Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Langston University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 10/25/2016

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    IN GOD WE SHALL SUCCEED

  • 10/25/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very active and visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many options available.

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food options; wish the weekend hours were longer.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful; good roommates and everyone is respectful.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the staff; participate in school activities; don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Langston University is well rounded university. All staff are helpful, easy to communicate with and have professor's who really care about the students. Any student would be privileged to attend.

  • 12/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Love it

    What to do for fun

    It's a lot you just have to find the fun

    Food and Dining

    It's coo at time especial wing Wednesday n fish Friday's

  • 01/21/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is safe and if in any trouble its 100 percent guaranteed to come to your rescue!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life you will get to see the latest and the greatest of them all, Stay Tuned!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are Psychology clubs, Chess Clubs, Biology and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcomed from athletes to scholars

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on Campus parade is different then I've known to have on campus, but fun!

    Bang for the buck

    You will meet great professors, friends, and mentors. This school will not only welcome you, but make you a better person in a variety of ways. The fact that you will get the experience of excitement, knowledge, and motivation will lead you to success and happiness.

    What to do for fun

    I love to run on the enormous track we have, go to the gym and work out, hang in the lobby with friends, and join lots of events.

    Food and Dining

    Food Varies there are going to be things you love to eat everyday and things you don't like to eat certain days, but for the most part its not bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more like apartments with your own space, but you will have rooms which is not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll have the best professors and dedicated tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Focus, Get involved on campus, and do your best! DO NOT miss a day of class because you will miss out on a lot!

    In three sentences

    Educated, Inspiring, involved

  • 01/14/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not the best bunch of cops. Kinda hungry for action instead of keeping the campus safe. Get a good cop every now and then.

    Greek Life

    Great help the community organizations. They are all outstanding and helpful students!

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything follows the right path and allare great organizations!

    Great for these types of students

    Focused and not afraid to be solitary!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alot of KKK Affiliation in the town of Langston.

    What to do for fun

    hang with fellow dormmates and students. Throw get togethers. Go to school functions and parties. Travel to neighbor colleges. Participate in all activities.

    Food and Dining

    Its the same old food over and over again! Could use some healther food choices instead of pizza and cheese burgers constantly! Sedexo is a bad company to order from, food runs right through you and WOW (CHICKEN STRIP BUILT IN RESTURANT) is exspensive but good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and big. Depending on roomates its clean and everything in mainly new. Great RA's, students just like us and down to earth.

    Academic Rigor

    its a great school for academics! The teachers help as much as they can, but thats if you speak up! Be about your work and studies and you will make amazing grades. Attendance is KEY

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a car if you like to travel! some events are sonetimes off campus and the stores are 10+ miles away. handle your bill while you have the chance because the last minute handling business does not help! And GO TO CLASS!!!!

    In three sentences

    Langston University isba great school! if you are looking for a small HBCU that is nice and quiet this is the place! the faculty are caring and very hands on when it come to helping their students! A very community based campusband wide variety of students a great peraonalities!

  • 12/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on campus are in abundance. Safe I suppose.

    Greek Life

    I have not associated with any Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like being away from everything, this is your campus. It's also a historical black college.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a bit ridiculous for the quality of living on this campus and what it provides, which is very little outside of education in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, besides the low quality Internet they provide. Said low quality Internet does not always work.

    Food and Dining

    One overpriced restaurant on campus. And the only one within five miles or so. Both the in school convenience store and restaurant are inconsistent with store hours. Method of payment is extremely limited most of the time due to old or faulty machinery/equipment.

    Dorm Life

    Poor/lazy maintenance. Dorms are always damaged in some form, or in disrepair. Both centennial and scholars inn complexes are never kept clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The tutors can help and explain content better than the entire mathematics department. English department has great professors as well as the biology department. If you're going to hire such a large amount of foreign professors, please make sure they can explain content well to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to deal with incompetence.

    In three sentences

    Extremely stressful.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek life is like no other the greek at langston love helping out around the school.

