with friends and grab a beer

    Food and Dining

    There are many places nearby to eat, because the school is smack in the middle of Kirkland. They have a Taco Bell, Wendy's, Jack in the box... But then why dine out when you can dine in? They have a baking and culinary program that is actually a fully working cafeteria. They actually sell food there, so go ahead and take advantage of that!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, however they do have a huge child care facility for when you have a little one who needs looking after. The area is also very nice, if not a bit pricey, if you can find an apartment nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class is informative and well thought out. The teachers plan their curriculum and they have all worked in the industry in some way or another. They will help you succeed, especially when you work very hard in their class. The classes themselves are meant to help you find your niche, and get you ready for a career. You will always leave a class with useful knowledge about the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help getting started, definitely visit the office and submit a drop in advising session. They advisers are super helpful, and will always encourage you and give you all the tools you need to get things done.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very helpful, and they always try to make sure they send you away with all the information you need. The school is clean, well designed, and state of the art. The teachers are always working in the field in which they teach.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not sure there have ever been any issues, but again they are staffed with some of the finest military men and women, as well as a city of Kirkland peace officer, and a security staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few social clubs on campus for such a small school. Many of the clubs have weekly events in the common area which include helpful information and support. There are also many international students at the school, and there are many clubs targeted for these students as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who is looking for a fast track to a great education and a rewarding career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a grand lucheon for the veterans at the school on Veteran's Day. They are also staffed with many of our finest military men and women who will provide you with the best education you will find anywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    The costs for the electronics program at comparable schools were double the costs I am paying here. Also, there are many programs on campus where you can get free services such as automobile repair, teeth cleaning, and massages. As well as being equipped with a machine shop and a complete weld shop, both with students always looking for projects.

    What to do for fun

    I try to find the fun in everything I am doing, especially at school. The student body is always organizing events, and they normally lure us with free food. One of the best ones was at the end of the quarter as we were all finishing our papers. They had free pizza and printing in the library which is my idea of making the best of a painful situation, and having fun.

    Food and Dining

    Iwant to give them a 5 star rating so badly, but that would be unethical. However, I will say that sometimes when they are on, they are spot on. I actually even wrote a critique for English class on the cafeteria at the school. There is also a culinary arts program on campus that has a bakery, and a full service restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    It's perfect, because I live at home with my lovely wife and teenage son.

    Academic Rigor

    I will admit, I was not prepared for the workload I was committing myself to. My first quarter of the electronics program was a total of 27 credit hours and very hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are even considering going to school at Lake Washington Institute of Technology, just do it. Be prepared to work when you get there, because it isn't high school. You need to set your own goals and you will either work hard and do well, or you will not be very successful in getting the grade you want.

    In three sentences

    I think it is best left said, The education is only as good as the person doing the educating. However, even the best teacher can be limited by a lack of proper facilities. At Lake Washington Institute of Technology, they have them both nailed; great educators and a top notch facility.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security that is always on. The campus closes and locks down after 10pm. Also the parking is free so unless you are illegally parked you never get a ticket and there is always a parking spot.

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended a few other schools over the years, and I have to say I am getting the value of my money for sure. I am receiving an education that is top notch!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of presentations that go on throughout every quarter to learn about different programs. There are bake sales that the nursing department puts on once or twice per quarter. You never know you just may catch a special event with vendors that give out free massages, calendars, candy, or school supplies.

    Food and Dining

    EXCELLENT!!! This school has a wonderful culinary program. So there is a bakery run by students, a restaurant run by students, and we have a traditional cafeteria with salad bar, sandwich bar etc, coffee stand, and of course vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    This is not a traditional college, so there are no dorms at this school. We are a 2 year technical school...but do offer one degree that is a Bachelor's degree level.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the RN nursing program and let me tell you, this program is super intense. We are being trained at the highest level and are being held accountable to the highest level as well. As a result of such high expectations we are a respectable group and are hired as new grads at a very high level when compared to other 2 year RN programs throughout the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to research the programs that you are interested in and read reviews from other students to see if the program to make sure that LWIT is a good fit for you. Make an academic plan to get a good solid foundation for your coursework at this or any college, which will help you to make the most of your time in college.

    In three sentences

    A great school for the non-traditional and traditional college student. Excellent staff to assist with learning and finding your way around the campus. Has an excellent nursing department full of top notch instructors.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent.

    Greek Life

    None!

    Bang for the buck

    A very reasonably priced way to earn an AA degree or certificate of Achievement.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want indoors or out!

    Food and Dining

    The Puget Sound region has whatever you are looking for in cuisine.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, take free career choice classes, and pursue interest test to seek out your best options that are just right for you.

    In three sentences

    The reason I chose Lake Washington Institute of Technology is because they offer evening classes for working professionals. Their certificate programs are well regarded in the both the community and professional world. I found the staff very helpful and caring while completing both my college and career choice searches.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Heck yeah! I am taking the exact same classes I would have been taking if I was at a University but for a fraction of the price! The biggest bang for the buck?! PARKING! Who doesn't love free parking!? I know I do being a full time college student- trying to save money any way I can.

    What to do for fun

    Take an exercise class or join a club! These also benefit because you are able to know more people who go to the same school or have the same interests.

