Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Laney College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are people who walk you to your cars at night, which is awesome. There's also campus police. It is an open campus and it's across the street from Lake Merritt BART, so a crazy and/or homeless person could easily wander through campus and reek havoc if they wanted to.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Wonderful for independent students. I wouldn't say that the school is particularly cliquey considering that the community is mostly made of adults who work and good to school. I've made many associates, which is nice, there's no hanging out with friends vibe, ever.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It takes a little while to memorize where each building is, but there are maps on campus so it's not too difficult.

    Bang for the buck

    I came from a $55K/year university (including dorm), so being at Laney has been such a relief. I paid just a little over $500 for 6 classes during the Fall 2013 semester. I think they charge something like $46/unit. Additional fees like enrollment and a student bus pass kicked it up to almost $600 for the entire semester.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not very involved on campus, but I know students who are. There are clubs and sports and school politics.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good! They try to have a variety throughout the week, and everything is prepared by the culinary arts students that day. There are some vegetarian options, which I appreciate. Not so much vegan or kosher/halal.

    Dorm Life

    Community Colleges don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class, really, but nothing is unbelievably difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to get to know your professors. Every professor that I've had is eager to help so long as the student is willing to ask.

    In three sentences

    Laney College is a conveniently-located community college in the middle of Oakland Chinatown. The Peralta District offers an array of majors from music to psychology to culinary arts and even woodworks. This school is all about advocating diversity in both its subjects and also its community.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is very good.

    Academic Rigor

    study very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very attentive and stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Laney is a great community college. The teachers and professors are very into their jobs. It also has great location.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Did not eat int he dining hall

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The course work was extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do an ed plan early. the counseling experience for me was horrible and i ultimately created my own ed plan as the counselors where horrible.

    In three sentences

    The school is in a great location in relation to public transportation. The instructors fall in two different categories. Some are extremely engaged while others are hands off.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my family and go to church.

    Food and Dining

    I bring food.

    Dorm Life

    NONE

    Academic Rigor

    I set high standards for myself so that's what I get.

    Tips for prospective students

    FOCUS!! FOCUS!! FOCUS!!

    In three sentences

    College is whatever you make of it. If you make it a positive experience that's what it will be. If you set a goal and stick to it the location is just a stepping stone.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - First-time college students - Career-changing students - Students who are English Language Learners - Students who identify as having learning disabilities or challenges

    Bang for the buck

    At $46 a credit, Laney is an academic bargain. The instructors are accessible. The computer lab is up to date and offers free printing up to 10 pages daily. Take advantage of the variety of programs available to you at Laney College and you will achieve your personal goal, whether its to train for a career, transfer to a four-year university, or to take courses for personal enrichment.

    What to do for fun

    - Join a club - Join an athletic team - Participate in the dance department - Participate in the music department - Create in the art department - Go to Off the Grid at the Oakland Museum of California across the street from the campus

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and bistro both staff students in the culinary program. Both feature excellent food for reasonable prices. For those students who prefer packaged foods, these can be found in vending machines around campus and in the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course, there are different levels of academic rigor available at Laney College. Instructors are most receptive to students who are prepared to learn and put the effort forth to excel in their coursework. Instructors are willing to work with students to offer academic support as needed. The greatest challenge may be for students to find the right instructor to support their learning style.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get involved in a student learning community to support you in your academic career. 2. Go to academic counseling to develop your student education plan and define your academic goals. 3. Enjoy lunch at the Laney Bistro--it's one of the best kept secrets on campus and has excellent food prepared by our Culinary students. Support your fellow students by eating their homework!

    In three sentences

    Laney is a perfect community college for all students to pursue their academic goals. Its offerings across the science industries, humanities, and trades are cutting edge. The Learning Communities and educators/administrators are invested in creating student success.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community Colleges are always a bang for the buck and worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I would say play a sport with the school or join any on the hundreds of clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is available in the cafeteria and vending machines. Students in the culinary department are the cooks and they have their own restaurant at the school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus, sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be challenging at times but you just have to push through it. People are there to help, always, if you just ask. If you plan to transfer to another college or university, it will definitely help you get prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to school, show up on time, and work hard. Don't give up. Ask if you need help, there is always someone.