    In three sentences

    Langston university is one the best HBCU is the world is the only HBCU in the state of Oklahoma.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Freshman have to be in their apartment at 11 and on weekends they do not care just make sure you are inside so they wont have to worry about anything happening to you.

    Greek Life

    I dont really know well about the greek life because a student cant be one until there sophmore year but they are at almost every party.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have some of the most fun clubs one can participate in you just have to go on the website to see what all they have available and just know that they have a lot there for many different type of people.

    What to do for fun

    They have parties every Wednesday for hump day and have parties almost every friday and saturday the one thing you need to do is find your right set of friends to hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning area is nice its not nasty or gross looking and the food is okay id give it a 6 on a scale of 1 to 10 and they have a restaurant and a little store located on campus

    Dorm Life

    When you are a freshman the apartments are not all that nice but you can make them how ever you want to the only thing is that you get monthly inspections for your room. but when you get older you get to move to another room and thats in scholars and the rooms are much bigger and so is the bathroom a little bit nicer but not really but its still a great experience on teaching you how to live for yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great some are not that well up to date and some you can barely understand but make sure to just get tutors and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    When going to langston focus on studying and taking notes they will be very helpful

    In three sentences

    Langston can help you with learning experiences. It will help you to become a better person and want to change who you are. Langston is the place to make a great opportunity for yourself.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the success center or the game room

    Tips for prospective students

    Its in a small town but its really nice

    In three sentences

    Langston is a very good school. Its a pretty campus and the dorms are very nice.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not really one for partying, so I just set home and read. Or I visit a friend and hangout.

    Food and Dining

    You will get tired of the very limited choises they have.

    Dorm Life

    If you can get along with your roommates then your dorm life will be sweet. If not then it shouldn't be too hard to find a few friends next door to hangout with.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other school, if you don't study then you don't pass. Simple as that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep an open mind while being at Langston.

    In three sentences

    The students are pretty unsupportive of their own school. But if you can handle that then you should be fine. The school is what you make of it.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafe can come with more options and better cooks

    Dorm Life

    i love the idea of having your own space and having your own room, however the maintence must be kept up

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers i guess you can say offers help to those who need it but students dont take advantage of the opportunity. they can do a little better teaching in the classrooms

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Greek Life

    Excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    Sorority life I will be pledging A.K.A

    Great for these types of students

    Kids that just want to get away from home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing to share

    Bang for the buck

    Over price to the out of State kids

    What to do for fun

    Sit in my dorm and study and go to the Football and Basketball games nothing else to do with out a car

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright I feel they should get some kinda fast food on campus since they are out in the middle of no where.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is good and you have your own room.

    Academic Rigor

    Professor are helpful when they want to be

    Tips for prospective students

    I will make this your last option

    In three sentences

    Langston need to re vamp there Financial Aid Staff they are not helpful at all. They wait to the last minute to award you and after they do it is never enough. I feel they do not know what they are doing over there and we never get a call back unless we start emailing the president of the school. Other then the Financial Aid the school is pretty good.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are about business, no smoking no drinking curfew is at 11:00

    Greek Life

    Greek life is fun, we have pep rally's and many more things, you can look on Langston website

    Great for these types of students

    Clubs and sports we also have a t.v show, Tutoring, pageants, campus news paper, and sports

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hump day and homecoming, Langston is the only HBCU in Oklahoma

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is go to the student success center and listen to people read poems,rap, and sing, or I do my homework

    Food and Dining

    Cafe, wow, coffee shop are the food places on campus. Great!

    Dorm Life

    Medium size, fun, roommates, parties, coed, study etc... Dorm life is awesome for us students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, do your best, and succeed

    In three sentences

    Langston is a HBCU. Langston is preparing us to be successful. Langston recruits and accepts students.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel extremely safe on this campus. There have been numerous times where I have walked home by myself very late at night and there was not a ounce of fear in my body. People treat each other like family so there really is no fear of danger.

    Greek Life

    The Greek organizations at my school are very interactive with the students and you can tell that they have a general love and respect for their organization and the school. They are extremely humble and are always serving the university.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations on this campus. Every single one of these host events and allow for the students to better serve the university and get a break from schoolwork.