    Food and Dining

    My favorite is the bakery. The food is so good and so decently priced! Plus all the money made at the bakery is put back into the culinary department.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school but is in a very nice and quiet neighborhood with many apartment complexes around providing many living options.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been at the Tech for a year, going on my second and I have loved all of my professors, especially the communication classes. They are willing very much to take time out of their days to make sure that you are understanding the information. Although most classes are more difficult than others, I find myself being pushed but able to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest talking to a counselor if you have any questions at all or need help choosing classes. They love to help and do a terrific job of doing just that! Get involved in club or take a class that you are interested in taking because you are able to meet friends much faster with the same interests.

    In three sentences

    I love Lake Washington Tech! The Health building is brand new and very accommodating. The classroom sizes are not too big while allows for more one-on-one interaction between the students and teacher. Not to mention, parking is also free and the school is located a few blocks from the freeway so it allows for easy access. Nothing but good things to say about this school.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the restaurant with friends and family or hit the Gym.

    Food and Dining

    Awsome food and bakery. It also has a coffee place.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard Work But rewarding at the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come willing to learn and you'll thrive here.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very kind and wants every student to succeed.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their own campus staff that has their own office and they do their job very well!!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the culinary club and we do the catering for the other clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    I am here for the culinary program and its at least half the cost of the other colleges that I looked at!

    What to do for fun

    I hang out in the cafeteria there with my friends!

    Food and Dining

    We actually have a restaurant there that the culinary students work and has really good food!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live at the dorms but I think they are nice!

    Academic Rigor

    They get everything that needs to be covered and more!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are wanting a fast easy and fun way to get where you need to go then this is the place and its at least half the cast of most other colleges!

    In three sentences

    Is a fun place to be! Its easy to get involved. Love the teachers!!

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Moderate, but no worries. Some petty theft, just like anywhere else.

    Greek Life

    What?

    Clubs and Activities

    Student gov.

    Great for these types of students

    Auto, motorcycle, diesel. Graphs, web design. Nurse, massage, fitness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you have to smoke, there are plenty of spots, I wish is was smoke free but its a votech, 'eh.

    Bang for the buck

    Average 12 credit load is about 9K a year.

    What to do for fun

    I'm only there to get a grade.

    Food and Dining

    Above average, well balanced and good variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people up front at the reception area, all of them will help you get you where you need to go. Ask anyone for help! Library is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    Administrative staff are friendly and helpful, Computer labs are plenty with lots of resources. Campus looks good!

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I think because of the size of the campus and what feels to me like the ability to streamline your degree it is very convenient for students who have families or have had interruptions to their education and are returning.

    Food and Dining

    The only food on campus is the caf, a latte cart, and vending machines. There are many restaurants in the immediate area though.

    Dorm Life

    Not a dorm campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I worked hard and studied but even with small children it has been possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your educational plan. Inquire about grants extended directly from the school b/c they seem to keep these little gems a secret.

    In three sentences

    For my being a past student LWTC, it was an easy and comfortable choice for me to return. The campus is a reasonable size and I feel supported by all the student services.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are events that go on monthly like carnivals, concerts, and BBQ to talk to students. You can sit in the nice lounges or maybe enjoy a tranquil coffee atmosphere.

    Food and Dining

    Culinary staff and baking students are amazing I love how they sell there lovey treats.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have questions don't be afraid to ask around everyone is really friendly!

    In three sentences

    LWIT it a great school to do your high school and college courses! They make it so easy and fun to complete school!

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Eat out, make friends, have a party. :))

    Food and Dining

    Kirkland is a great town with many great shops nearby campus.

    Dorm Life

    Most students live off campus and drive to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    College instructors expect you to be ontime. I am greatful to some that have been flexible in submission deadlines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and come prepared.

    In three sentences

    Lake Washington Technical College is great because it offers students the classes they need for their intended program of study. My program of study is Graphic Design and Communications. I am learning design in the use of technology and mixed media.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    ONLY HAD FRUIT AND YOGURT SO FAR

    Dorm Life

    DONT LIVE IN A DORM

    Academic Rigor

    I HAVENT ACTUALLY STARTED SCOOL YET I AM STARTING SUMMER QUARTER IN JULY

    In three sentences

    THEY HAVE THE MOST FABULOUS STAFF EVERYONE IS VERY FRIENDLY AND EXTREMLY HELPFUL. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND LWIT

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I don't feel that Nursing program is very organized. The grading is based on a 4.0 scale, however, you have to receive an 80% to get a 2.0.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All careers

    What to do for fun

    Juanita Beach

    Tips for prospective students

    Great career building school. Apply for scholarships early.

    In three sentences

    A great school. I'm attending in pre-nursing and will transfer to Washington State University for my Phyician Assistant degree.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I've been here for a year so far, and looking forward to the start of the next quarter.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great, friendly and knowledgeable.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lake Washington Technical has nursing, auto mechanic, gaming and graphic design programs. It's great for the student that doesn't have a lot of money, wants to stay local, and get a great credited, transferable education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing that is confusing for most new students is the room names. I suggest learning which is the main building your program is in. but the numbering is easy to understand.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of my quarters are under $2000 and I'm getting more than I paid for. The experience I'm getting here is great and really prepares you for the industry.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are friendly and helpful and the staff is willing to help you all the time. You have to watch out for the Magic the Gathering Table that's always full but even those folks are nice.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers know what they are doing and have an inside scoop on the industry that they take into the class room to give you a first hand look on what its like in the big bad world.