    In three sentences

    It is a very cultural school with many different people from all different ethnicities. It is just a community college but, it does have good classes to help you start your further education and career. Teachers are available to talk to, counselors, and other staff as well if you need help so, overall, it's a good school.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are people in neon safety vest on campus from when the first class stars to where the last class ends! and they are police/security cars on campus most of the time!

    Greek Life

    not that i know!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that i know!

    What to do for fun

    go down the street to: go see a movie in alameda just go thru the webster tunnel. go to the oakland museum , which is on the side of Laney. go to the

    Food and Dining

    Laney is basically in china town so just walk a few minutes from the campus and get some chinese food OR buy some food from the culinary students! soo good!

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS :(

    Academic Rigor

    for some classes are super easy, but the communications and math classes are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    if a person plans to attend college and you're planning transferring , DONT start in the middle of the year/spring semester. why? It will mess up the schedule on transferring.

    In three sentences

    Laney college is a VERY diverse community college. Laney college HAS a GREAT cooking/baking classes for those who want that major/certificate. Laney college is a good way to get the General Education done , if you are planning to transfer.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community college is much more affordable than anywhere else!

    What to do for fun

    It's in Oakland.. close to Lake Merritt.

    Food and Dining

    I can't say much on this subject.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    I already attended UCSD. Laney is a walk in the park.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting into classes isin't too hard. But if there are classes you need to get into sooner you should register asap.

    In three sentences

    Laney college is a somewhat larger community college. My favorite part about it is that is is part of the larger Peralta system, so once you register for one school you can take classes at a number of others. My least favorite part is that it is underfunded and resources seem to be lacking.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No smoking be polite and respect-full No fighting 99%

    Greek Life

    It was so challenger when you Greek with someone because if you didn't speak English it hard to comparison.

    Clubs and Activities

    My favorite is Soccer and also i love leader ship clues.

    Great for these types of students

    Always come to class and working really hard and best on their homework and test.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My traditions is helping people, who need helps.

    Bang for the buck

    My bang for the buck was paying for my college and be honest to everyone.

    What to do for fun

    I do fun for talking with my friend about something and playing soccer.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinner we have to buys in the the cafeteria but they are not healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    I am real dorm life to working so hard in school and try to improve lots of thing in short time.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor was hard to find the bathroom, when you are new in the college this is most challenger in my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is not tip for student because student should to buys their food themselves.

    In three sentences

    They following how student study in the class and how they focus on there study. The Laney rate is going higher.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In a semi-bad neighborhood. Just be aware. Police escorts available if you want.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a computer science club this semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious focused students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The place reminds me of an MC Escher painting.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid office is helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. Make friends with your classmates. Study hard, that is the point of school anyway.

    Food and Dining

    Not many options, and long waiting for when the fresh-cooked food is available.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult. Math/Science classes will be hard as usual.

    Tips for prospective students

    There isn't a waitlist for classes compared to other community colleges, but still good to register as soon as you get your registration date. Ignore the ugly buildings, focus on your studies, see some transfer representatives, make a solid educational plan, and you'll transfer in no time!

    In three sentences

    There is a lot of diversity here, partly because of the location. It is near Oakland Chinatown and the ghetto. The teachers are generally good and humble.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe and they have security walking around

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many and you can start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great 25-30+ years of age. If you are working on a business degree, construction (right on campus).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I enjoy the fact that it is located down the street form the Lake Merritt Bart station.

    Bang for the buck

    I have a BOG Waiver so that is a big help. I believe it is within the state range for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities for those who are into student groups.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, it is made and served by the Laney College Culinary studies. The prices are within the budget of a college student.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The courses do challenge you, you definitely have to put in the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start with a visit to the school. Do a walk through and see if it has what you are looking for. Work on all transfer credits for whatever your major may be. Be prepared to put in the work.

    In three sentences

    The college staff here has been great in reassembling me back to college life. The campus has been making positive changes and has a wide range of course.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lol, nothing though there are student clubs and such . Its mostly to go to class and leave since its a CC.