    Great for these types of students

    Langston University is great for students who like to be involved in their school. Langston allows you to have a voice in what goes happens on campus. It really is a place for active students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cemetery located right outside one of our housing facilities. Most people don't even know it exist.It was a cemetery for the actual city of Langston a long time ago.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations and clubs at Langston University. I am a part of several of these so I am always busy doing something. If I am not busy I like to talk walks around the campus because its so peaceful and serene. The scenery is beautiful and relaxing.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Langston is exceptional compared to other places. We have a cafeteria where it is buffet style there are always different options for people. What I really love about the cafeteria is that they have a huge salad bar which is always open during breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into your college experience and environment with a open mind. Have respect for your school and the brand of the school. Be respectful to adults, faculty, and staff at all times.

    In three sentences

    Langston University is a extremely welcoming campus. Langston University students have a genuine love for the school. Langston University is a place where everyone is family.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Langston University is very strict when it comes to safety on campus. Campus Security is always available at any time of the day for students.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life here at Langston is great. We have all mother chapters here at Langston. We have Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc., Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc., Kappa Kappa Psi Fraternity Inc., and Tau Beta Sigma Sorority Inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here at Langston University our clubs are phenomenal. We have eight of the NPHC Divine Nine organizations. We also have different organizations for each field that a student may be interested in. You just have to get out and get active on the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Here we have multiple things for students to do. If you like to dance there are many dance clubs here on campus. We are one of the few schools that do pageants. Here you can participate in pretty much anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Here at Langston we have a special tradition that we do with every incoming freshman class. A week before classes begin the freshman move in and have what we call Lion Camp. This year the theme was Destination Graduation. We interact with them and help them find their way for their first semester of college. We also take them through a Rights of Passage and they are finally initiated into the university.

    Bang for the buck

    Now I can honestly say that Langston University is one of the cheapest schools. I'm a out of state student and my in state tuition is higher than my tuition here at Langston. They have people here ready to help. Scholarships are basically thrown at you. There are scholarships here on campus for anything that you could possibly think of.

    What to do for fun

    Being that Langston is established on an old slave plantation, we are 45 minutes away from the nearest city. Although, there is always something to do on campus because the Student Government Association (SGA) makes sure that there's never a dull day nor moment here at Langston. We put on different activities that bring the campus together and allow us to mingle and get to know each other on a more personal level.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the schools cafeteria is actually pretty good. You have something different to choose from daily. We also have WOW wings on campus as well as a convenient store.

    Dorm Life

    Here at Langston we have Freshman Village, Scholars Inn, and the Common Apartments. They are full apartments ready for the students. We don't have group rooms, however you will have three other roommates. But the apartment includes a living room, kitchen area, and your own personal room.

    Academic Rigor

    I would have to say that classes are easy, but challenging. Your professors really bring out the best in you. Being that the campus is so small, your professors become kind of like your parents away from home. They make sure you learn the material so you can be ready for all of life's unexpected occurrences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always remember to keep an open mind. Langston University challenges you to be a better you. Education for Service is our motto, because we enter to learn and exit to serve.

    In three sentences

    Langston University is a family oriented school founded March 12, 1897. Its a small campus so you'll pretty much know a lot of familiar faces. This institution is still on the high rise and growing rapidly everyday.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very historic

    Clubs and Activities

    Nothing like you ever seen

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    What to do for fun

    Listen to music and fun have with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your FASFA done has soon as possible

    In three sentences

    It is a very helpful and cheerful university. They will do everything they can to help you out. They are also very proud to be a Langston Lion!!!

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to games. There are fashion shows and pageants as well.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria has excellent food. Many people gather there. It is yet another place to bond will fellow students.

    Dorm Life

    Living in dorms, there is opportunity to build new friendships. The people are friendly. The dorms are kept clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small. Classes are more intimate and personal. The professors are willing to help one-on-one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into your potential major. Come visit Langston University to make sure that it is the place for you. Become a Lion!

    In three sentences

    Langston University is a close community. The people are wonderful. The school spirit is outstanding.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you have to get out of your dorm once in a while and explore the campus

    Food and Dining

    it's a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    You are sharing it with four people that you don't know from different states.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study if you want your grades looking right.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come like you own everybody. don't dome acting crazy.

    In three sentences

    Well it is a very wonderful school. It's very educated and successful. A very great school to attend.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent dining in the main hall with available food plans

    Dorm Life

    Very affordable living areas with 2 or 4 bedroom apartments. Right on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding nursing and physical therapy programs with a great teacher to student ratio. First class facilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of students hear the words Langston University and get a bad feeling because of its past. Langston is a beautiful campus with different ethic backgrounds with degrees from education, nursing, business and also doctorate degrees in Physical Therapy(one of two programs in the state)

    In three sentences

    Langston University is a great 4 year college for anyone wanting to get a great degree at a fraction of the cost. Just a short drive from the Oklahoma City area with plenty of degrees available.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Parties, student events

    Food and Dining

    We need more options

    Dorm Life

    Boring

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the organizations that are available, join the athletic programs, volunteer, and if all else fails you could always start and organization.

    Dorm Life

    Langston University does not have traditional dorms. Langston's students live in apartments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out the schools degree programs before you make you decision. Apply early so that you may be able to get all of the financial assistance you will need.

    In three sentences

    I am rating Langston University to be one of the best colleges. Langston University has opened doors for various opportunities for me. They have helped me achieve many of my goals I have set.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Their are quite a few clubs such as MANNRS, NCNW, SAB, DBW, College Men, and Greek organizations.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to games or events held by the student government association and the Greeks.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the cafe is good most of the times. We only have three restaurants because our school isn't that big but its all still good.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are awesome because they are made like regular apartments. They are nice and comfy. I love how you don't have to share your bedroom with anyone so you can each have your own space.

    Academic Rigor

    We have great academics and great teachers that aren't always noticed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the best you can on everything that you do. It's what you make out of it and be a leader not a follower.

    In three sentences

    Langston is your passport to the world. The students, faculty, and staff are all like family. You will never be the same once you become a Langston Lion.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad really ever happens at langston.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is phenomenal. They have certain spots on campus marked with their colors.

    Bang for the buck

    This school isn't worth your money if you're coming from out of state.

    What to do for fun

    You cant really do much because the campus is so isolated from everything else. Langston has a pretty boring campus.

    Food and Dining

    This school needs to work on getting more places to eat at langston. You only have three places to go on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I love the way the dorms are set up. You'll have your own room with a refrigerator and microwave already at your disposal.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be hard if you dont come to class, or if you're not doing the work that you are assigned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get along with your professors. stay on top of financial aid

    In three sentences

    This campus has a rural background, so if you're from a big city i wouldn't recommend attending this school. The food options are very poor you only have three places to choose and eat from. The classes are somewhat easy just do your work!

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the talent shows, comedy show, and attend homecoming.

    Food and Dining

    I am a very picky eater, so I don't eat in the dining much, I pretty much buy my own food.

    Dorm Life

    Love having my own room to myself, and good roommates also...

    Tips for prospective students

    be serious about your education, and don't be influence easily....

    In three sentences

    I love going to Lagston. I have achieved a lot in my first year here. I hear that Langston have the best nursing program in Oklahoma, and I want to be a part of it.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    the Greeks are very nice my favorite is the delta's also sigmas and last the Q dogs/ omegas

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the freshmen LU dance is a tradition

    What to do for fun

    i like to hang out with some friends. sometimes go to the mall. i like to dance and cheer.

    Food and Dining

    food is not so good at Langston cafe so i recommend you to cook your own food

    Dorm Life

    i love my dorm because my roommates are the best

    Tips for prospective students

    attending Langston university you will have a lot of free time if you are taking 12 hour credits, use your free time wisely

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety at langston is very terrible

    Greek Life

    the greeks are very cool

    Great for these types of students

    low income family

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the white hiuse located on campus is so nice

    What to do for fun

    go to the city an go shopping

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus on yo woork an manage our time well

    In three sentences

    it is a nice little learning environment to learn because its small

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 campus police

    Greek Life

    Fraternities as well as sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek and Non-Greek, Student Government Association, Scholars Club, etc

    Great for these types of students

    Sudents who challenge themselves academically and want success.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There's always on-campus activities to participate in to have fun such as poetry shows, talent shows, concerts, and parties.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is almost as good as home cooked meals. You also have the opportunity to have Burgerking and WOW!