    Food and Dining

    They have an Bistro and a cafeteria . Good either way around.

    Dorm Life

    NO dorm life .

    Academic Rigor

    Intense depending on major

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to know major , and follow through.

    In three sentences

    Laney is a great community college. The Professor here are courteous , and helpful. And the food is on par.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has a sheriff station on campus. Nuff said.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Other than the theatre department (which is a major, but is also somewhat like an activity since it is so fun and Black Student Union as well as class office (President, etc.), I'm not sure of that many clubs. But then, I don't really look for them since theatre is all I need.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are hard-working, driven and determined for success, and ready to make real changes in their lives for the better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really out of the ordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    The school will grow on you fast, so don't feel bad if it and not a 4-year university is one of your only options. It's actually pretty great and you will definitely get to where you want to go if you're serious. Not to mention CSU's like San Francisco State offers guaranteed enrollment to students with AA degrees, so you will definitely get into a good school. Plus Laney has gotten three students into UCLA in one year a few times when UCLA only admits five students worldwide! This school is seriously no joke! The only drawback is financial aid and how slow it is and how much you have to do to make sure you get seen by an adviser.

    What to do for fun

    It's not an exaggeration to say that socializing is major way to pass the time since the fellow students are amazing, and pretty hilarious! The school is very diverse and there are a multitude of different students of different backgrounds and mostly everybody is down to earth and accommodating. There is also a gym, swimming pool and tennis court, but the best fun is the theatre department. The improv class alone is a great class that has only games and NO homework. Even if you're not a theatre major like me, plenty of students take the class for fun and to fulfill their humanities requirement.

    Food and Dining

    There is a student center with a moderate-sized cafeteria that's food is prepared by the culinary class. You'll usually find something good more often than not that range from burgers and fries, to salads and sandwiches, to pastas and other entres and sides. They also have bagels and other types of breads on a regular basis as well as yogurt, juices (such as Naked), chips, energy bars and whatnot. In addition there is a book room located on the bottom floor (1st floor only accessible from the 2nd or third floors) that sells snacks like chips, candy, water, juice, teas (like Arizona), pastries and other sweets as affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty good, I've learned a lot and most of my professors knew what they were doing. However I have run across a professor here or there that was either inexperienced (new) or just didn't do their job all that well, prompting me to drop their class to avoid an unsatisfactory grade. With classes you might have to experiment a little and play it by ear at least until the last day to drop WITHOUT receiving a 'W' on your transcript. Asking around also helps but teaching styles work differently for different students and you'll just have to find the ones best for you. Many of these professors are also very dedicated to getting you to the next level and really care about their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you qualify for financial aid, stay on top of your information and paperwork. There are lots of students who also receive it and it can move very slowly if you don't move quickly. Always finish your FAFSA as soon as possible and make sure all information on your SAR report is updated. As for the lines, get up early and be there before seven if you want to be one of the first people seen. I got there once at 6:30 and was still THIRD in line, other people got there earlier than ME. Also if you quality, there is a fee waiver that makes it so you don't have to pay tuition for your classes! Each unit is over 20 dollars or so I believe and the average class has three units, so go to financial aid and see if you meet the criteria and fill one out right away! You'll save hundreds! I did!

    In three sentences

    Laney is pretty cool for a community college, I honestly expected worse since I didn't originally have the grades to get into a 4-year university. The campus is pretty large in my opinion, and the theatre department is world class (was chosen as one in eight school TOTAL in the country to perform at the Edinburgh Festival in 2011. Financial aid can be slow with so many students, but the school is pretty decent and the best of the four Peralta schools in my opinion.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency call towers around the school and in the parking lot. If you need to be walked to your car at night, there are ways to contact a faculty staff member to escort you.

    Greek Life

    I did not participate in any of these clubs so I'm not familiar with this.

    Great for these types of students

    Laney is a great college for people who want to get the prerequisite credits for transferring to a 4 year university or if they would like to get an Associates degree.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that you definitely get a substantial value for the academic and vocational programs offered.