    Dorm Life

    Not only will you have human roommates but also crickets as roommates!

    Academic Rigor

    Langston University is a place where you can be challenged academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have to drive 30 minutes away to get to anything.

    In three sentences

    Overall Langston University is a great school. The professors are very helpful and understanding. Its a place where you are made to feel comfortable as well as a place where you can receive outside instruction if needed.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its so much campus police on here, you can't go 2 mins without seeing one in your vision.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life looks fun and I would love to eventually be involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are several clubs,activities and other organizations at Langston.

    Great for these types of students

    The radio station will be great for students whose major is journal and broadcasting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many of the professors are from different countries,also Langston has its own radio station.

    What to do for fun

    The school have many activities on weekends, and every other Friday they rent something for the students to have fun with and make them feel young again.

    Food and Dining

    I never had the food because I do not have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I am a mother and fortunately for me housing provides my daughter and I a place to stay. Instead of me giving up on my education when I got pregnant Langston give mothers such as myself an opportunity to continue their education.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not to challenging and if you don't understand the professor won't hold your hand but they will advise you to seek tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students are 1. Be on time to class!!! Because they take attendance serious and one minute late come will mark you absent. 2. Set goals and stick with them for each semester. 3. Stay positive and don't let the stress or pressure get to you.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences I would rate Langston a good school to stay focus on studies simply because its in the country. The professors are pretty much lean on assignments but are about their business. The environment for the most part is not so bad either.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have concerts! Usually, every week there is some type of social gathering. I usually went over to someone house and played games.

    Food and Dining

    The food was good. We have to two eating places on campus, which is Burger King, and WOW Cafe. The Langston University store is a little convenience store on campus. Up the road, there is a gas station called Smitty's, and Subway. In addition, there is a place called Minks which is another little convenience store down the street.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the Scholar's Inn Apartments, and they were nice. I had two roommates, and they were great! The plus side to living in Scholar's was full size beds!!

    Academic Rigor

    All of their programs are great. The School of Business is a great program. Langston's professors are kind and willing to help the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply now! The faculty members and staff are great! They are very helpful, so if you have any questions just ask.

    In three sentences

    I love going to A HBCU! The experience is great! Langston University is a great school!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is good they contribute a lot to the campus by assisting students with supportive services.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The students are required to participate in community service by volunteering for local organization of their choosing.

    Bang for the buck

    Langston university is a historical Black college grants are very hard to come by.

    What to do for fun

    Thereâ??s nothing better than being able to walk to the TV lounge in your pajamas and have a late night movie and snacks with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is horrible At Langston I survived my freshman year by eating cup of noodles and Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Instead of gaining the freshman 25 I lost the 25 pounds.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Langston university is exciting and a great experience. For me , it has been the most memorable time of my college experience. Learning to take care of myself without my mom guidance made me become responsible.

    Academic Rigor

    Langston university challenges students to have academic excellence while instilling the values of personal responsibility and accountability for ones life and educational goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first year of college is very Challenging organization skills such as money management is very important. Investing time and exploring scholarships information and financial literacy will be a great asset to freshman.

    In three sentences

    Langston university is a interesting, challenging , wonderful and enlightening experience for a college Freshman..Students at Langston increase their sense of self-worth by increasing ones knowledge and understanding in their educational goals.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has its very own Langston police and we also have blue poles around campus for students to press if they are in need of immediate help.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is awesome they do a lot of community service and they are friendly and very helpful to new and returning students.

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA- student government association is a great club to get into they help with all the events held on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After lunch in the cafeteria on the yard they have a group of students who invite other students to come and pray.

    Bang for the buck

    Langston is an awesome school overall they just have bad financial issues and I feel like the school is in need of help with money.

    What to do for fun

    There are Greek parties on the weekends that are a lot of fun and there are many activities you can get involved in to occupy your free time.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't very appetizing but sometimes you just dont have a choice. The options of meals isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    The housing is average you have your own room its set up like an apartment and your very own mini fridge and microwave.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are awesome and truely care about the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do tons of scholarships. Stay focused on school first, parties later.

    In three sentences

    Langston is a a fun college. They offer a lot of great opportunities. Langston needs financial help.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is one thing you do not have to worry about. There are cameras and a police station on campus. The police stay very alert and stay on top of preventing chaos. Sometimes things may get out of hand, but LUPD always show up.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is lovely. My favorite is Omega Psi Phi Fraternity. They are the Bruhz and they keep everybody hype. The ladies love them. For the ladies, Delta Sigma Theta has all the ladies wanting to wear Krimson & Kreme. All of the Sororities and Fraternities do what they have to do though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for people to join. I've thought about joining the English club. I'm an English Education major.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a HBCU. It doesn't matter who goes to Langston, but there are mostly African-Americans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a big white building next to the University of Women. I have never been there. I'm actually scared to.

    Bang for the buck

    Get work-study because you WILL need it. If you have a bill, unless you plan on paying out of pocket, get a job on or off campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have parties and mixxers as a way for the students to take a break. Sometimes they may even play music in front of the Student Success Center and have rap battles. The Greeks (Kappas & Omegas) have kickbacks every now and then. Those are very fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. You get 3 meals a day. However, sometimes you may feel like you are getting tired of eating the same thing. If you are hungry, you'll eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is the best. Centennial Courts is my favorite apartment complex. However, it is only for the freshman. Then comes Scholars Inn. Those are for the upperclassmen. Scholars Inn has bigger beds and bigger rooms so I guess that's a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Langston accepts pretty much everybody. Even though SAT and ACT scores are required, you won't be rejected education. They put you in classes to help with whatever subject you are struggling in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do everything when Langston staff tells you to. Otherwise, you'll be waiting for ever. Students tend to wait until the last minute and don't get what they need done on time.

    In three sentences

    I honestly give Langston about a serious 8. I wanted to go to other schools. but I'm glad Langston was my choice. Transferring doesn't even cross my mind.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life is more than trying to join. They actually perform various services to the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities to participate in. They are usually posted around campus a few days prior to when the event is to take place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The goat research facility. Its self explanitory.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't spend money that you don't have. In other words don't live beyond your means. If you can try to get a part time job that way you will have a steady cash flow.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has several basketball courts, a mulitmedia/game room, a tennis court, the football stadium and weight room.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a few dining options. There are other options available, you just have to drive to get there.

    Dorm Life

    Try to get along with the people that are your roommates. There are strong bonds that can develop when you get to know the people that you live with.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure that if you need the help, sign up with tutors, use all of the available resources, and work and study hard. It is only as hard as you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep track of the classes that you take. Don't withdraw from classes, those count too. Make sure that your financial aid is in place so that you won't have to worry about a balance. Stay focused. The upperclassmen are here to help you, not discourage you.

    In three sentences

    Langston University is the Passport to the World. It provides vast opportunities for students to succeed.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Langston has a top notch campus police. They ensure that the campus is a safe one. Langston City Police is rebuilding from the bottom due to problems. They have a new sheriff and he's about business.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is great. Langston has some of the best Greeks in the nation. They have a great deal of care and also are very active in the community.

    What to do for fun

    Langston has a state of the art Student Union that's heading into its second year. It has a game room which has PS3 ,Xbox, Wii, and Pool Tables. It is a great place to chill in between classes or just leisure.

    Food and Dining

    We have great Burger King and our brand new establishment called World of Wings, which is an established restaurant in New Orleans, Louisiana. Also there is a new soul food place that's opening in Fall 2012.

    Dorm Life

    Every student has their own room and space. It gives you a sense of security and peace.