    What to do for fun

    Laney does have a number of athletic programs so you can watch football, swimming or even dance/theatrical performances at the theater. There are plenty of notices and flyers that are distributed so you can enjoy the festivities.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't a vast number of restaurants that are close by. Laney is near Chinatown in Oakland so there are restaurants in the area but you should have a car or take BART to get to the better restaurant venues.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so dorms aren't apart of the system.

    Academic Rigor

    Laney College isn't as difficult as Alameda or Berkeley City College.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should register early to get the classes you want. The cuts in funding have affected the number of available classes so it's important to stay on track with the registration schedule.

    In three sentences

    Great community college part of the Peralta Colleges. You can attend one of any four schools in the district in order to get your required credits. Laney College offers night and day classes which is perfect for working professionals working towards completing their degree.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The area and campus aren't the safest, particularly at night. Be careful, and don't walk to the parking lot alone!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for driven and focused students who like to take part in the community and eventually transfer out of there, as well as for Oakland artsy types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The art center is wonderful.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting financial aid is a nightmare. I've yet to receive financial aid for semesters past, which I've been more than eligible for. It might even be easier to just save money and pay out of pocket and live off of oatmeal.

    What to do for fun

    It's on a lake, so lounging there is relaxing. There's a lot of good food in the area, and it's very close to Lake Merritt Bart Station.

    Food and Dining

    The Laney Bistro is great.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not aware that Laney has any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had to work really hard for my good grades. In turn, I've really learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful at night, the area isn't the safest. Utilize the school's resources: the library, the math lab, writing lab and the staff. Also, the financial aid office is a nightmare.

    In three sentences

    Laney College is underrated. It has some real gems for teachers, and is culturally diverse. I'm really enjoying my time here.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I was on the football team which was the only thing that made my experience here tolerable.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students cook in the cafeteria and they are pretty good. Just remember that they are students.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are fairly easy if you do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good start if you are trying to go on to a 4 year school but cannot afford it. It is also good if you have been in the work force for a few years and are trying to go back to school. But I would recommend taking classes at one of the other Peralta District colleges.

    In three sentences

    Bad teachers. Everything is unorganized. There are hardly any classes available

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good - we have people who will walk students to their cars if they need protection at night.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    All students - young and old, returning or new. It's a wonderful school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black History Month is big at Laney - month long celebrations and activities in February.

    Bang for the buck

    If you qualify, courses are free based on your income. Otherwise just $26 per credit.

    Food and Dining

    The Laney Cafe is AWESOME.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging courses if you find the right professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class, do homework, and form study groups - you will be successful in all courses if you adhere to this.

    In three sentences

    Love my school - it has prepared me well to go on to a top notch nursing school and I owe Laney College a lot for making a great learning environment for all students. Amazing student body too.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who want to save money and then transfer to a 4-year university.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are cheap, learning is pretty good. just need to know which teachers are good. thus it's good to make friends.

    What to do for fun

    there are clubs like the bboy club in which you could learn some break-dancing quite fun actually.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good, not that good though.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life here.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you turn in your sar to them around march before the next fall semester around august, well this tip is for people who are going to get financial aid. if you were to turn all your financial aid paper work in august it'll take the next semester till you get your money!

    In three sentences

    it's a good community college school despite many rumors of it not being. you'll have to work hard just like any other colleges to get what you need or want. the environment is great if you immerse yourself in it.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a cheap alternative and like I said, it's a worthwhile one until you can raise the money for a 4 year. also it's a smarter way to take all your classes during every semester including summer and winter, be done with it, and get your degree just in time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient, constantly write notes. If you dislike your instructor just trudge through that muddy road it'll be worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a community college and as such, it affordable, many still complain that 8 units costed them $300+ however you realize that this is a tenth of what a school like San Jose State charges.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community is very hit and miss since the school is in an urban environment. For some patience is needed and others need to adapt while many walk around comfortably without the worry of getting robbed and assaulted.

    Am learning a lot

    It's a great school at the bay area, you simply have to make sure that the teachers are right for you and that you can take time to take the classes. One of my biggest gripes are the cuts to classes however, the classes that are available are very helpful and the teachers do their best to make sure that you're prepared for 4 year colleges.

  • 09/25/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    not so bad

    Tips for prospective students

    well