    Academic Rigor

    Langston is a small campus so the classes are about 30 per class. You can get a comfortable feel with the teachers and they care about you in you academics as well as personal life.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many opportunities at Langston to have fun and learn about different cultures and experience. The Yard is always a fun place to be.

    In three sentences

    Langston University is a wonderful university and is a student driven campus. There are many activities to indulge in at Langston University. Langston University is truly your Passport to Greatness !

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i'm not really into the party scene, but there are multiple parties going on weekly. langston is located in the middle of nowhere, so you have to travel in order to participate in recreational activities, like movies, skating, malls, etc.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has its days where it can be great, and then it has days where it can be bad. the constant complaint is that the drink machines pick which days they would like to properly work.

    Dorm Life

    langston university does not have dorms for on campus residents. their housing consists of apartments, which gives a more private experience than the dorm life, since you share and apartment rather than a room with other people.

    Academic Rigor

    this review is given based on my work load as a mccabe scholar, required to take honors courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. bring weather appropriate clothing for winter. 2. be open to all of the possibilities this school has to offer. 3. avoid the rumors that this institution carries with it. 4. be ready to help others.

    In three sentences

    langston university is an excellent school for students who aren't exposed to their african american culture. it's a smaller school, which allows students to feel more connected to their professors and peers. really great institution for students who want to branch out into community service, and doing things for others.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe.

    Greek Life

    none noted at this campus branch

    Clubs and Activities

    many it just depends on the program you are in.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students

    What to do for fun

    spend time with my daughter, friends and work.

    Food and Dining

    i attend tulsa branch, there are food and dining around the area. sometime during semester the college offers a light dinner.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to have pride in yourself and keep up with were you are in term of gpa and course work.

    In three sentences

    langston academic program and the instructor are are wonderful and are willing to go above and beyond to help the students. and i love the tulsa branch because of the evening classes, i am able to work and attend school

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police have there on building ON CAMPUS, And There is a good amount of Cops on campus at all times. The crime rate isn't that high if you ask me.

    Greek Life

    Ahh The stroll lines of the Fraternities and the Sororities are like nothing I've ever seen before. AMAZING!

    Clubs and Activities

    Few, Very Few. OR They may be there and I just know nothing about them because I haven't gone looking for a club to join.

    Bang for the buck

    If you love school It doesn't matter where you are, you can always go home for the holidays if you can afford it Or transfer!

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you like, But you'll have to do it with the resources you have..

    Food and Dining

    OH SO POOR. Due to How Isolated the campus is. Drop Dead I The Middle Of NOWHERE.

    Dorm Life

    Just like any other campus I think... It's College. :))

    Academic Rigor

    It's too much of a breeze the teachers are hard on the students. Too lenient. It all depends on the students' willingness to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    IF you don't want to be stranded, whether you have a car or not, Don't Choose Langston. IF you Love entertainment on or off campus Langston Oklahoma Has Very Little Entertainment, Therefore it might not be the school For you. You want an education you'll find it here, Langston Provides you with an educational and cultural experience.

    In three sentences

    Langston Is ISOLATED. The Campus NEEDS TO BE Re Modeled. If one is intrested in going to an HBCU, Langston University IS, An HBCU.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    langston is a very outgoing university with alot of oppurtunities. langston has many on campus organizations. langston makes you feel at home while attending.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants 5 things. 1. Family/your home away from home 2. Fun 3. Happiness 4. Cheaper prices for the same great education. 5. One on one time with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the school, walk around and get to know people. Before you get here remember that even though we party hard, we study even harder. Professors don't play about skipping classes. Don't take a class before 10am you will never want to get up.

    Bang for the buck

    Langston University is a private college but you don't pay the private school price. You can get a awesome education for a lot cheaper.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a great community. We all are very friendly and family based. Even though Langston University may be in the 'middle of nowhere' it's never boring. There are many options to do. If you don't want to go to one of the many parties we throw, you can go to basketball games, football games, comedy nights, or go grab a bite to eat with friends at the concession stands.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are small which provides you with one on one time with your professors which is great, because being a full time college student sometimes you may be busy during tutoring hours. So if you can talk to your professor and get help in class, you save a great deal of time.